Official 2018 (new) FireTV Stick 4K--Dolby Vision, HDR10+, Dolby Atmos - Page 56 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 1148Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1651 of 2695 Old 11-04-2019, 08:00 AM
Senior Member
 
anothermib's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 227
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 198 Post(s)
Liked: 69
Quote:
Originally Posted by RickD1225 View Post
It is in HDR, just no DV. ATMOS is available also.


Which version of Jack Ryan S2 includes Atmos sound in the US - is it the UHD one?
Most likely they are again just providing the 5.1 version here in Germany for some obscure reasons, but I like to make sure that I am looking at the right file.
anothermib is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1652 of 2695 Old 11-04-2019, 02:26 PM
Newbie
 
Liberaltugboat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have an issue I can not figure out. I have a Samsung 65KU6290 with the Fire Stick 4k plugged into HDMI 1 with UHD color turned on. Everything looks great on SDR content, however when watching HDR content from Amazon and Netflix the picture is washed out and the colors are way off (example: the red Netflix logo is orange). I do not have the issue with the built in apps.
I have tried multiple combinations of settings on both the TV and the FTV4k but can not figure out what is going on.
Any help would be appreciated.
Liberaltugboat is offline  
post #1653 of 2695 Old 11-04-2019, 03:35 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
RickD1225's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Phoenix
Posts: 1,616
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 340 Post(s)
Liked: 2748
Quote:
Originally Posted by anothermib View Post
Which version of Jack Ryan S2 includes Atmos sound in the US - is it the UHD one?
Most likely they are again just providing the 5.1 version here in Germany for some obscure reasons, but I like to make sure that I am looking at the right file.
The UHD one is the one I select that has Atmos.
anothermib likes this.

Spoiler!
RickD1225 is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1654 of 2695 Old 11-04-2019, 03:51 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 190
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 122 Post(s)
Liked: 28
Quote:
Originally Posted by anothermib View Post
Which version of Jack Ryan S2 includes Atmos sound in the US - is it the UHD one?
Most likely they are again just providing the 5.1 version here in Germany for some obscure reasons, but I like to make sure that I am looking at the right file.
You are not alone. In Brazil JR S01 is Atmos, but S02 not yet. Carnival Row S01 no Atmos also. Do you have Atmos with Carnival Row there?

Sent while surfing
Cricket-RJ is offline  
post #1655 of 2695 Old 11-05-2019, 07:26 AM
Newbie
 
slothv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Does anyone know if they fixed the issue where there is no ATMOS if playing Jack Ryan 4K on a 1080p display (in my case a projector)? I have ATMOS receiver and speakers installed.

Last edited by slothv; 11-05-2019 at 07:58 AM.
slothv is offline  
post #1656 of 2695 Old 11-05-2019, 08:54 AM
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 740
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 559 Post(s)
Liked: 136
4k buffering update:

Okay, I am now convinced there are major problems with the bitrate/codec in prime video specifically on the fire tv stick 4k or the ram is not sufficient for instant 4k streaming. I would go with the former, as Passengers( a movie I own) plays instantly in 4k. However, it struggles with any 4k hdr prime content. I am getting 350mbps download on the fire tv stick, which is enough for 8k streaming. However, Amazon sent me this:

Hello

This is in regards to 4K content on the Firetv. Our specialists say "I can see fluctuating bandwidth on the device. Please ask the customer connect with the ISP for stable network.

Irrespective of high speed, the customer would require to have a stable connection.

Also, confirm if the customer can try a wired connection on the device.

Note- The video playback will start with a lower quality and increase as per the bandwidth."

It appears they are seeing something very unstable, and it's clearly something in the app. I think I will try to work with Amazon a couple more times as I've been inquiring about this for months, but it seems the best bet for amazon content is to buy a third party device or maybe try an amazon device with better ram(the new cube).
MLM87 is offline  
post #1657 of 2695 Old 11-05-2019, 09:17 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mjwagner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Kutztown, PA
Posts: 1,977
Mentioned: 24 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1210 Post(s)
Liked: 1123
Quote:
Originally Posted by MLM87 View Post
Okay, I am now convinced there are major problems with the bitrate/codec in prime video specifically on the fire tv stick 4k or the ram is not sufficient for instant 4k streaming. I would go with the former, as Passengers( a movie I own) plays instantly in 4k. However, it struggles with any 4k hdr prime content. I am getting 350mbps download on the fire tv stick, which is enough for 8k streaming. However, Amazon sent me this:

Hello

This is in regards to 4K content on the Firetv. Our specialists say "I can see fluctuating bandwidth on the device. Please ask the customer connect with the ISP for stable network.

