Official 2018 (new) FireTV Stick 4K--Dolby Vision, HDR10+, Dolby Atmos - Page 77 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 924Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #2281 of 2348 Old 02-07-2020, 05:51 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mjwagner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Kutztown, PA
Posts: 1,877
Mentioned: 21 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1153 Post(s)
Liked: 1043
Quote:
Originally Posted by shoman94 View Post
What version of Vudu is best to install? To they all work with Dolby and Atmos side loaded? Latest?

Sent from my Pixel 4 XL using Tapatalk
Side loading VUDU onto a FireTV device is really not a viable option anymore no matter what VUDU apk you try to side load. It used to work ok for playback but it's now crippled and will not play any 4k content at all. The only viable alternative for FireTV devices is MA and that still has some issues as I have outlined previously.
galonzo and naustin like this.

Mark
mjwagner is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2282 of 2348 Old 02-07-2020, 05:53 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mjwagner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Kutztown, PA
Posts: 1,877
Mentioned: 21 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1153 Post(s)
Liked: 1043
Quote:
Originally Posted by HDdoggy View Post
Yep, that's what my settings look like, but I've also experimented with switching them around to other bit-depths and between the output options without any change. My TV is a Hisense H8F. It's native Android OS Youtube app plays HDR videos fine, and the other apps on my Firestick also play HDR fine, something must be up between the Youtube app and my display. I also used the SmartYoutubeTV app and made sure it was the HDR VP9 version. My TV recognizes it's HDR, but the colors are totally washed out looking and wrong. Really strange.
It must be something specific to using it with that particular TV. Strange indeed.
galonzo likes this.

Mark
mjwagner is offline  
post #2283 of 2348 Old 02-07-2020, 07:19 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
shoman94's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Maine
Posts: 7,810
Mentioned: 217 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5481 Post(s)
Liked: 3749
Quote:
Originally Posted by mjwagner View Post
Side loading VUDU onto a FireTV device is really not a viable option anymore no matter what VUDU apk you try to side load. It used to work ok for playback but it's now crippled and will not play any 4k content at all. The only viable alternative for FireTV devices is MA and that still has some issues as I have outlined previously.
The problem with MA is most content it HDR10 and 5.1.


Sent from my Pixel 4 XL using Tapatalk

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
2018 Sony LCD Master Series Calibration Thread
Sony XBR-75Z9F, Vizio M50-E1, Pioneer Kuro 5020, Marantz SR6013, AppleTV-4K, XBox One & (X), NVIDIA SHIELD.v1, FireTV 4K-HDR, HDHR Connects, QNAP 431+
shoman94 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2284 of 2348 Old 02-07-2020, 07:28 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mjwagner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Kutztown, PA
Posts: 1,877
Mentioned: 21 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1153 Post(s)
Liked: 1043
Quote:
Originally Posted by shoman94 View Post
The problem with MA is most content it HDR10 and 5.1.


Sent from my Pixel 4 XL using Tapatalk
Correct. See my previous posts where I discussed the current issues that MA on FireTV still has. If I want to stream movies, either rent or from my library, I don't use FireTV, I use either one of my ATV 4ks or one of my Nvidia Shields.
galonzo likes this.

Mark
mjwagner is offline  
post #2285 of 2348 Old 02-07-2020, 07:44 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
shoman94's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Maine
Posts: 7,810
Mentioned: 217 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5481 Post(s)
Liked: 3749
Quote:
Originally Posted by mjwagner View Post
Correct. See my previous posts where I discussed the current issues that MA on FireTV still has. If I want to stream movies, either rent or from my library, I don't use FireTV, I use either one of my ATV 4ks or one of my Nvidia Shields.
I get that and I can do that easily as well.... Doesn't stop me from trying to find a device that works for me in all aspects. I am so frustrated with these manufacturers! They DON'T listen to the customers!

Sent from my Pixel 4 XL using Tapatalk

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
2018 Sony LCD Master Series Calibration Thread
Sony XBR-75Z9F, Vizio M50-E1, Pioneer Kuro 5020, Marantz SR6013, AppleTV-4K, XBox One & (X), NVIDIA SHIELD.v1, FireTV 4K-HDR, HDHR Connects, QNAP 431+
shoman94 is offline  
post #2286 of 2348 Old 02-07-2020, 07:53 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mjwagner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Kutztown, PA
Posts: 1,877
Mentioned: 21 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1153 Post(s)
Liked: 1043
Quote:
Originally Posted by shoman94 View Post
I get that and I can do that easily as well.... Doesn't stop me from trying to find a device that works for me in all aspects. I am so frustrated with these manufacturers! They DON'T listen to the customers!

