Ripping UHD 4k discs with Makemkv: Instructions How-to - Page 46 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 936Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1351 of 2709 Old 08-25-2018, 08:00 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
farsider3000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Houston, Texas
Posts: 1,943
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1571 Post(s)
Liked: 960
Quote:
Originally Posted by DougUSMC View Post
Well, after much grunting and cursing, I'm officially declaring success!







I would wholeheartedly recommend that anyone that's on the fence use TheBelcherMan's DOS method in the original how-to thread. I think I ran into every problem imaginable, but finally got through it.



Just a few "gotcha's" that I ran into, and the problem solvers:

- I used the DOS method because I'm running Windows 10, and didn't feel like finding an ISO.

- My new HTPC would allow me to set the drives to IDE. I had to pull out an old one put the UHD friendly drive in it, and go from there

- Find your mobo manual, and make sure you're plugged into the primary SATA slot. Otherwise you can run DOSFlash as many times as you want, and it'll never find the drive

- Make sure you know what the "Boot menu" hotkey is for you (mine is F8 for Asus), this will save headaches

- Step 14 was a little confusing for me. Note that it's asking for 3 file names: first is the file you made (103.bin if you use his example, second is the file you downloaded "flash_HL-DT-ST-BD-RE...bin", the third is the name you want to use for yours. DOS may concatonate your name on you, so I recommend something short (Doug.bin) that you can remember.



I HTH, but if you run into problems feel free to ask. I don't know if I would ever have figured this out w/o all the help I had here.

Nice work and thanks for the pointers and link.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro

7.4.6 system: Processors:Marantz 8805 || Xilica XP4080 Amps: Parasound A31 and ATI AT528NC & AT526NC n-core ||Speakers: Procella P8 LCR, Procella P5/P5 in-wall
Subs: JTR Captivator subs: One S2, Two RS2, One S1
Screen: 2.40:1 Seymour XD Acoustically Transparent, 128" diagonal / 118" wide || Projector: JVC X570/RS420
farsider3000 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1352 of 2709 Old 08-25-2018, 08:56 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
jhughy2010's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: California
Posts: 1,865
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 906 Post(s)
Liked: 288
Quote:
Originally Posted by alexcoluzzi32 View Post
Yes, Texas was the last stop on one forum member's journey to liberate and redistribute every single UHD friendly blu ray drive in all of the 33 Fry's store's nationwide.
That specific quest may be over but the passion still remains going strong!
I need one of these drives! Where do I purchase?
jhughy2010 is offline  
post #1353 of 2709 Old 08-25-2018, 02:25 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
audioguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Not far from Atlanta - but far enough!
Posts: 9,582
Mentioned: 96 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4989 Post(s)
Liked: 3829
Quote:
Originally Posted by farsider3000 View Post
We had a few of the “good” drives at Frys here in Houston but I bought three and another forum member bought the rest I believe. I want to be able to make backups of my 4K Blu-ray Discs for a long time


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro
I bought two when I first made the decision to rip my movies with MakeMKV (needed enough to do multiple rips simultaneously) and then just bought another (from a forum member) as another backup. Like farsider3000, I want to make sure I always have the ability to rip 4K movies, even if a drive crashes !!
SuperFist and jhughy2010 like this.
audioguy is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1354 of 2709 Old 08-25-2018, 09:23 PM
Member
 
Motley01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 111
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 87 Post(s)
Liked: 43
I just bought the ASUS BW-16D1HT from Newegg and it doesn't read any of my 4k movies. In MakeMKV the bluray drive shows ver 3.03 firmware date 1-19-2018.

I thought this drive worked, the only reason I bought it was the OP had the list of supported drives.

What gives?
Motley01 is offline  
post #1355 of 2709 Old 08-25-2018, 09:30 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Bytehoven's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 6,536
Mentioned: 43 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1377 Post(s)
Liked: 1087
Quote:
Originally Posted by Motley01 View Post
I just bought the ASUS BW-16D1HT from Newegg and it doesn't read any of my 4k movies. In MakeMKV the bluray drive shows ver 3.03 firmware date 1-19-2018.

I thought this drive worked, the only reason I bought it was the OP had the list of supported drives.

What gives?
3.03 is updated firmware. See if you can get an exchange for another, if they won't, return it. I have heard of folks buying the drive and upgrading the drive and then returning it because they basically broke the hack.

