New Nvidia Shield TV Pro announced! Faster SOC, Dolby Vision, new remote! - Page 117 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 2337Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #3481 of 4538 Old 05-13-2020, 11:18 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
SamuriHL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 5,337
Mentioned: 12 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 318 Post(s)
Liked: 410
Quote:
Originally Posted by plouie10 View Post
When they say it supports Dolby Vision. Do they mean on apps like Netflix and PRIME or do they mean from external sources like ripped UHD discs?
Thanks
Depends how they're ripped, but, Plex can be used to play TS files made from UHD's.
galonzo likes this.

LG C8 OLED | Pioneer VSX-LX303 | HTPC (9900k, RTX 2070) | nVidia SHIELD 2019 | Panasonic UB820
SamuriHL is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #3482 of 4538 Old 05-13-2020, 01:13 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Wendell R. Breland's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 1999
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 5,160
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 624 Post(s)
Liked: 317
For Kodi users, did you install via Google Play or did you use a downloader, download and install?
Wendell R. Breland is offline  
post #3483 of 4538 Old 05-13-2020, 02:04 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
atc98092's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Washington (the state)
Posts: 2,681
Mentioned: 65 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1685 Post(s)
Liked: 852
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wendell R. Breland View Post
For Kodi users, did you install via Google Play or did you use a downloader, download and install?
I had earlier used a beta version that I sideloaded, but I've just been using the Play Store version ever since version 18 was released.
Wendell R. Breland likes this.

Dan
Samsung JU7100 and NU7100 4K TVs, Yamaha RX-V583, Nvidia Shield (2017 & 2019), a number of Roku players and TVs, Windows 10 media server with Serviio and Plex. Other players and TVs as well.
atc98092 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #3484 of 4538 Old 05-13-2020, 02:37 PM
rlb
AVS Forum Special Member
 
rlb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: OH
Posts: 6,264
Mentioned: 61 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2290 Post(s)
Liked: 1936
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jameshtx View Post
I’m too late again. This is impossible


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
It makes no sense. I went to their site and it said "out of stock"; so I put myself on their e-mail list for advising of availability. I then went to check my daily e-mails; and a minute or so later their e-mail came in saying they were "in stock". I immediately went to their site and completed the buy within a couple minutes. But, I'll see what happens. During the purchase process, the system advised of 5-7 days for receipt. However, the subsequent e-mail providing "receipt for puchase and order number" said that the 5-7 seven days starts when I get my future e-mail providing shipment status. If they are really "in stock"; that should be tomorrow.

Sony XBR75Z9D, Samsung 65F9000 , Yamaha CX-A5200 & Outlaw 770, Harmony Elite
Samsung K8500, OPPO 103-D, Genie 2 and C61Ks, Roku Ultra, ATV4K, FireTV Stick 4K, and Nvidia Shield TV Pro
rlb is online now  
post #3485 of 4538 Old 05-13-2020, 04:03 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wendell R. Breland View Post
For Kodi users, did you install via Google Play or did you use a downloader, download and install?

I'm just using Leia from Play Store now.


I tested some of the latest nightly builds a few weeks ago and they seemed to have too many issues even considering the nightly status - e.g. trying to skip forward would start the playback from beginning every time.
arrrrgh is offline  
post #3486 of 4538 Old 05-13-2020, 07:46 PM
AVS Forum Club Gold
 
tonydeluce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: SoCal
Posts: 3,226
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 104 Post(s)
Liked: 120
I just pulled the trigger on the Nvidia Shield (non Pro) version and working my way through this long and interesting thread.

I just noticed a difference between the dongle and the Pro.

Does anyone know if

Dolby Atmos * Dolby Digital Plus

indicate that Dolby Atmos is only sent over Dolby Digital Plus or does it mean that uncompressed Dolby Atmos 7.1.4 is supported in addition to Dolby Digital Plus?

