Orbi & Fios Modem - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 2Likes
  • 1 Post By Otto Pylot
  • 1 Post By Aero 1
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 21 Old 06-21-2019, 05:00 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Soccerdude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: South of NJ Turnpike
Posts: 1,355
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 426 Post(s)
Liked: 189
Orbi & Fios Modem

Hope I am in the right area asking this question . Bought an Orbi to extend my Fios Verizon modem but need help to set it up tried the help line from Netgear but they are asking for money first . The App is confusing at best . Don't know what to do ..

HT: JVC RS2000, S Studio Tek 130 1.3 Gain screen, , Panasonic UB820. Denon X6500. Def Tech X9080 series . BR: OnkyoTX696 , LG OLED 65 8 series , Def tech 9020 5.2 .
Soccerdude is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 21 Old 06-21-2019, 07:00 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Otto Pylot's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Bull Mountain, OR
Posts: 16,265
Mentioned: 29 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4043 Post(s)
Liked: 2899
Quote:
Originally Posted by Soccerdude View Post
Hope I am in the right area asking this question . Bought an Orbi to extend my Fios Verizon modem but need help to set it up tried the help line from Netgear but they are asking for money first . The App is confusing at best . Don't know what to do ..

If I remember correctly, doesn't the Orbi self-configure itself? It's been awhile since I set mine up but I think it was pretty straight forward, unless you're trying to set special permissions. If the Orbi is brand new, you shouldn't have to pay for support.
Soccerdude likes this.

I never trust an atom, they make up everything.
Otto Pylot is online now  
post #3 of 21 Old 06-22-2019, 02:25 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Soccerdude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: South of NJ Turnpike
Posts: 1,355
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 426 Post(s)
Liked: 189
Quote:
Originally Posted by Otto Pylot View Post
If I remember correctly, doesn't the Orbi self-configure itself? It's been awhile since I set mine up but I think it was pretty straight forward, unless you're trying to set special permissions. If the Orbi is brand new, you shouldn't have to pay for support.
I think with Fios router I have to turn it off & put the Orbi in AP mode and pick an IP address & it gets complicated , I don't want to screw it up

HT: JVC RS2000, S Studio Tek 130 1.3 Gain screen, , Panasonic UB820. Denon X6500. Def Tech X9080 series . BR: OnkyoTX696 , LG OLED 65 8 series , Def tech 9020 5.2 .
Soccerdude is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 21 Old 06-22-2019, 05:40 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
markmon1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 8,192
Mentioned: 166 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6838 Post(s)
Liked: 4963
Quote:
Originally Posted by Soccerdude View Post
Hope I am in the right area asking this question . Bought an Orbi to extend my Fios Verizon modem but need help to set it up tried the help line from Netgear but they are asking for money first . The App is confusing at best . Don't know what to do ..
Quote:
Originally Posted by Soccerdude View Post
I think with Fios router I have to turn it off & put the Orbi in AP mode and pick an IP address & it gets complicated , I don't want to screw it up
First off, Fios doesn't have a modem. It has an ONT (optical network terminal) that outputs cat5 type cable in to your router's WAN port. The Orbi does not extend networks. It provides routing and an access point. Therefore, you have two options with the Orbi:

Option 1) Plug your cat5 input from your router into the Orbi's yellow WAN port, and power off and don't use the fios router. In this case, the orbi becomes the router. You can configure it as such. This is probably your best bet to start as it's easiest to undo. You can simply disconnect the orbi and hook up the original router if you have issues.

Option 2) Go into your router and disable your wifi access point (turn off the wifi radios). Then hook the orbi up via LAN cable from your router and set Orbi up as a pure access point no router functions. Now you'll have your router still doing what it is doing but the Orbi will handle all wifi. If you don't disable your router's wifi, you can end up with more interference and actually make things worse.

So those are your two options. If you're renting a router from verizon, option 1 is that much better because you can return it and stop paying the $10 fee for it each month.

