Dune HD Pro 4K (Ultra) Thread - Page 179 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 1668Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #5341 of 5827 Old 04-20-2019, 09:38 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Posts: 32
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 25 Post(s)
Liked: 2
Finally yeahhh!!!!!
Big day for all dune users



Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
tukul28 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #5342 of 5827 Old 04-20-2019, 09:47 AM
Member
 
McClane77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Denmark
Posts: 27
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Does it fix framerate issues?
McClane77 is offline  
post #5343 of 5827 Old 04-20-2019, 09:51 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
jconjason's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 2,866
Mentioned: 20 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1164 Post(s)
Liked: 1994
Quote:
Originally Posted by tbass2k View Post
Exactly, so far it's loaded every 4k image I've had quickly and flawlessly, of course imma test every title I have. Bravo Dune! Way not to listen to the haters and give up on your products and reputation.

Sent from my SM-N960U using Tapatalk
Same here. The handful I've tried loaded the menus perfectly. With anything I assume their will be some bugs but it's now implemented and they can continue to iron it out.
tbass2k likes this.

Samsung 65" KS8000
Denon AVR 6300H
Klipsch 5.1.2
HSU VTF-3 MK5 HP
jconjason is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #5344 of 5827 Old 04-20-2019, 09:57 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
blenky's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Hove, UK
Posts: 1,360
Mentioned: 12 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 924 Post(s)
Liked: 838
Going to give this a whirl. Need to re connect my Dune as has been gathering dust the last few weeks.

As mentioned earlier there are other concerns other than UHD menu support. Does it fix the frame rate issue, add support for external srt when there are internal subs? Can you now adjust audio sync? Have they overhauled to not very good MyCollection?

I'm sure there other issues I have not mentioned.

Samsung UE55KS8000 | Pioneer SC-LX701 | Dune HD Pro 4K | Zidoo Z9S | Apple TV 4K | Samsung UBD-K8500 UHD Player
blenky is offline  
post #5345 of 5827 Old 04-20-2019, 10:09 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
tbass2k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Alabama
Posts: 1,295
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 286 Post(s)
Liked: 257
I've loaded about 12 titles so far, here's what I've noticed.

1. Subtitles on several UHD titles are enabled by default. Is there a setting in the Dune setup to disable this?

2. On the Captain America movies it loads fine but starts the movie at the menu/movie screen without giving you the option to go directly to the menu. If you press the pop up menu you can get there after the movie starts as normal.

Minor issues, but just some observations.

Sent from my SM-N960U using Tapatalk
tbass2k is online now  
post #5346 of 5827 Old 04-20-2019, 11:30 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
tbass2k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Alabama
Posts: 1,295
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 286 Post(s)
Liked: 257
Update:

So far only Bumblebee is not working properly. It loads the disc but when it gets to the main menu the disc options aren't there, it's just blank with the background of Bumblebee and the girl.

Sent from my SM-N960U using Tapatalk
tbass2k is online now  
post #5347 of 5827 Old 04-20-2019, 11:51 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Posts: 49
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 35 Post(s)
Liked: 2
Bumble Bee gave me the same issue but on the regular Blu-ray, not UHD. It was like that before the new update too
rosche22 is offline  
post #5348 of 5827 Old 04-20-2019, 12:45 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
tbass2k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Alabama
Posts: 1,295
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 286 Post(s)
Liked: 257
Quote:
Originally Posted by rosche22 View Post
Bumble Bee gave me the same issue but on the regular Blu-ray, not UHD. It was like that before the new update too
I was just about to type that I reinstalled the firmware and now the Bumblebee UHD menu is working. Interesting though about the regular bluray version, I haven't ripped it yet to test.....

Update- I stopped and restarted the Bumblebee UHD disc, back to no menu....must be an intermittent bug.

Sent from my SM-N960U using Tapatalk
tbass2k is online now  
post #5349 of 5827 Old 04-20-2019, 02:36 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
markswift2003's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: UK, Europe.
Posts: 1,028
Mentioned: 22 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 690 Post(s)
Liked: 453
Quote:
Originally Posted by robena View Post
...

But something tells me all this is vastly off-topic and extremely controversial subject in this thread.

