Ripping UHD 4k discs with Makemkv: Instructions How-to - Page 105 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 1262Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #3121 of 3149 Old 06-21-2020, 09:02 AM
UHD Addict
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 36,978
Mentioned: 78 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10000 Post(s)
Liked: 6662
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kai Winters View Post
Well I successfully edited all 13 episodes removing the annoying test pattern and high pitch whine that started each episode with 60 seconds of irritation.

Thank you so much for your help.
What was that show? That test pattern rings a bell but I cant recall what it was.

Sent from my Tab A 8.0

57TB unRAID1a--49TB unRAID2--76TB unRAID3
TCL 6 Series--Sony UBP-X800--Philips BDP7502--Onkyo HT-S7800
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme
aaronwt is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #3122 of 3149 Old 06-21-2020, 08:07 PM
Advanced Member
 
Kai Winters's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Northern NY
Posts: 856
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 233 Post(s)
Liked: 316
Quote:
Originally Posted by aaronwt View Post
What was that show? That test pattern rings a bell but I cant recall what it was.

Sent from my Tab A 8.0
Murdoch Mysteries, Season 6, 12 of 13 episodes...episode 2 works fine...odd
aaronwt and SuperFist like this.

TV: Sony XBR 65X950G, AVR: Marantz SR5014, Speakers: front/Paradigm Prestige 15B bookshelf, center/Paradigm Prestige 45C, surround/Paradigm Atom, sub/SVS SB3000, DVD: Panasonic DP-UB820P-K Disk Player, Media Player: Zidoo Z9S & Roku Streaming Stick +, Remote: Logitech Harmony Ultimate Home
Kai Winters is offline  
post #3123 of 3149 Old 06-22-2020, 06:48 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
SuperFist's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: 🏠
Posts: 2,741
Mentioned: 96 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1750 Post(s)
Liked: 7628
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kai Winters View Post
Thank you. I'll try it tomorrow.

LOL couldn't wait until tomorrow...well later today I guess ...Followed your instructions and woohoo it worked like a charm...the first 60 seconds of the show is a video test pattern with an annoying whine sound...now it's gone...only 12 or so episodes to fix then done.
Thank you so much...can't wait to look into this further to learn more.
Kai
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kai Winters View Post
Well I successfully edited all 13 episodes removing the annoying test pattern and high pitch whine that started each episode with 60 seconds of irritation.
Thank you so much for your help.
No problem, my friend! Glad I was able to help.


And remember: MKVToolNix can also be used to join (append) 1st and 2nd halves of movies to be one continuous whole, like, for example, The Lord Of The Rings (Extended Editions), The Hobbit (Extended Editions) or a long movie like Gandhi, which comes in 2 parts (it's best when used in conjunction with cutting off either the beginning or ending parts for the smoothest transitions). See the link below for instructions on Joining/Appending MKVs...

https://forums.plex.tv/t/howto-joini...nix-gui/113211
kluken, Kai Winters and DougUSMC like this.

Last edited by SuperFist; 06-22-2020 at 07:01 PM.
SuperFist is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #3124 of 3149 Old 06-26-2020, 07:23 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
RafaelSmith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Orlando Fl
Posts: 3,256
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1116 Post(s)
Liked: 740
If this question has been answered elsewhere I apologize..

Normally I rip my BDs and UBDs to MKV for playback on Kodi clients. I really have no need for BD menus, extras etc....but I do have few discs (Dolby Atmos demo discs, etc) that would be nice to have the menus. Is this even possible using Makemkv to backup/rip and Kodi client?
RafaelSmith is offline  
post #3125 of 3149 Old 06-26-2020, 09:10 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Ph8te's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 20,190
Mentioned: 40 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7027 Post(s)
Liked: 7112
Quote:
Originally Posted by RafaelSmith View Post
If this question has been answered elsewhere I apologize..