Irrespective of high speed, the customer would require to have a stable connection.

Also, confirm if the customer can try a wired connection on the device.

Note- The video playback will start with a lower quality and increase as per the bandwidth."

It appears they are seeing something very unstable, and it's clearly something in the app. I think I will try to work with Amazon a couple more times as I've been inquiring about this for months, but it seems the best bet for amazon content is to buy a third party device or maybe try an amazon device with better ram(the new cube).
I don’t think it’s anything inherent in the device itself. I have 3 FireTV Stick 4ks, 1 connected via Ethernet the other two via wifi. I have 100M internet service. I have no issues playing 4k Prime content even with ATMOS sound on any of them.
aaronwt likes this.

Mark
mjwagner is offline  
post #1658 of 2695 Old 11-05-2019, 09:40 AM
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 740
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 559 Post(s)
Liked: 136
Quote:
Originally Posted by mjwagner View Post
I don’t think it’s anything inherent in the device itself. I have 3 FireTV Stick 4ks, 1 connected via Ethernet the other two via wifi. I have 100M internet service. I have no issues playing 4k Prime content even with ATMOS sound on any of them.
I have two fire tv sticks, and I have a very robust network. It's not the device, its the software on the device. The prime app doesn't work well. Do you have a video of getting 4k instantly? A lot of people on this thread are having the same problems I'm having with prime video, yet no issues with Netflix or other 4k apps.
MLM87 is offline  
post #1659 of 2695 Old 11-05-2019, 10:04 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mjwagner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Kutztown, PA
Posts: 1,977
Mentioned: 24 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1210 Post(s)
Liked: 1123
Quote:
Originally Posted by MLM87 View Post
I have two fire tv sticks, and I have a very robust network. It's not the device, its the software on the device. The prime app doesn't work well. Do you have a video of getting 4k instantly? A lot of people on this thread are having the same problems I'm having with prime video, yet no issues with Netflix or other 4k apps.
Ok, I’ll rephrase...based on my experience I don’t think their is anything inherent in the device or the Prime app running on the device. I have not noticed any discernible issue with playing 4k, 4k HDR, or 4k HDR with ATMOS content. Even in my home theater where I would definitely notice it. Have you tried it hard wired? As I mentioned, I have 3 FireTV Stick 4ks, one of which is hard wired. I did notice that the stick seems to be somewhat sensitive to Wi-Fi interference. It will indicate that thruput is fine but the Wi-Fi connection just isn’t stable and the only symptom will be something like you describe. I noticed it when playing very large 4k HDR mkv files using Plex. Based on Wi-Fi thruput measurements their should have been no problem but I was only able to resolve the issue by hardwiring that particular stick. The other two sticks (which are actually farther away and on different floors than my router) play the same mkv file file over Wi-Fi just fine.

Mark
mjwagner is offline  
post #1660 of 2695 Old 11-05-2019, 10:16 AM
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 740
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 559 Post(s)
Liked: 136
Quote:
Originally Posted by mjwagner View Post
Ok, I’ll rephrase...based on my experience I don’t think their is anything inherent in the device or the Prime app running on the device. I have not noticed any discernible issue with playing 4k, 4k HDR, or 4k HDR with ATMOS content. Even in my home theater where I would definitely notice it. Have you tried it hard wired? As I mentioned, I have 3 FireTV Stick 4ks, one of which is hard wired. I did notice that the stick seems to be somewhat sensitive to Wi-Fi interference. It will indicate that thruput is fine but the Wi-Fi connection just isn’t stable and the only symptom will be something like you describe. I noticed it when playing very large 4k HDR mkv files using Plex. Based on Wi-Fi thruput measurements their should have been no problem but I was only able to resolve the issue by hardwiring that particular stick. The other two sticks (which are actually farther away and on different floors than my router) play the same mkv file file over Wi-Fi just fine.
Do you get 4k instantly? If so, can you show a gif or small video demonstrating that it is flawless. Actually, if wifi speed tests show more than 300mbps everytime, than that means the wifi is not struggling. It means the wifi is robust. Speed test typically measure throughput pretty well, especially if you test it in different increments. Moreover, the lack of issues in apple tv and netflix with 4k hdr content proves my point. A 100mbps hardwired network won't be nearly as good as my robust wifi. The modem in my 2016 sony z9d set(150mbps +) is playing 4k instantly in prime video. The fire tv stick starts at 720p.