Sent from my SM-N960U using Tapatalk

Sony XBR-65A8G 65 inch Bravia OLED 4K TV
Panasonic DP-UB820 UltraHD Premium Blu-ray Player * 2019 Nvidia Shield TV * Roku Ultra
LG SL10YG 7.1.2 Channel Soundbar + Rear Speaker kit w/Meridian Technology & Dolby Atmos / DTS:X
tonydeluce is online now  
post #3487 of 4538 Old 05-13-2020, 10:03 PM
Member
 
fulano's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: San Antonio, TX
Posts: 123
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 69 Post(s)
Liked: 46
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wendell R. Breland View Post
For Kodi users, did you install via Google Play or did you use a downloader, download and install?
Google Play

Vizio E-701i, Denon X4500H, Crown XLS-1502, Polk Monitor 70s, Polk CS2 II, Polk T15s, Klipsch RIC-65, Tivo Roamio OTA, LG BD570, Fire TV 1, Fire TV Stick 4K, XBox One S, Harmony Smart Control, Nvidia Shield TV Pro
fulano is offline  
post #3488 of 4538 Old 05-14-2020, 05:20 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Foxbat121's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: VA
Posts: 12,253
Mentioned: 14 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 698 Post(s)
Liked: 633
Quote:
Originally Posted by tonydeluce View Post
I just pulled the trigger on the Nvidia Shield (non Pro) version and working my way through this long and interesting thread.

I just noticed a difference between the dongle and the Pro.

Does anyone know if

Dolby Atmos * Dolby Digital Plus

indicate that Dolby Atmos is only sent over Dolby Digital Plus or does it mean that uncompressed Dolby Atmos 7.1.4 is supported in addition to Dolby Digital Plus?

Sent from my SM-N960U using Tapatalk
There is no difference between the two. Bitstream of lossless TrueHD w/ Atmos is supported even on the old Shields. The only real difference between Pro and non-Pro is the USB port. If you have to have USB port, you need the Pro version.

Sent from my Pixel 3 using Tapatalk
tonydeluce likes this.
Foxbat121 is online now  
post #3489 of 4538 Old 05-14-2020, 06:24 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Southern California
Posts: 3,501
Mentioned: 53 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2291 Post(s)
Liked: 1573
Quote:
Originally Posted by Foxbat121 View Post
There is no difference between the two. Bitstream of lossless TrueHD w/ Atmos is supported even on the old Shields. The only real difference between Pro and non-Pro is the USB port. If you have to have USB port, you need the Pro version.

Sent from my Pixel 3 using Tapatalk

There’s more differences than that. Pro has more RAM, 64 bit vs. 32 bit etc, etc.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

Mike
Sony XBR-65X930E | ATV4K-64GB & 2-32GB 5th Gens | Nvidia Shield TV Pro 2017 | Nvidia Shield TV Pro 2019 | Logitech Harmony Elite
m_snow is online now  
post #3490 of 4538 Old 05-14-2020, 06:36 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Foxbat121's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: VA
Posts: 12,253
Mentioned: 14 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 698 Post(s)
Liked: 633
Quote:
Originally Posted by m_snow View Post
There’s more differences than that. Pro has more RAM, 64 bit vs. 32 bit etc, etc.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
Which only means anything if you play games on it. Otherwise, for media consumption that will make no difference.
tonydeluce likes this.
Foxbat121 is online now  
post #3491 of 4538 Old 05-14-2020, 06:48 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Southern California
Posts: 3,501
Mentioned: 53 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2291 Post(s)
Liked: 1573
Quote:
Originally Posted by Foxbat121 View Post
Which only means anything if you play games on it. Otherwise, for media consumption that will make no difference.

I don’t have both devices but maybe you do. My experience in comparing my 32 bit Sony Android TV to either my arm64 Shields or FireTV’s is that there is a considerable improvement in non gaming performance between the two with 64 bit apps.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

Mike
Sony XBR-65X930E | ATV4K-64GB & 2-32GB 5th Gens | Nvidia Shield TV Pro 2017 | Nvidia Shield TV Pro 2019 | Logitech Harmony Elite
m_snow is online now  
post #3492 of 4538 Old 05-14-2020, 07:42 AM
AVS Forum Club Gold
 
tonydeluce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: SoCal
Posts: 3,226
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 104 Post(s)
Liked: 120
Quote:
Originally Posted by Foxbat121 View Post
There is no difference between the two. Bitstream of lossless TrueHD w/ Atmos is supported even on the old Shields. The only real difference between Pro and non-Pro is the USB port. If you have to have USB port, you need the Pro version.

