Qobuz in US? - Page 4 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 28Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #91 of 105 Old 03-09-2019, 09:27 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
psuKinger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 2,530
Mentioned: 23 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1470 Post(s)
Liked: 579
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cebolla View Post
Expect a few teething problems with Roon's Qobuz support, given that it's a very recent addition - unlike its TIDAL support which has been going for years. So probably not the best time to trial Roon specifically for its Qobuz access.
I went ahead and gave it a go anyway with Roon + Qobuz, despite your (much appreciated) word of caution... I'm not sure what I might be missing out on in terms of things the Tidal integration does that the Qobuz integration isn't, but with nothing to compare it against, I think it's working really well. I'm very happy with everything I have going on right now.

More of a Roon question than a Qobuz question, but there's virtually no Roon-specific threads with any activity (where-as there's lots of "Roon mentions" and debates going on in other threads like this one):
If you have a "queue" set up for a given Zone (let's call it Zone A for now), and you want to keep playing that queue, you just want to stop playing it on Zone A and resume playing it right where you left off on Zone B, is there an easier way to do that other than to stop playback on A (I've been "pausing" it and then "clearing remaining queue"), and then researching for everything you had already put together in the Queue for Zone A and manually adding it to Zone B all over again?
psuKinger is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #92 of 105 Old 03-20-2019, 10:19 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
airgas1998's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: 42 2 30 degs N 92 54 52 degs W
Posts: 2,480
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 173 Post(s)
Liked: 165
quiet as a mouse....

Been a little on the quiet side the last 11 days, maybe that is a good thing. for those of you using this streaming service still think this is a viable alternative to tidal? or is it still too early?

Habit Forming....Wallet Burning Hobby....55" Oled Lg C7 55" Samsung B8500 Fald Channel Master Dvr+ Onkyo RZ900 avr Crown xls 2002 2ch amp Samsung K8500 UBR player Svs Ultra Towers/Center, Svs Satellite Surrounds Svs Pb-13 Ultra Sub Bluesound Node 2I
airgas1998 is offline  
post #93 of 105 Old 03-20-2019, 01:26 PM
AVS Forum Club Gold
 
Mike_WI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 3,371
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 390 Post(s)
Liked: 353
Quote:
Originally Posted by airgas1998 View Post
Been a little on the quiet side the last 11 days, maybe that is a good thing. for those of you using this streaming service still think this is a viable alternative to tidal? or is it still too early?
I cancelled Tidal and haven't gone back.
I have been purchasing using Qobuz Sublime.
I think the UI/UX for Qobuz purchasing could be improved. It was actually easier with HD Tracks.
I have more issues with UI/UX glitches vs Spotify, which works really well.
Also, Roon integration doesn't seem perfect.
I am just accepting these imperfections as early stage and hope they will improve over time.
darrob104 likes this.

HT: Oppo UDP-203 -> Lumagen RadiancePro 4446 {18 GHz input x2 & 18 GHz output x1 cards} - "new (112818 FW)" 18 GHz microcode - parallel outs to --> [Audio: Denon 5308CI] --> [Video: JVC RS520 FW v30.1]
HT Details: link
Mike_WI is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #94 of 105 Old 03-24-2019, 06:40 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 4
I've made the switch to Qobuz too. Not a big supporter of the lossy MQA standard - prefer the lossless full hi-res music on Qobuz.
darrob104 likes this.
nsxelent is offline  
post #95 of 105 Old 04-02-2019, 03:22 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
psuKinger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 2,530
Mentioned: 23 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1470 Post(s)
Liked: 579
Nice little article here about Qobuz' sound quality from Business Insider this week... they claim to have not expected it to matter, compared to Tidal and Spotify (two pretty popular and good-sound-quality alternatives), but concluded that they preferred Qobuz 75% of the time (on Sound Quality alone):
https://www.businessinsider.com/how-...o-qobuz-2019-3


