Apple TV tvOS public beta releases - Page 75 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 733Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #2221 of 2387 Old 08-14-2019, 01:15 PM
Advanced Member
 
Soundizer17's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 880
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 735 Post(s)
Liked: 163
Talking

Quote:
Originally Posted by rsonnens View Post
You do know you need to report bugs to Apple for that million dollars. ;-p
Yes I do it frequently. Even if it is a small bug.
Soundizer17 is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2222 of 2387 Old 08-15-2019, 01:07 PM
Member
 
jim2942's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Hillsboro, OR
Posts: 67
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 31 Post(s)
Liked: 55
tvOS 13 Public Beta 6 (17J5557a) has been released today... downloading now
jim2942 is offline  
post #2223 of 2387 Old 08-15-2019, 01:23 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
bodosom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Niagara Frontier
Posts: 9,590
Mentioned: 60 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2084 Post(s)
Liked: 1627
Quote:
Originally Posted by jim2942 View Post
tvOS 13 Public Beta 6 (17J5557a) has been released today... downloading now
This appears to be coincident with tvOS 13 beta 7 (17J5557a) and the other b7 updates.

I might type 2K for 1080p.
UDP-203/ATV4K(6,2)/X3500/LG C8
bodosom is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2224 of 2387 Old 08-15-2019, 01:30 PM
Member
 
jim2942's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Hillsboro, OR
Posts: 67
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 31 Post(s)
Liked: 55
Yes, it's the same... Developer beta 1 was never released as a public beta. If it causes confusion I can change.
jim2942 is offline  
post #2225 of 2387 Old 08-15-2019, 01:38 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
bodosom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Niagara Frontier
Posts: 9,590
Mentioned: 60 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2084 Post(s)
Liked: 1627
Quote:
Originally Posted by jim2942 View Post
Yes, it's the same... Developer beta 1 was never released as a public beta. If it causes confusion I can change.
No, although I don't know why Apple blogs say "public beta", my point was Apple pushed b7 to both channels at the same time. Things are finishing up.
jim2942 likes this.

I might type 2K for 1080p.
UDP-203/ATV4K(6,2)/X3500/LG C8
bodosom is online now  
post #2226 of 2387 Old 08-15-2019, 02:49 PM
** Man of Leisure **
 
AustinJerry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 20,849
Mentioned: 389 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11295 Post(s)
Liked: 6700
After updating to this latest beta, I went back and re-played the first couple of minutes of several episodes of Glow, which were having audio dropouts when I first played them. There were no audio dropouts this time around. Perhaps whatever I was experiencing has been fixed with this version.
AustinJerry is online now  
post #2227 of 2387 Old 08-15-2019, 03:06 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
william06's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: South central Pennsylvania
Posts: 3,244
Mentioned: 19 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 878 Post(s)
Liked: 491
I have tried several prime hdr and dv original programs and no luck. But Jack Ryan played in atmos. Went.

Lg oled65G7P
Panasonic UB9000 pioneer lx500
atv4k -roku ultra
Toshiba Xa2 HD-DVD
Samsung HW-N950 soundbar
william06 is online now  
post #2228 of 2387 Old 08-15-2019, 03:48 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
william06's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: South central Pennsylvania
Posts: 3,244
Mentioned: 19 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 878 Post(s)
Liked: 491
Also I went into my movie collection and the natural was the first to play in hdr then tried captain marvel and it started to play with audio description and I couldn’t stop that now everything I play has audio description so I deleted the app reinstalled and all ok till I played capt marvel. About to give up on the prime app on atv. No issues elsewhere.

Lg oled65G7P
Panasonic UB9000 pioneer lx500
atv4k -roku ultra
Toshiba Xa2 HD-DVD
Samsung HW-N950 soundbar
william06 is online now  
post #2229 of 2387 Old 08-16-2019, 04:00 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Posts: 373
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 226 Post(s)
Liked: 113
Play and Pause not working right again. This was a problem before, seemed to be fixed. Now on this beta I have to exit out of pause and hit play again to resume.

Which is exactly the way this thing manifested itself before.
Johnson-from-Arizona is offline  
post #2230 of 2387 Old 08-16-2019, 06:51 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Southern California
Posts: 2,580
Mentioned: 44 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1711 Post(s)
Liked: 1007
Quote:
Originally Posted by Johnson-from-Arizona View Post
Play and Pause not working right again. This was a problem before, seemed to be fixed. Now on this beta I have to exit out of pause and hit play again to resume.



