Apple TV tvOS public beta releases - Page 16 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 617Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #451 of 1935 Old 06-19-2018, 08:10 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
bodosom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Niagara Frontier
Posts: 9,190
Mentioned: 54 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1834 Post(s)
Liked: 1384
Quote:
Originally Posted by archer75 View Post
The spec for DD+ allows bitrate up to 6400kbps. Which is well beyond what lossless is doing now. Even at the same bitrate lossless would still be better.
Quote:
Originally Posted by bodosom View Post
TrueHD allows 18Mb and DTS:MA allows 24Mb. Looking at the disc that happened to be in the player (SM:Homecoming) I see 2.5 - 8 Mb of audio data
Quote:
Originally Posted by archer75 View Post
Allows for, yes. But in reality I’m seeing 4-5Mbs on my UHD rips.

My point was E-AC-3 at 6Mb is not "well beyond lossless" -- in my example TrueHD is using up to 8Mb*. Tha's well below the maximum but significantly better than E-AC-3 even without considering the improved compression.

*According to my 203.

I might type 2K for 1080p.
UDP-203/ATV4K(6,2)/X3500/LG C8

Last edited by bodosom; 06-20-2018 at 06:13 AM.
bodosom is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #452 of 1935 Old 06-19-2018, 08:55 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 2
My experience on beta 2, I am not getting any Atmos through iTunes on confirmed titles (justice league, John wick 2). Infuse show atmos on reviver but I get no audio and Vudu plays Atmos just fine.

Infuse is bugging me, I wonder if it has to do with my Plex server?
Patrick Corrado is offline  
post #453 of 1935 Old 06-19-2018, 08:57 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by Patrick Corrado View Post
My experience on beta 2, I am not getting any Atmos through iTunes on confirmed titles (justice league, John wick 2). Infuse show atmos on reviver but I get no audio and Vudu plays Atmos just fine.

Infuse is bugging me, I wonder if it has to do with my Plex server?
Also, I tried connecting through ARC and I get no Spatial Audio option in settings when I do. This is with a TCL 6 Series.
Patrick Corrado is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #454 of 1935 Old 06-19-2018, 09:26 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
bodosom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Niagara Frontier
Posts: 9,190
Mentioned: 54 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1834 Post(s)
Liked: 1384
At the moment I'm not getting Atmos from any iTunes features I checked. Vudu is still working*. I was checking to see if turning on compression disabled Atmos. It doesn't although Atmos may disable compression. I didn't actually listen to anything.


*I am shocked- shocked- to find that Atmos is going on in here!

I might type 2K for 1080p.
UDP-203/ATV4K(6,2)/X3500/LG C8
bodosom is online now  
post #455 of 1935 Old 06-20-2018, 01:36 AM
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Posts: 761
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 508 Post(s)
Liked: 379
Blade Runner 2049 on iTunes has Atmos still... or last I checked.

5 dB lower than the Vudu version.
Skunkbeard is offline  
post #456 of 1935 Old 06-20-2018, 03:32 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Brian Hampton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Posts: 8,913
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1290 Post(s)
Liked: 755
That was fast... so I can do Atmos now if I turn back on beta or it's it developers beta not users beta.

I have an ATMOS AVR but I've never actually heard atmos. I wanna check it out.
Brian Hampton is offline  
post #457 of 1935 Old 06-20-2018, 03:53 AM
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 622
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 460 Post(s)
Liked: 398
Do you have atmos or height speakers?

It is a developers beta btw. Not available unless you have a developers account


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Andrew Stirling is online now  
post #458 of 1935 Old 06-20-2018, 04:54 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Brian Hampton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Posts: 8,913
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1290 Post(s)
Liked: 755
Quote:
Originally Posted by Andrew Stirling View Post
Do you have atmos or height speakers?

It is a developers beta btw. Not available unless you have a developers account


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
No atmos or height speakers. But, I assume it's possible to get such things. I don't know much about atmos yet but I thought it was possible to play it back with a traditional 7.2 system.... not the same as what a different system would do but still do-able.

