Ripping UHD 4k discs with Makemkv: Instructions How-to - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 1244Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 3126 Old 12-17-2017, 10:38 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
javanpohl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 2,302
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 876 Post(s)
Liked: 563
Ripping UHD 4k discs with Makemkv: Instructions How-to

Newer Update:

Doesn't look like you need to download the hashed keys file manually anymore. MakeMKV will download the necessary info on its own.

Makemkv download (pretty straight-forward to install): http://www.makemkv.com/download/


Update: Starting from version 1.14.0 MakeMKV can read UHD discs using any BDXL-compatible LibreDrive drive - that includes most "official" and all "friendly" UHD drives.

What is LibreDrive? https://www.makemkv.com/forum/viewto...p?f=19&t=18856

Custom firmware pack with LibreDrive patches https://www.makemkv.com/forum/viewto...p?f=19&t=19113

Check out this post for useful info on where to buy a UHD friendly drive: https://www.avsforum.com/forum/39-ne...l#post58371270

Old, but still useful stuff:

Update:

So this has gotten to be pretty straight-forward. Per the instructions _HERE_ save the referenced text file into the folder in Makemkv that you've designated to be the "data directory" (step 3 below) and, using MakeMKV 1.10.10 or later and a UHD friendly drive, you then can rip a UHD movie, assuming that the hashed key has been uploaded to that file already.


This is actually really straight-forward if you've already been using Makemkv... Also, it looks like Redfox is actively updating their software to include these keys.
Main source: https://www.myce.com/news/aacs-2-0-c...oophole-83221/
2)
So we were using Volume Keys. MakeMKV is now set-up to use hashed keys. In terms of the data directory in the next step, it's the same. However, you'll want to just completely get rid of the volume keys and replace them entirely with the hashed keys: http://s000.tinyupload.com/index.php...99194347240305 (If this doesn't work it can be found in the directions at the beginning of this post) This is a file that you will need to periodically update as it is updated. Note that just because a movie is in the list, it does not mean you have the same version of the movie. You'll notice that there are multiple hashed keys for the same movie--there may be more hashed keys that have not yet been uploaded to the file. For example, while I have successfully ripped quite a few 4K movies, I cannot yet rip Baby Driver. There is a method for pulling the info they need to get the hashed key for your particular volume but I have not gotten there yet.

3)
To manually add hashed keys keys to makemkv, you open Makemkv, go to view->preferences, then, ->general and establish a folder for the "makemkv data directory". In that newly established data directory folder, create a (plain) text file and paste those codes and all their info into the text file. Mine is named keys.txt and I made it with notepad. (If that does not work for you, try renaming it to be a .cfg file)

If you wish to remux the Atmos track from a 4K UHD disc with the 3D video file from a 3D blu-ray, the process is the same that we have covered before: https://www.avsforum.com/forum/39-ne...y-quality.html Now I finally have Pacific Rim in 3D and Atmos!!!

Last edited by javanpohl; 08-02-2019 at 10:02 AM.
javanpohl is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 3126 Old 12-18-2017, 07:48 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
captainbrent's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Panama City, Panama
Posts: 1,027
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 449 Post(s)
Liked: 510
Quote:
Originally Posted by javanpohl View Post
3)
To manually add volume keys to makemkv, you open Makemkv, go to view->preferences, then, ->general and establish a folder for the "makemkv data directory". In that newly established data directory folder, create a text file and paste those codes and all their info into the text file.
Does the text file need to be named in a certain way?

Thanks

Marantz AV8802A | Wyred 4 Sound (500W X 3, 250W X 2) | Marantz MM7025 (140W X 2) | Oppo UDP-203 | Roon ROCK Music Server | ATV4K | Vero 4K+ | LG OLED 65E6P | MiniDSP DDRC-88A | Oppo PM1's | APC H-15 power conditioners (x2) | GoldenEar Triton 1's (FL & FR) | SuperCenter XL (C) | Aon 2's (SL & SR) | SuperSat 3's (FHL & FHR) | SVS PB13-Ultra | Unraid NAS 40TB
captainbrent is offline  
post #3 of 3126 Old 12-19-2017, 10:20 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
javanpohl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 2,302
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 876 Post(s)
Liked: 563
Quote:
Originally Posted by captainbrent View Post
Does the text file need to be named in a certain way?