Which is exactly the way this thing manifested itself before.


How do you “exit out of pause”? I hit play to exit from a paused state to play which is the way it should work right?


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

Mike
Sony XBR-65X930E | ATV4K-64GB & 32GB 5th Gen | Nvidia Shield TV Pro 2017 | Logitech Harmony Elite
m_snow is online now  
post #2231 of 2387 Old 08-17-2019, 09:37 AM
Senior Member
 
BdoUK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Louisville, KY
Posts: 397
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 42 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Latest beta is causing a lot of stuttering with 4K HDR .mkv flies while viewing through Infuse. Never had this issue prior to this beta.

Anyone else seeing this?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
BdoUK is offline  
post #2232 of 2387 Old 08-17-2019, 04:35 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Southern California
Posts: 2,580
Mentioned: 44 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1711 Post(s)
Liked: 1007
Quote:
Originally Posted by BdoUK View Post
Latest beta is causing a lot of stuttering with 4K HDR .mkv flies while viewing through Infuse. Never had this issue prior to this beta.

Anyone else seeing this?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk


No, not any problems at all with Infuse and large 4K/HDR files. I’m using a Plex Server to connect to.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

Mike
Sony XBR-65X930E | ATV4K-64GB & 32GB 5th Gen | Nvidia Shield TV Pro 2017 | Logitech Harmony Elite
m_snow is online now  
post #2233 of 2387 Old 08-17-2019, 05:29 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Posts: 199
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 139 Post(s)
Liked: 42
Can someone please tell me what the best output picture settings to use on the Apple tv 4k? I have the TCL R617 55" connected to my tv so what would be the best picture settings? Would this be the best?

Format SDR-4K
HDMI Output YCbCr
Chroma 4:4:4
Match Content Range and Frame rate

Now I just switched to the following setting for sh*ts and giggles

Format 4k HDR
Chroma 4:2:2
Match Content Range and Frame Rate

So does it really matter which format I pick as long as the Match Content is on?
Also for the HDMI Output is YCbCr the setting you wanna use when in SDR-4k? Cause I have read that RGB is only selected or used for games and not movies since I wont be gaming on the AppleTv 4k.

Anyone help me put here?
Thanks
Scottt1174 is offline  
post #2234 of 2387 Old 08-17-2019, 06:11 PM
Senior Member
 
DarenG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 439
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 185 Post(s)
Liked: 107
Anyone else getting audio dropouts on Netflix? Only happening on Netflix for me. Was trying to watch Another Life. Was annoying!!!!
DarenG is offline  
post #2235 of 2387 Old 08-17-2019, 06:18 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
bodosom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Niagara Frontier
Posts: 9,590
Mentioned: 60 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2084 Post(s)
Liked: 1627
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scottt1174 View Post
Can someone please tell me what the best output picture settings to use on the Apple tv 4k?
See the main thread (this is the beta thread): https://www.avsforum.com/forum/39-ne...l#post19221719

I might type 2K for 1080p.
UDP-203/ATV4K(6,2)/X3500/LG C8
bodosom is online now  
post #2236 of 2387 Old 08-17-2019, 07:50 PM
Member
 
avtoronto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: Toronto. Canada
Posts: 197
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 156 Post(s)
Liked: 58
Quote:
Originally Posted by DarenG View Post
Anyone else getting audio dropouts on Netflix? Only happening on Netflix for me. Was trying to watch Another Life. Was annoying!!!!
I had experienced this before on Netflix but different content and posted on the forum. I watched some of “Another Life” last night after downloading latest beta and there were no audio dropouts. God, I wish this series was better...

Elunevision 4K 112" Audioweave motorized screen, Epson Pro Cinema 4040 projector, Emotiva XPA-5 amplifier, Denon AVR X4400h receiver, XTZ M6 LCR, XTZ S5 surround, XTZ 1X12 and Definitive Technology Powerfield subwoofers, RSL C34E Atmos speakers, Apple TV 4K, Panasonic DP-UB820
avtoronto is offline  
post #2237 of 2387 Old 08-17-2019, 08:55 PM
** Man of Leisure **
 
AustinJerry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 20,849
Mentioned: 389 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11295 Post(s)
Liked: 6700
Quote:
Originally Posted by DarenG View Post
Anyone else getting audio dropouts on Netflix? Only happening on Netflix for me. Was trying to watch Another Life. Was annoying!!!!
I posted several times last week about getting 2-3 second audio dropouts when viewing episodes of Glow. There were 4-5 dropouts at the beginning of each episode, and then things would settle down for the remainder of the show. I noticed this issue starting with the previous beta version, but since installing the latest beta, I have not had any more audio issues. I even went back and re-played several of the Glow episodes, and no dropouts anymore. I think it is fixed now.

