Ripping UHD 4k discs with Makemkv: Instructions How-to - Page 81 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 863Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #2401 of 2481 Old 04-23-2019, 02:34 PM
UHD Addict
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 35,215
Mentioned: 61 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8855 Post(s)
Liked: 5643
Quote:
Originally Posted by whiteboy714 View Post
Reading the makemkv forums it seems pretty common to have discs that won't rip, they will play in a player but have rip issues, needing to be returned.

I just got into 4k ripping myself and out of the 6? discs I have bought one needed to be returned as it wouldn't rip. Luckily it was new from amazon so no big deal. But seeing how common it is has made me leery of the second hand market.
I've ripped over 200 UHD BD titles now. My ripping problem rate is under 1%. I've only run into any issue with two discs. And both of those were user error because I had a fingerprint on them.

53TB unRAID2--45TB unRAID3--35TB unRAID1a
TCL 6 Series--Sony UBP-X800--Philips BDP7502--Onkyo HT-S7800
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme
aaronwt is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2402 of 2481 Old 04-23-2019, 02:36 PM
QuadMersed in bass!
 
giomania's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Chicago, Illinois
Posts: 3,715
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 524 Post(s)
Liked: 381
Quote:
Originally Posted by aaronwt View Post
I've ripped over 200 UHD BD titles now. My ripping problem rate is under 1%. I've only run into any issue with two discs. And both of those were user error because I had a fingerprint on them.


Fury and The Patriot?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro
giomania is online now  
post #2403 of 2481 Old 04-23-2019, 02:40 PM
UHD Addict
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 35,215
Mentioned: 61 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8855 Post(s)
Liked: 5643
Quote:
Originally Posted by giomania View Post
Fury and The Patriot?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro
I'm not counting those two titles because I have no way to rip them. Since you can't with ANy DVD HD or MakeMKV. And I'm not about to purchase DeUHD just to rip two titles.

53TB unRAID2--45TB unRAID3--35TB unRAID1a
TCL 6 Series--Sony UBP-X800--Philips BDP7502--Onkyo HT-S7800
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme
aaronwt is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2404 of 2481 Old 04-23-2019, 03:07 PM
Senior Member
 
Taxcheat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Washington, D.C.
Posts: 485
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 454 Post(s)
Liked: 337
Nightmare scenario: My Asus drive, which has ripped 200+ discs (not counting about 5-6 unrippable ones) decided to stop working yesterday. Makemkv errored out halfway through a 4k disc rip. So I did the disc cleaning ritual, put the exact same disc back in the drive and got "no disc" (both in windows and makemkv) after the drive activity light blinked for about 5 seconds.

Tried UHD discs I had successfully ripped a few days ago -- no disc. Same with a regular bluray. I hooked up a locked firmware LG drive via USB and it could read the standard bluray, so it's not a windows issue (rebooting, powering down, etc. had no effect).

Moral of the story: You might one day need a backup drive. Time to flash the LG unless someone recognizes these symptoms and has a fix.

XBR-75Z9D fed by Oppo 203. Decrapifying the X1 Extreme
Taxcheat is offline  
post #2405 of 2481 Old 04-23-2019, 07:38 PM
Audio/Video Enthusiast
 
alexcoluzzi32's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: California
Posts: 357
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 241 Post(s)
Liked: 183
Quote:
Originally Posted by Taxcheat View Post
Nightmare scenario: My Asus drive, which has ripped 200+ discs (not counting about 5-6 unrippable ones) decided to stop working yesterday. Makemkv errored out halfway through a 4k disc rip. So I did the disc cleaning ritual, put the exact same disc back in the drive and got "no disc" (both in windows and makemkv) after the drive activity light blinked for about 5 seconds.

Tried UHD discs I had successfully ripped a few days ago -- no disc. Same with a regular bluray. I hooked up a locked firmware LG drive via USB and it could read the standard bluray, so it's not a windows issue (rebooting, powering down, etc. had no effect).

