Dune HD Pro 4K (Ultra) Thread - Page 70 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 1850Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #2071 of 6701 Old 07-09-2018, 05:01 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
audioguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Not far from Atlanta - but far enough!
Posts: 10,598
Mentioned: 129 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5776 Post(s)
Liked: 4881
Quote:
Originally Posted by gadgtfreek View Post
I have a similar setup to you. Using the ATV4K and Infuse Pro to play BDMV folders and MKV's, starting to wonder if the Pro that I preordered will even be used much.
I have the ATV4K, Oppo and "soon" the Dune (but with a projector). If ATV/Infuse played Atmos with full bitstream from my NAS, I would never have ordered the Dune. But all indications appear to be that it will NOT do that, so I ordered the Dune for a backup plan.

I'm disappointed that there are those who don't think the Dune image quality is up to that of the Oppo. I'm not interested going backwards in the image department. I will do a compare once the Dune gets here.
audioguy is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2072 of 6701 Old 07-09-2018, 05:03 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
gadgtfreek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Bama
Posts: 12,398
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 634 Post(s)
Liked: 6191
That is one thing that is ideal, the Dune will handle audio better IMO. Id rather get bitstream of all audio so I can use my AVR to know exactly what I am getting.

XBR65A9G / XBR65A8F / 55R615
X800M2 / Dune HD Pro 4K
AVRX6500H / RP-8000F / RP-504C / RP-502S / RP-500SA / FV15HP (5.1.2)
gadgtfreek is offline  
post #2073 of 6701 Old 07-09-2018, 11:40 PM
Member
 
Bartimaus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 53
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 38 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Hi,


yesterday I tested UHD-HDR with my Non-HDR-Beamer (JVC-X35).


HDR2SDR-conversion failed, all outdoor Scenes in "The Mummy" or "Gladiator, esp. inside the colloseum" turned into strong yellow light. IMO unviewable.
Can anyone confirm this ?


Best regards

LivingRoom: Dune HD Solo Lite,Yamaha RX-V773,SamsungUE65KS8090,
Basement/HomeCinema: JVC-X5000, 3m 21:9 Framescreen + 2,8m 16:9 Tensionscreen, Denon X1400,Dune HD 4kpro ,Kathrein-UFS910-BPanther-Neutrino, QNAP TS653A 4x8TB+2x3TB
Bartimaus is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2074 of 6701 Old 07-10-2018, 12:37 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
markswift2003's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: UK, Europe.
Posts: 1,625
Mentioned: 55 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1105 Post(s)
Liked: 819
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bartimaus View Post
Hi,


yesterday I tested UHD-HDR with my Non-HDR-Beamer (JVC-X35).


HDR2SDR-conversion failed, all outdoor Scenes in "The Mummy" or "Gladiator, esp. inside the colloseum" turned into strong yellow light. IMO unviewable.
Can anyone confirm this ?


Best regards

Indeed HDR to SDR is presently unwatchable - the gamma is off by at least 6 points resulting in an extremely dark picture.


Colour rendition however seems subjectively correct in my case - no yellow cast.


I have a JVC X7000 and importing a custom gamma table of 1.4 - 1.6, I'd say 90% fixes HDR to SDR on the Dune, but I don't think most users are able to get their gamma that low.


With the X35 you are able to manually adjust gamma and although as far as I'm aware you can't import a table, you should be able make a good approximation in the custom gamma setup. Try adjusting the gamma to get a curve that looks similar to the blue line in the attached pic (page 43 of the manual) and set the colour profile to either Standard or Natural (Page 38)


I also have a Zidoo x9s which with the latest beta firmware is actually extremely good and the SDR conversion is very good too which indicates the chipset (same as Dune) has the potential to do a very good job of converting HDR to SDR.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	gamma.JPG
Views:	36
Size:	38.4 KB
ID:	2426500  
Bartimaus and Manni01 like this.
markswift2003 is offline  
post #2075 of 6701 Old 07-10-2018, 12:39 AM
Member
 
Bartimaus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 53
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 38 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Many thanks. Will give this a try

