New Nvidia Shield TV Pro announced! Faster SOC, Dolby Vision, new remote! - Page 124 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 2337Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #3691 of 4538 Old 05-20-2020, 02:06 PM
Member
 
AVRams's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: EU
Posts: 78
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 39 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by parekoy View Post
Ok thanks. Turned off that now. I'm using Denon x4000 avr. How about the stereo upmix? Do you on or off?

Sent from my OnePlus 7T using Tapatalk
Set the Shield to passthrough and led your receiver handle everything Audio, including up mixing.

Just my 2 cents😊
AVRams is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #3692 of 4538 Old 05-20-2020, 02:22 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
iStorm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 1,255
Mentioned: 36 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1020 Post(s)
Liked: 275
Quote:
Originally Posted by Killroy View Post
This is probably way off-topic so I will make it quick as a teaching post...

For the full power of eac3to you may want to Google the Doom9 eac3to thread and see all the other commands. You can do all this completely within eac3to but trust me, it is a lot faster to use the other apps as you are only looking for subs and if you use eac3to for more than it will get more complicated and takes a lot longer. I can do a single disc is a matter of 45-seconds...tsMuxer is the longest part at about 30-secs.

You shouldn't need anything for eac3to to run since you are just using it to index the disc (folder). You can use it from ISO but it has to be mounted (if using W10 then a double click on the ISO should auto mounted it into explorer).

Example:

If you disc folder is on the e: drive and the folder name is "ThisMovieTitle" then your command will be as simple as

eac3to e:\thismovietitle\

(eac3to does not need capitals if it has them)

with that command you should get:

Code:
1) 00001.mpls, 00001.m2ts, 1:31:15
   - Chapters, 12 chapters
   - h264/AVC, 1080p24 /1.001 (16:9)
   - TrueHD, English, multi-channel, 48kHz
That reveals the main playlist that all programs will use to play this move. You need to see the detailed track list for this playlist so the command is this:

eac3to e:\thismovietitle\bdmv\playlist\00001.mpls 1)

Which will return the detail list of tracks...

Code:
M2TS, 1 video track, 1 audio track, 1 subtitle track, 1:31:15, 24p /1.001
1: Chapters, 12 chapters
2: h264/AVC, 1080p24 /1.001 (16:9)
3: TrueHD/AC3, English, 5.1 channels, 48kHz
   (embedded: AC3, 5.1 channels, 640kbps, 48kHz)
4: Subtitle (PGS), English
So now you know that there is a single ENG sub track that you can demux with tsMuxer and import into BDSup2Sub to check for both forced but also for scope subs, which can be moved.
Hey, I know this is off topic, but relates to the shield since this will allow me to use the forced subs on the shield with my blu-rays and 4Ks. The problem I'm having is that I downloaded and extracted the eac3to (it has the eac3to.exe and a lot of .dll files inside the folder) to the desktop and any time I try to do the command prompt like you stated it just says "eac3to is not recognized as an internal or external command, operable program or bath file." This is on Windows 10. If you could PM me or reply, that would be great. Doom9 Forums say to wait 5 days upon registering to post or I would post there. Thanks and sorry for getting slightly off topic.
iStorm is offline  
post #3693 of 4538 Old 05-20-2020, 06:29 PM
Member
 
rexrode78's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Northern California
Posts: 57
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 50 Post(s)
Liked: 35
Tried this question in the remote control area, but no answers yet.
I know the TV Pro uses Bluetooth for the remote, but are there other options as well?
I have a RTI Tx2 that i'm going to get reprogrammed again soon & would like to add the TV Pro to it's abilities. The RTI remotes don't offer Bluetooth from what I understand.

Thanks for any help!

Samsung 82" Q90 - Panasonic UB9000 - Anthem MRX 720 - Emotiva T2's & C2 - Paradigm CI P80's - Emotiva XPA 5 - Emotiva XPA 7 - SVS SB16
rexrode78 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #3694 of 4538 Old 05-20-2020, 06:44 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Foxbat121's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: VA
Posts: 12,253
Mentioned: 14 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 698 Post(s)
Liked: 633
All Android TV boxes support HDMI CEC remote controls. That is you can use your TV's remote to control majority of the functions of the box if your TV supports it. Most recent TVs do support it. In my house, my 2013 Samsung TVs don't support it but same year Sharp TV does support it. All the newer TVs work as well. My older Panasonic plasma supports it. So is my 1st Gen LG OLED.

