Zappiti 4K HDR (Mini, One, Duo) Thread - Page 92 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 532Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #2731 of 2843 Old 05-22-2019, 07:38 AM
Senior Member
 
silver-eye's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 271
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 177 Post(s)
Liked: 118
here it is..
sutton8 likes this.
silver-eye is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2732 of 2843 Old 05-22-2019, 12:08 PM
Advanced Member
 
marine92104's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 749
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 302 Post(s)
Liked: 143
Not sure I understand what “source direct” means.

If you turn it on then a standard Blu-ray will not be upscaled to 4k?

If the Zappiti has a good upscaler why wouldn’t you want that?
marine92104 is offline  
post #2733 of 2843 Old 05-22-2019, 12:33 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
Sledgehamma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Germany
Posts: 932
Mentioned: 20 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 653 Post(s)
Liked: 356
Yes, a BD will be outputted at its native resolution, i.e. 1920x1080.

The Zappiti doesn't have a good upscaler.
Macroblocker likes this.
Sledgehamma is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2734 of 2843 Old 05-22-2019, 02:13 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Macroblocker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Nashville
Posts: 1,042
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 239 Post(s)
Liked: 99
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sledgehamma View Post
Yes, a BD will be outputted at its native resolution, i.e. 1920x1080.

The Zappiti doesn't have a good upscaler.
looking forward to this!
Macroblocker is offline  
post #2735 of 2843 Old 05-22-2019, 03:09 PM
Member
 
chaka2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 23
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sledgehamma View Post
Yes, a BD will be outputted at its native resolution, i.e. 1920x1080.

The Zappiti doesn't have a good upscaler.
Can you talk about why their scaler is not good. They have a whole page (https://zappiti.com/zappiti_player_4...agicpixel.html) bragging about their 4k upscaling and down conversion.
chaka2 is offline  
post #2736 of 2843 Old 05-22-2019, 04:58 PM
Member
 
Amidujusu89's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 145
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 33 Post(s)
Liked: 20
I just downloaded the update for the direct mode but it does not seem to be working. I have to used the 1080p resolution or else it upscales everything.

Sampinto
Amidujusu89 is offline  
post #2737 of 2843 Old 05-22-2019, 05:23 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Macroblocker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Nashville
Posts: 1,042
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 239 Post(s)
Liked: 99
Quote:
Originally Posted by Amidujusu89 View Post
I just downloaded the update for the direct mode but it does not seem to be working. I have to used the 1080p resolution or else it upscales everything.
yup same here, not working for me, after visiting the Zappiti facebook page i see an update to explorer and Zappiti video is required, update coming soon.

Last edited by Macroblocker; 05-22-2019 at 05:41 PM.
Macroblocker is offline  
post #2738 of 2843 Old 05-22-2019, 08:11 PM
Member
 
Amidujusu89's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 145
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 33 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by Macroblocker View Post

yup same here, not working for me, after visiting the Zappiti facebook page i see an update to explorer and Zappiti video is required, update coming soon.
Ok, that seems fair... I will wait till then. I do have to say that Zappiti is figuring out most of the kinks in their players. Forced subs in iso and mkv is the one major item left.

Sampinto
Amidujusu89 is offline  
post #2739 of 2843 Old 05-23-2019, 12:42 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Macroblocker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Nashville
Posts: 1,042
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 239 Post(s)
Liked: 99
Quote:
Originally Posted by Amidujusu89 View Post
Ok, that seems fair... I will wait till then. I do have to say that Zappiti is figuring out most of the kinks in their players. Forced subs in iso and mkv is the one major item left.
well i updated the explorer to Beta but i noticed ever since i downloaded the service the player will not pass HDR anymore under any circumstances! resolution switches but no HDR and no way i can seem to fix it.
Macroblocker is offline  
post #2740 of 2843 Old 05-23-2019, 07:12 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
hi all, my 4k hdr se won't play any TV shows thrown at it for some reason. Latest one i tried was HBO's Chernobyl series, but after identification, it will say Can't play video and that's it. Forced to watch it via VLC app on zappiti. these are the specs of the video, thank you:

