Egreat A5 & A10 3D/4K HDR w/BD MENU - Page 6 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 66Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #151 of 456 Old 07-19-2017, 05:19 PM
Senior Member
 
raif71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 322
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 142 Post(s)
Liked: 58
Quote:
Originally Posted by timstephens24 View Post
I answered that in the very first sentence. I used the release firmware that was put out today.
What player did you used? Egreat player, vidon xbmc, kodi ?
raif71 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #152 of 456 Old 07-19-2017, 06:09 PM
Member
 
timstephens24's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Posts: 155
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 107 Post(s)
Liked: 44
The egreat player.
timstephens24 is offline  
post #153 of 456 Old 07-19-2017, 11:19 PM
Advanced Member
 
sutton8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: London, England
Posts: 740
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 361 Post(s)
Liked: 128
Is it possible to aggregate all of your networked media off various hard drives into a single poster wall using the Egreat interface rather than Kodi?

7.1 Yamaha RX-A3080, Monitor Audio (Apex & Silver), Seismic 110, XBOX, Cambridge Audio CXUHD, Dune HD Solo 4K, Roku SS+, Panasonic TX65GZ950B
5.1 Denon X7200WA, Focal Dome, LG OLED E7V
In both Setups Virgin Tivo V6, Zappiti 4K HDR, FireTV Stick 4K, Harmony Elite
sutton8 is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #154 of 456 Old 07-19-2017, 11:50 PM
Senior Member
 
WMConey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 230
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 93 Post(s)
Liked: 73
Quote:
Originally Posted by timstephens24 View Post
I answered that in the very first sentence. I used the release firmware that was put out today.
I have to say +1 to this.

I got in one of these boxes about 5 days ago. I went through the whole VidOnMe fiasco and thought I'd learned but the initial reports were so positive, etc, etc...... and the hardware obsolescence of the Dunes made them really unattractive.

Cant speak to the 4K side, but I haven't successfully played back either a Blu Ray ISO OR a DVD ISO from my Q Nap NAS. Either EGreat or VidOn. Micro stutters, lockups, audio sync issues..... After spending 3 + hours trying to get it to work, I gave up. I was going to write a review, but what's to say about failure but that it failed? Something in the Android design just doesn't work for this application.

Meanwhile my PCH-A410 plays BluRays and DVDs with no issues. I guess its time to stop chasing the dragon of full menu playback....
timstephens24 likes this.
WMConey is offline  
post #155 of 456 Old 07-20-2017, 04:59 PM
Member
 
olivierqc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: montreal
Posts: 52
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Hello all,

The problem does not come from the Egreat, I have no problem reading all the videos and i not alone.

Respect the hdmi 2.0 specs and everything will work, there are my settings above according to the resolution and frequency.

Use the 2160p30 RGB or ycbcr 4.4.4 10 bit and everything will work with your TV (10bit panel) if you have a mix of movies hd and uhd.

see you

Sony XBR65x930c, Onkyo tx-nr656, Focal Dome 7.1, Apple TV 4K, zidoo X20PRO.
olivierqc is offline  
post #156 of 456 Old 07-20-2017, 05:45 PM
Member
 
timstephens24's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Posts: 155
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 107 Post(s)
Liked: 44
Yes, the problem is the video player. It's set to automatically change the refresh rate when the player plays, so even when I set it to [email protected] the player will switch to [email protected] (which I doubt, I bet it's [email protected]) and the problems are still exactly the same.
timstephens24 is offline  
post #157 of 456 Old 07-20-2017, 06:10 PM
Senior Member
 
dbrons's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: La Costa CA
Posts: 291
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 45 Post(s)
Liked: 37
Well I don't know what problem you guys have(timstevens, WMConey) but I have a different experience.
I have been having some stuttering with some 4k files, and I could not get a 4k ISO to play either main movie or navigation.
But
1. After updating to the new firmware this morning, the 4k ISO plays with the menu working perfectly.
2. My A10 plays DVD and Blu-ray ISO or folders with full menu support. It loads discs more quickly than my Dune Smart B1, and it has played every menu I have tried while my Dune chokes on some of the newer disc menus.
3. The poster thing is working with one of my shared folders (and failing to load with another) but it is very cool and I'm really hoping to get it working 100% I like it better than Zappiti, or the Jukebox I have on my Mede8er.