LivingRoom: Dune HD Solo Lite,Yamaha RX-V773,SamsungUE65KS8090,
Basement/HomeCinema: JVC-X5000, 3m 21:9 Framescreen + 2,8m 16:9 Tensionscreen, Denon X1400,Dune HD 4kpro ,Kathrein-UFS910-BPanther-Neutrino, QNAP TS653A 4x8TB+2x3TB
Bartimaus is offline  
post #2076 of 6701 Old 07-10-2018, 02:49 AM
Advanced Member
 
jowicrt's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Posts: 907
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 707 Post(s)
Liked: 209
Usually i'm annoyed by people who are constantly asking for new firmware but... it has been a while and i notice that i'm not using the Pro anymore simply due to the lack of Bluray menu's... i'm using my Apple TV 4K 99% of the time. Now, Infuse can't do menu's as well, but you can select some specific stream or chapter so you can at least play a single episode from a bluray...

I'm even thinking of buying a Zidoo X9... how sad is that...

Arcam AVR850 • Pioneer KURO KRP-600M • KEF Reference Model 4/2/200c •• Velodyne DD15 •• HDI Dune 4K Solo • Logitech Squeezebox Radio/Duet • Wyrewizard Dreamcaster & Spellbinder (by Nordost) • JVC D-ILA-X7500 • HDFury Vertex
jowicrt is offline  
post #2077 of 6701 Old 07-10-2018, 02:53 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
dbone1026's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Long Island, New York
Posts: 11,822
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 409 Post(s)
Liked: 205
Quote:
Originally Posted by jowicrt View Post
Usually i'm annoyed by people who are constantly asking for new firmware but... it has been a while and i notice that i'm not using the Pro anymore simply due to the lack of Bluray menu's... i'm using my Apple TV 4K 99% of the time. Now, Infuse can't do menu's as well, but you can select some specific stream or chapter so you can at least play a single episode from a bluray...

I'm even thinking of buying a Zidoo X9... how sad is that...
I figure before the end of the year (which year though could be up for debate) I might actually have the Dune Pro. When I do get, I will still keep my Egreat and Nvidia Shield set up as well, at least to start. Will be very telling if I continue to use either of those two for playback and not the Dune. Hopefully, since most of my collection is mkv I won't run into many issues (aside from lack of forced sub support)

Cheers
dbone1026 is offline  
post #2078 of 6701 Old 07-10-2018, 03:38 AM
Member
 
Dimitri_ISF's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 151
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 43 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by jowicrt View Post
Usually i'm annoyed by people who are constantly asking for new firmware but... it has been a while and i notice that i'm not using the Pro anymore simply due to the lack of Bluray menu's... i'm using my Apple TV 4K 99% of the time. Now, Infuse can't do menu's as well, but you can select some specific stream or chapter so you can at least play a single episode from a bluray...

I'm even thinking of buying a Zidoo X9... how sad is that...
The solo plays BR menu's
Dimitri_ISF is offline  
post #2079 of 6701 Old 07-10-2018, 03:40 AM
Advanced Member
 
jowicrt's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Posts: 907
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 707 Post(s)
Liked: 209
The solo doesn’t do HDR, and also no UHD menu’s.
jowicrt is offline  
post #2080 of 6701 Old 07-10-2018, 05:09 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
gadgtfreek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Bama
Posts: 12,398
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 634 Post(s)
Liked: 6191
Hopefully we get shipping info this week.
audioguy likes this.

XBR65A9G / XBR65A8F / 55R615
X800M2 / Dune HD Pro 4K
AVRX6500H / RP-8000F / RP-504C / RP-502S / RP-500SA / FV15HP (5.1.2)
gadgtfreek is offline  
post #2081 of 6701 Old 07-10-2018, 08:02 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
markswift2003's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: UK, Europe.
Posts: 1,625
Mentioned: 55 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1105 Post(s)
Liked: 819
Quote:
Originally Posted by jowicrt View Post
Usually i'm annoyed by people who are constantly asking for new firmware but... it has been a while and i notice that i'm not using the Pro anymore simply due to the lack of Bluray menu's... i'm using my Apple TV 4K 99% of the time. Now, Infuse can't do menu's as well, but you can select some specific stream or chapter so you can at least play a single episode from a bluray...