Sent from my Pixel 3 using Tapatalk
Thank you - no need for USB ports so this is good news.

It was the following youtube video that threw me off ( see 0.48 ) but to my knowledge Dolby Digital Plus is a 5.1 standard so could be a misprint:


Thanks again.

Sony XBR-65A8G 65 inch Bravia OLED 4K TV
Panasonic DP-UB820 UltraHD Premium Blu-ray Player * 2019 Nvidia Shield TV * Roku Ultra
LG SL10YG 7.1.2 Channel Soundbar + Rear Speaker kit w/Meridian Technology & Dolby Atmos / DTS:X

Last edited by tonydeluce; 05-14-2020 at 07:55 AM.
tonydeluce is online now  
post #3493 of 4538 Old 05-14-2020, 07:44 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
atc98092's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Washington (the state)
Posts: 2,681
Mentioned: 65 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1685 Post(s)
Liked: 852
Quote:
Originally Posted by m_snow View Post
I don’t have both devices but maybe you do. My experience in comparing my 32 bit Sony Android TV to either my arm64 Shields or FireTV’s is that there is a considerable improvement in non gaming performance between the two with 64 bit apps.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
I don't have both versions of the '19 Shield, but I do have a '17 non-Pro version. My '19 tube model is easily as fast to use as the '17. My use is mostly YouTube, Prime Video, CBS All Access, and Kodi for my local media. Both stream my UHD rips effortlessly, offer all the features I want for my home use. No, I don't game on it (or anything else for that matter). It is strictly a media streaming player, and for me there's nothing better. I don't have a DV display, I only have 5.1.2 Atmos in the bedroom setup (with the '17). If I must have YouTube HDR I use a Roku Ultra. For me the Shield checks every box, and I don't need the Pro version for it.
beerhunt likes this.

Dan
Samsung JU7100 and NU7100 4K TVs, Yamaha RX-V583, Nvidia Shield (2017 & 2019), a number of Roku players and TVs, Windows 10 media server with Serviio and Plex. Other players and TVs as well.
atc98092 is offline  
post #3494 of 4538 Old 05-14-2020, 07:47 AM
AVS Forum Club Gold
 
tonydeluce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: SoCal
Posts: 3,226
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 104 Post(s)
Liked: 120
Quote:
Originally Posted by m_snow View Post
There’s more differences than that. Pro has more RAM, 64 bit vs. 32 bit etc, etc.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
Thank you - understood all of this and may have purchased the Pro if it was available but now that I have the non Pro not seeing any personal reason to upgrade when it does ( I have 45 days to return to Best Buy ).

I suspect the 64 bit would be more for the higher end games and memory utilization does not seem to even use more than 1 GB for streaming movies, correct?

Sony XBR-65A8G 65 inch Bravia OLED 4K TV
Panasonic DP-UB820 UltraHD Premium Blu-ray Player * 2019 Nvidia Shield TV * Roku Ultra
LG SL10YG 7.1.2 Channel Soundbar + Rear Speaker kit w/Meridian Technology & Dolby Atmos / DTS:X

Last edited by tonydeluce; 05-14-2020 at 07:53 AM.
tonydeluce is online now  
post #3495 of 4538 Old 05-14-2020, 07:54 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Southern California
Posts: 3,501
Mentioned: 53 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2291 Post(s)
Liked: 1573
Quote:
Originally Posted by tonydeluce View Post
Thank you - understood all of this and may have purchased the Pro if it was available but now that I have the non Pro not seeing any personal reason to upgrade when it does ( I have 45 days to return to Best Buy ).

I suspect the 64 bit would be more for the higher end games and memory utilization does not seem to even use 1 GB for streaming movies, correct?

