Ripping UHD 4k discs with Makemkv: Instructions How-to - Page 50 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 936Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1471 of 2709 Old 09-01-2018, 10:17 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
SeeMoreDigital's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Nott'm, UK
Posts: 3,391
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1006 Post(s)
Liked: 770
SUCCESS...

In my large stash of computer cables I found a SATA to eSATA adaptor lead. I used the USB caddies power supply and connected the SATA to eSATA adaptor lead from the back of the ASUS disc drive to the eSATA port on the front of my little Acer nettop, ran the 'DosFlash32' exe program and it recognised the ASUS drive perfectly. The firmware has been flashed and the drive can now see the contents of UHD discs.

It just goes to show that a little innovation can go a long way. Maybe others will find my experience useful.

Thanks to everyone for encouraging me to think 'outside the box'.
aaronwt, giomania, Ph8te and 6 others like this.

I SUPPORT 'FAIR USE'. MY MORALS PREVENT ME FROM HELPING ANYONE WHO OBTAINS COPYRIGHTED CONTENT ILLEGITIMATELY
TV: LG 65UH770V | DISC SPINNER: OPPO UDP-203 | STB: VU+ UNO 4K SE
AMPS: 2No Audiolab 8000A, 2No Audiolab M-PWR | SPEAKERS: 4No KEF 103.2, 3No Wharfedale Diamond 10
ISP: Virgin Media @ 100Mbps | NETWORK: 1000Mbps | NAS: DS212+
SeeMoreDigital is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1472 of 2709 Old 09-01-2018, 11:44 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
jhughy2010's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: California
Posts: 1,865
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 906 Post(s)
Liked: 288
Quote:
Originally Posted by aaronwt View Post
I see Newegg has the Asus BW-16D1HT on sale this weekend for $75.

So as usual I miss out on a better price. First with ebay when they had a 15% off sale a couple of days after my purchase. And now with Newegg having a sale.
These don't need firmware changes right?
jhughy2010 is offline  
post #1473 of 2709 Old 09-01-2018, 11:55 AM
QuadMersed in bass!
 
giomania's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Chicago, Illinois
Posts: 3,874
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 637 Post(s)
Liked: 399
Quote:
Originally Posted by jhughy2010 View Post
These don't need firmware changes right?


I would bet they do; doubtful there are UHD friendly firmware versions available, except maybe from some members.

Alexcoluzzi32

Mark


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro

Lumagen Radiance Pro HDR Tone Mapping Guide: Click Here

Lumagen Radiance Pro Setup & Calibration Tips: Click Here

UHD-BD Backup & Playback Guidance Link
giomania is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1474 of 2709 Old 09-01-2018, 07:52 PM
UHD Addict
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 35,958
Mentioned: 71 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9312 Post(s)
Liked: 6000
Quote:
Originally Posted by jhughy2010 View Post
These don't need firmware changes right?
Yes they do. They have needed it for many months now. Unless somehow you get a hold of an old one. The ones I got from Newegg and Amazon in April, that were manufactured early this year, still needed to have the firmware modified to be able to read the UHD BDs.
jhughy2010 likes this.

53TB unRAID1a--49TB unRAID2--76TB unRAID3
TCL 6 Series--Sony UBP-X800--Philips BDP7502--Onkyo HT-S7800
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme
aaronwt is offline  
post #1475 of 2709 Old 09-02-2018, 03:18 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 2
Hi all,

I have installed Make MKV and have a WH16NS40 Revision 1.0 which I understand is 'friendly'.

However, when I insert a 4K Blu-ray I get "Disc is being loaded" for a few minutes then "No Disc Inserted".

I've tried the 2 I currently have (Deepwater Horizon & Batman: The Dark Knight Rises).

Does anyone know what I'm doing wrong?

I am running Make MKV as is and haven't changed any settings.

