Egreat A5 & A10 3D/4K HDR w/BD MENU - Page 10 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 66Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #271 of 456 Old 09-21-2017, 01:23 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Ph8te's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 19,419
Mentioned: 32 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6568 Post(s)
Liked: 6326
Egreat A5 & A10 3D/4K HDR w/BD MENU

Quote:
Originally Posted by nenito2k View Post
Honestly...you never hear the word PC?! Its..computer!!!!! A Pc dude!



You delete it..in the hdd where you have the movies!!!!!

And yes rapier is complex so..just learn..it took m several days to tweak it..with pictures...shortcuts etc...


Nenito, calm down, no need to yell. I'm not sure if English is your first language, but everything you are telling the user to do is not straight forward (especially for a user who is not familiar with Kodi or the process you are referring to). The user is simply asking what are you deleting from your PC. Most users are under the impression that you don't need a PC to use this media player (outside of hosting/getting/making media). You are telling them to delete the Vidon folder on their PC when there probably isn't one to being with.
Ph8te is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #272 of 456 Old 09-21-2017, 10:57 AM
Advanced Member
 
nenito2k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: North Africa
Posts: 529
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 44 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Man..i do speak well English..and what i mean is: delete the vidon folder that is on your hdd (be it pc or external)!!!!!
nenito2k is offline  
post #273 of 456 Old 09-21-2017, 04:06 PM
Senior Member
 
Briguy65's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 289
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 106 Post(s)
Liked: 67
Quote:
Originally Posted by nenito2k View Post
Man..i do speak well English..and what i mean is: delete the vidon folder that is on your hdd (be it pc or external)!!!!!
I see -- I was a bit confused because your original statement said to delete the PC -- but now I understand. I will try that and see if it speeds up Rapier, although confluence isn't bad to begin with!
Thanks for your help both of you!
Ph8te likes this.
Briguy65 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #274 of 456 Old 09-22-2017, 06:20 PM
Member
 
dominical's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 44
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 32 Post(s)
Liked: 3
Quote:
Originally Posted by WMConey View Post
So after many days of trying to get this box to work with no success, I gave up. Note that I do not say that this device completely does not work but on my network with its configuration, I was not able to get a smooth and stutter free playback. I had several reproducible issues with audio-only playback as well meaning that no local content could be satisfactorily played. Not video, not audio.

I wrote to Egreat and asked to return the unit for a refund. Their first response was to request all kind of detailed videos, descriptions, etc and that I post them to You Tube for them. I replied that I had no interest in being a beta tester, that I would provide whatever details of my setup they required and I would do one test of their recommended settings and give them whatever detailed performance info they needed. But there had to be a point where the unit was recognized as non-working.

The response to this was to tell me their "warranty" for "not liking" the product was only seven days, and for "repairing" a defective product was only 30 days. Since I had the device three weeks, I was past the "not liking" stage and could only have the unit "repaired, and only then if I paid shipping. No explanation given as to what if anything needs "repair" [other than their business practice

So be advised that the company makes *zero* guarantee that the unit will do any of the things they claim and that you have exactly 7 days to fully prove that the unit will or will not work for you.
This from Rita at Egreat from the Egreat forum...


Rita Administrator Staff Member



New
Hi @Tom.W , Please let this guy contact me directly [email protected] All Egreat device has 1 year warranty. Thanks.
Rita, 38 minutes ago Report
#2 Like Reply

Last edited by dominical; 09-22-2017 at 06:54 PM.
dominical is offline  
post #275 of 456 Old 10-01-2017, 03:41 PM
Senior Member
 
giedrys's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: SoCal
Posts: 415
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 26 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Got an A5 recently and it's been mixed bag so far. I mean it's a lot to like, but...

1. Is there simple fast forward function, like 2x or 5x without loosing the picture? I only see skip option.
2. It fails to connect to net via Ethernet. Every other device (Apple TV, Oppo etc.) connect easily the same way.
3. Worst yet, video stutters occasionally while playing various file formats with various specs from both HDD / USB Flash.

FW 1.2.3.0

Last edited by giedrys; 10-01-2017 at 08:06 PM.
giedrys is offline  
post #276 of 456 Old 10-03-2017, 04:01 PM
Senior Member
 
Briguy65's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 289
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 106 Post(s)
Liked: 67
Quote:
Originally Posted by giedrys View Post
Got an A5 recently and it's been mixed bag so far. I mean it's a lot to like, but...

1. Is there simple fast forward function, like 2x or 5x without loosing the picture? I only see skip option.
2. It fails to connect to net via Ethernet. Every other device (Apple TV, Oppo etc.) connect easily the same way.
3. Worst yet, video stutters occasionally while playing various file formats with various specs from both HDD / USB Flash.

