Ripping UHD 4k discs with Makemkv: Instructions How-to - Page 39 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 936Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1141 of 2709 Old 07-19-2018, 09:01 PM
UHD Addict
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 35,960
Mentioned: 71 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9314 Post(s)
Liked: 6001
Quote:
Originally Posted by robl2 View Post
We are talking about 2 different things. Yes, AnyDVD can decrypt it. I’ve used that myself many times.

I’m talking about verification before decryption so that you know the drive read it right. I’m not aware of AnyDVD doing that, unlike MakeMkV.
OK. I've never needed anything like that. Every rip I've done so far works like it should. But CloneBD does better job with the subtitles. With showing me which ones are forced in the MKV file when playing back in Plex.

53TB unRAID1a--49TB unRAID2--76TB unRAID3
TCL 6 Series--Sony UBP-X800--Philips BDP7502--Onkyo HT-S7800
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme
aaronwt is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1142 of 2709 Old 07-19-2018, 10:50 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
lovswr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Riverview, FL
Posts: 1,659
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 90 Post(s)
Liked: 51
Send a message via AIM to lovswr
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stevetd View Post
I see. I was hoping it wasn't a quality issue of some sort. I do hate it, on some titles, when there's five minutes of unchecking boxes.
There is an uncheck/check all feature in MakeMKV. When you see a big long list on the left hand side, just right click any of them & you will get the option to uncheck all.

edit: I'm doing this from memory so I think the option is select/un-select all

carry on with your HD-Lite Directv loving banter! <--Comedy Gold
Don't fall for the HDMI 1.3 Hype!
PSN = lovswr
XBOX Live = lovswr
lovswr is offline  
post #1143 of 2709 Old 07-20-2018, 12:08 AM
Audio/Video Enthusiast
 
alexcoluzzi32's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: California
Posts: 402
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 269 Post(s)
Liked: 200
Ed and I had a good chat and he's on the right track with Windows 10 64 bit and a new ssd for the laptop. Really nice guy to talk with.
SuperFist likes this.

Living Room: Xfinity XG1v4-A cable box + Apple TV 4K > Sony HT-ST5000 Atmos/DTS:X Soundbar > Sony XBR-65X900F Television
Office: Oppo UDP-203 + Apple TV 4K > Sony HT-Z9F Atmos/DTS:X Soundbar (with rears) > Sony XBR-55A1E Television
alexcoluzzi32 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1144 of 2709 Old 07-20-2018, 05:10 AM
AVS Forum Club Gold
 
Stevetd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Western, NC
Posts: 1,066
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 322 Post(s)
Liked: 107
Quote:
Originally Posted by lovswr View Post
There is an uncheck/check all feature in MakeMKV. When you see a big long list on the left hand side, just right click any of them & you will get the option to uncheck all.

edit: I'm doing this from memory so I think the option is select/un-select all
Yeah I figured it out with the help of an earlier poster. I was always tring to click/ctrl-A on the first line w/box and/or the boxes. I guess it never crossed my mind to click on the very top line. I feel like an idiot after using MakeMKV for years lol.
Stevetd is offline  
post #1145 of 2709 Old 07-20-2018, 05:45 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
hobbs47's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 1,759
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 458 Post(s)
Liked: 491
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stevetd View Post
Yeah I figured it out with the help of an earlier poster. I was always tring to click/ctrl-A on the first line w/box and/or the boxes. I guess it never crossed my mind to click on the very top line. I feel like an idiot after using MakeMKV for years lol.
You can also edit the minimum title length (in preferences), this will help filter out most of the extras from popping up at all. I changed mine from 60 seconds to 600. At most a few other options pop up along with the main movie.

