Official 2018 (new) FireTV Stick 4K--Dolby Vision, HDR10+, Dolby Atmos - Page 72 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 825Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #2131 of 2194 Old 01-05-2020, 01:20 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Matt L's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Flushing, MI
Posts: 6,025
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 742 Post(s)
Liked: 613
Quote:
Originally Posted by JohnnyFriday View Post
I cant get my Firestick to output 4k either.

I have it connected to my Denon x3400H, which all inputs should be able to do 4k 60. In prime app it will only do 1080p on Jack Ryan.

I am using the TV built in apps because of this, also, the colors seem washed out on all firestick apps.
I recall having issues when I plug the Firestick into my Marantz 7010 when I first got it. Once I plugged it directly into my display no issues. My set can pass Atmos over the ARC connection so no issue there. Just needed to run a power supply to the FS
Matt L is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2132 of 2194 Old 01-06-2020, 10:19 PM
Advanced Member
 
redsandvb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: HI
Posts: 610
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 82 Post(s)
Liked: 60
Quote:
Originally Posted by Anderegg View Post
My HDMI 2 is my HDR 4K PC, HDMI 3 on my 49X900F is my Sony DV HDR 4K AVR...I will try unjacking my PC and using HDMI 2 to test again...right now the stick is plugged into Media Box jack on AVR.

Paul
Like a previous post mentioned, maybe the AVR needs to have its HDMI/Video setting changed to Enhanced (or whatever it might be called) to be compatible with 4K60/DV? If turning off Video Conversion is an option for you that might work too.


Quote:
Originally Posted by JohnnyFriday View Post
I cant get my Firestick to output 4k either.

I have it connected to my Denon x3400H, which all inputs should be able to do 4k 60. In prime app it will only do 1080p on Jack Ryan.

I am using the TV built in apps because of this, also, the colors seem washed out on all firestick apps.
Same as above...
But also, moving the FireTV stick to an HDMI input closer to the Denon's Monitor Out might help.

https://denon.custhelp.com/app/answe...ections%2C-hdr

https://denon-uk.custhelp.com/app/an...gh-not-working

https://marantz-uk.custhelp.com/app/...gh-not-working


Quote:
Originally Posted by Matt L View Post
I recall having issues when I plug the Firestick into my Marantz 7010 when I first got it. Once I plugged it directly into my display no issues. My set can pass Atmos over the ARC connection so no issue there. Just needed to run a power supply to the FS
Funny, I also have a 7010 but haven't had any trouble with DV on the 4K FireTV stick. I have it plugged in to HDMI 6, I think, maybe that's why. I happened to see posts about the above links prior to installing it.
Well, maybe that and I have Video Conversion turned off.
galonzo likes this.

Last edited by redsandvb; 01-06-2020 at 10:23 PM.
redsandvb is offline  
post #2133 of 2194 Old 01-08-2020, 07:47 AM
Senior Member
 
Spacedave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 265
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 89 Post(s)
Liked: 56
Does anyone know of disadvantages to using Blokada to remove ads from YouTube and other sites? The YouTube ones have gotten very irritating of late, some in the middle of videos, not just at the beginning. Does Blokada also eliminate the intro promos when opening an Amazon Prime video?
Spacedave is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2134 of 2194 Old 01-10-2020, 01:45 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
wrathloki's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Posts: 1,050
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 746 Post(s)
Liked: 355
So after a long back and forth with Movies Anywhere about their app only outputting stereo on my Fire Stick 4k their final answer was we’ll submit this to the development team and it will be considered for a future update. I don’t have much hope of that actually happening. It seems devices that don’t support Dolby Digital+ are being left behind and deprecated by the streaming industry.

Living Room
Samsung 65JS8500
Onkyo NR-737
Onkyo SKF-4800 Fronts w/ HTP-980 Surrounds & Center and Klipsch R-12SW
Bedroom
Samsung 55JS8500 w/ Yamaha YAS-105 Soundbar
wrathloki is offline  
post #2135 of 2194 Old 01-12-2020, 11:52 PM
Senior Member
 
JMak00's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 316
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 203 Post(s)
Liked: 34
Anyway to catch the National Championship game in 4K tomorrow night on the 4K Fire Stick?