Normally I rip my BDs and UBDs to MKV for playback on Kodi clients. I really have no need for BD menus, extras etc....but I do have few discs (Dolby Atmos demo discs, etc) that would be nice to have the menus. Is this even possible using Makemkv to backup/rip and Kodi client?

Not with MKV no, you’d need an ISO. I know Kodi was working on getting BDJava menus, but not sure where that left off. There are dedicated android players that will do menus (iso) and a couple UHDBR players (expensive) as well.
Ph8te is offline  
post #3126 of 3149 Old 06-26-2020, 05:56 PM
Advanced Member
 
sutton8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: London, England
Posts: 855
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 422 Post(s)
Liked: 174
Quote:
Originally Posted by RafaelSmith View Post
If this question has been answered elsewhere I apologize..

Normally I rip my BDs and UBDs to MKV for playback on Kodi clients. I really have no need for BD menus, extras etc....but I do have few discs (Dolby Atmos demo discs, etc) that would be nice to have the menus. Is this even possible using Makemkv to backup/rip and Kodi client?
Yes it’s possible using the backup function of makemkv. I do it all the time and it creates a BDMV folder structure. I then put this in an AVCHD folder for playback with full menus on players from Cambridge Audio, Dune and Zappiti. Like the other poster I’m not sure where Kodi is at with genuine full menu support these days.

https://www.makemkv.com/faq/item/4

7.1 Yamaha RX-A3080, Rotel RMB 1555, Monitor Audio (Apex & Silver 8), XBone, Node 2i, Panasonic TX65GZ950B
5.1 Denon X7200WA, Focal Dome, Firestick 4K, Panasonic TX55GZ950B
In both Setups Virgin Tivo V6, Zappiti 4K HDR, Harmony Elite, Dune HD RealBox 4K, Cambridge Audio CXUHD, Anti Mode 8033, Paradigm Seismic 110
sutton8 is offline  
post #3127 of 3149 Old 07-07-2020, 06:57 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
DougUSMC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Ellicott City, MD
Posts: 1,402
Mentioned: 56 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 815 Post(s)
Liked: 740
Hmmm, ripped a ton of discs, have a licensed copy, now I'm getting errors from the BD of Young Guns:

Can't read AACS VID from disc - most likely current AACS host certificate is revoked by your drive
Saved AACS dump file as C:/Users/Admin/.MakeMKV/MKB_v3_LOGICAL_VOLUME_ID_BAF8.tgz
The volume key is unknown for this disc - video can't be decrypted

Has anyone seen that one before?
DougUSMC is offline  
post #3128 of 3149 Old 07-07-2020, 07:25 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
rdgrimes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Nuevo Mexico
Posts: 22,143
Mentioned: 29 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4100 Post(s)
Liked: 3419
Quote:
Originally Posted by DougUSMC View Post
Hmmm, ripped a ton of discs, have a licensed copy, now I'm getting errors from the BD of Young Guns:

Can't read AACS VID from disc - most likely current AACS host certificate is revoked by your drive
Saved AACS dump file as C:/Users/Admin/.MakeMKV/MKB_v3_LOGICAL_VOLUME_ID_BAF8.tgz
The volume key is unknown for this disc - video can't be decrypted

Has anyone seen that one before?
Did you update the firmware on your drive?
rdgrimes is offline  
post #3129 of 3149 Old 07-07-2020, 07:32 PM
Senior Member
 
Orange_GT3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Australia
Posts: 236
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 120 Post(s)
Liked: 44
Quote:
Originally Posted by DougUSMC View Post
Hmmm, ripped a ton of discs, have a licensed copy, now I'm getting errors from the BD of Young Guns:

Can't read AACS VID from disc - most likely current AACS host certificate is revoked by your drive
Saved AACS dump file as C:/Users/Admin/.MakeMKV/MKB_v3_LOGICAL_VOLUME_ID_BAF8.tgz
The volume key is unknown for this disc - video can't be decrypted