Video
ID : 1
Format : AVC
Format/Info : Advanced Video Codec
Format profile : [email protected]
Format settings : CABAC / 4 Ref Frames
Format settings, CABAC : Yes
Format settings, ReFrames : 4 frames
Codec ID : V_MPEG4/ISO/AVC
Duration : 1 h 3 min
Bit rate mode : Constant
Bit rate : 8 985 kb/s
Nominal bit rate : 10 000 kb/s
Width : 1 920 pixels
Height : 1 080 pixels
Display aspect ratio : 16:9
Frame rate mode : Constant
Frame rate : 23.976 (24000/1001) FPS
Color space : YUV
Chroma subsampling : 4:2:0
Bit depth : 8 bits
Scan type : Progressive
Bits/(Pixel*Frame) : 0.181
Stream size : 3.99 GiB (93%)
Default : Yes
Forced : No
Color range : Limited
Color primaries : BT.709
Transfer characteristics : BT.709
Matrix coefficients : BT.709
ajish82 is offline  
post #2741 of 2843 Old 05-23-2019, 08:55 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
Sledgehamma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Germany
Posts: 932
Mentioned: 20 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 653 Post(s)
Liked: 356
Quote:
Originally Posted by chaka2 View Post
Can you talk about why their scaler is not good. They have a whole page (https://zappiti.com/zappiti_player_4...agicpixel.html) bragging about their 4k upscaling and down conversion.
Sure. Just have a look at my review where I compared it to the PCH A-500. Since then they improved it to version 2.5 (from 2.0), but they are super secret about it. I couldn't get any information about the way they allegedly implemented MagicPixel.
For one, it can't the deactivated for some reason, which is utter nonsense. Some people prefer an unaltered picture.
Second, they do not have deep access to the decoder, which is needed for what they are claiming.

All MagicPixel really is, is contrast "enhancements". Everything else is the same as on any other Realtek based player as they do not have any different video decoding/processing. They are just good at marketing.
They just added some fancy names for up- and downscaling, which every player can do....
Sledgehamma is offline  
post #2742 of 2843 Old 05-23-2019, 09:32 AM
Member
 
legionow112's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 28
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 7
Hi,
I'm thinking about buying Zappiti 4K HDR. How do you rate GUI speed, aesthetics, or is it refined software? Does Zappiti read audio and video codecs from .mkv and .m2ts files during the first scan of the library and presents them as stickers in the library (4K, HD, DTS Audio, HDR ....)? For comparison, in zidoo such information appears only after playing the file.
What are the main disadvantages of this device?
legionow112 is offline  
post #2743 of 2843 Old 05-23-2019, 09:39 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Wryker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Nashvegas
Posts: 2,655
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 189 Post(s)
Liked: 69
Quote:
Originally Posted by legionow112 View Post
Hi,
I'm thinking about buying Zappiti 4K HDR. How do you rate GUI speed, aesthetics, or is it refined software? Does Zappiti read audio and video codecs from .mkv and .m2ts files during the first scan of the library and presents them as stickers in the library (4K, HD, DTS Audio, HDR ....)? For comparison, in zidoo such information appears only after playing the file.
What are the main disadvantages of this device?
I've had the Popcorn Hour A-110, A-400, and A-500 and I find this 4K HDR to be the 'best' media player yet. Much easier media scanning etc.
It puts the media information for the files including Blu-Ray, UHD, etc etc.
johng and legionow112 like this.

"..where you will never find a more wretched hive of scum and villainy."

Wryker is offline  
post #2744 of 2843 Old 05-23-2019, 10:22 AM
Senior Member
 
silver-eye's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 271
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 177 Post(s)
Liked: 118
I also have a zidoo z9s, but the zappiti is my main player..

The only thing I would like them to add, is the change of contrast, brightness and hue, on-the-fly, like the zidoo..

apart from that, I prefer the Zappiti, has a way better "library" arrangement.
johng and legionow112 like this.
silver-eye is offline  
post #2745 of 2843 Old 05-23-2019, 11:06 AM
Member
 
legionow112's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 28
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 7
Quote:
Originally Posted by silver-eye View Post
I also have a zidoo z9s, but the zappiti is my main player..

The only thing I would like them to add, is the change of contrast, brightness and hue, on-the-fly, like the zidoo..

I also have Z9S. I really do not like the user interface of this device, this HT 2 app is a joke, mistakes in translation, other minor bugs. I just do not like using z9s for this reason. I think zidoo doesn’t prioritize UX and GUI is too much clunky for my taste.
But putting aside GUI, are they (zappiti) on the same level of „technical support” as zidoo? I have read on zidoo forum that they claim to be „very close” with Realtek and that Realtek provides them latest firmware for SoC before others.
johng likes this.
legionow112 is offline  
post #2746 of 2843 Old 05-23-2019, 01:23 PM
Advanced Member
 
sutton8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: London, England
Posts: 710
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 344 Post(s)
Liked: 124
Quote:
Originally Posted by legionow112 View Post
I also have Z9S. I really do not like the user interface of this device, this HT 2 app is a joke, mistakes in translation, other minor bugs. I just do not like using z9s for this reason. I think zidoo doesn’t prioritize UX and GUI is too much clunky for my taste.
But putting aside GUI, are they (zappiti) on the same level of „technical support” as zidoo? I have read on zidoo forum that they claim to be „very close” with Realtek and that Realtek provides them latest firmware for SoC before others.
I believe Zidoo is the OEM that makes the Zappiti hardware. But yes their media centre and software in general sux. Zappiti used to have a poor rep for customer service but in the last few years are much improved. I’d now consider their customer service as excellent and mostly same day patient responses to queries. Firmware updates are slower than Zidoo on the whole though.
johng and legionow112 like this.