It appears that via the ESPN app I can view the Megacast. Just not clear if it's available in 4k...

Last edited by JMak00; 01-13-2020 at 12:21 AM.
JMak00 is online now  
post #2136 of 2194 Old 01-13-2020, 10:31 AM
Newbie
 
Trajan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Curious if anyone is having the same issue I am (unlikely):

Fire Stick 4k plugged directly into LG E8
Audio over ARC to Denon X2400H

Dolby vision content on Netflix is perfectly synced (audio and video). However for non-DV content, the audio is running somewhere between 20-50ms behind the video. It's just noticeable enough to be annoying. I suspect the audio processing on the Denon is adding a slight delay and unfortunately no devices in the setup allow for delay of video, just audio.

Previously I routed the video and the audio through the receiver. The problem then was that for non-DV content it was perfectly synced, but for DV content on Netflix I had to add a 120ms audio delay, then remove the delay when watching non-DV content.

Is anyone aware of a way to delay video processing on the Fire stick 4K or LG Oleds?

I realize this is hyper specific, but am open to ideas. I've tried every setting from stereo audio to things that may reduce audio processing overhead on the receiver but I just can't seem to solve it.
Trajan is offline  
post #2137 of 2194 Old 01-14-2020, 04:08 PM
Senior Member
 
JMak00's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 316
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 203 Post(s)
Liked: 34
What is the difference between the 2017 Fire TV 4K (the square dongle) and the new Firestick 4K? Should I be upgrading for HDR and DV?

On the Fire TV 4K last night, when I watched Jack Ryan the screen brightened considerably which suggests that the Fire TV 4K detected HDR content and adjusted accordingly.

Sent from my LM-G820 using Tapatalk
JMak00 is online now  
post #2138 of 2194 Old 01-14-2020, 05:53 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mjwagner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Kutztown, PA
Posts: 1,804
Mentioned: 19 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1100 Post(s)
Liked: 1001
Quote:
Originally Posted by JMak00 View Post
What is the difference between the 2017 Fire TV 4K (the square dongle) and the new Firestick 4K? Should I be upgrading for HDR and DV?

On the Fire TV 4K last night, when I watched Jack Ryan the screen brightened considerably which suggests that the Fire TV 4K detected HDR content and adjusted accordingly.

Sent from my LM-G820 using Tapatalk
Technical details on all the Amazon FireTV devices can be found here -

https://developer.amazon.com/docs/fi...ftvstick4kgen1
JMak00 likes this.

Mark
mjwagner is offline  
post #2139 of 2194 Old 01-15-2020, 09:05 AM
Senior Member
 
anothermib's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 214
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 189 Post(s)
Liked: 64
Should the FTV normally list Atmos in the settings audio options? I am getting only „best available“ and options for always Stereo, DD and DD+.
anothermib is offline  
post #2140 of 2194 Old 01-15-2020, 11:26 AM
Senior Member
 
Zoland2020's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: Clarksville, TN
Posts: 337
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 158 Post(s)
Liked: 94
@anothermib The only way to get Dolby Atmos going is to select "Best available" option.
galonzo likes this.

America elevates you to another level.
Zoland2020 is offline  
post #2141 of 2194 Old 01-15-2020, 11:36 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
galonzo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: most usually, somewhere in the midwest...
Posts: 2,282
Mentioned: 160 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1427 Post(s)
Liked: 1923
ALso, @anothermib , as has been mentioned numerous times here, there are only a handful of movies/shows that have Atmos for Prime Video, and even then, only the UHD versions of said shows/movies have the Atmos track (I haven't tested other apps, but Netflix definitely does not support Atmos for this device).
brotony and Zoland2020 like this.