I'm even thinking of buying a Zidoo X9... how sad is that...
I'm with you - I still think the Dune will win out in the end, it just might be a long ride and in the meantime the competition is gathering pace.


Give the Zidoo a go - with the latest beta firmware which has "Home Theatre 2" it's very impressive.


Ok, the scraper is a bit bonkers, but once you get used to the idiosyncracies, it's a very capable player.
markswift2003 is offline  
post #2082 of 6701 Old 07-10-2018, 09:28 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
robena's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 2,023
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 262 Post(s)
Liked: 113
Quote:
Originally Posted by stefanop View Post
...and also:
- You can't choose subtitles in MKV playing
If you mean that you can't set up the player to use subs by default when you start an MKV, you're right, it's a missing setting.
But once the file starts, the subtitle button allows to choose which sub to use.
There is a bug, sometimes it does not work, but rarely and stop/start always fixes the problem.

Quote:
- With HDR settings there would be space for a selection which work in HDR with HDR files and in SDR with SDR files. If you choose Auto, SDR files are shown in pseudo-HDR. I'd like HDR for HDR-Files and SDR for SDR-Files
Weird, when I set to AUTO, I do get SDR output for SDR files and HDR for HDR ones,

Robert
robena is offline  
post #2083 of 6701 Old 07-10-2018, 09:46 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Posts: 234
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 132 Post(s)
Liked: 37
Quote:
Originally Posted by robena View Post
If you mean that you can't set up the player to use subs by default when you start an MKV, you're right, it's a missing setting.
But once the file starts, the subtitle button allows to choose which sub to use.
There is a bug, sometimes it does not work, but rarely and stop/start always fixes the problem.

Weird, when I set to AUTO, I do get SDR output for SDR files and HDR for HDR ones,
If I play an SDR file in INFO menu it shows: 10bit 4:4:4 BT.2020 HDR.....and I'm playing an MKV file of a BlurayDisc. Maybe it's a mistake in the shown properties.
stefanop is offline  
post #2084 of 6701 Old 07-10-2018, 10:56 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
markswift2003's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: UK, Europe.
Posts: 1,625
Mentioned: 55 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1105 Post(s)
Liked: 819
Quote:
Originally Posted by robena View Post

Weird, when I set to AUTO, I do get SDR output for SDR files and HDR for HDR ones,

In Auto, after playing an HDR file, a null HDR SEI message persists in the video output, so it depends how your display deals with this - some will ignore it, some will trigger HDR.
markswift2003 is offline  
post #2085 of 6701 Old 07-10-2018, 11:32 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
blenky's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Hove, UK
Posts: 1,522
Mentioned: 16 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1038 Post(s)
Liked: 962
Quote:
Originally Posted by jowicrt View Post
Usually i'm annoyed by people who are constantly asking for new firmware but... it has been a while and i notice that i'm not using the Pro anymore simply due to the lack of Bluray menu's... i'm using my Apple TV 4K 99% of the time. Now, Infuse can't do menu's as well, but you can select some specific stream or chapter so you can at least play a single episode from a bluray...

I'm even thinking of buying a Zidoo X9... how sad is that...
see my post here

https://www.avsforum.com/forum/39-net...l#post56394804

Its using @kadqs info on when BD support should be added. If he is right it should be early next month! We shall see.

Samsung UE55KS8000 | Pioneer SC-LX701 | Zidoo Z9S | Apple TV 4K | Nvidia Shield TV (2019) | Fire TV Stick 4K | Samsung UBD-K8500 UHD Player
blenky is offline  
post #2086 of 6701 Old 07-10-2018, 12:49 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
a5ian300zx's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: England, UK
Posts: 1,059
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 643 Post(s)
Liked: 221
@kadqs did mention that next update will be big one with bd menu support and new internal player from what I remember.




