Apple TV tvOS public beta releases - Page 30 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 802Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #871 of 2598 Old 07-15-2018, 03:14 PM
Advanced Member
 
jb442386's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Doylestown PA
Posts: 639
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 388 Post(s)
Liked: 296
Heck w/Apple for now. Currently playing 4KHDR including DV & Atmos via the internal app on my Sony A1E. All is well. Take Care All!

Sony55A1E|Oppo 203|Sony Z9F Soundbar|ATV4K
jb442386 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #872 of 2598 Old 07-15-2018, 03:39 PM
** Man of Leisure **
 
AustinJerry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 22,617
Mentioned: 487 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12679 Post(s)
Liked: 7587
Quote:
Originally Posted by jb442386 View Post
Heck w/Apple for now. Currently playing 4KHDR including DV & Atmos via the internal app on my Sony A1E. All is well. Take Care All!
What internal app?
AustinJerry is online now  
post #873 of 2598 Old 07-15-2018, 04:10 PM
Senior Member
 
aohurst's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 371
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 205 Post(s)
Liked: 140
Quote:
Originally Posted by AustinJerry View Post
What internal app?
On my Sony 940E, I get DV and Atmos on internal Vudu app. Also DV in Netflix.

DV only with Vudu via ATV.

ATV4K running beta.

Vudu via internal app sounds WAY better than Vudu on ATV.
aohurst is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #874 of 2598 Old 07-15-2018, 05:36 PM
Advanced Member
 
jb442386's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Doylestown PA
Posts: 639
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 388 Post(s)
Liked: 296
Quote:
Originally Posted by AustinJerry View Post
What internal app?
Via my Sony A1E my friend. DV & Dolby Atmos films play perfectly when enabaling VUDU. Take Care.
AustinJerry likes this.

Sony55A1E|Oppo 203|Sony Z9F Soundbar|ATV4K
jb442386 is offline  
post #875 of 2598 Old 07-16-2018, 06:25 PM
** Man of Leisure **
 
AustinJerry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 22,617
Mentioned: 487 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12679 Post(s)
Liked: 7587
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cheezmo View Post
Not sure if it is the beta or something going on with Netflix, but has anyone else noticed Netflix not recording episodes that you have watched. When I choose a title from "What's Next", I keep getting episodes I've already seen and have to go to the episode list to figure out which one I left off on.
Strange, this issue has started happening to me as well. Turns out you are not crazy after all...
AustinJerry is online now  
post #876 of 2598 Old 07-17-2018, 11:58 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
IMWhizzle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 1,457
Mentioned: 12 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1121 Post(s)
Liked: 371
Public beta 4 is out.

Klipsch Reference Premiere: 4 x RP-280's, 1 x RP 450C, 4x RP-500SA’s and dual R-115W's
Marantz 7011 AVR
LG OLED C9 65 inch
Apple TV 4K
PlayStation Pro
IMWhizzle is online now  
post #877 of 2598 Old 07-17-2018, 01:28 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Southern California
Posts: 3,492
Mentioned: 53 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2287 Post(s)
Liked: 1561
Quote:
Originally Posted by IMWhizzle View Post
Public beta 4 is out.


Although the audio drop bug introduced in beta 3 is still in beta 4 at least it’s acknowledged in the Release Notes. That’s a good thing!


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Mike
Sony XBR-65X930E | ATV4K-64GB & 2-32GB 5th Gens | Nvidia Shield TV Pro 2017 | Nvidia Shield TV Pro 2019 | Logitech Harmony Elite
m_snow is offline  
post #878 of 2598 Old 07-17-2018, 01:29 PM
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 823
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 603 Post(s)
Liked: 602
It’s just the developer beta isn’t it?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Andrew Stirling is offline  
post #879 of 2598 Old 07-17-2018, 01:36 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Southern California
Posts: 3,492
Mentioned: 53 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2287 Post(s)
Liked: 1561
Quote:
Originally Posted by Andrew Stirling View Post
It’s just the developer beta isn’t it?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk


Yes correct. I think @IMWhizzle meant “dev” beta which means public should be avail later today or tomorrow.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Mike
Sony XBR-65X930E | ATV4K-64GB & 2-32GB 5th Gens | Nvidia Shield TV Pro 2017 | Nvidia Shield TV Pro 2019 | Logitech Harmony Elite
m_snow is offline  
post #880 of 2598 Old 07-17-2018, 02:07 PM
Senior Member
 
nihilan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 299
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 115 Post(s)
Liked: 42
Quote:
Originally Posted by m_snow View Post
Although the audio drop bug introduced in beta 3 is still in beta 4 at least it’s acknowledged in the Release Notes. That’s a good thing!