Thanks,
mickyp2810 is offline  
post #1476 of 2709 Old 09-02-2018, 06:01 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
edfowler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: central Indiana
Posts: 2,280
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 318 Post(s)
Liked: 166
Isn't Mark giomania?

Chad B calibrated JVC RS600, 112" 2.35 DaLite 2.8 High Power Screen (395 calibrated nits baby!!), 7.5.4 Marantz AV7702,Yamaha RX-A3050, Yamaha RX-Z9, Aerial Acoustics Model 6, Model 5, CC3, Def Tech UIWBP/A, 4-15" Infinite Baffle Sub + 15" Velodyne Sub Near-field, OPPO 203, Panasonic UC420, Geek Pulse DAC, NVidia Shield
edfowler is online now  
post #1477 of 2709 Old 09-02-2018, 07:58 AM
QuadMersed in bass!
 
giomania's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Chicago, Illinois
Posts: 3,874
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 637 Post(s)
Liked: 399
Quote:
Originally Posted by edfowler View Post
Isn't Mark giomania?


Guilty as charged.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro
aaronwt likes this.

Lumagen Radiance Pro HDR Tone Mapping Guide: Click Here

Lumagen Radiance Pro Setup & Calibration Tips: Click Here

UHD-BD Backup & Playback Guidance Link
giomania is offline  
post #1478 of 2709 Old 09-02-2018, 09:18 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
DougUSMC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Ellicott City, MD
Posts: 1,291
Mentioned: 44 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 719 Post(s)
Liked: 616
Quote:
Originally Posted by mickyp2810 View Post
Hi all,

I have installed Make MKV and have a WH16NS40 Revision 1.0 which I understand is 'friendly'.

However, when I insert a 4K Blu-ray I get "Disc is being loaded" for a few minutes then "No Disc Inserted".

I've tried the 2 I currently have (Deepwater Horizon & Batman: The Dark Knight Rises).

Does anyone know what I'm doing wrong?

I am running Make MKV as is and haven't changed any settings.

Thanks,
Quote:
Originally Posted by DougUSMC View Post
I just pulled the drive and checked, and it looks like there's hope!

Check out the sticker on the drive, and verify the version you have. If you see NS50 you're good to go, if you see NS40 that's your problem.

Note I'm talking about the SVC Code, not Model.
DougUSMC is offline  
post #1479 of 2709 Old 09-02-2018, 10:42 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by DougUSMC View Post
Check out the sticker on the drive, and verify the version you have. If you see NS50 you're good to go, if you see NS40 that's your problem.

Note I'm talking about the SVC Code, not Model.
Thanks for the message.

Unfortunately mine is an NS40!

Another member messaged me and is helping me with an NS50 at the correct firmware version.
giomania and DougUSMC like this.
mickyp2810 is offline  
post #1480 of 2709 Old 09-02-2018, 02:14 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
jhughy2010's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: California
Posts: 1,865
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 906 Post(s)
Liked: 288
Quote:
Originally Posted by aaronwt View Post
Yes they do. They have needed it for many months now. Unless somehow you get a hold of an old one. The ones I got from Newegg and Amazon in April, that were manufactured early this year, still needed to have the firmware modified to be able to read the UHD BDs.
Too good of a deal to pass up. One is on the way... I'm up for the challenge!
aaronwt likes this.
jhughy2010 is offline  
post #1481 of 2709 Old 09-06-2018, 03:57 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
audioguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Not far from Atlanta - but far enough!
Posts: 9,584
Mentioned: 96 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4991 Post(s)
Liked: 3830
Quote:
Originally Posted by farsider3000 View Post
Next up is learning how to combine the best scenes into one mkv file.
Please share when you figure it out. Having a number of demo scenes glued together in one file would be very nice.

