Dune HD Pro 4K (Ultra) Thread - Page 102 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 1758Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #3031 of 6175 Old 09-02-2018, 05:58 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
jconjason's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 3,049
Mentioned: 25 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1297 Post(s)
Liked: 2143
Quote:
Originally Posted by farsider3000 View Post
Any ideas on when the new firmware will be rolled out?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro
I haven't heard anything. I'm hoping it will come soon though!

Samsung 65" KS8000
Denon AVR 6300H
Klipsch 5.1.2
HSU VTF-3 MK5 HP
jconjason is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #3032 of 6175 Old 09-02-2018, 08:30 PM
Member
 
Untaru's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 182
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 149 Post(s)
Liked: 36
Quote:
Originally Posted by Whirlpool0548 View Post
The creation of the new user (you can use any name, there is no significance to the name) and not assigning a password (if you so wish) was covered in earlier posts (but you also have to set Windows 10 not to enforce passwords on network shares, also covered in earlier posts).

No additional software is required, but you do need to take give the new user read access and take the additional steps in Windows 10required to access networkshares. Enable network discovery etc.
Access to shared folders is way much better is you use NFS.
I never had these issues with access.
I use Hanewin NFS, but there is also Allegro NFS.
Hope this helps.
Untaru is offline  
post #3033 of 6175 Old 09-02-2018, 11:18 PM
Member
 
alex5723's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 144
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 94 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by Broxxx View Post
I collected yesterday a new PC with Windows 10 Pro. Everything is perfectly connected to Dune. You do not need any guest account, you do not need to register an IP. Do not need a passworth. In the settings of the Program and Features smb. Give access to the disk for "All". In the disk security settings, set up to edit and delete files. In the network settings, prohibit the request of a passworth. In the properties of the computer, put the item opposite the "Private Network".
Thanks, but I couldn't understand the settings you suggested.
Can you attach screen shot for every setting you have set ?
alex5723 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #3034 of 6175 Old 09-03-2018, 12:03 AM
Member
 
leonkoum's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: GREECE
Posts: 37
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 30 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by farsider3000 View Post
Any ideas on when the new firmware will be rolled out?

..
Just waiting..
Lets hope we have a good FW...

Klipsch & Denon always!!!
leonkoum is offline  
post #3035 of 6175 Old 09-03-2018, 01:50 AM
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 857
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 661 Post(s)
Liked: 161
Quote:
Originally Posted by jconjason View Post
Hopefully this will get back to a Dune thread soon!
This is directly relevant to a user’s issue with accessing the Dune Pro 4K from the network.
I’m certain the user would welcome any advice you have to offer in achieving this.
Whirlpool0548 is offline  
post #3036 of 6175 Old 09-03-2018, 01:55 AM
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 857
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 661 Post(s)
Liked: 161
Quote:
Originally Posted by Untaru View Post
Access to shared folders is way much better is you use NFS.
I never had these issues with access.
I use Hanewin NFS, but there is also Allegro NFS.
Hope this helps.
Agreed, and I use NFS, always have, it’s a much more efficient protocol.
But, if you have to explain how to get shared network access from the Dune and the user is already going down the SMB route, tackling NFS config when the user is already embroiled with SMB may not be the best way to go and it needs no additional software. Dune’s own help page is pretty comprehensive, if you are already knowledgeable.
Whirlpool0548 is offline  
post #3037 of 6175 Old 09-03-2018, 02:24 AM
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 857
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 661 Post(s)
Liked: 161
Quote:
Originally Posted by alex5723 View Post
Thanks, but I couldn't understand the settings you suggested.
Can you attach screen shot for every setting you have set ?
Broxxx is suggesting that you re-enable SMB CIFS 1.0 in Programs and Features, which was disabled by the Windows 10 security lockdown. Set the permissions on the share as he has suggested and disable password enforcement on network shares ( which you should have already done).

Last edited by Whirlpool0548; 09-03-2018 at 02:32 AM.
Whirlpool0548 is offline  
post #3038 of 6175 Old 09-03-2018, 02:38 AM
Member
 
alex5723's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 144
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 94 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by Whirlpool0548 View Post
Broxxx is suggesting that you re-enable SMB CIFS 1.0 in Programs and Features, which was disabled by the Windows 10 security lockdown. Set the permissions on the share as he has suggested and disable password enforcement on network shares ( which you should have already done).
SMB CIFS 1.0 is enabled for both client and server. Permissions on share are for 'Everyone' with full control. No passwords for network share.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	smbb.jpg
Views:	40
Size:	131.0 KB
ID:	2450354  
alex5723 is offline  
post #3039 of 6175 Old 09-03-2018, 02:42 AM
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 857
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 661 Post(s)
Liked: 161
Quote:
Originally Posted by alex5723 View Post
SMB CIFS 1.0 is enabled for both client and server
Looks like you have this issue “Network attached storage not appearing in Windows 10 Network”
Maybe it’s worth googling that.

https://appuals.com/fix-cannot-acces...r-update-1709/


If you are running Windows 10 Pro it may be more locked down (than 10 Home).

