Dune HD Pro 4K (Ultra) Thread - Page 184 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 1577Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #5491 of 5537 Old 05-06-2019, 10:30 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
halfelite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 2,203
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 628 Post(s)
Liked: 330
Quote:
Originally Posted by lithiumus View Post
Something interesting happened but maybe its normal...

I tried to open an AVI file like many times before but with the new beta, it said downloading necessary files to play the video file..

When it was done, it launched Kodi to play the AVI. Now every time i play an AVI file it launches kodi. When the file is done, kodi closes and goes back to the dune skin...

Is this normal?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
That is normal.
lithiumus likes this.
halfelite is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #5492 of 5537 Old 05-06-2019, 10:32 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 61
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 48 Post(s)
Liked: 4
Quote:
Originally Posted by lithiumus View Post
Something interesting happened but maybe its normal...

I tried to open an AVI file like many times before but with the new beta, it said downloading necessary files to play the video file..

When it was done, it launched Kodi to play the AVI. Now every time i play an AVI file it launches kodi. When the file is done, kodi closes and goes back to the dune skin...

Is this normal?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

You can change the player option in the setup. Try different ones if Kodi doesn't suit you.


Cheers
Caesar
lithiumus likes this.
-Caesar- is offline  
post #5493 of 5537 Old 05-07-2019, 11:48 AM
Advanced Member
 
indieke2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 504
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 75 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Audio and Usb

i use the Dune also as Music player. Now with the app, I can select now all the albums well, through the file browser.

But I have one problem. If I use with my external Dac that internal player; and put out SPDIF, very good sound. But I have some HD files in Iso Sacd. Now I need Hiby player with that. If I connect the usb, I got sound, but it is so weak, it is unusable. I tried to put the sound on the player to the loudest, nothing happens. So it is not that Usb not work is just the volume that is not ok.

With my computer, and using Usb on Jriver, no problem.

I like my HT, wine and pretty girls. But...am I the only one
indieke2 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #5494 of 5537 Old 05-07-2019, 12:33 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 61
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 48 Post(s)
Liked: 4
Quote:
Originally Posted by kadqs View Post
What about the hint from this post:
https://www.avsforum.com/forum/39-ne...l#post57976496
Dune released updated Netflix app to verify if it help for issues as you describe. Have you seen that post?

Hi mate,


Thanks for pointing it out to me.


I did a factory reset, installed the Netflix apk file from that link and voila- it plays multi channel audio.

But it does not play any movies in Ultra HD 4k.
It stops saying the movie is not available and to try later. Movies in HD work fine.
Why is that?


Cheers
Caesar
-Caesar- is offline  
post #5495 of 5537 Old 05-08-2019, 01:50 PM
Member
 
SJSJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 84
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Dune HD Pro 4k Plus vs..

I wanted to upgrade from a Dune HD Solo 4k to a better 4K unit which supports 10-bit color, HDR, and BT2020. With the latest Dune FW fixes, I was considering a Dune HD Pro 4k Plus from Amazon (there aren't many other purchasing choices). I was primarily interested in 2160p/4K mkv playback from an internal drive, no 480p/DVD playback, UHD menus are nice but not needed. I also noticed the KDLINKS A400 had very positive Amazon reviews and costs much less. Is the A400 a worthy candidate or a yesterdays news wannabe compared to the Pro 4k Plus?
SJSJ is offline  
post #5496 of 5537 Old 05-08-2019, 03:29 PM
Advanced Member
 
a5ian300zx's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: England, UK
Posts: 981
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 591 Post(s)
Liked: 184
Quote:
Originally Posted by SJSJ View Post
I wanted to upgrade from a Dune HD Solo 4k to a better 4K unit which supports 10-bit color, HDR, and BT2020. With the latest Dune FW fixes, I was considering a Dune HD Pro 4k Plus from Amazon (there aren't many other purchasing choices). I was primarily interested in 2160p/4K mkv playback from an internal drive, no 480p/DVD playback, UHD menus are nice but not needed. I also noticed the KDLINKS A400 had very positive Amazon reviews and costs much less. Is the A400 a worthy candidate or a yesterdays news wannabe compared to the Pro 4k Plus?
There is no comparison the kdlinks looks like a cheap android box still running the older version of the OS. See attached.