Sent from my Pixel 3 using Tapatalk
Foxbat121 is online now  
post #3695 of 4538 Old 05-20-2020, 06:44 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Southern California
Posts: 3,501
Mentioned: 53 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2291 Post(s)
Liked: 1573
Quote:
Originally Posted by rexrode78 View Post
Tried this question in the remote control area, but no answers yet.
I know the TV Pro uses Bluetooth for the remote, but are there other options as well?
I have a RTI Tx2 that i'm going to get reprogrammed again soon & would like to add the TV Pro to it's abilities. The RTI remotes don't offer Bluetooth from what I understand.

Thanks for any help!

FLIRC

https://flirc.tv/more/flirc-usb


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
rexrode78 likes this.

Mike
Sony XBR-65X930E | ATV4K-64GB & 2-32GB 5th Gens | Nvidia Shield TV Pro 2017 | Nvidia Shield TV Pro 2019 | Logitech Harmony Elite
m_snow is online now  
post #3696 of 4538 Old 05-20-2020, 08:42 PM
Member
 
rexrode78's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Northern California
Posts: 57
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 50 Post(s)
Liked: 35
[QUOTE=m_snow;59681740]FLIRC

https://flirc.tv/more/flirc-usb


Thank you
m_snow likes this.

Samsung 82" Q90 - Panasonic UB9000 - Anthem MRX 720 - Emotiva T2's & C2 - Paradigm CI P80's - Emotiva XPA 5 - Emotiva XPA 7 - SVS SB16
rexrode78 is offline  
post #3697 of 4538 Old 05-21-2020, 08:49 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mutelight's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 3,470
Mentioned: 43 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2387 Post(s)
Liked: 2782
Quote:
Originally Posted by aaronwt View Post
The shield cannot play the menus with the UHD BD rips. I use Kodi for this. I think Kodi can play the menus for some 2K BDs. And it can play menus for DVDs. But not for UHD BDs.
But kodi will show me a list of things to choose from the UHD BD ISO to play.
I have tried numerous BD backups with Kodi on the Shield and the only menus that play are ones that don't use Java (BD-J) but unfortunately most discs have Java based menus.
mutelight is offline  
post #3698 of 4538 Old 05-21-2020, 09:01 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Wendell R. Breland's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 1999
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 5,160
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 624 Post(s)
Liked: 317
Quote:
Originally Posted by rexrode78 View Post
I have a RTI Tx2 that i'm going to get reprogrammed again soon & would like to add the TV Pro to it's abilities.
Don’t have a RTI but do have URC MX-980's that I program. For the Nvidia Shield Pro 2019 I use direct IR control via a Inteset IReTV USB IR Receiver (here) and a FLIRC (here). For direct control I use the codes from URC which did not include the number keys so used Pronto hex codes posted on the net. The FLIRC is used for the same buttons as the Shield remote. I did not duplicate these with the direct control remote, example, have PLAY on the FLIRC so PLAY is not on the direct remote.

I used a NEC CD player codes for the FLIRC, F4 from the FLIRC Keyboard was added, this toggles Netflix info display. Also use a Arteck HB030B keyboard (here) via Bluetooth for direct input.

NOTE: FLIRC has a shortcut key for Netflix but it does not work.
rexrode78 likes this.
Wendell R. Breland is offline  
post #3699 of 4538 Old 05-21-2020, 01:07 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 185
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 120 Post(s)
Liked: 2
What player do you use for the shield? That can get Dolby signals by watching movies IPTV service? Mx player, vlc?

Sent from my OnePlus 7T using Tapatalk
parekoy is offline  
post #3700 of 4538 Old 05-21-2020, 02:02 PM
UHD Addict
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 36,957
Mentioned: 78 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9985 Post(s)
Liked: 6655
Quote:
Originally Posted by mutelight View Post
I have tried numerous BD backups with Kodi on the Shield and the only menus that play are ones that don't use Java (BD-J) but unfortunately most discs have Java based menus.
For my 2K BD ISOs, I can use my old Popcorn Hour C200, I got in 2009, to play back the menus. Or I can use my old Netgear NeoTV (NTV 200) to also play back my 2k BD ISOs with menus.

For me though, that is typically when I play back a TV show 2K BD ISO. Since the episodes are not usually in order when you view them with no menus.