Has anyone seen that one before?
Check what version of AACS the disc uses and what is loaded into your drive by MakeMKV.
Orange_GT3 is offline  
post #3130 of 3149 Old 07-08-2020, 05:22 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
DougUSMC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Ellicott City, MD
Posts: 1,402
Mentioned: 56 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 815 Post(s)
Liked: 740
Quote:
Originally Posted by rdgrimes View Post
Did you update the firmware on your drive?
Nope, I haven't changed anything on the drive in the last couple of years, since I got it working w/ 4k discs.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Orange_GT3 View Post
Check what version of AACS the disc uses and what is loaded into your drive by MakeMKV.
I also found that this error is something that comes up every once in a while on their forum. I've sent a screenshot and the tar ball over, I'll report back once I hear from the developers.
DougUSMC is offline  
post #3131 of 3149 Old 07-08-2020, 05:46 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
DougUSMC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Ellicott City, MD
Posts: 1,402
Mentioned: 56 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 815 Post(s)
Liked: 740
Quote:
Originally Posted by SuperFist View Post
It's sounds to me like no one has submitted this disc to MakeMKV to be decrypted, yet.
I thought about that as well, but Young Guns is a classic, how can that be??!?!
(Jokes, I get that each version of each disc must be done)
DougUSMC is offline  
post #3132 of 3149 Old 07-08-2020, 06:30 AM
Senior Member
 
Orange_GT3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Australia
Posts: 236
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 120 Post(s)
Liked: 44
Quote:
Originally Posted by DougUSMC View Post
Nope, I haven't changed anything on the drive in the last couple of years, since I got it working w/ 4k discs.



I also found that this error is something that comes up every once in a while on their forum. I've sent a screenshot and the tar ball over, I'll report back once I hear from the developers.
I think you might have missed my point. Refer to the attached screenshot. The AACS version shown on the right hand side needs to be the same or higher than the disc version, shown on the left hand side, for the drive to be able to decrypt the disc.

Have you checked this?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Annotation 2020-07-08 233329.jpg
Views:	63
Size:	40.3 KB
ID:	2754718  
timmo likes this.

Last edited by Orange_GT3; 07-08-2020 at 06:35 AM.
Orange_GT3 is offline  
post #3133 of 3149 Old 07-08-2020, 08:09 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
DougUSMC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Ellicott City, MD
Posts: 1,402
Mentioned: 56 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 815 Post(s)
Liked: 740
Quote:
Originally Posted by Orange_GT3 View Post
I think you might have missed my point. Refer to the attached screenshot. The AACS version shown on the right hand side needs to be the same or higher than the disc version, shown on the left hand side, for the drive to be able to decrypt the disc.

Have you checked this?
Sorry, I was thinking about the words to respond when typing my joke, but never added them. if you ask my wife, there's often a disconnect b/w my brain and what I'm trying to say.

I think I'm WAY ahead of the disc, this is what I see:


WAY ahead, right? That's what the joke about "it's a classic" meant...
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	MakeMKV.png
Views:	316
Size:	91.7 KB
ID:	2754734  
Orange_GT3 likes this.
DougUSMC is offline  
post #3134 of 3149 Old 07-08-2020, 11:34 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
deano86's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 2,571
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 724 Post(s)
Liked: 390
Several months back I had a similar cryptic sounding error like yours on a disc that was not an especially new title... All I ended up doing was close out MakeMKV and reboot my computer... tried the disc again and all was fine. Maybe it was due to MakeMKV program just getting out of whack for some reason?....In addition.... I would think it would be obvious to inspect the read side of your disc ... just on the off chance the error is somehow due to a dirty surface or fingerprints, etc....
DougUSMC likes this.
deano86 is offline  
post #3135 of 3149 Old 07-08-2020, 04:40 PM
Senior Member
 
Orange_GT3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Australia
Posts: 236
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 120 Post(s)
Liked: 44
Quote:
Originally Posted by DougUSMC View Post
Sorry, I was thinking about the words to respond when typing my joke, but never added them. if you ask my wife, there's often a disconnect b/w my brain and what I'm trying to say.

