Ripping UHD 4k discs with Makemkv: Instructions How-to - Page 89 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 936Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #2641 of 2703 Old 09-18-2019, 01:19 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
farsider3000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Houston, Texas
Posts: 1,928
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1562 Post(s)
Liked: 943
Ripping UHD 4k discs with Makemkv: Instructions How-to

Quote:
Originally Posted by Toleedo View Post
Thanks for the replies everyone. I haven’t pulled the drive out to check the code, but I read on makemkv forum that it needed to be manufactured in 2015 or later and I bought mine in 2014. Just order an Asus drive that I am hoping will work.



Thanks!


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro

7.4.6 system: Processors:Marantz 8805 || Xilica XP4080 Amps: Parasound A31 and ATI AT528NC & AT526NC n-core ||Speakers: Procella P8 LCR, Procella P5 for surround & ceiling
Subs: JTR Captivator subs: One S2, Two RS2, One S1, 2 Seaton Submersive (FOR SALE)
Screen: 2.40:1 Seymour XD Acoustically Transparent, 128" diagonal / 118" wide || Projector: JVC X570/RS420
farsider3000 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2642 of 2703 Old 09-18-2019, 01:20 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
farsider3000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Houston, Texas
Posts: 1,928
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1562 Post(s)
Liked: 943
What is the best way to ensure I am getting the correct forced subtitles on my mkv file? I did a lot of manual work in the past and I stepped away from it for about a year and wonder if things have improved any regarding makemkv or other programs automatically applying correct forced subs for UHD rips from disc


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro

7.4.6 system: Processors:Marantz 8805 || Xilica XP4080 Amps: Parasound A31 and ATI AT528NC & AT526NC n-core ||Speakers: Procella P8 LCR, Procella P5 for surround & ceiling
Subs: JTR Captivator subs: One S2, Two RS2, One S1, 2 Seaton Submersive (FOR SALE)
Screen: 2.40:1 Seymour XD Acoustically Transparent, 128" diagonal / 118" wide || Projector: JVC X570/RS420
farsider3000 is offline  
post #2643 of 2703 Old 09-18-2019, 01:46 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Stereodude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Detroit Metro Area
Posts: 15,344
Mentioned: 41 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4335 Post(s)
Liked: 3069
Quote:
Originally Posted by farsider3000 View Post
What is the best way to ensure I am getting the correct forced subtitles on my mkv file? I did a lot of manual work in the past and I stepped away from it for about a year and wonder if things have improved any regarding makemkv or other programs automatically applying correct forced subs for UHD rips from disc
It has an option to extract the forced subtitles from the English sub tracks and put them in an separate track that is then set as the default in the .mkv. I don't know what it does for a disc that relies on the disc's menu to activate special subtitle track (via a VM command) containing only "forced" subtitles that aren't flagged as forced.

This is one of my beefs with open source blu-ray support. After 10+ years we still don't have proper disc playback because they can't handle "forced" subtitles correctly because menu support is still AWOL because the open source community doesn't see any value in a correct implementation because the developers personally aren't trying to play discs or .iso.

The best way would be to use UHD disc with forced subtitles of flagged as forced in the main subtitle track and one of the other type (if there are any) and then make sure they appear correctly in the rips.
aaronwt and SuperFist like this.

Last edited by Stereodude; 09-18-2019 at 01:49 PM.
Stereodude is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2644 of 2703 Old 09-18-2019, 07:06 PM
Member
 
Toleedo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 119
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 78 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by alexcoluzzi32 View Post
It will!

I got the Asus BW-15D1HT...and I still get a no disc (same thing I got with the old LG) when inserting a 4k disc. I've tried several with no luck. Regular bluray works fine. Here is the printout from makemkv:


OS device name: /dev/sr0
Current profile: BD-ROM
Manufacturer: ASUS
Product: BW-16D1HT
Revision: 3.10
Firmware date: 2119-01-04 10:14
Bus encryption flags: 1F
Highest AACS version: 63

p, li { white-space: pre-wrap; }


LibreDrive Information
Status: Possible (with patched firmware)
Drive platform: MT1959
Harware support: Yes
Firmware support: No
Firmware type: Original (patched version available)
Firmware version: 3.10
DVD all regions: Possible (with patched firmware)
BD raw data read: Possible (with patched firmware)
BD raw metadata read: Possible (with patched firmware)
Unrestricted read speed: Possible (with patched firmware)

MakeMKV v1.14.5 linux(x64-release)


Guessing I am missing something. Any help would be appreciated. Even without libre not activated and even if I didnt have the right key, I would expect something other then no disc.