Benq HT3550/LG OLED65B6P /Panny UB820 4k Bluray/Apple TV 4k
Nvidia Shield/HDFury AVRkey/Samsung HW-K950 Soundbar
hobbs47 is online now  
post #1146 of 2709 Old 07-20-2018, 05:33 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
poppagene's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Bethesda. MD
Posts: 1,541
Mentioned: 35 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 860 Post(s)
Liked: 758
Quote:
Originally Posted by mtucker View Post
I submitted my rebate 4/17 and got the e-mail saying it was sent to me on 6/16. The card only took a few days to come after that. It bought a few lunches.
Claim Status History
Date Status Comments
5/2/2018 1:29:49 PM Claim Created
5/2/2018 1:32:51 PM Claim Completed, Awaiting Receipt of Documentation
5/8/2018 6:06:47 AM Documentation Received
5/9/2018 9:24:03 AM Approved
7/19/2018 7:27:24 PM Payment Processing
aaronwt likes this.

UN48JS8500 UN55HU6950 w/SEK-3500U UN40HU6950 w/SEK-3500U UBD-K8500 UN37C5000
poppagene is offline  
post #1147 of 2709 Old 07-20-2018, 08:05 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
hobbs47's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 1,759
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 458 Post(s)
Liked: 491
Quote:
Originally Posted by poppagene View Post
Claim Status History
Date Status Comments
5/2/2018 1:29:49 PM Claim Created
5/2/2018 1:32:51 PM Claim Completed, Awaiting Receipt of Documentation
5/8/2018 6:06:47 AM Documentation Received
5/9/2018 9:24:03 AM Approved
7/19/2018 7:27:24 PM Payment Processing
Guess I should call them.......it’s been awhile.

Date Status Comments
2/22/2018 12:20:37 PM Claim Created
2/24/2018 12:32:27 PM Claim Completed, Awaiting Receipt of Documentation
3/7/2018 9:53:32 AM Documentation Received
3/9/2018 4:29:32 AM Approved

Benq HT3550/LG OLED65B6P /Panny UB820 4k Bluray/Apple TV 4k
Nvidia Shield/HDFury AVRkey/Samsung HW-K950 Soundbar
hobbs47 is online now  
post #1148 of 2709 Old 07-21-2018, 05:12 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Cant seem to get it to work.

Using a BW-16D1H-U Pro but the E104 version. So am i screwed? It was 179 bucks so hoping that this workaround works and i can rip my 4k UHD HDR content as well
GymBody is offline  
post #1149 of 2709 Old 07-21-2018, 05:17 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by GymBody View Post
Cant seem to get it to work.

Using a BW-16D1H-U Pro but the E104 version. So am i screwed? It was 179 bucks so hoping that this workaround works and i can rip my 4k UHD HDR content as well
pasted the txt file in the original location didnt work so i created a new data directory and still didnt work. Renamed it to KEYDB.CFG and it still doesnt work. Any help for this tech noob would be appreciated. I am the kinda person who usually needs step by step instructions.
GymBody is offline  
post #1150 of 2709 Old 07-21-2018, 06:13 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
deano86's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 2,421
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 644 Post(s)
Liked: 319
All the documentation you need starts in the first post of this very thread... Read it ..and follow the links...you need to do your homework for this to work for you. .... and follow this super handy guide!


https://docs.google.com/file/d/1EvYk...iletype=msword

Last edited by deano86; 07-21-2018 at 06:17 AM.
deano86 is offline  
post #1151 of 2709 Old 07-21-2018, 07:20 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
[quote=deano86;56521640]All the documentation you need starts in the first post of this very thread... Read it ..and follow the links...you need to do your homework for this to work for you. .... and follow this super handy guide!


Did do them all. Guess my particular revision of a drive doesnt work. Its a201 cousin is listed as a friendly drive though. Guess i will try again after reading the word doc you linked. Thanks
GymBody is offline  
post #1152 of 2709 Old 07-21-2018, 07:42 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
12B4A's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: CR Iowa
Posts: 1,096
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 628 Post(s)
Liked: 540
Quote:
Originally Posted by GymBody View Post
Cant seem to get it to work.

Using a BW-16D1H-U Pro but the E104 version. So am i screwed? It was 179 bucks so hoping that this workaround works and i can rip my 4k UHD HDR content as well
I ended up returning mine and going with known good internal drive in an external enclosure. I'm not sure why that model is mentioned on any of these friendly lists.