7.2 Yamaha RX-A3080, Monitor Audio (Apex & Silver), Seismic 110, XBOX, Intel NUC6CAYH, Sony X700, Panasonic TX65GZ950B
5.1 Denon X7200WA, Focal Dome, LG OLED (E6V)
In both Setups "Virgin Tivo V6, Zappiti 4K HDR, FireTV Stick 4K, Harmony Elite"
sutton8 is online now  
post #2747 of 2843 Old 05-23-2019, 03:49 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
johng's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: California's Redwood Coast
Posts: 1,388
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 232 Post(s)
Liked: 107
Quote:
Originally Posted by Macroblocker View Post
well i updated the explorer to Beta but i noticed ever since i downloaded the service the player will not pass HDR anymore under any circumstances! resolution switches but no HDR and no way i can seem to fix it.
Thanks for posting that. I updated Service and see the new options. It reset my Display preferences to 1080p. I manually changed it to 4K and it seems to work properly, but I haven't tested a 4K/HDR title. I'll test further tonight. I'm still wondering about Sledgehammer's post that Zappiti does not have a good upscaler. What I'm seeing looks pretty good, so the new feature has me scratching my head.

Good Viewing,John G  JVC DLA-X790 Projector, Vutec 110" (16x9) Bright White Screen, Oppo UDP-203 region free MOD disc player, Zappiti Mini4K HDR, Synology DS418 NAS, Yamaha RX-A2070 AVR, Toshiba 1250 NTSC-PAL Region Free BR Player, 7 Paradigm Reference spkrs w Dual Subs,   & Yamaha 6600 External Amp
johng is offline  
post #2748 of 2843 Old 05-23-2019, 07:12 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Murilo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 5,071
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 265 Post(s)
Liked: 60
Quote:
Originally Posted by johng View Post
Thanks for posting that. I updated Service and see the new options. It reset my Display preferences to 1080p. I manually changed it to 4K and it seems to work properly, but I haven't tested a 4K/HDR title. I'll test further tonight. I'm still wondering about Sledgehammer's post that Zappiti does not have a good upscaler. What I'm seeing looks pretty good, so the new feature has me scratching my head.
Does anyone have this working through the zappiti video?

I am not sure what changing display preferences to 1080p and then manually change to 4k means?

I have it enabled, but zappiti simply wont switch through zappiti video anyway.
Murilo is offline  
post #2749 of 2843 Old 05-23-2019, 08:05 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
How's everyone doing this morning/afternoon/evening/night? lol..

I just picked up a new One SE 4K, and was wondering if anyone else has had trouble accessing network shares over a windows network. The host PC is running windows 10. I looked on line, and tried about a dozen fixes and none worked. I have a local account set up on the host, and I can access all the shared drives with my old WD Live Hub and my Dune solo 4K. The only message I get is: Cannot Access Network Folders
This thing is driving me crazy. About to send it back...

Last edited by pagan65; 05-23-2019 at 08:09 PM.
pagan65 is offline  
post #2750 of 2843 Old 05-23-2019, 09:05 PM
Member
 
Amidujusu89's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 145
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 33 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by Macroblocker View Post
well i updated the explorer to Beta but i noticed ever since i downloaded the service the player will not pass HDR anymore under any circumstances! resolution switches but no HDR and no way i can seem to fix it.
I also updated zappiti video and the direct resolution setting seems to work on some tv shows but not on others. For example, Fresh of the Boat is upscalled to 4k but Warrior plays correctly at 1080p. I wonder why? I want the tv to do 1080pm upscalling if needed; not the player... Just a minor glitch I guess...

Sampinto
Amidujusu89 is offline  
post #2751 of 2843 Old 05-23-2019, 09:21 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Macroblocker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Nashville
Posts: 1,042
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 239 Post(s)
Liked: 99
Quote:
Originally Posted by Amidujusu89 View Post
I also updated zappiti video and the direct resolution setting seems to work on some tv shows but not on others. For example, Fresh of the Boat is upscalled to 4k but Warrior plays correctly at 1080p. I wonder why? I want the tv to do 1080pm upscalling if needed; not the player... Just a minor glitch I guess...
any problems with HDR?
Macroblocker is offline  
post #2752 of 2843 Old 05-23-2019, 09:28 PM
Member
 
Amidujusu89's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 145
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 33 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by Macroblocker View Post
any problems with HDR?
No, I don't play any HDR content through the player; only my iso bluray rips... I hope someone on the forum coould chime in.

