Streaming 5.1 sound, problem and recommendations - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 2Likes
  • 1 Post By tenthplanet
  • 1 Post By JChin

post #1 of 5 Old 06-15-2019, 04:35 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 36 Post(s)
Liked: 9
Streaming 5.1 sound, problem and recommendations

I have had several Roku’s and have had no complaints, until now. I recently bought my first real hometheater set up and now I’m not getting 5.1 sound.

I supposedly get it in Netflix and Amazon Prime. I have the correct things selected (from what I can tell) on the Roku and in Netflix and Prime. Yet, just stereo sound.

Details. I’m new to all this, so maybe I’m doing something dumb. I do know the 5.1 works, because my UHD player produces it.

If it matters to the answer, I have airmotiv T1s and C2 in front and Ascend 170s in the rear. That probably doesn’t matter.

What probably does matter: I have an Onkyo 686 and I have the Roku hooked up to it’s “Steaming Box” port. It plays good video and sound this way, but just stereo sound.

My Roku is a Roku 4. It supposedly can produce 5.1 sound. Doing some research, I see that Netflix and Prime only produce a certain type of 5.1 sound. I’ve selected the settings in Roku that were recommended, with no luck.

So, any clue what I’m doing wrong?

Also, if I’m out of luck with my current Roku, I’ll scrap it if I have to. What is the best streaming device I can get? I have 4K subscriptions, so I want that and the best sound I can get.

Thanks all for the advice. This forum has been great.

Last edited by wnydel2; 06-15-2019 at 04:40 PM.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 5 Old 06-15-2019, 05:38 PM
AVS Forum Special Member

Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Quoted: 2025 Post(s)
Liked: 2818