Official 2018 (new) FireTV Stick 4K--Dolby Vision, HDR10+, Dolby Atmos - Page 4 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 297Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #91 of 1085 Old 10-30-2018, 04:54 PM - Thread Starter
UHD Addict
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 35,176
Mentioned: 61 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8834 Post(s)
Liked: 5627
Quote:
Originally Posted by shoman94 View Post
Can you try side loading Vudu that was mentioned? If it works I'll be buying one!

Sent from my LG-H932 using Tapatalk
Sorry. I don't side load with any of my FireTV devices. Or any of my other Android devices.

Sent from my Tab S 10.5 using Tapatalk

53TB unRAID2--45TB unRAID3--35TB unRAID1a
TCL 6 Series--Sony UBP-X800--Philips BDP7502--Onkyo HT-S7800
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme
aaronwt is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #92 of 1085 Old 10-30-2018, 04:58 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
kokishin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Silicon Valley
Posts: 2,039
Mentioned: 25 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1214 Post(s)
Liked: 1214
Quote:
Originally Posted by aaronwt View Post
And it's sending out 2.0 audio from 2.0 content like it should.

Although it is sending 2.0 DD+ from the music I'm playing. So I guess it has the ability to convert to DD+?

Sent from my Tab S 10.5 using Tapatalk
I had the FTV 4K Pendant and it sent 2.0 DD+ when using prime music or 5.1 DD+ otherwise. My 1st gen FTV Stick sends 2.0 LPCM when playing prime music and DD+ otherwise.
aaronwt and giomania like this.

Denon AVR-X6200W, Outlaw Audio 7125 Amp, Oppo UDP-203, Oppo BDP-103, Amazon Fire TV Stick, Tivo Roamio Pro, Pioneer Elite Andrew Jones Dolby Atmos Enabled EFS-73 Fronts/EBS-73 Surrounds, Chane A2.4 Center, SVS SB-2000 Sub, Panasonic Plasma TH-58PX600
avsforum Members Atmos & Auro Configuration Spreadsheet
I'm just a caveman. Your modern world frightens and confuses me. RIP Phil Hartman
kokishin is online now  
post #93 of 1085 Old 10-30-2018, 05:05 PM - Thread Starter
UHD Addict
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 35,176
Mentioned: 61 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8834 Post(s)
Liked: 5627
Hmm.. Plex is working and playing back in HDR10, but the FireTV 4K stick is only outputting 1080p. As soon as I start the Plex app it switches to 1080P. The video is being direct played. It just the FireTV 4K stick that is outputting at 1080P. But at least stick can play the UHD BD rips without buffering.

I was just curious. Like the Roku devices it can't bitsream Dolby true HD or DTS-HD MA anyway.
And I have other devices to play back my UHD files with plex or directly.

I am definitely pleased with the FireTV Stick 4k.

Sent from my Tab S 10.5 using Tapatalk
giomania and kokishin like this.

53TB unRAID2--45TB unRAID3--35TB unRAID1a
TCL 6 Series--Sony UBP-X800--Philips BDP7502--Onkyo HT-S7800
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme
aaronwt is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #94 of 1085 Old 10-30-2018, 05:18 PM
Member
 
csviegas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: NJ
Posts: 23
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 4
Quote:
Originally Posted by aaronwt View Post
No Atmos audio from Netflix. Although I did not expect it anyway. But I am getting Dolby Vision from Netflix.

I'm also seeing 115 Mb/s on the Netflix speed test. I'll need to try Plex to see if it can play my UHD BD rips.

Sent from my Tab S 10.5 using Tapatalk
Thanks for checking.
Sucks that I would currently need 3 devices to get the best of each app.
Nvidia Shield TV: Plex HDR + lossless audio (including Atmos)
Apple TV 4k: Netflix Dolby Vision + Dolby Atmos
Amazon Fire TV Stick 4k: Prime Video Dolby Vision + Dolby Atmos

If the 2016 LG OLED were able to support DD+ output over ARC, I would have only needed the Nvidia Shield TV.
Or if Xbox was able to support 2016 LG OLED Dolby Vision, I would have only needed the Nvidia Shield TV.

