Dune HD Pro 4K (Ultra) Thread - Page 191 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 1664Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #5701 of 5823 Old 06-13-2019, 11:07 AM
Member
 
Eternauta74's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 25
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by kokokka View Post
I don't understand this. The Dune own player support the external subtitle too. Much easier and more convenient like an another player app. For me...
Yes, its true. But in my case I am obligated to use System Player instead Internal Player because of the size of the subtiles (Using Internal Player with HDR and 65 inch the smallest available option is still to big and brighter than the subtitles availables System player)
Eternauta74 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #5702 of 5823 Old 06-13-2019, 11:51 PM
Advanced Member
 
a5ian300zx's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: England, UK
Posts: 988
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 597 Post(s)
Liked: 188
I see dune have their own online shop now that delivery's to all the countries and has a return policy.

I wonder if they include import tax etc.

Dune now has thier own youtube channel which they have added content to about a day ago.

maybe they will see the comments posted and act better in regards to any outstanding issues?

Thanks

Sent from my Samsung Note 9 using Tapatalk
habianchi likes this.

TV: Sony 65" A1E OLED Surround: Yamaha RXA3070 + Orbs Audio Mod 4/2 7.1.2 + SVS SB12-NSD Stereo: Yamaha AS500 + Kef Q300 Processor: DVDO Iscan Mini + Darbee 5000S Players: Oppo UDP-203 / Dune Solo 4K / Apple TV 4K / VU+ Ultimo 4K NAS: Qnap TVS-871 Pro i7 10GBE
a5ian300zx is offline  
post #5703 of 5823 Old 06-14-2019, 06:49 AM
Senior Member
 
Tsunamijhoe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 318
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 211 Post(s)
Liked: 62
Quote:
Originally Posted by a5ian300zx View Post
maybe they will see the comments posted and act better in regards to any outstanding issues?
I have gotten very fast answers from their support everytime i wrote them,even with requests for features like the "hide windows system folders" option in the smb conf.. They wrote they would send it to the engineers and if it were easy they would put it in next firmware..
So maybe write support instead of comments on youtube? There more response from actual users i think the better.

However i get absolutly no answers writing the eu shop.

Marantz 7704, Emotiva XPA-5,Emotiva XPA-2,Densen B-340+,B&W 683,B&W HTM61,B&W DS3,2XSVS PB-2000,4XMonitor Audio BX1 (Atmos),Sony VPL-HW65ES,Stewart 123" CIMA Neve Motorized, Dune HD Pro 4K, Mede8er x600 3D,Panasonic BD60,PS4
Tsunamijhoe is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #5704 of 5823 Old 06-14-2019, 07:10 AM
Advanced Member
 
a5ian300zx's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: England, UK
Posts: 988
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 597 Post(s)
Liked: 188
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tsunamijhoe View Post
I have gotten very fast answers from their support everytime i wrote them,even with requests for features like the "hide windows system folders" option in the smb conf.. They wrote they would send it to the engineers and if it were easy they would put it in next firmware..

So maybe write support instead of comments on youtube? There more response from actual users i think the better.



However i get absolutly no answers writing the eu shop.
That's a generic response they give to pretty much anyone and they do respond back to some emails not all. If you take the time to read back on this thread will realise a lot of us have been in the media play market and dune users of many years so know how they operate.

Comments on YouTube is just to raise awareness of the pending outstanding issues as that is more public view.

We have all emailed many times before.

Thanks






Sent from my Samsung Note 9 using Tapatalk

TV: Sony 65" A1E OLED Surround: Yamaha RXA3070 + Orbs Audio Mod 4/2 7.1.2 + SVS SB12-NSD Stereo: Yamaha AS500 + Kef Q300 Processor: DVDO Iscan Mini + Darbee 5000S Players: Oppo UDP-203 / Dune Solo 4K / Apple TV 4K / VU+ Ultimo 4K NAS: Qnap TVS-871 Pro i7 10GBE
a5ian300zx is offline  
post #5705 of 5823 Old 06-14-2019, 07:56 AM
Senior Member
 
Tsunamijhoe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 318
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 211 Post(s)
Liked: 62
Quote:
Originally Posted by a5ian300zx View Post
That's a generic response they give to pretty much anyone and they do respond back to some emails not all. If you take the time to read back on this thread will realise a lot of us have been in the media play market and dune users of many years so know how they operate.