Last edited by MLM87; 11-05-2019 at 10:20 AM.
MLM87 is offline  
post #1661 of 2695 Old 11-05-2019, 10:25 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mjwagner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Kutztown, PA
Posts: 1,977
Mentioned: 24 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1210 Post(s)
Liked: 1123
Quote:
Originally Posted by MLM87 View Post
Do you get 4k instantly? If so, can you show a gif or small video demonstrating that it is flawless. Actually, if wifi speed tests show more than 300mbps everytime, than that means the wifi is not struggling. It means the wifi is robust. Speed test typically measure throughput pretty well, especially if you test it in different increments. Moreover, the lack of issues in apple tv and netflix with 4k hdr content proves my point. A 100mbps hardwired network won't be nearly as good as my robust wifi. The modem in my 2016 sony z9d set(150mbps +) is playing 4k instantly in prime video. The fire tv stick starts at 720p.
What I tried to explain is when I tested my Wi-Fi it was perfect every time I tested it. But their was clearly an issue when trying to play very large mkv files. And it was only resolved when I hard wired. So what I was trying to explain to you was even though your Wi-Fi test is showing solid Wi-Fi speeds you may still be having an issue.
As far as “instant” 4k...I don’t know but I have not seen anything that would make me check it. In my theater I would notice (100” diagonal screen with Optoma UHZ65 4k HDR projector), or in my family room I would notice (LG OLED65B7A). Unless I can see something I won’t worry about it....😀

And BTW, even 100mbs Ethernet is more than enough for streaming 4k HDR/DV.

Mark

Last edited by mjwagner; 11-05-2019 at 10:29 AM.
mjwagner is offline  
post #1662 of 2695 Old 11-05-2019, 10:41 AM
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 740
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 559 Post(s)
Liked: 136
Quote:
Originally Posted by mjwagner View Post
What I tried to explain is when I tested my Wi-Fi it was perfect every time I tested it. But their was clearly an issue when trying to play very large mkv files. And it was only resolved when I hard wired. So what I was trying to explain to you was even though your Wi-Fi test is showing solid Wi-Fi speeds you may still be having an issue.
As far as “instant” 4k...I don’t know but I have not seen anything that would make me check it. In my theater I would notice (100” diagonal screen with Optoma UHZ65 4k HDR projector), or in my family room I would notice (LG OLED65B7A). Unless I can see something I won’t worry about it....😀

And BTW, even 100mbs Ethernet is more than enough for streaming 4k HDR/DV.
Well, my main concern is that the 4k is not instant as it on sony z9d's built-in android tv. Skipping to a few minutes into a show or movie or waiting for it to buffer 4k is not the same. It means the network is not stable enough to handle 4k content on the fly. Anything at 300mbps should have 4k instantly.
MLM87 is offline  
post #1663 of 2695 Old 11-05-2019, 10:49 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mjwagner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Kutztown, PA
Posts: 1,977
Mentioned: 24 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1210 Post(s)
Liked: 1123
Quote:
Originally Posted by MLM87 View Post
Well, my main concern is that the 4k is not instant as it on sony z9d's built-in android tv. Skipping to a few minutes into a show or movie or waiting for it to buffer 4k is not the same. It means the network is not stable enough to handle 4k content on the fly. Anything at 300mbps should have 4k instantly.
I do t know about “instant” but I can tell you for a certainty that I don’t have to wait a minute or even 30 seconds. And i’ll try one more time and then I’ll give up...just because your test shows a consistent 300mbs or whatever thruput on your Wi-Fi doesn’t mean you don’t have an issue. I was seeing that on every test I did too, and I clearly did have an issue. Not saying that this is definitely your problem. I’m just saying don’t be deceived by what you are seeing on the Wi-Fi thruput test. Good luck, hope you find your issue.

