Replacemnet for WDTV LiveHub that plays more formats - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 3Likes
  • 1 Post By Sudy Nim
  • 1 Post By giomania
  • 1 Post By TBoneit
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 13 Old 08-02-2018, 06:13 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
TBoneit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 77
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Replacemnet for WDTV LiveHub that plays more formats

Hi
I am interested in a replacement media player for a WDTV LiveHub. It need not have a internal hard drive. The Wd is working, I just want more formats supported.


Wants:
Plays more video formats.

Plays all versions of WMV not just the latest.
Two or more USB3 ports
Does not need Internet connectivity.
Can connect via Ethernet to QNAP external Mirrored drives via a hub.


I am not interested in streaming from websites such as Amazon or Netflix.



Any suggestions, No Amazon devices please. I'm not worried about the price nearly as much as Reliability, Ease of Use, and playing all the currently WD TV supported formats and more. Easy firmware upgrades.

Am I asking to much ?


Many Thanks
Roger
TBoneit is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 13 Old 08-02-2018, 06:21 AM
AVS Forum Club Gold
 
giomania's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Chicago, Illinois
Posts: 4,135
Mentioned: 30 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 827 Post(s)
Liked: 628
Did you see this?

https://www.avsforum.com/forum/39-net...yer-list.html#



Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro

Lumagen Radiance Pro HDR Tone Mapping Guide: Click Here

Lumagen Radiance Pro Setup & Calibration Tips: Click Here

UHD-BD Backup & Playback Guidance Link
giomania is offline  
post #3 of 13 Old 08-02-2018, 10:42 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Canada
Posts: 100
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 60 Post(s)
Liked: 3
Roger, I replaced my WDTV Live Hub with a Shield last November, and haven't looked back (actually, the Hub is still in place, but never gets used any more.)

Like you, I don't stream, but that's only because I'm in Canada, and there is nothing to stream (Netflix and Prime in Canada are nothing like what they are in the U.S.) Well, okay, I stream Hoopla (free from your local library) and live baseball games. But the majority of the use of the Shield is media from my local NAS via Kodi, and I haven't found anything it won't play. But do check Mark's spreadsheet to make sure it covers all your bases.
giomania likes this.
Sudy Nim is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 13 Old 08-09-2018, 04:27 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
TBoneit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 77
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by giomania View Post
Did you see this?

https://www.avsforum.com/forum/39-ne...yer-list.html#



Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro
Hi Thanks for the reply, I had not seen it, I likely missed it I appreciate the reply Thanks Roger
TBoneit is offline  
post #5 of 13 Old 08-09-2018, 04:32 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
TBoneit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 77
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sudy Nim View Post
Roger, I replaced my WDTV Live Hub with a Shield last November, and haven't looked back (actually, the Hub is still in place, but never gets used any more.)

Like you, I don't stream, but that's only because I'm in Canada, and there is nothing to stream (Netflix and Prime in Canada are nothing like what they are in the U.S.) Well, okay, I stream Hoopla (free from your local library) and live baseball games. But the majority of the use of the Shield is media from my local NAS via Kodi, and I haven't found anything it won't play. But do check Mark's spreadsheet to make sure it covers all your bases.
Hi That is good information since You replaced the same thing I am using. I guess I am sort of bummed that WD abandoned Media Players. I need to look at that one and see how well it will fill my needs. I suppose the main reason I do not stream is that there is so much content out there without it. I am as You guessed in the USA, At one point in time I was streaming Netflix fairly regularly, Then I said to myself, Self You are paying a monthly fee and not using the service so I dropped Netflix I will be looking at the post You linked. Many Thanks ROger Thanks Roger
TBoneit is offline  
post #6 of 13 Old 08-09-2018, 04:46 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
TBoneit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 77
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Hi here's my question how easy is it to use the weird controller to do all the WD remotes functions ? Move files, Delete files, select files to play, Choose Fast forward speeds and the 10 minute jump of the WD that lets You move to a favorite scene for example ? I am starting to feel like a Dinosaur not being interested in streaming Thanks Roger
TBoneit is offline  
post #7 of 13 Old 08-09-2018, 04:49 AM
AVS Forum Club Gold
 
giomania's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Chicago, Illinois
Posts: 4,135
Mentioned: 30 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 827 Post(s)
Liked: 628
I posted this in the 4K UHD media player List thread, but you guys may be also interested in this great deal:

Best Alternative to Zidoo X9S and Dune Pro 4K for much less money...
https://r.tapatalk.com/shareLink?sha...0&share_type=t




Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro
Litlgi74 likes this.

