Apple TV tvOS public beta releases - Page 5 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 803Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #121 of 2599 Old 02-21-2018, 05:18 PM
Advanced Member
 
leonmckee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Bend, Oregon
Posts: 857
Mentioned: 16 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 517 Post(s)
Liked: 618
Quote:
Originally Posted by family_guy View Post
I understand that. What I meant was if you force standard HDR instead of Dolby Vision, are you really getting a native HDR10 encoding, or is Apple just converting the Dolby Vision stream to their own blend of HDR.
2018 will be a transition year

Leon McKee

LR: XBR-65X930E | ATV4K-64GB 5th Gen | UBP-X700 | URC MX-890 | SoundTouch 300 | Luminoodle Bias Lighting
MBR: KDL-65W850A | ATV4K-64GB 5th Gen | URC MX-890 | Luminoodle Bias Lighting
4K HDR/DV Chains: ATV4K/UBP-X700>3ft Monoprice Certified Premium Cables>65X930E
Computing, Truck & Communication Devices: Proud Apple Customer Since 1979
leonmckee is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #122 of 2599 Old 02-21-2018, 06:41 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
gadgtfreek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Bama
Posts: 12,398
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 634 Post(s)
Liked: 6191
I'm using the ATV4K with an A1E that's calibrated, and in DV mode I use Expert 1 color, which is mapped over from the SDR Cinema Pro cal.

I don't use the internal app, but I thought Altered Carbon, Punisher and Mindhunter looked very good. I also rented It Chapter One in DV after watching the UHD disc this weekend, and it looked great too.
daimler2015 likes this.

XBR65A9G / XBR65A8F / 55R615
X800M2 / Dune HD Pro 4K
AVRX6500H / RP-8000F / RP-504C / RP-502S / RP-500SA / FV15HP (5.1.2)
gadgtfreek is offline  
post #123 of 2599 Old 02-21-2018, 08:07 PM
Advanced Member
 
dominica's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 638
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 194 Post(s)
Liked: 191
Quote:
Originally Posted by kbmb View Post
Some notes on a quick test of 11.3b3.

- Vudu playback has been fixed. Playback starts normally now (although still seems a bit slower to get started) - and playback "resume" works again (doesn't restart from the beginning).

- The DV on Netflix is still muted on the ATV compared to the Sony built-in Netflix app. Tested again with "A Futile and Stupid Gesture". Intro red Netflix text muted, white text is greyish, cheerleaders uniforms are muted. I double checked and I have the same settings for both the HDMI3 and the built-in apps for the Dolby Vision mode.
Thanks for the reports and testing of the ATV on the Sony TV using DV vs the built in apps. Hopefully a fix soon..
dominica is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #124 of 2599 Old 02-21-2018, 09:10 PM
Advanced Member
 
leonmckee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Bend, Oregon
Posts: 857
Mentioned: 16 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 517 Post(s)
Liked: 618
Quote:
Originally Posted by family_guy View Post
I immediately went to the DV beta so I've never experienced it otherwise. I have forced HDR10 on the ATV to check, and it does seem a bit dimmer there as well. I don't know if it's something Apple is doing. Like if you force HDR10, is Apple taking the Dolby Vision encoding and converting that to standard HDR10? If so maybe that's the difference, since maybe it's not native HDR10 and it's just Apple's interpretation of it. For example the DV movies that Vudu released a year ago, have no mechanism to convert down to HDR10. Your TV has to support Dolby Vision or your out of luck. Now Vudu supports both versions, but I'm guessing they are sending two different streams according to what your device is capable of. They aren't converting it like Apple is probably doing. I could be wrong though. I also unfortunately can't directly compare Vudu to iTunes on the same device.
I actually understand what you're saying and there's some open questions at the moment! I'll personally have more clarity when 11.3+ is stable, Sony releases their DV update for the Sony X700 and then Sony finally pushes a final DV update to all their eligible sets around the world. I think that when the X700 gets DV it's Vudu app will also stream HDR/DV. Maybe then Vudu on the ATV4K will also get the upgrade and on and on! Sometime during 2018 we can all compare Apples to Apples etc...