Comments on YouTube is just to raise awareness of the pending outstanding issues as that is more public view.

We have all emailed many times before.

Thanks






Sent from my Samsung Note 9 using Tapatalk
I have read the thread and i too have had dune and other media players for many years.. However,i have still got an answer everytime i used the support email, they also tried to help with the smb/win7 problems i was having..
But if you think comments on youtube will make a difference feel free. I was merely making a personal observation comment.

That said.. Did anyone know of a place to buy the bluetooth airmouse that comes with the hd 4k pro plus?

Marantz 7704, Emotiva XPA-5,Emotiva XPA-2,Densen B-340+,B&W 683,B&W HTM61,B&W DS3,2XSVS PB-2000,4XMonitor Audio BX1 (Atmos),Sony VPL-HW65ES,Stewart 123" CIMA Neve Motorized, Dune HD Pro 4K, Mede8er x600 3D,Panasonic BD60,PS4
Tsunamijhoe is offline  
post #5706 of 5823 Old 06-14-2019, 08:44 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
jconjason's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 2,863
Mentioned: 20 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1163 Post(s)
Liked: 1991
Quote:
Originally Posted by a5ian300zx View Post
I see dune have their own online shop now that delivery's to all the countries and has a return policy.

I wonder if they include import tax etc.

Dune now has thier own youtube channel which they have added content to about a day ago.

maybe they will see the comments posted and act better in regards to any outstanding issues?

Thanks

Sent from my Samsung Note 9 using Tapatalk
They need to either create their own forum for people to discuss the players and issues, and provide direct responses or have someone participate here on this forum.

I do think it's a positive sign they are doing these things, it's a step in the right direction, but more needs to be done.

Samsung 65" KS8000
Denon AVR 6300H
Klipsch 5.1.2
HSU VTF-3 MK5 HP
jconjason is offline  
post #5707 of 5823 Old 06-14-2019, 08:46 AM
Advanced Member
 
a5ian300zx's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: England, UK
Posts: 988
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 597 Post(s)
Liked: 188
Quote:
Originally Posted by jconjason View Post
They need to either create their own forum for people to discuss the players and issues, and provide direct responses or have someone participate here on this forum.

I do think it's a positive sign they are doing these things, it's a step in the right direction, but more needs to be done.
I know I already suggested that to them via email a while ago.

They use to have a forum long time ago but no one used it hence got rid of it.

At least we have kadqs.

Thanks

Sent from my Samsung Note 9 using Tapatalk

TV: Sony 65" A1E OLED Surround: Yamaha RXA3070 + Orbs Audio Mod 4/2 7.1.2 + SVS SB12-NSD Stereo: Yamaha AS500 + Kef Q300 Processor: DVDO Iscan Mini + Darbee 5000S Players: Oppo UDP-203 / Dune Solo 4K / Apple TV 4K / VU+ Ultimo 4K NAS: Qnap TVS-871 Pro i7 10GBE
a5ian300zx is offline  
post #5708 of 5823 Old 06-14-2019, 05:47 PM
Senior Member
 
Tsunamijhoe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 318
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 211 Post(s)
Liked: 62
Doesnt the 4k pro play E-AC3 (DD+)?? I got a mkv with this codec,and it wont play the track..The commentary ac3 track is fine and plays as it should