Mark
mjwagner is offline  
post #1664 of 2695 Old 11-05-2019, 10:55 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
kokishin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Silicon Valley
Posts: 2,351
Mentioned: 30 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1431 Post(s)
Liked: 1536
For those that prefer a wired LAN connection instead of WiFi for their FTV Stick 4K, try this device:

https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B0...?ie=UTF8&psc=1

I have it and works well.
galonzo likes this.

Denon AVR-X6200W, Outlaw Audio 7125 Amp, Oppo UDP-203, Oppo BDP-103, Amazon FTV Stick 4K, Tivo Roamio Pro, Pioneer Elite Andrew Jones Dolby Atmos Enabled EFS-73 Fronts/EBS-73 Surrounds, Chane A2.4 Center, SVS SB-2000 Sub, Panasonic Plasma TH-58PX600
avsforum Members Atmos & Auro Configuration Spreadsheet
I'm just a caveman. Your modern world frightens and confuses me. RIP Phil Hartman
kokishin is offline  
post #1665 of 2695 Old 11-05-2019, 11:03 AM
AVS Forum Club Gold
 
Keenan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Santa Rosa, CA
Posts: 34,864
Mentioned: 25 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4486 Post(s)
Liked: 4129
Quote:
Originally Posted by MLM87 View Post
Well, my main concern is that the 4k is not instant as it on sony z9d's built-in android tv. Skipping to a few minutes into a show or movie or waiting for it to buffer 4k is not the same. It means the network is not stable enough to handle 4k content on the fly. Anything at 300mbps should have 4k instantly.
It's not your available bandwidth but how the device is buffering the data before initiating playback of the title. On the Fire TV Stick 4K it's very typical behavior for the title to start at 1080p and within 20-60 secs ramp-up to full UHD playback. Other devices may buffer more data before initiating playback and may start right off in UHD but in my experience, the Fire Stick is not one of those devices.
naustin likes this.
Keenan is online now  
post #1666 of 2695 Old 11-05-2019, 11:20 AM
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 740
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 559 Post(s)
Liked: 136
Quote:
Originally Posted by Keenan View Post
It's not your available bandwidth but how the device is buffering the data before initiating playback of the title. On the Fire TV Stick 4K it's very typical behavior for the title to start at 1080p and within 20-60 secs ramp-up to full UHD playback. Other devices may buffer more data before initiating playback and may start right off in UHD but in my experience, the Fire Stick is not one of those devices.
Interesting. Could it have something to do with a bug in the Prime App on the Fire TV Stick 4k? In my experience, I have not seen any issues with 4k on other 4k apps. The apple tv app plays all my titles in 4k in a fly. Netflix is flawless. Could it be codec issue in Prime?
MLM87 is offline  
post #1667 of 2695 Old 11-05-2019, 11:23 AM
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 740
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 559 Post(s)
Liked: 136
Quote:
Originally Posted by kokishin View Post
For those that prefer a wired LAN connection instead of WiFi for their FTV Stick 4K, try this device:

https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B0...?ie=UTF8&psc=1

I have it and works well.
Do you get 4k instantly on the prime app with this? It looks like it can get 1/3 of the ISP speed, which is definitely better than 100mbps down.
MLM87 is offline  
post #1668 of 2695 Old 11-05-2019, 11:50 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Posts: 3,396
Mentioned: 20 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1934 Post(s)
Liked: 1236
Quote:
Originally Posted by MLM87 View Post
Do you get 4k instantly on the prime app with this? It looks like it can get 1/3 of the ISP speed, which is definitely better than 100mbps down.
I use watched the first episode of the new season of Jack Ryan and it takes about a minutes, maybe 45 seconds to ramp up to 4k. HDR is right away though. I don't find it a problem at all.
Hetfieldjames is offline  
post #1669 of 2695 Old 11-05-2019, 12:17 PM
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 740
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 559 Post(s)
Liked: 136
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hetfieldjames View Post
I use watched the first episode of the new season of Jack Ryan and it takes about a minutes, maybe 45 seconds to ramp up to 4k. HDR is right away though. I don't find it a problem at all.
Did you test out apple tv app or netflix? I can understand it not being a big deal for some people, but the 4k is very noticeable to me. It just looks better in 4k. I usually use apple tv 4k prime app for prime shows(like jack ryan), but it's pretty limited with amazon 4k hdr content movies. It does play 4k instantly though and very noticeably 4k. I prefer using the prime app on the fire tv stick 4k though.
MLM87 is offline  
post #1670 of 2695 Old 11-05-2019, 12:30 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Posts: 3,396
Mentioned: 20 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1934 Post(s)
Liked: 1236
Quote:
Originally Posted by MLM87 View Post
Did you test out apple tv app or netflix? I can understand it not being a big deal for some people, but the 4k is very noticeable to me. It just looks better in 4k. I usually use apple tv 4k prime app for prime shows(like jack ryan), but it's pretty limited with amazon 4k hdr content movies. It does play 4k instantly though and very noticeably 4k. I prefer using the prime app on the fire tv stick 4k though.
But it's just 45 seconds to a minute. I'm not an Apple guy so no on that. Netflix I'm not sure, never paid attention to if it's 4k right off the bat. I really only care about HDR, 4k is not something I really care too much about.
mrtickleuk likes this.
Hetfieldjames is offline  
post #1671 of 2695 Old 11-05-2019, 03:12 PM
AVS Forum Club Gold
 