All apps you install on it will be the 32 bit version not arm64. Good idea to try it out.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Mike
Sony XBR-65X930E | ATV4K-64GB & 2-32GB 5th Gens | Nvidia Shield TV Pro 2017 | Nvidia Shield TV Pro 2019 | Logitech Harmony Elite
m_snow is online now  
post #3496 of 4538 Old 05-14-2020, 07:58 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Southern California
Posts: 3,501
Mentioned: 53 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2291 Post(s)
Liked: 1573
Quote:
Originally Posted by atc98092 View Post
I don't have both versions of the '19 Shield, but I do have a '17 non-Pro version. My '19 tube model is easily as fast to use as the '17. My use is mostly YouTube, Prime Video, CBS All Access, and Kodi for my local media. Both stream my UHD rips effortlessly, offer all the features I want for my home use. No, I don't game on it (or anything else for that matter). It is strictly a media streaming player, and for me there's nothing better. I don't have a DV display, I only have 5.1.2 Atmos in the bedroom setup (with the '17). If I must have YouTube HDR I use a Roku Ultra. For me the Shield checks every box, and I don't need the Pro version for it.

Yes but the 2017 version is not as quick as the 2019 Pro (I have both) so we would need to hear from someone that can bench apples to apples to answer the OP’s question accurately.
I’m not saying it will be a deal breaker but in my experience it’s a factor.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Mike
Sony XBR-65X930E | ATV4K-64GB & 2-32GB 5th Gens | Nvidia Shield TV Pro 2017 | Nvidia Shield TV Pro 2019 | Logitech Harmony Elite
m_snow is online now  
post #3497 of 4538 Old 05-14-2020, 08:47 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Foxbat121's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: VA
Posts: 12,253
Mentioned: 14 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 698 Post(s)
Liked: 633
Quote:
Originally Posted by m_snow View Post
I don’t have both devices but maybe you do. My experience in comparing my 32 bit Sony Android TV to either my arm64 Shields or FireTV’s is that there is a considerable improvement in non gaming performance between the two with 64 bit apps.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

That can't really be called comparison. One processor is much slower than another, not related to 32-bit vs 64-bit. Your argument reminds me of the ancient N64 marketing scheme

Also, with a 64-bit processor, you NEED to have more memory because the 64-bit instruction sets and data are typically more memory hog than the 32-bit counter parts. So 3GB on Shield Pro w/ 64-bit will be similar to 2GB on Shield TV w/ 32-bit. No advantage there.

Last edited by Foxbat121; 05-14-2020 at 09:00 AM.
Foxbat121 is online now  
post #3498 of 4538 Old 05-14-2020, 09:02 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Southern California
Posts: 3,501
Mentioned: 53 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2291 Post(s)
Liked: 1573
New Nvidia Shield TV Pro announced! Faster SOC, Dolby Vision, new remote!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Foxbat121 View Post
That can't really be called comparison. One processor is much slower than another, not related to 32-bit vs 64-bit. Your argument reminds me of the ancient N64 marketing scheme

You’re not comparing processor to processor either so I guess you’ve fallen into the marketing scheme .

Yes, you’re right. An immediate practical advantage that 64-bit systems offer is the use of greater RAM. Not “hogging” it but “using” it.

Edit: saw you added to your comment so I expanded mine.

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

Mike
Sony XBR-65X930E | ATV4K-64GB & 2-32GB 5th Gens | Nvidia Shield TV Pro 2017 | Nvidia Shield TV Pro 2019 | Logitech Harmony Elite

Last edited by m_snow; 05-14-2020 at 09:10 AM.
m_snow is online now  
post #3499 of 4538 Old 05-14-2020, 09:36 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Foxbat121's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: VA
Posts: 12,253
Mentioned: 14 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 698 Post(s)
Liked: 633
Based on my experiences with the Android phones, 2GB on 32-bit ARM processor is pretty much the top end configuration while 3GB on 64-bit ARM processor is barely entry level. High end Android phones now require 4GB to 6GB or RAM.

All this talk is useless though as performing media streaming does not require anything closer either of the memory limits of these two models.
Foxbat121 is online now  
post #3500 of 4538 Old 05-14-2020, 09:39 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Wendell R. Breland's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 1999
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 5,160
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 624 Post(s)
Liked: 317
Thanks for the answers on where to install Kodi from.