JVC DLA-X990 (RS640) - 128" 2.35 1.3 Gain Screen - Panasonic UB820 - ROKU Ultra - PS4 - XBone
7.1.4 Atmos - Denon X4300H + Denon 3806(LCR) - JBL Control 5 - BIC Sub - Dayton

Last edited by Bytehoven; 08-25-2018 at 09:33 PM.
Bytehoven is offline  
post #1356 of 2709 Old 08-25-2018, 09:47 PM
Member
 
Motley01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 111
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 87 Post(s)
Liked: 43
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bytehoven View Post
3.03 is updated firmware. See if you can get an exchange for another, if they won't, return it. I have heard of folks buying the drive and upgrading the drive and then returning it because they basically broke the hack.
OMG you gotta be kidding me. The OP needs to update to indicate any new drives are new firmware and won't work. How in world am I supposed to know which firmware these drives have.

I spent $100 bucks on this and its useless to me. I can't return it because its past the 30 days from purchase.
Motley01 is offline  
post #1357 of 2709 Old 08-25-2018, 10:11 PM
Member
 
Motley01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 111
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 87 Post(s)
Liked: 43
I just found a Pioneer 4k bluray burner for $115. https://www.newegg.com/Product/Produ...9SIA2W05RA7825

I have no idea why some of you think these special older bluray drives are so important, when you can just buy a damn 4k burner for your PC for the same price. LOL
Motley01 is offline  
post #1358 of 2709 Old 08-25-2018, 10:29 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Ph8te's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 19,325
Mentioned: 31 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6526 Post(s)
Liked: 6240
Quote:
Originally Posted by Motley01 View Post
I just found a Pioneer 4k bluray burner for $115. https://www.newegg.com/Product/Produ...9SIA2W05RA7825



I have no idea why some of you think these special older bluray drives are so important, when you can just buy a damn 4k burner for your PC for the same price. LOL


¯\_(ツ)_/¯ maybe you should do some more reading. Of course if you want to spend more money on drives that won’t work, have fun.
Ph8te is offline  
post #1359 of 2709 Old 08-25-2018, 10:34 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
jhughy2010's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: California
Posts: 1,865
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 906 Post(s)
Liked: 288
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bytehoven View Post
...and upgrading the drive and then returning it because they basically broke the hack.
Windows doesn't update the firmware via Windows update right? You have to manually update the firmware like updating BIOS firmware on a mobo?
jhughy2010 is offline  
post #1360 of 2709 Old 08-25-2018, 11:45 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Bytehoven's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 6,536
Mentioned: 43 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1377 Post(s)
Liked: 1087
Quote:
Originally Posted by jhughy2010 View Post
Windows doesn't update the firmware via Windows update right? You have to manually update the firmware like updating BIOS firmware on a mobo?
I work on a mac so I'm not sure what windows might do.i assume you hzve to run the .exe manually also.

JVC DLA-X990 (RS640) - 128" 2.35 1.3 Gain Screen - Panasonic UB820 - ROKU Ultra - PS4 - XBone
7.1.4 Atmos - Denon X4300H + Denon 3806(LCR) - JBL Control 5 - BIC Sub - Dayton
Bytehoven is offline  
post #1361 of 2709 Old 08-26-2018, 01:17 AM
Member
 
Motley01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 111
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 87 Post(s)
Liked: 43
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ph8te View Post
¯\_(ツ)_/¯ maybe you should do some more reading. Of course if you want to spend more money on drives that won’t work, have fun.
Geeezus, well I did some more research and sure enough that Pioneer 4k won't work with MKV.

I'm gonna try the LG WH16NS40.

Last edited by Motley01; 08-26-2018 at 01:29 AM.
Motley01 is offline  
post #1362 of 2709 Old 08-26-2018, 02:44 AM
Audio/Video Enthusiast
 
alexcoluzzi32's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: California
Posts: 402
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 269 Post(s)
Liked: 200
Quote:
Originally Posted by jhughy2010 View Post
Windows doesn't update the firmware via Windows update right? You have to manually update the firmware like updating BIOS firmware on a mobo?
Correct, Windows won't mess with your drives. Hell Windows still uses the cdrom.sys driver that's like 10-15 years old
jhughy2010 likes this.