Keenan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Santa Rosa, CA
Posts: 34,864
Mentioned: 25 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4486 Post(s)
Liked: 4129
Quote:
Originally Posted by MLM87 View Post
Interesting. Could it have something to do with a bug in the Prime App on the Fire TV Stick 4k? In my experience, I have not seen any issues with 4k on other 4k apps. The apple tv app plays all my titles in 4k in a fly. Netflix is flawless. Could it be codec issue in Prime?
Hard to say if it's a bug, I'd be more inclined to believe it's just how the Fire Stick works. The Stick may have fewer memory allotments that another device like the Apple TV, but then again, the Apple TV is 4 times the cost of the Stick so I suppose you can expect it will operate a bit better than the Stick.

Personally, I don't have an issue with the brief ramp-up time on the Stick but I don't really use it that much either as I prefer the Apple TV and the new Shield I picked up about a week or so ago.
Keenan is online now  
post #1672 of 2695 Old 11-05-2019, 03:23 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Posts: 35
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 3
Quote:
Originally Posted by Liberaltugboat View Post
I have an issue I can not figure out. I have a Samsung 65KU6290 with the Fire Stick 4k plugged into HDMI 1 with UHD color turned on. Everything looks great on SDR content, however when watching HDR content from Amazon and Netflix the picture is washed out and the colors are way off (example: the red Netflix logo is orange). I do not have the issue with the built in apps.
I have tried multiple combinations of settings on both the TV and the FTV4k but can not figure out what is going on.
Any help would be appreciated.
Have you tried setting the Samsung TV color space to "Native" and the firestick 4K dynamic range setting to "always HDR"? I only watch HDR content (amazon prime and youtube) on my firestick 4K, these are the settings that I use and I'm happy with the color, I have a Samsung NU7100.
brygalt_hdr is offline  
post #1673 of 2695 Old 11-05-2019, 03:35 PM
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 740
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 559 Post(s)
Liked: 136
Quote:
Originally Posted by Keenan View Post
Hard to say if it's a bug, I'd be more inclined to believe it's just how the Fire Stick works. The Stick may have fewer memory allotments that another device like the Apple TV, but then again, the Apple TV is 4 times the cost of the Stick so I suppose you can expect it will operate a bit better than the Stick.

Personally, I don't have an issue with the brief ramp-up time on the Stick but I don't really use it that much either as I prefer the Apple TV and the new Shield I picked up about a week or so ago.
I would be more inclined to say it's related to a encode/bitrate issue in Prime. However, my 2nd gen fire tv box plays 1080p faster than the 4k tv stick. The apple tv and netflix app work flawlessly. Do you have problems with those apps. I get 2160p instantly without problems. However, the prime app on fire tv stick is the worst prime app of any of my streaming devices. I get 4k instantly on prime with android tv, apple tv 4k, and even my sony x700 cheap 4k blu-ray player.

