Apple TV tvOS public beta releases - Page 76 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 756Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #2251 of 2448 Old 08-21-2019, 10:08 PM
Senior Member
 
DarenG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 440
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 185 Post(s)
Liked: 107
Another thing I have noticed is that Apple TV keeps asking me to authorize it to join my home over and over.

No matter how many times I add it it doesn’t matter.
[email protected] likes this.
DarenG is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2252 of 2448 Old 08-22-2019, 08:40 AM
** Man of Leisure **
 
AustinJerry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 21,517
Mentioned: 427 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11812 Post(s)
Liked: 7001
Quote:
Originally Posted by DarenG View Post
Another thing I have noticed is that Apple TV keeps asking me to authorize it to join my home over and over.

No matter how many times I add it it doesn’t matter.
This has been extensively discussed, including a solution that I presented that resolves the issue.
AustinJerry is offline  
post #2253 of 2448 Old 08-22-2019, 10:22 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Posts: 389
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 234 Post(s)
Liked: 116
Yes it has been discussed multiple times. Also multiple times its been pointed out your "fix" is not a permanent fix.

Apple needs to get this thing out of the code. Its both annoying and pointless.
[email protected] likes this.
Johnson-from-Arizona is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2254 of 2448 Old 08-22-2019, 11:07 AM
** Man of Leisure **
 
AustinJerry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 21,517
Mentioned: 427 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11812 Post(s)
Liked: 7001
Quote:
Originally Posted by Johnson-from-Arizona View Post
Yes it has been discussed multiple times. Also multiple times its been pointed out your "fix" is not a permanent fix.

Apple needs to get this thing out of the code. Its both annoying and pointless.
The fix I described has been a “permanent fix” from my perspective, meaning that the warning has not re-appeared for me. I am aware that fixes like this might not be consistent across all setups but thought it was worth mentioning.
[email protected] likes this.
AustinJerry is offline  
post #2255 of 2448 Old 08-22-2019, 06:39 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Posts: 73
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 53 Post(s)
Liked: 28
Anybody else has weird gray artifacts appearing in the lower parts of the screen (especially in the lower black bar) of Dolby Vision Netflix content since the last beta update? It’s like some parts of the screen are flickering between gray and black really quickly. It doesn’t happen with Apple DV movies. Only with Netflix.

Edit: And also with Apple HDR movies, but to a much lesser extent. It’s almost like the old HDR flicker bug is back in some ways.
Damien Inferno likes this.

Last edited by ForecastV; 08-23-2019 at 10:07 PM.
ForecastV is offline  
post #2256 of 2448 Old 08-27-2019, 03:11 PM
Member
 
-griffy-'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 193
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 158 Post(s)
Liked: 122
Quote:
Originally Posted by ForecastV View Post
Anybody else has weird gray artifacts appearing in the lower parts of the screen (especially in the lower black bar) of Dolby Vision Netflix content since the last beta update? It’s like some parts of the screen are flickering between gray and black really quickly. It doesn’t happen with Apple DV movies. Only with Netflix.

Edit: And also with Apple HDR movies, but to a much lesser extent. It’s almost like the old HDR flicker bug is back in some ways.
Definitely noticed it watching season 2 of Mindhunter. It's like there are compression artifacts/macro blocking in the black bars. I assumed it was just a messed up encode of that specific show.
Damien Inferno likes this.
-griffy- is online now  
post #2257 of 2448 Old 08-28-2019, 11:05 AM
Member
 
jim2942's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Hillsboro, OR
Posts: 78
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 36 Post(s)
Liked: 70
tvOS 13 Public Beta 7 (17J5564C) released today... downloading now
Brian Hampton likes this.
jim2942 is offline  
post #2258 of 2448 Old 08-28-2019, 12:30 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
drewTT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Newport Beach, CA
Posts: 4,851
Mentioned: 12 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2270 Post(s)
Liked: 2461
Been getting some weird stuttering when browsing Netflix.