FWIW, my own listening/preferences have matched there results.
darrob104 and Mike_WI like this.
psuKinger is offline  
post #96 of 105 Old 04-15-2019, 10:39 AM
Member
 
darrob104's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Layton, UT
Posts: 69
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 35 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Question regarding the Qobuz service.... Is playback through the Mac or PC app gapless? For whatever reason, when I'm streaming TIDAL through my laptop to my Marantz SR7009, the playback isn't gapless, which is a pain... I've looked for settings to resolve, but haven't had any luck... switching to QoBuz might be the best solution if their playback is gapless...

Thanks in advance...

Home Theater: RBH Signature Reference Speakers 7.1.4 Dolby Atmos | Rythmik FV-18 Subs (x2)
LG 65" OLED C7 | Marantz AV7703 | Outlaw 7700 & 5000 | OPPO UPD-203 | XBOX One X
Front Room: RBH 61-SE/r | RBH SX-12 Sub | Vizio M602i-B3 | Marantz SR7009 | Denon DVD-1930CI
darrob104 is offline  
post #97 of 105 Old 04-15-2019, 05:22 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
KenM10759's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Central MA USA
Posts: 5,192
Mentioned: 20 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3096 Post(s)
Liked: 1686
Quote:
Originally Posted by darrob104 View Post
Question regarding the Qobuz service.... Is playback through the Mac or PC app gapless? For whatever reason, when I'm streaming TIDAL through my laptop to my Marantz SR7009, the playback isn't gapless, which is a pain... I've looked for settings to resolve, but haven't had any luck... switching to QoBuz might be the best solution if their playback is gapless...

Thanks in advance...
Both Tidal HiFi and Qobuz are gapless playback for me. I stream through the BluOS system on my NAD T758v3 receiver on my living room 5.1.2 system, and with the NAD M10 integrated amp for my office 2.1 system.

You could solve your issue with a $199 Bluesound Node (1st gen) HERE. Add Bluetooth to it with a $12 USB adapter off Amazon. Connect to your SR7009 via it's analog outputs for full MQA unfold. Then you can shut off your laptop and control it with your phone or tablet. I would list all the other streaming sources you can access with it too, but you probably don't want to spend it.
darrob104 likes this.

KEF R500, R200C, R100, R50, SVS SB2000 sub, NAD T758v3 AVR, Pro-Ject RPM1 TT w/ Ortofon 2M Red, Bluesound Vault2, LG UP875 4K BlueRay, Samsung UN55JU6500F 4K LED TV, KEF M500 headphones, Sony CDP-CE500 CD changer. Desktop: NAD M10, KEF LS50, KEF Kube 10b. Guest room: Hafler 200 L-R, KEF reference Model 100 center, KEF iQ10 surrounds, M&K V-90 sub.
KenM10759 is online now  
post #98 of 105 Old 04-16-2019, 09:30 AM
Senior Member
 
Cebolla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: UK
Posts: 487
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 129 Post(s)
Liked: 94
Quote:
Originally Posted by darrob104 View Post
Question regarding the Qobuz service.... Is playback through the Mac or PC app gapless? For whatever reason, when I'm streaming TIDAL through my laptop to my Marantz SR7009, the playback isn't gapless, which is a pain... I've looked for settings to resolve, but haven't had any luck... switching to QoBuz might be the best solution if their playback is gapless...

Thanks in advance...
What software are you using on the laptop for TIDAL and how is the Marantz SR7009 connected to the laptop?


