Apple TV tvOS public beta releases - Page 79 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 733Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #2341 of 2388 Old 09-11-2019, 11:47 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Southern California
Posts: 2,600
Mentioned: 44 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1724 Post(s)
Liked: 1016
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scottt1174 View Post
Yeah just got mine. Any notes on what it updated? If anyone has YouTube TV. I am liking the new live tv settings.


What live tv settings? Where? I have YTTV and this new beta fixed an issue where YTTV crashed.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Mike
Sony XBR-65X930E | ATV4K-64GB & 32GB 5th Gen | Nvidia Shield TV Pro 2017 | Logitech Harmony Elite
m_snow is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2342 of 2388 Old 09-11-2019, 11:50 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
william06's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: South central Pennsylvania
Posts: 3,247
Mentioned: 19 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 881 Post(s)
Liked: 491
Quote:
Originally Posted by AustinJerry View Post
What are you saying? That Amazon 4KUHD will not play in 4KUHD mode? If that is what you mean, then I am watching a 4KUHD movie (the Big Sick), and it is playing correctly.
I just did the update just released today since then my atv4k will not play uhd on atv prime app. Restarted pulled plug etc. all my other devices play it fine. Atv4k,roku ultra, fire tv 4k stick, panny ub9000 all but atv4k play prime uhd fine

Lg oled65G7P
Panasonic UB9000 pioneer lx500
atv4k -roku ultra
Toshiba Xa2 HD-DVD
Samsung HW-N950 soundbar
william06 is online now  
post #2343 of 2388 Old 09-11-2019, 12:23 PM
** Man of Leisure **
 
AustinJerry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 20,870
Mentioned: 391 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11309 Post(s)
Liked: 6706
Quote:
Originally Posted by william06 View Post
I just did the update just released today since then my atv4k will not play uhd on atv prime app. Restarted pulled plug etc. all my other devices play it fine. Atv4k,roku ultra, fire tv 4k stick, panny ub9000 all but atv4k play prime uhd fine
Interesting. As I said, Prime UHD4K is playing fine on my ATV4K. Perhaps a setting on yours?
AustinJerry is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2344 of 2388 Old 09-11-2019, 12:31 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Brian Hampton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Posts: 9,263
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1503 Post(s)
Liked: 918
Quote:
Originally Posted by william06 View Post
I just did the update just released today since then my atv4k will not play uhd on atv prime app. Restarted pulled plug etc. all my other devices play it fine. Atv4k,roku ultra, fire tv 4k stick, panny ub9000 all but atv4k play prime uhd fine
I tried watching Carnival Row UHD and got an error saying things were not working.

If you got that type of error then yeah,... that's something that's broken for now.
Brian Hampton is offline  
post #2345 of 2388 Old 09-11-2019, 12:39 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
william06's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: South central Pennsylvania
Posts: 3,247
Mentioned: 19 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 881 Post(s)
Liked: 491
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brian Hampton View Post
I tried watching Carnival Row UHD and got an error saying things were not working.

If you got that type of error then yeah,... that's something that's broken for now.
Definitely messed up I even tried the big sick which someone else was working no dice. I have got to stop rushing into these updates

Lg oled65G7P
Panasonic UB9000 pioneer lx500
atv4k -roku ultra
Toshiba Xa2 HD-DVD
Samsung HW-N950 soundbar
william06 is online now  
post #2346 of 2388 Old 09-11-2019, 04:55 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
bodosom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Niagara Frontier
Posts: 9,604
Mentioned: 62 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2098 Post(s)
Liked: 1635
Quote:
Originally Posted by william06 View Post
Definitely messed up
As suggested it's not a general problem. Carnival Row has the same error using beta and commercial releases while other UHD/HDR content is working with beta and commercial releases.

But I would agree that you should leave the public beta program.
rsonnens and m_snow like this.

I might type 2K for 1080p.
UDP-203/ATV4K(6,2)/X3500/LG C8
bodosom is offline  
post #2347 of 2388 Old 09-12-2019, 05:01 AM
Member
 
tosa68's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 40
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by william06 View Post
Definitely messed up I even tried the big sick which someone else was working no dice. I have got to stop rushing into these updates


Not sure exactly what you’re seeing (or not seeing) when you say it’s not working, so for what it’s worth...