So, a work in progress yes but to say "worthless" is ridiculous. The A10 is a real classy looking piece and cost me under two, just a bit more than half what my Dune cost.
Dave
dbrons is offline  
post #158 of 456 Old 07-21-2017, 05:04 AM
Advanced Member
 
nenito2k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: North Africa
Posts: 527
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 42 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by raif71 View Post
Thanks for the link. I read in page 2 of that site that some user (Xavier Roy-Bots) mentioning that he had problems playing 3D BD ISO using the Egreat player (no problems with vidon). My question is, has this been fixed ie can the "Egreat player" play 3D BD ISO?
Xavier confirmed it was fixed with new FW...even if changelog does not speak of this minor issue that he alone was having he is a very happy man believe me

Panasonic ET60 TV + 5.1 Monitor Audio MASS & 10" Gemini Bk2 subwoofer - Media player: Egreat A5 4K HDR

Last edited by nenito2k; 07-21-2017 at 05:14 AM.
nenito2k is offline  
post #159 of 456 Old 07-21-2017, 05:08 AM
Advanced Member
 
nenito2k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: North Africa
Posts: 527
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 42 Post(s)
Liked: 26
i have to RECONFIRM what @dbrons says and join the view of members like @olivierqc


i REALLY really don't understand people saying this box is worthless ! This is incredible....

I had the box since 3 months now...and ALMOST 0 issues whatsoever ! This thing read ALL my files and sound...yes i got some freeze and had to reboot (like ALL devices) and some issues are annoying like the color space settings and resolution, wifi blocking the box....BUT nothing that prevents me from enjoying my movies...PLUS all these have been confirmed to be SOLVED in ANDROID 7
So really...a few weeks of waiting is not gonna kill us...and it the MEANTIME it WORKS...

I had the mede8er for 3 years and it was great, but this box is just much better....PERIOD
raf77 likes this.

Panasonic ET60 TV + 5.1 Monitor Audio MASS & 10" Gemini Bk2 subwoofer - Media player: Egreat A5 4K HDR

Last edited by nenito2k; 07-21-2017 at 05:14 AM.
nenito2k is offline  
post #160 of 456 Old 07-21-2017, 05:48 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Movie78's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: NY
Posts: 1,553
Mentioned: 15 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 977 Post(s)
Liked: 297
Quote:
Originally Posted by timstephens24 View Post
Yes, the problem is the video player. It's set to automatically change the refresh rate when the player plays, so even when I set it to [email protected] the player will switch to [email protected] (which I doubt, I bet it's [email protected]) and the problems are still exactly the same.
Have you try turning off the frequency switcher off?

Quote:
Originally Posted by nenito2k View Post
i have to RECONFIRM what @dbrons says and join the view of members like @olivierqc


i REALLY really don't understand people saying this box is worthless ! This is incredible....

I had the box since 3 months now...and ALMOST 0 issues whatsoever ! This thing read ALL my files and sound...yes i got some freeze and had to reboot (like ALL devices) and some issues are annoying like the color space settings and resolution, wifi blocking the box....BUT nothing that prevents me from enjoying my movies...PLUS all these have been confirmed to be SOLVED in ANDROID 7
So really...a few weeks of waiting is not gonna kill us...and it the MEANTIME it WORKS...

I had the mede8er for 3 years and it was great, but this box is just much better....PERIOD
Lets be honest, there is no device that doesn't have issue, 0 issue I doubt it...
Most of all this media comes pre-beta firmware the good thing is egreat is working hard to resolve the issues.
Lets hope they don't take too long
Movie78 is offline  
post #161 of 456 Old 07-21-2017, 12:16 PM
Member
 
timstephens24's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Posts: 155
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 107 Post(s)
Liked: 44
Quote:
Originally Posted by Movie78 View Post
Have you try turning off the frequency switcher off?
The video plays but with 3:2 pull down and audio constantly cuts out after it gets really out sync, then comes back in sync to drift out of sync.

Again, still unwatchable.