LG OLED65E8 | Plinius Hiato | Dynaudio Contour 20 | Dynaudio Stand 6 | REL S/510 | PS Audio DirectStream | Furman IT-Reference 15i | roon
Panasonic DP-UB9000 | Synology DS916+ | Apple TV 4K | BDI Mirage | NEEO | Focal Shape 40 | iFi Pro iDSD | iFi Pro iRack | iFi AC iPurifier
drewTT is offline  
post #2259 of 2448 Old 08-28-2019, 04:14 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
rsonnens's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 1,743
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 811 Post(s)
Liked: 606
Quote:
Originally Posted by drewTT View Post
Been getting some weird stuttering when browsing Netflix.


I’ve always had that issue on and off specifically with Netflix browsing and I’m using non beta. Periodically I need to kill the app.
rsonnens is online now  
post #2260 of 2448 Old 08-28-2019, 05:12 PM
** Man of Leisure **
 
AustinJerry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 21,517
Mentioned: 427 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11812 Post(s)
Liked: 7001
Quote:
Originally Posted by jim2942 View Post
tvOS 13 Public Beta 7 (17J5564C) released today... downloading now
I was prompted with a message when I turned the ATV on, notifying me that a SW update was available. I don’t remember receiving such a prompt before. Is this new behavior, and did others see the prompt?
AustinJerry is offline  
post #2261 of 2448 Old 08-28-2019, 07:29 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Southern California
Posts: 3,115
Mentioned: 50 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2055 Post(s)
Liked: 1316
Quote:
Originally Posted by AustinJerry View Post
I was prompted with a message when I turned the ATV on, notifying me that a SW update was available. I don’t remember receiving such a prompt before. Is this new behavior, and did others see the prompt?


Yes, I get them but not 100% of the time. They’re not new.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
AustinJerry likes this.

Mike
Sony XBR-65X930E | ATV4K-64GB & 2-32GB 5th Gens | Nvidia Shield TV Pro 2017 | Nvidia Shield TV Pro 2019 | Logitech Harmony Elite
m_snow is online now  
post #2262 of 2448 Old 08-29-2019, 01:32 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Cheezmo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 1999
Location: Plano, TX
Posts: 2,122
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 430 Post(s)
Liked: 308
Quote:
Originally Posted by AustinJerry View Post
I was prompted with a message when I turned the ATV on, notifying me that a SW update was available. I don’t remember receiving such a prompt before. Is this new behavior, and did others see the prompt?
Not new and extremely annoying if you don't want to update. They pop up daily (if not more often) and eventually you accidentally click it in the process of turning things on and then are subjected to whatever they broke in the new version. :-(
[email protected] likes this.

Steve Martin
former ISF Calibrator
If you can see my pixels, you are sitting too close.
Sony XBR75X940D, Sony XBR55X930D, Samsung UBD-K8500, Oppo BDP-103, Oppo BDP-93,
Cheezmo is offline  
post #2263 of 2448 Old 08-29-2019, 03:35 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Brian Hampton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Posts: 9,359
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1548 Post(s)
Liked: 975
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cheezmo View Post
Not new and extremely annoying if you don't want to update. They pop up daily (if not more often) and eventually you accidentally click it in the process of turning things on and then are subjected to whatever they broke in the new version. :-(
Well,... Beta testing is optional. You could stop beta testing.

Personally I like it. So I have the beta on my phone and my watch and my ATV.

I beta tested Windows and survived so I think I'm capable of anything.
[email protected] likes this.
Brian Hampton is online now  
post #2264 of 2448 Old 08-29-2019, 04:02 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
lujan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 9,357
Mentioned: 44 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4893 Post(s)
Liked: 2892
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brian Hampton View Post
Well,... Beta testing is optional. You could stop beta testing.

Personally I like it. So I have the beta on my phone and my watch and my ATV.