BTW, rather than watching “Another Life”, get a life...
Adamg (Ret-Navy) likes this.
AustinJerry is online now  
post #2238 of 2387 Old 08-18-2019, 01:45 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
lujan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 8,969
Mentioned: 40 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4585 Post(s)
Liked: 2660
Quote:
Originally Posted by DarenG View Post
Anyone else getting audio dropouts on Netflix? Only happening on Netflix for me. Was trying to watch Another Life. Was annoying!!!!
Quote:
Originally Posted by avtoronto View Post
I had experienced this before on Netflix but different content and posted on the forum. I watched some of “Another Life” last night after downloading latest beta and there were no audio dropouts. God, I wish this series was better...
I'm also on the latest beta and I watched episode 5 of "Another Life". No dropouts and I'm enjoying it, especially the video quality. It's the best I've seen from a Netflix 4k HDR series.

lujan
559 Ultra HD
721 HD
4 SD
lujan is offline  
post #2239 of 2387 Old 08-18-2019, 02:29 AM
Advanced Member
 
Soundizer17's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 880
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 735 Post(s)
Liked: 163
Dolby Digital 5.1 - do you have to select this setting

If AppleTV4k is connected to AV RECEIVER/SOUNDBAR will it output Dolby Digital Plus if Audio settings are left at “Auto/Atmos’, or do you have to manually change to ‘Dolby 5.1’.

Unless i change it manually to ‘Dolby 5.1’ in settings my Soundbar will only play PCM.

Please advise as I will return my Soundbar, unless it is a known issue with the AppleTV4k.

Thank you
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	239BAE2A-492A-4E93-96C9-EF69E31FCD28.jpg
Views:	33
Size:	106.3 KB
ID:	2604184  

Last edited by Soundizer17; 08-18-2019 at 02:39 AM.
Soundizer17 is online now  
post #2240 of 2387 Old 08-18-2019, 03:05 AM
Senior Member
 
DarenG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 439
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 185 Post(s)
Liked: 107
Quote:
Originally Posted by lujan View Post
I'm also on the latest beta and I watched episode 5 of "Another Life". No dropouts and I'm enjoying it, especially the video quality. It's the best I've seen from a Netflix 4k HDR series.


Weird. It’s happened consistently on Netflix since the last release. I have tried resetting the unit, deleting the app and reloading it. Nothing works and the problem didn’t exist before the last release.

I have tried everything. Again, it’s only Netflix.
DarenG is offline  
post #2241 of 2387 Old 08-18-2019, 07:20 AM
Advanced Member
 
Soundizer17's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 880
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 735 Post(s)
Liked: 163
Is eARC supported on AppleTV4k?
Soundizer17 is online now  
post #2242 of 2387 Old 08-18-2019, 08:21 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
lujan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 8,969
Mentioned: 40 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4585 Post(s)
Liked: 2660
Quote:
Originally Posted by Soundizer17 View Post
Is eARC supported on AppleTV4k?
No

lujan
559 Ultra HD
721 HD
4 SD
lujan is offline  
post #2243 of 2387 Old 08-18-2019, 09:09 AM
Senior Member
 
ggrossen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: london
Posts: 268
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 175 Post(s)
Liked: 114
Hi - anyone noticed any issues with Siri on Youtube searches recently using the latest beta. Used to ok before - now I just get a blue circle in the search box. I tried Youtube on my C9 with GoogleAssistant and that works fine - George

LG C9 | NAD T777v3 | NAD M25 | Monitor Audio Platinum PL100 II | Monitor Audio Platinum PLC150 II | 6 Monitor Gold GXFX | JL Audio F212v2 | Virgin v6 | Pioneer LX 500 4k Blu-Ray | Apple TV 4k | Linn Sondek LP12
ggrossen is online now  
post #2244 of 2387 Old 08-18-2019, 10:32 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
lujan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 8,969
Mentioned: 40 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4585 Post(s)
Liked: 2660
Siri has been sluggish ever since I installed beta 13. Sometimes I have to press the "microphone" button a few times before it recognizes it. Once Siri does come up, it is very sluggish to do the commands.

lujan
559 Ultra HD
721 HD
4 SD
lujan is offline  
post #2245 of 2387 Old 08-18-2019, 12:33 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mutelight's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 3,289
Mentioned: 40 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2240 Post(s)
Liked: 2528
Quote:
Originally Posted by Soundizer17 View Post
If AppleTV4k is connected to AV RECEIVER/SOUNDBAR will it output Dolby Digital Plus if Audio settings are left at “Auto/Atmos’, or do you have to manually change to ‘Dolby 5.1’.