Main: UN78HU9000/SEK-3500 | X4500H (5.1.4) | UDP-203 | TiVo Bolt | 2019 Shield | PS4 Pro | Roku P+ (4630)
2nd: UN65JS9500 | LG LAS855M | UBD-K8500 | Chromecast Ultra | TiVo Mini | Roku P+
3rd: 65P-F1 | Klipsch HDT-SB3 | UBP-X700 | Tivo Roamio | AppleTV4K
FS - Heat (1995) and other UHD Digital codes (and some HD codes)
galonzo is offline  
post #2142 of 2194 Old 01-15-2020, 11:59 AM
Senior Member
 
JMak00's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 316
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 203 Post(s)
Liked: 34
Wondering if we can download the Fox Sports App on the fire stick and watch the 4k broadcast of the Super Bowl...
JMak00 is online now  
post #2143 of 2194 Old 01-15-2020, 12:02 PM
Senior Member
 
anothermib's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 214
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 189 Post(s)
Liked: 64
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zoland2020 View Post
@anothermib The only way to get Dolby Atmos going is to select "Best available" option.


Thanks for the responses. I was looking for something that may be indicating that my config is still wrong. I can’t get Atmos working for prime (e.g. Jack Ryan or Carnival Row). It works neither on FTV nor on the ATV while Netflix does Atmos on the ATV. Amazon probably is still not including the Atmos track in all countries for obscure reasons; though some people are claiming that they have it working here.
Thanks again for confirming that the menu items are correct.
anothermib is offline  
post #2144 of 2194 Old 01-15-2020, 01:43 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
taz291819's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Huntsville, Al
Posts: 6,517
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 367 Post(s)
Liked: 253
Quote:
Originally Posted by JMak00 View Post
Wondering if we can download the Fox Sports App on the fire stick and watch the 4k broadcast of the Super Bowl...
Yes you can. You can even test it tonight with the Xavier/Seton Hall BB game.
galonzo likes this.

Vizio P65-C1 (2016)
Onkyo Tx-NR656
JBL Studio Series (Front, Center, Right), JBL 250W Sub, Kenwood Rears, Onkyo Atmos Upfiring
LG UP970 UHD Player
Nvidia Shield TV
taz291819 is offline  
post #2145 of 2194 Old 01-15-2020, 02:29 PM
Advanced Member
 
fredxr2d2's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Ithaca, NY
Posts: 655
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 378 Post(s)
Liked: 263
Can anyone get solid answers as to why Netflix doesn't supply Atmos to the streaming stick? I spent a while on the phone with their support and they didn't have an answer.

Tim S.
Former 35mm and Digital Projectionist @ Regal Cinemas (circa 2012)

Currently watching on: JVC X790, 106" 0.8 Gain Screen, FireTV Stick 4K, Oppo 203, w/Marantz SR6011, 2 Outlaw M2200, Outlaw Model 5000, SVS Subs, PSA and Def Tech Speakers
fredxr2d2 is offline  
post #2146 of 2194 Old 01-15-2020, 02:45 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Location: The Wild West
Posts: 148
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 93 Post(s)
Liked: 42
Quote:
Originally Posted by fredxr2d2 View Post
Can anyone get solid answers as to why Netflix doesn't supply Atmos to the streaming stick? I spent a while on the phone with their support and they didn't have an answer.
Your better off asking Netflix why you don’t get it. After all it’s their app.
aaronwt, RxpSGR and Zoland2020 like this.

Home Theater System Denon X8500H, Emotiva XPA-5 Gen 2, Polk CSi A6 Center, Polk RTi A9 Front, Polk RTi A7 Front Wide, Polk RTi A1 Front Height, Polk FXi A6 Side, Polk RTi A3 Rear, Polk RTi A1 Rear Heights, Polk 70RT Middle In-Ceiling, SVS PB12-NSD x2 Front, SVS PC12-NSD x2 Rear, JVC DLA-RS1000, Visual Apex CineWhite 100" Screen, Panasonic UB9000, Dish Hopper 3
Phillihp23 is offline  
post #2147 of 2194 Old 01-15-2020, 04:26 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
DougDingle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: West Coast
Posts: 1,805
Mentioned: 14 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1176 Post(s)
Liked: 841
Quote:
Originally Posted by anothermib View Post
Thanks for the responses. I was looking for something that may be indicating that my config is still wrong. I can’t get Atmos working for prime (e.g. Jack Ryan or Carnival Row). It works neither on FTV nor on the ATV while Netflix does Atmos on the ATV. Amazon probably is still not including the Atmos track in all countries for obscure reasons; though some people are claiming that they have it working here.
Thanks again for confirming that the menu items are correct.