FW 1.2.3.0
I use the vidon player more than the internal player on my A10 but I believe you have a simple fast forward function. The remotes are different, but it should be there. I in fact have the skip on the vidon app to skip five minutes forward or back -- which is my favorite skip. As far as connecting to the net -- it worked right off the bat. I don't remember any hassles at all once I plugged it into the network. I'm guessing maybe you have the wired connection turned off? The stuttering I haven't found but nearly all of the files I've used are either MP4 or AVI, and some use the MKV container.
giedrys likes this.
Briguy65 is offline  
post #277 of 456 Old 10-03-2017, 06:16 PM
Senior Member
 
Maison's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 309
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 187 Post(s)
Liked: 48
Will a 10tb hard drive work inside the A10?
Maison is online now  
post #278 of 456 Old 10-03-2017, 06:52 PM
Senior Member
 
Briguy65's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 289
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 106 Post(s)
Liked: 67
Quote:
Originally Posted by Maison View Post
Will a 10tb hard drive work inside the A10?
I believe they say up to 8 tb hard drives.
Briguy65 is offline  
post #279 of 456 Old 10-14-2017, 12:39 PM
Advanced Member
 
nenito2k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: North Africa
Posts: 529
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 44 Post(s)
Liked: 26
latest stable update works quite well and corrected 2 critical bugs ! still no issues here
waiting patiently for Android 7 update...next month probably !

Panasonic ET60 TV + 5.1 Monitor Audio MASS & 10" Gemini Bk2 subwoofer - Media player: Egreat A5 4K HDR
nenito2k is offline  
post #280 of 456 Old 10-15-2017, 02:47 PM
Advanced Member
 
nenito2k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: North Africa
Posts: 529
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 44 Post(s)
Liked: 26
@sledgehamma just did on avs a superbe review on the Egreat A11 !

Panasonic ET60 TV + 5.1 Monitor Audio MASS & 10" Gemini Bk2 subwoofer - Media player: Egreat A5 4K HDR
nenito2k is offline  
post #281 of 456 Old 10-15-2017, 06:44 PM
Senior Member
 
raif71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 322
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 142 Post(s)
Liked: 58
Just curious, can the A5 play 10bits h264 video? Sorry if this has been answered before.
raif71 is offline  
post #282 of 456 Old 10-16-2017, 09:49 AM
Advanced Member
 
nenito2k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: North Africa
Posts: 529
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 44 Post(s)
Liked: 26
question already asked by me...long ago :
NO, as no device can ! that format should not even exist..and is used by anime encoders, don't even know why....
ONLY a PC can READ those !

Panasonic ET60 TV + 5.1 Monitor Audio MASS & 10" Gemini Bk2 subwoofer - Media player: Egreat A5 4K HDR

Last edited by nenito2k; 11-04-2017 at 02:08 AM.
nenito2k is offline  
post #283 of 456 Old 10-16-2017, 09:56 AM
Advanced Member
 
Sledgehamma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Germany
Posts: 943
Mentioned: 20 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 658 Post(s)
Liked: 363
I believe that the Nvidia Shield is the only media player that can play those. However, its only possible because it has enough horsepower and decodes these by software and not by hardware.
Sledgehamma is offline  
post #284 of 456 Old 10-29-2017, 07:35 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 2
Does anyone know how to root an Egreat player?
wedgehog is offline  
post #285 of 456 Old 10-30-2017, 12:50 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 96
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 82 Post(s)
Liked: 5
Hi guys,
Anybody knows how to use custom backgrounds in a theme?

Thank you
FidelioX is offline  
post #286 of 456 Old 11-01-2017, 07:56 PM
Senior Member
 
Maison's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 309
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 187 Post(s)
Liked: 48
The PQ on these are incredible... But jukebox/interface not good at all, I'm not talking about KODI. Is there a way to use better or more customized jukebox? Or even if they would just let us add more rows, that would be very helpful.
Maison is online now  
post #287 of 456 Old 11-02-2017, 02:03 AM
Advanced Member
 
Sledgehamma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Germany
Posts: 943
Mentioned: 20 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 658 Post(s)
Liked: 363
I asked about adding an option for different amounts of rows. It was forwarded to the engineers. Lets hope they implement it in a future FW update.
Sledgehamma is offline  
post #288 of 456 Old 11-03-2017, 12:32 PM
Member
 
hamsterhuey's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Novato, CA
Posts: 122
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 91 Post(s)
Liked: 34
Quote:
Originally Posted by Maison View Post
The PQ on these are incredible... But jukebox/interface not good at all
yep, their scraper and jukebox are awful. it's clear they don't have any competent UX (user experience) designers on their team. eventually their competitors are going to catch up with regards to picture quality and 4k/3d/iso/bd-menu support, and the product with the most polished UX is going to win.
hamsterhuey is offline  
post #289 of 456 Old 11-03-2017, 05:34 PM
Senior Member
 
