Dune HD Pro 4K (Ultra) Thread - Page 170 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 1531Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #5071 of 5419 Old 03-22-2019, 06:57 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
jconjason's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 2,775
Mentioned: 20 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1102 Post(s)
Liked: 1915
Quote:
Originally Posted by lithiumus View Post
Oh yes... i know the topic all too well...

Just wondering if “last chance” was just before you tossed it in the garbage, sell it, disconnect it... or if there was something bigger or mass movement at hand!


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
You must've missed the picture he posted a while ago showing his Pro 4K inside his trashcan. Of course it was just for show though(although pointless).

Samsung 65" KS8000
Denon AVR 6300H
Klipsch 5.1.2
HSU VTF-3 MK5 HP
jconjason is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #5072 of 5419 Old 03-22-2019, 07:06 PM
Member
 
lithiumus's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Toronto
Posts: 117
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 67 Post(s)
Liked: 33
Quote:
Originally Posted by jconjason View Post
You must've missed the picture he posted a while ago showing his Pro 4K inside his trashcan. Of course it was just for show though(although pointless).


Haha. No I saw it, I just didnt recall that it was him or I would have said “toss it in the garbage again”.

Lets all just make sure Dune knows...

This is their “last chance”! No more chances now! Its this time or bust! No more do overs! Its now or never! This is IT!!

Cue the Boys of the Chorus... “Oh we’re the boys of the Chorus, we hope you like our show, we know you’re rootin’ for us, but now we have to goooo...”


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
jconjason likes this.
lithiumus is online now  
post #5073 of 5419 Old 03-22-2019, 08:04 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Posts: 30
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 25 Post(s)
Liked: 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by lithiumus View Post
Haha. No I saw it, I just didnt recall that it was him or I would have said “toss it in the garbage again”.

Lets all just make sure Dune knows...

This is their “last chance”! No more chances now! Its this time or bust! No more do overs! Its now or never! This is IT!!

Cue the Boys of the Chorus... “Oh we’re the boys of the Chorus, we hope you like our show, we know you’re rootin’ for us, but now we have to goooo...”


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Lol,anyway Totally agree w/you , its trully last chance since im using this brand since H1 but dont knnow nowday seems this brand is not powerful like last time more even you can compare with all others discussion, this dune is major huge users, so anyone in here who links to dune plz yelling them abt this serious issue
Once still no uhd menu ,no improvement for this time fw , i will sell this and going to “E” brand
Btw you’re all guys said dune hd pro 4k , its anyone in heres using dune hd pro 4k PLUS? Coz if reads mostly using only hd pro 4k without plus word


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
tukul28 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #5074 of 5419 Old 03-23-2019, 01:45 AM
Advanced Member
 
a5ian300zx's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: England, UK
Posts: 977
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 587 Post(s)
Liked: 184
Quote:
Originally Posted by -Caesar- View Post
I can't believe it! I wasted several hours installing and re-installing several versions, factory reset, tried all sorts of audio settings.
Screw those bastards!
Are they Russians?
All android apps run at two channel stereo only the last time I checked inc kodi.

Kadqs mentioned that dune has a multiple channel Netflix app working, not sure if it's a hacked version or how long it will work for but time will tell.

I sold mine a while back and will revisit dune once they have the issues (in my opinion) sorted and by then we probably have newer versions of the player with a newer chipset.

Since then I have my trusted oppo 203 which is fantastic, apple tv4k with infuse and plex plugin is also fantastic and as another back have solo 4k but hardly use it now I have figured out how to playback full bluray/UHD dolby vision movies with full menus over the network on the oppo 203.

There are a few other anticipated players one is a folk of oppo firmware and another I heard of recently was madVR Envy which from my understanding will be a standalone player.

Sent from my Samsung Note 9 using Tapatalk
-Caesar- likes this.

