Dune HD Pro 4K (Ultra) Thread - Page 105 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 1780Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #3121 of 6229 Old 09-05-2018, 12:43 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Posts: 227
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 130 Post(s)
Liked: 31
Quote:
Originally Posted by stefanop View Post
First tests...


1) Skip buttons still don't work
2) Software StandBy still don't work in IP Control. You can PowerOff but You can't PowerOn anymore. With old Sigma Dune there's no problem.
3) Zoom in DVD don't work. It stretches the images laterally but not vertically as in old Sigma player
4) In zoom there's no more the possibility of scaling the dimension of the picture like in old Sigma Player
5) BD-Menu works, not so fast as I wish but it works.


I'm updating the other one I have and then I'll proceed with other tests.
I tried watching an ISO BD: Menu works, skip buttons work. Well Done! I hope to see the skip buttons working outside BD-MENU, too. I have all my movies in a server and watch them 99.9999% with Plex or My Collection so I do need Skip Buttons.
Skip buttons don't work properly only with AVS-Calibration ISO opened with BD-Menu but I don't know if it's a malfunction either of the disc or the player.
stefanop is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #3122 of 6229 Old 09-05-2018, 12:45 PM
Senior Member
 
SilverBlade's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 337
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 129 Post(s)
Liked: 27
Is Netflix still at 2.0 audio?
SilverBlade is offline  
post #3123 of 6229 Old 09-05-2018, 01:30 PM
Senior Member
 
jasjw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: England, UK
Posts: 341
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 111 Post(s)
Liked: 52
Quote:
Originally Posted by SilverBlade View Post
Is Netflix still at 2.0 audio?
Just tested. Yeah it’s still only 2.0.

LG OLED65C8
Dune Solo 4K
SKY Q
Xbox One X
Galaxy S10
jasjw is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #3124 of 6229 Old 09-05-2018, 01:52 PM
Advanced Member
 
indieke2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 516
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 81 Post(s)
Liked: 14
I have a weird problem, so a question that could be used in calibration forum, but try here anyway.

I was happy to be able to use my THX calibration disc finally. But weird, no possibility to get a decent image with it. For the contrast the boxes are overexposed, even turning the contrast down completely, lines between boxes not appear. But brightness settings are are ok When I put on a normal movie, I not notice any problem.

I used the disc with my Oppo 93, can use it normally. What is also weird using the thx disc, my contrast and brightness calibration on the oppo, is very close to the one I did just by feeling on the Dune.


Even using the THX before calibration, all seems to bright. So what is happening here? Why that THX , where I have to use menu's cannot display a proper picture......Is Contrast of the Dune, off?

I like my HT, wine and pretty girls. But...am I the only one

Last edited by indieke2; 09-05-2018 at 04:25 PM.
indieke2 is offline  
post #3125 of 6229 Old 09-05-2018, 03:38 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
blenky's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Hove, UK
Posts: 1,445
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 988 Post(s)
Liked: 903
About to d/l. Looks like a good step forward but still a lot to do. Hope to God we don't have to wait three months for the next one!

Samsung UE55KS8000 | Pioneer SC-LX701 | Dune HD Pro 4K | Zidoo Z9S | Apple TV 4K | Nvidia Shield TV (2019) | Fire TV Stick 4K | Samsung UBD-K8500 UHD Player
blenky is offline  
post #3126 of 6229 Old 09-05-2018, 05:52 PM
Senior Member
 
007james's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 395
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 51 Post(s)
Liked: 43
Just a quick test of the new firmware with blu-ray menu, some work, some do not, the ones that do not work have a quick pop-up requesting to select region than just go black. I have a lot of blu-ray pure-audio disc, the XTC ones gave the pop-up then went black, the 2 Yes ones seemed ok, further testing is needed but its a start i guess! Like previously mentioned, i hope its not 3 months away for the next firmware
blenky and sutton8 like this.
007james is offline  
post #3127 of 6229 Old 09-05-2018, 07:01 PM
Member
 
hotdeal13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 41
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 39 Post(s)
Liked: 14
can someone please test if 3D playback works with new firmware?

Thank you
hotdeal13 is offline  
post #3128 of 6229 Old 09-05-2018, 07:34 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Posts: 29
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 25 Post(s)
Liked: 3
Any changes about forced subs?
phorris is offline  
post #3129 of 6229 Old 09-05-2018, 08:00 PM
Senior Member
 
SilverBlade's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 337
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 129 Post(s)
Liked: 27
Quote:
Originally Posted by jasjw View Post
Just tested. Yeah it’s still only 2.0.
Yeah, still not worth the purchase to me.
SilverBlade is offline  
post #3130 of 6229 Old 09-05-2018, 11:14 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
muad'dib's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 1,372
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 421 Post(s)
Liked: 117
Quote:
Originally Posted by hotdeal13 View Post
can someone please test if 3D playback works with new firmware?