What country are you in? On my ATV4K in the U.S., I get Atmos on Jack Ryan, Netflix, and Disney+. I have it set up for "Best Audio" or whatever that choice is called.
mjwagner likes this.
DougDingle is offline  
post #2148 of 2194 Old 01-15-2020, 08:11 PM
Senior Member
 
JMak00's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 316
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 203 Post(s)
Liked: 34
Quote:
Originally Posted by taz291819 View Post
Yes you can. You can even test it tonight with the Xavier/Seton Hall BB game.
Oh, nvm. It requires cable sign in. Seeing all the articles about streaming the super bowl in 4k thru the app, the implication was free.

Sent from my LM-G820 using Tapatalk
JMak00 is online now  
post #2149 of 2194 Old 01-16-2020, 02:00 AM
Senior Member
 
anothermib's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 214
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 189 Post(s)
Liked: 64
Quote:
Originally Posted by DougDingle View Post
What country are you in? On my ATV4K in the U.S., I get Atmos on Jack Ryan, Netflix, and Disney+. I have it set up for "Best Audio" or whatever that choice is called.


Yes in the US and UK it seems to work fine. I am in Germany. Amazon helpdesk claims that the studios are preventing them from offering the show in Atmos here. Which doesn’t sound entirely convincing in case of a show like Jack Ryan. I have seen people claim that they got it working in Germany, but sometimes people just think they got Atmos, while they actually don’t. It don‘t think my config is wrong (there are not too many options after all) but it can’t hurt to double check.
anothermib is offline  
post #2150 of 2194 Old 01-16-2020, 08:08 AM
Advanced Member
 
fredxr2d2's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Ithaca, NY
Posts: 655
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 378 Post(s)
Liked: 263
Quote:
Originally Posted by Phillihp23 View Post
Your better off asking Netflix why you don’t get it. After all it’s their app.

That is who I asked. No solid answer. Mostly just confusion from their service people about it.

Tim S.
Former 35mm and Digital Projectionist @ Regal Cinemas (circa 2012)

Currently watching on: JVC X790, 106" 0.8 Gain Screen, FireTV Stick 4K, Oppo 203, w/Marantz SR6011, 2 Outlaw M2200, Outlaw Model 5000, SVS Subs, PSA and Def Tech Speakers
fredxr2d2 is offline  
post #2151 of 2194 Old 01-16-2020, 08:32 AM
Advanced Member
 
Taxcheat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Washington, D.C.
Posts: 520
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 490 Post(s)
Liked: 386
Quote:
Originally Posted by fredxr2d2 View Post
Can anyone get solid answers as to why Netflix doesn't supply Atmos to the streaming stick? I spent a while on the phone with their support and they didn't have an answer.
The answer is: licensing fees. All Android devices use the same Netflix app (Sony TVs, Shields, Firesticks, etc.). Netflix Atmos works on the Shield 2019 and not the Shield 2017, even though they are identical from a hardware perspective. The only difference is that Dolby fees are baked into the 2019 device's pricetag. In the case of Atmos, I don't know whether Dolby or Netflix are responsible for the firestick shakedown. I wouldn't be surprised if Amazon were contractually bound not to talk about it.
aaronwt, dwaleke and galonzo like this.