TV: Sony 65" A1E OLED Surround: Yamaha RXA3070 + Orbs Audio Mod 4/2 7.1.2 + SVS SB12-NSD Stereo: Yamaha AS500 + Kef Q300 Processor: DVDO Iscan Mini + Darbee 5000S Players: Oppo UDP-203 / Dune Solo 4K / Apple TV 4K / VU+ Ultimo 4K NAS: Qnap TVS-871 Pro i7 10GBE
a5ian300zx is online now  
post #5075 of 5419 Old 03-23-2019, 02:20 AM
Senior Member
 
Apgood's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Hong Kong / Australia
Posts: 402
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 149 Post(s)
Liked: 72
Quote:
Originally Posted by a5ian300zx View Post

There are a few other anticipated players one is a folk of oppo firmware and another I heard of recently was madVR Envy which from my understanding will be a standalone player.
The madVR Envy will be a video processor (i.e. like HDfury or Lumagen) not a media player.

Any reference to Oppo etc in relation to the Envy is related to HDR tone mapping and that sort of thing.
-Caesar- likes this.
Apgood is offline  
post #5076 of 5419 Old 03-23-2019, 02:29 AM
Advanced Member
 
a5ian300zx's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: England, UK
Posts: 977
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 587 Post(s)
Liked: 184
Quote:
Originally Posted by Apgood View Post
The madVR Envy will be a video processor (i.e. like HDfury or Lumagen) not a media player.

Any reference to Oppo etc in relation to the Envy is related to HDR tone mapping and that sort of thing.
Thanks for the clarification, as long as its not lumagen pricing

Sent from my Samsung Note 9 using Tapatalk

TV: Sony 65" A1E OLED Surround: Yamaha RXA3070 + Orbs Audio Mod 4/2 7.1.2 + SVS SB12-NSD Stereo: Yamaha AS500 + Kef Q300 Processor: DVDO Iscan Mini + Darbee 5000S Players: Oppo UDP-203 / Dune Solo 4K / Apple TV 4K / VU+ Ultimo 4K NAS: Qnap TVS-871 Pro i7 10GBE
a5ian300zx is online now  
post #5077 of 5419 Old 03-23-2019, 02:55 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 49
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 40 Post(s)
Liked: 3
Quote:
Originally Posted by a5ian300zx View Post
All android apps run at two channel stereo only the last time I checked inc kodi.

Thank you for your help.
You are wrong there. Kodi has all sort of Multi channel audio output. In my case until version 16 on my Minix Player


Quote:
Originally Posted by a5ian300zx View Post
Kadqs mentioned that dune has a multiple channel Netflix app working, not sure if it's a hacked version or how long it will work for but time will tell.
Thanks again. I will contact him to see how it's done.


Cheers
Caesar
-Caesar- is offline  
post #5078 of 5419 Old 03-23-2019, 03:14 AM
Advanced Member
 
a5ian300zx's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: England, UK
Posts: 977
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 587 Post(s)
Liked: 184
Quote:
Originally Posted by -Caesar- View Post
Thank you for your help.
You are wrong there. Kodi has all sort of Multi channel audio output. In my case until version 16 on my Minix Player



Thanks again. I will contact him to see how it's done.


Cheers
Caesar
I was referring to kodi on the dune only not on any other android platform.

Kadqs has already mentioned that they might release it at the end of the month but no guarantees, but he did say he has played with it.



Sent from my Samsung Note 9 using Tapatalk
-Caesar- likes this.

TV: Sony 65" A1E OLED Surround: Yamaha RXA3070 + Orbs Audio Mod 4/2 7.1.2 + SVS SB12-NSD Stereo: Yamaha AS500 + Kef Q300 Processor: DVDO Iscan Mini + Darbee 5000S Players: Oppo UDP-203 / Dune Solo 4K / Apple TV 4K / VU+ Ultimo 4K NAS: Qnap TVS-871 Pro i7 10GBE
a5ian300zx is online now  
post #5079 of 5419 Old 03-23-2019, 03:17 AM
Senior Member
 
Apgood's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Hong Kong / Australia
Posts: 402
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 149 Post(s)
Liked: 72
Quote:
Originally Posted by a5ian300zx View Post
Thanks for the clarification, as long as its not lumagen pricing

