Dune HD Pro 4K (Ultra) Thread - Page 93 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 1756Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #2761 of 6150 Old 08-12-2018, 08:29 AM
Member
 
Tarpon65's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Sarasota, Florida
Posts: 87
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Deja, the first weekend I had my unit I did not see any issues between the 4K Pro and my DS213 via NFS. Since then, I have streamed from my FreeNAS via SMB with no issues.

LG OLED65B6P TV, Anthem MRX520 Pre Pro, B&K AV5000 Amp, Panasonic BDK-55 Blu-ray, B&W 600 Series F/R/C/Rear Speakers, Dune 4K Pro and Amazon Fire Tv media players
Tarpon65 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2762 of 6150 Old 08-12-2018, 09:11 AM
Senior Member
 
Seryl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: The River House
Posts: 314
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 160 Post(s)
Liked: 105
Same here, I have a DS418 and no problem streaming simultaneously to a Dune Pro 4K in the theater room and a Vero 4K in the bedroom. I am using SMB.
Seryl is offline  
post #2763 of 6150 Old 08-12-2018, 12:56 PM
Advanced Member
 
Deja-vue's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Long Beach, California
Posts: 531
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 51 Post(s)
Liked: 33
Quote:
Originally Posted by Seryl View Post
Same here, I have a DS418 and no problem streaming simultaneously to a Dune Pro 4K in the theater room and a Vero 4K in the bedroom. I am using SMB.
Thanks for the replies.

Hm, in the Beginning I had no problems at all, but come to think of it, I did move one of my NAS in a Shed behind my Garage recently. Perhaps that's the problem.
I'll move it back into the Garage and do some more testing.
What puzzles me is that the speed is really good at over 55 MB/s.
Will return and report my findings.
Deja-vue is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2764 of 6150 Old 08-12-2018, 05:01 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
robnix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 3,219
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1016 Post(s)
Liked: 760
Quote:
Originally Posted by Deja-vue View Post
Thanks for the replies.

Hm, in the Beginning I had no problems at all, but come to think of it, I did move one of my NAS in a Shed behind my Garage recently. Perhaps that's the problem.
I'll move it back into the Garage and do some more testing.
What puzzles me is that the speed is really good at over 55 MB/s.
Will return and report my findings.
You have a problematic cable or termination somewhere.

Looky here!
robnix is offline  
post #2765 of 6150 Old 08-12-2018, 08:05 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
i use Movie app from Dune, i note there is no result after search in movie English
only i have result in movie Russia
any fix for that ?
ZummZ is offline  
post #2766 of 6150 Old 08-13-2018, 12:00 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by kokokka View Post
I Think this is a hardware issue. Contact your seller, and send back the DUNE....
Thank You, Kokokka. I've already tried to contact seller and he send me e-mail address to european support center in Netherlands and I wrote them an e-mail with the description of problem. Hopefully they will answer.
Yaromil is offline  
post #2767 of 6150 Old 08-13-2018, 12:07 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by a5ian300zx View Post
I think my nephews one also does this bought both players together and mine has the clock display and his does not but it does not bother him.

have you emailed dune support?

Thanks

Sent from my ONEPLUS 5T using Tapatalk
Thank You for Your reply, a5ian300zx! So it may seems there will more users with faulty front display as You wrote. I maybe be don't bother with it too, but I had the device only one day and even when the function of the display is not so important the device wasn't any cheap for me to overlook it right now,... Yes, I wrote an e-mail to the support and I'll share what they answer.

Cheers!
Yaromil is offline  
post #2768 of 6150 Old 08-13-2018, 12:09 AM
Member
 
kokokka's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Location: Hungary
Posts: 38
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 29 Post(s)
Liked: 4
Quote:
Originally Posted by Yaromil View Post
Thank You, Kokokka. I've already tried to contact seller and he send me e-mail address to european support center in Netherlands and I wrote them an e-mail with the description of problem. Hopefully they will answer.
We hope the best
kokokka is offline  
post #2769 of 6150 Old 08-13-2018, 05:07 AM
Member
 
Whitfield's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 7
3D subtitles

Admitting not having read the entire thread, but can anybody confirm that 3D subtitles from a 3DBD-iso are shown properly as 3D?

much obliged
Whitfield
Whitfield is offline  
post #2770 of 6150 Old 08-13-2018, 06:41 AM
Member
 
lithiumus's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Toronto
Posts: 132
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 80 Post(s)
Liked: 35
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tarpon65 View Post
I've spent the last couple of weekends playing around with the 4K Pro, and like it so far being my first Dune player. I don't know if I overlooked it mentioned previously in this thread, but is there a "Watched" feature with the Dune players. My Mede8er and previous players marked a TV show or movie after I watched them, and it is not happening with this player. I checked the settings, but do not see where to turn this on or off. I tried using the "Mark" feature from the pop-up menu, but this does not seem to stick, and goes away when I change folders. Any help is appreciated.