Sent from my ONEPLUS 5T using Tapatalk
muad'dib likes this.

TV: Sony 65" A1E OLED Surround: Sennheiser AMBEO + SVS SB12-NSD Stereo: Yamaha AS500 + Kef Q300 Processor: DVDO Iscan Mini + Darbee 5000S Players: Oppo 203 (Coris) / Nvidia Shield TV Pro 2019 / VU+ Ultimo 4K NAS: Qnap TVS-871 Pro i7 10GBE
a5ian300zx is offline  
post #2087 of 6701 Old 07-11-2018, 12:46 AM
Advanced Member
 
jowicrt's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Posts: 907
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 707 Post(s)
Liked: 209
Quote:
Originally Posted by markswift2003 View Post
Give the Zidoo a go - with the latest beta firmware which has "Home Theatre 2" it's very impressive.
I've watched some video's about the Zidoo, am i right that it uses Kodi as it's player?
Scraping functionality i'm not very interested in anyway...
jowicrt is offline  
post #2088 of 6701 Old 07-11-2018, 01:54 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
markswift2003's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: UK, Europe.
Posts: 1,625
Mentioned: 55 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1105 Post(s)
Liked: 819
Quote:
Originally Posted by jowicrt View Post
I've watched some video's about the Zidoo, am i right that it uses Kodi as it's player?
Scraping functionality i'm not very interested in anyway...

You can use Kodi or variants if you like - SPMC, even though abandonware, runs perfectly. They also have their own fork of Kodi, ZDMC.


But the best way, in my opinion, is to use the inbuilt player, "Home Theatre 2.0" - doesn't have the additional tedious fluff Kodi has, it's fast and you can boot right into it.




Rubbish video but shows the basics.
markswift2003 is offline  
post #2089 of 6701 Old 07-11-2018, 01:59 AM
Advanced Member
 
jowicrt's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Posts: 907
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 707 Post(s)
Liked: 209
And does Zidoo's HomeTheater 2.0 support bluray menu's? Maybe also uhd menu's?

Arcam AVR850 • Pioneer KURO KRP-600M • KEF Reference Model 4/2/200c •• Velodyne DD15 •• HDI Dune 4K Solo • Logitech Squeezebox Radio/Duet • Wyrewizard Dreamcaster & Spellbinder (by Nordost) • JVC D-ILA-X7500 • HDFury Vertex
jowicrt is offline  
post #2090 of 6701 Old 07-11-2018, 02:16 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
markswift2003's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: UK, Europe.
Posts: 1,625
Mentioned: 55 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1105 Post(s)
Liked: 819
Quote:
Originally Posted by jowicrt View Post
And does Zidoo's HomeTheater 2.0 support bluray menu's? Maybe also uhd menu's?

Now that I don't know, I only ever rip the main movie to MKV.
markswift2003 is offline  
post #2091 of 6701 Old 07-11-2018, 02:21 AM
Advanced Member
 
jowicrt's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Posts: 907
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 707 Post(s)
Liked: 209
Yeah well the support of bd/uhd menu's is the only thing that is missing from the Dune, so if the Zidoo doesn't support it either, what's the point...

Arcam AVR850 • Pioneer KURO KRP-600M • KEF Reference Model 4/2/200c •• Velodyne DD15 •• HDI Dune 4K Solo • Logitech Squeezebox Radio/Duet • Wyrewizard Dreamcaster & Spellbinder (by Nordost) • JVC D-ILA-X7500 • HDFury Vertex
jowicrt is offline  
post #2092 of 6701 Old 07-11-2018, 03:29 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
a5ian300zx's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: England, UK
Posts: 1,059
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 643 Post(s)
Liked: 221
I have read. zidoo has number of other issues on its latest player inc banding, frame rate and also still on older version of android and this is from users.

just like the dune the new zidoo players need time to mature.

the home theatre and general gui does look great.

Thanks

Sent from my ONEPLUS 5T using Tapatalk
jowicrt likes this.