I started getting some error code 5004 message that I’m not sure is an issue due to tvOS Beta, Amazon Prime app, or Amazon Prime server/delivery. But for now I found that if I “Try Again” a few times, it will eventually work. Just pause a second between each “Try Again” try, else if too fast, you’ll end up selecting whatever button ends up in the same spot as Try Again.
tosa68 is offline  
post #2348 of 2388 Old 09-12-2019, 05:14 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Posts: 216
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 150 Post(s)
Liked: 43
Quote:
Originally Posted by m_snow View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scottt1174 View Post
Yeah just got mine. Any notes on what it updated? If anyone has YouTube TV. I am liking the new live tv settings.


What live tv settings? Where? I have YTTV and this new beta fixed an issue where YTTV crashed.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

I meant the YouTube Live TV Grid changed and it looks better.
m_snow likes this.
Scottt1174 is offline  
post #2349 of 2388 Old 09-13-2019, 12:08 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
william06's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: South central Pennsylvania
Posts: 3,247
Mentioned: 19 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 881 Post(s)
Liked: 491
Quote:
Originally Posted by tosa68 View Post
Not sure exactly what you’re seeing (or not seeing) when you say it’s not working, so for what it’s worth...

I started getting some error code 5004 message that I’m not sure is an issue due to tvOS Beta, Amazon Prime app, or Amazon Prime server/delivery. But for now I found that if I “Try Again” a few times, it will eventually work. Just pause a second between each “Try Again” try, else if too fast, you’ll end up selecting whatever button ends up in the same spot as Try Again.
That only worked once for me. I reported the issue to both apple and Amazon no feedback yet. Everything else on the atv4k that I use works fine just have issue with hdr on the prime app. I am sure down the road it will be worked out.

Lg oled65G7P
Panasonic UB9000 pioneer lx500
atv4k -roku ultra
Toshiba Xa2 HD-DVD
Samsung HW-N950 soundbar
william06 is online now  
post #2350 of 2388 Old 09-13-2019, 12:14 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Brian Hampton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Posts: 9,263
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1503 Post(s)
Liked: 918
I believe the non beta of TVOS 13 is due next week.

(Sept 19)
william06 and GregCh like this.
Brian Hampton is offline  
post #2351 of 2388 Old 09-13-2019, 04:08 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
bodosom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Niagara Frontier
Posts: 9,604
Mentioned: 62 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2098 Post(s)
Liked: 1635
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brian Hampton View Post
I believe the non beta of TVOS 13 is due next week. (Sept 19)
Macworld suggests 30-Sep. [Fall Release Dates]
Brian Hampton and hodgjy like this.

I might type 2K for 1080p.
UDP-203/ATV4K(6,2)/X3500/LG C8
bodosom is offline  
post #2352 of 2388 Old 09-13-2019, 05:12 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
rsonnens's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 1,529
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 679 Post(s)
Liked: 514
Quote:
Originally Posted by bodosom View Post
Macworld suggests 30-Sep. [Fall Release Dates]


Yes, rollout this year is very different than prior years. Also, I believe 13.1 is due to ship soon after 13.0.
rsonnens is offline  
post #2353 of 2388 Old 09-13-2019, 06:56 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Southern California
Posts: 2,600
Mentioned: 44 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1724 Post(s)
Liked: 1016
Quote:
Originally Posted by rsonnens View Post
Yes, rollout this year is very different than prior years. Also, I believe 13.1 is due to ship soon after 13.0.


I believe that’s iOS & iPadOS only which has beta 13.1 out now. No tvOS 13.1 betas yet.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

Mike
Sony XBR-65X930E | ATV4K-64GB & 32GB 5th Gen | Nvidia Shield TV Pro 2017 | Logitech Harmony Elite
m_snow is offline  
post #2354 of 2388 Old 09-15-2019, 06:20 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Posts: 373
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 226 Post(s)
Liked: 113
Latest beta going to sleep even while Pandora is playing. Doesn’t “know” its not inactive.