Last edited by Whirlpool0548; 09-03-2018 at 02:58 AM.
Whirlpool0548 is offline  
post #3040 of 6175 Old 09-03-2018, 03:01 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
jconjason's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 3,049
Mentioned: 25 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1297 Post(s)
Liked: 2143
Quote:
Originally Posted by Whirlpool0548 View Post
This is directly relevant to a user’s issue with accessing the Dune Pro 4K from the network.
I’m certain the user would welcome any advice you have to offer in achieving this.
It's a Windows issue, and would receive better responses in a Windows forum.
deckarep likes this.

Samsung 65" KS8000
Denon AVR 6300H
Klipsch 5.1.2
HSU VTF-3 MK5 HP
jconjason is offline  
post #3041 of 6175 Old 09-03-2018, 03:03 AM
Member
 
alex5723's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 144
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 94 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by Whirlpool0548 View Post
Looks like you have this issue “Network attached storage not appearing in Windows 10 Network”
Maybe it’s worth googling that.

https://appuals.com/fix-cannot-acces...r-update-1709/
Didn't find a solution.
My laptop recognizes Dune and has access to the files.
My Dune recognizes my laptop if I choose 'MultiMedia Devices'.
My Dune doesn't find my laptop and shared folders under 'Network Places' - WORKGROUP.

Tried this fix, didn't help.

Press Windows + R to launch the Run application. Type “gpedit.msc” in the dialogue box and press Enter.
Once in the editor, navigate to the following path:
Computer Configuration > Administrative Templates > Network > Lanman Workstation

At the right side, you will see an entry named “Enable insecure guest logons”. Double-click it to change its properties.
Change the option from “Not Configured” to “Enabled”. Press Apply to save changes and exit.
Now restart your computer and check if the problem got solved.
alex5723 is offline  
post #3042 of 6175 Old 09-03-2018, 03:05 AM
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 857
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 661 Post(s)
Liked: 161
Quote:
Originally Posted by jconjason View Post
It's a Windows issue, and would receive better responses in a Windows forum.


I worked for 17 years on Windows based security software using various windows O/S, I wouldn't be offering advice if I did not feel qualified to do so.
A windows forum would offer similar advice.
Whirlpool0548 is offline  
post #3043 of 6175 Old 09-03-2018, 03:07 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
jconjason's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 3,049
Mentioned: 25 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1297 Post(s)
Liked: 2143
Quote:
Originally Posted by Whirlpool0548 View Post
I worked for 17 years on Windows based security software using various windows O/S, I wouldn't be offering advice if I did not feel qualified to do so.
A windows forum would offer similar advice.
Good for you....this isn't a Windows forum.
deckarep likes this.

Samsung 65" KS8000
Denon AVR 6300H
Klipsch 5.1.2
HSU VTF-3 MK5 HP
jconjason is offline  
post #3044 of 6175 Old 09-03-2018, 03:08 AM
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 857
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 661 Post(s)
Liked: 161
Quote:
Originally Posted by alex5723 View Post
Didn't find a solution.
My laptop recognizes Dune and has access to the files.
My Dune recognizes my laptop if I choose 'MultiMedia Devices'.
My Dune doesn't find my laptop and shared folders under 'Network Places' - WORKGROUP.

Tried this fix, didn't help.

Press Windows + R to launch the Run application. Type “gpedit.msc” in the dialogue box and press Enter.
Once in the editor, navigate to the following path:
Computer Configuration > Administrative Templates > Network > Lanman Workstation

At the right side, you will see an entry named “Enable insecure guest logons”. Double-click it to change its properties.
Change the option from “Not Configured” to “Enabled”. Press Apply to save changes and exit.
Now restart your computer and check if the problem got solved.