Living Room: Xfinity XG1v4-A cable box + Apple TV 4K > Sony HT-ST5000 Atmos/DTS:X Soundbar > Sony XBR-65X900F Television
Office: Oppo UDP-203 + Apple TV 4K > Sony HT-Z9F Atmos/DTS:X Soundbar (with rears) > Sony XBR-55A1E Television
alexcoluzzi32 is offline  
post #1363 of 2709 Old 08-26-2018, 05:32 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
lockdown571's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 2,314
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 429 Post(s)
Liked: 323
Quote:
Originally Posted by alexcoluzzi32 View Post
Correct, Windows won't mess with your drives. Hell Windows still uses the cdrom.sys driver that's like 10-15 years old
Are you positive? I did this just to be safe: https://www.howtogeek.com/263851/how...cific-drivers/
lockdown571 is online now  
post #1364 of 2709 Old 08-26-2018, 06:19 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
JRock3x8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Northwest Indiana
Posts: 3,987
Mentioned: 17 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1858 Post(s)
Liked: 623
are there any drives that work regardless of firmware?

these?

Quote:
UHD official drives:

LG WH16NS60
LG BU40N
LG BU50N
JRock3x8 is offline  
post #1365 of 2709 Old 08-26-2018, 08:10 AM
UHD Addict
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 35,956
Mentioned: 71 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9312 Post(s)
Liked: 5998
Quote:
Originally Posted by SeeMoreDigital View Post
I ended up buying the Asus BW-16D1HT drive [manufactured in Jan 2018] running a version of 3.02 from my work colleague. I'm going to read through giomania's instructions over the weekend, with the aim to make my drive UHD disc friendly... It's a bit nerve racking
It is. But in the end it is extremely easy. I spent way to much time on my first drive. But the second one took just a few minutes. And it took more time to boot windows from the flash drive than to upgrade to the UHD friendly firmware.

Sent from my Nexus 7 using Tapatalk
SeeMoreDigital likes this.

53TB unRAID1a--49TB unRAID2--76TB unRAID3
TCL 6 Series--Sony UBP-X800--Philips BDP7502--Onkyo HT-S7800
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme
aaronwt is offline  
post #1366 of 2709 Old 08-26-2018, 08:12 AM
UHD Addict
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 35,956
Mentioned: 71 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9312 Post(s)
Liked: 5998
Quote:
Originally Posted by DougUSMC View Post
Well, after much grunting and cursing, I'm officially declaring success!



I would wholeheartedly recommend that anyone that's on the fence use TheBelcherMan's DOS method in the original how-to thread. I think I ran into every problem imaginable, but finally got through it.

Just a few "gotcha's" that I ran into, and the problem solvers:
- I used the DOS method because I'm running Windows 10, and didn't feel like finding an ISO.
- My new HTPC would allow me to set the drives to IDE. I had to pull out an old one put the UHD friendly drive in it, and go from there
- Find your mobo manual, and make sure you're plugged into the primary SATA slot. Otherwise you can run DOSFlash as many times as you want, and it'll never find the drive
- Make sure you know what the "Boot menu" hotkey is for you (mine is F8 for Asus), this will save headaches
- Step 14 was a little confusing for me. Note that it's asking for 3 file names: first is the file you made (103.bin if you use his example, second is the file you downloaded "flash_HL-DT-ST-BD-RE...bin", the third is the name you want to use for yours. DOS may concatonate your name on you, so I recommend something short (Doug.bin) that you can remember.

I HTH, but if you run into problems feel free to ask. I don't know if I would ever have figured this out w/o all the help I had here.
No need to find a windows iso. There should have been a link to download a windows boot from a USB drive. Can't remember what it was called but it worked great.

Sent from my Nexus 7 using Tapatalk

53TB unRAID1a--49TB unRAID2--76TB unRAID3
TCL 6 Series--Sony UBP-X800--Philips BDP7502--Onkyo HT-S7800
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme
aaronwt is offline  
post #1367 of 2709 Old 08-26-2018, 08:14 AM
UHD Addict
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 35,956
Mentioned: 71 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9312 Post(s)
Liked: 5998
Quote:
Originally Posted by Motley01 View Post
OMG you gotta be kidding me. The OP needs to update to indicate any new drives are new firmware and won't work. How in world am I supposed to know which firmware these drives have.

I spent $100 bucks on this and its useless to me. I can't return it because its past the 30 days from purchase.
You use the procedure to load a UHD friendly firmware. It's unlikely you will find one in the wild now. Not impossible but very unlikely.