Last edited by MLM87; 11-05-2019 at 03:48 PM.
MLM87 is offline  
post #1674 of 2695 Old 11-05-2019, 05:00 PM
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 740
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 559 Post(s)
Liked: 136
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hetfieldjames View Post
But it's just 45 seconds to a minute. I'm not an Apple guy so no on that. Netflix I'm not sure, never paid attention to if it's 4k right off the bat. I really only care about HDR, 4k is not something I really care too much about.
I hear you, to each their own. It appears that despite the instant 4k issues in Prime Video, you can still fast forward it half way through an episode and movie and it will then play 4k without any frame drops. However, who wants to miss the first minute of a movie in 4k goodness. It appears there is an issue at the beginning of each transfer. This appears to be encode issue, as there is no problem in all other 4k apps and it will work at least half way through the transfer. If it buffered even when skipping half way, it would either drop to 720p or drop frames. It seems most of us on here can't get 4k instantly, so I suggest you guys complain to amazon and maybe they can fix the prime app. I have tried resetting the device to factory settings, changing settings, and even rebooting my router, but I keep having the same issues. If it wasn't for sideloaded apps, I probably wouldn't have bought this device. The prime app is heavily flawed.
MLM87 is offline  
post #1675 of 2695 Old 11-05-2019, 06:29 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
bodosom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Niagara Frontier
Posts: 10,166
Mentioned: 75 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2475 Post(s)
Liked: 1949
Quote:
Originally Posted by MLM87 View Post
However, who wants to miss the first minute of a movie in 4k goodness.
I explained (or tried to explain) what's happening to you. Your speculations are incorrect and Amazon has given no indication that it's going to change how Prime Video is handled.

I might type 2K for 1080p.
UDP-203/ATV4K(6,2)/X3500H/LG C8
bodosom is online now  
post #1676 of 2695 Old 11-05-2019, 08:20 PM
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 740
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 559 Post(s)
Liked: 136
Quote:
Originally Posted by bodosom View Post
I explained (or tried to explain) what's happening to you. Your speculations are incorrect and Amazon has given no indication that it's going to change how Prime Video is handled.
Wait, how do you know my speculations are incorrect? I just said there's no issues with other apps. It's not a network issue, as you suggested in your post. If it was network issue, other apps would struggle. However, others on here claim they have instant 4k on prime(I'm talking instant, not skipping or buffering from HD to 4k, but I have yet to see any evidence of that.

Last edited by MLM87; 11-05-2019 at 08:24 PM.
MLM87 is offline  
post #1677 of 2695 Old 11-05-2019, 10:01 PM
Newbie
 
Liberaltugboat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by brygalt_hdr View Post
Have you tried setting the Samsung TV color space to "Native" and the firestick 4K dynamic range setting to "always HDR"? I only watch HDR content (amazon prime and youtube) on my firestick 4K, these are the settings that I use and I'm happy with the color, I have a Samsung NU7100.
Setting color space to Native seems to make the color situation better. However they are still a bit dull compared to SDR content.
Liberaltugboat is offline  
post #1678 of 2695 Old 11-05-2019, 11:30 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Has anyone tried to run Kodi on it?
I have bumped into issues running a 4k movies on it on Elementum add-on (torrents based). Currently I'm on wifi with 1 GB network (I do get 300-700 mbps on wifi).
Sometimes it just throws away from Kodi. Like the processor can not handle it...
Does anyone have an idea what I should do?
OM82 is offline  
post #1679 of 2695 Old 11-06-2019, 04:56 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Posts: 35
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 3
Quote:
Originally Posted by Liberaltugboat View Post
Setting color space to Native seems to make the color situation better. However they are still a bit dull compared to SDR content.
Make sure to try BOTH settings at the same time, native on the TV and "always HDR" on the fire stick. Even if "always HDR" doesn't work for you as a final configuration (if you watch SDR content some of the time for example) its still worth a try as a diagnostic. I'm interested to know if both settings together gets you to the vibrant colors you're expecting from HDR.
brygalt_hdr is offline  
post #1680 of 2695 Old 11-06-2019, 06:14 AM
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 740
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 559 Post(s)
Liked: 136
Quote:
Originally Posted by OM82 View Post
Has anyone tried to run Kodi on it?
I have bumped into issues running a 4k movies on it on Elementum add-on (torrents based). Currently I'm on wifi with 1 GB network (I do get 300-700 mbps on wifi).
Sometimes it just throws away from Kodi. Like the processor can not handle it...
Does anyone have an idea what I should do?
Does your fire tv stick 4k get 4k instantly in Prime Video? If so, it may struggle in Kodi. I was actually getting instant 4k on kodi vs Prime, but there's frame drops when you fastforward content.
MLM87 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Networking, Media Servers & Content Streaming

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off