Quote:
Best gunshots:
1.) Den of thieves.... truly amazing
2.) John Wick
3.) ?
.
.
X) Ready Player One Artemis gunshots at the Distracted Globe dance club... if you have enough power and the right speakers her gunshots sound incredible
The audio in Den of Thieves is off the charts. Agree on John Wick. I'm not sure exactly what scene you are referencing in Ready Player One but maybe I can locate it on the disc (ripped MKV files are not great places to search for such things).
audioguy is online now  
post #1482 of 2709 Old 09-06-2018, 04:03 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
audioguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Not far from Atlanta - but far enough!
Posts: 9,584
Mentioned: 96 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4991 Post(s)
Liked: 3830
Quote:
Originally Posted by farsider3000 View Post
Next up is learning how to combine the best scenes into one mkv file.
Please share when you figure it out. Having a number of demo scenes glued together in one file would be very nice.

Quote:
Best gunshots:
1.) Den of thieves.... truly amazing
2.) John Wick
3.) ?
.
.
X) Ready Player One Artemis gunshots at the Distracted Globe dance club... if you have enough power and the right speakers her gunshots sound incredible
The audio in Den of Thieves is off the charts. Agree on John Wick. I'm not sure exactly what scene you are referencing in Ready Player One but maybe I can locate it on the disc (ripped MKV files are not great places to search for such things).
audioguy is online now  
post #1483 of 2709 Old 09-06-2018, 10:29 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Ph8te's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 19,325
Mentioned: 31 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6526 Post(s)
Liked: 6240
Quote:
Originally Posted by audioguy View Post
Please share when you figure it out. Having a number of demo scenes glued together in one file would be very nice.







The audio in Den of Thieves is off the charts. Agree on John Wick. I'm not sure exactly what scene you are referencing in Ready Player One but maybe I can locate it on the disc (ripped MKV files are not great places to search for such things).


If they are MKV already couldn’t you use MKVmerge?
Ph8te is offline  
post #1484 of 2709 Old 09-06-2018, 12:41 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
SuperFist's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 2,060
Mentioned: 63 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1340 Post(s)
Liked: 5407
Quote:
Originally Posted by farsider3000 View Post
Is there a nice guide somewhere on the best practice for forced subtitles? I am going to start researching the makemkv toolnix software. I want to ensure all movies with forced subtitle play properly.

Next up is learning how to combine the best scenes into one mkv file.

Best gunshots:
1.) Den of thieves.... truly amazing
2.) John Wick
3.) ?
.
.
X) Ready Player One Artemis gunshots at the Distracted Globe dance club... if you have enough power and the right speakers her gunshots sound incredible
I will share with you my experience with subtitles and combining scenes like this together...

To ensure I have the correct subtitles selected, I usually look for another English subtitle track further down from the first one. Ofttimes you will run into subtitles from the commentary, but I usually check afterward in MPC-HC.

Since these forced subtitles are usually for foreign audio tracks, I want to make sure it displays by default, so I use mkvtoolnix's "Header editor" tab to choose that subtitle and make sure "Default" and "Forced" are both checked.

I will say that you can't really focus on a small time slot for special scenes since it takes a few seconds for the HD audio to kick in, so make sure choose several seconds before your chosen scene to ensure you've encapsulated it entirely.

In the past, I have cut scenes from films with DVDFab and tsmuxer, so choose your preferred program accordingly.

To merge the scenes together with a nice menu with chapters, I use MultiAVCHD, but I guess you can again use DVDFab, but I'm not so sure it has the equivalent amount of customization.

And of course, I use Imgburn to create the disc, if that's the medium I prefer at that time, but I'm sure most people will probably just create a large MKV file.
giomania likes this.
SuperFist is offline  
post #1485 of 2709 Old 09-06-2018, 01:21 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
farsider3000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Houston, Texas
Posts: 1,943
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1571 Post(s)
Liked: 960
Quote:
Originally Posted by SuperFist View Post
I will share with you my experience with subtitles and combining scenes like this together...



To ensure I have the correct subtitles selected, I usually look for another English subtitle track further down from the first one. Ofttimes you will run into subtitles from the commentary, but I usually check afterward in MPC-HC.