Sent from my Pixel 4 XL using Tapatalk
I agree 100%. Right now I have 3 streaming devices at each of my 2 main viewing locations (HT and family room). I'd love to get down to 1 at each location... I just don't see it happening anytime soon unfortunately.
galonzo and LDBetaGuy like this.

Mark
mjwagner is offline  
post #2287 of 2348 Old 02-07-2020, 08:21 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
shoman94's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Maine
Posts: 7,810
Mentioned: 217 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5481 Post(s)
Liked: 3749
Quote:
Originally Posted by mjwagner View Post
I agree 100%. Right now I have 3 streaming devices at each of my 2 main viewing locations (HT and family room). I'd love to get down to 1 at each location... I just don't see it happening anytime soon unfortunately.
Yea right now for my use case.... It's really a tie between my built in Android TV and my ATV 4k as far as support for DV and Atmos. The issues for each are really more of an app issue than a streamer issue. If Vudu worked on FireTV 4k it would be a 3 way tie.

Sent from my Pixel 4 XL using Tapatalk

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
2018 Sony LCD Master Series Calibration Thread
Sony XBR-75Z9F, Vizio M50-E1, Pioneer Kuro 5020, Marantz SR6013, AppleTV-4K, XBox One & (X), NVIDIA SHIELD.v1, FireTV 4K-HDR, HDHR Connects, QNAP 431+
shoman94 is offline  
post #2288 of 2348 Old 02-07-2020, 03:44 PM
Senior Member
 
MBrown2020's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 280
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 216 Post(s)
Liked: 39
I just got an app update for CBS All Access to 3.6.6 on the Fire TV 4k stick. I no longer have 5.1 audio on the shows, only stereo 2.0 DD+.. Any one else use CBS app and also no longer have 5.1 DD+? Thanks.

Display: LG 65" OLED C7P + OPPO UDP-203 4K UHD Blu-ray Player
Processor: Marantz AV8802a & Dual MiniDSP DDRC-88a BM's - 7.1.4 ATMOS Setup
Speakers: (6) B&W 685 S2 - L,R,SR,SL,SBR,SBL + (1) B&W HTM61 S2 - Center + (4) B&W CCM 682 - Atmos
Amps: (1) Rotel RMB-1585 + (3) Rotel RB-1582 MKII -- Subs: (4) SVS PC-2000's
MBrown2020 is offline  
post #2289 of 2348 Old 02-07-2020, 05:02 PM
Senior Member
 
LG8600User's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 288
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 212 Post(s)
Liked: 246
Quote:
Originally Posted by MBrown2020 View Post
I just got an app update for CBS All Access to 3.6.6 on the Fire TV 4k stick. I no longer have 5.1 audio on the shows, only stereo 2.0 DD+.. Any one else use CBS app and also no longer have 5.1 DD+? Thanks.

Can confirm this - a similar thing happened with the CBSAA app on the Roku - recent update made PCM 2.0 the default - though DD5.1 and DD+5.1 tracks are available, they are not defaulted to even if your Roku is configured for DD/DD+ (you have to manually switch to them every time you open the app+stream).

CBS isn't exactly a stellar coding company and (aside from the ATV4K app) has a pretty inferior app design/product, especially relative to the ATV/AP apps which have CBSAA subs available (with higher quality audio/video..)
aaronwt and galonzo like this.
LG8600User is offline  
post #2290 of 2348 Old 02-07-2020, 05:04 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Philnick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Cambridge, MA
Posts: 1,897
Mentioned: 17 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 641 Post(s)
Liked: 305
I hate to sound like a broken record, but, since I have both a 4K FireStick and a 4K Roku Ultra, take it from me that, unless you insist on DolbyVision, the Roku Ultra is far better than the FireStick:

No blocking of rival providers, no constant migration of icons to other positions on the home screen to reflect recency of use - you control where they're located - and 4K HDR10 and DD+ Atmos from VUDU, Amazon Prime Video, Disney+, and Apple+. (Can't speak to Netflix since I don't use it.)