Marantz 7704, Emotiva XPA-5,Emotiva XPA-2,Densen B-340+,B&W 683,B&W HTM61,B&W DS3,2XSVS PB-2000,4XMonitor Audio BX1 (Atmos),Sony VPL-HW65ES,Stewart 123" CIMA Neve Motorized, Dune HD Pro 4K, Mede8er x600 3D,Panasonic BD60,PS4
Tsunamijhoe is offline  
post #5709 of 5823 Old 06-14-2019, 06:06 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
robena's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 1,927
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 175 Post(s)
Liked: 75
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tsunamijhoe View Post
Doesnt the 4k pro play E-AC3 (DD+)?? I got a mkv with this codec,and it wont play the track..The commentary ac3 track is fine and plays as it should
It can stream it, but if you want to decode it, you'll only get stereo, like with almost all other codecs (except FLAC).
They obviously were to cheap to pay for the licenses.

Robert
robena is offline  
post #5710 of 5823 Old 06-14-2019, 06:45 PM
Senior Member
 
Tsunamijhoe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 318
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 211 Post(s)
Liked: 62
Quote:
Originally Posted by robena View Post
It can stream it, but if you want to decode it, you'll only get stereo, like with almost all other codecs (except FLAC).
They obviously were to cheap to pay for the licenses.
I got no audio from a dd+ track using bitstream.. Had to convert the track to ac3.. I dont use decode in dune,only bitstream to my marantz 7704

Marantz 7704, Emotiva XPA-5,Emotiva XPA-2,Densen B-340+,B&W 683,B&W HTM61,B&W DS3,2XSVS PB-2000,4XMonitor Audio BX1 (Atmos),Sony VPL-HW65ES,Stewart 123" CIMA Neve Motorized, Dune HD Pro 4K, Mede8er x600 3D,Panasonic BD60,PS4
Tsunamijhoe is offline  
post #5711 of 5823 Old 06-14-2019, 08:43 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
robena's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 1,927
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 175 Post(s)
Liked: 75
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tsunamijhoe View Post
I got no audio from a dd+ track using bitstream.. Had to convert the track to ac3.. I dont use decode in dune,only bitstream to my marantz 7704
Did you already have audio with a DD+ stream with your Marantz?
If yes, these seems to be an incompatibility that is abnormal. It's a bug worth reporting to Dune support.
Converting DD+ to DD implies another lossy conversion (DD+ to PCM, and then PCM to DD). Unless size is a premium concern, I would suggest convert to FLAC instead.

Robert
robena is offline  
post #5712 of 5823 Old 06-15-2019, 03:23 AM
Member
 
alex5723's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 130
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 84 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tsunamijhoe View Post
Doesnt the 4k pro play E-AC3 (DD+)?? I got a mkv with this codec,and it wont play the track..The commentary ac3 track is fine and plays as it should
I have no problems with tens of mkv E-AC3 (DD+) video files (I use Kodi).
alex5723 is offline  
post #5713 of 5823 Old 06-15-2019, 04:58 AM
Senior Member
 
Tsunamijhoe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 318
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 211 Post(s)
Liked: 62
Quote:
Originally Posted by robena View Post
Did you already have audio with a DD+ stream with your Marantz?
If yes, these seems to be an incompatibility that is abnormal. It's a bug worth reporting to Dune support.
Converting DD+ to DD implies another lossy conversion (DD+ to PCM, and then PCM to DD). Unless size is a premium concern, I would suggest convert to FLAC instead.
Yeah,i can watch other files with dd+ and even with atmos embedded.. Seems a glitch in this one file.. Unfortunatly i deleted the dd+ track before doing a mediainfo so i cant send a bug report.
Also found out if windows 10 power saving features is on, Dune cant play mkv from network share. It cant "wake" the share.. Playing a bluray wakes up the share fine,but mkv you just get the top left clock,and nothing happens.

I had to reset my network adapters as i got the win 10 error where network discovery wont work,so it had enabled the power saving settings for the adapters and i forgot to turn it off again. Just weird bluray can wake the share and mkv cant.