Im not aware of a marked or “watched” feature. I use the Last Accessed date and time and decide if Ive watched it based on that...


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
lithiumus is offline  
post #2771 of 6150 Old 08-13-2018, 12:10 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Ken Ross's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: N.Y.
Posts: 33,192
Mentioned: 28 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7370 Post(s)
Liked: 8247
I'm doubting anyone has the answer to this, but does anyone know if this player able to accept 8bit 4K HLG files from a memory card (recorded from a Sony mirrorless 4K camera) from its USB input and output them to a UHD TV @4K HLG (hybrid log gamma)? I can do that with my Oppo 203 BD player via its USB input, but we have others that are interested in this capability and Oppo is on the way out of the business.
Ken Ross is offline  
post #2772 of 6150 Old 08-13-2018, 02:14 PM
Member
 
Broxxx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Germany
Posts: 74
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 56 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by Whitfield View Post
Admitting not having read the entire thread, but can anybody confirm that 3D subtitles from a 3DBD-iso are shown properly as 3D?

much obliged
Whitfield
Yes, displayed in 3D.

LG55C6D, Pioneer VSX-932, Dune Pro 4K
Broxxx is offline  
post #2773 of 6150 Old 08-13-2018, 02:27 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
a5ian300zx's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: England, UK
Posts: 1,003
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 611 Post(s)
Liked: 197
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ken Ross View Post
I'm doubting anyone has the answer to this, but does anyone know if this player able to accept 8bit 4K HLG files from a memory card (recorded from a Sony mirrorless 4K camera) from its USB input and output them to a UHD TV @4K HLG (hybrid log gamma)? I can do that with my Oppo 203 BD player via its USB input, but we have others that are interested in this capability and Oppo is on the way out of the business.
you can record a sample and upload it and I can test it for you.

HLG is license free I believe, so it should be implemented its one of the standard which was Co produced by the BBC and the BBC have adopted it for their hdr format.

Sent from my ONEPLUS 5T using Tapatalk

TV: Sony 65" A1E OLED Surround: Yamaha RXA3070 + Orbs Audio Mod 4/2 7.1.2 + SVS SB12-NSD Stereo: Yamaha AS500 + Kef Q300 Processor: DVDO Iscan Mini + Darbee 5000S Players: Oppo UDP-203 / Dune Solo 4K / Apple TV 4K / VU+ Ultimo 4K NAS: Qnap TVS-871 Pro i7 10GBE
a5ian300zx is offline  
post #2774 of 6150 Old 08-13-2018, 02:38 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Manni01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 9,161
Mentioned: 334 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5481 Post(s)
Liked: 5694
Quote:
Originally Posted by a5ian300zx View Post
you can record a sample and upload it and I can test it for you.

HLG is license free I believe, so it should be implemented its one of the standard which was Co produced by the BBC and the BBC have adopted it for their hdr format.

Sent from my ONEPLUS 5T using Tapatalk
Or you can download and test one of these demos on Youtube. This one works fine with the Panasonic UB900 (in WebM format). It is detected by the Vertex as HLG and it plays fine with my HLG calibration on my JVC RS500.


Make sure it displays the highlights in HDR and switches the display to its HLG mode (if the display supports it), otherwise it could simply play in SDR rec-709, as HLG is compatible with SDR-Rec709, unlike HDR10 or Dolby Vision.