Also, a decent TuneIn app, instead of the nearly useless version on the 4K FireStick.

Oh, and a built-in ethernet jack as well as wifi - no need to buy an ethernet add-on.

The only thing the FireStick has that the Roku Ultra doesn't is the HD version of Amazon Music Unlimited.
aaronwt and galonzo like this.

Phil
True 4K/HDR10/3D JVC DLA-RS1000 (NX5) projector, 7.2.4 Paradigm/Boston Acoustics/Onkyo speakers, fed by Yamaha RX-A3070 w/ Denon 2307CI to power 4 overheads. Sources: Oppo UDP-203, 4K Roku Ultra, Dell Win 10 PC via HDMI for Amazon Music HD and sampled grand piano.
My water-themed landscape photography website - only 24 pix up so far.
Philnick is offline  
post #2291 of 2348 Old 02-07-2020, 05:11 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Philnick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Cambridge, MA
Posts: 1,897
Mentioned: 17 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 641 Post(s)
Liked: 305
Quote:
Originally Posted by LG8600User View Post
Can confirm this - a similar thing happened with the CBSAA app on the Roku - recent update made PCM 2.0 the default - though DD5.1 and DD+5.1 tracks are available, they are not defaulted to even if your Roku is configured for DD/DD+ (you have to manually switch to them every time you open the app+stream).

CBS isn't exactly a stellar coding company and (aside from the ATV4K app) has a pretty inferior app design/product, especially relative to the ATV/AP apps which have CBSAA subs available (with higher quality audio/video..)
Why use the CBS AA app when you can get higher quality - and this has always been the case - by getting to CBS AA through Amazon Prime Video? This is certainly true if you bought CBS AA through Amazon Prime Video on both the Fire and the Roku - I'm not sure if you can transfer the account - at worst you could cancel and reup through Prime, and get full surround.

Phil
True 4K/HDR10/3D JVC DLA-RS1000 (NX5) projector, 7.2.4 Paradigm/Boston Acoustics/Onkyo speakers, fed by Yamaha RX-A3070 w/ Denon 2307CI to power 4 overheads. Sources: Oppo UDP-203, 4K Roku Ultra, Dell Win 10 PC via HDMI for Amazon Music HD and sampled grand piano.
My water-themed landscape photography website - only 24 pix up so far.

Last edited by Philnick; 02-07-2020 at 05:16 PM.
Philnick is offline  
post #2292 of 2348 Old 02-07-2020, 06:02 PM
Senior Member
 
MBrown2020's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 280
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 216 Post(s)
Liked: 39
Quote:
Originally Posted by LG8600User View Post
Can confirm this - a similar thing happened with the CBSAA app on the Roku - recent update made PCM 2.0 the default - though DD5.1 and DD+5.1 tracks are available, they are not defaulted to even if your Roku is configured for DD/DD+ (you have to manually switch to them every time you open the app+stream).

CBS isn't exactly a stellar coding company and (aside from the ATV4K app) has a pretty inferior app design/product, especially relative to the ATV/AP apps which have CBSAA subs available (with higher quality audio/video..)

Hello, I've never been able to get 5.1 audio on the Roku SS+. I always used the FireTv 4K because it just worked. If you don't mind me asking, how do you go about selecting the 5.1 tracks. (How do you manually switch?) I tried the settings tab in the CBS app and it has nothing but language. I have both FireTV and Roku SS+, so any help on either one would be great. Thanks!

Display: LG 65" OLED C7P + OPPO UDP-203 4K UHD Blu-ray Player
Processor: Marantz AV8802a & Dual MiniDSP DDRC-88a BM's - 7.1.4 ATMOS Setup
Speakers: (6) B&W 685 S2 - L,R,SR,SL,SBR,SBL + (1) B&W HTM61 S2 - Center + (4) B&W CCM 682 - Atmos
Amps: (1) Rotel RMB-1585 + (3) Rotel RB-1582 MKII -- Subs: (4) SVS PC-2000's
MBrown2020 is offline  
post #2293 of 2348 Old 02-07-2020, 08:04 PM
Senior Member
 
LG8600User's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 288
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 212 Post(s)
Liked: 246
Quote:
Originally Posted by MBrown2020 View Post
Hello, I've never been able to get 5.1 audio on the Roku SS+. I always used the FireTv 4K because it just worked. If you don't mind me asking, how do you go about selecting the 5.1 tracks. (How do you manually switch?) I tried the settings tab in the CBS app and it has nothing but language. I have both FireTV and Roku SS+, so any help on either one would be great. Thanks!