Not sure if I want to look into being a developer. .. maybe...

Edit- Looks easy enough to sign up as a developer... why not...

https://9to5mac.com/2016/03/27/how-t...sideload-apps/

Edit 2 - Looks like the FREE version of developer account doesn't include use of developer beta SW .. that's a paid account.... I'm not doing that.

-B
africanlivedit likes this.

Last edited by Brian Hampton; 06-20-2018 at 05:09 AM.
Brian Hampton is offline  
post #459 of 1935 Old 06-20-2018, 06:11 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
bodosom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Niagara Frontier
Posts: 9,190
Mentioned: 54 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1834 Post(s)
Liked: 1384
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brian Hampton View Post
But, I assume it's possible to get such things. ... but I thought it was possible to play it back with a traditional 7.2 system
Yes, No.

I might type 2K for 1080p.
UDP-203/ATV4K(6,2)/X3500/LG C8

Last edited by bodosom; 06-20-2018 at 06:15 AM.
bodosom is online now  
post #460 of 1935 Old 06-20-2018, 06:12 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
archer75's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Oregon
Posts: 2,514
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 689 Post(s)
Liked: 332
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brian Hampton View Post
That was fast... so I can do Atmos now if I turn back on beta or it's it developers beta not users beta.

I have an ATMOS AVR but I've never actually heard atmos. I wanna check it out.

You need to have atmos speakers or it does nothing really. You can sometimes fake out the receiver by telling it you have them when you don't and then get atmos. But it does nothing.

Streaming Devices: Nvidia Shield, 2x Roku 3's, 1st/2nd gen chromecast, ATV4k, Apple TV 4, xbox 360/one
Displays: Vizio M602i-B3, LG OLED65B6, panasonic ax100u on a 145" S-I-L-V-E-R painted screen, 40" Samsung
Receivers: Denon X3300, Yamaha RX-V663. Bluray/UHD player: Oppo UDP-203
archer75 is offline  
post #461 of 1935 Old 06-20-2018, 06:22 AM
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 622
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 460 Post(s)
Liked: 398
Quote:
Originally Posted by archer75 View Post
You need to have atmos speakers or it does nothing really. You can sometimes fake out the receiver by telling it you have them when you don't and then get atmos. But it does nothing.


.....Other than divert sound to speakers which aren’t present in your setup. Definitely not recommended


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Andrew Stirling is online now  
post #462 of 1935 Old 06-20-2018, 06:40 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 2
For those that have gotten Infuse to pass Atmos - what is set up / settings?

- are you streaming directly from a connected NAS or through a Plex Server?
- are you doing auto or pass through on Audio? (i believe passthrough remains non-functional)

Any other tips will be helpful. All the Atmos movies I try to stream display Atmos on my receiver (Denon) but there is no audio except a tiny bit of base if I max out the volume.

Atmos does work on Vudu - I have nothing with iTunes as of last night but that may change with time.
Patrick Corrado is offline  
post #463 of 1935 Old 06-20-2018, 07:13 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
bodosom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Niagara Frontier
Posts: 9,190
Mentioned: 54 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1834 Post(s)
Liked: 1384
Quote:
Originally Posted by Patrick Corrado View Post
For those that have gotten Infuse to pass Atmos - what is set up / settings?
The message about Infuse was quoted from the Firecore forum. At this point in time you will probably have better luck there.

I might type 2K for 1080p.
UDP-203/ATV4K(6,2)/X3500/LG C8
bodosom is online now  
post #464 of 1935 Old 06-20-2018, 07:23 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Southern California
Posts: 2,299
Mentioned: 41 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1553 Post(s)
Liked: 865
Quote:
Originally Posted by bodosom View Post
The message about Infuse was quoted from the Firecore forum. At this point in time you will probably have better luck there.