Thank you
I tried some 3d iso only movies and yes 3d frame packed still works...
muad'dib is offline  
post #3131 of 6229 Old 09-06-2018, 12:36 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Kazan, Russian Federation
Posts: 292
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 170 Post(s)
Liked: 27
anyone tried Digital Media Renderer Analyser with dune? could you please share renderer test report here?



Parasound Halo Integrated, Pioneer SC-LX 901, Oppo-205, Revel F208 + Heco Aurora Center 30 + Heco Victa Prime 202, Takstar HF 580
vavan is online now  
post #3132 of 6229 Old 09-06-2018, 12:47 AM
Member
 
alex5723's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 154
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 98 Post(s)
Liked: 33
Quote:
Originally Posted by hotdeal13 View Post
can someone please test if 3D playback works with new firmware?

Thank you
3D playback is not supported. 3D discs can currently be played in
2D mode only (when the disc supports 2D mode).
alex5723 is offline  
post #3133 of 6229 Old 09-06-2018, 12:59 AM
Advanced Member
 
indieke2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 516
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 81 Post(s)
Liked: 14
I tried again to use the THX calibrator disc. Again, no problem with brightness, but no way to get the pattern right for Contrast. With Oppo, all ok.

The boxes, stay too bright, no way t see the lines. I tried 4.4.4 as output and automatic (oppo is in 4.4.4). It is probably a setting it not like, but not found which.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	_DSC8452.JPG
Views:	238
Size:	52.6 KB
ID:	2451540  
indieke2 is offline  
post #3134 of 6229 Old 09-06-2018, 02:36 AM
Newbie
 
johndo6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by phorris View Post
Any changes about forced subs?
No
johndo6 is offline  
post #3135 of 6229 Old 09-06-2018, 02:55 AM
Member
 
djnice77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 76
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 73 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by indieke2 View Post
I tried again to use the THX calibrator disc. Again, no problem with brightness, but no way to get the pattern right for Contrast. With Oppo, all ok.

The boxes, stay too bright, no way t see the lines. I tried 4.4.4 as output and automatic (oppo is in 4.4.4). It is probably a setting it not like, but not found which.
Because the Dune clipping the Y channel too.
djnice77 is offline  
post #3136 of 6229 Old 09-06-2018, 03:01 AM
Member
 
Bartimaus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 49
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 34 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Are there any improvements for HDR->SDR Conversion ?


On a Non-HDR-Display HDR-Content looks.....................................

LivingRoom: Dune HD Solo Lite,Yamaha RX-V773,SamsungUE65KS8090,
Basement/HomeCinema: JVC-X5000, 3m 21:9 Framescreen + 2,8m 16:9 Tensionscreen, Denon X1400,Dune HD 4kpro ,Kathrein-UFS910-BPanther-Neutrino, QNAP TS653A 4x8TB+2x3TB
Bartimaus is offline  
post #3137 of 6229 Old 09-06-2018, 03:55 AM
Member
 
antrantr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Posts: 22
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 26 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bartimaus View Post
Are there any improvements for HDR->SDR Conversion ?


On a Non-HDR-Display HDR-Content looks.....................................
It seems that Dune is releasing just another product that perhaps in the end can "play" everything but when it comes to audio qualite and picture quality it will never be there.
So comparing to any disc player is worthless
antrantr is offline  
post #3138 of 6229 Old 09-06-2018, 04:04 AM
Member
 
Bartimaus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 49
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 34 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by phorris View Post
Any changes about forced subs?


They should work when you play via BD-Menu now...


(same as Dune-Solo-Lite)

LivingRoom: Dune HD Solo Lite,Yamaha RX-V773,SamsungUE65KS8090,
Basement/HomeCinema: JVC-X5000, 3m 21:9 Framescreen + 2,8m 16:9 Tensionscreen, Denon X1400,Dune HD 4kpro ,Kathrein-UFS910-BPanther-Neutrino, QNAP TS653A 4x8TB+2x3TB
Bartimaus is offline  
post #3139 of 6229 Old 09-06-2018, 04:58 AM
Member
 
antrantr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Posts: 22
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 26 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bartimaus View Post
They should work when you play via BD-Menu now...


(same as Dune-Solo-Lite)
New firmware (beta) have been removed...... wonder why ?
antrantr is offline  
post #3140 of 6229 Old 09-06-2018, 05:01 AM
Advanced Member
 
indieke2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 516
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 81 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by djnice77 View Post
Because the Dune clipping the Y channel too.
Can you explain too a novice, and is there something to do about it? Does Zappiti has same issues?