Lumagen Radiance Pro HDR Tone Mapping Guide: Click Here

Lumagen Radiance Pro Setup & Calibration Tips: Click Here

UHD-BD Backup & Playback Guidance Link
giomania is offline  
post #8 of 13 Old 08-09-2018, 10:52 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Canada
Posts: 100
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 60 Post(s)
Liked: 3
Quote:
Originally Posted by TBoneit View Post
Hi here's my question how easy is it to use the weird controller to do all the WD remotes functions ? Move files, Delete files, select files to play, Choose Fast forward speeds and the 10 minute jump of the WD that lets You move to a favorite scene for example ? I am starting to feel like a Dinosaur not being interested in streaming Thanks Roger
All of those functions are available in the Kodi app on the Shield. As to controlling them, the Shield's minimalist remote does take some getting used to, but can accomplish those things.

Do you use the WDTV remote, or do you use a universal programmable remote? If the latter, be aware that unlike the older Shield, the new Shield does not have an IR receiver. If you are using a Bluetooth-enabled Harmony remote, that isn't an issue. If you are using only an IR/RF remote, such as the URC remotes (I use the MX780 and MX850,) you can add a FLIRC (small IR receiver plugs into Shield USB port) for that, or just get used to the Shield remote.
Sudy Nim is offline  
post #9 of 13 Old 08-10-2018, 07:45 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
TBoneit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 77
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sudy Nim View Post
All of those functions are available in the Kodi app on the Shield. As to controlling them, the Shield's minimalist remote does take some getting used to, but can accomplish those things.

Do you use the WDTV remote, or do you use a universal programmable remote? If the latter, be aware that unlike the older Shield, the new Shield does not have an IR receiver. If you are using a Bluetooth-enabled Harmony remote, that isn't an issue. If you are using only an IR/RF remote, such as the URC remotes (I use the MX780 and MX850,) you can add a FLIRC (small IR receiver plugs into Shield USB port) for that, or just get used to the Shield remote.
I use the WD remotes, the better one that came with the livehub and the not as good one that came with a prior model. I have the older no HD equipped on one HDTV and the Livehub on another. I would not have even thought about no IR sensor so when I went to use the unopened Logitech Universal I would have been unhappy, Thanks for the heads Up. Have a Good Weekend Roger
TBoneit is offline  
post #10 of 13 Old 08-10-2018, 07:51 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
TBoneit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 77
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by giomania View Post
I posted this in the 4K UHD media player List thread, but you guys may be also interested in this great deal:

Best Alternative to Zidoo X9S and Dune Pro 4K for much less money...
https://r.tapatalk.com/shareLink?sha...0&share_type=t




Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro
Thanks, I have read that message thread, Interesting. In my case i is not so much about saving money as having all the features I want and ease of use. Enjoy the Weekend Roger
giomania likes this.
TBoneit is offline  
post #11 of 13 Old 08-10-2018, 08:27 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
TBoneit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 77
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Ok, this may seem like a weird question ? Does the NVIDIA - SHIELD TV Pro 500GB Streaming Media Player do everything the non pro version does. The extra internal storage would be handy for me. https://www.amazon.com/NVIDIA-SHIELD...01MYV94H3?th=1 I also read in Newegg reviews that it runs VLC, I am used to VLC I am guessing that this is not the Windows VLC I use, I wonder if it is the same? Thanks Roger
TBoneit is offline  
post #12 of 13 Old 08-10-2018, 09:05 AM
AVS Forum Club Gold
 
giomania's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Chicago, Illinois
Posts: 4,135
Mentioned: 30 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 827 Post(s)
Liked: 628
The Pro version includes an IR receiver built in. You can have higher capability with a non-pro version by adding a FLIRC USB IR adapter.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro

Lumagen Radiance Pro HDR Tone Mapping Guide: Click Here

Lumagen Radiance Pro Setup & Calibration Tips: Click Here

UHD-BD Backup & Playback Guidance Link
giomania is offline  
post #13 of 13 Old 08-11-2018, 02:39 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
TBoneit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 77
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by giomania View Post
The Pro version includes an IR receiver built in. You can have higher capability with a non-pro version by adding a FLIRC USB IR adapter.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro
Hi When You get a chance could You explain what You mean by higher capability ? $100 for a less capable unit makes no sense to me. OTOH I am a bit of a dinosaur who has not kept up with the times. Have a Good Weekend Roger
TBoneit is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Networking, Media Servers & Content Streaming

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off