Marantz 7704, Emotiva XPA-5,Emotiva XPA-2,Densen B-340+,B&W 683,B&W HTM61,B&W DS3,2XSVS PB-2000,4XMonitor Audio BX1 (Atmos),Sony VPL-HW65ES,Stewart 123" CIMA Neve Motorized, Dune HD Pro 4K, Mede8er x600 3D,Panasonic BD60,PS4
Tsunamijhoe is offline  
post #5714 of 5823 Old 06-15-2019, 09:43 AM
Member
 
alex5723's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 130
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 84 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Is there a limit to external HD size connected to the Dune 4K Pro as I intend to connect a 8TB WD (replacing a current 3TB WD) ?
alex5723 is offline  
post #5715 of 5823 Old 06-15-2019, 10:23 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by alex5723 View Post
Is there a limit to external HD size connected to the Dune 4K Pro as I intend to connect a 8TB WD (replacing a current 3TB WD) ?
I use x2 8 TB external, not sure on the limit
dwys1960 is offline  
post #5716 of 5823 Old 06-15-2019, 10:24 AM
Member
 
alex5723's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 130
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 84 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by dwys1960 View Post
I use x2 8 TB external, not sure on the limit
Thanks.
dwys1960 likes this.
alex5723 is offline  
post #5717 of 5823 Old 06-16-2019, 03:11 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
markswift2003's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: UK, Europe.
Posts: 1,026
Mentioned: 22 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 687 Post(s)
Liked: 451
Quote:
Originally Posted by a5ian300zx View Post
...
I wonder if they include import tax etc.

From their website:


"Please be aware that International orders may require you to pay import taxes upon receipt. DUNE HD is not responsible for paying any additional customs fees or taxes."


Delivery is free but they quote 7-l4 days!
a5ian300zx likes this.

Zidoo Z9S | Dune Pro 4K | HDFury Vertex | 32TB mirrored storage
Denon AVC-X8500H | JVC DLA X7000 | Screen Research 9ft multi aspect ClearPix 2 ISF screen
3 x PMC IB2S fronts | 4 x PMC Wafer 2 rears | 4 x PMC Wafer 1 ceiling | 2 x M&K SS550 THX height | Rel Stentor III
A pair of slippers, a comfy sofa and a glass of 16 year old single malt
markswift2003 is offline  
post #5718 of 5823 Old 06-17-2019, 10:17 AM
Member
 
JonasW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 104
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 45 Post(s)
Liked: 19
If I'm reading the framerate post correct I won't have a problem with 23.976fps movies when watching 720p/1080p?
That and internal/external subtitles is a dealbreaker.

Zappiti is supported too? Using it on my two Dune Base 3.0 today and would like to continue with that.

Looking to upgrade because the Base 3.0 is a bit slow regarding CPU and ethernet.
H265 is a plus too.
JonasW is offline  
post #5719 of 5823 Old 06-17-2019, 10:30 AM
Member
 
Head_Banger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 2
I don’t think that 720p @ 23.976fps is a supported HDMI profile so it will output at 60fps.

Yes to Zappiti - I use an old version successfully.

HB
Head_Banger is offline  
post #5720 of 5823 Old 06-17-2019, 11:32 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
markswift2003's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: UK, Europe.
Posts: 1,026
Mentioned: 22 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 687 Post(s)
Liked: 451
Quote:
Originally Posted by JonasW View Post
If I'm reading the framerate post correct I won't have a problem with 23.976fps movies when watching 720p/1080p?
That and internal/external subtitles is a dealbreaker.

Zappiti is supported too? Using it on my two Dune Base 3.0 today and would like to continue with that.

Looking to upgrade because the Base 3.0 is a bit slow regarding CPU and ethernet.
H265 is a plus too.

I've not checked 720p, but 1080p 23.976fps material outputs perfectly without microstutter.