XBR-75Z9D fed by Oppo 203. Decrapifying the X1 Extreme
Taxcheat is offline  
post #2152 of 2194 Old 01-16-2020, 09:15 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
taz291819's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Huntsville, Al
Posts: 6,517
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 367 Post(s)
Liked: 253
Quote:
Originally Posted by JMak00 View Post
Oh, nvm. It requires cable sign in. Seeing all the articles about streaming the super bowl in 4k thru the app, the implication was free.

Sent from my LM-G820 using Tapatalk
Last nights game required a cable sign in, because it was on FS1. The Super Bowl will not require that.
JMak00 likes this.

Vizio P65-C1 (2016)
Onkyo Tx-NR656
JBL Studio Series (Front, Center, Right), JBL 250W Sub, Kenwood Rears, Onkyo Atmos Upfiring
LG UP970 UHD Player
Nvidia Shield TV
taz291819 is offline  
post #2153 of 2194 Old 01-16-2020, 09:24 AM
Advanced Member
 
fredxr2d2's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Ithaca, NY
Posts: 655
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 378 Post(s)
Liked: 263
Quote:
Originally Posted by Taxcheat View Post
The answer is: licensing fees. All Android devices use the same Netflix app (Sony TVs, Shields, Firesticks, etc.). Netflix Atmos works on the Shield 2019 and not the Shield 2017, even though they are identical from a hardware perspective. The only difference is that Dolby fees are baked into the 2019 device's pricetag. In the case of Atmos, I don't know whether Dolby or Netflix are responsible for the firestick shakedown. I wouldn't be surprised if Amazon were contractually bound not to talk about it.

That doesn't quite make sense to me - as the actual amazon page says Dolby Atmos:


Dolby Atmos, 7.1 surround sound, 2-channel stereo, and HDMI audio pass through up to 5.1. Dolby Atmos is not currently supported on Netflix titles.

When I asked Netflix about this, they wanted to troubleshoot the device itself (and, as I'm at work, I couldn't do this) and when I asked Amazon, they also wanted to do the same thing, as if the description on their own page is wrong and I should be getting Atmos. Neither wanted to answer the simple question of why the device, which appears to be capable, is unable to do it.


I'll continue pursuing it. Mostly because I am too cheap to buy a better streaming device (especially since I already own the FireStick 4K and the Chromecast Ultra) and I am stubborn about the principle of the thing.

Tim S.
Former 35mm and Digital Projectionist @ Regal Cinemas (circa 2012)

Currently watching on: JVC X790, 106" 0.8 Gain Screen, FireTV Stick 4K, Oppo 203, w/Marantz SR6011, 2 Outlaw M2200, Outlaw Model 5000, SVS Subs, PSA and Def Tech Speakers
fredxr2d2 is offline  
post #2154 of 2194 Old 01-16-2020, 10:27 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mjwagner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Kutztown, PA
Posts: 1,804
Mentioned: 19 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1100 Post(s)
Liked: 1001
Quote:
Originally Posted by Taxcheat View Post
The answer is: licensing fees. All Android devices use the same Netflix app (Sony TVs, Shields, Firesticks, etc.). Netflix Atmos works on the Shield 2019 and not the Shield 2017, even though they are identical from a hardware perspective. The only difference is that Dolby fees are baked into the 2019 device's pricetag. In the case of Atmos, I don't know whether Dolby or Netflix are responsible for the firestick shakedown. I wouldn't be surprised if Amazon were contractually bound not to talk about it.
I’m not sure that’s true in the case of Dolby ATMOS. If the restriction was based on the licensing fee baked into the device price as you say, then as an example, the 2017 Shield wouldn’t support ATMOS using VUDU or Prime Video...but it does. The devices and OS’s are not the same between the Shield and the FireTV Stick 4k, as an example, and so the NetFlix app that runs on those two devices is not exactly the same. FireTV devices run FireOS which is a customized fork of Android. The Nvidia Shield runs AndroidTV.
aaronwt likes this.