57TB unRAID1a--49TB unRAID2--76TB unRAID3
TCL 6 Series--Sony UBP-X800--Philips BDP7502--Onkyo HT-S7800
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme

Last edited by aaronwt; 05-21-2020 at 02:06 PM.
aaronwt is offline  
post #3701 of 4538 Old 05-21-2020, 03:16 PM
Senior Member
 
Tygeezy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 435
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 288 Post(s)
Liked: 165
I finally got my hands on the 2019 shield pro. I mainly got this to stream my gaming pc to my bedroom. Gamestream is absolutely awful.. Why is there is there no option for 120 fps? You mean to tell me that I can set the device to 120 hz, but I cant actually play in 120 fps. Moonlight allows it, and how embarrassing is it that an open source project is leaps and bounds better than gamestream. Not only can I use 120 fps, but the input lag is significantly reduced. I measured the input lag of destiny 2 in gamestream at 100-115 ms which is unplayable to me with a mouse and keyboard. Moonlight i'm able to have an extremely comfortable 60-70 ms. My host pc is an i7 7700 k with a geforce 2070 super and I get 25-40 ms locally.

Moonlight has its own problems though being based off geforce experience. Every time I launch a game in moonlight geforce experience enables mouse acceleration and moves the mouse speed from default of 6 to 8. The fix is to add desktop as a custom app and then manually readjust pointer precision and mouse speed before launching game, but then I can't play in hdr using this method... And why should i have to use a third party app to get a better experience anyway? Completely shameful.

Also, half the time when using gamestream my keyboard just wont work, it works fine 100 % of the time in every other app including moonlight. Another issue is side buttons on the mouse don't work in gamestream... I'm now seeing this issue was reported FIVE years ago and there still is no fix? Does NVIDIA pay any attention whatsoever to gamestream?

https://www.nvidia.com/en-us/geforce...t-registering/

"not good..... 2020 and still the same problem......"

As far as a media player, the ai up scaling is pretty good. I don't think it's as good as madvrs upscale, but it's pretty good.

Also, I have to manually match the framerate each time I watch something on netflix? How absurd is that? Apple tv you just enable the feature and it works every time. I can't believe this device cost so much and has all these issues, some of which have apparently plagued the device for years.

Last edited by Tygeezy; 05-21-2020 at 03:21 PM.
Tygeezy is offline  
post #3702 of 4538 Old 05-21-2020, 05:37 PM
Member
 
rexrode78's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Northern California
Posts: 57
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 50 Post(s)
Liked: 35
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wendell R. Breland View Post
Don’t have a RTI but do have URC MX-980's that I program. For the Nvidia Shield Pro 2019 I use direct IR control via a Inteset IReTV USB IR Receiver (here) and a FLIRC (here). For direct control I use the codes from URC which did not include the number keys so used Pronto hex codes posted on the net. The FLIRC is used for the same buttons as the Shield remote. I did not duplicate these with the direct control remote, example, have PLAY on the FLIRC so PLAY is not on the direct remote.

I used a NEC CD player codes for the FLIRC, F4 from the FLIRC Keyboard was added, this toggles Netflix info display. Also use a Arteck HB030B keyboard (here) via Bluetooth for direct input.

NOTE: FLIRC has a shortcut key for Netflix but it does not work.

Amazing info, thank you!!

Samsung 82" Q90 - Panasonic UB9000 - Anthem MRX 720 - Emotiva T2's & C2 - Paradigm CI P80's - Emotiva XPA 5 - Emotiva XPA 7 - SVS SB16
rexrode78 is offline  
post #3703 of 4538 Old 05-21-2020, 08:22 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
tigerfan33's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 1,817
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 447 Post(s)
Liked: 229
Dolby Vision is back on Prime
PeterTHX likes this.
tigerfan33 is offline  
post #3704 of 4538 Old 05-21-2020, 08:32 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
spongebob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: San Jose, Ca.
Posts: 3,742
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 678 Post(s)
Liked: 77
Quote:
Originally Posted by tigerfan33 View Post
Dolby Vision is back on Prime
What title(s)?

bob
spongebob is offline  
post #3705 of 4538 Old 05-21-2020, 08:49 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
tigerfan33's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 1,817
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 447 Post(s)
Liked: 229
Quote:
Originally Posted by spongebob View Post
What title(s)?