Thanks
Not that I'm aware of, just make sure that they're plain text files and not rich text files.
javanpohl is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 3126 Old 12-20-2017, 09:37 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Jon S's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Sunny Hawaii
Posts: 4,466
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1151 Post(s)
Liked: 424
Well, I have the LG LG BH16NS40 with firmware 1.01 installed OOB on my PC since I bought it (it was custom built)... It does not recognize any UHD discs. The txt fle is supposed to be named KEYDB.CFG

I thought I read somewhere that computers must have the Intel CPUS after the Skylake genration for to read UHD discs. If so, that could be my issue. i have an Intel i7-6700 Skylake processor. You need the Intel 8000 series chips (I think they were the Skylake X series)

If it's not a BIG screen, it's not a theater...
Jon S is offline  
post #5 of 3126 Old 12-20-2017, 01:39 PM
Senior Member
 
Natrix1973's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 285
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 84 Post(s)
Liked: 60
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jon S View Post
Well, I have the LG LG BH16NS40 with firmware 1.01 installed OOB on my PC since I bought it (it was custom built)... It does not recognize any UHD discs. The txt fle is supposed to be named KEYDB.CFG

I thought I read somewhere that computers must have the Intel CPUS after the Skylake genration for to read UHD discs. If so, that could be my issue. i have an Intel i7-6700 Skylake processor. You need the Intel 8000 series chips (I think they were the Skylake X series)
You shouldn't need the right Intel chip to recognize or rip the disk, it worked fine last night ripping my Star Trek UHD disk on my old FX 8350 rig that I am using for a ripper/media streamer. I just got a LG WH16NS40 drive yesterday with FW 1.02 on it.

Last edited by Natrix1973; 12-20-2017 at 02:54 PM.
Natrix1973 is offline  
post #6 of 3126 Old 12-21-2017, 06:17 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
javanpohl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 2,302
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 876 Post(s)
Liked: 563
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jon S View Post
Well, I have the LG LG BH16NS40 with firmware 1.01 installed OOB on my PC since I bought it (it was custom built)... It does not recognize any UHD discs. The txt fle is supposed to be named KEYDB.CFG

I thought I read somewhere that computers must have the Intel CPUS after the Skylake genration for to read UHD discs. If so, that could be my issue. i have an Intel i7-6700 Skylake processor. You need the Intel 8000 series chips (I think they were the Skylake X series)
If you downloaded the volume key file (from the zip) referenced in the instructions from Makemkv (https://www.makemkv.com/faq/item/12), that key database and forum posts are seven years old. All I did was create a text file named "keys.txt" and copied the volume keys (and all their info, in one simple copy-n-paste grab) from the files referenced in the OP into it.

I also have an FX-8350 in my ripping rig

Last edited by javanpohl; 12-21-2017 at 06:22 AM.
javanpohl is offline  
post #7 of 3126 Old 12-21-2017, 11:36 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
rec head's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Chicago
Posts: 1,564
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 392 Post(s)
Liked: 393
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jon S View Post
The txt fle is supposed to be named KEYDB.CFG
Everything I read said just make a text file in notepad and put it in the right directory. Well that didn't work for me until I renamed using the .CFG extension. My key file is named exactly KEYDB.CFG and worked on the one disc I have that is on the list.
rec head is offline  
post #8 of 3126 Old 12-21-2017, 04:02 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
javanpohl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 2,302
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 876 Post(s)
Liked: 563
Quote:
Originally Posted by rec head View Post
Everything I read said just make a text file in notepad and put it in the right directory. Well that didn't work for me until I renamed using the .CFG extension. My key file is named exactly KEYDB.CFG and worked on the one disc I have that is on the list.
Interesting. What OS are you using?
javanpohl is offline  
post #9 of 3126 Old 12-21-2017, 04:32 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
rec head's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Chicago
Posts: 1,564
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 392 Post(s)
Liked: 393
I'm using Windows 7 and 10.

Make sure you have set the data directory in Makemkv and put the file there.
rec head is offline  
post #10 of 3126 Old 12-21-2017, 04:43 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
javanpohl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 2,302
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 876 Post(s)
Liked: 563
Quote:
Originally Posted by rec head View Post
I'm using Windows 7 and 10.

Make sure you have set the data directory in Makemkv and put the file there.
Maybe that's where we differ. I put my directory on another drive entirely.
javanpohl is offline  
post #11 of 3126 Old 12-22-2017, 08:30 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
javanpohl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 2,302
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 876 Post(s)
Liked: 563
Something that should've been rather obvious (since we've seen that certain titles have multiple volume keys) is that we may not yet have the volume keys for your particular version/region/etc of the movie: https://forum.doom9.org/showthread.p...21#post1828021
javanpohl is offline  
post #12 of 3126 Old 12-28-2017, 04:44 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
javanpohl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 2,302
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 876 Post(s)
Liked: 563
Additional keys added on pg 24 in the second link, including Blade Runner: The final cut. Keep in mind that titles can have multiple keys. Hopefully with these new ones I can rip Independence Day. The first key wasn't working for me.
javanpohl is offline  
post #13 of 3126 Old 12-28-2017, 04:47 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
javanpohl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 2,302
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 876 Post(s)
Liked: 563
So the other day I saw that the new Ghostbusters was one of the volume keys. "COOL! I can finally mux the Atmos with the 3D! ... wait, why on earth did I sell my 4k copy? Guess I'll just have to buy another one."