Since these forced subtitles are usually for foreign audio tracks, I want to make sure it displays by default, so I use mkvtoolnix's "Header editor" tab to choose that subtitle and make sure "Default" and "Forced" are both checked.



I will say that you can't really focus on a small time slot for special scenes since it takes a few seconds for the HD audio to kick in, so make sure choose several seconds before your chosen scene to ensure you've encapsulated it entirely.



In the past, I have cut scenes from films with DVDFab and tsmuxer, so choose your preferred program accordingly.



To merge the scenes together with a nice menu with chapters, I use MultiAVCHD, but I guess you can again use DVDFab, but I'm not so sure it has the equivalent amount of customization.



And of course, I use Imgburn to create the disc, if that's the medium I prefer at that time, but I'm sure most people will probably just create a large MKV file.

Thanks! Great information.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro

7.4.6 system: Processors:Marantz 8805 || Xilica XP4080 Amps: Parasound A31 and ATI AT528NC & AT526NC n-core ||Speakers: Procella P8 LCR, Procella P5/P5 in-wall
Subs: JTR Captivator subs: One S2, Two RS2, One S1
Screen: 2.40:1 Seymour XD Acoustically Transparent, 128" diagonal / 118" wide || Projector: JVC X570/RS420
farsider3000 is online now  
post #1486 of 2709 Old 09-06-2018, 06:18 PM
Senior Member
 
videogamelover5122's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Posts: 208
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 114 Post(s)
Liked: 10
tried ripping porkys 2&3 and it says failed and says something about my keys have been revoked?

Last edited by videogamelover5122; 09-06-2018 at 07:48 PM.
videogamelover5122 is offline  
post #1487 of 2709 Old 09-07-2018, 04:14 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 2
Hi,

Can anyone confirm how friendly an LG WH16NS40.

I purchased it as it was on the list and the firmware version is at 1.0.

It won't read blu rays and I've been told I should have got an NS50 but I'm struggling to find any reference to an NS50 online.

Attached images of what happens in MakeMKV while spinning up the disk and afterwards.

I'm keen to 100% confirm if mine is usable (I do have the ability to flash firmware) or if not of the list which internal 5.25" drive is recommended at what firmware version for a 4K Blu Ray.

Thanks in advance for your help.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	after.png
Views:	34
Size:	131.4 KB
ID:	2452022   Click image for larger version

Name:	during.png
Views:	26
Size:	177.5 KB
ID:	2452024  
mickyp2810 is offline  
post #1488 of 2709 Old 09-07-2018, 04:26 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by mickyp2810 View Post
Hi,

Can anyone confirm how friendly an LG WH16NS40.

I purchased it as it was on the list and the firmware version is at 1.0.

It won't read blu rays and I've been told I should have got an NS50 but I'm struggling to find any reference to an NS50 online.

Attached images of what happens in MakeMKV while spinning up the disk and afterwards.

I'm keen to 100% confirm if mine is usable (I do have the ability to flash firmware) or if not of the list which internal 5.25" drive is recommended at what firmware version for a 4K Blu Ray.

Thanks in advance for your help.
Ignore me ... I just read up! NS40 is the model number but the NS50 SVC code is what's required.

My SVC code is NS40.
mickyp2810 is offline  
post #1489 of 2709 Old 09-07-2018, 04:53 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 2
I'm coming across some with no SVC code, they look like an older build date, are they workable drives?

Thanks
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	s-l1600.jpg
Views:	43
Size:	269.7 KB
ID:	2452040  
mickyp2810 is offline  
post #1490 of 2709 Old 09-07-2018, 05:20 AM
QuadMersed in bass!
 
giomania's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Chicago, Illinois
Posts: 3,874
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 637 Post(s)
Liked: 399
Ripping UHD 4k discs with Makemkv: Instructions How-to

Quote:
Originally Posted by mickyp2810 View Post
I'm coming across some with no SVC code, they look like an older build date, are they workable drives?