I'm hoping Asus offers some more rebates. I should have picked up a third Asus drive when they did a second round of $25 rebates. Plus the drives are even more expensive now. My second one was only $85 and then I got the $25 rebate taking the cost down to $60. I have no desire to pay $90 to $100 for an Asus drive. With no rebate.
Sent from my Nexus 7 using Tapatalk

53TB unRAID1a--49TB unRAID2--76TB unRAID3
TCL 6 Series--Sony UBP-X800--Philips BDP7502--Onkyo HT-S7800
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme

Last edited by aaronwt; 08-26-2018 at 08:20 AM.
aaronwt is offline  
post #1368 of 2709 Old 08-26-2018, 08:22 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
farsider3000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Houston, Texas
Posts: 1,943
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1571 Post(s)
Liked: 960
Quote:
Originally Posted by Motley01 View Post
OMG you gotta be kidding me. The OP needs to update to indicate any new drives are new firmware and won't work. How in world am I supposed to know which firmware these drives have.



I spent $100 bucks on this and its useless to me. I can't return it because its past the 30 days from purchase.

The firmware or ROM version is printed on the bottom of the drive.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro

7.4.6 system: Processors:Marantz 8805 || Xilica XP4080 Amps: Parasound A31 and ATI AT528NC & AT526NC n-core ||Speakers: Procella P8 LCR, Procella P5/P5 in-wall
Subs: JTR Captivator subs: One S2, Two RS2, One S1
Screen: 2.40:1 Seymour XD Acoustically Transparent, 128" diagonal / 118" wide || Projector: JVC X570/RS420
farsider3000 is offline  
post #1369 of 2709 Old 08-26-2018, 08:24 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
farsider3000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Houston, Texas
Posts: 1,943
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1571 Post(s)
Liked: 960
Quote:
Originally Posted by Motley01 View Post
I just found a Pioneer 4k bluray burner for $115. https://www.newegg.com/Product/Produ...9SIA2W05RA7825



I have no idea why some of you think these special older bluray drives are so important, when you can just buy a damn 4k burner for your PC for the same price. LOL

We don’t think, we know. All new drives have been updated so that they do not allow ripping to occur. Let us know how yours works.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro

7.4.6 system: Processors:Marantz 8805 || Xilica XP4080 Amps: Parasound A31 and ATI AT528NC & AT526NC n-core ||Speakers: Procella P8 LCR, Procella P5/P5 in-wall
Subs: JTR Captivator subs: One S2, Two RS2, One S1
Screen: 2.40:1 Seymour XD Acoustically Transparent, 128" diagonal / 118" wide || Projector: JVC X570/RS420
farsider3000 is offline  
post #1370 of 2709 Old 08-26-2018, 08:57 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
dbone1026's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Long Island, New York
Posts: 11,822
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 409 Post(s)
Liked: 205
So for those who are ripping their 4K UHDs, are you still keeping your Blu Ray rips? So far I still have the blu ray rips, mainly because at the time not all the hardware I had in my house could play back 4K UHD mkvs. However, I am pretty much set where all these 4K mkvs will play, so thinking it might be time to free up some space on my server and get rid of the BR rips.

Cheers
dbone1026 is offline  
post #1371 of 2709 Old 08-26-2018, 09:47 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Chuck_IV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 1,216
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 152 Post(s)
Liked: 73
Quote:
Originally Posted by dbone1026 View Post
So for those who are ripping their 4K UHDs, are you still keeping your Blu Ray rips? So far I still have the blu ray rips, mainly because at the time not all the hardware I had in my house could play back 4K UHD mkvs. However, I am pretty much set where all these 4K mkvs will play, so thinking it might be time to free up some space on my server and get rid of the BR rips.
Yes. I always rip both versions because when playing a 4k rip on a non-4k tv, the color mapping via my Nvidia Shield is off, so reds look orange and so on.

So I rip both and using Emby, I just set the allowable max bandwidth to something below what 4k usually is and when I select Play Version Best for me, it will always direct play the Bluray version.

Plus, when streaming away from home, my max upload bandwidth isn't high enough to stream 4K(nor is my server powerful enough to convert 4k) so Bluray only streaming is what I need.

Sent from my SM-G965U using Tapatalk
SuperFist likes this.

Last edited by Chuck_IV; 08-26-2018 at 09:51 AM.
Chuck_IV is offline  
post #1372 of 2709 Old 08-26-2018, 10:09 AM
Audio/Video Enthusiast
 
alexcoluzzi32's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: California
Posts: 402
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 269 Post(s)
Liked: 200
I rip every disc that comes in a package, 4K, HD, DVD, whatever!
SuperFist likes this.