TV: Sony 65" A1E OLED Surround: Sennheiser AMBEO + SVS SB12-NSD Stereo: Yamaha AS500 + Kef Q300 Processor: DVDO Iscan Mini + Darbee 5000S Players: Oppo 203 (Coris) / Nvidia Shield TV Pro 2019 / VU+ Ultimo 4K NAS: Qnap TVS-871 Pro i7 10GBE
a5ian300zx is offline  
post #2093 of 6701 Old 07-11-2018, 03:58 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Wookii's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 3,582
Mentioned: 61 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3029 Post(s)
Liked: 2250
The GUI does look good on that Zidoo - I've been hoping Dune add those blu-ray and DVD labels to the cover art since the Solo, even more relevant now we can rip 4K discs.
Wookii is offline  
post #2094 of 6701 Old 07-11-2018, 04:38 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
audioguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Not far from Atlanta - but far enough!
Posts: 10,598
Mentioned: 129 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5776 Post(s)
Liked: 4881
Quote:
Originally Posted by markswift2003 View Post
You can use Kodi or variants if you like - SPMC, even though abandonware, runs perfectly. They also have their own fork of Kodi, ZDMC.


But the best way, in my opinion, is to use the inbuilt player, "Home Theatre 2.0" - doesn't have the additional tedious fluff Kodi has, it's fast and you can boot right into it.


https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VMK-RyUC3pc


Rubbish video but shows the basics.
I LOVE the term "abandonware". So very descriptive. While the video was less than stellar, it does show some of the capabilities of the product. But like someone else noted, all of my rips are in MKV so the chapter functions don't buy me anything.
markswift2003 likes this.
audioguy is offline  
post #2095 of 6701 Old 07-11-2018, 04:41 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
markswift2003's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: UK, Europe.
Posts: 1,625
Mentioned: 55 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1105 Post(s)
Liked: 819
Quote:
Originally Posted by a5ian300zx View Post
I have read. zidoo has number of other issues on its latest player inc banding, frame rate and also still on older version of android and this is from users.

just like the dune the new zidoo players need time to mature.

the home theatre and general gui does look great.

Thanks

Sent from my ONEPLUS 5T using Tapatalk

The banding complaints seem to come from people who don't understand colour sub sampling and bit depth - set it right and no banding.


Frame rate seems fine also - I enable YST mode, set 4K23 (23.976fps) and auto framerate on - works perfectly and so far I haven't seen the micro stutters I see on the Dune.


You're exactly right - like all these boxes, it needs time to mature and I still think the Dune will win in the end... trouble is, will another generation pop up in the meantime? - the Dune is based on a 2015 device after all.


I like the way the poster size on the wall can be changed dynamically from enormous to really small (see pic) and scrolling is smooth. The scraping happens in the background with no user input - add a film to the drive and as long as you've named it right, it appears correctly. If it gets it wrong though, you can change it using the IMDB number so there's no ambiguity.


Android is version 6.01
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_0732.JPG
Views:	67
Size:	167.0 KB
ID:	2427080  
Manni01 likes this.
markswift2003 is offline  
post #2096 of 6701 Old 07-11-2018, 04:49 AM
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 967
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 737 Post(s)
Liked: 174
Quote:
Originally Posted by markswift2003 View Post
The banding complaints seem to come from people who don't understand colour sub sampling and bit depth - set it right and no banding.


Frame rate seems fine also - I enable YST mode, set 4K23 (23.976fps) and auto framerate on - works perfectly and so far I haven't seen the micro stutters I see on the Dune.


You're exactly right - like all these boxes, it needs time to mature and I still think the Dune will win in the end... trouble is, will another generation pop up in the meantime? - the Dune is based on a 2015 device after all.


I like the way the poster size on the wall can be changed dynamically from enormous to really small (see pic) and scrolling is smooth. The scraping happens in the background with no user input - add a film to the drive and as long as you've named it right, it appears correctly. If it gets it wrong though, you can change it using the IMDB number so there's no ambiguity.