Leon McKee

LR: XBR-65X930E | ATV4K-64GB 5th Gen | UBP-X700 | URC MX-890 | SoundTouch 300 | Luminoodle Bias Lighting
MBR: KDL-65W850A | ATV4K-64GB 5th Gen | URC MX-890 | Luminoodle Bias Lighting
4K HDR/DV Chains: ATV4K/UBP-X700>3ft Monoprice Certified Premium Cables>65X930E
Computing, Truck & Communication Devices: Proud Apple Customer Since 1979
leonmckee is online now  
post #125 of 2599 Old 02-22-2018, 06:06 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
bodosom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Niagara Frontier
Posts: 10,204
Mentioned: 78 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2498 Post(s)
Liked: 1977
I'm seeing inconsistent Prime Video library badging between production and b3. Beyond that, content in an HDR category might not be individually marked as HDR. E.g. Bosch S2 might or might not be DV or even HDR. Likewise The Expanse S1 might or might not be HDR. These are preliminary results but they suggest that Amazon is even worse than I thought.

I might type 2K for 1080p.
UDP-203/ATV4K(6,2)/X4700H/LG C8
bodosom is online now  
post #126 of 2599 Old 02-22-2018, 06:27 AM
Advanced Member
 
met_fan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Easthampton, MA
Posts: 619
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 147 Post(s)
Liked: 83
Quote:
Originally Posted by dominica View Post
Thanks for the reports and testing of the ATV on the Sony TV using DV vs the built in apps. Hopefully a fix soon..


Are these reports of DV being dark on the Apple TV all referring specifically to Sony TVs, or also on others such as the LGs?
met_fan is offline  
post #127 of 2599 Old 02-22-2018, 06:57 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Southern California
Posts: 3,492
Mentioned: 53 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2287 Post(s)
Liked: 1561
Quote:
Originally Posted by met_fan View Post
Are these reports of DV being dark on the Apple TV all referring specifically to Sony TVs, or also on others such as the LGs?
Sony with ATV4K beta firmware.

Mike
Sony XBR-65X930E | ATV4K-64GB & 2-32GB 5th Gens | Nvidia Shield TV Pro 2017 | Nvidia Shield TV Pro 2019 | Logitech Harmony Elite
m_snow is offline  
post #128 of 2599 Old 02-22-2018, 06:57 AM
Advanced Member
 
leonmckee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Bend, Oregon
Posts: 857
Mentioned: 16 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 517 Post(s)
Liked: 618
Quote:
Originally Posted by bodosom View Post
I'm seeing inconsistent Prime Video library badging between production and b3. Beyond that, content in an HDR category might not be individually marked as HDR. E.g. Bosch S2 might or might not be DV or even HDR. Likewise The Expanse S1 might or might not be HDR. These are preliminary results but they suggest that Amazon is even worse than I thought.
I concur!

Leon McKee

LR: XBR-65X930E | ATV4K-64GB 5th Gen | UBP-X700 | URC MX-890 | SoundTouch 300 | Luminoodle Bias Lighting
MBR: KDL-65W850A | ATV4K-64GB 5th Gen | URC MX-890 | Luminoodle Bias Lighting
4K HDR/DV Chains: ATV4K/UBP-X700>3ft Monoprice Certified Premium Cables>65X930E
Computing, Truck & Communication Devices: Proud Apple Customer Since 1979
leonmckee is online now  
post #129 of 2599 Old 02-22-2018, 07:00 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Southern California
Posts: 3,492
Mentioned: 53 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2287 Post(s)
Liked: 1561
Quote:
Originally Posted by bodosom View Post
I'm seeing inconsistent Prime Video library badging between production and b3. Beyond that, content in an HDR category might not be individually marked as HDR. E.g. Bosch S2 might or might not be DV or even HDR. Likewise The Expanse S1 might or might not be HDR. These are preliminary results but they suggest that Amazon is even worse than I thought.
Agree. Amazon Prime on ATV4K needs work.