Moral of the story: You might one day need a backup drive. Time to flash the LG unless someone recognizes these symptoms and has a fix.
I've got fixes for everyone sitting here (BU40Ns) cough hack sputter.
SuperFist likes this.

Living Room: Xfinity XG1v4-A cable box + Apple TV 4K > Sony HT-ST5000 Atmos/DTS:X Soundbar > Sony XBR-65X900F Television
Office: Oppo UDP-203 + Apple TV 4K > Sony HT-Z9F Atmos/DTS:X Soundbar (with rears) > Sony XBR-55A1E Television
alexcoluzzi32 is offline  
post #2406 of 2481 Old 04-23-2019, 07:50 PM
Audio/Video Enthusiast
 
alexcoluzzi32's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: California
Posts: 357
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 241 Post(s)
Liked: 183
Quote:
Originally Posted by RapalloAV View Post
I dont buy and second hand discs for that very problem. I got Coco to rip after about 6 attempts of re cleaning and re cleaning and re cleaning it!
I remember having problems with Coco as well. I had to go buy a new disc but luckly it was on sale for 19.99 as opposed to it's usual 38.00.
RapalloAV and others yes when you're used to BD and move into the world of UHD the learning curve can be very steep. Cleaning is so so important. I always recommend if you're going to be doing this for awhile make sure you've got one LG and one ASUS available since more often than not a disc that won't rip in one will rip in the other, don't ask me why. I was ripping the same copy of the Revenant for six months on and off before I chucked it ilke a frisbee and bought another.

I've had no problems yet with used discs I've purchased off Ebay but that's only been like 8 so far.

At this point I've ripped and own at least one copy of every North American 4K UHD release from the start.

I guess what I'm saying to anyone frustrated it does get easier. make good habits like cleaning brand new discs, always make a backup before sticking the disc into a consumer grade UHD player, always!! Timing i find is important, I wait until I hear the drive starting to spin up the disc before I run makemkv because I've found if I run it to early it can straight up miss the fact there's a disc inserted, or an optical drive present for that matter. Lots of bugs, but still I feel nothing else can compete
SuperFist likes this.

Living Room: Xfinity XG1v4-A cable box + Apple TV 4K > Sony HT-ST5000 Atmos/DTS:X Soundbar > Sony XBR-65X900F Television
Office: Oppo UDP-203 + Apple TV 4K > Sony HT-Z9F Atmos/DTS:X Soundbar (with rears) > Sony XBR-55A1E Television
alexcoluzzi32 is offline  
post #2407 of 2481 Old 04-24-2019, 06:28 AM
Senior Member
 
Taxcheat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Washington, D.C.
Posts: 485
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 454 Post(s)
Liked: 337
Quote:
Originally Posted by alexcoluzzi32 View Post
I've got fixes for everyone sitting here (BU40Ns) cough hack sputter.

I just flashed the LG last night. Wow, it is so freaking easy now. The hardest part, aside from reading all the confusing forum threads, was undoing all the screws to swap it for the defunct Asus. Three clicks to flash the DE firmware, then three clicks to flash the MK 1.03 firmware. Presto, successfully ripped the disc that had previously bombed.

What's the best drive to get for a new backup?
SuperFist likes this.

XBR-75Z9D fed by Oppo 203. Decrapifying the X1 Extreme
Taxcheat is offline  
post #2408 of 2481 Old 04-24-2019, 10:08 AM
UHD Addict
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 35,215
Mentioned: 61 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8855 Post(s)
Liked: 5643
And I never clean brand new discs. They have all worked great, except for the couple where I put a fingerprint on them.

I am glad I got three of the Asus drives. So at least I'm covered if one craps out on me.

