New Nvidia Shield TV Pro announced! Faster SOC, Dolby Vision, new remote! - Page 130 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 2323Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #3871 of 4513 Old 05-29-2020, 03:59 PM
Member
 
ntsarb's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2020
Location: London, UK
Posts: 62
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 57 Post(s)
Liked: 8
Quote:
Originally Posted by ynnek63 View Post
Here is an article on how to link your Tidal account to Plex but it seems to be a somewhat convoluted process. When I had it thru Plex it was part of a free trial promotion when they first added it to Plex.



https://support.plex.tv/articles/add...tions-to-plex/
OK, that was useful. Linked my Tidal account and tested from Plex on Shield. I only see PCM on the STR-DN1080 AV receiver display. Plex delivers Atmos (via pass through) from a different source, hence, Tidal's Atmos support does not currently work on the Shield. It doesn't work on Sony XG9505 Android TV either.
ynnek63 and galonzo like this.

Last edited by ntsarb; 05-30-2020 at 03:35 AM.
ntsarb is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #3872 of 4513 Old 05-30-2020, 12:41 PM
Member
 
tuckers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 96
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 33 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Yes, as many as you'd like.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nikolaos Tsarmpopoulos View Post
Hi. Is it possible to link 2x nvidia remote controls to an nvidia shield/pro?

Sent from my moto g(8) plus using Tapatalk
tuckers is offline  
post #3873 of 4513 Old 05-30-2020, 12:53 PM
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 554
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 312 Post(s)
Liked: 130
Quote:
Originally Posted by ynnek63 View Post
I don't have Tidal anymore but I wonder if it would play Atmos with the version built into the Plex client?
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nikolaos Tsarmpopoulos View Post
OK, that was useful. Linked my Tidal account and tested from Plex on Shield. I only see PCM on the STR-DN1080 AV receiver display. Plex delivers Atmos (via pass through) from a different source, hence, Tidal's Atmos support does not currently work on the Shield. It doesn't work on Sony XG9505 Android TV either.
The NVidia Pro 2019 is listed as a compatible device.
I dint see how it would work a feature released on 28-May if the Tidal app is from 8-May.

An update should be available already. I dont even fi any new apk either
ynnek63 likes this.
asabrag is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #3874 of 4513 Old 05-30-2020, 03:45 PM
Member
 
tuckers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 96
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 33 Post(s)
Liked: 20
I've had an issue with my Shield 2019 for while. Streaming apps like Netflix, Youtube TV etc. will start stuttering, play without audio, or freeze altogether after some time. Sometimes it starts after a couple of hours, sometimes it happens after about 24 hours. The only thing that works to stop it is to do a restart. I had come to think this was a hardware problem, but I just bought another 2019 Pro and it is acting exactly the same. Anybody have the same issue? Solutions?
tuckers is offline  
post #3875 of 4513 Old 05-30-2020, 03:54 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
whiteboy714's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 7,542
Mentioned: 18 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1895 Post(s)
Liked: 813
Quote:
Originally Posted by tuckers View Post
I've had an issue with my Shield 2019 for while. Streaming apps like Netflix, Youtube TV etc. will start stuttering, play without audio, or freeze altogether after some time. Sometimes it starts after a couple of hours, sometimes it happens after about 24 hours. The only thing that works to stop it is to do a restart. I had come to think this was a hardware problem, but I just bought another 2019 Pro and it is acting exactly the same. Anybody have the same issue? Solutions?
If you have seen it on two devices sounds like your network is the next place to look.
NotShorty and galonzo like this.

TCL 65R625 -- Denon X3500h -- Klipsch RP600m -- RP450C -- Ascend HTM 200 SE -- Dual Klipsch RW-10
whiteboy714 is offline  
post #3876 of 4513 Old 05-30-2020, 03:55 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Southern California
Posts: 3,492
Mentioned: 53 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2287 Post(s)
Liked: 1561
Quote:
Originally Posted by tuckers View Post
I've had an issue with my Shield 2019 for while. Streaming apps like Netflix, Youtube TV etc. will start stuttering, play without audio, or freeze altogether after some time. Sometimes it starts after a couple of hours, sometimes it happens after about 24 hours. The only thing that works to stop it is to do a restart. I had come to think this was a hardware problem, but I just bought another 2019 Pro and it is acting exactly the same. Anybody have the same issue? Solutions?

How are you connected to the Internet, wifi or ethernet?


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

Mike
Sony XBR-65X930E | ATV4K-64GB & 2-32GB 5th Gens | Nvidia Shield TV Pro 2017 | Nvidia Shield TV Pro 2019 | Logitech Harmony Elite
m_snow is online now  
post #3877 of 4513 Old 05-30-2020, 04:35 PM
Member
 
tuckers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 96
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 33 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by m_snow View Post
How are you connected to the Internet, wifi or ethernet?
This is definitely related to video play, not connectivity issues. I've tested local files once the problem starts, and it shows on them too. I have a high quality Ethernet connect and cable Internet connection, I've never had streaming issues.