TV: LG OLED65C6P
SOUNDBAR: LG SK10Y + surrounds
PLEX SERVER: QNAP TS-453Bmini
ACCESSORIES: HDHomeRun EXTEND, Xbox One X, Nvidia Shield TV
csviegas is offline  
post #95 of 1085 Old 10-30-2018, 05:28 PM - Thread Starter
UHD Addict
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 35,176
Mentioned: 61 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8834 Post(s)
Liked: 5627
I noticed the Framerate sync is only working with Amazon videos and from the Plex app. Everything else is being output at 60P. Like from Netflix DV content that is actually 24P.

I'm still happy with it. I'll easily use it for watching amazon videos.

Sent from my Tab S 10.5 using Tapatalk
giomania likes this.

53TB unRAID2--45TB unRAID3--35TB unRAID1a
TCL 6 Series--Sony UBP-X800--Philips BDP7502--Onkyo HT-S7800
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme
aaronwt is offline  
post #96 of 1085 Old 10-30-2018, 05:47 PM
Member
 
fljoe's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 153
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 87 Post(s)
Liked: 83
Quote:
Originally Posted by aaronwt View Post
No Atmos audio from Netflix. Although I did not expect it anyway. But I am getting Dolby Vision from Netflix.

I'm also seeing 115 Mb/s on the Netflix speed test. I'll need to try Plex to see if it can play my UHD BD rips.

Sent from my Tab S 10.5 using Tapatalk
Is that connected wirelessly or you using the Ethernet adapter and connected it wired to Internet?
fljoe is offline  
post #97 of 1085 Old 10-30-2018, 06:28 PM - Thread Starter
UHD Addict
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 35,176
Mentioned: 61 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8834 Post(s)
Liked: 5627
Quote:
Originally Posted by fljoe View Post
Is that connected wirelessly or you using the Ethernet adapter and connected it wired to Internet?
Wirelessly. The Ethernet adapter can't reach those speeds. It only has a 100BT Ethernet port so it's limited to sub 100Mbps speeds.

The same goes for the Roku. I use wireless with these devices because I can reach faster throughout than their wired connections. Of course with the streaming apps the experience is identical since they all use low bitrates.. But I can't play high bitrate local UHD files on a 100BT Ethernet connection. It would constantly buffer. But over wireless AC, it can stream the 100Mbps+ high bitrate files with no issue.

Sent from my Tab S 10.5 using Tapatalk
giomania and lknhomeaudio like this.

53TB unRAID2--45TB unRAID3--35TB unRAID1a
TCL 6 Series--Sony UBP-X800--Philips BDP7502--Onkyo HT-S7800
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme

Last edited by aaronwt; 10-30-2018 at 06:32 PM.
aaronwt is offline  
post #98 of 1085 Old 10-30-2018, 06:52 PM - Thread Starter
UHD Addict
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 35,176
Mentioned: 61 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8834 Post(s)
Liked: 5627
I turned off the framerate sync option inside the Plex app. Now the plex app is playing the UHD content in 2160P like it should. And the FireTV 4K stick is having no problem playing my 100Mbps+ UHD videos. Although the audio is converted to DD+ by the FireTV. Even legacy DTS tracks are being converted to DD+. So I guess it can't bitsream legacy DTS.

Sent from my Tab S 10.5 using Tapatalk
giomania likes this.

53TB unRAID2--45TB unRAID3--35TB unRAID1a
TCL 6 Series--Sony UBP-X800--Philips BDP7502--Onkyo HT-S7800
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme
aaronwt is offline  
post #99 of 1085 Old 10-30-2018, 06:57 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Posts: 32
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by aaronwt View Post
For once it seems like Amazon got the audio working right for a FireTV at launch. I am getting Dolby Vision for Jack Ryan and also getting Atmos audio from it. And 5.1 DD+ from other titles.

Framerate match is working fine. As well as auto switching between SDR, HDR10, and Dolby Vision.

Although it defaulted to always on DV. I needed to change it in the settings.
If I wasn't using it on DV set, I guess it would have defaulted to always on HDR10.