I think I'm WAY ahead of the disc, this is what I see:


WAY ahead, right? That's what the joke about "it's a classic" meant...
Yep, you should be fine .
Orange_GT3 is offline  
post #3136 of 3149 Old 07-09-2020, 04:22 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
DougUSMC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Ellicott City, MD
Posts: 1,402
Mentioned: 56 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 815 Post(s)
Liked: 740
Quote:
Originally Posted by deano86 View Post
Several months back I had a similar cryptic sounding error like yours on a disc that was not an especially new title... All I ended up doing was close out MakeMKV and reboot my computer... tried the disc again and all was fine. Maybe it was due to MakeMKV program just getting out of whack for some reason?....In addition.... I would think it would be obvious to inspect the read side of your disc ... just on the off chance the error is somehow due to a dirty surface or fingerprints, etc....
Tried cleaning the disc (good idea, I always forget that one), then upgraded MakeMKV to the latest version. Rebooted and...

It just spun for 2 hrs, never even fails out now.
DougUSMC is offline  
post #3137 of 3149 Old 07-09-2020, 06:07 AM
Advanced Member
 
tjenkins95's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Rhode Island
Posts: 801
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 516 Post(s)
Liked: 512
Quote:
Originally Posted by DougUSMC View Post
Tried cleaning the disc (good idea, I always forget that one), then upgraded MakeMKV to the latest version. Rebooted and...

It just spun for 2 hrs, never even fails out now.



I checked my blu-ray copy of Young Guns with MakeMKV and it shows the same timestamp as your copy:



Disc Information
Label: LOGICAL_VOLUME_ID
Timestamp: 2007-04-09 18:38:57
Data capacity: 21.42 Gb


which I guess indicates I have the same copy as yours.


I was able to rip mine using MKV.
I also checked Amazon and you can pickup a brand new copy for a couple of bucks.
aaronwt, SuperFist and DougUSMC like this.

www.raysdvds.org
Denon AVR-X6200W; JVC RS500; Panasonic DMP-UB900; Oppo UDP-203;
Klipsch Speakers: RF-82, RC-62, RS-52, RB-61, RT-10d sub, Klipsch CDT-3650-C (4) ceiling.
Pioneer Dolby Atmos enabled Elite Concentric Speakers: SP-EFS73, SP-EBS73, and SP-EC73 in the guest room.
tjenkins95 is offline  
post #3138 of 3149 Old 07-09-2020, 07:08 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
DougUSMC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Ellicott City, MD
Posts: 1,402
Mentioned: 56 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 815 Post(s)
Liked: 740
Quote:
Originally Posted by tjenkins95 View Post
I checked my blu-ray copy of Young Guns with MakeMKV and it shows the same timestamp as your copy:



Disc Information
Label: LOGICAL_VOLUME_ID
Timestamp: 2007-04-09 18:38:57
Data capacity: 21.42 Gb


which I guess indicates I have the same copy as yours.


I was able to rip mine using MKV.
I also checked Amazon and you can pickup a brand new copy for a couple of bucks.
Interesting, awesome of you for checking that out for me, thanks!

I did just get this copy from Amazon, this week, so I'm wondering if my copy is just bad? I have some other movies coming, so I'll check those out, and see if the problem comes back up.
tjenkins95 likes this.
DougUSMC is offline  
post #3139 of 3149 Old 07-09-2020, 07:46 AM
Advanced Member
 
tjenkins95's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Rhode Island
Posts: 801
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 516 Post(s)
Liked: 512
Quote:
Originally Posted by DougUSMC View Post
Interesting, awesome of you for checking that out for me, thanks!

I did just get this copy from Amazon, this week, so I'm wondering if my copy is just bad? I have some other movies coming, so I'll check those out, and see if the problem comes back up.