53TB unRAID2--45TB unRAID3--35TB unRAID1a
TCL 6 Series--Sony UBP-X800--Philips BDP7502--Onkyo HT-S7800
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme
aaronwt is online now  
post #2409 of 2481 Old 04-24-2019, 11:12 AM
Advanced Member
 
sutton8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: London, England
Posts: 691
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 332 Post(s)
Liked: 117
Quote:
Originally Posted by Taxcheat View Post

What's the best drive to get for a new backup?
Dunno about the best but the ASUS BW-16D-1HT works well. Very popular on the MakeMKV site and took only a couple of minutes and clicks to flash down to 4K capable. Perhaps not the quietest but good value for money.

https://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/product/...?ie=UTF8&psc=1

7.2 Yamaha RX-A3080, Monitor Audio (Apex & Silver), Seismic 110, XBOX, Dune HD Solo Lite, Sony X700, LG OLED (E7V)
5.1 Denon X7200WA, Focal Dome, LG OLED (E6V)
In both Setups "Virgin Tivo V6, Zappiti 4K HDR, FireTV Stick 4K, Harmony Elite"
sutton8 is online now  
post #2410 of 2481 Old 04-24-2019, 11:33 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
SeeMoreDigital's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Nott'm, UK
Posts: 3,275
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 943 Post(s)
Liked: 675
Is anybody using the portable slim-line UHD drive?
alexcoluzzi32 likes this.

I SUPPORT 'FAIR USE'. MY MORALS PREVENT ME FROM HELPING ANYONE WHO OBTAINS COPYRIGHTED CONTENT ILLEGITIMATELY
TV: LG 65UH770V | DISC SPINNER: OPPO UDP-203 | STB: VU+ UNO 4K SE
AMPS: 2No Audiolab 8000A, 2No Audiolab M-PWR | SPEAKERS: 4No KEF 103.2, 3No Wharfedale Diamond 10
ISP: Virgin Media @ 100Mbps | NETWORK: 1000Mbps | NAS: DS212+
SeeMoreDigital is online now  
post #2411 of 2481 Old 04-24-2019, 02:01 PM
QuadMersed in bass!
 
giomania's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Chicago, Illinois
Posts: 3,715
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 524 Post(s)
Liked: 381
Quote:
Originally Posted by aaronwt View Post
I'm not counting those two titles because I have no way to rip them. Since you can't with ANy DVD HD or MakeMKV. And I'm not about to purchase DeUHD just to rip two titles.


I imagine that use of AACS 2.1 might become more widespread, requiring the purchase of alternative programs like deUHD. Then again, MakeMKV might be able to backups of AACS 2.1 discs in the future.

Does anyone have any insight, since deUHD is on sale now?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro
giomania is online now  
post #2412 of 2481 Old 04-24-2019, 02:09 PM
QuadMersed in bass!
 
giomania's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Chicago, Illinois
Posts: 3,715
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 524 Post(s)
Liked: 381
Quote:
Originally Posted by tjenkins95 View Post
I purchased deUHD lifetime support for $99 several months ago.
I had no problems ripping The Patriot and Fury.
I also own AnyDVD HD, CloneBD and DVDFab.

deUHD rips faster than DVDFab.


Ray


Does it automatically choose the correct playlist?

CloneBD does this automatically, and I can’t say enough about this awesome feature. The software works for UHD discs, also, except for those with AACS 2.1.

I find it annoying to have to find the correct playlist when using MakeMKV.

First world problems!


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro

Last edited by giomania; 04-25-2019 at 05:40 PM.
giomania is online now  
post #2413 of 2481 Old 04-24-2019, 02:21 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
whiteboy714's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 5,581
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 621 Post(s)
Liked: 168
Quote:
Originally Posted by giomania View Post

Does anyone have any insight, since deUHD is on sale now?

Dang even the sale price is pretty steep.
whiteboy714 is online now  
post #2414 of 2481 Old 04-24-2019, 02:54 PM
Audio/Video Enthusiast
 
alexcoluzzi32's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: California
Posts: 357
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 241 Post(s)
Liked: 183
Quote:
Originally Posted by SeeMoreDigital View Post
Is anybody using the portable slim-line UHD drive?
Every single day.
SeeMoreDigital likes this.