Life is Lambertian
12B4A is online now  
post #1153 of 2709 Old 07-21-2018, 10:22 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
edfowler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: central Indiana
Posts: 2,280
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 318 Post(s)
Liked: 166
Quote:
Originally Posted by 12B4A View Post
I ended up returning mine and going with known good internal drive in an external enclosure. I'm not sure why that model is mentioned on any of these friendly lists.
You ought to see if alexcoluzzi32 (corrected from alexcolluzi32 - sorry bout that!) has any UHD friendly drives left. He is a great guy and guarantees that the drive you get from him will work.

Sent from my SM-G950U using Tapatalk

Last edited by edfowler; 07-21-2018 at 04:07 PM.
edfowler is offline  
post #1154 of 2709 Old 07-21-2018, 10:42 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by edfowler View Post
You ought to see if alexcolluzi32 has any UHD friendly drives left. He is a great guy and guarantees that the drive you get from him will work.

Sent from my SM-G950U using Tapatalk

Maybe have to find someone locally as well. My country doesnt really have a buy and return within a certain period policy like in the states which is really helpful in situations like this
GymBody is offline  
post #1155 of 2709 Old 07-21-2018, 01:23 PM
Audio/Video Enthusiast
 
alexcoluzzi32's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: California
Posts: 402
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 269 Post(s)
Liked: 200
Anyone know how to edit the title of a thread that you're the author of? I've edited the content, well twice now, but cannot seem to edit the actual title.

Living Room: Xfinity XG1v4-A cable box + Apple TV 4K > Sony HT-ST5000 Atmos/DTS:X Soundbar > Sony XBR-65X900F Television
Office: Oppo UDP-203 + Apple TV 4K > Sony HT-Z9F Atmos/DTS:X Soundbar (with rears) > Sony XBR-55A1E Television

Last edited by alexcoluzzi32; 07-22-2018 at 11:49 AM.
alexcoluzzi32 is offline  
post #1156 of 2709 Old 07-21-2018, 06:30 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Jon S's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Sunny Hawaii
Posts: 4,432
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1124 Post(s)
Liked: 407
I can attest to RAID arrays... My QNAP TS-853A has seven 4TB WD Red drives. In the past three years, three drives died (One was DOA). It is setup as RAID 6.



My TS-453A Pro has four 6TB WD Red drives. So far they have been holding up. I read somewhere that 3TB and 4TB drives seem to be more prone to failures.

If it's not a BIG screen, it's not a theater...
Jon S is online now  
post #1157 of 2709 Old 07-22-2018, 05:15 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
captainbrent's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Panama City, Panama
Posts: 1,013
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 437 Post(s)
Liked: 501
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jon S View Post
I can attest to RAID arrays... My QNAP TS-853A has seven 4TB WD Red drives. In the past three years, three drives died (One was DOA). It is setup as RAID 6.



My TS-453A Pro has four 6TB WD Red drives. So far they have been holding up. I read somewhere that 3TB and 4TB drives seem to be more prone to failures.

Mate, is your post in the correct thread?

Marantz AV8802A | Wyred 4 Sound (500W X 3, 250W X 2) | Marantz MM7025 (140W X 2) | Oppo UDP-203 | Roon ROCK Music Server | ATV4K | Vero 4K+ | LG OLED 65E6P | MiniDSP DDRC-88A | Oppo PM1's | APC H-15 power conditioners (x2) | GoldenEar Triton 1's (FL & FR) | SuperCenter XL (C) | Aon 2's (SL & SR) | SuperSat 3's (FHL & FHR) | SVS PB13-Ultra | Unraid NAS 40TB
captainbrent is offline  
post #1158 of 2709 Old 07-22-2018, 02:31 PM
Advanced Member
 
scarabaeus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: San Leandro, CA, USA
Posts: 863
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 431 Post(s)
Liked: 434
Quote:
Originally Posted by aaronwt View Post
I'm on Windows 10. I never set the region code on either drive I got. And so far I've not seen a nag screen about setting it. But I've also only been using the drives for ripping UHD BD titles. I have two Pioneer drives attached for ripping 2k BDs.
I just set up a LG BH16NS40 (1.02d) on my Mac, and MakeMKV 1.12.2 does not complain when I backup a Region B Blu-ray ("Kill Them All And Come Back Alone"). Need a few more region swaps to make sure it's not locking after 5 changes, but there was no region change prompt, so I guess this is a non-issue on Macs as well.