Sent from my Samsung Note 9 using Tapatalk
Madshi said he was probably going to be targeting the high end of the market so it could well be in the region of a lumagen.
a5ian300zx and Whirlpool0548 like this.
Apgood is offline  
post #5080 of 5419 Old 03-23-2019, 02:36 PM
Senior Member
 
kadqs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: EU
Posts: 425
Mentioned: 43 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 396 Post(s)
Liked: 318
Quote:
Originally Posted by a5ian300zx View Post
I was referring to kodi on the dune only not on any other android platform.
Kadqs has already mentioned that they might release it at the end of the month but no guarantees, but he did say he has played with it.
Sent from my Samsung Note 9 using Tapatalk
Yes, Multichanel Netflix for Dune Pro/Max/Ultra 4K (Realtek based) works fine, and plays passthrough via HDMI (AVR reports DD+ 5.1). I got patch for Netflix app, to test it. Dune shall release it with the next firmware. We all shall get it till end of March.
I have no idea how they managed to patch it, but the fact is that at Dune Neo models (Amlogic based) same version of Netflix app works with multichannel audio from the beginning.
a5ian300zx, -Caesar- and leonkoum like this.

DuneHD Ultra4K, Pro4K, Neo4k, Duo4K, Solo4K, Base3D, TV-102w, Popcorn A500pro, A500, A410, C300, Mede8er x3d, Zidoo, Egreat, QNAP/Synology, Fibaro, Sonos, iEast
kadqs is offline  
post #5081 of 5419 Old 03-24-2019, 12:07 AM
Member
 
leonkoum's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: GREECE
Posts: 29
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by kadqs View Post
Yes, Multichanel Netflix for Dune Pro/Max/Ultra 4K (Realtek based) works fine, and plays passthrough via HDMI (AVR reports DD+ 5.1). I got patch for Netflix app, to test it. Dune shall release it with the next firmware. We all shall get it till end of March.
I have no idea how they managed to patch it, but the fact is that at Dune Neo models (Amlogic based) same version of Netflix app works with multichannel audio from the beginning.
Thats good news, i hope also that they are working hard to fix micro stutter issue like Zidoo made for here 1295SoC models (x9s &x10).
Lets hope!

Klipsch & Denon always!!!
leonkoum is offline  
post #5082 of 5419 Old 03-24-2019, 05:29 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
blenky's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Hove, UK
Posts: 1,257
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 839 Post(s)
Liked: 779
Quote:
Originally Posted by kadqs View Post
Yes, Multichanel Netflix for Dune Pro/Max/Ultra 4K (Realtek based) works fine, and plays passthrough via HDMI (AVR reports DD+ 5.1). I got patch for Netflix app, to test it. Dune shall release it with the next firmware. We all shall get it till end of March.
I have no idea how they managed to patch it, but the fact is that at Dune Neo models (Amlogic based) same version of Netflix app works with multichannel audio from the beginning.
Thanks for the update and that we will see the looooong awaited firmware at the end of the month.

TBH I don't care about Netflix (or Android) on this box as you can get multi channel Netflix from a variety of other sources. If you really care about Android on your TV get a Shield or a Sony TV!

I got this box to play my own media collection of HD and UHD bluray and MKV. I want Dune to focus its mind on making that experience as flawless as they can.

Samsung UE55KS8000 | Pioneer SC-LX701 | Dune HD Pro 4K | Zidoo Z9S | Roku Streaming Stick + | Apple TV 4K | Samsung UBD-K8500 UHD Player

Last edited by blenky; 03-24-2019 at 06:06 AM.
blenky is online now  
post #5083 of 5419 Old 03-24-2019, 06:35 AM
Member
 
Head_Banger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 2
I’m really looking forward to this updated firmware - it actually sounds like it will fix a lot of issues. If it includes fixing the repeated frame issue on 4K (caused by running too fast) I’ll be very happy.

HB
Head_Banger is offline  
post #5084 of 5419 Old 03-24-2019, 01:54 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
halfelite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 2,199
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 626 Post(s)
Liked: 328
Quote:
Originally Posted by a5ian300zx View Post
There are a few other anticipated players one is a folk of oppo firmware and another I heard of recently was madVR Envy which from my understanding will be a standalone player.