So far, with what I've tried, this seems like the most complete FireTV launch ever.

And the TV control works correctly too. It took under twenty seconds to set it up.

Sent from my Tab S 10.5 using Tapatalk
So far this is sounding like the ever-elusive perfect streaming device. If you were to sideload Kodi, or use Plex, does it support multi-channel AAC and bitstream 7.1 formats like TrueHD and DTS HD-MA?
aerogems1 is offline  
post #100 of 1085 Old 10-30-2018, 07:26 PM - Thread Starter
UHD Addict
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 35,176
Mentioned: 61 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8834 Post(s)
Liked: 5627
Quote:
Originally Posted by aerogems1 View Post
So far this is sounding like the ever-elusive perfect streaming device. If you were to sideload Kodi, or use Plex, does it support multi-channel AAC and bitstream 7.1 formats like TrueHD and DTS HD-MA?
No it will not. It will not even output legacy DTS. The FireTV 4K stick converts it to DD+.

Like all other streaming devices, it is nowhere near the prefect streaming device.
And I never expected it to be. I will always need multiple streaming devices to get the best options.

But out of all the FireTV devices I have owned over the years, the Fire TV 4k stick is easily my favorite. And the first one that was actually ready at launch when it was released. The previous ones all had glaring issues when they were first released.

Sent from my Tab S 10.5 using Tapatalk
giomania and lknhomeaudio like this.

53TB unRAID2--45TB unRAID3--35TB unRAID1a
TCL 6 Series--Sony UBP-X800--Philips BDP7502--Onkyo HT-S7800
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme

Last edited by aaronwt; 10-30-2018 at 07:30 PM.
aaronwt is offline  
post #101 of 1085 Old 10-30-2018, 08:10 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Posts: 32
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by aaronwt View Post
No it will not. It will not even output legacy DTS. The FireTV 4K stick converts it to DD+.
So if I'm understanding correctly, it will convert effectively any audio format into DD+? I assume it preserves channel count, so 5.1 DTS or AAC would become 5.1 DD+. If so, at least for me, that's not a big deal. It may not be the perfect device, but it seems like it should prove to be a good low cost alternative to the Shield and ATV4K at about 1/3 the price. Plus you can sideload the full-fat Kodi, not just MrMC, without jailbreaking, paying $100/year, or reinstalling every 7-days, not to mention, free.

Thanks for taking the time to write up some mini-reviews.
aerogems1 is offline  
post #102 of 1085 Old 10-30-2018, 08:17 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Posts: 32
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 14
One other question @aaronwt : How is the image quality if scaling say a 720 or 1080 image to 2160? At least in the ballpark of a 4K TV, better, worse?
aerogems1 is offline  
post #103 of 1085 Old 10-30-2018, 10:15 PM - Thread Starter
UHD Addict
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 35,176
Mentioned: 61 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8834 Post(s)
Liked: 5627
Quote:
Originally Posted by aerogems1 View Post
One other question @aaronwt : How is the image quality if scaling say a 720 or 1080 image to 2160? At least in the ballpark of a 4K TV, better, worse?
No idea about 720P, but the couple of 1080P streams I tried looked fine upconverted. But I didn't try any test patterns on it.

Sent from my Tab S 10.5 using Tapatalk

53TB unRAID2--45TB unRAID3--35TB unRAID1a
TCL 6 Series--Sony UBP-X800--Philips BDP7502--Onkyo HT-S7800
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme
aaronwt is offline  
post #104 of 1085 Old 10-31-2018, 05:43 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
bobbino421's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: New York City
Posts: 1,737
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1104 Post(s)
Liked: 701
Quote:
Originally Posted by aaronwt View Post
For once it seems like Amazon got the audio working right for a FireTV at launch. I am getting Dolby Vision for Jack Ryan and also getting Atmos audio from it. And 5.1 DD+ from other titles.

Framerate match is working fine. As well as auto switching between SDR, HDR10, and Dolby Vision.

Although it defaulted to always on DV. I needed to change it in the settings.
If I wasn't using it on DV set, I guess it would have defaulted to always on HDR10.