Briguy65's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 289
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 106 Post(s)
Liked: 67
Quote:
Originally Posted by hamsterhuey View Post
yep, their scraper and jukebox are awful. it's clear they don't have any competent UX (user experience) designers on their team. eventually their competitors are going to catch up with regards to picture quality and 4k/3d/iso/bd-menu support, and the product with the most polished UX is going to win.
The jukebox isn't the best, but using the VIDON application instead is far more satisfying for me anyway, but everyone has their own special needs, so I can understand where this might be a problem.
Briguy65 is offline  
post #290 of 456 Old 11-03-2017, 09:24 PM
Member
 
hamsterhuey's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Novato, CA
Posts: 122
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 91 Post(s)
Liked: 34
Quote:
Originally Posted by Briguy65 View Post
The jukebox isn't the best, but using the VIDON application instead is far more satisfying for me anyway, but everyone has their own special needs, so I can understand where this might be a problem.
yeah, my "special need" is 3D MKVs, which Vidon can't handle, and is the primary reason i got the box. so i use the eGreat player for 3D, Vidon for regular movies, and the Plex app on my TV for TV shows. having to separate my media and bounce around three apps is a bummer.

and Plex is the best UX of the three, by far.
hamsterhuey is offline  
post #291 of 456 Old 11-04-2017, 12:39 AM
Advanced Member
 
nenito2k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: North Africa
Posts: 529
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 44 Post(s)
Liked: 26
New update...1.2.6 quietly released by egreat. It's a beta and changelog implies nothing major...but there is one big new function that egreat did not mention! Vidon is still based on jarvis..but it can now do UHD iso menu!!! Nice additional features will continue and proves Egreat did not abandon vidon..that is if fact their best weapon against other CHINESE boxed IMO !

@FidelioX yhere is all the info !

http://en.egreatworld.com/comunity/i...-settings.816/

Panasonic ET60 TV + 5.1 Monitor Audio MASS & 10" Gemini Bk2 subwoofer - Media player: Egreat A5 4K HDR

Last edited by nenito2k; 11-04-2017 at 02:09 AM.
nenito2k is offline  
post #292 of 456 Old 11-04-2017, 03:07 AM
Advanced Member
 
Sledgehamma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Germany
Posts: 943
Mentioned: 20 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 658 Post(s)
Liked: 363
Quote:
Originally Posted by Briguy65 View Post
The jukebox isn't the best, but using the VIDON application instead is far more satisfying for me anyway, but everyone has their own special needs, so I can understand where this might be a problem.

Is frameratesync working for you with VidOn? For me its not, so I dont use it.
Sledgehamma is offline  
post #293 of 456 Old 11-04-2017, 05:20 AM
Advanced Member
 
nenito2k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: North Africa
Posts: 529
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 44 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Sledge.. auto frame rate has been working on vidon since day one..or are you talking about another thing?!

Anyhow i too use vidon with a nice skin..it is 100 times better than any jukebox on any media player out there...
But if people want to use a poor jukebox..well that is their problem...

Panasonic ET60 TV + 5.1 Monitor Audio MASS & 10" Gemini Bk2 subwoofer - Media player: Egreat A5 4K HDR
nenito2k is offline  
post #294 of 456 Old 11-04-2017, 07:16 AM
Advanced Member
 
Sledgehamma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Germany
Posts: 943
Mentioned: 20 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 658 Post(s)
Liked: 363
That is strange. Its not working for me. Everything gets outputted at UI framerate (24.000 in my case).
Sledgehamma is offline  
post #295 of 456 Old 11-06-2017, 11:37 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: St. Petersburg, Russia
Posts: 39
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 5
Since there are more and more UHD Bluray rips available I'm looking for a 4k UHD player box to be used instead of my HTPC (I can't get how to set up my HTPC to run Kodi with 4k HDR playback + passthrough HD audio + do a proper upscaling for 1080p files without destroing picture quality). Egreat a5 seems to be the right choice but I have a couple of questions for its users:

1. Could you please check if you can get the NBA League Pass addon in VidON and if it's working if someone has the international subsription?

2. Could you please check if Nebula skin is working fine in VidOn?

Thanks a lot in advance!