Sent from my Samsung Note 9 using Tapatalk
I dont think its a stand alone player. I think its a stand alone video processor. Think Lumagen
halfelite is online now  
post #5085 of 5419 Old 03-24-2019, 01:57 PM
Advanced Member
 
a5ian300zx's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: England, UK
Posts: 977
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 587 Post(s)
Liked: 184
Quote:
Originally Posted by halfelite View Post
I dont think its a stand alone player. I think its a stand alone video processor. Think Lumagen
I know I had someone correct me already, but it's going to be expensive.

Lumagen is very good but I found it quite complex to use and you should I would say have it professional calibrated, I sold mine in the end as I chop and change all the time.



Sent from my Samsung Note 9 using Tapatalk

TV: Sony 65" A1E OLED Surround: Yamaha RXA3070 + Orbs Audio Mod 4/2 7.1.2 + SVS SB12-NSD Stereo: Yamaha AS500 + Kef Q300 Processor: DVDO Iscan Mini + Darbee 5000S Players: Oppo UDP-203 / Dune Solo 4K / Apple TV 4K / VU+ Ultimo 4K NAS: Qnap TVS-871 Pro i7 10GBE
a5ian300zx is online now  
post #5086 of 5419 Old 03-24-2019, 02:04 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
halfelite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 2,199
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 626 Post(s)
Liked: 328
Quote:
Originally Posted by kadqs View Post
Yes, Multichanel Netflix for Dune Pro/Max/Ultra 4K (Realtek based) works fine, and plays passthrough via HDMI (AVR reports DD+ 5.1). I got patch for Netflix app, to test it. Dune shall release it with the next firmware. We all shall get it till end of March.
I have no idea how they managed to patch it, but the fact is that at Dune Neo models (Amlogic based) same version of Netflix app works with multichannel audio from the beginning.
AMlogic devices could get 5.1 with certain firmware and Netflix versions. Patch was only needed to enable 720+ streams. But if its still a patched apk it means netflix can still detect and remove it its not true support. But a step in getting everything right they offered.
halfelite is online now  
post #5087 of 5419 Old 03-25-2019, 11:40 AM
Newbie
 
MrPurple's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Got only green screen when playing 7.1 AAC movies. Any advice?
Thanks.
MrPurple is offline  
post #5088 of 5419 Old 03-25-2019, 03:25 PM
Member
 
helcio.carvalho's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: BRAZIL
Posts: 155
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Guys... I see you mention Netflix on Dune... and I get so pissed. I just can't watch any Netflix movie (HD) on my Neo!! Soon as the movie starts, it stops and I get a message: Sorry, we cant's play this movie. Could anyone please tell me why that happens? Could it be my Neo? I reinstalled the NF app a couple of times and nothing.
What a bummer...
helcio.carvalho is offline  
post #5089 of 5419 Old 03-25-2019, 03:40 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 49
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 40 Post(s)
Liked: 3
Quote:
Originally Posted by helcio.carvalho View Post
Guys... I see you mention Netflix on Dune... and I get so pissed. I just can't watch any Netflix movie (HD) on my Neo!! Soon as the movie starts, it stops and I get a message: Sorry, we cant's play this movie. Could anyone please tell me why that happens? Could it be my Neo? I reinstalled the NF app a couple of times and nothing.
What a bummer...

Ola Amigo,


I'm in Brazil too and my Netflix runs fine (but without Multichannel Audio which will be implemented shortly according to Dune's Tech Support), so it has nothing to do with country restrictions I guess.
I have the Dune HD Pro 4K. Maybe you need to find and ask in a Neo forum?


Cheers
Caesar
-Caesar- is offline  
post #5090 of 5419 Old 03-25-2019, 04:47 PM
Member
 
helcio.carvalho's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: BRAZIL
Posts: 155
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by -Caesar- View Post
Ola Amigo,


I'm in Brazil too and my Netflix runs fine (but without Multichannel Audio which will be implemented shortly according to Dune's Tech Support), so it has nothing to do with country restrictions I guess.
I have the Dune HD Pro 4K. Maybe you need to find and ask in a Neo forum?