Yes it could be just a bad copy. I plan on retiring the end of next year so I have started copying my blu-ray and 4K discs to a NAS. I have been copying the blu-rays to ISO files since they normally contain special features. As for the 4K discs, I am copying them to MKV files since they rarely supply special features on the 4K discs.
aaronwt and SuperFist like this.

www.raysdvds.org
Denon AVR-X6200W; JVC RS500; Panasonic DMP-UB900; Oppo UDP-203;
Klipsch Speakers: RF-82, RC-62, RS-52, RB-61, RT-10d sub, Klipsch CDT-3650-C (4) ceiling.
Pioneer Dolby Atmos enabled Elite Concentric Speakers: SP-EFS73, SP-EBS73, and SP-EC73 in the guest room.
tjenkins95 is offline  
post #3140 of 3149 Old 07-09-2020, 10:29 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
DougUSMC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Ellicott City, MD
Posts: 1,402
Mentioned: 56 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 815 Post(s)
Liked: 740
Quote:
Originally Posted by tjenkins95 View Post
Yes it could be just a bad copy. I plan on retiring the end of next year so I have started copying my blu-ray and 4K discs to a NAS. I have been copying the blu-rays to ISO files since they normally contain special features. As for the 4K discs, I am copying them to MKV files since they rarely supply special features on the 4K discs.
Yeah, I did the same thing. I knew I would run out of space, so I stuck with just the main features. I started with a 12TB array, and upgraded when I had less than 1TB left. We're about 725 movies, and they're not even all MKV. A quick sort and count shows 328 M4V, 30 MP4, 370 MKV. The different formats are due to the fact that I've been ripping movies since ~ 2014, and used to compress. Now that I have a dedicated theater with Atmos, I changed to MKV to capture a better copy. I've been ripping only MKV for the last few years, and will "someday" go back and rip the rest back to MKV.

The crazy thing is that I was at or less than 8TB for the first 600 movies, but blew through 3 TB once I started making MKV with 4k movies. Since then I added a 40TB array, moved all my movies to it, and it's already over 12TB.

For the record: I just ripped the Trolls World Tour 4k, and it was weird. First, I couldn't get Young Guns to eject. (MakeMKV had been closed for a while) Then I couldn't even reboot the machine, I had to power it off. When it came back up, I ripped Trolls no problem. Just for S&G, I tried Young Guns after that, and it ripped fine in ~ 7 mins.

Keep in mind that I updated MakeMKV last night, then rebooted. I tried to rip YG after the reboot, and it just hung the tool for 2 hrs before I killed the process.
tjenkins95, SuperFist and pkinneb like this.
DougUSMC is offline  
post #3141 of 3149 Old 07-09-2020, 11:20 AM
Advanced Member
 
Taxcheat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Washington, D.C.
Posts: 567
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 542 Post(s)
Liked: 441
Quote:
Originally Posted by DougUSMC View Post
The crazy thing is that I was at or less than 8TB for the first 600 movies, but blew through 3 TB once I started making MKV with 4k movies. Since then I added a 40TB array, moved all my movies to it, and it's already over 12TB.

I hope you don't like Game of Thrones, because the eight-season 4k boxset is going to gobble a few TB.
aaronwt likes this.

XBR-75Z9D fed by Oppo 203. Decrapifying the X1 Extreme
Taxcheat is offline  
post #3142 of 3149 Old 07-09-2020, 11:27 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
lujan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: SW USA
Posts: 9,793
Mentioned: 51 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5218 Post(s)
Liked: 3237
Quote:
Originally Posted by Taxcheat View Post
I hope you don't like Game of Thrones, because the eight-season 4k boxset is going to gobble a few TB.
I was thinking the same thing, "what am I going to do about space when I get this one"? Unless a streaming service finally has this one in 4k, I have to rip it as a backup. I already have seasons 1 and 8 backed up but will need to do seasons 2 through 7.

lujan
697 Ultra HD
741 HD
4 SD
lujan is offline  
post #3143 of 3149 Old 07-09-2020, 12:31 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
DougUSMC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Ellicott City, MD
Posts: 1,402
Mentioned: 56 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 815 Post(s)
Liked: 740
Quote:
Originally Posted by Taxcheat View Post
I hope you don't like Game of Thrones, because the eight-season 4k boxset is going to gobble a few TB.
I do have a bunch of series (Supernatural, Sons of Anarchy, Vikings, etc), but I have no desire to burn GoT.