See post #438 here for the quote.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

Mike
Sony XBR-65X930E | ATV4K-64GB & 32GB 5th Gen | Nvidia Shield TV Pro 2017 | Logitech Harmony Elite
m_snow is online now  
post #465 of 1935 Old 06-20-2018, 07:24 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
archer75's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Oregon
Posts: 2,514
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 689 Post(s)
Liked: 332
Quote:
Originally Posted by Patrick Corrado View Post
For those that have gotten Infuse to pass Atmos - what is set up / settings?

- are you streaming directly from a connected NAS or through a Plex Server?
- are you doing auto or pass through on Audio? (i believe passthrough remains non-functional)

Any other tips will be helpful. All the Atmos movies I try to stream display Atmos on my receiver (Denon) but there is no audio except a tiny bit of base if I max out the volume.

Atmos does work on Vudu - I have nothing with iTunes as of last night but that may change with time.

Here's the link to the discussion:
https://firecore.com/forum/topic/20983?page=3

Streaming Devices: Nvidia Shield, 2x Roku 3's, 1st/2nd gen chromecast, ATV4k, Apple TV 4, xbox 360/one
Displays: Vizio M602i-B3, LG OLED65B6, panasonic ax100u on a 145" S-I-L-V-E-R painted screen, 40" Samsung
Receivers: Denon X3300, Yamaha RX-V663. Bluray/UHD player: Oppo UDP-203
archer75 is offline  
post #466 of 1935 Old 06-20-2018, 07:24 AM
Advanced Member
 
stuart628's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Almost Heaven West Virginia
Posts: 767
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 88 Post(s)
Liked: 36
okay Can anyone confirm that atmos will play with a 1080p display in the mix...on my roku and vudu they have tied atmos to the UHD stream ONLY..is this different with the apple tv 4k and itunes (and well you can try vudu but I suspect I know the answer there already). I have a atmos sound system and a 1080p projector...so if someone would check and confirm I will gladly give you a high five or a like on here your choice!
stuart628 is offline  
post #467 of 1935 Old 06-20-2018, 07:32 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
bodosom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Niagara Frontier
Posts: 9,190
Mentioned: 54 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1834 Post(s)
Liked: 1384
Quote:
Originally Posted by stuart628 View Post
Can anyone confirm that atmos will play with a 1080p display in the mix
Atmos is currently range and resolution independent.

I might type 2K for 1080p.
UDP-203/ATV4K(6,2)/X3500/LG C8
bodosom is online now  
post #468 of 1935 Old 06-20-2018, 07:55 AM
Member
 
kabraal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 78
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 27 Post(s)
Liked: 21
I don't have a atmos setup yet but might consider some upgrades if this update delivers.

As a start however , I do hope this tvOS upgrade in general increases to audio quality experience on atv all round, even when streaming non atmos
africanlivedit likes this.
kabraal is offline  
post #469 of 1935 Old 06-20-2018, 07:58 AM
Advanced Member
 
stuart628's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Almost Heaven West Virginia
Posts: 767
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 88 Post(s)
Liked: 36
Quote:
Originally Posted by bodosom View Post
Atmos is currently range and resolution independent.
so you are confirming that atmos will play on the apple tv with a 1080p display? I need to be sure as I know atmos in the world isnt tied to resolution..but companies like vudu and I dont know about apple have tied to it a 4k stream only...I just want to be sure before I invest in apple tv for my theater, thank you.
stuart628 is offline  
post #470 of 1935 Old 06-20-2018, 08:12 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
bodosom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Niagara Frontier
Posts: 9,190
Mentioned: 54 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1834 Post(s)
Liked: 1384
Quote:
Originally Posted by stuart628 View Post
so you are confirming that atmos will play on the apple tv with a 1080p display?
Atmos currently (tvOS 12b2) works with iTunes and Vudu with resolution forced to 1080p SDR or HDR. However you should wait until tvOS 12 is released if you want to be sure about the apps you use.