Living Room: Xfinity XG1v4-A cable box + Apple TV 4K > Sony HT-ST5000 Atmos/DTS:X Soundbar > Sony XBR-65X900F Television
Office: Oppo UDP-203 + Apple TV 4K > Sony HT-Z9F Atmos/DTS:X Soundbar (with rears) > Sony XBR-55A1E Television
alexcoluzzi32 is offline  
post #2415 of 2481 Old 04-24-2019, 03:50 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
RapalloAV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Posts: 4,309
Mentioned: 28 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2191 Post(s)
Liked: 762
Quote:
Originally Posted by whiteboy714 View Post
Dang even the sale price is pretty steep.
I had issues using the test version of deUHD, I emailed them asking for help, I never ever heard back from them

Murray Thompson
X Owner RapalloAV
Absolutly no connection with RapalloNZ
CinemascopE Home Cinema Build & 2014 rebuild, plus new LED ceiling install Christmas 2018
RapalloAV is online now  
post #2416 of 2481 Old 04-24-2019, 04:14 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
whiteboy714's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 5,581
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 621 Post(s)
Liked: 168
Quote:
Originally Posted by RapalloAV View Post
I had issues using the test version of deUHD, I emailed them asking for help, I never ever heard back from them
Ha! Thats not a red flag at all.
aaronwt likes this.
whiteboy714 is online now  
post #2417 of 2481 Old 04-24-2019, 05:55 PM
QuadMersed in bass!
 
giomania's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Chicago, Illinois
Posts: 3,715
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 524 Post(s)
Liked: 381
Quote:
Originally Posted by RapalloAV View Post
I had issues using the test version of deUHD, I emailed them asking for help, I never ever heard back from them


I decided to give it a try myself; here was my process:

I downloaded the trial version.

Then I had to set up an account so I did that, which consisted of entering your email address, connecting to their server to verify and send you an email with a link that allows you set up your password.

Next to had to activate the trial copy and the window disappeared, but it had moved to the task tray.

Next I tried launching some sort of GUI for the program nothing happened then I put in of the disk “Fury”, and decrypted the disk, and put up a message that it would have to be ripped to disk or iso before it could be viewed.

So I started the tip to disk process via the icon in the task tray and it managed to “Fury” as a folder rip.

It is a very very basic interface. there’s actually no GUI just the little pop-up window, so that’s not very inspiring given the price.



The problem is that I don’t know what to do with the folder to try and turn into an MKV. I tried using makeMKV, but no luck. Then I realized that most of the folders are empty.

So I don’t know what is the point of the trial version, because it said you could rip 8 to 10 minutes of a disk in the trial version but I don’t see any information here but maybe I’m doing something wrong.

Mark


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro
SuperFist and RapalloAV like this.
giomania is online now  
post #2418 of 2481 Old 04-24-2019, 08:33 PM
UHD Addict
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 35,215
Mentioned: 61 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8855 Post(s)
Liked: 5643
Quote:
Originally Posted by giomania View Post
Does it automatically choose the correct playlist?

CloneBD does this automatically, and I can’t say enough about this awesome feature. The software doesn’t work for UHD discs, however.

I find it annoying to have to find the correct playlist when using MakeMKV.

First world problems!


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro
I use the free version of CloneBD from Redfox regularly. It works with UHD BDs too.
It works the same with 2K BDs and UHD BDs. It automatically picks the correct playlist with both.
Sent from my FireHD 10
giomania likes this.