Last edited by tuckers; 05-30-2020 at 04:40 PM.
tuckers is offline  
post #3878 of 4513 Old 05-30-2020, 05:22 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
whiteboy714's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 7,542
Mentioned: 18 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1895 Post(s)
Liked: 813
Quote:
Originally Posted by tuckers View Post
This is definitely related to video play, not connectivity issues. I've tested local files once the problem starts, and it shows on them too. I have a high quality Ethernet connect and cable Internet connection, I've never had streaming issues.

You can't really seperate the two since the video comes over the network.

Two devices, having the same issues with multiple apps, streaming and local?

If that is the case what is the common denominator between all of that?

TCL 65R625 -- Denon X3500h -- Klipsch RP600m -- RP450C -- Ascend HTM 200 SE -- Dual Klipsch RW-10
whiteboy714 is offline  
post #3879 of 4513 Old 05-30-2020, 06:51 PM
Member
 
tuckers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 96
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 33 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by whiteboy714 View Post
You can't really seperate the two since the video comes over the network.

Two devices, having the same issues with multiple apps, streaming and local?

If that is the case what is the common denominator between all of that?
Yeah, I've tested this with streaming apps, like Netflix; local Files on Shield internal storage, and local Lan files. Once the issue starts it affects all these sources and also different resolution files too, until I reboot.

Last edited by tuckers; 05-30-2020 at 06:55 PM.
tuckers is offline  
post #3880 of 4513 Old 05-30-2020, 07:11 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
whiteboy714's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 7,542
Mentioned: 18 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1895 Post(s)
Liked: 813
Quote:
Originally Posted by tuckers View Post
Yeah, I've tested this with streaming apps, like Netflix; local Files on Shield internal storage, and local Lan files. Once the issue starts it affects all these sources and also different resolution files too, until I reboot.

Local files on the shield as well? That's really odd.

What's your setup look like? Avr? Can you simplify it as much as possible? Try different cables and a different tv?

TCL 65R625 -- Denon X3500h -- Klipsch RP600m -- RP450C -- Ascend HTM 200 SE -- Dual Klipsch RW-10
whiteboy714 is offline  
post #3881 of 4513 Old 05-30-2020, 10:24 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
PeterTHX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 2,556
Mentioned: 19 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 585 Post(s)
Liked: 447
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nikolaos Tsarmpopoulos View Post
It's not working.

Tidal Support wrote to me that Atmos works on "supported Android mobile devices", failing to clarify which are these.

Hence, I've been unable to stream Atmos from Tidal running on Shield 2019 (non-Pro) to my AV receiver, but I can confirm the "Atmos" sign shows up on the Tidal mobile app running on my Samsung Android tablet (stereo headphones) , which is useless of course!
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fargus777 View Post
Some of the articles I see mention "Starting next week." Maybe there will be an app update or they will just enable it on the rest of the devices next week
Well I hope it's soon. I don't want to waste any more of my trial period!

My opinions do not reflect the policies of my company
PeterTHX is offline  
post #3882 of 4513 Old 05-31-2020, 02:24 AM
Senior Member
 
Briguy65's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 310
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 114 Post(s)
Liked: 76
Quote:
Originally Posted by tuckers View Post
Yeah, I've tested this with streaming apps, like Netflix; local Files on Shield internal storage, and local Lan files. Once the issue starts it affects all these sources and also different resolution files too, until I reboot.

It sounds a bit like what sometimes happened to the good ol' WDTV live streaming. I wonder if your shield is overheating. Does it use an internal power supply or one of those wall wart things. I would check to see if maybe swapping that might help. It certainly seemed to help some folks with their WDTV media players.
Briguy65 is offline  
post #3883 of 4513 Old 05-31-2020, 03:09 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Southern California
Posts: 3,492
Mentioned: 53 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2287 Post(s)
Liked: 1561
Quote:
Originally Posted by tuckers View Post
Yeah, I've tested this with streaming apps, like Netflix; local Files on Shield internal storage, and local Lan files. Once the issue starts it affects all these sources and also different resolution files too, until I reboot.

When you reboot (which you say temporarily clears it up) have you tried also rebooting your router/modem too?