Batch Utility V4.02 May 16 2019 to automate measurements files for madVR with support for BD Folders

Last edited by Manni01; 08-13-2018 at 02:43 PM.
Manni01 is online now  
post #2775 of 6150 Old 08-13-2018, 02:53 PM
Member
 
Broxxx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Germany
Posts: 74
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 56 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by Manni01 View Post
Or you can download and test one of these demos on Youtube. This one works fine with the Panasonic UB900 (in WebM format). It is detected by the Vertex as HLG and it plays fine with my HLG calibration on my JVC RS500.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OaGlUq3AV8k

Make sure it displays the highlights in HDR and switches the display to its HLG mode (if the display supports it), otherwise it could simply play in SDR rec-709, as HLG is compatible with SDR-Rec709, unlike HDR10 or Dolby Vision.
1. You can not download original HLG or HDR files from YouTube. Only converted. You can download test videos in the original from the site 4kmedia.org, including this video "LG Cymatic Jazz 4K HLG Demo.ts" or search Google.
2. This video is 59.94Hz 10bit 4.2.0 BT.709 and it's played perfectly from different sources. But without HLG, I do not know why. The mag351 plays with HLG without problems.

LG55C6D, Pioneer VSX-932, Dune Pro 4K
Broxxx is offline  
post #2776 of 6150 Old 08-13-2018, 03:05 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Manni01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 9,161
Mentioned: 334 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5481 Post(s)
Liked: 5694
Quote:
Originally Posted by Broxxx View Post
1. You can not download original HLG or HDR files from YouTube. Only converted. You can download test videos in the original from the site 4kmedia.org, including this video "LG Cymatic Jazz 4K HLG Demo.ts" or search Google.
2. This video is 59.94Hz 10bit 4.2.0 BT.709 and it's played perfectly from different sources. But without HLG, I do not know why. The mag351 plays with HLG without problems.
Of course you can download original HLG and HDR files directly from youtube, you just need to use the appropriate software, there are many available, some of them free. I use 3DYD Soft.

And I did select this video because it provides a link to download the original file

If it's not played in HLG, it's either because the source needs .webm (as I said) and not mp4, or because the source doesn't handle HLG, or the display doesn't handle HLG.

Batch Utility V4.02 May 16 2019 to automate measurements files for madVR with support for BD Folders
Manni01 is online now  
post #2777 of 6150 Old 08-13-2018, 03:07 PM
Member
 
Broxxx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Germany
Posts: 74
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 56 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by Manni01 View Post
Of course you can download original HLG files from youtube, you just need to use the appropriate software, there are many available, some free.

And I did select this video because it provides a link to download the original file

If it's not played in HLG, it's either because the source needs .webm (as I said) and not mp4, or because the source doesn't handle HLG, or the display doesn't handle HLG.
I have all these software,but HLG did not specifically try

LG55C6D, Pioneer VSX-932, Dune Pro 4K
Broxxx is offline  
post #2778 of 6150 Old 08-13-2018, 03:08 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Manni01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 9,161
Mentioned: 334 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5481 Post(s)
Liked: 5694
Quote:
Originally Posted by Broxxx View Post
I have all these software
Then why say you can't download HDR / HLG videos from Youtube? Doesn't make any sense.

In any case, I don't think you can play HLG from a .ts file. At least with the UB900, you need the .webm file to get HLG content to the display.

Batch Utility V4.02 May 16 2019 to automate measurements files for madVR with support for BD Folders
Manni01 is online now  
post #2779 of 6150 Old 08-13-2018, 03:14 PM
Member
 
Broxxx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Germany
Posts: 74
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 56 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by Manni01 View Post
Then why say you can't download HDR / HLG videos from Youtube? Doesn't make any sense.

In any case, I don't think you can play HLG from a .ts file. At least with the UB900, you need the .webm file to get HLG content to the display.
download you a sample in HDR and upload it on the file sharing service, I download and check whether it will show in HDR or not. Maybe I missed that
Dune does not play .webm
LG OLEDC6D plays .webm from Youtube without HDR and HLG.

LG55C6D, Pioneer VSX-932, Dune Pro 4K

Last edited by Broxxx; 08-13-2018 at 03:25 PM.
Broxxx is offline  
post #2780 of 6150 Old 08-13-2018, 03:16 PM
Member
 
Tarpon65's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Sarasota, Florida
Posts: 87
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by lithiumus View Post
Im not aware of a marked or “watched” feature. I use the Last Accessed date and time and decide if Ive watched it based on that...


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Thank you for the info.