53TB unRAID2--45TB unRAID3--35TB unRAID1a
TCL 6 Series--Sony UBP-X800--Philips BDP7502--Onkyo HT-S7800
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme
aaronwt is online now  
post #2419 of 2481 Old 04-25-2019, 03:54 AM
QuadMersed in bass!
 
giomania's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Chicago, Illinois
Posts: 3,715
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 524 Post(s)
Liked: 381
Quote:
Originally Posted by aaronwt View Post
I use the free version of CloneBD from Redfox regularly. It works with UHD BDs too.
It works the same with 2K BDs and UHD BDs. It automatically picks the correct playlist with both.
Sent from my FireHD 10


Aaron, you initially brought CloneBD to my attention, so thanks. I have not ripped many 4K disks, but when I tried with CloneBD the other day, the max resolution was set at 1920x1080, and I was unable to move the slider. Then I searched and found a post in the Redfox forum that it didn’t support UHD, but that must have been old. So does that resolution slider not matter?

Thank you again.

Mark


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro
giomania is online now  
post #2420 of 2481 Old 04-25-2019, 04:11 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
SuperFist's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Arizona
Posts: 1,851
Mentioned: 52 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1236 Post(s)
Liked: 4650
Quote:
Originally Posted by giomania View Post
Aaron, you initially brought CloneBD to my attention, so thanks. I have not ripped many 4K disks, but when I tried with CloneBD the other day, the max resolution was set at 1920x1080, and I was unable to move the slider. Then I searched and found a post in the Redfox forum that it didn’t support UHD, but that must have been old. So does that resolution slider not matter?

Thank you again.

Mark
giomania,

What version of CloneBD do you have?

I have version 1.2.4.0 and I just tried it with Venom 4K and it works as intended.

What disc are you trying it on where the Resolution slider maxes out at 1920 x 1080?

Subwoofers: PSA S3000i x 2 | L+R Front: Onkyo SKF-200F | Center: Onkyo SKC-200C | L+R Surround: Onkyo SKM-200S | Atmos: Pioneer SP-T22A-LR | AVR: Yamaha RX-A660BL | HTPC: Lenovo Q190
SuperFist is offline  
post #2421 of 2481 Old 04-25-2019, 04:23 AM
QuadMersed in bass!
 
giomania's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Chicago, Illinois
Posts: 3,715
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 524 Post(s)
Liked: 381
Quote:
Originally Posted by SuperFist View Post
giomania,



What version of CloneBD do you have?



I have version 1.2.4.0 and I just tried it with Venom 4K and it works as intended.



What disc are you trying it on where the Resolution slider maxes out at 1920 x 1080?


I will have to check the version when I get home, but the UHD disk was “A Few Good Men”.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro
giomania is online now  
post #2422 of 2481 Old 04-25-2019, 03:11 PM
UHD Addict
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 35,215
Mentioned: 61 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8855 Post(s)
Liked: 5643
Quote:
Originally Posted by giomania View Post
I will have to check the version when I get home, but the UHD disk was “A Few Good Men”.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro
Are you sure you have the UHD Disc and not the 2K disc? I think most of us have grabbed the 2K disc by mistake at one time or another.

Sent from my Galaxy S10
SuperFist likes this.

53TB unRAID2--45TB unRAID3--35TB unRAID1a
TCL 6 Series--Sony UBP-X800--Philips BDP7502--Onkyo HT-S7800
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme
aaronwt is online now  
post #2423 of 2481 Old 04-25-2019, 04:22 PM
QuadMersed in bass!
 
giomania's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Chicago, Illinois
Posts: 3,715
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 524 Post(s)
Liked: 381
Ripping UHD 4k discs with Makemkv: Instructions How-to

Quote:
Originally Posted by giomania View Post
I will have to check the version when I get home, but the UHD disk was “A Few Good Men”.





Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro


Quote:
Originally Posted by aaronwt View Post
Are you sure you have the UHD Disc and not the 2K disc? I think most of us have grabbed the 2K disc by mistake at one time or another.



Sent from my Galaxy S10


I tried again, and it worked fine without changing the resolution, because I can't. Let's chalk this up to user error, and you can read on for the details, if you like.