Wasn't until I was about to re-mux them that I realized the 4K version is the extended cut and the 3D is the theatrical

... wondering if I can edit down the 4K version.
SuperFist likes this.
javanpohl is offline  
post #14 of 3126 Old 12-29-2017, 08:05 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
rec head's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Chicago
Posts: 1,564
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 392 Post(s)
Liked: 393
Quote:
Originally Posted by javanpohl View Post
Additional keys added on pg 24 in the second link, including Blade Runner: The final cut. Keep in mind that titles can have multiple keys. Hopefully with these new ones I can rip Independence Day. The first key wasn't working for me.
Thanks for the heads up.
rec head is offline  
post #15 of 3126 Old 12-29-2017, 11:17 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
javanpohl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 2,302
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 876 Post(s)
Liked: 563
Got Independence Day to rip. No luck on Blade Runner though, even though there are like 3 or 4 keys.
SuperFist and dejan filipovic like this.
javanpohl is offline  
post #16 of 3126 Old 12-29-2017, 05:32 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
VisionxOrb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Oceanside, Ca
Posts: 1,157
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 381 Post(s)
Liked: 270
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jon S View Post
Well, I have the LG LG BH16NS40 with firmware 1.01 installed OOB on my PC since I bought it (it was custom built)... It does not recognize any UHD discs.
Everyone needs to be aware, there are 2 versions of the 16ns40, there original version will not work at all, only the 2nd version that came out at some part of 2015 and has a SVC code of NS50 will work.
javanpohl likes this.

2000 watts of power and climbing

-Fred
VisionxOrb is offline  
post #17 of 3126 Old 12-29-2017, 07:45 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Jon S's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Sunny Hawaii
Posts: 4,466
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1151 Post(s)
Liked: 424
Quote:
Originally Posted by VisionxOrb View Post
Everyone needs to be aware, there are 2 versions of the 16ns40, there original version will not work at all, only the 2nd version that came out at some part of 2015 and has a SVC code of NS50 will work.
I now remember reading that the second version was able to read UHD discs which the first could not...

If it's not a BIG screen, it's not a theater...
Jon S is offline  
post #18 of 3126 Old 12-30-2017, 01:54 AM
Advanced Member
 
sutton8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: London, England
Posts: 853
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 420 Post(s)
Liked: 170
Quote:
Originally Posted by VisionxOrb View Post
Everyone needs to be aware, there are 2 versions of the 16ns40, there original version will not work at all, only the 2nd version that came out at some part of 2015 and has a SVC code of NS50 will work.
My 16NS40 was purchased in May 2015 and is on firmware 1.03.

I tried 4 discs: Chappie; Martian; Lucy; Revenant; and none of them loaded.

Time for a new drive!

7.1 Denon AVR-4700H, Rotel RMB 1555, Audiolab M-PWR, Monitor Audio (Apex & Silver 8), Seismic 110, XBone, Node 2i, Panasonic TX65GZ950B
5.1 Denon X7200WA, Focal Dome/Seismic 110, Firestick 4K, Panasonic TX55GZ950B
In both Setups Virgin Tivo V6, Zappiti 4K HDR, Harmony Elite, Dune HD RealBox 4K, Cambridge Audio CXUHD, Anti Mode 8033
sutton8 is offline  
post #19 of 3126 Old 01-02-2018, 04:45 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Brajesh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: NE USA
Posts: 6,482
Mentioned: 16 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 611 Post(s)
Liked: 315
Anyone w/drives other than 16NS40 w/ripping successes?

Hi-deft Media Keen Videosaurus
Brajesh is offline  
post #20 of 3126 Old 01-03-2018, 07:30 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 63
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 39 Post(s)
Liked: 83
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brajesh View Post
Anyone w/drives other than 16NS40 w/ripping successes?
I just received an LG BE16NU50 from Newegg today and will be trying it out soon.
brbeck is offline  
post #21 of 3126 Old 01-03-2018, 10:51 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
robnix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 3,224
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1021 Post(s)
Liked: 767
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brajesh View Post
Anyone w/drives other than 16NS40 w/ripping successes?
I've used the ASUS BW-16D1HT and the Buffalo BruHD-PU3 successfully.