Another question for Kodi users that also use the FLIRC IR receiver on the Pro. Do you use any, some, all the keys from the FLIRC → Controllers → Kodi?
Wendell R. Breland is offline  
post #3501 of 4538 Old 05-14-2020, 09:54 AM
Newbie
 
PASTRAL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 0
hello, for those who have shield2019 pro, have you had problems accessing youtube and apps? Since yesterday I stopped having access by both ethernet and wifi and I don't know how to solve it? I still have access to playstore and netflix but at a reduced speed.
On the other hand I have another android box (minix U1) and is having the same problem.
I also have my Smarttv connected to the same switch but I connect to youtube and netflix successfully.
I've already reset the router but the problem continues.
PASTRAL is offline  
post #3502 of 4538 Old 05-14-2020, 10:03 AM
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2020
Location: USA
Posts: 573
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 347 Post(s)
Liked: 473
Quote:
Originally Posted by PASTRAL View Post
hello, for those who have shield2019 pro, have you had problems accessing youtube and apps? Since yesterday I stopped having access by both ethernet and wifi and I don't know how to solve it? I still have access to playstore and netflix but at a reduced speed.
On the other hand I have another android box (minix U1) and is having the same problem.
I also have my Smarttv connected to the same switch but I connect to youtube and netflix successfully.
I've already reset the router but the problem continues.

no problems here


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

LG 55C8, Pioneer Elite VSX-LX503, Panamax M5400, Microsoft Xbox One X, Nvidia Shield Pro
Definitive Technology: BP9060 Front left/right/CS9040 center/A90 front Atmos/ProMonitor 800 rear Atmos/SR9040 surround left/right
Rythmik FVX15
MATTHEW PATIENT is offline  
post #3503 of 4538 Old 05-14-2020, 12:22 PM
Newbie
 
PASTRAL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Just installed a free vpn and everything works, stop vpn and get stuck again, so is a my ISP job?
PASTRAL is offline  
post #3504 of 4538 Old 05-14-2020, 01:19 PM
Senior Member
 
Jameshtx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Texas, USA
Posts: 352
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 274 Post(s)
Liked: 27
Quote:
Originally Posted by rlb View Post
It makes no sense. I went to their site and it said "out of stock"; so I put myself on their e-mail list for advising of availability. I then went to check my daily e-mails; and a minute or so later their e-mail came in saying they were "in stock". I immediately went to their site and completed the buy within a couple minutes. But, I'll see what happens. During the purchase process, the system advised of 5-7 days for receipt. However, the subsequent e-mail providing "receipt for puchase and order number" said that the 5-7 seven days starts when I get my future e-mail providing shipment status. If they are really "in stock"; that should be tomorrow.

Randomly went on Best Buy app today n YES!!! it had the add to cart button. I completed purchase. Now it’s just a waiting game. I won’t be surprised if I get an email saying “sorry but it’s out of stock”


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
rlb likes this.

Epson 5040ub Projector l Oppo 203 l Denon AVR-X4300h l Monolith 5x200w Amp l Def Tech BP9080 L/C/R/SL/SR/SBL/SBR l SVS PB-2000 x2 l Panamax M5400
Jameshtx is offline  
post #3505 of 4538 Old 05-14-2020, 02:29 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
whiteboy714's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 7,554
Mentioned: 18 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1901 Post(s)
Liked: 821
Quote:
Originally Posted by Foxbat121 View Post
Which only means anything if you play games on it. Otherwise, for media consumption that will make no difference.
You also cannot install Plex server on the tube, which is important to many that only care about media consumption.
galonzo and m_snow like this.

TCL 65R625 -- Denon X3500h -- Klipsch RP600m -- RP450C -- Ascend HTM 200 SE -- Dual Klipsch RW-10
whiteboy714 is offline  
post #3506 of 4538 Old 05-14-2020, 02:57 PM
rlb
AVS Forum Special Member
 
rlb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: OH
Posts: 6,264
Mentioned: 61 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2290 Post(s)
Liked: 1936
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jameshtx View Post
Randomly went on Best Buy app today n YES!!! it had the add to cart button. I completed purchase. Now it’s just a waiting game. I won’t be surprised if I get an email saying “sorry but it’s out of stock”


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Yes, it's definitely a strange game. Nividia advised during purchase yesterday that it would be 5-7 days after turning over for shipment. However, I was pleasantly surprised to get an e-mail today saying mine was being shipped. "Clicked" on tracking number and Fedex says it will be delivered tomorrow.