(it actually outputs at 23.973fps, but that isn't an issue, it's only a problem when the framerate goes over 24000/1001)

There is an older version of Zappiti (v3?) that's supported; later versions are not (v4?)


*edit*

Just checked some 720p23 material - at 720p it can only output at 59.94fps (as @Head_Banger above rightly states - 23.976 is not in the spec at 720p) and the vertex shows the framerate as 59.931fps.

This shouldn't produce microstutter using the same logic as before and the box should use 3/2 pulldown to get to 29.97 and then double up to 59.94.


Subjectively, it certainly looks good.

Zidoo Z9S | Dune Pro 4K | HDFury Vertex | 32TB mirrored storage
Denon AVC-X8500H | JVC DLA X7000 | Screen Research 9ft multi aspect ClearPix 2 ISF screen
3 x PMC IB2S fronts | 4 x PMC Wafer 2 rears | 4 x PMC Wafer 1 ceiling | 2 x M&K SS550 THX height | Rel Stentor III
A pair of slippers, a comfy sofa and a glass of 16 year old single malt

Last edited by markswift2003; 06-17-2019 at 12:01 PM.
markswift2003 is offline  
post #5721 of 5823 Old 06-17-2019, 03:49 PM
Advanced Member
 
indieke2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 510
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 77 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Ok, for the moment, when using the latest beta, this machine is a disaster. it loves to put on a green screen with audio, but also, and this is worse, will crash randomly when playing movie or if you try to skip chapters.

Now, I can really not use this firmware. So must I do a factory reset? If yes or not, which software is best, for not having problems like this, and to use the app on my phone. is there already a non beta for that?

I like my HT, wine and pretty girls. But...am I the only one
indieke2 is offline  
post #5722 of 5823 Old 06-17-2019, 09:11 PM
Member
 
JonasW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 104
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 45 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by markswift2003 View Post
I've not checked 720p, but 1080p 23.976fps material outputs perfectly without microstutter.

(it actually outputs at 23.973fps, but that isn't an issue, it's only a problem when the framerate goes over 24000/1001)

There is an older version of Zappiti (v3?) that's supported; later versions are not (v4?)


*edit*

Just checked some 720p23 material - at 720p it can only output at 59.94fps (as @Head_Banger above rightly states - 23.976 is not in the spec at 720p) and the vertex shows the framerate as 59.931fps.

This shouldn't produce microstutter using the same logic as before and the box should use 3/2 pulldown to get to 29.97 and then double up to 59.94.


Subjectively, it certainly looks good.
Thanks!
I might order one then.
JonasW is offline  
post #5723 of 5823 Old 06-18-2019, 12:20 PM
Senior Member
 
LD-838D's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Los Angeles, El Segundo
Posts: 288
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 151 Post(s)
Liked: 36
Been out of the loop since I purchased my Solo 4K.
So this Dune Pro 4K Plus will seriously play HDR content and Blu-Rays with menu's?
LD-838D is offline  
post #5724 of 5823 Old 06-18-2019, 04:21 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
blenky's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Hove, UK
Posts: 1,360
Mentioned: 12 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 924 Post(s)
Liked: 837
Quote:
Originally Posted by LD-838D View Post
Been out of the loop since I purchased my Solo 4K.
So this Dune Pro 4K Plus will seriously play HDR content and Blu-Rays with menu's?
Yes

Samsung UE55KS8000 | Pioneer SC-LX701 | Dune HD Pro 4K | Zidoo Z9S | Apple TV 4K | Samsung UBD-K8500 UHD Player
blenky is offline  
post #5725 of 5823 Old 06-19-2019, 02:09 AM
Advanced Member
 
jowicrt's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Posts: 901
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 703 Post(s)
Liked: 208
Quote:
Originally Posted by LD-838D View Post
Been out of the loop since I purchased my Solo 4K.
So this Dune Pro 4K Plus will seriously play HDR content and Blu-Rays with menu's?
Yes & yes, but there is an issue with HDR metadata not being send properly. HDR content will play, but your display might not be getting the full, correct HDR experience. Manual tweaking might be needed.

