Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 16 Old 09-18-2018, 08:38 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 63 Post(s)
Liked: 9
VLANS and multiple SSIDs

Good evening everyone,

I was hoping I might be able to get some guidance on networking here. I’m no IT novice, but at the moment, what I’m aiming to do has me in logic circles in my head!!

I was hoping some more experienced folks could help me out please!

My conundrum is this;

New house. (A) All wired heavily for data and comms.

Another house (B) about 100m away.

House B will soon he used solely as a rental property and overspill for family when visiting.

House A is the primary residence with a lot of connected gear. Servers, cctv, automation system etc.

What I would like to do is stop the broadband service in house B and share the connection from house A, which is faster anyway Via a radio link from ubiquiti. The Nanobeam items.

House A will have a managed network switch (2 actually) and a lot of devices, including an automation system.

I’m going to install ubiquiti WAPs in house A. An ssid for owner. With whole network access. So far, so easy.

After that, I want a second ssid for guests. However, I want guests to be able to access both the Internet, and some of the media renderers in the property, without seeing any of the other items.

In house B, I would like a similar setup. Owner with access to house A, and with all access to house B.

But guests in house B only having access to internet and local devices.

Am I over-thinking this? Or is it straight forward? I know many people in here are seasoned professionals, so please talk slowly for the networking newb.

I am aware of the basic process of setting up a VLAN based on physical ports on a router, and I can set up SSIDs with no problem (ubiquiti essentially makes it idiot proof).

I would very much appreciate some input.

Many thanks in advance,

F

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Sponsored Links
Advertisement