Cheers
Caesar

Thanks, Cesar. I don't think there's a NEO thread -- I searched for it and all I got was the Pro 4k. I really can't understand what the problem is. I managed to register my Neo with NF. I log in, acess the main menu -- but soon as I start a movie it crashes.
Something's not right... and I'm totally clueless.
-Caesar- likes this.

Last edited by helcio.carvalho; 03-25-2019 at 04:50 PM.
helcio.carvalho is offline  
post #5091 of 5419 Old 03-25-2019, 05:05 PM
Senior Member
 
007james's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 384
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 43 Post(s)
Liked: 40
Less than 6 days until Dune releases the firmware that fixes it all, cant't wait
-Caesar-, AYanguas and tukul28 like this.
007james is offline  
post #5092 of 5419 Old 03-26-2019, 09:23 AM
Senior Member
 
Tsunamijhoe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 234
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 129 Post(s)
Liked: 39
Quote:
Originally Posted by 007james View Post
Less than 6 days until Dune releases the firmware that fixes it all, cant't wait

Hopefully they will make the 4k pro a better player than the Solo.. I have yet to purchase a new Dune,and was almost ready to purchase the solo on advice from here,but i am reluctant to pay that much for hardware that is so outdated in every way as the solo is now,and i dont like to buy used electronics.
A european reseller has the solo brand new at 300€,which is just way too much for something that old..


The 4k pro is at 249€ at present,which is actually 50€ more than when it first got introduced.
-Caesar- likes this.

Marantz 7704, Emotiva XPA-5,Emotiva XPA-2,Densen B-340+,B&W 683,B&W HTM61,B&W DS3,2XSVS PB-2000,4XMonitor Audio BX1 (Atmos),Sony VPL-HW65ES,Stewart 123" CIMA Neve Motorized, Dune Smart D1, Popcorn Hour A-210, Mede8er x600 3D,Panasonic BD60,PS4
Tsunamijhoe is offline  
post #5093 of 5419 Old 03-26-2019, 01:17 PM
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 695
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 554 Post(s)
Liked: 144
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tsunamijhoe View Post
Hopefully they will make the 4k pro a better player than the Solo.. I have yet to purchase a new Dune,and was almost ready to purchase the solo on advice from here,but i am reluctant to pay that much for hardware that is so outdated in every way as the solo is now,and i dont like to buy used electronics.
A european reseller has the solo brand new at 300€,which is just way too much for something that old..


The 4k pro is at 249€ at present,which is actually 50€ more than when it first got introduced.
I bought the Pro 4K early and originally it was on special offer, so that may explain why it now appears to be more than when it was first released.

Anyone advising purchase of the Solo instead of the Pro 4K can’t be interested in playing HDR material.
jconjason and -Caesar- like this.
Whirlpool0548 is online now  
post #5094 of 5419 Old 03-26-2019, 04:01 PM
Member
 
lithiumus's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Toronto
Posts: 117
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 67 Post(s)
Liked: 33
the Dune Solo 4k has the ability to play slow motion which the Dune 4k PRO can't for some reason. If you don't watch HDR or have the ability to force HDR in your monitor and hope it maps properly, go with the Solo. Otherwise, I see no reason to get a Solo instead of a PRO.
jowicrt likes this.
lithiumus is online now  
post #5095 of 5419 Old 03-26-2019, 04:35 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
jconjason's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 2,775
Mentioned: 20 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1102 Post(s)
Liked: 1915
Quote:
Originally Posted by Whirlpool0548 View Post
I bought the Pro 4K early and originally it was on special offer, so that may explain why it now appears to be more than when it was first released.

Anyone advising purchase of the Solo instead of the Pro 4K can’t be interested in playing HDR material.
Agreed. I too bought early. Was actually a pre-order. I don't think the original price was a special offer. I think recently Dune just decided to raise the price. Which is ballsy considering the lack of firmwares. Thankfully I was able to get my 2nd one before the price hike.

I may be totally wrong though about the original price not being a timed special.