I am using 1.2.4.0 Trial version, and just tried another disc, and I am unable to change the output resolution either up or down. Initially I thought this might be related to the fact that CloneBD thinks my Graphics driver is outdated, but I have the most recent, according to Intel. This is an old issue that I researched and clicked the check box to not see the message upon startup of CloneBD.



Aaron, I was using the UHD disk. I did a little research, and in the CloneBD Tutorial, located here, the below information is noted regarding the "Target" screen where the resolution slider is.



"Other than that, you can play with the options and adjust your profile so that it fits not only your needs but also your means. The quality slider bar is a good indicator on how balanced your output file will be. If the estimated file size is too big then you may try adjusting the resolution, as that will influence the size of the output file as well. Available Video codecs will be displayed and Bert the Beaver will give you some useful tips regarding playability. This will obviously also influence he file size, as will the Audio codecs. Adjusting the volume does not influence the size of the output file. If your player or device is known to be a bit quiet, we recommend adjusting the volume. Audio channels and bitrate for these audio channels obviously influence the file size marginally and, depending on which device you want to play the output file on, you might not need Surround 5.1 if your mobile phone cannot play it or, on the other hand, if you play the file on your home cinema system, you might be rather unhappy with a mere stereo output. Next, you choose your subtitle settings, Destination folder and file name for the file output and hit Begin Conversion"



The reason why I can't adjust the slider is because I am using direct output to MKV, and copying without transcoding. Specifically, the settings for Video codec is "Copy Original (lossless)", and when this is selected, the resolution slider is actually "greyed out" and not adjustable. If I change this setting, then the resolution slider works.



Sorry for the false alarm, gentlemen.



Mark

Last edited by giomania; 04-26-2019 at 03:57 AM.
giomania is online now  
post #2424 of 2481 Old 04-25-2019, 06:31 PM
QuadMersed in bass!
 
giomania's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Chicago, Illinois
Posts: 3,715
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 524 Post(s)
Liked: 381
Quote:
Originally Posted by giomania View Post
I decided to give it a try myself; here was my process:

I downloaded the trial version.

Then I had to set up an account so I did that, which consisted of entering your email address, connecting to their server to verify and send you an email with a link that allows you set up your password.

Next to had to activate the trial copy and the window disappeared, but it had moved to the task tray.

Next I tried launching some sort of GUI for the program nothing happened then I put in of the disk “Fury”, and decrypted the disk, and put up a message that it would have to be ripped to disk or iso before it could be viewed.

So I started the tip to disk process via the icon in the task tray and it managed to “Fury” as a folder rip.

It is a very very basic interface. there’s actually no GUI just the little pop-up window, so that’s not very inspiring given the price.



The problem is that I don’t know what to do with the folder to try and turn into an MKV. I tried using makeMKV, but no luck. Then I realized that most of the folders are empty.

So I don’t know what is the point of the trial version, because it said you could rip 8 to 10 minutes of a disk in the trial version but I don’t see any information here but maybe I’m doing something wrong.

Mark


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro
Just an update that I attempted to use both CloneBD and MakeMKV to make an MKV after decrypting with DeUHD, and those processes both failed. No surprise there. Then I tried to make an ISO using DeUHD, it failed.

Mark
giomania is online now  
post #2425 of 2481 Old 04-25-2019, 11:04 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Nexgen76's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 1,112
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 716 Post(s)
Liked: 208
Quote:
Originally Posted by giomania View Post
Just an update that I attempted to use both CloneBD and MakeMKV to make an MKV after decrypting with DeUHD, and those processes both failed. No surprise there. Then I tried to make an ISO using DeUHD, it failed.

Mark

I had the same issue using the trial version of DEUHD & ripping Planet Earth 2......I was told to us MKVToolnix haven't tried it yet to see if it works.
giomania likes this.