I beta tested Windows and survived so I think I'm capable of anything.
Yes, I have the beta on one iPad and on one ATV4K device. I know what you mean about Windows as well. I was one of the first people in my department to test Windows 95. Yes, Windows 95 which was the first Windows OS with the familiar UI.

lujan
610 Ultra HD
723 HD
4 SD
lujan is online now  
post #2265 of 2448 Old 08-29-2019, 04:20 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Cheezmo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 1999
Location: Plano, TX
Posts: 2,122
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 430 Post(s)
Liked: 308
I was speaking in general, not just beta. TVOS 12 has been major headache for me and 13 is going to be even worse (they are breaking 5.1 mp4 audio playback). I will try hard to stay on the older releases but this nagging is sure to foil me.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Brian Hampton View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cheezmo View Post
Not new and extremely annoying if you don't want to update. They pop up daily (if not more often) and eventually you accidentally click it in the process of turning things on and then are subjected to whatever they broke in the new version. :-(
Well,... Beta testing is optional. You could stop beta testing.

Personally I like it. So I have the beta on my phone and my watch and my ATV.

I beta tested Windows and survived so I think I'm capable of anything.
[email protected] likes this.

Steve Martin
former ISF Calibrator
If you can see my pixels, you are sitting too close.
Sony XBR75X940D, Sony XBR55X930D, Samsung UBD-K8500, Oppo BDP-103, Oppo BDP-93,
Cheezmo is offline  
post #2266 of 2448 Old 08-29-2019, 08:39 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Southern California
Posts: 3,115
Mentioned: 50 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2055 Post(s)
Liked: 1316
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brian Hampton View Post
Well,... Beta testing is optional. You could stop beta testing.



Personally I like it. So I have the beta on my phone and my watch and my ATV.



I beta tested Windows and survived so I think I'm capable of anything.


Brian,

I have them on all my devices (except my Mac) too. Without paying attention Tuesday I inadvertently installed 13.1 on my iPhone. I decided to give it a day before I restored back to the latest 13.0 beta but to my surprise it’s much more stable and faster than expected so I’m keeping it. I now have it on my iPad too.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

Mike
Sony XBR-65X930E | ATV4K-64GB & 2-32GB 5th Gens | Nvidia Shield TV Pro 2017 | Nvidia Shield TV Pro 2019 | Logitech Harmony Elite
m_snow is online now  
post #2267 of 2448 Old 08-29-2019, 09:37 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Posts: 73
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 53 Post(s)
Liked: 28
I just watched an Apple HDR movie that has some dark scenes, and the flickering HDR issue is definitely still there. Especially when subtitles are displayed. It’s crazy that this bug is STILL a thing...
ForecastV is offline  
post #2268 of 2448 Old 08-30-2019, 07:41 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Southern California
Posts: 3,115
Mentioned: 50 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2055 Post(s)
Liked: 1316
Quote:
Originally Posted by ForecastV View Post
I just watched an Apple HDR movie that has some dark scenes, and the flickering HDR issue is definitely still there. Especially when subtitles are displayed. It’s crazy that this bug is STILL a thing...


I haven’t seen that on any iTunes movies. What movie and time stamp?


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

Mike
Sony XBR-65X930E | ATV4K-64GB & 2-32GB 5th Gens | Nvidia Shield TV Pro 2017 | Nvidia Shield TV Pro 2019 | Logitech Harmony Elite
m_snow is online now  
post #2269 of 2448 Old 08-30-2019, 07:51 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
bodosom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Niagara Frontier
Posts: 9,984
Mentioned: 74 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2332 Post(s)
Liked: 1849
Quote:
Originally Posted by ForecastV View Post
It’s crazy that this bug is STILL a thing...
Or it's specific to a very small number of installations and may be on Apple or on some other part of the video chain.