Mark
mjwagner is offline  
post #2155 of 2194 Old 01-16-2020, 11:28 AM
Advanced Member
 
Taxcheat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Washington, D.C.
Posts: 520
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 490 Post(s)
Liked: 386
Quote:
Originally Posted by mjwagner View Post
I’m not sure that’s true in the case of Dolby ATMOS. If the restriction was based on the licensing fee baked into the device price as you say, then as an example, the 2017 Shield wouldn’t support ATMOS using VUDU or Prime Video...but it does. The devices and OS’s are not the same between the Shield and the FireTV Stick 4k, as an example, and so the NetFlix app that runs on those two devices is not exactly the same. FireTV devices run FireOS which is a customized fork of Android. The Nvidia Shield runs AndroidTV.
Here's the argument: If Netflix (or Dolby) were being honest here, all Atmos-capable AndroidTV devices would have had Netflix Atmos on the same day. They didn't. Netflix Atmos first came to the new Sony TVs, even though the Sony's 2016 TVs are identical from a software and hardware standpoint. It came to then-new 2017 LGs and Xbox One/One S. Suspiciously, some Netflix devices also did lots of cross-promotion, e.g. adding a "Netflix" buttons on the new 2019 Shield. You can't explain going only to "new" devices as a technical limitation. Instead, that describes how artificial licensing restrictions work. Good way for Nvidia and Sony to get you to buy something new, so they paid a fee. Licensing NDA also explains why tech support are pointing the finger at one another.

You can run any Android TV app on FireOS. If you'd like to test the "different app" theory, sideload the 2019 Shield Netflix apk onto a Firestick. You still won't get you Atmos because it's intentionally crippled by the one Netflix app.

XBR-75Z9D fed by Oppo 203. Decrapifying the X1 Extreme
Taxcheat is offline  
post #2156 of 2194 Old 01-16-2020, 11:40 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mjwagner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Kutztown, PA
Posts: 1,804
Mentioned: 19 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1100 Post(s)
Liked: 1001
Quote:
Originally Posted by Taxcheat View Post
Here's the argument: If Netflix (or Dolby) were being honest here, all Atmos-capable AndroidTV devices would have had Netflix Atmos on the same day. They didn't. Netflix Atmos first came to the new Sony TVs, even though the Sony's 2016 TVs are identical from a software and hardware standpoint. It came to then-new 2017 LGs and Xbox One/One S. Suspiciously, some Netflix devices also did lots of cross-promotion, e.g. adding a "Netflix" buttons on the new 2019 Shield. You can't explain going only to "new" devices as a technical limitation. Instead, that describes how artificial licensing restrictions work. Good way for Nvidia and Sony to get you to buy something new, so they paid a fee. Licensing NDA also explains why tech support are pointing the finger at one another.

You can run any Android TV app on FireOS. If you'd like to test the "different app" theory, sideload the 2019 Shield Netflix apk onto a Firestick. You still won't get you Atmos because it's intentionally crippled by the one Netflix app.
Right, but it has nothing to do with the licensing fees payed by Nvidia for the 2017 Shield, or by Amazon for the FireTV Stick 4k to Dolby. It has everything to do with the capabilities that NetFlix, for whatever reason, has decided to enable on their app for the specific platforms in question. That is what I was trying to say but perhaps I didn't express myself clearly enough.
fredxr2d2 likes this.

Mark
mjwagner is offline  
post #2157 of 2194 Old 01-16-2020, 11:43 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mjwagner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Kutztown, PA
Posts: 1,804
Mentioned: 19 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1100 Post(s)
Liked: 1001
Quote:
Originally Posted by Taxcheat View Post
...You can run any Android TV app on FireOS. If you'd like to test the "different app" theory, sideload the 2019 Shield Netflix apk onto a Firestick. You still won't get you Atmos because it's intentionally crippled by the one Netflix app.
No actually you can't. I sideload/run lots of apk's on my Shields and my FireTV Stick 4k's...most work, some don't, because the OS's are not exactly the same, as I described in my previous post.