(What's with all the random number of empty lines in my posts recently? And now some other random crud?)

Last edited by scarabaeus; 07-22-2018 at 03:11 PM.
scarabaeus is offline  
post #1159 of 2709 Old 07-22-2018, 09:33 PM
Audio/Video Enthusiast
 
alexcoluzzi32's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: California
Posts: 402
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 269 Post(s)
Liked: 200
Quote:
Originally Posted by scarabaeus View Post
I just set up a LG BH16NS40 (1.02d) on my Mac, and MakeMKV 1.12.2 does not complain when I backup a Region B Blu-ray ("Kill Them All And Come Back Alone"). Need a few more region swaps to make sure it's not locking after 5 changes, but there was no region change prompt, so I guess this is a non-issue on Macs as well.


(What's with all the random number of empty lines in my posts recently? And now some other random crud?)
San Leandro! What’s up neighbor? sort of, well closer than most of these cats.

That’s my favorite drive hands down.
I know the same drive as the WH but I trust it just a little more since it’s been surrounded by foam inserts since it’s birth.

You only see the d on the Mac not sure what it means. ASUS has a d next to its version number as well.
scarabaeus likes this.
alexcoluzzi32 is offline  
post #1160 of 2709 Old 07-22-2018, 10:50 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
edfowler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: central Indiana
Posts: 2,280
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 318 Post(s)
Liked: 166
Ok, so with Alex's advice I've got my uhd rips to play without the pixelation. I will have to re-rip a dozen of my movies but at least going forward it should all be good.
I think my main problem was transferring the movie to the external hard drive from the player. Alex suggested that I first rip it to the internal ssd that I just installed and then transfer that to the external hdd.
I don't know if it helped that I updated my OS to 64bit from 32bit, or that I upped my ram from 2.8GB to 16GB, but I do know that things are working fine now.

Sent from my SM-G950U using Tapatalk

Chad B calibrated JVC RS600, 112" 2.35 DaLite 2.8 High Power Screen (395 calibrated nits baby!!), 7.5.4 Marantz AV7702,Yamaha RX-A3050, Yamaha RX-Z9, Aerial Acoustics Model 6, Model 5, CC3, Def Tech UIWBP/A, 4-15" Infinite Baffle Sub + 15" Velodyne Sub Near-field, OPPO 203, Panasonic UC420, Geek Pulse DAC, NVidia Shield
edfowler is offline  
post #1161 of 2709 Old 07-23-2018, 06:18 AM
Member
 
joejet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 45
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 31 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Hi all,

Just getting into ripping UHD now that my home theater is set up. I have a Sony 385 projector and an OPPO 203. Also have an ATV4K and Nvidia Shield running Plex. So far I have found Plex on the Shield to be the way to go as the interface is so beautiful, plus the ATV4K cant play Atmos and the Oppo interface is just files and 4k mkv file load slowly.

I am using DVDFab to rip my UHD disks and it works perfectly for passthrough MKV rips but it can also rip to ISO. I see many are loading ISO's.. how do you do that and why? Plex and my OPPO do not see the ISO files so they will not play them.. and I don't see how that would work. An ISO is a full disk, so would the OPPO (assuming I have a setting wrong) or any other player open up the ISO like you put a disk in a drive with the Menus? I think am missing something.. thanks..
joejet is offline  
post #1162 of 2709 Old 07-23-2018, 06:42 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Ph8te's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 19,326
Mentioned: 31 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6526 Post(s)
Liked: 6240
Quote:
Originally Posted by alexcoluzzi32 View Post
Anyone know how to edit the title of a thread that you're the author of? I've edited the content, well twice now, but cannot seem to edit the actual title.