So far, with what I've tried, this seems like the most complete FireTV launch ever.

And the TV control works correctly too. It took under twenty seconds to set it up.

Sent from my Tab S 10.5 using Tapatalk
I have the the 2nd generation fire TV dongle and Dolby Atmos has been problematic and inconsistent when getting it to engage Atmos when watching Jack Ryan. I’m using my Oppo input and the Samsung K950 Atmos soundbar. I’m thinking for $50 bucks I may be better off with the new one? I’m wondering if the new one I can skip the oppo and just plug into soundbar direct and get Atmos and pass HDR10 via arc? Soundbar will pass HDR10 but not DV but I’ll worry about that later when I upgrade to DV.

Sony 55 A9F
Panasonic DP-UB820
Sony UBP-X700
Samsung HW-K950 Dolby Atmos sound bar
bobbino421 is online now  
post #105 of 1085 Old 10-31-2018, 08:02 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
DaveFi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Natick MA
Posts: 18,082
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 716 Post(s)
Liked: 224
Aaaand I have a million streaming devices and not one of them does Atmos from Netflix. Figures...

I'll be getting mine later today, I'll sideload Kodi, Vudu, etc and put it through the ringer.

More interested if it outputs 23.976p instead of just 24p like all the earlier Fire TV devices. I hate that frame-skip every 40secs or so. I probably wouldn't use it very much if it's locked into 24p. I hope that's not a limitation of Amazon's modified Android OS- it shouldn't be, all other Android devices can output 23.976.

XBOX Live: Wagmman
PSN: Wagg
BFBC2: Wagman
Steam: Wag

My Second Life character looks and acts exactly like me except he can fly.
DaveFi is offline  
post #106 of 1085 Old 10-31-2018, 08:07 AM
Senior Member
 
Mark_Venture's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Romansville (Thorndale), PA, USA
Posts: 446
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 120 Post(s)
Liked: 37
Do we know if the new stick supports USB OTG? I'm curious if I can connect a FLIRC dongle to use my Harmony 665 remote to control it like I can with the Cube and 1st and 2nd gen Fire TV boxes I have.
Mark_Venture is offline  
post #107 of 1085 Old 10-31-2018, 08:16 AM - Thread Starter
UHD Addict
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 35,176
Mentioned: 61 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8834 Post(s)
Liked: 5627
Quote:
Originally Posted by DaveFi View Post
Aaaand I have a million streaming devices and not one of them does Atmos from Netflix. Figures...

I'll be getting mine later today, I'll sideload Kodi, Vudu, etc and put it through the ringer.

More interested if it outputs 23.976p instead of just 24p like all the earlier Fire TV devices. I hate that frame-skip every 40secs or so. I probably wouldn't use it very much if it's locked into 24p. I hope that's not a limitation of Amazon's modified Android OS- it shouldn't be, all other Android devices can output 23.976.
Mine was outputting 23.976 last night. But then I could have sworn my FireTv Pendant did too.

53TB unRAID2--45TB unRAID3--35TB unRAID1a
TCL 6 Series--Sony UBP-X800--Philips BDP7502--Onkyo HT-S7800
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme

Last edited by aaronwt; 10-31-2018 at 08:23 AM.
aaronwt is offline  
post #108 of 1085 Old 10-31-2018, 08:17 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
DaveFi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Natick MA
Posts: 18,082
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 716 Post(s)
Liked: 224
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mark_Venture View Post
Do we know if the new stick supports USB OTG? I'm curious if I can connect a FLIRC dongle to use my Harmony 665 remote to control it like I can with the Cube and 1st and 2nd gen Fire TV boxes I have.
Don't see why it wouldn't because they sell the ethernet adapter for it.

You realize the new remote has an IR blaster built into it? You can use it to control all your IR devices.

XBOX Live: Wagmman
PSN: Wagg
BFBC2: Wagman
Steam: Wag

My Second Life character looks and acts exactly like me except he can fly.
DaveFi is offline  
post #109 of 1085 Old 10-31-2018, 08:29 AM
Senior Member
 
Mark_Venture's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Romansville (Thorndale), PA, USA
Posts: 446
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 120 Post(s)
Liked: 37
Quote:
Originally Posted by DaveFi View Post
Don't see why it wouldn't because they sell the ethernet adapter for it.