Mark
mjwagner is offline  
post #2158 of 2194 Old 01-16-2020, 12:31 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
DougDingle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: West Coast
Posts: 1,805
Mentioned: 14 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1176 Post(s)
Liked: 841
Quote:
Originally Posted by Taxcheat View Post
Here's the argument: If Netflix (or Dolby) were being honest here, all Atmos-capable AndroidTV devices would have had Netflix Atmos on the same day. They didn't. Netflix Atmos first came to the new Sony TVs, even though the Sony's 2016 TVs are identical from a software and hardware standpoint. It came to then-new 2017 LGs and Xbox One/One S. Suspiciously, some Netflix devices also did lots of cross-promotion, e.g. adding a "Netflix" buttons on the new 2019 Shield. You can't explain going only to "new" devices as a technical limitation. Instead, that describes how artificial licensing restrictions work. Good way for Nvidia and Sony to get you to buy something new, so they paid a fee. Licensing NDA also explains why tech support are pointing the finger at one another.

You can run any Android TV app on FireOS. If you'd like to test the "different app" theory, sideload the 2019 Shield Netflix apk onto a Firestick. You still won't get you Atmos because it's intentionally crippled by the one Netflix app.

No 2016 TV models from anyone (AFAIK) supported eARC, which is needed to send Atmos from an internal app to an AVR.

The new 2017 LG OLEDs got Atmos (lite) because LG came up with a crappy workaround to get past the DD 5.1 bandwidth limitations of ARC, namely compressing the crap out of the signal to bypass ARC's bandwidth limitation.

So yeah, they supported MP3 compressed quality Atmos. Same for many other brands. ARC only supported 5.1 until newer 2017 (and later) models did as LG did, compressed the audio badly, then claimed Atmos capability. And as a bonus to that nonsense, the act of compressing in real time (which takes a little time) led to lip sync issues in some setups.

Quote:
You can't explain going only to "new" devices as a technical limitation.
I believe I just did.
galonzo likes this.
DougDingle is offline  
post #2159 of 2194 Old 01-16-2020, 12:49 PM - Thread Starter
UHD Addict
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 36,456
Mentioned: 73 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9665 Post(s)
Liked: 6358
ARC also supported 1.5Mb/s DTS. My 2015 Sony TV does with ARC. Which is what I used to use from my Xbox and Playstation. Before I upgraded to receiver than could handle HDR.
galonzo likes this.

57TB unRAID1a--49TB unRAID2--76TB unRAID3
TCL 6 Series--Sony UBP-X800--Philips BDP7502--Onkyo HT-S7800
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme
aaronwt is offline  
post #2160 of 2194 Old 01-16-2020, 12:59 PM
Advanced Member
 
Taxcheat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Washington, D.C.
Posts: 520
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 490 Post(s)
Liked: 386
Quote:
Originally Posted by mjwagner View Post
Right, but it has nothing to do with the licensing fees payed by Nvidia for the 2017 Shield, or by Amazon for the FireTV Stick 4k to Dolby. It has everything to do with the capabilities that NetFlix, for whatever reason, has decided to enable on their app for the specific platforms in question. That is what I was trying to say but perhaps I didn't express myself clearly enough.
For whatever reason = money. It's always money.

I think you might be hung up on my suspicion that Dolby could be part of the problem. I'm just saying someone is demanding licensing fees from devicemakers, and devicemakers are only willing to pay the fee for new devices. This is what Nvidia said about why the 2017 Shield doesn't have Dolby Vision, even though it's technically capable of using it. I think it's likely that Netflix might be waving its market share around by demanding cash to get Atmos app support. I can just as easily imagine Dolby finds a way to take a cut that Vudu was willing to pay, but Netflix insisted on passing along. Anyway, it's just a theory.

Quote:
Originally Posted by DougDingle View Post
No 2016 TV models from anyone (AFAIK) supported eARC, which is needed to send Atmos from an internal app to an AVR
The 2016 Sony Z9D does DD+Atmos over ARC, no problem, so this isn't related to eARC or the weird solutions needed on non-Android platforms.

XBR-75Z9D fed by Oppo 203. Decrapifying the X1 Extreme
Taxcheat is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Networking, Media Servers & Content Streaming

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off