If it no longer gives you the option the only way is to have a Mod do it for you. Reach out to them and they should of be able to take care of it.
Ph8te is online now  
post #1163 of 2709 Old 07-23-2018, 11:42 AM
UHD Addict
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 35,960
Mentioned: 71 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9314 Post(s)
Liked: 6001
Quote:
Originally Posted by edfowler View Post
Ok, so with Alex's advice I've got my uhd rips to play without the pixelation. I will have to re-rip a dozen of my movies but at least going forward it should all be good.
I think my main problem was transferring the movie to the external hard drive from the player. Alex suggested that I first rip it to the internal ssd that I just installed and then transfer that to the external hdd.
I don't know if it helped that I updated my OS to 64bit from 32bit, or that I upped my ram from 2.8GB to 16GB, but I do know that things are working fine now.

Sent from my SM-G950U using Tapatalk
It shouldn't make a difference between the internal ssd or external hard drive. If you are having issues then there might be something wrong with the drive. With my rips, whether I use an internal SSD, internal platter drive, external ssd, or external platter drive, the resulting rips are the same and will all play without issues.

And then even if I rip it directly to a drive on my network(one of my unRAID setups), again the resulting file is the same and will play with no issues.

If anything I would say the extra memory helped you. When I rip discs, I'll use up to 12GB of the total 16GB I have. With most of that memory being used with the tips. But then I'm also typically ripping multiple titles at once. Last night I was ripping two UHD BD and two 2K BDs concurrently from the same machine. Even doing that and all four rips come out without any issues.

Sent from my Galaxy S8 using Tapatalk
SuperFist likes this.

53TB unRAID1a--49TB unRAID2--76TB unRAID3
TCL 6 Series--Sony UBP-X800--Philips BDP7502--Onkyo HT-S7800
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme

Last edited by aaronwt; 07-23-2018 at 11:50 AM.
aaronwt is online now  
post #1164 of 2709 Old 07-24-2018, 08:58 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
SeeMoreDigital's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Nott'm, UK
Posts: 3,391
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1006 Post(s)
Liked: 770
Well... I got quite excited on Monday when a guy at work brought in his ASUS BW-16D1HT burner to create a few Blu-ray discs.

So I asked to borrow it but sadly after linking it up to my little ASUS laptop, according to ImgBurn it has firmware version 3.02 installed... Bummer

I SUPPORT 'FAIR USE'. MY MORALS PREVENT ME FROM HELPING ANYONE WHO OBTAINS COPYRIGHTED CONTENT ILLEGITIMATELY
TV: LG 65UH770V | DISC SPINNER: OPPO UDP-203 | STB: VU+ UNO 4K SE
AMPS: 2No Audiolab 8000A, 2No Audiolab M-PWR | SPEAKERS: 4No KEF 103.2, 3No Wharfedale Diamond 10
ISP: Virgin Media @ 100Mbps | NETWORK: 1000Mbps | NAS: DS212+
SeeMoreDigital is online now  
post #1165 of 2709 Old 07-24-2018, 09:22 AM
AVS Forum Club Gold
 
Keenan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Santa Rosa, CA
Posts: 34,089
Mentioned: 19 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3946 Post(s)
Liked: 3652
Quote:
Originally Posted by SeeMoreDigital View Post
Well... I got quite excited on Monday when a guy at work brought in his ASUS BW-16D1HT burner to create a few Blu-ray discs.

So I asked to borrow it but sadly after linking it up to my little ASUS laptop, according to ImgBurn it has firmware version 3.02 installed... Bummer
It must be an updated version of 3.02 as my BW-16D1HT has 3.02 and it works fine. Sneaky that ASUS would do that it that way instead of just issuing a new firmware version.
Keenan is online now  
post #1166 of 2709 Old 07-24-2018, 09:38 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
SuperFist's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 2,060
Mentioned: 63 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1340 Post(s)
Liked: 5408
Quote:
Originally Posted by SeeMoreDigital View Post
Well... I got quite excited on Monday when a guy at work brought in his ASUS BW-16D1HT burner to create a few Blu-ray discs.