Thanks.




p, li { white-space: pre-wrap; }
p, li { white-space: pre-wrap; }
Toleedo is offline  
post #2645 of 2703 Old 09-18-2019, 07:29 PM
Audio/Video Enthusiast
 
alexcoluzzi32's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: California
Posts: 402
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 269 Post(s)
Liked: 200
You need to flash the drive with the correct firmware. It’s not going to come from Amazon 4K friendly you understand that right?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro
Ph8te likes this.

Living Room: Xfinity XG1v4-A cable box + Apple TV 4K > Sony HT-ST5000 Atmos/DTS:X Soundbar > Sony XBR-65X900F Television
Office: Oppo UDP-203 + Apple TV 4K > Sony HT-Z9F Atmos/DTS:X Soundbar (with rears) > Sony XBR-55A1E Television
alexcoluzzi32 is offline  
post #2646 of 2703 Old 09-18-2019, 07:30 PM
Audio/Video Enthusiast
 
alexcoluzzi32's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: California
Posts: 402
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 269 Post(s)
Liked: 200
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toleedo View Post
I got the Asus BW-15D1HT...and I still get a no disc (same thing I got with the old LG) when inserting a 4k disc. I've tried several with no luck. Regular bluray works fine. Here is the printout from makemkv:


OS device name: /dev/sr0
Current profile: BD-ROM
Manufacturer: ASUS
Product: BW-16D1HT
Revision: 3.10
Firmware date: 2119-01-04 10:14
Bus encryption flags: 1F
Highest AACS version: 63

p, li { white-space: pre-wrap; }


LibreDrive Information
Status: Possible (with patched firmware)
Drive platform: MT1959
Harware support: Yes
Firmware support: No
Firmware type: Original (patched version available)
Firmware version: 3.10
DVD all regions: Possible (with patched firmware)
BD raw data read: Possible (with patched firmware)
BD raw metadata read: Possible (with patched firmware)
Unrestricted read speed: Possible (with patched firmware)

MakeMKV v1.14.5 linux(x64-release)


Guessing I am missing something. Any help would be appreciated. Even without libre not activated and even if I didnt have the right key, I would expect some othersz then no disc.


Thanks.




p, li { white-space: pre-wrap; }
p, li { white-space: pre-wrap; }





Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro

Living Room: Xfinity XG1v4-A cable box + Apple TV 4K > Sony HT-ST5000 Atmos/DTS:X Soundbar > Sony XBR-65X900F Television
Office: Oppo UDP-203 + Apple TV 4K > Sony HT-Z9F Atmos/DTS:X Soundbar (with rears) > Sony XBR-55A1E Television
alexcoluzzi32 is offline  
post #2647 of 2703 Old 09-18-2019, 07:35 PM
Member
 
Toleedo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 119
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 78 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by alexcoluzzi32 View Post
You need to flash the drive with the correct firmware. It’s not going to come from Amazon 4K friendly you understand that right?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro
I do now and after having to do a little research think I have it figured out. I don't have windows, but am assuming I can run the flasher, etc in Wine. Let me know if you think that is a bad idea...are there any drives I can buy that work out of the box? I've gotten lazy in my old age...
Toleedo is offline  
post #2648 of 2703 Old 09-18-2019, 07:55 PM
Audio/Video Enthusiast
 
alexcoluzzi32's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: California
Posts: 402
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 269 Post(s)
Liked: 200
[QUOTE=Toleedo;58577996]are there any drives I can buy that work out of the box?QUOTE]


I’ve got em. [email protected]