For example, if you using the TIDAL's own Desktop app and USB audio as the connection between laptop and SR7009, then that would imply a gapless playback problem with the TIDAL Desktop app and nothing to do with the SR7009 - though I haven't personally had a gapless playback problem with the Windows version of the TIDAL Desktop app.
Cebolla is offline  
post #99 of 105 Old 04-16-2019, 09:49 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
SJHT's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 3,398
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 985 Post(s)
Liked: 636
Does the SR7009 have a usb input to handle? I output my Mac via usb to my Mcintosh MX160s dedicated high res usb input. But I am also using Audirvana + on my Mac.... tidal also worked fine with this setup, but now I’m running only Qobuz. SJ
SJHT is offline  
post #100 of 105 Old 04-16-2019, 10:10 AM
Senior Member
 
Cebolla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: UK
Posts: 487
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 129 Post(s)
Liked: 94
Yep, you're right - I should've checked before using that specific example of audio input. Though the same reasoning would of course apply for any audio cabled connection between laptop and AVR, not just USB Audio.

@darrob104 should still answer the question, as it would make a difference if UPnP/DLNA was being used instead - which would have to be via something like Audirvana Plus which supports UPnP/DLNA, rather than the TIDAL Desktop app which doesn't.
Cebolla is offline  
post #101 of 105 Old 04-16-2019, 01:07 PM
Member
 
darrob104's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Layton, UT
Posts: 69
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 35 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cebolla View Post
What software are you using on the laptop for TIDAL and how is the Marantz SR7009 connected to the laptop?


For example, if you using the TIDAL's own Desktop app and USB audio as the connection between laptop and SR7009, then that would imply a gapless playback problem with the TIDAL Desktop app and nothing to do with the SR7009 - though I haven't personally had a gapless playback problem with the Windows version of the TIDAL Desktop app.
On my MacBook, I'm using the Tidal app (installed from their website) and connect to the Marantz via Bluetooth... It's not a Hi-Rez stream, but it sounds pretty good and is convenient, except for the problems with the gaps between songs... This is my 'leftovers' system in the front room using the equipment I recently 'replaced' when I put in a new home theater system in the family room...

Home Theater: RBH Signature Reference Speakers 7.1.4 Dolby Atmos | Rythmik FV-18 Subs (x2)
LG 65" OLED C7 | Marantz AV7703 | Outlaw 7700 & 5000 | OPPO UPD-203 | XBOX One X
Front Room: RBH 61-SE/r | RBH SX-12 Sub | Vizio M602i-B3 | Marantz SR7009 | Denon DVD-1930CI
darrob104 is offline  
post #102 of 105 Old 04-16-2019, 01:27 PM
Member
 
darrob104's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Layton, UT
Posts: 69
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 35 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by SJHT View Post
Does the SR7009 have a usb input to handle? I output my Mac via usb to my Mcintosh MX160s dedicated high res usb input. But I am also using Audirvana + on my Mac.... tidal also worked fine with this setup, but now I’m running only Qobuz. SJ
I do have a USB input on the front panel... i don't believe there's one on the back... I haven't tried implementing anything else (ie Audirvana, Plex, Roon, etc)... although I am interested in doing something to integrate my existing library of FLAC's along with an online streaming solution such as QoBuz (or Tidal) in the near future... that solution will have expanded connectivity to my other systems as well.

Home Theater: RBH Signature Reference Speakers 7.1.4 Dolby Atmos | Rythmik FV-18 Subs (x2)
LG 65" OLED C7 | Marantz AV7703 | Outlaw 7700 & 5000 | OPPO UPD-203 | XBOX One X
Front Room: RBH 61-SE/r | RBH SX-12 Sub | Vizio M602i-B3 | Marantz SR7009 | Denon DVD-1930CI
darrob104 is offline  
post #103 of 105 Old 04-16-2019, 02:29 PM
Member
 
darrob104's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Layton, UT
Posts: 69
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 35 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by KenM10759 View Post
Both Tidal HiFi and Qobuz are gapless playback for me. I stream through the BluOS system on my NAD T758v3 receiver on my living room 5.1.2 system, and with the NAD M10 integrated amp for my office 2.1 system.