Use the options (*) button on your remote then select Dolby Digital or DD+ within "Audio Track".
galonzo likes this.
LG8600User is offline  
post #2294 of 2348 Old 02-08-2020, 07:32 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
JChin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Mesquite Tx
Posts: 9,165
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 472 Post(s)
Liked: 250
Quote:
Originally Posted by MBrown2020 View Post
Hello, I've never been able to get 5.1 audio on the Roku SS+. I always used the FireTv 4K because it just worked. If you don't mind me asking, how do you go about selecting the 5.1 tracks. (How do you manually switch?) I tried the settings tab in the CBS app and it has nothing but language. I have both FireTV and Roku SS+, so any help on either one would be great. Thanks!
Hi MBrown2020, I know this is not a Roku thread but since you asked. Your Roku Volume Mode settings could be enabled which may be what's causing the issue. During Netflix or Prime playback, press the Option or * key on the remote. Left side of screen will display a sidebar panel...scroll down to Volume Mode and make sure this is set to "Off". Then check Audio Mode is set to Auto (Dolby D+, DTS) by going to Settings > Audio > Audio mode before playing content again.

If still getting stereo sound after these settings, then reboot the Roku (Settings > System > System Restart).
galonzo likes this.
JChin is offline  
post #2295 of 2348 Old 02-08-2020, 08:55 AM
Senior Member
 
MBrown2020's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 280
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 216 Post(s)
Liked: 39
Quote:
Originally Posted by LG8600User View Post
Use the options (*) button on your remote then select Dolby Digital or DD+ within "Audio Track".

Thanks, that was it. Now, I tried doing something similar with the Fire TV by using the hamburger button, but no other audio options. So how do I go about selecting the different audio using Fire TV?

Display: LG 65" OLED C7P + OPPO UDP-203 4K UHD Blu-ray Player
Processor: Marantz AV8802a & Dual MiniDSP DDRC-88a BM's - 7.1.4 ATMOS Setup
Speakers: (6) B&W 685 S2 - L,R,SR,SL,SBR,SBL + (1) B&W HTM61 S2 - Center + (4) B&W CCM 682 - Atmos
Amps: (1) Rotel RMB-1585 + (3) Rotel RB-1582 MKII -- Subs: (4) SVS PC-2000's
MBrown2020 is offline  
post #2296 of 2348 Old 02-08-2020, 11:33 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
DaveFi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Natick MA
Posts: 18,330
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 938 Post(s)
Liked: 327
People, I figured out how to get Dolby Vision+Atmos working with Netflix on the Fire 4k stick:

You need to use the latest Kodi 19 Alpha with the Netflix add-on. I would suggest just using it for this purpose because it uses Python 3 and a lot of add-ons haven't been updated for it yet.

Enable the Video InputStream add on and set the resolution for manual.

Set up the Netflix add-on as usual but turn on DV profiles.

When you go to play an original title with DV, the DV will turn off right after the "N" logo pops up. You then must go to the video settings and switch back and forth between resolutions to get DV working again.

Viola! DV+Atmos on Netflix on your $25 4kFire Stick!

Yes I realize it's a little annoying to get it working but Kodi 19 is still in Alpha and I'm sure they'll get the bugs ironed out in time.

Still, beats paying $150 for a Nvidia Shield or ATV4k and it works. 🙂
galonzo likes this.

XBOX Live: Wagmman
PSN: Wagg
BFBC2: Wagman
Steam: Wag

My Second Life character looks and acts exactly like me except he can fly.
DaveFi is offline  
post #2297 of 2348 Old 02-10-2020, 09:37 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2019
Posts: 100
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 75 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by Philnick View Post
I hate to sound like a broken record, but, since I have both a 4K FireStick and a 4K Roku Ultra, take it from me that, unless you insist on DolbyVision, the Roku Ultra is far better than the FireStick:

No blocking of rival providers, no constant migration of icons

Sorta. Unless you are an At&t customer.
badtlc is offline  
post #2298 of 2348 Old 02-10-2020, 09:57 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
taz291819's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Huntsville, Al
Posts: 6,612
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 420 Post(s)
Liked: 303
Quote:
Originally Posted by badtlc View Post
Sorta. Unless you are an At&t customer.
Care to elaborate?