I read a lot of books, and most of it is SciFi. I bounce through genres, styles, authors, etc, and (according to Goodreads) average just over 45 books a year, over the last 7 -8 years. I started the first book of GoT when it was initially released, and can say w/ 99% certainty that it's the only book I put down w/o finishing. Ever. In my life.

I know a lot of folks that love his books, some for the very reasons I can't stand them, and that's cool. To each his/her own.

When the HBO series started, I loved it. I mean I thought it was a 180 degree improvement from the books. As the seasons wore on, I started getting more and more annoyed about the lack of storyline progress, and too much (and too thinly veiled) politics. Mostly it just started draaaaaaging on every episode, with 2 mins of cliffhanger at the end to drag me back next week (Helloooo Walking Dead?). I was grateful for the last season, that it finally wrapped things up, but it just wasn't good. It was pretty easy to guess what would happen in plot lines, by expecting either what would annoy me most, or what would be inline with his political ideologies. The ONLY thing I liked was the very end, where all the warriors were put out to pasture, and the politicians took over. Super annoying, but I found it funny and real.

I think the best thing he's written was the 2014 Dorkly Open Letter to Fans. Oh, and that probably wasn't him.

[/ENDRANT]

BTW: How big is the total series?
DougUSMC is offline  
post #3144 of 3149 Old 07-09-2020, 12:38 PM
Member
 
CalJake's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: San Francisco Bay Area
Posts: 151
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 97 Post(s)
Liked: 66
Quote:
Originally Posted by brbeck View Post
Success using the BE16NU50 to rip both ID4 and Star Trek (2009) using MakeMKV.

I have found, though, that I need to begin outputting to MKV before the drive comes to rest after spinning the disc. If I wait too long, the drive appears to "forget" how to access the contents. It reports bad sectors and gets stuck in an endless loop of futility until I cancel the operation.

It's likely a firmware (rev. 1.01) issue that has since been resolved, but I don't dare update the drive at this point.

Sounds to me like the notorious UHD drive "sleep bug" which is discussed on in the makemv forums. You're correct - a firmware change would probably fix that (if that's indeed the problem)
CalJake is offline  
post #3145 of 3149 Old 07-09-2020, 04:08 PM
Advanced Member
 
Taxcheat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Washington, D.C.
Posts: 567
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 542 Post(s)
Liked: 441
Quote:
Originally Posted by DougUSMC View Post
BTW: How big is the total series?
Season 1 is 331gb, the extra-short Season 8 is 263gb. Presuming Seasons 2-7 average 300gb each, you're looking at ~2.7TB for the set.

The moral of the story: you need lots of drives if you want to live the no-compromise, disc-free lifestyle. In other good news that's relevant to this thread, WD just announced its line of Gold 20TB enterprise drives (18tb is $593 full retail). I just added up my collection, and it's exactly 20tb of 4k only content. Now, figure each disc is 70gb on average, you're looking at less than $2.30 extra per disc to store a movie on an enterprise drive, or half that amount using 10TB EasyStores bought while on sale at BestBuy.
aaronwt and SuperFist like this.

XBR-75Z9D fed by Oppo 203. Decrapifying the X1 Extreme

Last edited by Taxcheat; 07-09-2020 at 04:25 PM.
Taxcheat is offline  
post #3146 of 3149 Old 07-09-2020, 04:22 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
BrolicBeast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Charles County, MD
Posts: 5,646
Mentioned: 88 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1935 Post(s)
Liked: 2404
@DougUSMC I got that exact error when I tried to rip The Force Awakens when it was released in 4K. All the other discs from the set imported fine—but that one just didn’t, despite everything I tried (including updating to latest MakeMKV, tried even replacing the hash file. Then, I tried on a different computer, and got the SAME error message. Tried all those steps on the new computer—no dice. I left it alone...revisited it three weeks later. It worked,