Looky here!
robnix is offline  
post #22 of 3126 Old 01-03-2018, 01:59 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
psuKinger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 2,890
Mentioned: 28 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1704 Post(s)
Liked: 785
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jon S View Post
Well, I have the LG LG BH16NS40 with firmware 1.01 installed OOB on my PC since I bought it (it was custom built)... It does not recognize any UHD discs. The txt fle is supposed to be named KEYDB.CFG

I thought I read somewhere that computers must have the Intel CPUS after the Skylake genration for to read UHD discs. If so, that could be my issue. i have an Intel i7-6700 Skylake processor. You need the Intel 8000 series chips (I think they were the Skylake X series)
Can anyone else confirm the statements about the i7-6700 skylake processors? I have that CPU in both my desktop (server) and laptop...
psuKinger is offline  
post #23 of 3126 Old 01-03-2018, 02:23 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Jon S's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Sunny Hawaii
Posts: 4,466
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1151 Post(s)
Liked: 424
You need the CPUs AFTER Skylake (i.e. KABY LAKE) in order to PLAYBACK UHD discs.

If it's not a BIG screen, it's not a theater...
Jon S is offline  
post #24 of 3126 Old 01-03-2018, 04:00 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 3,071
Mentioned: 34 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1707 Post(s)
Liked: 951
Quote:
Originally Posted by psuKinger View Post
Can anyone else confirm the statements about the i7-6700 skylake processors? I have that CPU in both my desktop (server) and laptop...
Not needed to rip your discs.
SoulOfUniverse likes this.
dwaleke is offline  
post #25 of 3126 Old 01-03-2018, 06:30 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Brajesh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: NE USA
Posts: 6,482
Mentioned: 16 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 611 Post(s)
Liked: 315
Thanks @robnix , I'll look into both of those drives. And, look forward to your results w/LG BE16NU50 @brbeck .

Edit: Ordered ASUS BW-16D1HT to try from newegg; there's a rebate for it presently, making it about $60 shipped w/tax + shipping.

Hi-deft Media Keen Videosaurus

Last edited by Brajesh; 01-04-2018 at 05:52 AM.
Brajesh is offline  
post #26 of 3126 Old 01-04-2018, 08:41 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 63
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 39 Post(s)
Liked: 83
Success using the BE16NU50 to rip both ID4 and Star Trek (2009) using MakeMKV.

I have found, though, that I need to begin outputting to MKV before the drive comes to rest after spinning the disc. If I wait too long, the drive appears to "forget" how to access the contents. It reports bad sectors and gets stuck in an endless loop of futility until I cancel the operation.

It's likely a firmware (rev. 1.01) issue that has since been resolved, but I don't dare update the drive at this point.

For an external drive (used with a laptop), the BE16NU50 is quite large, much larger than the six-year-old Samsung SE-506 that has ripped countless BDs from my library for easy access on my NAS. But it is quieter and significantly faster (USB 3.0) than the Samsung. I'm pleased with my purchase so far.
brbeck is offline  
post #27 of 3126 Old 01-04-2018, 09:31 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Brajesh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: NE USA
Posts: 6,482
Mentioned: 16 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 611 Post(s)
Liked: 315
Re: firmware, Windows 10 doesn't automatically update it for an optical drive right?

Hi-deft Media Keen Videosaurus
Brajesh is offline  
post #28 of 3126 Old 01-04-2018, 11:20 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
barhoram's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 2,697
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 274 Post(s)
Liked: 47
how big is a typical rip??

I don't really like talking about my flair
barhoram is offline  
post #29 of 3126 Old 01-04-2018, 11:54 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
rr6966's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Cincinnati, Ohio
Posts: 1,326
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 49 Post(s)
Liked: 81
Quote:
Originally Posted by barhoram View Post
how big is a typical rip??
I ripped so far ( Star Trek, Star Trek into Darkness, The Martian, and Blade Runner ) most are 53 - 56G, The Martian was only 45G.
rr6966 is offline  
post #30 of 3126 Old 01-04-2018, 12:53 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
robnix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 3,224
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1021 Post(s)
Liked: 767
Quote:
Originally Posted by rr6966 View Post
I ripped so far ( Star Trek, Star Trek into Darkness, The Martian, and Blade Runner ) most are 53 - 56G, The Martian was only 45G.
Most of mine are are around 45-55. LaLaLand is over 70.

Looky here!
robnix is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Networking, Media Servers & Content Streaming

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off