This link covers this solution and all the other settings worth checking
https://appuals.com/fix-cannot-acces...r-update-1709/
Whirlpool0548 is offline  
post #3045 of 6175 Old 09-03-2018, 03:09 AM
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 857
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 661 Post(s)
Liked: 161
Quote:
Originally Posted by jconjason View Post
Good for you....this isn't a Windows forum.
No, this is the Dun Pro 4K forum, but this user needs a bit of assistance to get it working.
Whirlpool0548 is offline  
post #3046 of 6175 Old 09-03-2018, 03:29 AM
Member
 
alex5723's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 144
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 94 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by Whirlpool0548 View Post
This link covers this solution and all the other settings worth checking
https://appuals.com/fix-cannot-acces...r-update-1709/
Went over all solutions. Everything is enabled as per the solutions...
alex5723 is offline  
post #3047 of 6175 Old 09-03-2018, 03:37 AM
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 857
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 661 Post(s)
Liked: 161
Quote:
Originally Posted by alex5723 View Post
Went over all solutions. Everything is enabled as per the solutions...

That eliminates Windows 10 as the cause of your problem.
It must be a network issue, that would explain why you get no failed credentials errors from the Dune in the Windows security log.


Are you able to temporarily disable the firewall on the Windows 10 machine and retry ?

Last edited by Whirlpool0548; 09-03-2018 at 03:42 AM.
Whirlpool0548 is offline  
post #3048 of 6175 Old 09-03-2018, 05:32 AM
Member
 
Broxxx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Germany
Posts: 74
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 56 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by alex5723 View Post
Went over all solutions. Everything is enabled as per the solutions...
https://appuals.com/fix-cannot-acces...r-update-1709/
https://appuals.com/fix-cannot-acces...r-update-1709/
This is true for the guest account. If you do not have a guest account (like me). Then:
Solution 4: Changing HomeGroup Settings
In the screenshot, you need to enable - "Turn on network discovery" - otherwise Dune will not see your PC on the network !!!
In the screenshot, you must enable "Allow Windows to manage ...", otherwise Dune will ask for the password !
Solution 5: Making sure Public Sharing is turned on
Enable "Turn off password protected sharing".

LG55C6D, Pioneer VSX-932, Dune Pro 4K
Broxxx is offline  
post #3049 of 6175 Old 09-03-2018, 05:35 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
a5ian300zx's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: England, UK
Posts: 1,018
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 620 Post(s)
Liked: 204
we need to get back on track on the dune pro 4k and this needs to be moved over to another thread or different forum now.

I already proved smb works fine on Windows 10 and highlighted the how to get it to work, any more is more of unique config and as such should be moved to another thread or forum category.

Thanks

Sent from my ONEPLUS 5T using Tapatalk
deckarep and jconjason like this.

TV: Sony 65" A1E OLED Surround: Sennheiser AMBEO + SVS SB12-NSD Stereo: Yamaha AS500 + Kef Q300 Processor: DVDO Iscan Mini + Darbee 5000S Players: Oppo UDP-203 / Dune Solo 4K / Apple TV 4K / VU+ Ultimo 4K NAS: Qnap TVS-871 Pro i7 10GBE
a5ian300zx is offline  
post #3050 of 6175 Old 09-03-2018, 05:51 AM
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 857
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 661 Post(s)
Liked: 161
Quote:
Originally Posted by a5ian300zx View Post
we need to get back on track on the dune pro 4k and this needs to be moved over to another thread or different forum now.

I already proved smb works fine on Windows 10 and highlighted the how to get it to work, any more is more of unique config and as such should be moved to another thread or forum category.

Thanks

Sent from my ONEPLUS 5T using Tapatalk
Let’s hope we get the same response when the posts drift off into zidoo, Zapitti etc. and all the other non- relevant topics that have cluttered this forum.

It’s good that you don’t have the issue, and I agree (saw your earlier posts with screenshots), it should be straightforward.
Whirlpool0548 is offline  
post #3051 of 6175 Old 09-03-2018, 06:39 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
a5ian300zx's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: England, UK
Posts: 1,018
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 620 Post(s)
Liked: 204
Quote:
Originally Posted by Whirlpool0548 View Post
Let’s hope we get the same response when the posts drift off into zidoo, Zapitti etc. and all the other non- relevant topics that have cluttered this forum.

It’s good that you don’t have the issue, and I agree (saw your earlier posts with screenshots), it should be straightforward.
I don't have the issue because I don't use Windows 10 but my qnap. I specifically configured Windows 10 so I can help the user and posted screenshots for him.

zidoo, zappiti is when users want to do comparison as they will or have purchased the dune.

movie scrappers are all relevant as user have diffent preferences on what to use on the dune.

I am all in there for helping when I can.

If you want to help the users then he can always install team viewer and you can do it for him and use the chat function or note pad for conversations.