Sent from my Samsung Note 9 using Tapatalk

TV: Sony 65" A1E OLED Surround: Yamaha RXA3070 + Orbs Audio Mod 4/2 7.1.2 + SVS SB12-NSD Stereo: Yamaha AS500 + Kef Q300 Processor: DVDO Iscan Mini + Darbee 5000S Players: Oppo UDP-203 / Dune Solo 4K / Apple TV 4K / VU+ Ultimo 4K NAS: Qnap TVS-871 Pro i7 10GBE
a5ian300zx is offline  
post #5497 of 5537 Old 05-08-2019, 06:19 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
jconjason's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 2,802
Mentioned: 20 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1119 Post(s)
Liked: 1953
Quote:
Originally Posted by SJSJ View Post
I wanted to upgrade from a Dune HD Solo 4k to a better 4K unit which supports 10-bit color, HDR, and BT2020. With the latest Dune FW fixes, I was considering a Dune HD Pro 4k Plus from Amazon (there aren't many other purchasing choices). I was primarily interested in 2160p/4K mkv playback from an internal drive, no 480p/DVD playback, UHD menus are nice but not needed. I also noticed the KDLINKS A400 had very positive Amazon reviews and costs much less. Is the A400 a worthy candidate or a yesterdays news wannabe compared to the Pro 4k Plus?
Where do you live?

Samsung 65" KS8000
Denon AVR 6300H
Klipsch 5.1.2
HSU VTF-3 MK5 HP
jconjason is offline  
post #5498 of 5537 Old 05-08-2019, 06:47 PM
Member
 
SJSJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 84
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by jconjason View Post
Where do you live?

Colorado, USA
SJSJ is offline  
post #5499 of 5537 Old 05-08-2019, 06:57 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
jconjason's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 2,802
Mentioned: 20 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1119 Post(s)
Liked: 1953
Quote:
Originally Posted by SJSJ View Post
Colorado, USA
Have you looked at DunePlayer.com? They're the authorized retailer here in the States. Might be a better option than Amazon.

Also, is the internal drive a must? You could save money by opting for the Pro 4K.

Samsung 65" KS8000
Denon AVR 6300H
Klipsch 5.1.2
HSU VTF-3 MK5 HP
jconjason is offline  
post #5500 of 5537 Old 05-08-2019, 07:11 PM
Member
 
SJSJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 84
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by jconjason View Post
Have you looked at DunePlayer.com? They're the authorized retailer here in the States. Might be a better option than Amazon.

Also, is the internal drive a must? You could save money by opting for the Pro 4K.
Yikes, I forgot about that site! That's where I bought my first Dune HD base 3D player years ago. Much better prices than Amazon.



Many thanks and I do like the internal drive option!!
jconjason likes this.
SJSJ is offline  
post #5501 of 5537 Old 05-14-2019, 12:40 AM
Member
 
alex5723's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 116
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 73 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by SJSJ View Post
Yikes, I forgot about that site! That's where I bought my first Dune HD base 3D player years ago. Much better prices than Amazon.



Many thanks and I do like the internal drive option!!

Duneplayer.com in no more.

https://ibb.co/8Yw3V7Y
alex5723 is offline  
post #5502 of 5537 Old 05-14-2019, 01:58 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
robnix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 3,195
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1006 Post(s)
Liked: 749
Quote:
Originally Posted by alex5723 View Post
Duneplayer.com in no more.

https://ibb.co/8Yw3V7Y
They're online, it's just an outdated certificate.

Looky here!
robnix is offline  
post #5503 of 5537 Old 05-14-2019, 05:51 PM
Member
 
SJSJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 84
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Front Panel Display

Is there a menu option to control the brightness of the front panel display on the Dune 4K Pro Plus?
SJSJ is offline  
post #5504 of 5537 Old 05-15-2019, 12:01 AM
Member
 
Head_Banger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 1
No but you can use a LightDims sticker - works well.