But very refreshing for this thread - really enjoyed reading this....
robena likes this.

Zidoo Z9S | Dune Pro 4K | HDFury Vertex | 32TB mirrored storage
Denon AVC-X8500H | JVC DLA X7000 | Screen Research 9ft multi aspect ClearPix 2 ISF screen
3 x PMC IB2S fronts | 4 x PMC Wafer 2 rears | 4 x PMC Wafer 1 ceiling | 2 x M&K SS550 THX height | Rel Stentor III
A pair of slippers, a comfy sofa and a glass of 16 year old single malt
markswift2003 is offline  
post #5350 of 5827 Old 04-20-2019, 02:56 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
halfelite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 2,210
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 634 Post(s)
Liked: 330
Quote:
Originally Posted by jconjason View Post
Either that or one...or two will whine that it took so long. I've noticed one....or two in this thread will never be happy with this product.
It took to long =P. For those that have flashed have you noticed any negative impact the firmware warns " There were big changes in the core parts of the firmware, so some
functions may be potentially broken in this version."

Nothing is standing out yet? Im busy all weekend so cant pull mine out to test yet but this might save me from buying the oppo unless I get the DV itch

Last edited by halfelite; 04-20-2019 at 03:02 PM.
halfelite is offline  
post #5351 of 5827 Old 04-20-2019, 03:33 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
blenky's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Hove, UK
Posts: 1,360
Mentioned: 12 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 924 Post(s)
Liked: 838
Tested a few and so far very good. Implementation is better than the Zidoo - which matches with Dunes superior standard bluray menu support.

Only found one minor glitch so far. Deadpool 2 Super Duper Cut - on starting the intial logo appears in one quarter (top left) of screen. However after that its OK.
Whirlpool0548 likes this.

Samsung UE55KS8000 | Pioneer SC-LX701 | Dune HD Pro 4K | Zidoo Z9S | Apple TV 4K | Samsung UBD-K8500 UHD Player
blenky is offline  
post #5352 of 5827 Old 04-20-2019, 03:59 PM
Member
 
lithiumus's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Toronto
Posts: 124
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 72 Post(s)
Liked: 34
This is awesome! Will check the vertex and see if the framerate was corrected...



Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
lithiumus is offline  
post #5353 of 5827 Old 04-20-2019, 04:25 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
robena's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 1,927
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 175 Post(s)
Liked: 75
Quote:
Originally Posted by lithiumus View Post
This is awesome! Will check the vertex and see if the framerate was corrected...
Nope, still 23.987.

So that, subs sync and maybe HDR meta data (I don't know how to check) are the last missing things to fix.

I must say though that I almost never notice a problem with the frame rate on my system.
Whirlpool0548 likes this.

Robert
robena is online now  
post #5354 of 5827 Old 04-20-2019, 04:44 PM
Senior Member
 
007james's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 388
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 45 Post(s)
Liked: 40
Well, I'm happy to see that Dune is continuing to work on firmware features/fixes, I hope that DVD chapter skip is in the making, overall, stability seems improved, thanks to Dune for their continuous efforts
007james is offline  
post #5355 of 5827 Old 04-20-2019, 05:56 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
robena's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 1,927
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 175 Post(s)
Liked: 75
Quote:
Originally Posted by 007james View Post
Well, I'm happy to see that Dune is continuing to work on firmware features/fixes, I hope that DVD chapter skip is in the making, overall, stability seems improved, thanks to Dune for their continuous efforts
Well, unfortunately, dune_firmware_tv292a_190412_0053_r13 as the same problem as dune_firmware_tv292a_190330_0254_r13: it's unable to play single MKV files.

I just tried to watch an 40 minutes series properly remuxed with mkvtoolnix, and at minute 3, it jumped to minute 20. dune_firmware_tv292a_190330_0254_r13 had the same behavior, sometimes jumping, sometimes stopping to play.

The last usable firmware for MKV files is the alpha dune_firmware_tv292a_190330_0254_r13 one, the first to add default subs choice.

I reverted to it, and the same file played without a hitch.