Thanks


All my Asus drives do not have the service code on there so you just have to try it I guess.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro

Lumagen Radiance Pro HDR Tone Mapping Guide: Click Here

Lumagen Radiance Pro Setup & Calibration Tips: Click Here

UHD-BD Backup & Playback Guidance Link
giomania is offline  
post #1491 of 2709 Old 09-07-2018, 06:08 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 2
Thanks,

Is there anything to look out for on the LG BH16NS55 or will all of those work if the firmware is at the correct version?
mickyp2810 is offline  
post #1492 of 2709 Old 09-07-2018, 06:11 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
farsider3000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Houston, Texas
Posts: 1,943
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1571 Post(s)
Liked: 960
Quote:
Originally Posted by mickyp2810 View Post
Hi,



Can anyone confirm how friendly an LG WH16NS40.



I purchased it as it was on the list and the firmware version is at 1.0.



It won't read blu rays and I've been told I should have got an NS50 but I'm struggling to find any reference to an NS50 online.



Attached images of what happens in MakeMKV while spinning up the disk and afterwards.



I'm keen to 100% confirm if mine is usable (I do have the ability to flash firmware) or if not of the list which internal 5.25" drive is recommended at what firmware version for a 4K Blu Ray.



Thanks in advance for your help.

Did you click the disc drive icon? Not sure if you are familiar with using makemkv or not?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro

7.4.6 system: Processors:Marantz 8805 || Xilica XP4080 Amps: Parasound A31 and ATI AT528NC & AT526NC n-core ||Speakers: Procella P8 LCR, Procella P5/P5 in-wall
Subs: JTR Captivator subs: One S2, Two RS2, One S1
Screen: 2.40:1 Seymour XD Acoustically Transparent, 128" diagonal / 118" wide || Projector: JVC X570/RS420
farsider3000 is online now  
post #1493 of 2709 Old 09-07-2018, 06:15 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by farsider3000 View Post
Did you click the disc drive icon? Not sure if you are familiar with using makemkv or not?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro
Hi,

Yes I realise now the problem is that my drive as an SVC CODE: NS40 rather than NS50.

I was getting mixed up between the SVC Code and model number.

I'm trying to find one now but also curious if there is a similar thing to look out for on the LG BH16NS55 as I can easily get one of those and flash the firmware.

Thanks
mickyp2810 is offline  
post #1494 of 2709 Old 09-07-2018, 10:44 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Jon S's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Sunny Hawaii
Posts: 4,432
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1124 Post(s)
Liked: 407
I really don't have issues with forced subtitles. I rip the title with MakeMKV, deselecting all non-English subs from the list and playback the end file with VLC Player. There will usually be a couple of subs left, the subs for the entire movie and the forced subs. I can determine which sub is which by selecting the subtitles in VLC Player.



I resize the video file using Handbreak, selecting the appropriate subtitle file in the subtitles tab and select Burn-in. Done.

If it's not a BIG screen, it's not a theater...
Jon S is offline  
post #1495 of 2709 Old 09-07-2018, 10:47 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
farsider3000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Houston, Texas
Posts: 1,943
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1571 Post(s)
Liked: 960
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jon S View Post
I really don't have issues with forced subtitles. I rip the title with MakeMKV, deselecting all non-English subs from the list and playback the end file with VLC Player. There will usually be a couple of subs left, the subs for the entire movie and the forced subs. I can determine which sub is which by selecting the subtitles in VLC Player.



I resize the video file using Handbreak, selecting the appropriate subtitle file in the subtitles tab and select Burn-in. Done.

I do the same thing but without resizing using handbrake.