My guess—it has something to do with hash key updates. I could be wrong though.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk Pro
BrolicBeast is offline  
post #3147 of 3149 Old 07-09-2020, 05:21 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
lujan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: SW USA
Posts: 9,793
Mentioned: 51 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5218 Post(s)
Liked: 3237
Quote:
Originally Posted by Taxcheat View Post
Season 1 is 331gb, the extra-short Season 8 is 263gb. Presuming Seasons 2-7 average 300gb each, you're looking at ~2.7TB for the set.

The moral of the story: you need lots of drives if you want to live the no-compromise, disc-free lifestyle. In other good news that's relevant to this thread, WD just announced its line of Gold 20TB enterprise drives (18tb is $593 full retail). I just added up my collection, and it's exactly 20tb of 4k only content. Now, figure each disc is 70gb on average, you're looking at less than $2.30 extra per disc to store a movie on an enterprise drive, or half that amount using 10TB EasyStores bought while on sale at BestBuy.
I guess I'll be looking for a large WD drive for Black Friday?
aaronwt and SuperFist like this.

lujan
697 Ultra HD
741 HD
4 SD
lujan is offline  
post #3148 of 3149 Old 07-10-2020, 06:01 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
DougUSMC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Ellicott City, MD
Posts: 1,402
Mentioned: 56 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 815 Post(s)
Liked: 740
Quote:
Originally Posted by Taxcheat View Post
Season 1 is 331gb, the extra-short Season 8 is 263gb. Presuming Seasons 2-7 average 300gb each, you're looking at ~2.7TB for the set.

The moral of the story: you need lots of drives if you want to live the no-compromise, disc-free lifestyle. In other good news that's relevant to this thread, WD just announced its line of Gold 20TB enterprise drives (18tb is $593 full retail). I just added up my collection, and it's exactly 20tb of 4k only content. Now, figure each disc is 70gb on average, you're looking at less than $2.30 extra per disc to store a movie on an enterprise drive, or half that amount using 10TB EasyStores bought while on sale at BestBuy.
Yeah, no doubt. I'm using the WD My Cloud Pro series. My initial setup was 4x 4TB, RAID 5, for 12 TB usable. I ran multiple shares there: music, home drives for everyone in the house, all of our pictures, house stuff, movies, etc. When it filled, I just picked up a second My Cloud, 4x10 TB and moved the movies over to it. I could stretch them across the two, but I didn't want two different folders since Plex works better with one.

Quote:
Originally Posted by BrolicBeast View Post
@DougUSMC I got that exact error when I tried to rip The Force Awakens when it was released in 4K. All the other discs from the set imported fine—but that one just didn’t, despite everything I tried (including updating to latest MakeMKV, tried even replacing the hash file. Then, I tried on a different computer, and got the SAME error message. Tried all those steps on the new computer—no dice. I left it alone...revisited it three weeks later. It worked,

My guess—it has something to do with hash key updates. I could be wrong though.
Yeah, I guess it could be that? I figured something got knocked straight after the second reboot, but it could have just been coincidental timing too?
DougUSMC is offline  
post #3149 of 3149 Old 07-10-2020, 11:36 AM
UHD Addict
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 36,978
Mentioned: 78 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10000 Post(s)
Liked: 6662
Quote:
Originally Posted by lujan View Post
I guess I'll be looking for a large WD drive for Black Friday?
I'm hoping to pick up another 12TB WD USB drive for my UHD Plex machine. Last year I got one for around $175. Or preferably a 14TB one. Then I could remove my 6TB internal and 8TB WD USB drive and move them to my HD Plex/TiVo PC.

57TB unRAID1a--49TB unRAID2--76TB unRAID3
TCL 6 Series--Sony UBP-X800--Philips BDP7502--Onkyo HT-S7800
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme
aaronwt is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Networking, Media Servers & Content Streaming

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off