JVC Control - my software for controlling JVC projector via IP control.
Smart Masking - See my automatic smart screen masking system.
JVC IR Codes - free online pronto code converter for JVC IR codes.
markmon1 is offline  
post #5 of 21 Old 06-22-2019, 07:04 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Soccerdude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: South of NJ Turnpike
Posts: 1,355
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 426 Post(s)
Liked: 189
Mark I am hooked up as option 1 . The Fios ONT [Router] on the right & ORBI on the left hooked up via Cat5 , if I power off & remove the Fios ONT how do I hook up the cat 5 to Orbi ?..
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	UNADJUSTEDNONRAW_thumb_1659.jpg
Views:	27
Size:	398.6 KB
ID:	2583088  

HT: JVC RS2000, S Studio Tek 130 1.3 Gain screen, , Panasonic UB820. Denon X6500. Def Tech X9080 series . BR: OnkyoTX696 , LG OLED 65 8 series , Def tech 9020 5.2 .
Soccerdude is online now  
post #6 of 21 Old 06-22-2019, 08:32 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Otto Pylot's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Bull Mountain, OR
Posts: 16,265
Mentioned: 29 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4043 Post(s)
Liked: 2899
Quote:
Originally Posted by Soccerdude View Post
I think with Fios router I have to turn it off & put the Orbi in AP mode and pick an IP address & it gets complicated , I don't want to screw it up
I see. I have Comcrap but I bought my own modem (Motorola DOCSOS 3.1), which is set to bridge mode. I just connected the Orbi to the modem via a CAT-6 cable and let it self-configure. The satellite router is upstairs and instead of using WiFi for the back channel I just hardwired it via CAT-6 to the main unit downstairs. Sounds like FiOS is a bit more complicated.

I never trust an atom, they make up everything.
Otto Pylot is online now  
post #7 of 21 Old 06-22-2019, 08:58 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Soccerdude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: South of NJ Turnpike
Posts: 1,355
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 426 Post(s)
Liked: 189
Quote:
Originally Posted by Otto Pylot View Post
Sounds like FiOS is a bit more complicated.
exactly & calling Netgear for support reaching someone in India asking me for money before he can talk to me while the Orbi package clearly says 24/7 support.

HT: JVC RS2000, S Studio Tek 130 1.3 Gain screen, , Panasonic UB820. Denon X6500. Def Tech X9080 series . BR: OnkyoTX696 , LG OLED 65 8 series , Def tech 9020 5.2 .
Soccerdude is online now  
post #8 of 21 Old 06-22-2019, 03:02 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
markmon1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 8,192
Mentioned: 166 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6838 Post(s)
Liked: 4963
Quote:
Originally Posted by Soccerdude View Post
Mark I am hooked up as option 1 . The Fios ONT [Router] on the right & ORBI on the left hooked up via Cat5 , if I power off & remove the Fios ONT how do I hook up the cat 5 to Orbi ?..
All I see here is a mess of wires. But it looks like the FIOS box is being fed by coax, which is odd because FIOS should be fed directly by CAT5. It doesn't look like you're hooked up as option 1. If you were, you would have a run from the wall directly into your ORBI and it would become your router.

JVC Control - my software for controlling JVC projector via IP control.
Smart Masking - See my automatic smart screen masking system.
JVC IR Codes - free online pronto code converter for JVC IR codes.
markmon1 is offline  
post #9 of 21 Old 06-22-2019, 03:08 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Otto Pylot's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Bull Mountain, OR
Posts: 16,265
Mentioned: 29 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4043 Post(s)
Liked: 2899
Quote:
Originally Posted by Soccerdude View Post
exactly & calling Netgear for support reaching someone in India asking me for money before he can talk to me while the Orbi package clearly says 24/7 support.
Interesting. I had two questions when I set mine up and I got a response rather quickly, and nobody asked me for money.

I never trust an atom, they make up everything.
Otto Pylot is online now  
post #10 of 21 Old 06-23-2019, 03:04 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Soccerdude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: South of NJ Turnpike
Posts: 1,355
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 426 Post(s)
Liked: 189
Quote:
Originally Posted by markmon1 View Post
All I see here is a mess of wires. But it looks like the FIOS box is being fed by coax, which is odd because FIOS should be fed directly by CAT5. It doesn't look like you're hooked up as option 1. If you were, you would have a run from the wall directly into your ORBI and it would become your router.
I guess I have a fake Fios connection that could be the problem.

HT: JVC RS2000, S Studio Tek 130 1.3 Gain screen, , Panasonic UB820. Denon X6500. Def Tech X9080 series . BR: OnkyoTX696 , LG OLED 65 8 series , Def tech 9020 5.2 .
Soccerdude is online now  
post #11 of 21 Old 06-23-2019, 03:11 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Soccerdude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: South of NJ Turnpike
Posts: 1,355
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 426 Post(s)
Liked: 189
Quote:
Originally Posted by Otto Pylot View Post
Interesting. I had two questions when I set mine up and I got a response rather quickly, and nobody asked me for money.
May be they have changed their policies since than .