HB
Head_Banger is offline  
post #5505 of 5537 Old 05-15-2019, 08:39 AM
Member
 
alex5723's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 116
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 73 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by robnix View Post
They're online, it's just an outdated certificate.
Outdated certificate ? So how can you reach the site if no browser is capable of reaching it ?
alex5723 is offline  
post #5506 of 5537 Old 05-15-2019, 09:01 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Wookii's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 3,364
Mentioned: 56 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2801 Post(s)
Liked: 1991
Quote:
Originally Posted by alex5723 View Post
Outdated certificate ? So how can you reach the site if no browser is capable of reaching it ?
Chrome appears to reach the site without an issue for me.
Wookii is offline  
post #5507 of 5537 Old 05-15-2019, 09:07 AM
Member
 
alex5723's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 116
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 73 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wookii View Post
Chrome appears to reach the site without an issue for me.
Not for me.

https://ibb.co/f9zL2Kn
alex5723 is offline  
post #5508 of 5537 Old 05-15-2019, 09:50 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
GPBURNS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Halifax, Nova Scotia
Posts: 1,047
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 349 Post(s)
Liked: 622
just got greeted with firmware update notice

15400 Watts of Atmos Seaton Power -Quad SubMersived - JVC N7
GPBURNS is online now  
post #5509 of 5537 Old 05-15-2019, 09:55 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
GPBURNS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Halifax, Nova Scotia
Posts: 1,047
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 349 Post(s)
Liked: 622
Quote:
Originally Posted by GPBURNS View Post
just got greeted with firmware update notice
just a minor fix in notes

"This version is exactly the same as the version 190412_0053_r13 with just
one change: fix for the problem that the player could hang during boot
sometimes."

15400 Watts of Atmos Seaton Power -Quad SubMersived - JVC N7
GPBURNS is online now  
post #5510 of 5537 Old 05-15-2019, 01:18 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
jconjason's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 2,802
Mentioned: 20 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1119 Post(s)
Liked: 1953
Quote:
Originally Posted by alex5723 View Post
I've tried 3 different browsers on my laptop with no issue. My phone can reach the site fine as well.

The issue is on your end.

Samsung 65" KS8000
Denon AVR 6300H
Klipsch 5.1.2
HSU VTF-3 MK5 HP
jconjason is offline  
post #5511 of 5537 Old 05-15-2019, 04:05 PM
Member
 
SJSJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 84
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 14
I'm trying to ftp to a Dune HD Pro 4k but keep getting Connection failed (Connection refused).


[16:53:16] [R] Connecting to Dune HD Pro 4k-> IP=192.168.1.27 PORT=21
[16:53:17] [R] Connection failed (Connection refused)


I have the Dune connected to an Ethernet cable and DHCP is enabled and the Dune GUI indicates a connection. I am using the correct DHCP address in my FTP program. The same program and cable happily connect to my Dune Solo. I also setup and enabled WiFi, but still get connection refused.

Is there a setting somewhere blocking connections on the Dune HD Pro 4k?

Last edited by SJSJ; 05-15-2019 at 04:41 PM.
SJSJ is offline  
post #5512 of 5537 Old 05-15-2019, 04:59 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
halfelite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 2,203
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 628 Post(s)
Liked: 330
Quote:
Originally Posted by SJSJ View Post
I'm trying to ftp to a Dune HD Pro 4k but keep getting Connection failed (Connection refused).


[16:53:16] [R] Connecting to Dune HD Pro 4k-> IP=192.168.1.27 PORT=21
[16:53:17] [R] Connection failed (Connection refused)


I have the Dune connected to an Ethernet cable and DHCP is enabled and the Dune GUI indicates a connection. I am using the correct DHCP address in my FTP program. The same program and cable happily connect to my Dune Solo. I also setup and enabled WiFi, but still get connection refused.