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk


I mean, if you want to set the bar incredibly low, I guess it’s a good thing. ; )




Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
nihilan is offline  
post #881 of 2598 Old 07-17-2018, 02:19 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
IMWhizzle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 1,457
Mentioned: 12 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1121 Post(s)
Liked: 371
Quote:
Originally Posted by m_snow View Post
Yes correct. I think @IMWhizzle meant “dev” beta which means public should be avail later today or tomorrow.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk


Indeed, my apologies!

Klipsch Reference Premiere: 4 x RP-280's, 1 x RP 450C, 4x RP-500SA’s and dual R-115W's
Marantz 7011 AVR
LG OLED C9 65 inch
Apple TV 4K
PlayStation Pro
IMWhizzle is online now  
post #882 of 2598 Old 07-17-2018, 02:34 PM
Senior Member
 
aohurst's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 371
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 205 Post(s)
Liked: 140
Someone with beta 4 see if Atmos has arrived on iTunes
euckersw likes this.
aohurst is offline  
post #883 of 2598 Old 07-17-2018, 02:39 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Southern California
Posts: 3,492
Mentioned: 53 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2287 Post(s)
Liked: 1561
Quote:
Originally Posted by nihilan View Post
I mean, if you want to set the bar incredibly low, I guess it’s a good thing. ; )




Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk


It’s a good thing that it was reported and that they are working on it. I don’t see that as a low bar, it’s what we hope will happen when bugs are reported. Apple is a pretty good tech company when it comes to stuff like this.
I am a beta tester for Nvidia Shield and there are bugs from two years ago still outstanding.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Mike
Sony XBR-65X930E | ATV4K-64GB & 2-32GB 5th Gens | Nvidia Shield TV Pro 2017 | Nvidia Shield TV Pro 2019 | Logitech Harmony Elite
m_snow is offline  
post #884 of 2598 Old 07-17-2018, 02:45 PM
Member
 
inspectorgadjet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 54
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 37 Post(s)
Liked: 42
Quote:
Originally Posted by aohurst View Post
Someone with beta 4 see if Atmos has arrived on iTunes


Atmos arrived for iTunes in beta 2...it was there for a few movies for a few days but then pulled.
inspectorgadjet is offline  
post #885 of 2598 Old 07-17-2018, 03:15 PM
Senior Member
 
aohurst's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 371
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 205 Post(s)
Liked: 140
Yea I missed that window
aohurst is offline  
post #886 of 2598 Old 07-17-2018, 04:18 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Posts: 456
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 268 Post(s)
Liked: 157
"It’s just the developer beta isn’t it?"

You mean someone got confused because information about the developer firmware releases was in the public thread?

Oh never mind.....
Johnson-from-Arizona is online now  
post #887 of 2598 Old 07-17-2018, 04:21 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Southern California
Posts: 3,492
Mentioned: 53 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2287 Post(s)
Liked: 1561
Quote:
Originally Posted by Johnson-from-Arizona View Post
"It’s just the developer beta isn’t it?"



You mean someone got confused because information about the developer firmware releases was in the public thread?



Oh never mind.....


I very much doubt anyone was confused.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

Mike
Sony XBR-65X930E | ATV4K-64GB & 2-32GB 5th Gens | Nvidia Shield TV Pro 2017 | Nvidia Shield TV Pro 2019 | Logitech Harmony Elite
m_snow is offline  
post #888 of 2598 Old 07-17-2018, 04:31 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mutelight's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 3,468
Mentioned: 43 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2386 Post(s)
Liked: 2782
Quote:
Originally Posted by Johnson-from-Arizona View Post
"It’s just the developer beta isn’t it?"

You mean someone got confused because information about the developer firmware releases was in the public thread?

Oh never mind.....
You still the lone guy, beating that drum, repeatedly complaining?

The confusion was because he use the word "public" when they meant "dev". Super complex scenario, I know, try to keep up.
gomo657, kbmb, pearsco and 2 others like this.
mutelight is online now  
post #889 of 2598 Old 07-17-2018, 07:51 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
bodosom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Niagara Frontier
Posts: 10,202
Mentioned: 78 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2497 Post(s)
Liked: 1974
Apple has noted several bugs of interest in 12b3:
  • Audio drops.
  • Check Cable hangs.
  • Full screen video glitches.
  • Menu can prematurely exit an app.
  • Location information not available for Aerials.

I might type 2K for 1080p.
UDP-203/ATV4K(6,2)/X4700H/LG C8
bodosom is offline  
post #890 of 2598 Old 07-17-2018, 08:19 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Southern California
Posts: 3,492
Mentioned: 53 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2287 Post(s)
Liked: 1561
Quote:
Originally Posted by bodosom View Post
Apple has noted several bugs of interest in 12b3:
  • Audio drops.
  • Check Cable hangs.
  • Full screen video glitches.
  • Menu can prematurely exit an app.
  • Location information not available for Aerials.


I reported the first two and was asked to reproduce both and submit sysdiagnose logs last week. Never experienced 3 and 4 and never thought to report the screensaver issue.