bob

Jack Ryan season 1 and Bosch season 2.
spongebob and galonzo like this.
tigerfan33 is offline  
post #3706 of 4538 Old 05-22-2020, 07:10 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
spongebob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: San Jose, Ca.
Posts: 3,742
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 678 Post(s)
Liked: 77
Quote:
Originally Posted by tigerfan33 View Post
Jack Ryan season 1 and Bosch season 2.
Is DV a type of HDR?

bob
spongebob is offline  
post #3707 of 4538 Old 05-22-2020, 07:30 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
atc98092's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Washington (the state)
Posts: 2,681
Mentioned: 65 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1685 Post(s)
Liked: 852
Quote:
Originally Posted by spongebob View Post
Is DV a type of HDR?

bob
Yes, Dolby Vision is a more dynamic version of HDR. HDR10+ and HLG are also more dynamic versions. The difference with DV is that Dolby collects a license fee, while HDR10 is license free (don't know about HLG). Are the visual differences? I don't have a DV capable display, so no personal experience. But I've seen people argue it both ways. DV/HLG/HDR10+ can absolutely look better than standard HDR10. One of my Samsung TVs supports HLG, and a couple of test videos I have look great on it. But test videos are designed to showcase a particular item, so one would expect it to look good.

Dan
Samsung JU7100 and NU7100 4K TVs, Yamaha RX-V583, Nvidia Shield (2017 & 2019), a number of Roku players and TVs, Windows 10 media server with Serviio and Plex. Other players and TVs as well.
atc98092 is online now  
post #3708 of 4538 Old 05-22-2020, 08:13 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Posts: 42
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 7
No Dolby Vision or HDR10+ on Prime Video for me. Just tested at 8:10 am pst.
riknik is offline  
post #3709 of 4538 Old 05-22-2020, 08:38 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
galonzo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: most usually, somewhere in the midwest...
Posts: 2,492
Mentioned: 176 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1556 Post(s)
Liked: 2167
@Tygeezy , you can install the Refresh Rate app and configure it per app; otherwise, hit me up in the PMs, and I'll gladly take that 2019 Pro off your hands, at full retail even
Keenan likes this.

Main: XBR-85X950H | X4500H (5.1.4) | UDP-203 | TiVo Bolt | 2019 Shield Pro | PS4 Pro | CCU
2nd: XBR-65X950G | LG LAS855M | UBD-K8500 | TiVo Mini | ATV (4thGen)
3rd: 65P-F1 | Klipsch HDT-SB3 | UBP-X700 | Tivo Roamio | AppleTV4K | Roku P+ (4630)
FS - Dr. Strangelove (1964) and other UHD Digital codes (and some HD codes)
galonzo is offline  
post #3710 of 4538 Old 05-22-2020, 10:36 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 381
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 285 Post(s)
Liked: 60
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tygeezy View Post
I finally got my hands on the 2019 shield pro. I mainly got this to stream my gaming pc to my bedroom. Gamestream is absolutely awful.. Why is there is there no option for 120 fps? You mean to tell me that I can set the device to 120 hz, but I cant actually play in 120 fps. Moonlight allows it, and how embarrassing is it that an open source project is leaps and bounds better than gamestream. Not only can I use 120 fps, but the input lag is significantly reduced. I measured the input lag of destiny 2 in gamestream at 100-115 ms which is unplayable to me with a mouse and keyboard. Moonlight i'm able to have an extremely comfortable 60-70 ms. My host pc is an i7 7700 k with a geforce 2070 super and I get 25-40 ms locally.

Moonlight has its own problems though being based off geforce experience. Every time I launch a game in moonlight geforce experience enables mouse acceleration and moves the mouse speed from default of 6 to 8. The fix is to add desktop as a custom app and then manually readjust pointer precision and mouse speed before launching game, but then I can't play in hdr using this method... And why should i have to use a third party app to get a better experience anyway? Completely shameful.

Also, half the time when using gamestream my keyboard just wont work, it works fine 100 % of the time in every other app including moonlight. Another issue is side buttons on the mouse don't work in gamestream... I'm now seeing this issue was reported FIVE years ago and there still is no fix? Does NVIDIA pay any attention whatsoever to gamestream?

https://www.nvidia.com/en-us/geforce...t-registering/

"not good..... 2020 and still the same problem......"

As far as a media player, the ai up scaling is pretty good. I don't think it's as good as madvrs upscale, but it's pretty good.

Also, I have to manually match the framerate each time I watch something on netflix? How absurd is that? Apple tv you just enable the feature and it works every time. I can't believe this device cost so much and has all these issues, some of which have apparently plagued the device for years.