I might type 2K for 1080p.
UDP-203/ATV4K(6,2)/X3500/LG C8
bodosom is online now  
post #471 of 1935 Old 06-20-2018, 08:14 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
archer75's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Oregon
Posts: 2,514
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 689 Post(s)
Liked: 332
Quote:
Originally Posted by stuart628 View Post
so you are confirming that atmos will play on the apple tv with a 1080p display? I need to be sure as I know atmos in the world isnt tied to resolution..but companies like vudu and I dont know about apple have tied to it a 4k stream only...I just want to be sure before I invest in apple tv for my theater, thank you.

I don't know how the ATV does it but I have on other devices played a 4k movie on a 1080p projector and gotten atmos or DTS:X from it and it plays fine. This is for my local content.

If you're deciding where to spend money my opinion is not on atmos. HDR is the game changer.

Streaming Devices: Nvidia Shield, 2x Roku 3's, 1st/2nd gen chromecast, ATV4k, Apple TV 4, xbox 360/one
Displays: Vizio M602i-B3, LG OLED65B6, panasonic ax100u on a 145" S-I-L-V-E-R painted screen, 40" Samsung
Receivers: Denon X3300, Yamaha RX-V663. Bluray/UHD player: Oppo UDP-203
archer75 is offline  
post #472 of 1935 Old 06-20-2018, 11:03 AM
Advanced Member
 
markmanner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: Tennessee
Posts: 544
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 345 Post(s)
Liked: 294
Quote:
Originally Posted by bodosom View Post
This is encouraging -- has Vudu announced Atmos on the ATV? I'm seeing 14Mb video and 577Kb audio on Jumanji and The Last Jedi.
I didn't see an announcement, just tried it to see. They may have sent something out about it.

System
Spoiler!
markmanner is offline  
post #473 of 1935 Old 06-20-2018, 11:39 AM
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Posts: 761
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 508 Post(s)
Liked: 379
Quote:
Originally Posted by bodosom View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by markmanner View Post
I just tested VUDU on my ATV 4K, and it too is now playing ATMOS
This is encouraging -- has Vudu announced Atmos on the ATV? I'm seeing 14Mb video and 577Kb audio on Jumanji and The Last Jedi.
Thank you for sharing. Will be interested in Vudu/iTunes comparison numbers from similar movies at a future time.
Skunkbeard is offline  
post #474 of 1935 Old 06-20-2018, 12:33 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Brian Hampton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Posts: 8,913
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1290 Post(s)
Liked: 755
Well,

I don't know anything about ATMOS yet but I started looking into it. Atmos enabled speakers aren't required if you arrange traditional speakers in certain configurations (from what I can tell... seems atmos enabled speakers have up firing drivers).... So, from what I have read (which isn't much) I can re arrange my 7.2 system by putting my side surrounds on the ceiling.... chances are this is the only configuration my AVR (Denon 73oh) will work with anyways...

But, hey,... I have to read more and stuff.... .don't freak out if I have it wrong for now... Since I'm not going to pay for the developer membership I have time to sort this stuff out.
Brian Hampton is offline  
post #475 of 1935 Old 06-20-2018, 12:50 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
archer75's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Oregon
Posts: 2,514
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 689 Post(s)
Liked: 332
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brian Hampton View Post
Well,

I don't know anything about ATMOS yet but I started looking into it. Atmos enabled speakers aren't required if you arrange traditional speakers in certain configurations (from what I can tell... seems atmos enabled speakers have up firing drivers).... So, from what I have read (which isn't much) I can re arrange my 7.2 system by putting my side surrounds on the ceiling.... chances are this is the only configuration my AVR (Denon 73oh) will work with anyways...

But, hey,... I have to read more and stuff.... .don't freak out if I have it wrong for now... Since I'm not going to pay for the developer membership I have time to sort this stuff out.
Correct. There really aren't "atmos" speakers in that they're different. They're just speakers. Nothing more special than their shape and design for being mounted in different ways. Some speakers are designed to be placed on your front speakers but point up at the ceiling in such a way that the sound could bounce back to you. Some are side speakers used in a 7.1 setup but also have top mounted speakers on those to accomplish the same thing. These type of speakers work ok but are no replacement for true ceiling mounted speakers.