HT: JVC RS2000, S Studio Tek 130 1.3 Gain screen, , Panasonic UB820. Denon X6500. Def Tech X9080 series . BR: OnkyoTX696 , LG OLED 65 8 series , Def tech 9020 5.2 .
Soccerdude is online now  
post #12 of 21 Old 06-26-2019, 05:36 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Soccerdude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: South of NJ Turnpike
Posts: 1,355
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 426 Post(s)
Liked: 189
Quote:
Originally Posted by Otto Pylot View Post
Interesting. I had two questions when I set mine up and I got a response rather quickly, and nobody asked me for money.
Otto I called this number 1866 296-0982 number was posted on Netgear site.

HT: JVC RS2000, S Studio Tek 130 1.3 Gain screen, , Panasonic UB820. Denon X6500. Def Tech X9080 series . BR: OnkyoTX696 , LG OLED 65 8 series , Def tech 9020 5.2 .

Last edited by Soccerdude; 06-26-2019 at 08:26 AM.
Soccerdude is online now  
post #13 of 21 Old 06-26-2019, 07:48 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Aero 1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Totowa, NJ
Posts: 1,097
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 384 Post(s)
Liked: 188
you need to familiarize yourself with what you are paying verizon for. you dont have fake fios.

that thing on the right is not the router (ont) its just a router. the ONT is a seperate thing that is usually outside the house or inside by your service panel or where ever verizon brought in the fiber cable. The fios router is getting fed by the ONT via Coax, that means you cant use the orbi as a router like explained in option 1.

Do you have TV service? thats the main reason verizon provisioned you via coax. if you dont have tv service, then you need to contact verizon to provision your ont to ethernet. once thats done, disconnect the coax that goes from the ont to the verizon router and run an ethernet cable from the ont to the orbi.

read this, it gives you all the info you need depending on what services you have:

https://www.dslreports.com/faq/veriz...ral_Networking
markmon1 likes this.

-------
Cord Cutter | OTA - NYC DMA - HDHomeRun Connect Quatro - 6 Apple TV's with Channels DVR | Plex Pass | Netflix | Amazon Prime Video | ESPN+ | Disney+ | Apple TV+ | Fios Gigabit with Ubiquiti Unifi Enterprise Network/Wifi/Surveillance System
Aero 1 is offline  
post #14 of 21 Old 06-26-2019, 07:53 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mr266's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 1,606
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 212 Post(s)
Liked: 1009
Quote:
Originally Posted by Soccerdude View Post
Otto I called this number 1866 296-0982 number was post on Netgear site.
Searching around on their website, it looks like you should have 90 days of complimentary support, after which you have to pay $29 a year and up. You may, if you haven't already, have to register your product online before they will support it.
By the way, since you have Fios, have you ever thought about going the Wifi extender route which utilizes MOCA instead of the Orbi?

WDTV Live SMP with WD EX4100 NAS
Polk RTI8 Front, Polk CSI5 Center, Polk RTI4 Surround
MTX SW2 12” SUB, Sharp AQUOS LC-70C6400U
URC-WR7 Universal Remote
Motorola QIP7232 (P2) FIOS DVR, Sony BDP-S590 Blu Ray Player
Marantz SR5010 AVR,Technics SL-B20 Turntable
mr266 is online now  
post #15 of 21 Old 06-26-2019, 08:09 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Soccerdude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: South of NJ Turnpike
Posts: 1,355
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 426 Post(s)
Liked: 189
Quote:
Originally Posted by Aero 1 View Post
you need to familiarize yourself with what you are paying verizon for. you dont have fake fios.

that thing on the right is not the router (ont) its just a router. the ONT is a seperate thing that is usually outside the house or inside by your service panel or where ever verizon brought in the fiber cable. The fios router is getting fed by the ONT via Coax, that means you cant use the orbi as a router like explained in option 1.

Do you have TV service? thats the main reason verizon provisioned you via coax. if you dont have tv service, then you need to contact verizon to provision your ont to ethernet. once thats done, disconnect the coax that goes from the ont to the verizon router and run an ethernet cable from the ont to the orbi.

read this, it gives you all the info you need depending on what services you have:

https://www.dslreports.com/faq/veriz...ral_Networking
Quote:
Originally Posted by mr266 View Post
Searching around on their website, it looks like you should have 90 days of complimentary support, after which you have to pay $29 a year and up. You may, if you haven't already, have to register your product online before they will support it.
By the way, since you have Fios, have you ever thought about going the Wifi extender route which utilizes MOCA instead of the Orbi?
I called Verizon they're scheduled to come in two weeks .