I might type 2K for 1080p.
UDP-203/ATV4K(6,2)/X3500H/LG C8
bodosom is online now  
post #2270 of 2448 Old 08-30-2019, 11:49 AM
Member
 
midknight4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 172
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 99 Post(s)
Liked: 67
I’ve lost Atmos on this beta, no option for it at all in settings
midknight4 is offline  
post #2271 of 2448 Old 08-30-2019, 12:26 PM
** Man of Leisure **
 
AustinJerry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 21,517
Mentioned: 427 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11812 Post(s)
Liked: 7001
Quote:
Originally Posted by midknight4 View Post
I’ve lost Atmos on this beta, no option for it at all in settings
Dolby Atmos is still showing as a setting under Audio Format on my ATV.
AustinJerry is offline  
post #2272 of 2448 Old 08-30-2019, 04:47 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Posts: 73
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 53 Post(s)
Liked: 28
Quote:
Originally Posted by m_snow View Post
I haven’t seen that on any iTunes movies. What movie and time stamp?


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
I was watching the movie IT (2017). It’s in any scenes where it’s very dark, but I particularly noticed it when everybody is in the monster’s lair towards the end (around 1:53:00). From what I saw, subtitles need to be enabled to get the flickering effect (each time the subtitles appear on screen). And I was playing the movie in HDR, NOT in DV.

Edit: Also, I’m positive it wasn’t doing it before the last two beta updates. I started seeing this issue when playing movies in HDR10 not with the last update from a few days ago, but with the one before it. I think it might be worst with the latest update, though.


Quote:
Originally Posted by bodosom View Post
Or it's specific to a very small number of installations and may be on Apple or on some other part of the video chain.
My installation is pretty simple, though. The Apple TV 4K is directly connected to my Sony x930e.

Last edited by ForecastV; 08-30-2019 at 05:13 PM.
ForecastV is offline  
post #2273 of 2448 Old 08-30-2019, 06:59 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
bodosom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Niagara Frontier
Posts: 9,984
Mentioned: 74 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2332 Post(s)
Liked: 1849
Quote:
Originally Posted by ForecastV View Post
From what I saw, subtitles need to be enabled to get the flickering effect (each time the subtitles appear on screen). And I was playing the movie in HDR, NOT in DV.
And you aren't having this issue on your non-beta unit(s)?

I might type 2K for 1080p.
UDP-203/ATV4K(6,2)/X3500H/LG C8
bodosom is online now  
post #2274 of 2448 Old 08-30-2019, 07:22 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Posts: 73
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 53 Post(s)
Liked: 28
Quote:
Originally Posted by bodosom View Post
And you aren't having this issue on your non-beta unit(s)?
Unfortunately, I only have one Apple TV in the house.

And ironically, I entered the public beta earlier this summer to solve the HDR flicker bug that was introduced in tvOS 12 at some point. And the beta did fix it! Until now...

Last edited by ForecastV; 08-30-2019 at 07:31 PM.
ForecastV is offline  
post #2275 of 2448 Old 08-30-2019, 07:58 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
bodosom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Niagara Frontier
Posts: 9,984
Mentioned: 74 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2332 Post(s)
Liked: 1849
Quote:
Originally Posted by ForecastV View Post
Unfortunately, I only have one Apple TV in the house.

And ironically, I entered the public beta earlier this summer to solve the HDR flicker bug that was introduced in tvOS 12 at some point. And the beta did fix it! Until now...
It's possible, however this doesn't seem to be a common complaint and the side-effects of uneven high-contrast content (like sub-titles inserted in the letter-box area) can confuse tone-mapping algorithms. An egregious example of this was the LG C7 with early firmware. LG finally managed to get it down too mildly annoying. It was most obvious with Netflix programming but it could be found in lots of content and was sensitive to picture adjustments.

Unfortunately we don't yet have a Film Maker Mode button to zero out display "contributions".

I might type 2K for 1080p.
UDP-203/ATV4K(6,2)/X3500H/LG C8
bodosom is online now  
post #2276 of 2448 Old 08-30-2019, 09:36 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Posts: 73
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 53 Post(s)
Liked: 28
Quote:
Originally Posted by bodosom View Post
It's possible, however this doesn't seem to be a common complaint and the side-effects of uneven high-contrast content (like sub-titles inserted in the letter-box area) can confuse tone-mapping algorithms. An egregious example of this was the LG C7 with early firmware. LG finally managed to get it down too mildly annoying. It was most obvious with Netflix programming but it could be found in lots of content and was sensitive to picture adjustments.