PS4PRO, Nvidia Shield + Kodi
Anthem 720 (pre\pro only) + 5.1.4: Pass labs INT-30A -> Crites Cornscala; Emotiva A-700 -> Crites CS-1; Crites CSC-1; Onkyo Atmos on-walls, SVS SB-4000.
JVC 7500 + 110" screen
RAzZin is offline  
post #296 of 456 Old 11-06-2017, 12:33 PM
Advanced Member
 
nenito2k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: North Africa
Posts: 529
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 44 Post(s)
Liked: 26
1- if addon is still suported by kodi jarvis, then it works...even if devs are moving towards 17/18 now..
2- i think that it worked fine yes...but new features are only for 17+ kodi

that is why egreat is considering upgrading vidon to a new version next year, all problem will go way, even if this is still unsure

Panasonic ET60 TV + 5.1 Monitor Audio MASS & 10" Gemini Bk2 subwoofer - Media player: Egreat A5 4K HDR
nenito2k is offline  
post #297 of 456 Old 11-06-2017, 02:28 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: St. Petersburg, Russia
Posts: 39
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 5
Quote:
Originally Posted by nenito2k View Post
1- if addon is still suported by kodi jarvis, then it works...even if devs are moving towards 17/18 now..
2- i think that it worked fine yes...but new features are only for 17+ kodi

that is why egreat is considering upgrading vidon to a new version next year, all problem will go way, even if this is still unsure
Hmm thanks, could you please also confirm that while using vidon we get Dolby Atmos and DTS:X passthrough to receiver via HDMI?

PS4PRO, Nvidia Shield + Kodi
Anthem 720 (pre\pro only) + 5.1.4: Pass labs INT-30A -> Crites Cornscala; Emotiva A-700 -> Crites CS-1; Crites CSC-1; Onkyo Atmos on-walls, SVS SB-4000.
JVC 7500 + 110" screen
RAzZin is offline  
post #298 of 456 Old 11-07-2017, 04:00 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: St. Petersburg, Russia
Posts: 39
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 5
Also - I'm reading about "HDR not working" on Russian forums.. does someone experience any problems with 4k HDR rips\remuxes\ISO files from local network? The setup will be:

NAS - > Egreat A5 set to 4k (not sure about color space yet) using VidOn -> HDMI 2.0 -> Anthem Receiver -> HDMI 2.0 -> JVC projector

Also did they fix the bug when 4k HDR picture was moving down instead of being centered on the screen?

PS4PRO, Nvidia Shield + Kodi
Anthem 720 (pre\pro only) + 5.1.4: Pass labs INT-30A -> Crites Cornscala; Emotiva A-700 -> Crites CS-1; Crites CSC-1; Onkyo Atmos on-walls, SVS SB-4000.
JVC 7500 + 110" screen
RAzZin is offline  
post #299 of 456 Old 11-07-2017, 09:04 AM
Advanced Member
 
nenito2k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: North Africa
Posts: 529
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 44 Post(s)
Liked: 26
@RAzZin

if you want REAL 100% info, go to the egreat forum i created a bugtracker thread that mentions everything currently happening.

since latest FW, and @olivierqc can confirm, i think dts-x and atmos do work on vidon (as it works on the egreat player...) also 4k iso menu have been added (something that might be possible in the next release of kodi in march 2018 or so and even then not sure)...


regarding HDR, these files work fine; there is one issue that some movies have a buggy aspect ratio...hisilicon that makes the chip has already fixed the issue months ago...but that need android 7. that is it. Android 7 is not 100% stable according to Egreat, so it has not been released; rest assured it WILL roll out "soon" as they confirmed it many times.

Panasonic ET60 TV + 5.1 Monitor Audio MASS & 10" Gemini Bk2 subwoofer - Media player: Egreat A5 4K HDR
nenito2k is offline  
post #300 of 456 Old 11-09-2017, 07:32 AM
Member
 
Sanjay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: New Delhi, India
Posts: 175
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 147 Post(s)
Liked: 71
The only reason I bought The A10 was to be able to play 3D MKV files of Warner 3D titles that I have remuxed to add Atmos to. And it fails to do so. Seemingly it seems that the A10 is unable to play these files in 3D. Also, the A10 is unable to 'smoothly' play UHD. Kodi too does not work and gives an error of "cannot start obb" or something to that effect. And then above all, there seems to be no way that I can access my Home Network from the A10. Even though I can see the A10 listed on my Windows 10 PC Home Network, but the A10 cannot find the PC. Surely the A10 has DLNA support. Right?

EDIT: Strangely enough, if I use the same 3D MKV file and make an ISO with it using 'tsMuxerGUI', then the A10 is able to play the ISO in 3D.

Epson EH-TW8300 (5040UB); Elite Screen Saker 16x9 135" | Samsung 64F8500 Plasma TV
Oppo UDP-203 UHD Blu-ray (All) | Egreat A10 Media Player | Sony PS4 (A) | Sony PS3 (A)
Marantz AV8802A (Pre-Pro) | Emotiva XPA-7 (Power) | Denon AVR5800 (Power 4xHeight )
Paradigm Reference Studio 100 v2 | Paradigm Reference Prestige 55C | Tannoy Mercury M5 | SVS Ultra Bookshelf (Rear) | Community Pro CS8 (4xHeight) | Paradigm Reference Servo15

Last edited by Sanjay; 03-05-2018 at 07:48 AM.
Sanjay is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Networking, Media Servers & Content Streaming

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off