Mike
Sony XBR-65X930E | ATV4K-64GB & 2-32GB 5th Gens | Nvidia Shield TV Pro 2017 | Nvidia Shield TV Pro 2019 | Logitech Harmony Elite
m_snow is offline  
post #130 of 2599 Old 02-22-2018, 07:47 AM
rlb
AVS Forum Special Member
 
rlb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: OH
Posts: 6,264
Mentioned: 61 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2290 Post(s)
Liked: 1936
New Public Beta is available for download.

Sony XBR75Z9D, Samsung 65F9000 , Yamaha CX-A5200 & Outlaw 770, Harmony Elite
Samsung K8500, OPPO 103-D, Genie 2 and C61Ks, Roku Ultra, ATV4K, FireTV Stick 4K, and Nvidia Shield TV Pro
rlb is offline  
post #131 of 2599 Old 02-22-2018, 07:50 AM
Advanced Member
 
leonmckee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Bend, Oregon
Posts: 857
Mentioned: 16 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 517 Post(s)
Liked: 618
Quote:
Originally Posted by rlb View Post
New Public Beta is available for download.
Are you referring to 11.3 (15L51816e)? If so then that's the update that was pushed out yesterday.

Leon McKee
rlb likes this.

LR: XBR-65X930E | ATV4K-64GB 5th Gen | UBP-X700 | URC MX-890 | SoundTouch 300 | Luminoodle Bias Lighting
MBR: KDL-65W850A | ATV4K-64GB 5th Gen | URC MX-890 | Luminoodle Bias Lighting
4K HDR/DV Chains: ATV4K/UBP-X700>3ft Monoprice Certified Premium Cables>65X930E
Computing, Truck & Communication Devices: Proud Apple Customer Since 1979
leonmckee is online now  
post #132 of 2599 Old 02-22-2018, 08:04 AM
rlb
AVS Forum Special Member
 
rlb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: OH
Posts: 6,264
Mentioned: 61 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2290 Post(s)
Liked: 1936
Quote:
Originally Posted by leonmckee View Post
Are you referring to 11.3 (15L51816e)? If so then that's the update that was pushed out yesterday.

Leon McKee
Thanks. When I tried yesterday, it said I had the current software. I thought everyone referring to "16e" was referring to the developer's beta. So, when it was available today, I thought it had just been released. Oh well, I'm 74 and knew that eventually I would make the first mistake in my life. :-)

Sony XBR75Z9D, Samsung 65F9000 , Yamaha CX-A5200 & Outlaw 770, Harmony Elite
Samsung K8500, OPPO 103-D, Genie 2 and C61Ks, Roku Ultra, ATV4K, FireTV Stick 4K, and Nvidia Shield TV Pro
rlb is offline  
post #133 of 2599 Old 02-22-2018, 11:47 AM
Senior Member
 
Rabid1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Bend, OR
Posts: 221
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by rlb View Post
Oh well, I'm 74 and knew that eventually I would make the first mistake in my life. :-)
Wow! It didn't take me NEAR that long!
rlb, leonmckee and daimler2015 like this.
Rabid1 is offline  
post #134 of 2599 Old 02-22-2018, 06:51 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Posts: 55
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 41 Post(s)
Liked: 18
So strange. My Apple TV 4K tonight started having trouble playing DV content. Doesn’t matter if it’s from Netflix or iTunes. Tried Altered Carbon, Mindhunter, Punisher and get an error code -11848 “A problem occurred while playing this item”. iTunes movies Logan Lucky, Princess Bride, The Dark Knight give “An error occurred loading this content”. But Ghostbusters and Arrival worked fine. So strange.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro
mpvrana is offline  
post #135 of 2599 Old 02-22-2018, 06:58 PM
 