Sent from my ONEPLUS 5T using Tapatalk

TV: Sony 65" A1E OLED Surround: Sennheiser AMBEO + SVS SB12-NSD Stereo: Yamaha AS500 + Kef Q300 Processor: DVDO Iscan Mini + Darbee 5000S Players: Oppo UDP-203 / Dune Solo 4K / Apple TV 4K / VU+ Ultimo 4K NAS: Qnap TVS-871 Pro i7 10GBE
a5ian300zx is offline  
post #3052 of 6175 Old 09-03-2018, 06:51 AM
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 857
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 661 Post(s)
Liked: 161
Quote:
Originally Posted by a5ian300zx View Post
I don't have the issue because I don't use Windows 10 but my qnap. I specifically configured Windows 10 so I can help the user and posted screenshots for him.

zidoo, zappiti is when users want to do comparison as they will or have purchased the dune.

movie scrappers are all relevant as user have diffent preferences on what to use on the dune.

I am all in there for helping when I can.

If you want to help the users then he can always install team viewer and you can do it for him and use the chat function or note pad for conversations.



Sent from my ONEPLUS 5T using Tapatalk
So, you reckon all those posts on cover art, which do nothing to inflence the user’s choice of media player, or the reams of posts about projector Gamma curves don’t fall into the off topic category ?
Whirlpool0548 is offline  
post #3053 of 6175 Old 09-03-2018, 07:13 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
a5ian300zx's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: England, UK
Posts: 1,018
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 620 Post(s)
Liked: 204
Quote:
Originally Posted by Whirlpool0548 View Post
So, you reckon all those posts on cover art, which do nothing to inflence the user’s choice of media player, or the reams of posts about projector Gamma curves don’t fall into the off topic category ?
No I don't, as they are all relevant in making the decision to get the best media player for the individuals needs.

That was the same goal over 10 years ago pecfect playback of media from variety of sources with best possible accurate picture with good media management options and firmware support.

I don't own a projector but still like to know how well it would work and if there will be any issues, for coverart I would like to know what options I have and customisation available as dune only released the my collection is 2016 and still need improving in my opinion (which I have reported back to Dune) until then I will use another.





Sent from my ONEPLUS 5T using Tapatalk

TV: Sony 65" A1E OLED Surround: Sennheiser AMBEO + SVS SB12-NSD Stereo: Yamaha AS500 + Kef Q300 Processor: DVDO Iscan Mini + Darbee 5000S Players: Oppo UDP-203 / Dune Solo 4K / Apple TV 4K / VU+ Ultimo 4K NAS: Qnap TVS-871 Pro i7 10GBE
a5ian300zx is offline  
post #3054 of 6175 Old 09-03-2018, 07:31 AM
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 857
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 661 Post(s)
Liked: 161
Quote:
Originally Posted by a5ian300zx View Post
No I don't, as they are all relevant in making the decision to get the best media player for the individuals needs.

That was the same goal over 10 years ago pecfect playback of media from variety of sources with best possible accurate picture with good media management options and firmware support.

I don't own a projector but still like to know how well it would work and if there will be any issues, for coverart I would like to know what options I have and customisation available as dune only released the my collection is 2016 and still need improving in my opinion (which I have reported back to Dune) until then I will use another.

Sent from my ONEPLUS 5T using Tapatalk

Only 10 years ago ?
I'll continue to filter the non relevant posts.
It was simply that this user has a Dune Pro 4K, he wants to get it working and maybe isn't too up to speed with the significant lockdown that has been applied in Windows 10 Pro.
Whirlpool0548 is offline  
post #3055 of 6175 Old 09-03-2018, 07:52 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
farsider3000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Houston, Texas
Posts: 1,992
Mentioned: 14 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1620 Post(s)
Liked: 1008
I think anything that relates to helping users with the Dune 4K is on topic for this thread. That includes a lot of different things like network access, cover art, audio, video formats, best way to store files, upcoming firmware, integration with control systems, quality comparisons to other players.

Especially if there are no other hot topics driving the thread there is no reason not to dive into network issues etc.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro

7.4.6 system: Processors:Marantz 8805 || Xilica XP4080 Amps: Parasound A31 and ATI AT528NC & AT526NC n-core ||Speakers: Procella P8 LCR, Procella P5/P5 in-wall
Subs: JTR Captivator subs: One S2, Two RS2, One S1
Screen: 2.40:1 Seymour XD Acoustically Transparent, 128" diagonal / 118" wide || Projector: JVC X570/RS420
farsider3000 is offline  
post #3056 of 6175 Old 09-03-2018, 08:07 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
a5ian300zx's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: England, UK
Posts: 1,018
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 620 Post(s)
Liked: 204
Quote:
Originally Posted by Whirlpool0548 View Post
Only 10 years ago ?
I'll continue to filter the non relevant posts.
It was simply that this user has a Dune Pro 4K, he wants to get it working and maybe isn't too up to speed with the significant lockdown that has been applied in Windows 10 Pro.
yes, over 10 years ago and my first media player was kiss dp600 followed by multitude of media player when full HD was not fully available in the market and we use to be on the good old mpc club back in the day. before that htpc builds.