Sampinto
Amidujusu89 is offline  
post #2753 of 2843 Old 05-23-2019, 09:45 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Murilo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 5,071
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 265 Post(s)
Liked: 60
HDR seems to be working fine for me and after my last post zappiti video updated and now its working fine.
Murilo is offline  
post #2754 of 2843 Old 05-24-2019, 12:19 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Macroblocker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Nashville
Posts: 1,042
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 239 Post(s)
Liked: 99
Quote:
Originally Posted by Murilo View Post
HDR seems to be working fine for me and after my last post zappiti video updated and now its working fine.
I managed to get HDR working again by doing a Factory reset, I'm going to assume this was an anomaly and try again.
Macroblocker is offline  
post #2755 of 2843 Old 05-24-2019, 10:19 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Murilo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 5,071
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 265 Post(s)
Liked: 60
Does anyone have issues with source direct not launching some movies? The shape of water 4k for instance, it wont load the movie with source direct on, as soon as i turn it off, it works fine.

Very weird.
Murilo is offline  
post #2756 of 2843 Old 05-24-2019, 11:57 PM
Advanced Member
 
sutton8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: London, England
Posts: 710
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 344 Post(s)
Liked: 124
Quote:
Originally Posted by Murilo View Post
Does anyone have issues with source direct not launching some movies? The shape of water 4k for instance, it wont load the movie with source direct on, as soon as i turn it off, it works fine.

Very weird.
Just tried that movie and it loaded. Just that it took about 25 seconds which is far longer than usual.

That aside i have source direct on and in Zappiti Video the message I get when I launch a UHD is “changing TV system to 2160p 23.967hz”. That is the message I’ve always had in the past and to me implies that the player is doing the scaling. Is there any way to check on the player itself that source direct is actually working, otherwise I’ll have to find the original remotes for TV and receiver.

7.2 Yamaha RX-A3080, Monitor Audio (Apex & Silver), Seismic 110, XBOX, Intel NUC6CAYH, Sony X700, Panasonic TX65GZ950B
5.1 Denon X7200WA, Focal Dome, LG OLED (E6V)
In both Setups "Virgin Tivo V6, Zappiti 4K HDR, FireTV Stick 4K, Harmony Elite"
sutton8 is online now  
post #2757 of 2843 Old 05-25-2019, 01:44 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Macroblocker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Nashville
Posts: 1,042
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 239 Post(s)
Liked: 99
Quote:
Originally Posted by Macroblocker View Post
I managed to get HDR working again by doing a Factory reset, I'm going to assume this was an anomaly and try again.
everything is now working for me fine for me now after updating Zappiti video
Macroblocker is offline  
post #2758 of 2843 Old 05-26-2019, 04:06 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Posts: 62
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 31 Post(s)
Liked: 2
I tried the new direct feature and I got 1080p instead of 4k as expected but the sound sync was off so I turned it off again and watched my movie upscaled by Z with sound synched.
So before I try to correct sync time via AVR etc it would be nice to know if more people got the same problem?

Sent from my SM-G930F using Tapatalk
SALVETA is online now  
post #2759 of 2843 Old 05-26-2019, 01:24 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Macroblocker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Nashville
Posts: 1,042
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 239 Post(s)
Liked: 99
Quote:
Originally Posted by SALVETA View Post
I tried the new direct feature and I got 1080p instead of 4k as expected but the sound sync was off so I turned it off again and watched my movie upscaled by Z with sound synched.
So before I try to correct sync time via AVR etc it would be nice to know if more people got the same problem?

Sent from my SM-G930F using Tapatalk
will have to look closely at the sync when i test it out tonight
Macroblocker is offline  
post #2760 of 2843 Old 05-26-2019, 01:48 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 131
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 69 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by sutton8 View Post
Just tried that movie and it loaded. Just that it took about 25 seconds which is far longer than usual.

That aside i have source direct on and in Zappiti Video the message I get when I launch a UHD is “changing TV system to 2160p 23.967hz”. That is the message I’ve always had in the past and to me implies that the player is doing the scaling. Is there any way to check on the player itself that source direct is actually working, otherwise I’ll have to find the original remotes for TV and receiver.
I also get the same message when I launch a BD (1080p). So how do we know what signal is being sent to our TV?
Schafheide is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Networking, Media Servers & Content Streaming

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off