Is there a setting somewhere blocking connections on the Dune HD Pro 4k?
Does the Pro model have ftp enabled? I did not think it does only samba and NFS. If you want ftp you need to install an android ftp server from the play store.
halfelite is offline  
post #5513 of 5537 Old 05-15-2019, 05:06 PM
Member
 
SJSJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 84
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by halfelite View Post
Does the Pro model have ftp enabled? I did not think it does only samba and NFS. If you want ftp you need to install an android ftp server from the play store.
Wow, I would have never guessed that since previous models had FTP. Thanks for the heads up, I'll start digging around for a solution.
SJSJ is offline  
post #5514 of 5537 Old 05-15-2019, 06:45 PM
Member
 
SJSJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 84
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 14
I installed Tiny FTP Server through the Dune's Play store and was able to transfer files from the Dune's internal 3.5" drive to a PC (blazing fast xfer rates compared to my Dune solo). I couldn't transfer files to the Dune's internal 3.5" drive from the same PC as the internal Dune drive appears to be mounted read only. Is there some mount options for this or do I need to do something else to correct this?
SJSJ is offline  
post #5515 of 5537 Old 05-15-2019, 10:12 PM
Member
 
alex5723's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 116
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 73 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by jconjason View Post
I've tried 3 different browsers on my laptop with no issue. My phone can reach the site fine as well.

The issue is on your end.
I tried 3 different browsers : Chrome 75, Firefox 60 esr, Edge. All failed with the same notice.
Is It Down Right Now ( https://www.isitdownrightnow.com/duneplayer.com.html) doesn't use a browser but Ping.

https://ibb.co/YtGBYrK
alex5723 is offline  
post #5516 of 5537 Old 05-15-2019, 10:16 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
jconjason's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 2,802
Mentioned: 20 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1119 Post(s)
Liked: 1953
Quote:
Originally Posted by alex5723 View Post
I tried 3 different browsers : Chrome 75, Firefox 60 esr, Edge. All failed with the same notice.
Is It Down Right Now ( https://www.isitdownrightnow.com/duneplayer.com.html) doesn't use a browser but Ping.

https://ibb.co/YtGBYrK
You're currently the only one that can't reach the site.

I just checked it with https://ismywebsitedown.com/
And it reports it's fine.

Perhaps you have a security issue on your device/s and/or network.

The website is fine.

Samsung 65" KS8000
Denon AVR 6300H
Klipsch 5.1.2
HSU VTF-3 MK5 HP
jconjason is offline  
post #5517 of 5537 Old 05-15-2019, 10:20 PM
Member
 
alex5723's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 116
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 73 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by jconjason View Post
You're currently the only one that can't reach the site.

I just checked it with https://ismywebsitedown.com/
And it reports it's fine.

Perhaps you have a security issue on your device/s and/or network.

The website is fine.
Very Strange.
alex5723 is offline  
post #5518 of 5537 Old 05-16-2019, 02:17 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2019
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Hi all.
Does anyone know why my dune has drm l3, and some way to fix it? got netflix, amzon prime, youtube and others KO, i guess for drm.
I have tried everything, install all the firmware, reset settinsg from dune shell, from android options, from recovery, wipe cache and data...



I cant think of anything else I can do. Dune support cant me since 1 month.
Jorge Abad is offline  
post #5519 of 5537 Old 05-17-2019, 12:57 AM
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 746
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 592 Post(s)
Liked: 150
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jorge Abad View Post
Hi all.
Does anyone know why my dune has drm l3, and some way to fix it? got netflix, amzon prime, youtube and others KO, i guess for drm.
I have tried everything, install all the firmware, reset settinsg from dune shell, from android options, from recovery, wipe cache and data...



I cant think of anything else I can do. Dune support cant me since 1 month.
Sounds like out of date firmware ?
Whirlpool0548 is offline  
post #5520 of 5537 Old 05-17-2019, 07:22 AM
jju
Member
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: EU
Posts: 39
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 29 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by SJSJ View Post
I installed Tiny FTP Server through the Dune's Play store and was able to transfer files from the Dune's internal 3.5" drive to a PC (blazing fast xfer rates compared to my Dune solo). I couldn't transfer files to the Dune's internal 3.5" drive from the same PC as the internal Dune drive appears to be mounted read only. Is there some mount options for this or do I need to do something else to correct this?
Built-in openwrt contains ftp server
jju is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Networking, Media Servers & Content Streaming

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off