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro

Living Room: Xfinity XG1v4-A cable box + Apple TV 4K > Sony HT-ST5000 Atmos/DTS:X Soundbar > Sony XBR-65X900F Television
Office: Oppo UDP-203 + Apple TV 4K > Sony HT-Z9F Atmos/DTS:X Soundbar (with rears) > Sony XBR-55A1E Television
alexcoluzzi32 is offline  
post #2649 of 2703 Old 09-19-2019, 07:01 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mikela's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 1,090
Mentioned: 46 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 444 Post(s)
Liked: 634
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toleedo View Post
are there any drives I can buy that work out of the box? I've gotten lazy in my old age...
Alex is the guy
mikela is offline  
post #2650 of 2703 Old 09-19-2019, 08:55 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
deano86's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 2,420
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 644 Post(s)
Liked: 319
Quote:
Originally Posted by farsider3000 View Post
What is the best way to ensure I am getting the correct forced subtitles on my mkv file? I did a lot of manual work in the past and I stepped away from it for about a year and wonder if things have improved any regarding makemkv or other programs automatically applying correct forced subs for UHD rips from disc


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro
For me, I rip the title with all the available English subtitles using MakeMKV and then simply use MediaInfo to analyze the ripped file and easily determine which "text file" ... if any ..... are the forced subtitles by their "count of elements" . Then remux with MKVToolNix and designate the correct one as "Forced". Or in my case, the only Subtitle file I keep is the forced one anyway and my media player is set to just play any included subtitle file automatically.
giomania likes this.
deano86 is offline  
post #2651 of 2703 Old 09-19-2019, 11:45 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
steelman1991's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 1,764
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 464 Post(s)
Liked: 229
Ripping UHD 4k discs with Makemkv: Instructions How-to

Quote:
Originally Posted by deano86 View Post
For me, I rip the title with all the available English subtitles using MakeMKV and then simply use MediaInfo to analyze the ripped file and easily determine which "text file" ... if any ..... are the forced subtitles by their "count of elements" . Then remux with MKVToolNix and designate the correct one as "Forced". Or in my case, the only Subtitle file I keep is the forced one anyway and my media player is set to just play any included subtitle file automatically.

No need to remux - far quicker to change the “Header” to “Forced” and save the file.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
aaronwt, giomania and SuperFist like this.
steelman1991 is offline  
post #2652 of 2703 Old 09-20-2019, 07:28 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
psuKinger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 2,715
Mentioned: 25 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1586 Post(s)
Liked: 663
Anybody else on here having trouble ripping Avengers Endgame in UHD? I've had success with other discs... Just trying to nail down if it's mine (bad disc) or if others are having a problem with it too...

For now I'm sticking the disc in my Oppo... Old-school style...
psuKinger is offline  
post #2653 of 2703 Old 09-20-2019, 06:13 PM
Senior Member
 
laguna_b's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Los Gatos Mntns. California
Posts: 367
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 119 Post(s)
Liked: 54
[quote=alexcoluzzi32;58578070]
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toleedo View Post
are there any drives I can buy that work out of the box?QUOTE]


I’ve got em. [email protected]


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro
So Alex,

If you have them why have you not sent mine to replace the defective one I got? I wasted $10 shipping the bad one back and not heard boo from you or response to emails or messages here. Can you get back to me on this?

Barry

Past: CRTs NEC/Runco, Barco 1208, 1209 Current: JVC RS-640, Stewart Cima Neve 123" Screen 92" Da-Lite
laguna_b is offline  
post #2654 of 2703 Old 09-20-2019, 06:41 PM
Audio/Video Enthusiast
 
alexcoluzzi32's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: California
Posts: 402
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 269 Post(s)
Liked: 200
[quote=laguna_b;58587306]
Quote:
Originally Posted by alexcoluzzi32 View Post

So Alex,

If you have them why have you not sent mine to replace the defective one I got? I wasted $10 shipping the bad one back and not heard boo from you or response to emails or messages here. Can you get back to me on this?

Barry
Definitely wasn't a waste. Drive seems to be doing fine so it's time to investigate what other variables could be causing your issues.
We had been communicating over email ans I often don't see messages here so for better communication let's take it back to email. Thank you.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screen Shot 2019-09-20 at 6.38.09 PM.png
Views:	34
Size:	558.4 KB
ID:	2618016  

Living Room: Xfinity XG1v4-A cable box + Apple TV 4K > Sony HT-ST5000 Atmos/DTS:X Soundbar > Sony XBR-65X900F Television
Office: Oppo UDP-203 + Apple TV 4K > Sony HT-Z9F Atmos/DTS:X Soundbar (with rears) > Sony XBR-55A1E Television
alexcoluzzi32 is offline  
post #2655 of 2703 Old 09-20-2019, 07:17 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Ph8te's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 19,308
Mentioned: 31 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6518 Post(s)
Liked: 6230
Quote:
Originally Posted by psuKinger View Post
Anybody else on here having trouble ripping Avengers Endgame in UHD? I've had success with other discs... Just trying to nail down if it's mine (bad disc) or if others are having a problem with it too...