You have just reduced the quality of the original 4K disc by doing that. I have too much invested in my system to view compressed video.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro

7.4.6 system: Processors:Marantz 8805 || Xilica XP4080 Amps: Parasound A31 and ATI AT528NC & AT526NC n-core ||Speakers: Procella P8 LCR, Procella P5/P5 in-wall
Subs: JTR Captivator subs: One S2, Two RS2, One S1
Screen: 2.40:1 Seymour XD Acoustically Transparent, 128" diagonal / 118" wide || Projector: JVC X570/RS420
farsider3000 is online now  
post #1496 of 2709 Old 09-07-2018, 10:55 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Jon S's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Sunny Hawaii
Posts: 4,432
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1124 Post(s)
Liked: 407
Quote:
Originally Posted by farsider3000 View Post
I do the same thing but without resizing using handbrake.

You have just reduced the quality of the original 4K disc by doing that. I have too much invested in my system to view compressed video.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro

I don't rip 4K discs, this was just to comment about subtitles.

If it's not a BIG screen, it's not a theater...
Jon S is offline  
post #1497 of 2709 Old 09-07-2018, 02:51 PM
QuadMersed in bass!
 
giomania's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Chicago, Illinois
Posts: 3,874
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 637 Post(s)
Liked: 399
Ripping UHD 4k discs with Makemkv: Instructions How-to

Quote:
Originally Posted by mickyp2810 View Post
Hi,



Yes I realise now the problem is that my drive as an SVC CODE: NS40 rather than NS50.



I was getting mixed up between the SVC Code and model number.



I'm trying to find one now but also curious if there is a similar thing to look out for on the LG BH16NS55 as I can easily get one of those and flash the firmware.



Thanks


Reach out to @alexcoluzzi32 as he may be able to help.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro

Lumagen Radiance Pro HDR Tone Mapping Guide: Click Here

Lumagen Radiance Pro Setup & Calibration Tips: Click Here

UHD-BD Backup & Playback Guidance Link

Last edited by giomania; 09-07-2018 at 03:02 PM.
giomania is offline  
post #1498 of 2709 Old 09-07-2018, 04:29 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Ph8te's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 19,325
Mentioned: 31 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6526 Post(s)
Liked: 6240
Has anyone cross flashed from an LG to an Asus? If so do we just load the Asus clean firmware in the place of the LG clean firmware in the process to downgrade to a working firmware?
Ph8te is offline  
post #1499 of 2709 Old 09-07-2018, 07:10 PM
UHD Addict
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 35,958
Mentioned: 71 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9312 Post(s)
Liked: 6000
Quote:
Originally Posted by mickyp2810 View Post
I'm coming across some with no SVC code, they look like an older build date, are they workable drives?

Thanks
Not from 2012. That is years before UHD BDs came around.

If those older drives could be used with UHD BDs I would be in heaven. Since I have at least half a dozen of them lying around. And even more installed in old machines. But unfortunately they are too old.

53TB unRAID1a--49TB unRAID2--76TB unRAID3
TCL 6 Series--Sony UBP-X800--Philips BDP7502--Onkyo HT-S7800
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme
aaronwt is offline  
post #1500 of 2709 Old 09-08-2018, 01:01 AM
Audio/Video Enthusiast
 
alexcoluzzi32's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: California
Posts: 402
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 269 Post(s)
Liked: 200
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ph8te View Post
Has anyone cross flashed from an LG to an Asus? If so do we just load the Asus clean firmware in the place of the LG clean firmware in the process to downgrade to a working firmware?
yes, I'm doing it right now, and yes.
Ph8te likes this.

Living Room: Xfinity XG1v4-A cable box + Apple TV 4K > Sony HT-ST5000 Atmos/DTS:X Soundbar > Sony XBR-65X900F Television
Office: Oppo UDP-203 + Apple TV 4K > Sony HT-Z9F Atmos/DTS:X Soundbar (with rears) > Sony XBR-55A1E Television
alexcoluzzi32 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Networking, Media Servers & Content Streaming

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off