Vizio P65-C1 (2016)
Onkyo Tx-NR656 (5.1.2 setup)
JBL Studio S-Center, JBL Studio S26ii (FL/FR), JBL N24 (LS/RS), JBL N24 (Overhead Atmos), JBL Studio SUB250
Nvidia Shield TV 2019 Pro / Fire Stick 4K
taz291819 is online now  
post #2299 of 2348 Old 02-10-2020, 12:56 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2019
Posts: 100
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 75 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by taz291819 View Post
Care to elaborate?

Roku pulled the At&t apps. I wouldn't be in this thread without that. I love my Roku Ultra but had to get a FireTV Stick 4k in order to watch my At&t paid service (At&t TV not At&t TV Now).
taz291819 likes this.
badtlc is offline  
post #2300 of 2348 Old 02-10-2020, 02:14 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
naustin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Deep in the Heart of TX
Posts: 3,309
Mentioned: 56 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1944 Post(s)
Liked: 1283
Quote:
Originally Posted by badtlc View Post
Roku pulled the At&t apps. I wouldn't be in this thread without that. I love my Roku Ultra but had to get a FireTV Stick 4k in order to watch my At&t paid service (At&t TV not At&t TV Now).
Yes another Roku carriage fee snafu. Just like the FoxSports Now one that was averted prior to the Super Bowl. Roku makes a lot of their money from Carriage fees now.
naustin is online now  
post #2301 of 2348 Old 02-11-2020, 09:30 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Posts: 180
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 139 Post(s)
Liked: 42
It always trigger dolby vision even I am watching HD. What setting should I change so that it won't trigger dolby vision when HD?

Thanks

Sent from my CLT-L04 using Tapatalk
boldventure is offline  
post #2302 of 2348 Old 02-11-2020, 09:38 AM
Advanced Member
 
brotony's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 890
Mentioned: 42 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 505 Post(s)
Liked: 447
Quote:
Originally Posted by boldventure View Post
It always trigger dolby vision even I am watching HD. What setting should I change so that it won't trigger dolby vision when HD?

Thanks

Sent from my CLT-L04 using Tapatalk
Find display settings and set “Dynamic Range Settings” to “Adaptive”. This will turn on HDR only when there’s HDR content being streamed.

Sent from my PH-1 using Tapatalk
brotony is online now  
post #2303 of 2348 Old 02-12-2020, 05:12 PM
Senior Member
 
MBrown2020's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 280
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 216 Post(s)
Liked: 39
Does anyone have 5.1 audio working with the stand alone CBS All Access app on Fire TV 4K? It used to be 5.1, but now all I get is stereo. Thanks!

Display: LG 65" OLED C7P + OPPO UDP-203 4K UHD Blu-ray Player
Processor: Marantz AV8802a & Dual MiniDSP DDRC-88a BM's - 7.1.4 ATMOS Setup
Speakers: (6) B&W 685 S2 - L,R,SR,SL,SBR,SBL + (1) B&W HTM61 S2 - Center + (4) B&W CCM 682 - Atmos
Amps: (1) Rotel RMB-1585 + (3) Rotel RB-1582 MKII -- Subs: (4) SVS PC-2000's
MBrown2020 is offline  
post #2304 of 2348 Old 02-12-2020, 06:41 PM
Advanced Member
 
brotony's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 890
Mentioned: 42 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 505 Post(s)
Liked: 447
I thought I found this adb instruction link on this thread to personalize sleep and screensaver timeouts?

http://www.aftvnews.com/how-to-set-c...-without-root/

Tapatalk search can't find it so I'll post it. It works. However, first app I tried it on didn't launch the screensaver at all for me last week- CBS All Access. The next app I tried it on worked as expected.

With that annoyance out of the way, I'd use this 4K Stick more if I could auto framerate match with it. Outside of Amazon apps and channels, don't know how? I didn't like the manual method.

Edit: I'm also wondering if anyone knows of this adb edit has to be redone after updates?