For now I'm sticking the disc in my Oppo... Old-school style...


You’ll have to give more information. What’s the error you get? If it’s the missing key error you’ll have to submit the output to support and wait for it to be added or just be patient until someone does get it added
Ph8te is offline  
post #2656 of 2703 Old 09-20-2019, 07:24 PM
Senior Member
 
laguna_b's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Los Gatos Mntns. California
Posts: 367
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 119 Post(s)
Liked: 54
[quote=alexcoluzzi32;58587366]
Quote:
Originally Posted by laguna_b View Post

Definitely wasn't a waste. Drive seems to be doing fine so it's time to investigate what other variables could be causing your issues.
We had been communicating over email ans I often don't see messages here so for better communication let's take it back to email. Thank you.
So you are showing a progress bar...GREAT! Except I got the same result and failed copies and sent you the logs of the failures....

Sample:
The source file '/BDMV/STREAM/00058.m2ts' is corrupt or invalid at offset 5928253440, attempting to work around
The source file '/BDMV/STREAM/00058.m2ts' is corrupt or invalid at offset 5928253440, attempting to work around
The source file '/BDMV/STREAM/00058.m2ts' is corrupt or invalid at offset 5928253440, attempting to work around
The source file '/BDMV/STREAM/00058.m2ts' is corrupt or invalid at offset 5928253440, attempting to work around
The source file '/BDMV/STREAM/00058.m2ts' is corrupt or invalid at offset 5928253440, attempting to work around
The source file '/BDMV/STREAM/00058.m2ts' is corrupt or invalid at offset 5928253440, attempting to work around
The source file '/BDMV/STREAM/00058.m2ts' is corrupt or invalid at offset 5928253440, attempting to work around
The source file '/BDMV/STREAM/00058.m2ts' is corrupt or invalid at offset 5928253440, attempting to work around
The source file '/BDMV/STREAM/00058.m2ts' is corrupt or invalid at offset 5928253440, attempting to work around
The source file '/BDMV/STREAM/00058.m2ts' is corrupt or invalid at offset 5928253440, attempting to work around
My Samsung drive could rip a number of BRHDs that gave this "problem" so I suspect it is the drive. Used to work, no longer does....others do....conclusion DRIVE FAILURE.
Happy to discuss in person and try both drives on your machine...

Past: CRTs NEC/Runco, Barco 1208, 1209 Current: JVC RS-640, Stewart Cima Neve 123" Screen 92" Da-Lite
laguna_b is offline  
post #2657 of 2703 Old 09-20-2019, 09:56 PM
Audio/Video Enthusiast
 
alexcoluzzi32's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: California
Posts: 402
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 269 Post(s)
Liked: 200
Quote:
Originally Posted by psuKinger View Post
Anybody else on here having trouble ripping Avengers Endgame in UHD? I've had success with other discs... Just trying to nail down if it's mine (bad disc) or if others are having a problem with it too...

For now I'm sticking the disc in my Oppo... Old-school style...
Most likely the disc. I had to get to my third copy of Infinity War to get a clean rip while may others were fine. Just the luck, or lack of luck, of the draw with some of these titles.
clarkss12 likes this.

Living Room: Xfinity XG1v4-A cable box + Apple TV 4K > Sony HT-ST5000 Atmos/DTS:X Soundbar > Sony XBR-65X900F Television
Office: Oppo UDP-203 + Apple TV 4K > Sony HT-Z9F Atmos/DTS:X Soundbar (with rears) > Sony XBR-55A1E Television
alexcoluzzi32 is offline  
post #2658 of 2703 Old 09-21-2019, 08:50 AM
Member
 
cnelson87's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 115
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 53 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by psuKinger View Post
Anybody else on here having trouble ripping Avengers Endgame in UHD? I've had success with other discs... Just trying to nail down if it's mine (bad disc) or if others are having a problem with it too...