I like my HT, wine and pretty girls. But...am I the only one
indieke2 is offline  
post #3141 of 6229 Old 09-06-2018, 05:04 AM
Member
 
djnice77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 76
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 73 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by indieke2 View Post
Can you explain too a novice, and is there something to do about it? Does Zappiti has same issues?
Clipping section: http://spearsandmunsil.com/portfolio...color-space-2/
Zappiti is fine, only the Dune and the Zidoo clips the channels.
djnice77 is offline  
post #3142 of 6229 Old 09-06-2018, 05:05 AM
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 869
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 668 Post(s)
Liked: 162
Quote:
Originally Posted by johndo6 View Post
No
With the new firmware, forced subs work for me on DVD, blu-ray, 4k blu-ray and the one mkv (with a pgs subtitle stream) I tried.
What doesn’t work for you?
Whirlpool0548 is offline  
post #3143 of 6229 Old 09-06-2018, 05:07 AM
Advanced Member
 
indieke2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 516
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 81 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by djnice77 View Post
Clipping section: http://spearsandmunsil.com/portfolio...color-space-2/
Zappiti is fine, only the Dune and the Zidoo clips the channels.
That is bad news. I always found outdoor scenes, flat and lacking depth. If there is nothing to do about that, I give up on Dune, and buy zappiti again.

I like my HT, wine and pretty girls. But...am I the only one
indieke2 is offline  
post #3144 of 6229 Old 09-06-2018, 06:03 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
Sledgehamma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Germany
Posts: 945
Mentioned: 20 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 659 Post(s)
Liked: 365
Quote:
Originally Posted by Whirlpool0548 View Post
With the new firmware, forced subs work for me on DVD, blu-ray, 4k blu-ray and the one mkv (with a pgs subtitle stream) I tried.
What doesn’t work for you?
Forced flag within mkv.
Sledgehamma is online now  
post #3145 of 6229 Old 09-06-2018, 06:10 AM
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 869
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 668 Post(s)
Liked: 162
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sledgehamma View Post
Forced flag within mkv.
OK, thanks for the info. It covers all my requirements for subs.
The blanket ‘No’ didn’t give any detail.
Whirlpool0548 is offline  
post #3146 of 6229 Old 09-06-2018, 06:15 AM
Member
 
Bartimaus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 49
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 34 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by antrantr View Post
New firmware (beta) have been removed...... wonder why ?
Nope, still available

LivingRoom: Dune HD Solo Lite,Yamaha RX-V773,SamsungUE65KS8090,
Basement/HomeCinema: JVC-X5000, 3m 21:9 Framescreen + 2,8m 16:9 Tensionscreen, Denon X1400,Dune HD 4kpro ,Kathrein-UFS910-BPanther-Neutrino, QNAP TS653A 4x8TB+2x3TB
Bartimaus is offline  
post #3147 of 6229 Old 09-06-2018, 06:17 AM
Advanced Member
 
jowicrt's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Posts: 904
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 704 Post(s)
Liked: 209
Quote:
Originally Posted by antrantr View Post
It seems that Dune is releasing just another product that perhaps in the end can "play" everything but when it comes to audio qualite and picture quality it will never be there.
So comparing to any disc player is worthless
So what's wrong with the audio and picture quality? i think it is near perfect. Audio is stunning. HDR looks jaw dropping. So... tell me.
jowicrt is offline  
post #3148 of 6229 Old 09-06-2018, 06:20 AM
Advanced Member
 
jowicrt's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Posts: 904
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 704 Post(s)
Liked: 209
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bartimaus View Post
Are there any improvements for HDR->SDR Conversion ?
On a Non-HDR-Display HDR-Content looks.....................................
Stereo on a mono system also sounds like crap.
A a bluray on an SD tv looks bad.

Get yourself an actual HDR display and stop using conversions.
jowicrt is offline  
post #3149 of 6229 Old 09-06-2018, 06:22 AM
Member
 
Bartimaus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 49
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 34 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by jowicrt View Post
....... and stop using conversions.

Bad breakfast this morning ?
Deja-vue likes this.

LivingRoom: Dune HD Solo Lite,Yamaha RX-V773,SamsungUE65KS8090,
Basement/HomeCinema: JVC-X5000, 3m 21:9 Framescreen + 2,8m 16:9 Tensionscreen, Denon X1400,Dune HD 4kpro ,Kathrein-UFS910-BPanther-Neutrino, QNAP TS653A 4x8TB+2x3TB
Bartimaus is offline  
post #3150 of 6229 Old 09-06-2018, 06:31 AM
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 869
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 668 Post(s)
Liked: 162
Quote:
Originally Posted by antrantr View Post
It seems that Dune is releasing just another product that perhaps in the end can "play" everything but when it comes to audio qualite and picture quality it will never be there.
So comparing to any disc player is worthless
This comment doesn’t add any useful information.

Can you be more precise with an example comparison that illustrates this.
The Dune Pro 4K’s audio and video quality compare very favourably in a side by side comparison with my Panasonic 4k blu-ray player.
Whirlpool0548 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Networking, Media Servers & Content Streaming

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off