When I bought this house it was being built in 2004 so I had them run wires in the ceiling from speaker locations to where i'd put the receiver. This was long before atmos was even a thing and i've always had large bookshelf speakers mounted on the ceiling. Similar to what you'd see in a movie theater for surrounds, just with ceiling mounts pointing to the primary listening position.

When I got an atmos receiver I just assigned the 2 side speakers in my 7.1 setup as 2 atmos speakers which gave me a 5.1.2 setup. I may take the rear speakers down from the ceiling and put them on stands but then I have to run the wires down from the ceiling to them and it just adds some clutter to the family room. But we'll see.

Upstairs in my other theater I just bought some bookshelf speakers and mounted them on the front wall up at the ceiling as the denon showed it was an acceptable location. It works ok.

If you want to add more confusion read up on DTS:X which is the DTS equivalent of atmos.
m_snow likes this.

Streaming Devices: Nvidia Shield, 2x Roku 3's, 1st/2nd gen chromecast, ATV4k, Apple TV 4, xbox 360/one
Displays: Vizio M602i-B3, LG OLED65B6, panasonic ax100u on a 145" S-I-L-V-E-R painted screen, 40" Samsung
Receivers: Denon X3300, Yamaha RX-V663. Bluray/UHD player: Oppo UDP-203

Last edited by archer75; 06-20-2018 at 12:56 PM.
archer75 is offline  
post #476 of 1935 Old 06-20-2018, 02:13 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Southern California
Posts: 2,299
Mentioned: 41 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1553 Post(s)
Liked: 865
Quote:
Originally Posted by archer75 View Post
Correct. There really aren't "atmos" speakers in that they're different. They're just speakers. Nothing more special than their shape and design for being mounted in different ways. Some speakers are designed to be placed on your front speakers but point up at the ceiling in such a way that the sound could bounce back to you. Some are side speakers used in a 7.1 setup but also have top mounted speakers on those to accomplish the same thing. These type of speakers work ok but are no replacement for true ceiling mounted speakers.

When I bought this house it was being built in 2004 so I had them run wires in the ceiling from speaker locations to where i'd put the receiver. This was long before atmos was even a thing and i've always had large bookshelf speakers mounted on the ceiling. Similar to what you'd see in a movie theater for surrounds, just with ceiling mounts pointing to the primary listening position.

When I got an atmos receiver I just assigned the 2 side speakers in my 7.1 setup as 2 atmos speakers which gave me a 5.1.2 setup. I may take the rear speakers down from the ceiling and put them on stands but then I have to run the wires down from the ceiling to them and it just adds some clutter to the family room. But we'll see.

Upstairs in my other theater I just bought some bookshelf speakers and mounted them on the front wall up at the ceiling as the denon showed it was an acceptable location. It works ok.

If you want to add more confusion read up on DTS:X which is the DTS equivalent of atmos.


Which of those two (DTS:X or Atmos) are the more widely adopted standard by content providers? My wife HATES big ole speakers, wires and subwoofers, are there good sound bar options for this? What about wireless (eg Sonos, Bose)?


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

Mike
Sony XBR-65X930E | ATV4K-64GB & 32GB 5th Gen | Nvidia Shield TV Pro 2017 | Logitech Harmony Elite
m_snow is online now  
post #477 of 1935 Old 06-20-2018, 02:32 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
archer75's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Oregon
Posts: 2,514
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 689 Post(s)
Liked: 332
Quote:
Originally Posted by m_snow View Post
Which of those two (DTS:X or Atmos) are the more widely adopted standard by content providers? My wife HATES big ole speakers, wires and subwoofers, are there good sound bar options for this? What about wireless (eg Sonos, Bose)?


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

DTS:X isn't used for streaming at all and I haven't seen it on many discs. Atmos is the clear winner in this regard.