I look at the Gamestream feature as a gimmick (marketing) to sell more PC Nvidia cards because you need one to use it. Now that they have Geforce Now service, they'll probably ignore gamestream more. I gave up on trying that and just run an HDMI cable from the PC to the TV. Network based (WAN or LAN) anything compared to local media will never be rock solid stable data communication.
Tfid is offline  
post #3711 of 4538 Old 05-22-2020, 10:49 AM
Member
 
JayDeePee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 9
Quote:
Originally Posted by spongebob View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by tigerfan33 View Post
Jack Ryan season 1 and Bosch season 2.
Is DV a type of HDR?

bob
Dolby Vision requires a license. What's different from regular HDR is that the it is Dynamic and not static. Regular HDR stays constant throughout the entire video, whereas Dolby Vision is constantly changing through a movie or show by the use of Metadata. This means colors pop more in bright and dark scenes. HDR 10 plus is the same as Dolby Vision, but no license fees. HLG is a broadcast version of regular static HDR. Dynamic HDR is better since you can see more HDR pop throughout bright and dark scenes.
JayDeePee is offline  
post #3712 of 4538 Old 05-22-2020, 11:11 AM
Senior Member
 
Tygeezy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 435
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 288 Post(s)
Liked: 165
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tfid View Post
I look at the Gamestream feature as a gimmick (marketing) to sell more PC Nvidia cards because you need one to use it. Now that they have Geforce Now service, they'll probably ignore gamestream more. I gave up on trying that and just run an HDMI cable from the PC to the TV. Network based (WAN or LAN) anything compared to local media will never be rock solid stable data communication.

It shouldn’t be more than a gimmick because moonlight works great other than bugs caused by nvidia themselves since it uses GeForce experience for streaming. It’s clear they do view it as something like that given the lack of support.

Local streaming should always be better than internet streaming assuming you have a good enough pc because the latency will always be smaller.
Tygeezy is offline  
post #3713 of 4538 Old 05-22-2020, 11:13 AM
Senior Member
 
Tygeezy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 435
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 288 Post(s)
Liked: 165
Quote:
Originally Posted by galonzo View Post
@Tygeezy , you can install the Refresh Rate app and configure it per app; otherwise, hit me up in the PMs, and I'll gladly take that 2019 Pro off your hands, at full retail even

That program is pretty cool, but buggy... If I use the quick menu button it seems to break this app. Prime video is throwing hdcp errors.

It’s great for moonlight since I can tell it to automatically go to 1080 p 120 hz.
Tygeezy is offline  
post #3714 of 4538 Old 05-22-2020, 11:17 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Posts: 42
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 7
HULU not working today. Black screen when trying to play program.
riknik is offline  
post #3715 of 4538 Old 05-22-2020, 11:34 AM
Senior Member
 
Tygeezy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 435
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 288 Post(s)
Liked: 165
Quote:
Originally Posted by JayDeePee View Post
Dolby Vision requires a license. What's different from regular HDR is that the it is Dynamic and not static. Regular HDR stays constant throughout the entire video, whereas Dolby Vision is constantly changing through a movie or show by the use of Metadata. This means colors pop more in bright and dark scenes. HDR 10 plus is the same as Dolby Vision, but no license fees. HLG is a broadcast version of regular static HDR. Dynamic HDR is better since you can see more HDR pop throughout bright and dark scenes.

It would be nice if the shield had a dynamic tone mapper like some UHD players have and madvr on the pc side. If you have madvr dynamic tonemapping tweaked right it looks just as good as Dolby vision. Those highlights that are clipped in hdr 10 show full specular highlight detail. My tv had dynamic tonemapping, but it over brightens certain scenes unfortunately.
Tygeezy is offline  
post #3716 of 4538 Old 05-22-2020, 11:55 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 381
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 285 Post(s)
Liked: 60
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tygeezy View Post
It shouldn’t be more than a gimmick because moonlight works great other than bugs caused by nvidia themselves since it uses GeForce experience for streaming. It’s clear they do view it as something like that given the lack of support.

Local streaming should always be better than internet streaming assuming you have a good enough pc because the latency will always be smaller.