For now I'm sticking the disc in my Oppo... Old-school style...
Same - errored-out at 43%. I've had LOTS of discs that look perfectly clean out of the package but require cleaning before successfully ripping them. But not this time, cleaned it three times and no joy. It still plays in my UHD player though. Luckily the Redbox near me had it in 4K, so I rented it and it ripped just fine. Normally I do not advocate ripping rentals, but hell I own the damn thing, so not gonna feel bad about it.
SuperFist likes this.
cnelson87 is offline  
post #2659 of 2703 Old 09-21-2019, 11:56 AM
UHD Addict
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 35,937
Mentioned: 71 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9299 Post(s)
Liked: 5984
Quote:
Originally Posted by cnelson87 View Post
Same - errored-out at 43%. I've had LOTS of discs that look perfectly clean out of the package but require cleaning before successfully ripping them. But not this time, cleaned it three times and no joy. It still plays in my UHD player though. Luckily the Redbox near me had it in 4K, so I rented it and it ripped just fine. Normally I do not advocate ripping rentals, but hell I own the damn thing, so not gonna feel bad about it.
And I think I've had zero discs out of the package have any issues.
Out of 200+ rips.

Sent from my Galaxy S10
SuperFist likes this.

53TB unRAID1a--49TB unRAID2--76TB unRAID3
TCL 6 Series--Sony UBP-X800--Philips BDP7502--Onkyo HT-S7800
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme
aaronwt is offline  
post #2660 of 2703 Old 09-21-2019, 06:52 PM
Audio/Video Enthusiast
 
alexcoluzzi32's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: California
Posts: 402
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 269 Post(s)
Liked: 200
I had days early on before I fully embraced a cleaning regimen that I couldn’t rip a disc to save my life. Like failure after failure.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro

Living Room: Xfinity XG1v4-A cable box + Apple TV 4K > Sony HT-ST5000 Atmos/DTS:X Soundbar > Sony XBR-65X900F Television
Office: Oppo UDP-203 + Apple TV 4K > Sony HT-Z9F Atmos/DTS:X Soundbar (with rears) > Sony XBR-55A1E Television
alexcoluzzi32 is offline  
post #2661 of 2703 Old 09-26-2019, 11:18 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
lujan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 8,969
Mentioned: 40 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4585 Post(s)
Liked: 2660
Anyone else having issues ripping "Stand By Me" 4k disc? I'm hearing that it might not work with MakeMKV because it's one of 3 discs that are not working at this time? I'm wondering if someone has been successful by ripping by another method?

lujan
559 Ultra HD
721 HD
4 SD
lujan is online now  
post #2662 of 2703 Old 09-26-2019, 11:20 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
rdgrimes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Nuevo Mexico
Posts: 21,716
Mentioned: 25 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3847 Post(s)
Liked: 3085
Quote:
Originally Posted by lujan View Post
Anyone else having issues ripping "Stand By Me" 4k disc? I'm hearing that it might not work with MakeMKV because it's one of 3 discs that are not working at this time? I'm wondering if someone has been successful by ripping by another method?
This is a AACS 2.1 encrypted disc. DVDFab has broken this, MakeMKV has not.
aaronwt, lujan and SuperFist like this.
rdgrimes is offline  
post #2663 of 2703 Old 09-26-2019, 12:14 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
lujan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 8,969
Mentioned: 40 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4585 Post(s)
Liked: 2660
Quote:
Originally Posted by rdgrimes View Post
This is a AACS 2.1 encrypted disc. DVDFab has broken this, MakeMKV has not.
Thanks, why is Sony making this one so difficult? First they release the disc with no digital copy, then they release this one with AACS 2.1 where you can't rip it. I also purchased this one on iTunes thinking it would get the 4k upgrade but no streaming vendor has it available in 4k.

lujan
559 Ultra HD
721 HD
4 SD
lujan is online now  
post #2664 of 2703 Old 09-26-2019, 02:37 PM
UHD Addict
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 35,937
Mentioned: 71 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9299 Post(s)
Liked: 5984
Quote:
Originally Posted by lujan View Post
Thanks, why is Sony making this one so difficult? First they release the disc with no digital copy, then they release this one with AACS 2.1 where you can't rip it. I also purchased this one on iTunes thinking it would get the 4k upgrade but no streaming vendor has it available in 4k.
I just wonder if it's a sign of things to come.
lujan likes this.