There are atmos sound bars. The cheap ones are completely useless. The very expensive ones have tons of little speakers in the main bar and attempt to bounce sound off a variety of surfaces to create surround sound. They can't come close to replacing a true receiver and multiple speaker system. In my opinion of course. I did have a 5.1 soundbar setup but got rid of it. Useless.

There just is no good replacement for big ole speakers. IMO.

For my upstairs theater I bought what were some well reviewed small bookshelf speakers. Many reviews said they were the best for their size and price. The energy take classics. I then bought some bookshelf polk audio speakers to use for heights(black friday deal). It sounds just....ok. Probably fine for a lot of people. It just can't come close to my main theater.
I have heard a bose HT system which is ok for small rooms. I have heard 2 apple homepods in stereo for theater but that was just anemic and sad. They say the homepods sound better than sonos but I haven't heard sonos to compare. I do believe sonos just came out with a soundbar for home theater.
My opinion is get the biggest speakers you can get away with and hide the wires as best you can.
It's important enough for me that I would cut holes in drywall and pull up the carpet to route wires. But it may not be that important for others.
m_snow likes this.

Streaming Devices: Nvidia Shield, 2x Roku 3's, 1st/2nd gen chromecast, ATV4k, Apple TV 4, xbox 360/one
Displays: Vizio M602i-B3, LG OLED65B6, panasonic ax100u on a 145" S-I-L-V-E-R painted screen, 40" Samsung
Receivers: Denon X3300, Yamaha RX-V663. Bluray/UHD player: Oppo UDP-203

Last edited by archer75; 06-20-2018 at 02:36 PM.
archer75 is offline  
post #478 of 1935 Old 06-20-2018, 02:33 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Balthazar2k4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Colorado
Posts: 1,270
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 711 Post(s)
Liked: 804
Quote:
Originally Posted by m_snow View Post
Which of those two (DTS:X or Atmos) are the more widely adopted standard by content providers? My wife HATES big ole speakers, wires and subwoofers, are there good sound bar options for this? What about wireless (eg Sonos, Bose)?


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
Dolby Atmos is much more prevalent in the UHD space. Pretty much exclusive in streaming and has the majority of titles on 4K BD. As for soundbar, I use the Sony HTS-5000 in my bedroom. It is a bit pricey, but supports both Dolby Atmos and DTS:X and comes with a wireless sub.
Balthazar2k4 is offline  
post #479 of 1935 Old 06-20-2018, 02:45 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Southern California
Posts: 2,299
Mentioned: 41 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1553 Post(s)
Liked: 865
Apple TV tvOS public beta releases

Quote:
Originally Posted by Balthazar2k4 View Post
Dolby Atmos is much more prevalent in the UHD space. Pretty much exclusive in streaming and has the majority of titles on 4K BD. As for soundbar, I use the Sony HTS-5000 in my bedroom. It is a bit pricey, but supports both Dolby Atmos and DTS:X and comes with a wireless sub.


Thanks @archer75 very helpful.
@Balthazar2k4 - The Sony HTS-5000 is in my price range and looks good but it may have to be wall mounted in my setup due to its height. It would cover the IR of my Sony TV and my wife only uses the OEM remote.

SUBWOOFER SIZE (W X H X D)
9.76x15.87x16.77

Anyway, I’ll do more research.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

Mike
Sony XBR-65X930E | ATV4K-64GB & 32GB 5th Gen | Nvidia Shield TV Pro 2017 | Logitech Harmony Elite
m_snow is online now  
post #480 of 1935 Old 06-20-2018, 02:48 PM
Senior Member
 
R8ders2K's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Sunnyvale, CA, USA
Posts: 455
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 156 Post(s)
Liked: 145
Quote:
Originally Posted by Andrew Stirling View Post
Do you have atmos or height speakers?
I have a 5.1.2 with front heights.

Sony XBR-75X940E
Onkyo TX-NR777
DIRECTV HS17 + C61K
Oppo UDP-203
TV 4K
R8ders2K is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Networking, Media Servers & Content Streaming

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off