Didn’t have this problem with the last beta.
Johnson-from-Arizona is offline  
post #2355 of 2388 Old 09-15-2019, 07:04 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Posts: 373
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 226 Post(s)
Liked: 113
I’ve had the oddball error message with Amazon too but also ESPN. Some of ESPN’s extended screens, like for search, are wonky too. MLB.TV doing better though.
Johnson-from-Arizona is offline  
post #2356 of 2388 Old 09-18-2019, 09:07 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
william06's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: South central Pennsylvania
Posts: 3,247
Mentioned: 19 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 881 Post(s)
Liked: 491
Just happy to report the issues I was having with prime hdr10 on the atv4k have currently disappeared,all seems to be fixed. Hope the same with those of you who also had issues

Lg oled65G7P
Panasonic UB9000 pioneer lx500
atv4k -roku ultra
Toshiba Xa2 HD-DVD
Samsung HW-N950 soundbar
william06 is online now  
post #2357 of 2388 Old 09-18-2019, 12:06 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Brian Hampton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Posts: 9,263
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1503 Post(s)
Liked: 918
Just DL-ed a new beta.

Didn't seem to change anything. No scuba screen saver or Apple Arcade yet.
jim2942 likes this.
Brian Hampton is offline  
post #2358 of 2388 Old 09-18-2019, 03:28 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
bodosom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Niagara Frontier
Posts: 9,604
Mentioned: 62 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2098 Post(s)
Liked: 1635
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brian Hampton View Post
No ... Apple Arcade yet.
"Now on iPhone. Coming soon to [other computers] ...".

I might type 2K for 1080p.
UDP-203/ATV4K(6,2)/X3500/LG C8
bodosom is offline  
post #2359 of 2388 Old 09-18-2019, 03:44 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Honolulu
Posts: 192
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 52
Amazon prime HDR shows seemed to work normally last night on appTV 4k- I did not download any new Beta last night as all worked normally. I didn't get the alert that i got the previous few nights when trying to access amazon prime HDR shows.
bgrpph is offline  
post #2360 of 2388 Old 09-19-2019, 07:44 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
bodosom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Niagara Frontier
Posts: 9,604
Mentioned: 62 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2098 Post(s)
Liked: 1635
Amazon Issues are Generic

Amazon issues are unlikely to be related to beta releases. Certainly the recent topic of discussion is not only unrelated to ATV beta code it goes beyond the ATV.

I might type 2K for 1080p.
UDP-203/ATV4K(6,2)/X3500/LG C8
bodosom is offline  
post #2361 of 2388 Old 09-20-2019, 02:33 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Southern California
Posts: 2,600
Mentioned: 44 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1724 Post(s)
Liked: 1016
tvOS 13.0 (17J5584a) is now GM.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

Mike
Sony XBR-65X930E | ATV4K-64GB & 32GB 5th Gen | Nvidia Shield TV Pro 2017 | Logitech Harmony Elite
m_snow is offline  
post #2362 of 2388 Old 09-21-2019, 08:12 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Posts: 216
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 150 Post(s)
Liked: 43
Quote:
Originally Posted by m_snow View Post
tvOS 13.0 (17J5584a) is now GM.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
Is TV OS13 live now? If it isn't and I am using the beta will the beta just revert itself to the normal OS13 when it goes live?
Scottt1174 is offline  
post #2363 of 2388 Old 09-21-2019, 08:16 PM
** Man of Leisure **
 
AustinJerry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 20,870
Mentioned: 391 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11309 Post(s)
Liked: 6706
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scottt1174 View Post
Is TV OS13 live now? If it isn't and I am using the beta will the beta just revert itself to the normal OS13 when it goes live?
My understanding is that the final beta code is the same as the "production" release. Someone will correct me if I am wrong.
AustinJerry is offline  
post #2364 of 2388 Old 09-21-2019, 08:50 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
rsonnens's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 1,529
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 679 Post(s)
Liked: 514
Apple TV tvOS public beta releases

Quote:
Originally Posted by AustinJerry View Post
My understanding is that the final beta code is the same as the "production" release. Someone will correct me if I am wrong.


It is until is isn’t. Things can always change at the last minute.