Robert
robena is online now  
post #5356 of 5827 Old 04-20-2019, 07:52 PM
Member
 
mike_carton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 166
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 42
Remaining:

- frame rate
- forced subs
- mkv file playing (with forced subs)
- subs sync

Anything else?
mike_carton is offline  
post #5357 of 5827 Old 04-20-2019, 08:08 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
jconjason's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 2,866
Mentioned: 20 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1164 Post(s)
Liked: 1994
Quote:
Originally Posted by robena View Post
Well, unfortunately, dune_firmware_tv292a_190412_0053_r13 as the same problem as dune_firmware_tv292a_190330_0254_r13: it's unable to play single MKV files.

I just tried to watch an 40 minutes series properly remuxed with mkvtoolnix, and at minute 3, it jumped to minute 20. dune_firmware_tv292a_190330_0254_r13 had the same behavior, sometimes jumping, sometimes stopping to play.

The last usable firmware for MKV files is the alpha dune_firmware_tv292a_190330_0254_r13 one, the first to add default subs choice.

I reverted to it, and the same file played without a hitch.
I have no issue playing mkv files. Do you mean specifically with series? I only have movies in mkv, and they all play with no issue.

Samsung 65" KS8000
Denon AVR 6300H
Klipsch 5.1.2
HSU VTF-3 MK5 HP
jconjason is offline  
post #5358 of 5827 Old 04-20-2019, 08:27 PM
Member
 
lithiumus's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Toronto
Posts: 124
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 72 Post(s)
Liked: 34
Quote:
Originally Posted by robena View Post
Nope, still 23.987.

So that, subs sync and maybe HDR meta data (I don't know how to check) are the last missing things to fix.

I must say though that I almost never notice a problem with the frame rate on my system.


I should be able to confirm Luminance Max / Min and MaxCLL and MaxFALL with the Vertex compared to the original source.

I never checked before but Ill have a look and see...



Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
lithiumus is offline  
post #5359 of 5827 Old 04-20-2019, 10:17 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Posts: 32
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 25 Post(s)
Liked: 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by tbass2k View Post
Update:

So far only Bumblebee is not working properly. It loads the disc but when it gets to the main menu the disc options aren't there, it's just blank with the background of Bumblebee and the girl.

Sent from my SM-N960U using Tapatalk


U wait till 8min then voila the menu will came out


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
tukul28 is offline  
post #5360 of 5827 Old 04-20-2019, 11:26 PM
Member
 
lithiumus's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Toronto
Posts: 124
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 72 Post(s)
Liked: 34
Dune HD Pro 4K (Ultra) Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by lithiumus View Post
I should be able to confirm Luminance Max / Min and MaxCLL and MaxFALL with the Vertex compared to the original source.

I never checked before but Ill have a look and see...



Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk


Ok. I dont know where the Dune was previously but I can confirm that the Dune is sending correct Luminance Min/Max values via the Vertex output signal data compared to the video file data using Mediainfo on several releases...

However, the MaxCLL and MaxFALL are not correct. Some titles show both as 0 and some have values like 36731 and 49152 when they should be 1000 and 607 respectively.

HDR data is still not accurate

I watched a title with forced subs and they are not working via the UHD menu playback.

Seamless branching using UHD menus seems to be working!


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
jowicrt likes this.

Last edited by lithiumus; 04-20-2019 at 11:30 PM.
lithiumus is offline  
post #5361 of 5827 Old 04-20-2019, 11:30 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
robena's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 1,927
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 175 Post(s)
Liked: 75
Quote:
Originally Posted by jconjason View Post
I have no issue playing mkv files. Do you mean specifically with series? I only have movies in mkv, and they all play with no issue.
This time it was an episode the Amazon version of The Closer (S07-E16), remuxed with 2 custom PGS subs. One white, for viewing with a Solo, and one grey for viewing with the Pro in SDR to HDR conversion mode, the white one being blinding.

The time before, I don't remember.

The file must have a small glitch, because the alpha firmware triggers the TV OSD at the place that makes the new firmware jump. The alpha one, and all the previous ones, did not mind the glitch while the last 2 firmwares skip or terminate.