You could solve your issue with a $199 Bluesound Node (1st gen) HERE. Add Bluetooth to it with a $12 USB adapter off Amazon. Connect to your SR7009 via it's analog outputs for full MQA unfold. Then you can shut off your laptop and control it with your phone or tablet. I would list all the other streaming sources you can access with it too, but you probably don't want to spend it.
thanks for the suggestion... I'm planning on implementing a full streaming solution at some point in the future (maybe a year out) and Bluesound is certainly on the list to look into...

Home Theater: RBH Signature Reference Speakers 7.1.4 Dolby Atmos | Rythmik FV-18 Subs (x2)
LG 65" OLED C7 | Marantz AV7703 | Outlaw 7700 & 5000 | OPPO UPD-203 | XBOX One X
Front Room: RBH 61-SE/r | RBH SX-12 Sub | Vizio M602i-B3 | Marantz SR7009 | Denon DVD-1930CI
darrob104 is offline  
post #104 of 105 Old 04-16-2019, 04:34 PM
Senior Member
 
Cebolla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: UK
Posts: 487
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 129 Post(s)
Liked: 94
Quote:
Originally Posted by darrob104 View Post
On my MacBook, I'm using the Tidal app (installed from their website) and connect to the Marantz via Bluetooth... It's not a Hi-Rez stream, but it sounds pretty good and is convenient, except for the problems with the gaps between songs... This is my 'leftovers' system in the front room using the equipment I recently 'replaced' when I put in a new home theater system in the family room...
Bluetooth is just transmitting the audio produced by the TIDAL Desktop app's output, so would imply that it's the TIDAL Desktop app that's having the gap problem. However, it's possible that Bluetooth in combination with the TIDAL Desktop app is using up the MacBook resources so that the TIDAL Desktop app is struggling to cue up the next track in memory for gapless playback.


Does the TIDAL Desktop app play gaplessly through the MacBook's own speakers, so not using Bluetooth out to the Marantz?


Have you tried the TIDAL Desktop app after changing the MacBook's audio settings to use AirPlay with the Marantz (which also supports AirPlay)?
It might use less of the MacBook's resources than BlueTooth.

Last edited by Cebolla; 04-16-2019 at 04:44 PM.
Cebolla is offline  
post #105 of 105 Old 04-17-2019, 10:05 AM
Member
 
darrob104's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Layton, UT
Posts: 69
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 35 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cebolla View Post
Bluetooth is just transmitting the audio produced by the TIDAL Desktop app's output, so would imply that it's the TIDAL Desktop app that's having the gap problem. However, it's possible that Bluetooth in combination with the TIDAL Desktop app is using up the MacBook resources so that the TIDAL Desktop app is struggling to cue up the next track in memory for gapless playback.


Does the TIDAL Desktop app play gaplessly through the MacBook's own speakers, so not using Bluetooth out to the Marantz?


Have you tried the TIDAL Desktop app after changing the MacBook's audio settings to use AirPlay with the Marantz (which also supports AirPlay)?
It might use less of the MacBook's resources than BlueTooth.
Tidal gapless playback does work properly using the MacBook app through the speakers on the computer... I didn't realize I could do AirPlay directly to the Marantz, so I tested that this morning, and gapless playback works properly over AirPlay... so, it seems to be a problem specific to steaming from the computer via BlueTooth...

For the time being, that work around helps... I'm still considering QoBuz, but will probably wait until summer when I'll have some time to play around with it...

Thanks to all for your help and feedback!

Home Theater: RBH Signature Reference Speakers 7.1.4 Dolby Atmos | Rythmik FV-18 Subs (x2)
LG 65" OLED C7 | Marantz AV7703 | Outlaw 7700 & 5000 | OPPO UPD-203 | XBOX One X
Front Room: RBH 61-SE/r | RBH SX-12 Sub | Vizio M602i-B3 | Marantz SR7009 | Denon DVD-1930CI
darrob104 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Networking, Media Servers & Content Streaming

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off