Arcam AVR850 • Pioneer KURO KRP-600M • KEF Reference Model 4/2/200c •• Velodyne DD15 •• HDI Dune 4K Solo • Logitech Squeezebox Radio/Duet • Wyrewizard Dreamcaster & Spellbinder (by Nordost) • JVC D-ILA-X7500 • HDFury Vertex
jowicrt is offline  
post #5726 of 5823 Old 06-19-2019, 11:34 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by indieke2 View Post
Ok, for the moment, when using the latest beta, this machine is a disaster. it loves to put on a green screen with audio, but also, and this is worse, will crash randomly when playing movie or if you try to skip chapters.

Now, I can really not use this firmware. So must I do a factory reset? If yes or not, which software is best, for not having problems like this, and to use the app on my phone. is there already a non beta for that?
did you read the latest fw info page?

http://dune-hd.com/firmware/pro4k_tv292a/

last beta fw has some software (code) changes on realtek chip, so they say there may be some video playback issues which will be fixed later..

so dont worry

a few days ago, i turned on pro 4k and saw a small screen at top left of my tv.. almost 1/5 th of tv screen..
i did full restart.. and no problem..
mdmrx is offline  
post #5727 of 5823 Old 06-19-2019, 02:00 PM
Senior Member
 
LD-838D's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Los Angeles, El Segundo
Posts: 288
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 151 Post(s)
Liked: 36
Quote:
Originally Posted by jowicrt View Post
Yes & yes, but there is an issue with HDR metadata not being send properly. HDR content will play, but your display might not be getting the full, correct HDR experience. Manual tweaking might be needed.
Thanks for the heads up!
Same issue is happening with my latest Kodi build, but I believe that is being worked out by the Kodi folks (Intel/Linux video drivers as usual)

Is there more info on this that you could link me to?
Didn't see anything in the thread, I would love to read more.
I get all my Dune player info from AVS as I am unaware of any other English forum where it is discussed.

>Manual tweaking might be needed.
Assuming on the display?
LD-838D is offline  
post #5728 of 5823 Old 06-19-2019, 10:57 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
Sledgehamma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Germany
Posts: 932
Mentioned: 20 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 653 Post(s)
Liked: 356
See first post. Not much to say on the HDR meta data part. Just that it sends some bogus MaxCLL and MaxFALL values.
Sledgehamma is offline  
post #5729 of 5823 Old 06-20-2019, 12:28 PM
Senior Member
 
Tsunamijhoe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 318
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 211 Post(s)
Liked: 62
So, rebooted my player, and a new popup advertising their shop and they now accept paypal. I have disabled the firmware check, and that obviously didn't work to stop this.. If they can do this, they can push real adverts to our devices.. I find this behavior appalling.
How do i block this?
Tsunamijhoe is offline  
post #5730 of 5823 Old 06-20-2019, 12:39 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
robena's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 1,927
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 175 Post(s)
Liked: 75
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tsunamijhoe View Post
So, rebooted my player, and a new popup advertising their shop and they now accept paypal. I have disabled the firmware check, and that obviously didn't work to stop this.. If they can do this, they can push real adverts to our devices.. I find this behavior appalling.
How do i block this?
My method was to install on my PC (with a static IP address which in my case is 192.9.200.16) the unbound DNS server, add the following lines to the service.conf file:

Code:
# allow access by the local network.
access-control: 192.9.200.0/16 allow
#local-zone-override: "online.dune-hd.com" 192.9.200.0/24 refuse
local-zone: "online.dune-hd."
redirect local-data: "online.dune-hd. IN A 127.0.0.0"
and set up the Dune with a DNS address which is my PC IP.

Robert

Last edited by robena; 06-20-2019 at 03:07 PM.
robena is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Networking, Media Servers & Content Streaming

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off