So I asked to borrow it but sadly after linking it up to my little ASUS laptop, according to ImgBurn it has firmware version 3.02 installed... Bummer
So did you not even try to copy a UHD or did you just give up when you saw it was firmware 3.02?
SuperFist is offline  
post #1167 of 2709 Old 07-24-2018, 10:02 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
SeeMoreDigital's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Nott'm, UK
Posts: 3,391
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1006 Post(s)
Liked: 770
Quote:
Originally Posted by SuperFist View Post
So did you not even try to copy a UHD or did you just give up when you saw it was firmware 3.02?
Yes, I tried Blade Runner Final Cut, Blade Runner 2049, Black Panther and Kick Ass. Each time MakeMKV reports 'No Disc': -



I've placed the 'keys_hashed.txt' file within the 'MakeMKV' folder. Perhaps I'm doing something wrong!
SuperFist likes this.

I SUPPORT 'FAIR USE'. MY MORALS PREVENT ME FROM HELPING ANYONE WHO OBTAINS COPYRIGHTED CONTENT ILLEGITIMATELY
TV: LG 65UH770V | DISC SPINNER: OPPO UDP-203 | STB: VU+ UNO 4K SE
AMPS: 2No Audiolab 8000A, 2No Audiolab M-PWR | SPEAKERS: 4No KEF 103.2, 3No Wharfedale Diamond 10
ISP: Virgin Media @ 100Mbps | NETWORK: 1000Mbps | NAS: DS212+

Last edited by SeeMoreDigital; 07-24-2018 at 10:06 AM.
SeeMoreDigital is online now  
post #1168 of 2709 Old 07-24-2018, 10:09 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
SuperFist's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 2,060
Mentioned: 63 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1340 Post(s)
Liked: 5408
Quote:
Originally Posted by SeeMoreDigital View Post
Yes, I tried Blade Runner Final Cut, Blade Runner 2049, Black Panther and Kick Ass. Each time MakeMKV reports 'No Disc': -



I've placed the 'keys_hashed.txt' file within the 'MakeMKV' folder. Perhaps I'm doing something wrong!
Oh okay... that makes sense. I interpreted it that you just looked at the firmware and didn't even try to make a copy.
SuperFist is offline  
post #1169 of 2709 Old 07-24-2018, 10:46 AM
UHD Addict
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 35,960
Mentioned: 71 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9314 Post(s)
Liked: 6001
Quote:
Originally Posted by Keenan View Post
It must be an updated version of 3.02 as my BW-16D1HT has 3.02 and it works fine. Sneaky that ASUS would do that it that way instead of just issuing a new firmware version.
You just need to use the procedure to flash the firmware. Mine came with that version and I followed the procedure to flash it to friendly firmware.

53TB unRAID1a--49TB unRAID2--76TB unRAID3
TCL 6 Series--Sony UBP-X800--Philips BDP7502--Onkyo HT-S7800
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme
aaronwt is online now  
post #1170 of 2709 Old 07-24-2018, 11:08 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
SeeMoreDigital's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Nott'm, UK
Posts: 3,391
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1006 Post(s)
Liked: 770
Quote:
Originally Posted by aaronwt View Post
You just need to use the procedure to flash the firmware. Mine came with that version and I followed the procedure to flash it to friendly firmware.
That's good to know. Can you point me to how to do this and I'll ask Tim at work tomorrow if he's okay with me tinkering about with his drive

EDIT: It's a pretty fast drive. I've just used it to back-up a couple of Blu-ray discs and it's much faster than my slimline Blu-ray drive...

I SUPPORT 'FAIR USE'. MY MORALS PREVENT ME FROM HELPING ANYONE WHO OBTAINS COPYRIGHTED CONTENT ILLEGITIMATELY
TV: LG 65UH770V | DISC SPINNER: OPPO UDP-203 | STB: VU+ UNO 4K SE
AMPS: 2No Audiolab 8000A, 2No Audiolab M-PWR | SPEAKERS: 4No KEF 103.2, 3No Wharfedale Diamond 10
ISP: Virgin Media @ 100Mbps | NETWORK: 1000Mbps | NAS: DS212+
SeeMoreDigital is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Networking, Media Servers & Content Streaming

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off