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

Mike
Sony XBR-65X930E | ATV4K-64GB & 2-32GB 5th Gens | Nvidia Shield TV Pro 2017 | Nvidia Shield TV Pro 2019 | Logitech Harmony Elite
m_snow is online now  
post #3884 of 4513 Old 05-31-2020, 07:09 AM
Member
 
ntsarb's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2020
Location: London, UK
Posts: 62
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 57 Post(s)
Liked: 8
Quote:
Originally Posted by PeterTHX View Post
Well I hope it's soon. I don't want to waste any more of my trial period!
I don't think there are so many tracks mixed for surround (let alone Atmos) in Tydal at the moment. When I applied the Atmos filter, I got a list of ~150. It's more like a sample, certainly not a library you can rely on (for Atmos versions).
ntsarb is offline  
post #3885 of 4513 Old 05-31-2020, 10:36 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
rec head's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Chicago
Posts: 1,564
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 392 Post(s)
Liked: 392
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nikolaos Tsarmpopoulos View Post
I don't think there are so many tracks mixed for surround (let alone Atmos) in Tydal at the moment. When I applied the Atmos filter, I got a list of ~150. It's more like a sample, certainly not a library you can rely on (for Atmos versions).
You're right but it is supposed to work on the Shield. It doesn't matter how many tracks there are some of us joined Tidal just to check out Atmos music.
PeterTHX and asabrag like this.
rec head is offline  
post #3886 of 4513 Old 05-31-2020, 12:35 PM
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 554
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 312 Post(s)
Liked: 130
Quote:
Originally Posted by rec head View Post
You're right but it is supposed to work on the Shield. It doesn't matter how many tracks there are some of us joined Tidal just to check out Atmos music.
I totally agree!
The same happened to me with Prime + Atmos...a.month ago
I only could see Atmos on one film. While talking to the support team, they dont even know which films they have in their catalogue..I finalized my trial period...

Now the same with Tidal...Add a ****ing download link to the new APK and end of the story!!!
asabrag is online now  
post #3887 of 4513 Old 05-31-2020, 01:01 PM
Member
 
ntsarb's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2020
Location: London, UK
Posts: 62
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 57 Post(s)
Liked: 8
Quote:
Originally Posted by rec head View Post
You're right but it is supposed to work on the Shield. It doesn't matter how many tracks there are some of us joined Tidal just to check out Atmos music.
Yes, that is a very reasonable expectation, since Tidal hasn't clarified publicly which devices are compatible.

Also, worth keeping in mind that, due to the Covid-19 lockdown in the UK (and other countries), content providers have reduced the quality of their streams, to reduce bandwidth usage. I've read that Amazon Prime and Disney+ have selectively suspended Atmos streams for this reason.

Hopefully services will get back to normal. In the meantime, to test your Atmos equipment, you can try out some Dolby demo files. That's what I did...
ntsarb is offline  
post #3888 of 4513 Old 05-31-2020, 02:14 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
rec head's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Chicago
Posts: 1,564
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 392 Post(s)
Liked: 392
I'm not trying to test Atmos content, my Atmos setup has been working for years. What would be new is Atmos music. Everything I have read has said that the Shield TV Pro 2019 is supported in this new roll out. If Tidal is reducing bandwidth then it was a really bad time to launch this.
RxpSGR, PeterTHX and asabrag like this.
rec head is offline  
post #3889 of 4513 Old 05-31-2020, 04:26 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 2,879
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1277 Post(s)
Liked: 840
Well after a painful chat with HBO Max support, they have opened a case on my issue with HBO Max on all 3 of my 2019 Shield Pros. Very frustrating as at first they told me it was not supported then after I kept insisting to chat with a manager they said it was supported. Oddly it works on my ATV4K.

LG 77 C9 (Also LG 65 C7 and Sony XBR55X900E)
Denon x7200WA
Oppo BD-203
Klipsch RP-280F / RC-62ii / RP-140SA / RS-35 / RS-25
Dual PSA V1800s
kluken is offline  
post #3890 of 4513 Old 05-31-2020, 05:28 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
SamuriHL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 5,334
Mentioned: 12 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 317 Post(s)
Liked: 406
I've no issues with HBO Max on either my 2017 shield or my 2019 shield.

LG C8 OLED | Pioneer VSX-LX303 | HTPC (9900k, RTX 2070) | nVidia SHIELD 2019 | Panasonic UB820
SamuriHL is offline  
post #3891 of 4513 Old 05-31-2020, 07:06 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
PeterTHX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 2,556
Mentioned: 19 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 585 Post(s)
Liked: 447
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nikolaos Tsarmpopoulos View Post
I don't think there are so many tracks mixed for surround (let alone Atmos) in Tydal at the moment. When I applied the Atmos filter, I got a list of ~150. It's more like a sample, certainly not a library you can rely on (for Atmos versions).
Well right now I can play back *zero* content in Atmos from Tidal - especially frustrating since there's a lot of material on there I like and would love to experience in the immersive format.

I will say this though: playing back the Atmos mixes in 2-channel sounds different from the original stereo mixes. A lot more activity in DSU.
asabrag likes this.