Unless i change it manually to ‘Dolby 5.1’ in settings my Soundbar will only play PCM.

Please advise as I will return my Soundbar, unless it is a known issue with the AppleTV4k.

Thank you
The Apple TV uses PCM for its audio output. It does the decoding internally and passes it via PCM and Atmos is PCM Dolby MAT 2.0.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Soundizer17 View Post
Is eARC supported on AppleTV4k?
Source devices do not have a the concept of eARC (or ARC period), TVs and receivers do.
Soundizer17 likes this.
mutelight is online now  
post #2246 of 2387 Old 08-18-2019, 01:28 PM
Advanced Member
 
Soundizer17's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 880
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 735 Post(s)
Liked: 163
Quote:
Originally Posted by mutelight View Post
The Apple TV uses PCM for its audio output. It does the decoding internally and passes it via PCM and Atmos is PCM Dolby MAT 2.0.



Source devices do not have a the concept of eARC (or ARC period), TVs and receivers do.
I see ‘Dolby TRUE HD ATMOS’ on my Soundbar App for Atmos content, but only PCM 2 Channel for DD5.1/PLUS.

Is this right or issue with Soundbar?
Soundizer17 is online now  
post #2247 of 2387 Old 08-18-2019, 09:34 PM
Member
 
tornesmock@comca's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 53
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 25 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Soundizer17 View Post
I see ‘Dolby TRUE HD ATMOS’ on my Soundbar App for Atmos content, but only PCM 2 Channel for DD5.1/PLUS.
With ATV4K and Sony Soundbar HT-ST5000:

ATV ATMOS content - on Soundbar .....Atmos
ATV 5.1/+ content - on Soundbar .......5.1 (5.1+)

Note: If I want to override ATMOS - to receive 5.1/+ audio on SB —-Is to change ATV Audio format to 5.1 (There are occasions we just want 5.1)

Something seems awry on your setup.
Soundizer17 likes this.
[email protected] is offline  
post #2248 of 2387 Old 08-20-2019, 01:39 AM
Advanced Member
 
Soundizer17's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 880
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 735 Post(s)
Liked: 163
Quote:
Originally Posted by [email protected] View Post
With ATV4K and Sony Soundbar HT-ST5000:

ATV ATMOS content - on Soundbar .....Atmos
ATV 5.1/+ content - on Soundbar .......5.1 (5.1+)

Note: If I want to override ATMOS - to receive 5.1/+ audio on SB —-Is to change ATV Audio format to 5.1 (There are occasions we just want 5.1)

Something seems awry on your setup.
I don’t understand.

‘ATV 5.1/+ content - on Soundbar .......5.1 (5.1+)’

This is connected directly to Soundbar?
5.1 ‘PCM’ or ‘5.1 DD?’
Soundizer17 is online now  
post #2249 of 2387 Old 08-21-2019, 10:27 AM
Member
 
tornesmock@comca's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 53
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 25 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Soundizer17 View Post
I don’t understand.

‘ATV 5.1/+ content - on Soundbar .......5.1 (5.1+)’

This is connected directly to Soundbar?
5.1 ‘PCM’ or ‘5.1 DD?’
I thought I’d post a quick reply about what I am experiencing: Which I thought addressed... what you were seeking on your set-up.

However, I do not have the same SB as you, so added info...to indicate that our set-ups were different.

Sorry for the confusion...

[email protected] is offline  
post #2250 of 2387 Old 08-21-2019, 10:43 AM
Member
 
tornesmock@comca's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 53
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 25 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Further clarification:

If I am playing a 5.1 source from ATV4K: Soundbar plays 5.1
However, if ATV4K Source 5.1+: Soundbar plays 5.1+
[email protected] is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Networking, Media Servers & Content Streaming

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off