You realize the new remote has an IR blaster built into it? You can use it to control all your IR devices.
Yes. But it's still seems to be basic fire TV controls and volume. And maybe I just don't understand how to use it to pick it up, hit a single button to power everything on, set the TV and receiver to the right inputs, etc. Like I do with the Harmony.

I'd rather pickup only one remote for all AV things in the room. I don't want to pickup the fire remote when watching a movie, and the harmony (with all the channel buttons) to watch TV, or watch a Blu-ray (again more buttons for menu, and such), etc.
Mark_Venture is offline  
post #110 of 1085 Old 10-31-2018, 08:48 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
rdgrimes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Nuevo Mexico
Posts: 21,491
Mentioned: 23 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3730 Post(s)
Liked: 2904
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mark_Venture View Post
Do we know if the new stick supports USB OTG? I'm curious if I can connect a FLIRC dongle to use my Harmony 665 remote to control it like I can with the Cube and 1st and 2nd gen Fire TV boxes I have.
The Harmony Hub can control all the FTV devices via wifi. Your 650 isn't compatible with the Hub though, so you'd use the smartphone Harmony app, or get a Hub/remote combo.
Taxcheat likes this.
rdgrimes is online now  
post #111 of 1085 Old 10-31-2018, 08:59 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
DaveFi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Natick MA
Posts: 18,082
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 716 Post(s)
Liked: 224
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mark_Venture View Post
Yes. But it's still seems to be basic fire TV controls and volume. And maybe I just don't understand how to use it to pick it up, hit a single button to power everything on, set the TV and receiver to the right inputs, etc. Like I do with the Harmony.

I'd rather pickup only one remote for all AV things in the room. I don't want to pickup the fire remote when watching a movie, and the harmony (with all the channel buttons) to watch TV, or watch a Blu-ray (again more buttons for menu, and such), etc.
In order to do this all your devices have to support CEC, which doesn't really work right most of the time anyways. I have a 665 in the bedroom but for my main TV I use the Harmony Hub w/remote. Easier that way.

XBOX Live: Wagmman
PSN: Wagg
BFBC2: Wagman
Steam: Wag

My Second Life character looks and acts exactly like me except he can fly.
DaveFi is offline  
post #112 of 1085 Old 10-31-2018, 08:59 AM
Member
 
askeptic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 92
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 13
I just bought a roku ulta but havent opened it yet. Not liking how it doesnt support Dolby Vision and while it does claim to support Atmos, not from Netflix.

Is the Xbox 1 X the only real streaming platform that can support Dolby Vision + Atmos on Netflix right now? I haven't heard anything good about Amazon Fire sticks + no Ethernet...

Today is the last day to buy an X1x at a discount so trying to determine if I really need to get one or not.
askeptic is offline  
post #113 of 1085 Old 10-31-2018, 09:10 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Mike4HDTV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: CT
Posts: 3,072
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 123 Post(s)
Liked: 152
Quote:
Originally Posted by askeptic View Post
I just bought a roku ulta but havent opened it yet. Not liking how it doesnt support Dolby Vision and while it does claim to support Atmos, not from Netflix.

Is the Xbox 1 X the only real streaming platform that can support Dolby Vision + Atmos on Netflix right now? I haven't heard anything good about Amazon Fire sticks + no Ethernet...

Today is the last day to buy an X1x at a discount so trying to determine if I really need to get one or not.
The Apple TV 4K does DV and Atmos on Netflix.
Mike4HDTV is online now  
post #114 of 1085 Old 10-31-2018, 09:23 AM
Senior Member
 
Taxcheat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Washington, D.C.
Posts: 483
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 453 Post(s)
Liked: 335
Quote:
Originally Posted by askeptic View Post
Is the Xbox 1 X the only real streaming platform that can support Dolby Vision + Atmos on Netflix right now? I haven't heard anything good about Amazon Fire sticks + no Ethernet...
You can add a dongle to get ethernet. I got the one linked earlier in this thread that, in theory, lets you go ~400mbit (the USB2 speed limit). Won't know whether it works until the Amazon deliveryman decides to show up ("by 8pm"). Netflix Atmos will eventually be available -- it's just Netflix is slow at rolling it out to new devices.
giomania and askeptic like this.