Living Room: Xfinity XG1v4-A cable box + Apple TV 4K > Sony HT-ST5000 Atmos/DTS:X Soundbar > Sony XBR-65X900F Television
Office: Oppo UDP-203 + Apple TV 4K > Sony HT-Z9F Atmos/DTS:X Soundbar (with rears) > Sony XBR-55A1E Television
alexcoluzzi32 is offline  
post #1373 of 2709 Old 08-26-2018, 10:23 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
confinoj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Shaker Heights, OH
Posts: 2,020
Mentioned: 24 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1248 Post(s)
Liked: 1069
Also curious how other are managing their mix of of 4k/hdr and 1080p libraries in Plex. My main HT setup in my living room is 4K/HDR and I use a mix of my Shield, ATV 4K, Oppo 203. However all other TVs and devices don't support 4k/hdr. As others have pointed out HDR to SDR transcoding does not work well and transcoding is slow anyway. So I keep a separate 4K library in Plex but still rip the blu-ray for all other devices. As my 4K library has grown it's getting annoying to flip back and forth so much between my 4k only library and my main library that has everything just not the 4k versions. Anyone have a better system so I can have one movie library without seeing duplicates, but keep both versions, and have each device play the appropriate version?
SuperFist likes this.

LG OLED65C7P (Chad B Calibrated) | Denon X4300H | HDHomeRun Quatro | Nvidia Shield | ATV 4K | Oppo UDP-203 | 40TB Plex server
5.2.4 | Front Klipsch RP-160M x2 | Center Klipsch RP-450C | Surrounds Klipsch RP-150M x2 | Atmos Klipsch RP-140SA x 4 | Subs SVS PC-4000 x 2
confinoj is offline  
post #1374 of 2709 Old 08-26-2018, 11:32 AM
Audio/Video Enthusiast
 
alexcoluzzi32's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: California
Posts: 402
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 269 Post(s)
Liked: 200
Quote:
Originally Posted by lockdown571 View Post
Are you positive? I did this just to be safe: https://www.howtogeek.com/263851/how...cific-drivers/

I'm positive that it's not happened yet, but I will look into that tidbit you threw out there, thank you!

Living Room: Xfinity XG1v4-A cable box + Apple TV 4K > Sony HT-ST5000 Atmos/DTS:X Soundbar > Sony XBR-65X900F Television
Office: Oppo UDP-203 + Apple TV 4K > Sony HT-Z9F Atmos/DTS:X Soundbar (with rears) > Sony XBR-55A1E Television
alexcoluzzi32 is offline  
post #1375 of 2709 Old 08-26-2018, 01:07 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
farsider3000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Houston, Texas
Posts: 1,943
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1571 Post(s)
Liked: 960
Quote:
Originally Posted by Motley01 View Post
Geeezus, well I did some more research and sure enough that Pioneer 4k won't work with MKV.



I'm gonna try the LG WH16NS40.

The LG won’t work unless you have the right ROM version.... which is no longer sold... read the first page of this thread.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro
SuperFist likes this.

7.4.6 system: Processors:Marantz 8805 || Xilica XP4080 Amps: Parasound A31 and ATI AT528NC & AT526NC n-core ||Speakers: Procella P8 LCR, Procella P5/P5 in-wall
Subs: JTR Captivator subs: One S2, Two RS2, One S1
Screen: 2.40:1 Seymour XD Acoustically Transparent, 128" diagonal / 118" wide || Projector: JVC X570/RS420
farsider3000 is offline  
post #1376 of 2709 Old 08-26-2018, 01:09 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
farsider3000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Houston, Texas
Posts: 1,943
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1571 Post(s)
Liked: 960
Quote:
Originally Posted by dbone1026 View Post
So for those who are ripping their 4K UHDs, are you still keeping your Blu Ray rips? So far I still have the blu ray rips, mainly because at the time not all the hardware I had in my house could play back 4K UHD mkvs. However, I am pretty much set where all these 4K mkvs will play, so thinking it might be time to free up some space on my server and get rid of the BR rips.

I am deleting blu ray rips as fast as I buy the 4K version. I keep the actual discs as well in case both my main NAS and my backup go down.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro
audioguy and Ph8te like this.