53TB unRAID1a--49TB unRAID2--76TB unRAID3
TCL 6 Series--Sony UBP-X800--Philips BDP7502--Onkyo HT-S7800
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme
aaronwt is offline  
post #2665 of 2703 Old 09-26-2019, 03:41 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Ph8te's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 19,308
Mentioned: 31 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6518 Post(s)
Liked: 6230
Quote:
Originally Posted by aaronwt View Post
I just wonder if it's a sign of things to come.


It’s been around for more than a year now (IIRC). Only a couple of discs have had it thus far. As always companies move the bar and folks jump over the bar.
Ph8te is offline  
post #2666 of 2703 Old 09-26-2019, 05:16 PM
Audio/Video Enthusiast
 
alexcoluzzi32's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: California
Posts: 402
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 269 Post(s)
Liked: 200
What’s a better way to go for direct USB port playback on a smart TV: .m2ts file on a usb stick or .mkv file on a usb stick?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro

Living Room: Xfinity XG1v4-A cable box + Apple TV 4K > Sony HT-ST5000 Atmos/DTS:X Soundbar > Sony XBR-65X900F Television
Office: Oppo UDP-203 + Apple TV 4K > Sony HT-Z9F Atmos/DTS:X Soundbar (with rears) > Sony XBR-55A1E Television
alexcoluzzi32 is offline  
post #2667 of 2703 Old 09-26-2019, 05:17 PM
Advanced Member
 
tjenkins95's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Rhode Island
Posts: 771
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 495 Post(s)
Liked: 458
Quote:
Originally Posted by lujan View Post
Thanks, why is Sony making this one so difficult? First they release the disc with no digital copy, then they release this one with AACS 2.1 where you can't rip it. I also purchased this one on iTunes thinking it would get the 4k upgrade but no streaming vendor has it available in 4k.

I rip my 4K movie discs to ISO first using deUHD. I ripped Stand by Me to iso and then used Makemkv to create the mkv file. I loaded the mkv file to my Synology NAS which holds all of my mkv movie files. I watch the movies via my OPPO which accesses my NAS via my home network.
Best investment I ever made. I plan to retire and downsize in a couple of years so I have begun copying my entire bluray and 4K collection to iso files and then upload the mkv files to the NAS.
SuperFist likes this.

www.raysdvds.org
Denon AVR-X6200W; JVC RS500; Panasonic DMP-UB900; Oppo UDP-203;
Klipsch Speakers: RF-82, RC-62, RS-52, RB-61, RT-10d sub, Klipsch CDT-3650-C (4) ceiling.
Pioneer Dolby Atmos enabled Elite Concentric Speakers: SP-EFS73, SP-EBS73, and SP-EC73 in the guest room.
tjenkins95 is offline  
post #2668 of 2703 Old 09-26-2019, 05:54 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Ph8te's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 19,308
Mentioned: 31 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6518 Post(s)
Liked: 6230
Quote:
Originally Posted by alexcoluzzi32 View Post
What’s a better way to go for direct USB port playback on a smart TV: .m2ts file on a usb stick or .mkv file on a usb stick?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro


You need to look at the capabilities of your TV and determine that. Each TV will have different capabilities.
Ph8te is offline  
post #2669 of 2703 Old 09-26-2019, 06:36 PM
UHD Addict
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 35,937
Mentioned: 71 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9299 Post(s)
Liked: 5984
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ph8te View Post
It’s been around for more than a year now (IIRC). Only a couple of discs have had it thus far. As always companies move the bar and folks jump over the bar.
Yes. i Have the first two AACS 2.1 Titles. But I wonder if Sony will start putting out more discs now with AACS 2.1?

53TB unRAID1a--49TB unRAID2--76TB unRAID3
TCL 6 Series--Sony UBP-X800--Philips BDP7502--Onkyo HT-S7800
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme
aaronwt is offline  
post #2670 of 2703 Old 09-26-2019, 06:46 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Ph8te's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 19,308
Mentioned: 31 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6518 Post(s)
Liked: 6230
Quote:
Originally Posted by aaronwt View Post
Yes. i Have the first two AACS 2.1 Titles. But I wonder if Sony will start putting out more discs now with AACS 2.1?


Possibly? They’ve been able to for awhile now though and it’s been slow release for them. I’m sure eventually we’ll see more and more discs, it’s a constant game of cat and mouse. Patience as always will be required
Ph8te is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Networking, Media Servers & Content Streaming



Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off