XBR-75Z9D fed by Oppo 203. Decrapifying the X1 Extreme
Taxcheat is offline  
post #115 of 1085 Old 10-31-2018, 09:36 AM
Member
 
askeptic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 92
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mike4HDTV View Post
The Apple TV 4K does DV and Atmos on Netflix.
Thanks, didn't know that!
askeptic is offline  
post #116 of 1085 Old 10-31-2018, 09:37 AM
Member
 
askeptic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 92
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by Taxcheat View Post
You can add a dongle to get ethernet. I got the one linked earlier in this thread that, in theory, lets you go ~400mbit (the USB2 speed limit). Won't know whether it works until the Amazon deliveryman decides to show up ("by 8pm"). Netflix Atmos will eventually be available -- it's just Netflix is slow at rolling it out to new devices.
Thanks! I didn't know that was possible. Good to know!
askeptic is offline  
post #117 of 1085 Old 10-31-2018, 09:44 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 67
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 41 Post(s)
Liked: 28
24p support on the Netflix app ???


sorry if its been already asked/answered.
Salty01 is offline  
post #118 of 1085 Old 10-31-2018, 10:22 AM - Thread Starter
UHD Addict
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 35,176
Mentioned: 61 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8834 Post(s)
Liked: 5627
Quote:
Originally Posted by askeptic View Post
I just bought a roku ulta but havent opened it yet. Not liking how it doesnt support Dolby Vision and while it does claim to support Atmos, not from Netflix.

Is the Xbox 1 X the only real streaming platform that can support Dolby Vision + Atmos on Netflix right now? I haven't heard anything good about Amazon Fire sticks + no Ethernet...

Today is the last day to buy an X1x at a discount so trying to determine if I really need to get one or not.
The ATV 4K supports DV and Atmos from netflix.

53TB unRAID2--45TB unRAID3--35TB unRAID1a
TCL 6 Series--Sony UBP-X800--Philips BDP7502--Onkyo HT-S7800
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme
aaronwt is offline  
post #119 of 1085 Old 10-31-2018, 10:25 AM - Thread Starter
UHD Addict
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 35,176
Mentioned: 61 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8834 Post(s)
Liked: 5627
Quote:
Originally Posted by Salty01 View Post
24p support on the Netflix app ???


sorry if its been already asked/answered.
I saw 24P(23.796) output from Amazon content. But it was 60P from Netflix and other apps. And I saw 24P from Plex, but when Plex was set to frame rate match, the 4K stick downconverted everything to 1080P from Plex. I needed to turn off the frame rate match in Plex, for it to output in 2160P properly.
Salty01 likes this.

53TB unRAID2--45TB unRAID3--35TB unRAID1a
TCL 6 Series--Sony UBP-X800--Philips BDP7502--Onkyo HT-S7800
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme
aaronwt is offline  
post #120 of 1085 Old 10-31-2018, 11:13 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Posts: 32
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by Taxcheat View Post
You can add a dongle to get ethernet. I got the one linked earlier in this thread that, in theory, lets you go ~400mbit (the USB2 speed limit). Won't know whether it works until the Amazon deliveryman decides to show up ("by 8pm"). Netflix Atmos will eventually be available -- it's just Netflix is slow at rolling it out to new devices.
The big problem with the X1X right now, is that if you watch something on Netflix that is only in stereo, the X1X will send an Atmos stream and everything except the L and R channels will have silence. This wouldn't be a big problem if it also prevented all (or at least most) receivers from being able to upmix the audio. So, unless ALL you do with Netflix is watch movies with Atmos, the X1X isn't a good choice... right now anyway. I think the Kodi developers have been holding some informal talks with the main audio person on the Xbox team, but who knows when, or even if, that will ever result in some changes.
aaronwt likes this.
aerogems1 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Networking, Media Servers & Content Streaming

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off