Android is version 6.01
Micro stutters - You should clarify if this occurs specifically with MKV files.
None seen playing BDMV folders (There is an issue with non seamless transition between m2ts files which manifests as a stutter).
Whirlpool0548 is offline  
post #2097 of 6701 Old 07-11-2018, 04:56 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
markswift2003's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: UK, Europe.
Posts: 1,625
Mentioned: 55 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1105 Post(s)
Liked: 819
Quote:
Originally Posted by Whirlpool0548 View Post
Micro stutters - You should clarify if this occurs specifically with MKV files.
None seen playing BDMV folders (There is an issue with non seamless transition between m2ts files which manifests as a stutter).

I see them with MKV but I only rip to MKV so can't comment on other wrappers. I would do more to nail down the exact circumstances, but at the moment I use an Nvidia Shield for watching in the cinema which has no such problems - the Dune (and Zidoo and Egreat and LibreElec and Zapitti) is in another room as a test device only.


I've kind of decided to let the firmware mature a bit before it becomes my main player.
markswift2003 is offline  
post #2098 of 6701 Old 07-11-2018, 04:56 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
gadgtfreek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Bama
Posts: 12,398
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 634 Post(s)
Liked: 6191
I considered grabbing a new Zidoo or Zappiti mini HDR, but with the Dune hopefully close I am not. I had a Shield 2017 model in the closet, hooked it up last night to my NAS via USB 3.0 and the Kodi 17 app, it will hold me over till the Dune comes in, just have to manually set 2160p/24 or 1080p/24.

Once the Dune comes in I'll have it directly connected to the NAS, and an ATV4K, so I should be set.

XBR65A9G / XBR65A8F / 55R615
X800M2 / Dune HD Pro 4K
AVRX6500H / RP-8000F / RP-504C / RP-502S / RP-500SA / FV15HP (5.1.2)

Last edited by gadgtfreek; 07-11-2018 at 05:03 AM.
gadgtfreek is offline  
post #2099 of 6701 Old 07-11-2018, 05:01 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
markswift2003's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: UK, Europe.
Posts: 1,625
Mentioned: 55 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1105 Post(s)
Liked: 819
Quote:
Originally Posted by gadgtfreek View Post
I considered grabbing a new Zidoo, but with the Dune hopefully close I am not. I had a Shield 2017 model in the closet, hooked it up last night to my NAS via USB 3.0 and the Kodi 17 app, it will hold me over till the Dune comes in, just have to manually set 2160p/24 or 1080p/24.

Once the Dune comes in I'll have it direct connected to the NAS, and an ATV4K, so I should be set.

Try SPMC rather than the main fork of Kodi - it was specifically forked to run on Android, and more specifically, the Shield - it runs much more smoothly than official Kodi.


Koying, the guy who wrote it has moved on to MRMC now, a paid for version that isn't quite ready for primetime yet, but I think soon will be.


And also try the Nebula Skin - a lot less teenager's bedroom wall than all the rest
gadgtfreek likes this.
markswift2003 is offline  
post #2100 of 6701 Old 07-11-2018, 05:06 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
gadgtfreek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Bama
Posts: 12,398
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 634 Post(s)
Liked: 6191
Quote:
Originally Posted by markswift2003 View Post
Try SPMC rather than the main fork of Kodi - it was specifically forked to run on Android, and more specifically, the Shield - it runs much more smoothly than official Kodi.


Koying, the guy who wrote it has moved on to MRMC now, a paid for version that isn't quite ready for primetime yet, but I think soon will be.


And also try the Nebula Skin - a lot less teenager's bedroom wall than all the rest
Thanks, I will! I just need it to hold me over, I cannot watch UHD over the network with my ATV4K for some reason, so I figure direct connect is the best way, and since Apple removed the USB port... I'll prob put the Dune where the Shield is once they ship unless it has some major bug or something.

XBR65A9G / XBR65A8F / 55R615
X800M2 / Dune HD Pro 4K
AVRX6500H / RP-8000F / RP-504C / RP-502S / RP-500SA / FV15HP (5.1.2)
gadgtfreek is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Networking, Media Servers & Content Streaming

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off