What’s a good sign to me is how responsive they are to bug reports.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Mike
Sony XBR-65X930E | ATV4K-64GB & 2-32GB 5th Gens | Nvidia Shield TV Pro 2017 | Nvidia Shield TV Pro 2019 | Logitech Harmony Elite
m_snow is offline  
post #891 of 2598 Old 07-18-2018, 02:07 AM
Advanced Member
 
R8ders2K's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Sunnyvale, CA, USA
Posts: 502
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 179 Post(s)
Liked: 164
Quote:
Originally Posted by aohurst View Post
Yea I missed that window
Didn't miss much...

Sony XBR-75X940E
Onkyo TX-NR797
DIRECTV HS17 + C61K
Oppo UDP-203
TV 4K
R8ders2K is offline  
post #892 of 2598 Old 07-18-2018, 02:09 AM
Advanced Member
 
R8ders2K's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Sunnyvale, CA, USA
Posts: 502
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 179 Post(s)
Liked: 164
Quote:
Originally Posted by DaveFi View Post
I lost the Atmos setting altogether in the settings. Not sure why- Dolby Vision still works. Could have a problem with my Onkyo TX-NR676.
Are you running the most current firmware version on your 676?

Sony XBR-75X940E
Onkyo TX-NR797
DIRECTV HS17 + C61K
Oppo UDP-203
TV 4K
R8ders2K is offline  
post #893 of 2598 Old 07-18-2018, 06:50 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
guitarguy316's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 2,831
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2141 Post(s)
Liked: 823
any improvements to AV sync issues?
guitarguy316 is offline  
post #894 of 2598 Old 07-18-2018, 09:04 AM
Advanced Member
 
R8ders2K's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Sunnyvale, CA, USA
Posts: 502
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 179 Post(s)
Liked: 164
Quote:
Originally Posted by thatJohann View Post
I noticed that titles are already showing up with the Atmos logo on the TV app on iOS. I am on the tvOS 12 beta and it’s been hit or miss finding movies that have Atmos up and running. VUDU seems to be more consistent.

Can anyone check if Ready Player One is playing with Atmos on tvOS 12?




Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
I saw that briefly on my TV 4K last night, but after checking a couple of other movies, it was gone. Didn't see that on my iPhone.

Sony XBR-75X940E
Onkyo TX-NR797
DIRECTV HS17 + C61K
Oppo UDP-203
TV 4K
R8ders2K is offline  
post #895 of 2598 Old 07-18-2018, 10:29 AM
Member
 
Byronic Man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 62
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 32 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Public Beta is downloading for me now.
ggw2000 likes this.
Byronic Man is offline  
post #896 of 2598 Old 07-18-2018, 05:29 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Posts: 456
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 268 Post(s)
Liked: 157
iTUNES really slow for me tonight. Takes forever to load my Library or search in their Store.
Johnson-from-Arizona is online now  
post #897 of 2598 Old 07-18-2018, 06:14 PM
** Man of Leisure **
 
AustinJerry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 22,617
Mentioned: 487 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12679 Post(s)
Liked: 7587
Quote:
Originally Posted by Johnson-from-Arizona View Post
iTUNES really slow for me tonight. Takes forever to load my Library or search in their Store.
Since you have shown to be a stickler for staying on-topic, explain to us how this has anything to do with the ATV beta release.
inspectorgadjet and m_snow like this.
AustinJerry is online now  
post #898 of 2598 Old 07-18-2018, 06:16 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
drewTT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Newport Beach, CA
Posts: 5,052
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2403 Post(s)
Liked: 2729
Do the latest beta releases include new aerial screensavers that also tell you the location?
drewTT is offline  
post #899 of 2598 Old 07-19-2018, 04:45 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 69
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 45 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by drewTT View Post
Do the latest beta releases include new aerial screensavers that also tell you the location?


Unless there is a setting I am missing, I am not seeing location info yet on aerials in the beta that was just released.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro

Main: YouTubeTV -> Apple TV 4k -> Anthem MRX 720 (5.1.2 DTS:Neural X) <-> Sony 65A1E
Den: Apple TV -> Pioneer Kuro PDP-5010FD

DTS beats Dolby.
purduelion is offline  
post #900 of 2598 Old 07-19-2018, 06:24 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Southern California
Posts: 3,492
Mentioned: 53 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2287 Post(s)
Liked: 1561
Quote:
Originally Posted by drewTT View Post
Do the latest beta releases include new aerial screensavers that also tell you the location?


Mine says “Passing Downtown Los Angeles” on one of them.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

Mike
Sony XBR-65X930E | ATV4K-64GB & 2-32GB 5th Gens | Nvidia Shield TV Pro 2017 | Nvidia Shield TV Pro 2019 | Logitech Harmony Elite
m_snow is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Networking, Media Servers & Content Streaming

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off