HT: JVC RS2000, S Studio Tek 130 1.3 Gain screen, , Panasonic UB820. Denon X6500. Def Tech X9080 series . BR: OnkyoTX696 , LG OLED 65 8 series , Def tech 9020 5.2 .
Soccerdude is online now  
post #16 of 21 Old 06-26-2019, 08:30 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Aero 1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Totowa, NJ
Posts: 1,097
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 384 Post(s)
Liked: 188
Quote:
Originally Posted by Soccerdude View Post
I called Verizon they're scheduled to come in two weeks .
they're coming to do what? i highly doubt they will hook up the orbi for you.

-------
Cord Cutter | OTA - NYC DMA - HDHomeRun Connect Quatro - 6 Apple TV's with Channels DVR | Plex Pass | Netflix | Amazon Prime Video | ESPN+ | Disney+ | Apple TV+ | Fios Gigabit with Ubiquiti Unifi Enterprise Network/Wifi/Surveillance System
Aero 1 is offline  
post #17 of 21 Old 06-26-2019, 08:30 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Soccerdude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: South of NJ Turnpike
Posts: 1,355
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 426 Post(s)
Liked: 189
The first photo is Fios in the basement & the other two are on the outside of the house , the ONT must inside that box.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	UNADJUSTEDNONRAW_thumb_166f.jpg
Views:	18
Size:	221.0 KB
ID:	2584652   Click image for larger version

Name:	UNADJUSTEDNONRAW_thumb_1670.jpg
Views:	16
Size:	162.7 KB
ID:	2584654   Click image for larger version

Name:	UNADJUSTEDNONRAW_thumb_1671.jpg
Views:	18
Size:	229.2 KB
ID:	2584656  

HT: JVC RS2000, S Studio Tek 130 1.3 Gain screen, , Panasonic UB820. Denon X6500. Def Tech X9080 series . BR: OnkyoTX696 , LG OLED 65 8 series , Def tech 9020 5.2 .

Last edited by Soccerdude; 06-26-2019 at 08:40 AM.
Soccerdude is online now  
post #18 of 21 Old 06-26-2019, 08:34 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Soccerdude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: South of NJ Turnpike
Posts: 1,355
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 426 Post(s)
Liked: 189
Quote:
Originally Posted by Aero 1 View Post
they're coming to do what? i highly doubt they will hook up the orbi for you.
To run a Cat5 from the box outside or possibly putting an ONT inside . They are NOT hooking up the Orbi of course not.

HT: JVC RS2000, S Studio Tek 130 1.3 Gain screen, , Panasonic UB820. Denon X6500. Def Tech X9080 series . BR: OnkyoTX696 , LG OLED 65 8 series , Def tech 9020 5.2 .
Soccerdude is online now  
post #19 of 21 Old 06-26-2019, 08:36 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Aero 1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Totowa, NJ
Posts: 1,097
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 384 Post(s)
Liked: 188
Quote:
Originally Posted by Soccerdude View Post
To run a Cat5 from the box outside or possibly putting an ONT inside . They are NOT hooking up the Orbi of course not.
ahh ok, you werent clear. do you have tv service? if you do, thats where that link i posted will come in handy.

-------
Cord Cutter | OTA - NYC DMA - HDHomeRun Connect Quatro - 6 Apple TV's with Channels DVR | Plex Pass | Netflix | Amazon Prime Video | ESPN+ | Disney+ | Apple TV+ | Fios Gigabit with Ubiquiti Unifi Enterprise Network/Wifi/Surveillance System
Aero 1 is offline  
post #20 of 21 Old 06-26-2019, 08:40 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Soccerdude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: South of NJ Turnpike
Posts: 1,355
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 426 Post(s)
Liked: 189
Quote:
Originally Posted by Aero 1 View Post
ahh ok, you werent clear. do you have tv service? if you do, thats where that link i posted will come in handy.
Yes I have TV service . Thanks .

HT: JVC RS2000, S Studio Tek 130 1.3 Gain screen, , Panasonic UB820. Denon X6500. Def Tech X9080 series . BR: OnkyoTX696 , LG OLED 65 8 series , Def tech 9020 5.2 .
Soccerdude is online now  
post #21 of 21 Old 06-27-2019, 06:42 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
markmon1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 8,192
Mentioned: 166 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6838 Post(s)
Liked: 4963
Even with TV service you can still get CAT5 for the network side.

JVC Control - my software for controlling JVC projector via IP control.
Smart Masking - See my automatic smart screen masking system.
JVC IR Codes - free online pronto code converter for JVC IR codes.
markmon1 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Networking, Media Servers & Content Streaming

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off