JVC NX5 Panasonic UB820 PC Madvr
Sliver Ticket 120' Cinema white screen
Aggressive 1299 L/C/R/, Volt 10XL x 2 surround, MKII Atmos Modules x 4(Jav's build)
Pioneer Elite SC-LX801 Acurus A125x5
Ported Primate SI 18" HST subs x 2(DIY) V.B.S.S.x 4(MBM)
Nexgen76 is offline  
post #2426 of 2481 Old 04-26-2019, 10:01 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
rdgrimes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Nuevo Mexico
Posts: 21,500
Mentioned: 23 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3734 Post(s)
Liked: 2921
Has anyone figured out the playlists on Alien UHD? Run times are 1:56:36 for theatrical version and 1:55:49 for director's cut. But beyond that there are still several choices for each. Different rippers seem to disagree on what's what. I went with 800 and 801 but haven't watched yet.
rdgrimes is offline  
post #2427 of 2481 Old 04-26-2019, 10:12 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Ph8te's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 18,823
Mentioned: 29 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6230 Post(s)
Liked: 5851
Quote:
Originally Posted by rdgrimes View Post
Has anyone figured out the playlists on Alien UHD? Run times are 1:56:36 for theatrical version and 1:55:49 for director's cut. But beyond that there are still several choices for each. Different rippers seem to disagree on what's what. I went with 800 and 801 but haven't watched yet.


800/801 are usually correct. You can tell by the audio/subtitles that are present.
aaronwt and sutton8 like this.
Ph8te is online now  
post #2428 of 2481 Old 04-26-2019, 11:57 AM
Senior Member
 
Seryl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: The River House
Posts: 298
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 153 Post(s)
Liked: 100
Thanks, timely posts, my UHD copy of Alien is supposed to arrive today.
Seryl is offline  
post #2429 of 2481 Old 04-27-2019, 01:49 PM
Senior Member
 
Taxcheat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Washington, D.C.
Posts: 485
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 454 Post(s)
Liked: 337
Drive flashing update. You can directly flash the MK firmware, so it takes one click to fix a drive now -- take all that Win7 32-bit PE boot disc and BIOS setting nonsense and forget about it. Glad I donated to Mike.

As my 2nd drive, I got the LG NS60 which is an official UHD drive that can play discs with the crappy Cyberlink software if I ever decide to go that route. The drive does seem better at reading triple layer discs, because I'm currently ripping a Transformers the Last Knight disc that my dear departed Asus BW16D1HT and NS50 LG weren't even able to mount. Also seems to be much faster -- read rate is steady at 5.4x. Will be interesting to see if I can knock off the other unreadable discs in my library. Don't ask me why I'm ripping TTLK, it's a horrible movie...
giomania and alexcoluzzi32 like this.

XBR-75Z9D fed by Oppo 203. Decrapifying the X1 Extreme
Taxcheat is offline  
post #2430 of 2481 Old 04-27-2019, 02:08 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
SeeMoreDigital's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Nott'm, UK
Posts: 3,275
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 943 Post(s)
Liked: 675
Quote:
Originally Posted by alexcoluzzi32 View Post
I've got fixes for everyone sitting here (BU40Ns) cough hack sputter.
I think it's time for me to buy one of these portable slim-line UHD drives?

I SUPPORT 'FAIR USE'. MY MORALS PREVENT ME FROM HELPING ANYONE WHO OBTAINS COPYRIGHTED CONTENT ILLEGITIMATELY
TV: LG 65UH770V | DISC SPINNER: OPPO UDP-203 | STB: VU+ UNO 4K SE
AMPS: 2No Audiolab 8000A, 2No Audiolab M-PWR | SPEAKERS: 4No KEF 103.2, 3No Wharfedale Diamond 10
ISP: Virgin Media @ 100Mbps | NETWORK: 1000Mbps | NAS: DS212+
SeeMoreDigital is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Networking, Media Servers & Content Streaming

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off