jsmiddleton4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Glendale, AZ
Posts: 4,945
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1038 Post(s)
Liked: 374
This is the beta fw thread yes?
jsmiddleton4 is offline  
post #136 of 2599 Old 02-22-2018, 06:58 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Southern California
Posts: 3,492
Mentioned: 53 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2287 Post(s)
Liked: 1561
Quote:
Originally Posted by mpvrana View Post
So strange. My Apple TV 4K tonight started having trouble playing DV content. Doesn’t matter if it’s from Netflix or iTunes. Tried Altered Carbon, Mindhunter, Punisher and get an error code -11848 “A problem occurred while playing this item”. iTunes movies Logan Lucky, Princess Bride, The Dark Knight give “An error occurred loading this content”. But Ghostbusters and Arrival worked fine. So strange.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro
Another problem is in the iTunes movie database. “Some” movies that me and others had bought in HD that were upgraded per Apple’s policy, were downgraded today from 4K HDR or DV to SD. This is probably just a glitch but check your libraries; the description and badging and see what format it’s actually playing at.

Mike
Sony XBR-65X930E | ATV4K-64GB & 2-32GB 5th Gens | Nvidia Shield TV Pro 2017 | Nvidia Shield TV Pro 2019 | Logitech Harmony Elite
m_snow is offline  
post #137 of 2599 Old 02-22-2018, 07:01 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Posts: 55
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 41 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by m_snow View Post
Another problem is in the iTunes movie database. “Some” movies that me and others had bought in HD that were upgraded per Apple’s policy, were downgraded today from 4K HDR or DV to SD. This is probably just a glitch but check your libraries; the description and badging and see what format it’s actually playing at.


Well the movies won’t play at all, let’s alone in the wrong format. And that this happens with Netflix and iTunes movies is doubly weird.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro
mpvrana is offline  
post #138 of 2599 Old 02-22-2018, 07:02 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Southern California
Posts: 3,492
Mentioned: 53 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2287 Post(s)
Liked: 1561
Quote:
Originally Posted by jsmiddleton4 View Post
This is the beta fw thread yes?
Yeah, OT. Apologies.

Mike
Sony XBR-65X930E | ATV4K-64GB & 2-32GB 5th Gens | Nvidia Shield TV Pro 2017 | Nvidia Shield TV Pro 2019 | Logitech Harmony Elite
m_snow is offline  
post #139 of 2599 Old 02-22-2018, 07:06 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Posts: 55
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 41 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Well, if I set the default video to Dolbyvision, the content plays again.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro
mpvrana is offline  
post #140 of 2599 Old 02-22-2018, 07:06 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
bodosom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Niagara Frontier
Posts: 10,204
Mentioned: 78 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2498 Post(s)
Liked: 1977
Quote:
Originally Posted by mpvrana View Post
Well the movies won’t play at all
And you're running the current public beta software or not?

I might type 2K for 1080p.
UDP-203/ATV4K(6,2)/X4700H/LG C8
bodosom is online now  
post #141 of 2599 Old 02-22-2018, 07:13 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Posts: 55
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 41 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by bodosom View Post
And you're running the current public beta software or not?


Yes. Current beta. But setting the default video mode to DolbyVision (even with match range and frame rate still on) seems to have fixed it.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro
mpvrana is offline  
post #142 of 2599 Old 02-22-2018, 07:25 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
bodosom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Niagara Frontier
Posts: 10,204
Mentioned: 78 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2498 Post(s)
Liked: 1977
Quote:
Originally Posted by mpvrana View Post
Yes. Current beta. But setting the default video mode to DolbyVision (even with match range and frame rate still on) seems to have fixed it.
I'd call this a transient (network) fault. DV is working for me.

I might type 2K for 1080p.
UDP-203/ATV4K(6,2)/X4700H/LG C8
bodosom is online now  
post #143 of 2599 Old 02-22-2018, 07:27 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Posts: 55
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 41 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by bodosom View Post
I'd call this a transient (network) fault. DV is working for me.