I'm guess that if I recode, not remux, the file will play nicely. Still, these glitches are not rare, the firmware should handle them more graciously like before.

Robert
robena is online now  
post #5362 of 5827 Old 04-21-2019, 12:42 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
I have problem with my dune hd pro 4k (292b). When I turn off device by remote control, usb 3.0 port is still active (usb 2.0 port is inactive). Is it hardware problem or firmware? Thank you
Tomas Hirner is offline  
post #5363 of 5827 Old 04-21-2019, 01:40 AM
Member
 
polypenko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just tested the Netflix app. 5.1 audio works now , however I'm not able to start any UDH 4k content.

I'm located in the Netherlands.

Marantz Sr7010 / Magnat Quantum Speakers / Tangent Rear Speakers / LG TV
polypenko is online now  
post #5364 of 5827 Old 04-21-2019, 02:11 AM
Advanced Member
 
jowicrt's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Posts: 901
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 703 Post(s)
Liked: 208
Quote:
Originally Posted by mike_carton View Post
Remaining:

- frame rate
- forced subs
- mkv file playing (with forced subs)
- subs sync

Anything else?
- audio sync
- HDR metadata

Arcam AVR850 • Pioneer KURO KRP-600M • KEF Reference Model 4/2/200c •• Velodyne DD15 •• HDI Dune 4K Solo • Logitech Squeezebox Radio/Duet • Wyrewizard Dreamcaster & Spellbinder (by Nordost) • JVC D-ILA-X7500 • HDFury Vertex
jowicrt is offline  
post #5365 of 5827 Old 04-21-2019, 06:21 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
tbass2k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Alabama
Posts: 1,295
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 286 Post(s)
Liked: 257
Quote:
Originally Posted by tukul28 View Post
U wait till 8min then voila the menu will came out


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
You are joking, right?

Sent from my SM-N960U using Tapatalk
tbass2k is online now  
post #5366 of 5827 Old 04-21-2019, 07:47 AM
Member
 
helcio.carvalho's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: BRAZIL
Posts: 155
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by mike_carton View Post
Remaining:

- frame rate
- forced subs
- mkv file playing (with forced subs)
- subs sync

Anything else?
Audio sync, Dolby Atmos, settings for brightness, contrast, etc.
helcio.carvalho is offline  
post #5367 of 5827 Old 04-21-2019, 08:02 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
tbass2k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Alabama
Posts: 1,295
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 286 Post(s)
Liked: 257
Quote:
Originally Posted by helcio.carvalho View Post
Audio sync, Dolby Atmos, settings for brightness, contrast, etc.
Dolby Atmos? Works fine for me. Did you mean Dolby Vision?

Sent from my SM-N960U using Tapatalk
tbass2k is online now  
post #5368 of 5827 Old 04-21-2019, 08:36 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
blenky's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Hove, UK
Posts: 1,360
Mentioned: 12 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 924 Post(s)
Liked: 838
Quote:
Originally Posted by mike_carton View Post
Remaining:

- frame rate
- forced subs
- mkv file playing (with forced subs)
- subs sync

Anything else?
Taken from other posts

- audio sync
- HDR metadata
- settings for brightness, contrast

And for me personally I would really like to see some (major) update to MyCollection. Of course they need to get the basics right first!

Samsung UE55KS8000 | Pioneer SC-LX701 | Dune HD Pro 4K | Zidoo Z9S | Apple TV 4K | Samsung UBD-K8500 UHD Player
blenky is offline  
post #5369 of 5827 Old 04-21-2019, 08:50 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
robena's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 1,927
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 175 Post(s)
Liked: 75
Quote:
Originally Posted by jconjason View Post
I have no issue playing mkv files. Do you mean specifically with series? I only have movies in mkv, and they all play with no issue.
I tried to reproduce the problem, to send a sample to Dune support. I couldn't, it seems random.

Robert
robena is online now  
post #5370 of 5827 Old 04-21-2019, 08:51 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Posts: 32
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 25 Post(s)
Liked: 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by tbass2k View Post
You are joking, right?

Sent from my SM-N960U using Tapatalk


Nope ,just try it by yourself


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
tukul28 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Networking, Media Servers & Content Streaming

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off