7.4.6 system: Processors:Marantz 8805 || Xilica XP4080 Amps: Parasound A31 and ATI AT528NC & AT526NC n-core ||Speakers: Procella P8 LCR, Procella P5/P5 in-wall
Subs: JTR Captivator subs: One S2, Two RS2, One S1
Screen: 2.40:1 Seymour XD Acoustically Transparent, 128" diagonal / 118" wide || Projector: JVC X570/RS420
farsider3000 is offline  
post #1377 of 2709 Old 08-26-2018, 01:11 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
farsider3000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Houston, Texas
Posts: 1,943
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1571 Post(s)
Liked: 960
Quote:
Originally Posted by confinoj View Post
Also curious how other are managing their mix of of 4k/hdr and 1080p libraries in Plex. My main HT setup in my living room is 4K/HDR and I use a mix of my Shield, ATV 4K, Oppo 203. However all other TVs and devices don't support 4k/hdr. As others have pointed out HDR to SDR transcoding does not work well and transcoding is slow anyway. So I keep a separate 4K library in Plex but still rip the blu-ray for all other devices. As my 4K library has grown it's getting annoying to flip back and forth so much between my 4k only library and my main library that has everything just not the 4k versions. Anyone have a better system so I can have one movie library without seeing duplicates, but keep both versions, and have each device play the appropriate version?

My expensive solution is that I am upgrading all TVs to 4K HDR


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro

7.4.6 system: Processors:Marantz 8805 || Xilica XP4080 Amps: Parasound A31 and ATI AT528NC & AT526NC n-core ||Speakers: Procella P8 LCR, Procella P5/P5 in-wall
Subs: JTR Captivator subs: One S2, Two RS2, One S1
Screen: 2.40:1 Seymour XD Acoustically Transparent, 128" diagonal / 118" wide || Projector: JVC X570/RS420
farsider3000 is offline  
post #1378 of 2709 Old 08-26-2018, 01:22 PM
UHD Addict
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 35,956
Mentioned: 71 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9312 Post(s)
Liked: 5998
Quote:
Originally Posted by dbone1026 View Post
So for those who are ripping their 4K UHDs, are you still keeping your Blu Ray rips? So far I still have the blu ray rips, mainly because at the time not all the hardware I had in my house could play back 4K UHD mkvs. However, I am pretty much set where all these 4K mkvs will play, so thinking it might be time to free up some space on my server and get rid of the BR rips.
I rip them to a uhd BD iso and a uhd mkv. And then I rip the 2k BD to an iso. And I like to keep them all indefinitely.

Sent from my Tab S 10.5 using Tapatalk
SuperFist likes this.

53TB unRAID1a--49TB unRAID2--76TB unRAID3
TCL 6 Series--Sony UBP-X800--Philips BDP7502--Onkyo HT-S7800
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme
aaronwt is offline  
post #1379 of 2709 Old 08-26-2018, 02:15 PM
Member
 
Motley01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 111
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 87 Post(s)
Liked: 43
So I have the ASUS BW-16D1HT with 3.03 fw and subsequently can't rip 4k. I went to the MakeMKV forums and found the thread where you can downgrade the firmware. Easy right? Not so much.

The instructions given here https://www.makemkv.com/forum/viewto...p?f=16&t=17058

First you have to create a bootable dos drive on the usb stick. Then you have to change all kinds of motherboard settings to boot to the drive.

Then you have to dump the firmware, then combine it with a clean firmware.

Look I've been working with PCs my entire life and I couldn't get it to work. The whole flashing a new firmware is just daunting to me.

I just don't understand if Asus can create to tool for Windows to flash the firmware. Until we can have something like that for downgrading the firmware in windows.
Motley01 is offline  
post #1380 of 2709 Old 08-26-2018, 03:13 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
lujan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 9,003
Mentioned: 40 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4603 Post(s)
Liked: 2675
Quote:
Originally Posted by Motley01 View Post
So I have the ASUS BW-16D1HT with 3.03 fw and subsequently can't rip 4k. I went to the MakeMKV forums and found the thread where you can downgrade the firmware. Easy right? Not so much.

The instructions given here https://www.makemkv.com/forum/viewto...p?f=16&t=17058

First you have to create a bootable dos drive on the usb stick. Then you have to change all kinds of motherboard settings to boot to the drive.

Then you have to dump the firmware, then combine it with a clean firmware.

Look I've been working with PCs my entire life and I couldn't get it to work. The whole flashing a new firmware is just daunting to me.

I just don't understand if Asus can create to tool for Windows to flash the firmware. Until we can have something like that for downgrading the firmware in windows.
I tried the same even though I even built a PC in the past. Some of the PCs just don't work (incorrect motherboard or something), I never got it working. I ended up getting a UHD friendly drive online and from Alex.
SuperFist likes this.

lujan
561 Ultra HD
721 HD
4 SD
lujan is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Networking, Media Servers & Content Streaming

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off