So something is getting lost when it’s giving the flag to switch to DV you think? And by setting default mode to DV that circumvents the lost ‘flag’?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro
mpvrana is offline  
post #144 of 2599 Old 02-22-2018, 07:39 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
bodosom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Niagara Frontier
Posts: 10,204
Mentioned: 78 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2498 Post(s)
Liked: 1977
Quote:
Originally Posted by mpvrana View Post
So something is getting lost when it’s giving the flag to switch to DV you think?
No, I think you're tripping over transient network or Apple server issue. I've seen errors like this at random times. It's uncommon but not unheard of.

I might type 2K for 1080p.
UDP-203/ATV4K(6,2)/X4700H/LG C8
bodosom is online now  
post #145 of 2599 Old 02-23-2018, 05:49 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Posts: 55
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 41 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by bodosom View Post
No, I think you're tripping over transient network or Apple server issue. I've seen errors like this at random times. It's uncommon but not unheard of.
It's odd that it's affecting both Netflix and iTunes movies though, and only DV ones (though not all DV ones). I'm not sure if it started after applying the latest beta or not. Also, found out this morning that by setting the default video to HDR as well as DV, all content plays just fine.
mpvrana is offline  
post #146 of 2599 Old 02-23-2018, 06:50 AM
Advanced Member
 
leonmckee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Bend, Oregon
Posts: 857
Mentioned: 16 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 517 Post(s)
Liked: 618
Quote:
Originally Posted by mpvrana View Post
It's odd that it's affecting both Netflix and iTunes movies though, and only DV ones (though not all DV ones). I'm not sure if it started after applying the latest beta or not. Also, found out this morning that by setting the default video to HDR as well as DV, all content plays just fine.
After reading your post yesterday I tested my device chains with no issues. Must be something in your chain or a network issue between you and the source.

Leon McKee

LR: XBR-65X930E | ATV4K-64GB 5th Gen | UBP-X700 | URC MX-890 | SoundTouch 300 | Luminoodle Bias Lighting
MBR: KDL-65W850A | ATV4K-64GB 5th Gen | URC MX-890 | Luminoodle Bias Lighting
4K HDR/DV Chains: ATV4K/UBP-X700>3ft Monoprice Certified Premium Cables>65X930E
Computing, Truck & Communication Devices: Proud Apple Customer Since 1979
leonmckee is online now  
post #147 of 2599 Old 02-23-2018, 06:55 AM
Advanced Member
 
leonmckee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Bend, Oregon
Posts: 857
Mentioned: 16 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 517 Post(s)
Liked: 618
Quote:
Originally Posted by mpvrana View Post
It's odd that it's affecting both Netflix and iTunes movies though, and only DV ones (though not all DV ones). I'm not sure if it started after applying the latest beta or not. Also, found out this morning that by setting the default video to HDR as well as DV, all content plays just fine.
Hardwired or wireless?

Your device chain?

What service level of access do you have?

Pic of the error on the screen?

Leon McKee

LR: XBR-65X930E | ATV4K-64GB 5th Gen | UBP-X700 | URC MX-890 | SoundTouch 300 | Luminoodle Bias Lighting
MBR: KDL-65W850A | ATV4K-64GB 5th Gen | URC MX-890 | Luminoodle Bias Lighting
4K HDR/DV Chains: ATV4K/UBP-X700>3ft Monoprice Certified Premium Cables>65X930E
Computing, Truck & Communication Devices: Proud Apple Customer Since 1979
leonmckee is online now  
post #148 of 2599 Old 02-23-2018, 06:58 AM
Senior Member
 
amblinfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Altoona, PA
Posts: 370
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 276 Post(s)
Liked: 133
Ok unless it was a late night fog i was in but I THINK it may be fixed or close to it. After updating and rebooting i played a bunch of content from Netflix/Itunes (Stranger Things 2, Altered Carbon, Blade Runner 2049, Justice League) and compared them to HDR10 luminance levels on Roku on Vudu and found them to be strikingly similar I THINK. I'm confident something is going right as in Blade Runner 2049 it used to be a washed out flat mess during the "orange scenes" with Harrison Ford. There was no contrast and no blacks. Now it has depth and clearly something is being altered. Not sure it's all the way there yet but it's certainly watchable. It's ever so slightly dimmer than the HDR10 Roku Vudu feed but it could be just my weary eyes. Anyways, progress appears to be being made.
leonmckee likes this.

LIVING ROOM - Sony XBR65Z9D; Anthem MRX-720; ATI 1805 amp; Triad Silver 5.1.2 Atmos; Triad Silver InRoom Sub; SVS SB3000 sub; Oppo 203; AppleTV4k; Roku Ultra; Panamax M5400PM; Control4 HC800
UPSTAIRS LIVING - Sony XBR65X930E; Sony STRZA2100ES; Sonance SB46L 3.0; Triad InRoom SlimSub; Sony UBPX800; AppleTV4k; Roku Premiere; Panamax M5300PM; Control4 EA1
amblinfan is offline  
post #149 of 2599 Old 02-23-2018, 07:00 AM
Senior Member
 
amblinfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Altoona, PA
Posts: 370
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 276 Post(s)
Liked: 133
I have the issue with some Dolby Vision movies on iTunes not working (BvS, Bad Boys, Batman Begins) while some others work (Atomic Blonde, Blade Runner 2049, Justice League). I have 650 movies in the iTunes library so i wasn't about to test them all but i've had this problem since the beta began even with HDR10 stuff on my 930D. Oh well, sure it will get worked out....hopefully.

LIVING ROOM - Sony XBR65Z9D; Anthem MRX-720; ATI 1805 amp; Triad Silver 5.1.2 Atmos; Triad Silver InRoom Sub; SVS SB3000 sub; Oppo 203; AppleTV4k; Roku Ultra; Panamax M5400PM; Control4 HC800
UPSTAIRS LIVING - Sony XBR65X930E; Sony STRZA2100ES; Sonance SB46L 3.0; Triad InRoom SlimSub; Sony UBPX800; AppleTV4k; Roku Premiere; Panamax M5300PM; Control4 EA1
amblinfan is offline  
post #150 of 2599 Old 02-23-2018, 08:02 AM
Advanced Member
 
leonmckee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Bend, Oregon
Posts: 857
Mentioned: 16 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 517 Post(s)
Liked: 618
Quote:
Originally Posted by amblinfan View Post
I have the issue with some Dolby Vision movies on iTunes not working (BvS, Bad Boys, Batman Begins) while some others work (Atomic Blonde, Blade Runner 2049, Justice League). I have 650 movies in the iTunes library so i wasn't about to test them all but i've had this problem since the beta began even with HDR10 stuff on my 930D. Oh well, sure it will get worked out....hopefully.
Try moving your ATV4K to another device chain and see what happens? A friend's house maybe?

I know there's reported issues with iTunes streaming right now and I've also seen some weird stuff over the last few months. However, if you're not able to constantly stream specific titles then that's a new one for me.

Leon McKee

LR: XBR-65X930E | ATV4K-64GB 5th Gen | UBP-X700 | URC MX-890 | SoundTouch 300 | Luminoodle Bias Lighting
MBR: KDL-65W850A | ATV4K-64GB 5th Gen | URC MX-890 | Luminoodle Bias Lighting
4K HDR/DV Chains: ATV4K/UBP-X700>3ft Monoprice Certified Premium Cables>65X930E
Computing, Truck & Communication Devices: Proud Apple Customer Since 1979

Last edited by leonmckee; 02-23-2018 at 08:07 AM.
leonmckee is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Networking, Media Servers & Content Streaming

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off