Denon X6500H 7.1.4 -> LG OLED65C6P
Apple TV 4K // NVIDIA Shield Pro // Xbox One X // HDHomeRun Quatro
timstephens24 is offline  
post #162 of 456 Old 07-21-2017, 05:34 PM
Member
 
olivierqc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: montreal
Posts: 52
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Wink

Quote:
Originally Posted by timstephens24 View Post
The video plays but with 3:2 pull down and audio constantly cuts out after it gets really out sync, then comes back in sync to drift out of sync.

Again, still unwatchable.

Hello timstephens24,

I have no problem of this type, i'm sorry I do not see where the problem comes from.

I can make screenshot of my settings if you want...

Or do yours and I will do a test with your settings.

I believe you when you say that you have problems with the egreat, It is the reality with all boxes that works with android OS/TV,
We will all have different results with our boxes under android OS / TV.

the 2160p30 YcBcR 4.4.4 30bit works properly for me but not for you, It is the daily of all the users of box android.

i do not use my shield tv : I have problems with this box
i do not use my Q10 pro : I have problems with this box

the Egreat and the zidoo work properly in my everyday use.


This is why many people on my thread (homecinema.fr forum) order their box on amazon, if they do not work at home properly, he returns it to amazon and orders another box.

have nice evening

OlivierQC

Sony XBR65x930c, Onkyo tx-nr656, Focal Dome 7.1, Apple TV 4K, zidoo X20PRO.
olivierqc is offline  
post #163 of 456 Old 07-24-2017, 11:41 AM
Senior Member
 
SilverBlade's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 335
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 129 Post(s)
Liked: 27
With this player, is there a 'subscription' fee to properly play back HD audio? (I remember Vidon requiring a fee for this a few years ago)
SilverBlade is offline  
post #164 of 456 Old 07-24-2017, 11:53 AM
Advanced Member
 
Sledgehamma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Germany
Posts: 943
Mentioned: 20 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 658 Post(s)
Liked: 360
If I remember correctly, you are getting a lifetime Vidon subscription.
Also, you are not forced to use Vidon. The internal player does HD audio as well. Actually, Egreat is focusing on their internal player and jukebox.
raif71 likes this.
Sledgehamma is offline  
post #165 of 456 Old 07-26-2017, 10:47 AM
Advanced Member
 
nenito2k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: North Africa
Posts: 527
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 42 Post(s)
Liked: 26
FLASH sale !!

http://www.geekbuying.com/item/Egrea...OX-373225.html

or

http://www.ebay.fr/itm/EGREAT-A5-4K-...N9flmw4jbi3nQg


VERY low price ! for those hesitating...now is the TIME !
mr b and kemac like this.

Panasonic ET60 TV + 5.1 Monitor Audio MASS & 10" Gemini Bk2 subwoofer - Media player: Egreat A5 4K HDR

Last edited by nenito2k; 07-26-2017 at 10:52 AM.
nenito2k is offline  
post #166 of 456 Old 07-28-2017, 04:29 AM
Member
 
olivierqc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: montreal
Posts: 52
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Hello all,

For those who still hesitate about the quality of the Egreat A10 / A5


E-great or E-not so great?

Here is the review of the A10 on the Website avforums :

NOTE 9/10

https://www.avforums.com/review/egre...r-review.13704

see you
mr b likes this.

Sony XBR65x930c, Onkyo tx-nr656, Focal Dome 7.1, Apple TV 4K, zidoo X20PRO.
olivierqc is offline  
post #167 of 456 Old 07-28-2017, 08:04 PM
Senior Member
 
Briguy65's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 284
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 103 Post(s)
Liked: 67
Well I ordered one of these things from ******** -- hopefully it shows up and works just fine. There wasn't a choice to pick which plug to use for the adapter, I guess we'll find out. It's coming from China. I'm hoping to be able to watch 10 bit anime and a few other things that use the HEVC codec, something my WDTV live streaming cannot do.
Briguy65 is offline  
post #168 of 456 Old 07-29-2017, 11:25 AM
Senior Member
 
giedrys's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: SoCal
Posts: 415
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 26 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Are these sales links legit? Seems like few Chinese sellers are offering them on fleabay as well. Warranty is probably non-existant when ordering from them?
giedrys is offline  
post #169 of 456 Old 07-29-2017, 05:29 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Posts: 332
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 173 Post(s)
Liked: 20
I just ordered my self an egreat 10, 4k player. I am coming from PCH Vten and also have N video Shield with SPMC, any advise re set up and how can I consolidate, realace possibly my NVIDIA?
Ziba Ji is offline  
post #170 of 456 Old 07-29-2017, 06:27 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Ph8te's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 19,318
Mentioned: 31 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6523 Post(s)
Liked: 6238
Egreat A5 & A10 3D/4K HDR w/BD MENU

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ziba Ji View Post
I just ordered my self an egreat 10, 4k player. I am coming from PCH Vten and also have N video Shield with SPMC, any advise re set up and how can I consolidate, realace possibly my NVIDIA?