Last edited by rsonnens; 09-21-2019 at 08:58 PM.
rsonnens is offline  
post #2365 of 2388 Old 09-22-2019, 12:50 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
lujan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 9,006
Mentioned: 40 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4607 Post(s)
Liked: 2678
Quote:
Originally Posted by rsonnens View Post
It is until is isn’t. Things can always change at the last minute.
I'm not sure it's really a completed firmware since I still notice that if I watch a TV show on my version 13 ATV4k and then complete the show on my beta 12 ATV4k, the following day the episode will only show as being watched as far as what had been completed on the 13 device. In other words, it doesn't seem to sync with the version 12 ATV4k.

lujan
561 Ultra HD
721 HD
4 SD
lujan is offline  
post #2366 of 2388 Old 09-22-2019, 04:40 AM
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 673
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 498 Post(s)
Liked: 451
I think there will be ongoing incompatibilities between 12 and 13 OS releases. Apparently a lot of iCloud stuff was changed.

The staged roll out has actually been a bit problematic if I’m being honest. Take reminders for example. When using reminders on my phone I get a prompt to upgrade but this breaks compatibility with older devices. Essentially means that I can’t upgrade reminders until Mac OS is released (next month maybe?). I’m also having some issues with shortcuts and Siri. For example, I have a shortcut phrase ‘im going home’ which puts all my heating on however since I’ve upgraded to iOS 13 this has stopped working. My best guess as to why this is, is that my home hub is currently set to my bedroom Apple TV which is still running tvOS 12.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Andrew Stirling is offline  
post #2367 of 2388 Old 09-22-2019, 05:46 AM
** Man of Leisure **
 
AustinJerry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 20,870
Mentioned: 391 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11309 Post(s)
Liked: 6706
Quote:
Originally Posted by rsonnens View Post
It is until is isn’t. Things can always change at the last minute.
If that is so, how can I install the “production” release if I have been participating in the beta program? AFAIK, when I try to do this, I get the message “Your software is up to date” and nothing is installed.
AustinJerry is offline  
post #2368 of 2388 Old 09-22-2019, 05:46 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Southern California
Posts: 2,600
Mentioned: 44 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1724 Post(s)
Liked: 1016
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scottt1174 View Post
Is TV OS13 live now? If it isn't and I am using the beta will the beta just revert itself to the normal OS13 when it goes live?


If you have the final build number I mentioned above it’s GM now. If you don’t want to accidentally get into the next beta you have to remove the beta update option and remove your beta profile if you have one.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
AustinJerry likes this.

Mike
Sony XBR-65X930E | ATV4K-64GB & 32GB 5th Gen | Nvidia Shield TV Pro 2017 | Logitech Harmony Elite
m_snow is offline  
post #2369 of 2388 Old 09-22-2019, 05:54 AM
** Man of Leisure **
 
AustinJerry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 20,870
Mentioned: 391 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11309 Post(s)
Liked: 6706
Quote:
Originally Posted by m_snow View Post
If you have the final build number I mentioned above it’s GM now. If you don’t want to accidentally get into the next beta you have to remove the beta update option and remove your beta profile if you have one.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
Thanks. I was unaware of the removing profile step. I found instructions on how to do this, so will give it a try.

Edit: The instructions I found say to navigate to Settings/General, scroll to the bottom, select Profile, and then delete the beta profile. Problem is, there is no “Profile” at the bottom of the General page in beta 13. Anyone have a way to delete my beta profile?

Last edited by AustinJerry; 09-22-2019 at 07:26 AM.
AustinJerry is offline  
post #2370 of 2388 Old 09-22-2019, 07:57 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
ggw2000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Upstate New York
Posts: 1,512
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 840 Post(s)
Liked: 424
In previous releases I have NOT had to delete any profile.. Just turned off beta updates ( has I have now) and automatic software updates. When the official TVos 13 is released then I just check for updates and install the released new public version. This has worked for me everytime to date..
Gerry

Sony XBR 75X940E - Sony STR-DH790 ATMOS - Sony UBP-X700 UHD BD Player - ATV 4K
ggw2000 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Networking, Media Servers & Content Streaming

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off