Sony XBR75Z9D, Samsung 65F9000 , Yamaha CX-A5200 & Outlaw 770, Harmony Elite
Samsung K8500, OPPO 103-D, Genie 2 and C61Ks, Roku Ultra, ATV4K, FireTV Stick 4K, and Nvidia Shield TV Pro
rlb is online now  
post #3507 of 4538 Old 05-14-2020, 04:14 PM
Senior Member
 
Jameshtx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Texas, USA
Posts: 352
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 274 Post(s)
Liked: 27
Quote:
Originally Posted by rlb View Post
Yes, it's definitely a strange game. Nividia advised during purchase yesterday that it would be 5-7 days after turning over for shipment. However, I was pleasantly surprised to get an e-mail today saying mine was being shipped. "Clicked" on tracking number and Fedex says it will be delivered tomorrow.

That’s awesome man. Well wish me luck


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Epson 5040ub Projector l Oppo 203 l Denon AVR-X4300h l Monolith 5x200w Amp l Def Tech BP9080 L/C/R/SL/SR/SBL/SBR l SVS PB-2000 x2 l Panamax M5400
Jameshtx is offline  
post #3508 of 4538 Old 05-14-2020, 10:03 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mutelight's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 3,470
Mentioned: 43 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2387 Post(s)
Liked: 2782
Needed a project in this shelter in place life so I did some digging...

I was able to backup my disc of Joker and retain the dual-layer presentation of the 2160p HDR10 stream as well as the 1080p extension layer of DV and mux it into a .ts file and retain DV as well as TrueHD/MLP Atmos track.

Had to do some digging and I used MakeMKV, eac3to, and TSMuxer but once the workflow is refined, this is huge.

Watching my Joker disc test file on the Shield 2019 right now with all the visual and auditory goodies through Plex on my Shield.
aaronwt, SamuriHL, galonzo and 3 others like this.
mutelight is offline  
post #3509 of 4538 Old 05-15-2020, 04:47 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Philnick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Cambridge, MA
Posts: 2,127
Mentioned: 25 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 850 Post(s)
Liked: 443
Quote:
Originally Posted by tonydeluce View Post
Thank you - no need for USB ports so this is good news.

It was the following youtube video that threw me off ( see 0.48 ) but to my knowledge Dolby Digital Plus is a 5.1 standard so could be a misprint:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ajahUHxa90c&t=81s

Thanks again.
DD+ is capable of 7.1, and DD+ is the standard codec for Atmos from all of the commercial streaming services (Amazon, VUDU, Movies Anywhere, Netflix, etc.) even when the UHD disk of a film uses TrueHD Atmos or DTS:X.
tonydeluce likes this.

Phil
True 4K/HDR10/3D JVC DLA-RS1000 (N5/NX5) projector, 7.2.4 Paradigm/Boston Acoustics/Onkyo speakers. Yamaha RX-A3070 (w/ Denon 2307CI to power 4 overheads). Oppo UDP-203, 4K Nvidia Shield, 4K Roku Ultra, 4K Amazon FireStick, Comcast 4K cable box, Win 10 PC.
My water-themed landscape photography website - only 24 pix up so far.
Philnick is offline  
post #3510 of 4538 Old 05-15-2020, 05:09 AM
Member
 
fulano's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: San Antonio, TX
Posts: 123
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 69 Post(s)
Liked: 46
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wendell R. Breland View Post
Another question for Kodi users that also use the FLIRC IR receiver on the Pro. Do you use any, some, all the keys from the FLIRC → Controllers → Kodi?
I use the Stop, Info, Exit, Menu, Back, ShowSubtitles, and NextSubtitle commands from the Flirc keyboard interface. Flirc is plugged into extension cable so it is at the front of my equipment rack.

Vizio E-701i, Denon X4500H, Crown XLS-1502, Polk Monitor 70s, Polk CS2 II, Polk T15s, Klipsch RIC-65, Tivo Roamio OTA, LG BD570, Fire TV 1, Fire TV Stick 4K, XBox One S, Harmony Smart Control, Nvidia Shield TV Pro
fulano is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Networking, Media Servers & Content Streaming

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off