LG OLED65B6P TV, Anthem MRX520 Pre Pro, B&K AV5000 Amp, Panasonic BDK-55 Blu-ray, B&W 600 Series F/R/C/Rear Speakers, Dune 4K Pro and Amazon Fire Tv media players
Tarpon65 is offline  
post #2781 of 6150 Old 08-13-2018, 05:09 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
farsider3000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Houston, Texas
Posts: 1,953
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1580 Post(s)
Liked: 973
Euro Plug vs. USA plug?

For those of you in the USA: Did anyone receive a European power plug vs. the correct USA plug?

If so, did you have any luck getting Dune to mail the correct plug to you?

7.4.6 system: Processors:Marantz 8805 || Xilica XP4080 Amps: Parasound A31 and ATI AT528NC & AT526NC n-core ||Speakers: Procella P8 LCR, Procella P5/P5 in-wall
Subs: JTR Captivator subs: One S2, Two RS2, One S1
Screen: 2.40:1 Seymour XD Acoustically Transparent, 128" diagonal / 118" wide || Projector: JVC X570/RS420
farsider3000 is offline  
post #2782 of 6150 Old 08-13-2018, 05:42 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
halfelite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 2,215
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 638 Post(s)
Liked: 331
Quote:
Originally Posted by farsider3000 View Post
For those of you in the USA: Did anyone receive a European power plug vs. the correct USA plug?

If so, did you have any luck getting Dune to mail the correct plug to you?
Do yourself a favor and pick up a different kettle plug. You can pick up a 6 foot one at monoprice for like 6 bucks. The one you get from dune is like 1 foot long.
halfelite is offline  
post #2783 of 6150 Old 08-13-2018, 05:43 PM
Senior Member
 
Seryl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: The River House
Posts: 314
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 160 Post(s)
Liked: 105
Quote:
Originally Posted by farsider3000 View Post
For those of you in the USA: Did anyone receive a European power plug vs. the correct USA plug?

If so, did you have any luck getting Dune to mail the correct plug to you?

I think most of us in the first batch pool received the European power plug and a USA AC power cord too. The USA cord was a shorty, about 12" or so in length. The power cord from the brick to the Dune is pretty long so it wasn't a problem and a lot of us have a ton of these cords laying around anyway.
jconjason likes this.
Seryl is offline  
post #2784 of 6150 Old 08-13-2018, 08:37 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
jconjason's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 3,015
Mentioned: 25 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1278 Post(s)
Liked: 2121
Quote:
Originally Posted by halfelite View Post
Do yourself a favor and pick up a different kettle plug. You can pick up a 6 foot one at monoprice for like 6 bucks. The one you get from dune is like 1 foot long.
Not really an issue as the power brick cord is long enough.

Samsung 65" KS8000
Denon AVR 6300H
Klipsch 5.1.2
HSU VTF-3 MK5 HP
jconjason is offline  
post #2786 of 6150 Old 08-14-2018, 09:42 AM
Member
 
kokokka's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Location: Hungary
Posts: 38
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 29 Post(s)
Liked: 4
Quote:
Originally Posted by polve View Post
Here I present my collection of demo files, if someone were lost.
Maybe it can be useful for testing
This is a good idea, but this fileshare site is a Shlt! Please reupload to a good cloud, example : Mega

THX!
kokokka is offline  
post #2787 of 6150 Old 08-14-2018, 10:17 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
robnix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 3,219
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1016 Post(s)
Liked: 760
Quote:
Originally Posted by kokokka View Post
This is a good idea, but this fileshare site is a Shlt! Please reupload to a good cloud, example : Mega

THX!
Google Drive is even better.

Looky here!
robnix is offline  
post #2788 of 6150 Old 08-14-2018, 03:15 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Posts: 34
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 30 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Sorry But I can’t. You can make a free account and download almost all the files.
I have Premium account only on that file hoster
polve is offline  
post #2789 of 6150 Old 08-15-2018, 05:48 AM
Member
 
leonkoum's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: GREECE
Posts: 37
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 30 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Any news for the new fw?

Klipsch & Denon always!!!
leonkoum is offline  
post #2790 of 6150 Old 08-15-2018, 06:31 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
robnix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 3,219
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1016 Post(s)
Liked: 760
Quote:
Originally Posted by polve View Post
Sorry But I can’t. You can make a free account and download almost all the files.
I have Premium account only on that file hoster
Google drive comes with a gmail account. You get 15G free. We don't have to register for some sketchy service we've never heard of.

Looky here!
robnix is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Networking, Media Servers & Content Streaming

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off