Zidoo Z1000 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 5Likes
  • 4 Post By jwort93
  • 1 Post By jwort93
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 18 Old 04-18-2019, 11:13 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
b curry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: on the way to Hell, Michigan USA
Posts: 4,605
Mentioned: 57 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1034 Post(s)
Liked: 651
Zidoo Z1000

New Zidoo Z1000

Android 7.1

https://www.zidoo.tv/Product/index/m...McQ%3D%3D.html

Looks like they are available now and in stock May 9th at futeko.com for $497.00









Last edited by b curry; 04-18-2019 at 11:16 AM.
b curry is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 18 Old 04-18-2019, 10:30 PM
Senior Member
 
Maison's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 309
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 187 Post(s)
Liked: 48
Very nice, but seems like the two differences are the housing and the main menu vs the Z10. Not sure why such a big gap in pricing between the two units.
Maison is offline  
post #3 of 18 Old 04-19-2019, 07:46 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
b curry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: on the way to Hell, Michigan USA
Posts: 4,605
Mentioned: 57 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1034 Post(s)
Liked: 651
Quote:
Originally Posted by Maison View Post
Very nice, but seems like the two differences are the housing and the main menu vs the Z10. Not sure why such a big gap in pricing between the two units.
Yes, it needs to be $150-$200 less expensive. Maybe a replacement for the Z10 even. The HDD access from the front of the unit is a big plus. It's a great form factor for use as a rack mount unit.
b curry is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 18 Old 04-19-2019, 08:22 AM
Member
 
gymnos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Spain
Posts: 83
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 27 Post(s)
Liked: 28
Quote:
Originally Posted by Maison View Post
Very nice, but seems like the two differences are the housing and the main menu vs the Z10. Not sure why such a big gap in pricing between the two units.
Don´t forget the new internal PSU and the built-in WiFi, anyway it is very expensive, the Zidoo X20 is a better option.

They should have included the new SoC RTD1395 with Dolby Vision and HDR10+ support.

LG OLED 55C8 // Oppo UDP-203 // Yamaha RX-V775 // Magnat Supreme
gymnos is offline  
post #5 of 18 Old 04-19-2019, 09:26 AM
Senior Member
 
xiaNaix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 206
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 46 Post(s)
Liked: 38
Nice looking unit but if the firmware hasn't improved from the other models there's no point.

Sony BDP-S6700 (Region Free) | Dune Solo 4K | Zidoo X9S
Epson Home Cinema 3100 | Silver Ticket STR-169110 110" Screen
Yamaha RX-A770 | Chane A2.4 L-C-R | Fluance XLBP Wide Dispersion Bipolar Rears | Hsu VTF-2 MK5 Sub
xiaNaix is offline  
post #6 of 18 Old 04-19-2019, 05:43 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Axel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Metro Detroit, MI, USA
Posts: 5,043
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 219 Post(s)
Liked: 63
Interesting....

Their website says that the Z1000 will be the first to support UHD Blu-Ray original navigation menus. Something that the Dune HD Pro 4K still has not yet implemented, despite being announced for quite some time.

RS-232 also sounds promising - assuming it's meant for an integration in a more advanced AV control system.

____
Axel

Axel is offline  
post #7 of 18 Old 04-20-2019, 09:19 PM
Senior Member
 
xiaNaix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 206
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 46 Post(s)
Liked: 38
Quote:
Originally Posted by Axel View Post
Interesting....

Their website says that the Z1000 will be the first to support UHD Blu-Ray original navigation menus. Something that the Dune HD Pro 4K still has not yet implemented, despite being announced for quite some time.

RS-232 also sounds promising - assuming it's meant for an integration in a more advanced AV control system.

____
Axel
Dune just added it to the Pro 4k today with a firmware update.

Sony BDP-S6700 (Region Free) | Dune Solo 4K | Zidoo X9S
Epson Home Cinema 3100 | Silver Ticket STR-169110 110" Screen
Yamaha RX-A770 | Chane A2.4 L-C-R | Fluance XLBP Wide Dispersion Bipolar Rears | Hsu VTF-2 MK5 Sub
xiaNaix is offline  
post #8 of 18 Old 05-15-2019, 07:00 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Posts: 116
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 104 Post(s)
Liked: 66
I purchased one of these from Futeko earlier this week, and it shipped with an expected delivery date of tomorrow. I'll post some first impressions when I receive it.
goosecat, xiaNaix, gymnos and 1 others like this.
jwort93 is offline  
post #9 of 18 Old 05-15-2019, 10:13 AM
Member
 
gymnos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Spain
Posts: 83
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 27 Post(s)
Liked: 28
Quote:
Originally Posted by jwort93 View Post
I purchased one of these from Futeko earlier this week, and it shipped with an expected delivery date of tomorrow. I'll post some first impressions when I receive it.
The first Z1000 owner, you will suffer our questions.