I know your trying to be helpful and your advice and contribution is always appreciated but when issue starts to go on a bit then I would personally start a new thread or take to pm.

Ps. I. have emailed dune asking for eta on the release.

i did email in the beginning of the month and they could not give me eta on the firmware.

Thanks

Sent from my ONEPLUS 5T using Tapatalk

TV: Sony 65" A1E OLED Surround: Sennheiser AMBEO + SVS SB12-NSD Stereo: Yamaha AS500 + Kef Q300 Processor: DVDO Iscan Mini + Darbee 5000S Players: Oppo UDP-203 / Dune Solo 4K / Apple TV 4K / VU+ Ultimo 4K NAS: Qnap TVS-871 Pro i7 10GBE
a5ian300zx is offline  
post #3057 of 6175 Old 09-03-2018, 08:27 AM
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 857
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 661 Post(s)
Liked: 161
Quote:
Originally Posted by a5ian300zx View Post
yes, over 10 years ago and my first media player was kiss dp600 followed by multitude of media player when full HD was not fully available in the market and we use to be on the good old mpc club back in the day. before that htpc builds.

I know your trying to be helpful and your advice and contribution is always appreciated but when issue starts to go on a bit then I would personally start a new thread or take to pm.

Ps. I. have emailed dune asking for eta on the release.

i did email in the beginning of the month and they could not give me eta on the firmware.

Thanks

Sent from my ONEPLUS 5T using Tapatalk
Thanks for the tips.
Whirlpool0548 is offline  
post #3058 of 6175 Old 09-03-2018, 08:48 AM
Member
 
alex5723's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 144
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 94 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by Broxxx View Post
https://appuals.com/fix-cannot-acces...r-update-1709/
https://appuals.com/fix-cannot-acces...r-update-1709/
This is true for the guest account. If you do not have a guest account (like me). Then:
Solution 4: Changing HomeGroup Settings
In the screenshot, you need to enable - "Turn on network discovery" - otherwise Dune will not see your PC on the network !!!
In the screenshot, you must enable "Allow Windows to manage ...", otherwise Dune will ask for the password !
Solution 5: Making sure Public Sharing is turned on
Enable "Turn off password protected sharing".
"This is true for the guest account".. Windows doesn't have Guest account. The Guest account on the list of accounts in not usable.

Solution 4. Turn on network discovery in on on both Private Network and Public Network.
"Allow Windows to manage ..." Windows 10 Pro 1803 doesn't have HomeGroup or WORKGROUP.

Solution 5. Turn off password protected sharing in on.Public Sharing is turned on
alex5723 is offline  
post #3059 of 6175 Old 09-03-2018, 09:08 AM
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 857
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 661 Post(s)
Liked: 161
Quote:
Originally Posted by alex5723 View Post
"This is true for the guest account".. Windows doesn't have Guest account. The Guest account on the list of accounts in not usable.

Solution 4. Turn on network discovery in on on both Private Network and Public Network.
"Allow Windows to manage ..." Windows 10 Pro 1803 doesn't have HomeGroup or WORKGROUP.

Solution 5. Turn off password protected sharing in on.Public Sharing is turned on
Apologies but it looks like at least one other user wants this topic to have it’s own thread, or for further exchange to be via PM.
I would have thought the issue warranted further consideration as the resolution could prove useful to other Windows 10 users attempting to find an answer to accessing shares from the Dune. Pro is more locked down than Home, apologies for continuing to help, check this link
https://answers.microsoft.com/en-us/...a-116696b20743

Last edited by Whirlpool0548; 09-03-2018 at 09:27 AM.
Whirlpool0548 is offline  
post #3060 of 6175 Old 09-03-2018, 09:30 AM
Member
 
Broxxx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Germany
Posts: 74
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 56 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by alex5723 View Post
"This is true for the guest account".. Windows doesn't have Guest account. The Guest account on the list of accounts in not usable.

Solution 4. Turn on network discovery in on on both Private Network and Public Network.
"Allow Windows to manage ..." Windows 10 Pro 1803 doesn't have HomeGroup or WORKGROUP.

Solution 5. Turn off password protected sharing in on.Public Sharing is turned on
WORKGROUP available !

LG55C6D, Pioneer VSX-932, Dune Pro 4K

Last edited by Broxxx; 09-03-2018 at 09:34 AM.
Broxxx is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Networking, Media Servers & Content Streaming

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off