I remember years ago when I wanted to mirror my PC to an Android tablet so I could play Xcom in bed. I used Splashtop because they did a mouse emulation that worked on a touch screen. Nvidia just has too many priorities to juggle, where Splashtop and moonlight have one job to do, and they do it well.
Tfid is offline  
post #3717 of 4538 Old 05-22-2020, 12:09 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
galonzo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: most usually, somewhere in the midwest...
Posts: 2,492
Mentioned: 176 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1556 Post(s)
Liked: 2167
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tygeezy View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by galonzo View Post
@Tygeezy , you can install the Refresh Rate app and configure it per app; otherwise, hit me up in the PMs, and I'll gladly take that 2019 Pro off your hands, at full retail even
That program is pretty cool, but buggy... If I use the quick menu button it seems to break this app. Prime video is throwing hdcp errors.

It’s great for moonlight since I can tell it to automatically go to 1080 p 120 hz.
For Prime, I set the app to open and stay at 23.976, since most stuff I watch in Prime is at this frame rate; I'll occasionally go back in and select Match content frame rate if I see a particular show is different than this (in which case I have no errors when the frame rate changes to match).

Main: XBR-85X950H | X4500H (5.1.4) | UDP-203 | TiVo Bolt | 2019 Shield Pro | PS4 Pro | CCU
2nd: XBR-65X950G | LG LAS855M | UBD-K8500 | TiVo Mini | ATV (4thGen)
3rd: 65P-F1 | Klipsch HDT-SB3 | UBP-X700 | Tivo Roamio | AppleTV4K | Roku P+ (4630)
FS - Dr. Strangelove (1964) and other UHD Digital codes (and some HD codes)
galonzo is offline  
post #3718 of 4538 Old 05-22-2020, 12:14 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Posts: 42
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 7
Quote:
Originally Posted by AVRams View Post
Set the Shield to passthrough and led your receiver handle everything Audio, including up mixing.

Just my 2 cents😊
Maybe I am a dimbulb. But, I see no menu item labeled as pass through. Explain how to do it. Thanks
riknik is offline  
post #3719 of 4538 Old 05-22-2020, 12:31 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
HD-Master's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Bronx
Posts: 1,524
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 789 Post(s)
Liked: 902
Quote:
Originally Posted by atc98092 View Post
Yes, Dolby Vision is a more dynamic version of HDR. HDR10+ and HLG are also more dynamic versions. The difference with DV is that Dolby collects a license fee, while HDR10 is license free (don't know about HLG). Are the visual differences? I don't have a DV capable display, so no personal experience. But I've seen people argue it both ways. DV/HLG/HDR10+ can absolutely look better than standard HDR10. One of my Samsung TVs supports HLG, and a couple of test videos I have look great on it. But test videos are designed to showcase a particular item, so one would expect it to look good.

Well..not exactly. A bit of a jumble there.

HDR is HDR. DV, HDR10, HDR10+ and HLG are versions of HDR.

HLG is used primarily for broadcast TV (BBC has used it and some US broadcasters at times)

HDR10 is the baseline standard for HDR and all HDR equipment and content is backwards compatible with HDR10. It offers static metadata, so the HDR values apply to the entire show or movie.

Dolby Vision (DV) and HDR10+ offer dynamic metadata that allow the HDR values to vary from scene to scene.

Dolby Vision requires a licensing fee, while HDR10+ does not require the same licensing fees (it’s not free-use, but much cheaper). The vast majority of competitors haven’t been keen to jump on board, so it is almost exclusively limited to Samsung displays.

Dolby Vision and HDR10+ should offer a better experience than vanilla HDR10, but generally speaking the noticeable differences are minimum or non-existent. A lot of people test both versions of the same UHD’s and don’t see a big difference between them.


My 2019 TCL 6-Series QLED R625 Calibrated Settings
HD-Master is online now  
post #3720 of 4538 Old 05-22-2020, 12:56 PM
Senior Member
 
Tygeezy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 435
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 288 Post(s)
Liked: 165
Quote:
Originally Posted by galonzo View Post
For Prime, I set the app to open and stay at 23.976, since most stuff I watch in Prime is at this frame rate; I'll occasionally go back in and select Match content frame rate if I see a particular show is different than this (in which case I have no errors when the frame rate changes to match).

Browsing at 24 hz is just painful. I’d rather just do a manual switch. Hopefully they fix that bug that disables the app when you watch something and press the quick settings button.

The best feature for this app is setting default resolution for apps because you have to go into an endless amount of sub menus to switch to 1080 p 120 hz.
galonzo likes this.
Tygeezy is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Networking, Media Servers & Content Streaming

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off