Samsung 65" KS8000
Denon AVR 6300H
Klipsch 5.1.2
HSU VTF-3 MK5 HP
jconjason is offline  
post #5096 of 5419 Old 03-26-2019, 05:45 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
halfelite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 2,199
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 626 Post(s)
Liked: 328
Quote:
Originally Posted by jconjason View Post
Agreed. I too bought early. Was actually a pre-order. I don't think the original price was a special offer. I think recently Dune just decided to raise the price. Which is ballsy considering the lack of firmwares. Thankfully I was able to get my 2nd one before the price hike.

I may be totally wrong though about the original price not being a timed special.
The price changed with the hardware revision. more money without a backlit remote.
halfelite is online now  
post #5097 of 5419 Old 03-26-2019, 05:47 PM
Senior Member
 
Tsunamijhoe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 234
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 129 Post(s)
Liked: 39
Quote:
Originally Posted by Whirlpool0548 View Post
I bought the Pro 4K early and originally it was on special offer, so that may explain why it now appears to be more than when it was first released.

Anyone advising purchase of the Solo instead of the Pro 4K can’t be interested in playing HDR material.

I have kept an eye on the price,and the price hike happened recently. I think it might have been because the gap between the solo and the new one was too great,so they might not have been able to sell old stock,but this is just conjecture on my part.. I do know though that the original 199 price wasnt a pre-order or special sale price though.


Also,i have absolutly no use for HDR,dont have the equipment,and will never buy UHD.. I am perfectly happy with 1080p. I dont like the way hdr makes everything seem oversaturated and fake..To each their own i guess.


I need a stable 1080p player with full bd menu support that just works to take over from my popcorn hour a210 which is begining to show age problems.
-Caesar- likes this.

Marantz 7704, Emotiva XPA-5,Emotiva XPA-2,Densen B-340+,B&W 683,B&W HTM61,B&W DS3,2XSVS PB-2000,4XMonitor Audio BX1 (Atmos),Sony VPL-HW65ES,Stewart 123" CIMA Neve Motorized, Dune Smart D1, Popcorn Hour A-210, Mede8er x600 3D,Panasonic BD60,PS4

Last edited by Tsunamijhoe; 03-26-2019 at 05:54 PM.
Tsunamijhoe is offline  
post #5098 of 5419 Old 03-26-2019, 06:26 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 49
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 40 Post(s)
Liked: 3
Yes, the price hike was only recently...
First time I looked at the Dune HD Pro 4K the price on Amazon Germany was Euro199.00. That was about 4 weeks ago. A week later it had risen to Euro249.00 (and then I bought it for that price since I couldn't get it cheaper anywhere else to get it to my residence Brazil).

Cheers
Caesar
-Caesar- is offline  
post #5099 of 5419 Old 03-26-2019, 09:27 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
jconjason's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 2,775
Mentioned: 20 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1102 Post(s)
Liked: 1915
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tsunamijhoe View Post
I have kept an eye on the price,and the price hike happened recently. I think it might have been because the gap between the solo and the new one was too great,so they might not have been able to sell old stock,but this is just conjecture on my part.. I do know though that the original 199 price wasnt a pre-order or special sale price though.


Also,i have absolutly no use for HDR,dont have the equipment,and will never buy UHD.. I am perfectly happy with 1080p. I dont like the way hdr makes everything seem oversaturated and fake..To each their own i guess.


I need a stable 1080p player with full bd menu support that just works to take over from my popcorn hour a210 which is begining to show age problems.
Buy a used Smart D1. I was sad to let mine go but I fully upgraded to UHD so it had to go. It's as stable a player as you'll find for 1080p.

Samsung 65" KS8000
Denon AVR 6300H
Klipsch 5.1.2
HSU VTF-3 MK5 HP
jconjason is offline  
post #5100 of 5419 Old 03-26-2019, 10:18 PM
Senior Member
 
indieke2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 498
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 71 Post(s)
Liked: 14
A lot of apps, work fine with just a Chrome-cast on tv, Surround amp. But for me it is more important that framerate is ok, the remote app works better (it is searching for the unit so long sometimes), and that Music can be played easy thru USB or other.

A lot of issues, are getting resolved, but the bad contact in the power input, which I am not the only one to have is a shame....

I like my HT, wine and pretty girls. But...am I the only one
indieke2 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Networking, Media Servers & Content Streaming

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off