LG OLED 55C8 // Oppo UDP-203 // Yamaha RX-V775 // Magnat Supreme
gymnos is offline  
post #10 of 18 Old 05-16-2019, 04:52 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
GPBURNS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Halifax, Nova Scotia
Posts: 1,204
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 430 Post(s)
Liked: 812
mentions SACD - wonder if multi channel SACD ISO supported - connectivity looks great but don't see the 2 usb 2 ports - can see the usb 3 ports on side-
guess lot of users be interested if passes proper HDR MaxCLL & MaxFALL data

15400 Watts of Atmos Seaton Power -Quad SubMersived - JVC N7
GPBURNS is offline  
post #11 of 18 Old 05-16-2019, 02:30 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Posts: 116
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 104 Post(s)
Liked: 66
The Z1000 was delivered today! I attached a picture of it in my entertainment center. It does indeed have the black UI from the X20 and X20 Pro. The firmware version is listed as v2.2.7, which as far as I can tell doesn't exist for any of the other Zidoo players, I'm not sure if it's newer than v2.2.61, but I have a feeling it's not. I've messed around a bit with it so far, and haven't had any issues. Haven't noticed any screen blanking out issues/HDCP resyncs, like I had when I owned a Z9S a few months ago. Only real complaint with it so far is it comes with the IR remote that the cheaper Zidoo players come with, instead of the bluetooth remote of the X20/X20 Pro. I have the X20 bluetooth remote on order from Zidoo on Aliexpress to replace the included one though.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_0136.jpg
Views:	208
Size:	115.6 KB
ID:	2567672  
gymnos likes this.
jwort93 is offline  
post #12 of 18 Old 05-16-2019, 04:37 PM
Member
 
gymnos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Spain
Posts: 83
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 27 Post(s)
Liked: 28
Quote:
Originally Posted by jwort93 View Post
The Z1000 was delivered today! I attached a picture of it in my entertainment center. It does indeed have the black UI from the X20 and X20 Pro. The firmware version is listed as v2.2.7, which as far as I can tell doesn't exist for any of the other Zidoo players, I'm not sure if it's newer than v2.2.61, but I have a feeling it's not. I've messed around a bit with it so far, and haven't had any issues. Haven't noticed any screen blanking out issues/HDCP resyncs, like I had when I owned a Z9S a few months ago. Only real complaint with it so far is it comes with the IR remote that the cheaper Zidoo players come with, instead of the bluetooth remote of the X20/X20 Pro. I have the X20 bluetooth remote on order from Zidoo on Aliexpress to replace the included one though.
Very nice, enjoy it and please let us know your findings.

Greetings.

LG OLED 55C8 // Oppo UDP-203 // Yamaha RX-V775 // Magnat Supreme
gymnos is offline  
post #13 of 18 Old 05-16-2019, 11:44 PM
Senior Member
 
Briguy65's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 284
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 103 Post(s)
Liked: 67
Looks nice. Not as nice as the Egreat A10 that I have. That of course is only visuals. The A10 is good but has more than a few rough edges. I hope that this Zidoo is the new holy grail of a media player that plays everything well, looks good, and has a nice poster wall that impresses everyone.
Briguy65 is offline  
post #14 of 18 Old 05-28-2019, 03:52 AM
.NET Solution Architect
 
SoulOfUniverse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Chigwell, Essex, UK
Posts: 933
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 662 Post(s)
Liked: 582
Hi Guys,

What about the performance, it has new chipset family, have you tried installing Kodi directly onto that platform, do you have issues playing back 4k HDR content @60 and audio issues? Or you still have to install ZDMC agp pak?

Video: Synology 416Play NAS 24TB -> OPPO UDP-203 / Zidoo X9S / Nvidia Shield 4K -> Lumagen Radiance Pro 4444 -> SONY VPL-VW760ES -> Elite Screen 135'' 16:9 1.1 Max White;
Audio: DENON X3500H -> Dali Zensor 7.1 Dolby Atmos (7, 1, E12F, Vokal, Dolby Alteco C1)
SoulOfUniverse is offline  
post #15 of 18 Old 05-28-2019, 11:05 PM
Member
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 0
sends the native stream dsd sacd iso mch and stereo on the hdmi location to an av receiver that encodes ?????
vipkekko is offline  
post #16 of 18 Old 05-29-2019, 06:01 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Posts: 116
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 104 Post(s)
Liked: 66
Quote:
Originally Posted by SoulOfUniverse View Post
Hi Guys,

What about the performance, it has new chipset family, have you tried installing Kodi directly onto that platform, do you have issues playing back 4k HDR content @60 and audio issues? Or you still have to install ZDMC agp pak?
It's the same chipset as the Z9S/Z10/X20/X20 Pro, and the same firmware version to after updating to v2.2.61, so I doubt it would be any different than the others with regards to any bugs etc.
jwort93 is offline  
post #17 of 18 Old 08-01-2019, 01:02 PM
Member
 
pbelo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: LISBON-PORTUGAL
Posts: 70
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 25 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by jwort93 View Post
The Z1000 was delivered today! I attached a picture of it in my entertainment center. It does indeed have the black UI from the X20 and X20 Pro. The firmware version is listed as v2.2.7, which as far as I can tell doesn't exist for any of the other Zidoo players, I'm not sure if it's newer than v2.2.61, but I have a feeling it's not. I've messed around a bit with it so far, and haven't had any issues. Haven't noticed any screen blanking out issues/HDCP resyncs, like I had when I owned a Z9S a few months ago. Only real complaint with it so far is it comes with the IR remote that the cheaper Zidoo players come with, instead of the bluetooth remote of the X20/X20 Pro. I have the X20 bluetooth remote on order from Zidoo on Aliexpress to replace the included one though.
For remote just use the very BEST , the CetusPlay app for IOS or Android, using it with Egreat A10 but you need to install Cetus server app in Zidoo first, then you can use IOS + Android apps for remote control, easy and simple.
Enjoy, greetings from Portugal
Pedro

Peter
pbelo is offline  
post #18 of 18 Old 09-06-2019, 12:18 AM
Senior Member
 
Shepardos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 343
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 143 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Does the Z1000 has a „source untouched“ mode, where no scaling will be done, only auto resolution / auto framerate switching for the sources?
Shepardos is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Networking, Media Servers & Content Streaming

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off