I would probably start by copying your Kodi media folders off. Dont have the device, but have had to do this in the past (so that I can transfer from one box to another). I'm not sure if Egrafe uses a Kodi type scrapper, or internal, so that would make a difference if you went that way. I know they have forums as well.
Ph8te is online now  
post #171 of 456 Old 07-29-2017, 07:01 PM
Senior Member
 
dbrons's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: La Costa CA
Posts: 291
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 45 Post(s)
Liked: 37
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ziba Ji View Post
I just ordered my self an egreat 10, 4k player. I am coming from PCH Vten and also have N video Shield with SPMC, any advise re set up and how can I consolidate, realace possibly my NVIDIA?
I would say for me it's a transition. For starters I've got a few of my shares, and all the UHD playing through the A10. I still am using my Dune B1 for now. But I think I will soon set up all my shares on the A10 as I do think it plays everything the Dune does including menu support.
Dave
dbrons is offline  
post #172 of 456 Old 07-29-2017, 08:34 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Posts: 332
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 173 Post(s)
Liked: 20
What are the real life differences between A5 and A10, bestdes, isze, build quality and hard drive, 16gb storage?
Ziba Ji is offline  
post #173 of 456 Old 07-29-2017, 09:16 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Posts: 332
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 173 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by dbrons View Post
I would say for me it's a transition. For starters I've got a few of my shares, and all the UHD playing through the A10. I still am using my Dune B1 for now. But I think I will soon set up all my shares on the A10 as I do think it plays everything the Dune does including menu support.
Dave
thanks Dave, if I don't care about 16GB and Hard drive insert feature, would A5 suffice for my need for 4K, hDR and high def audio?
Ziba Ji is offline  
post #174 of 456 Old 07-29-2017, 09:24 PM
Member
 
olivierqc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: montreal
Posts: 52
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 13
hello Ziba Ji,

Yes you can choose the A5

Sony XBR65x930c, Onkyo tx-nr656, Focal Dome 7.1, Apple TV 4K, zidoo X20PRO.
olivierqc is offline  
post #175 of 456 Old 07-30-2017, 03:48 PM
Senior Member
 
SilverBlade's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 335
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 129 Post(s)
Liked: 27
Is the A5 very identical to the A10, just without the internal hard drive bay?
SilverBlade is offline  
post #176 of 456 Old 07-30-2017, 08:37 PM
Senior Member
 
UdoG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 328
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 169 Post(s)
Liked: 27
The A5 has a different (smaller) remote.
UdoG is offline  
post #177 of 456 Old 07-30-2017, 09:11 PM
Senior Member
 
SilverBlade's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 335
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 129 Post(s)
Liked: 27
Quote:
Originally Posted by UdoG View Post
The A5 has a different (smaller) remote.
Well that I don't care about (using a Logitech Harmony One)

Otherwise, the A5 has the exact same features as the A10, with the exception of the Hard drive bay?
SilverBlade is offline  
post #178 of 456 Old 07-31-2017, 03:54 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 194
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 119 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Yes.
raf77 is offline  
post #179 of 456 Old 07-31-2017, 03:57 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 194
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 119 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Can't get download english subtitles in new firmware.
Any body now, why?
raf77 is offline  
post #180 of 456 Old 08-01-2017, 10:51 AM
Advanced Member
 
nenito2k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: North Africa
Posts: 527
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 42 Post(s)
Liked: 26
dunno @raf77 maybe clean cache of the player and restart to try...
i use vidon for subs download and it works much better and more customizable

Panasonic ET60 TV + 5.1 Monitor Audio MASS & 10" Gemini Bk2 subwoofer - Media player: Egreat A5 4K HDR
nenito2k is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Networking, Media Servers & Content Streaming

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off