Unfortunately we don't yet have a Film Maker Mode button to zero out display "contributions".
I would be highly surprised if it was the TV because:

1. It’s exactly the same symptoms as the old HDR flickering issue that was happening with tvOS 12 earlier this summer.
2. It stopped happening during the tvOS 13 public beta (but recently came back)
2. I’ve only ever seen this issue with the Apple TV. Never with any other devices outputting HDR10.
ForecastV is offline  
post #2277 of 2448 Old 08-30-2019, 09:36 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Southern California
Posts: 3,115
Mentioned: 50 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2055 Post(s)
Liked: 1316
Quote:
Originally Posted by bodosom View Post
It's possible, however this doesn't seem to be a common complaint and the side-effects of uneven high-contrast content (like sub-titles inserted in the letter-box area) can confuse tone-mapping algorithms. An egregious example of this was the LG C7 with early firmware. LG finally managed to get it down too mildly annoying. It was most obvious with Netflix programming but it could be found in lots of content and was sensitive to picture adjustments.

Unfortunately we don't yet have a Film Maker Mode button to zero out display "contributions".


I may be conflating issues but didn’t a lot of people complain about flickering of DoVi/HDR movies launched from the new TV App that were fine If viewed via the iTunes Movies app?

F.Y.I. I also have my ATV4K directly connected to my 930E and don’t see this issue on the iTunes movies app.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Mike
Sony XBR-65X930E | ATV4K-64GB & 2-32GB 5th Gens | Nvidia Shield TV Pro 2017 | Nvidia Shield TV Pro 2019 | Logitech Harmony Elite
m_snow is online now  
post #2278 of 2448 Old 08-30-2019, 09:43 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Posts: 73
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 53 Post(s)
Liked: 28
Quote:
Originally Posted by m_snow View Post
I may be conflating issues but didn’t a lot of people complain about flickering of DoVi/HDR movies launched from the new TV App that were fine If viewed via the iTunes Movies app?

F.Y.I. I also have my ATV4K directly connected to my 930E and don’t see this issue on the iTunes movies app.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Yeah, I did some experiments tonight, and it might only be happening when playing some DV movies in HDR10. I usually prefer playing HDR movies in HDR10 instead of DV with the x930e because of the profile 5 implementation I don’t personally like. It might be what triggers the bug. For example, I cannot reproduce the issue with Bohemian Rhapsody (a “true” HDR10 movie), but I can reproduce it with IT (a DV movie).

I’m only using the old iTunes movie app.
ForecastV is offline  
post #2279 of 2448 Old 08-31-2019, 04:34 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Brian Hampton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Posts: 9,359
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1548 Post(s)
Liked: 975
An on the fly conversion is done for HDR10 and it's been problematic before. It caused the picture to drop out every 5 or so minutes on my Sony Projector but Sony themselves found a way around that problem and issued a new FW.

If possible I would try to use the native DV.

Last edited by Brian Hampton; 08-31-2019 at 04:36 AM. Reason: typo
Brian Hampton is online now  
post #2280 of 2448 Old 08-31-2019, 07:41 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
bodosom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Niagara Frontier
Posts: 9,984
Mentioned: 74 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2332 Post(s)
Liked: 1849
Quote:
Originally Posted by m_snow View Post
F.Y.I. I also have my ATV4K directly connected to my 930E and don’t see this issue on the iTunes movies app.
I was unclear. A report of failure or success doesn't mean much unless all conditions are identical. The video performance of current HDR (particularly DoVi) displays can be easily perturbed by minor changes.

Of course as the OP continues to expand on what's actually happening it's becoming clear that odd behavior should be expected. This is another problem with trouble reports: people often neglect to fully describe the video chain and often expect (perhaps reasonably) that doing operation X (say a forced format conversion) won't result in undesirable changes in video quality.

I might type 2K for 1080p.
UDP-203/ATV4K(6,2)/X3500H/LG C8
bodosom is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Networking, Media Servers & Content Streaming

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off