Sent from my PH-1 using Tapatalk
brotony is online now  
post #2305 of 2348 Old 02-15-2020, 05:33 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
BGLeduc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Albuquerque
Posts: 5,965
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2697 Post(s)
Liked: 2605
Quote:
Originally Posted by MBrown2020 View Post
Does anyone have 5.1 audio working with the stand alone CBS All Access app on Fire TV 4K? It used to be 5.1, but now all I get is stereo. Thanks!
Mine is stereo also.

I actually sub to CBSAA through Prime, and when I use that version of the App, I get 5.1.
BGLeduc is online now  
post #2306 of 2348 Old 02-16-2020, 07:36 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
shoman94's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Maine
Posts: 7,810
Mentioned: 217 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5481 Post(s)
Liked: 3749
I've posted this before and it still appears to be an issue. No matter what color space (RGB,Ycbcr) setting you choose for color depth (8,10,12bit), it always outputs Ycbcr 422 12bit color.

Sent from my Pixel 4 XL using Tapatalk

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
2018 Sony LCD Master Series Calibration Thread
Sony XBR-75Z9F, Vizio M50-E1, Pioneer Kuro 5020, Marantz SR6013, AppleTV-4K, XBox One & (X), NVIDIA SHIELD.v1, FireTV 4K-HDR, HDHR Connects, QNAP 431+

Last edited by shoman94; 02-17-2020 at 06:32 AM.
shoman94 is offline  
post #2307 of 2348 Old 02-17-2020, 12:03 AM
Senior Member
 
LG8600User's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 288
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 212 Post(s)
Liked: 246
Quote:
Originally Posted by MBrown2020 View Post
Does anyone have 5.1 audio working with the stand alone CBS All Access app on Fire TV 4K? It used to be 5.1, but now all I get is stereo. Thanks!

You'll just have to wait for another app update to fix the issue - until then you can use your Roku and select the alternative DD/DD+ audio tracks as described.
galonzo likes this.
LG8600User is offline  
post #2308 of 2348 Old 02-17-2020, 07:26 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
CCsoftball7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Cary, NC
Posts: 3,718
Mentioned: 18 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1703 Post(s)
Liked: 1303
QQ for you all...has anyone found a work around for the bug that causes Netflix to revert to HD when bluetooth headsets are connected? It does it with both sets of my Bose headsets. I would like to be able to watch Netflix in HDR, but the bug prevents me from doing so.

Sony XBR75X940C & XBR65A1E Samsung UBD K8500
My Recommended Daytime Settings Apps(Video), My Recommended Daytime Settings Apps, My non-HDR and HDR Settings, Setting HDMI to show no overscan
Sony XBR75X940C, Samsung UBD K8500, Roku Ultra, DirecTV RVU and C61K, Chromecast Ultra
CCsoftball7 is offline  
post #2309 of 2348 Old 02-17-2020, 08:07 AM
Advanced Member
 
LDBetaGuy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Ohio
Posts: 614
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 356 Post(s)
Liked: 226
Apple TV App Experience

Recently, I tried out the Apple TV app on my FireTV Stick 4K. It's very impressive. I rented "Ford v Ferrari" via my iPad. The movie immediately showed up in the app on my FireTV Stick 4K, displaying in Dolby Vision with DD+ audio. There were no glitches, no buffering, etc. The picture was gorgeous. The entire user interface of the app looks beautiful and runs smoothly.

It was a little disorienting to have such an Apple experience while using the Amazon FireTV! I really enjoyed it, though. It's a wonderful integration of the two companies' hardware and software.
rlb, galonzo and beardontwalk123 like this.
LDBetaGuy is offline  
post #2310 of 2348 Old 02-17-2020, 10:18 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
shoman94's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Maine
Posts: 7,810
Mentioned: 217 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5481 Post(s)
Liked: 3749
Would love to see Atmos on more than just Prime Video and select titles on Movies Anywhere.

Sent from my Pixel 4 XL using Tapatalk
galonzo, naustin and fredxr2d2 like this.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
2018 Sony LCD Master Series Calibration Thread
Sony XBR-75Z9F, Vizio M50-E1, Pioneer Kuro 5020, Marantz SR6013, AppleTV-4K, XBox One & (X), NVIDIA SHIELD.v1, FireTV 4K-HDR, HDHR Connects, QNAP 431+
shoman94 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Networking, Media Servers & Content Streaming

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off