My opinions do not reflect the policies of my company
PeterTHX is offline  
post #3892 of 4513 Old 05-31-2020, 08:14 PM
Advanced Member
 
elee532's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 865
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 218 Post(s)
Liked: 52
Plex not playing surround FLAC files

I'm just setting up Plex on my 2019 Shield. I'm new to Plex. This is both server and client. I cant figure out why my FLAC 5.1 music files are playing as stereo. Anyone have suggestions for fixing this?
elee532 is offline  
post #3893 of 4513 Old 06-01-2020, 04:39 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
groove93's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Statesboro, GA
Posts: 2,460
Mentioned: 14 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1388 Post(s)
Liked: 802
Quote:
Originally Posted by elee532 View Post
I'm just setting up Plex on my 2019 Shield. I'm new to Plex. This is both server and client. I cant figure out why my FLAC 5.1 music files are playing as stereo. Anyone have suggestions for fixing this?
When it comes to Music Files, if you're concerned about Bit Perfect audio using Plex, I'd go somewhere else. Plex will downrez all audio to 48Hz.

MrMC or Kodi are two good platforms for Hi Res Flac, DOP (DSD over PCM) and other audio formats. You can manipulate these apps to the point where Hi Rez Files play at the correct Bit Rate.

In my Experience, Multi-Channel FLAC and DSD can be hit or miss using Kodi or MrMC, but it's way better than using Plex IMO.

If you really want to experience worry-free playback of Bitperfect audio, I'd go with a device device that can fully handle those formats. Most AVRs and dedicated Streamers can handle these formats with ease.

Sony XBR55X900E
Marantz SR7010/Marantz MM7025
Oppo UDP-203 - Nvidia Shield
XBox One X
Klipsch RP-260f - RP-440C - RP140sa- RP-160m - RB10 - Sony SA-WM500

Last edited by groove93; 06-01-2020 at 05:19 AM.
groove93 is offline  
post #3894 of 4513 Old 06-01-2020, 05:28 AM
UHD Addict
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 36,951
Mentioned: 78 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9979 Post(s)
Liked: 6645
Quote:
Originally Posted by groove93 View Post
When it comes to Music Files, if you're concerned about Bit Perfect audio using Plex, I'd go somewhere else. Plex will downrez all audio to 48Hz.



MrMC or Kodi are two good platforms for Hi Res Flac, DOP (DSD over PCM) and other audio formats. You can manipulate these apps to the point where Hi Rez Files play at the correct Bit Rate.



In my Experience, Multi-Channel FLAC and DSD can be hit or miss using Kodi or MrMC, but it's way better than using Plex IMO.



If you really want to experience worry-free playback of Bitperfect audio, I'd go with a device device that can fully handle those formats. Most AVRs and dedicated Streamers can handle these formats with ease.
If its like the movie files, plex inside of Kodi can bit stream up to 192khz sampling rates. Unlike the native plex app.

Sent from my Tab A 8.0

57TB unRAID1a--49TB unRAID2--76TB unRAID3
TCL 6 Series--Sony UBP-X800--Philips BDP7502--Onkyo HT-S7800
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme
aaronwt is online now  
post #3895 of 4513 Old 06-01-2020, 05:32 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
groove93's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Statesboro, GA
Posts: 2,460
Mentioned: 14 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1388 Post(s)
Liked: 802
Correct, and Kodi or MrMC have great Plex integration, MrMC having the easiest setup IMO.

Sent from my Pixel 2 using Tapatalk

Sony XBR55X900E
Marantz SR7010/Marantz MM7025
Oppo UDP-203 - Nvidia Shield
XBox One X
Klipsch RP-260f - RP-440C - RP140sa- RP-160m - RB10 - Sony SA-WM500
groove93 is offline  
post #3896 of 4513 Old 06-01-2020, 09:27 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
whiteboy714's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 7,542
Mentioned: 18 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1895 Post(s)
Liked: 813
New Nvidia Shield TV Pro announced! Faster SOC, Dolby Vision, new remote!

But be warned that the shield as of the last time this conversation came up will up sample normal CD quality flac from 44.1khz to 48.

Can anyone tell a difference? That's another matter.

TCL 65R625 -- Denon X3500h -- Klipsch RP600m -- RP450C -- Ascend HTM 200 SE -- Dual Klipsch RW-10

Last edited by whiteboy714; 06-01-2020 at 10:25 AM.
whiteboy714 is offline  
post #3897 of 4513 Old 06-01-2020, 09:33 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
b_scott's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Des Plaines, IL
Posts: 7,782
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 732 Post(s)
Liked: 269
the shield last we went through this? huh?

you cannot tell any difference 44.1 to 48 because no new headroom is being added. Take this from someone who masters live audio.

Shadow Theater Build: https://www.avsforum.com/forum/19-dedicated-theater-design-construction/3141596-shadow-theater-build.html
b_scott is online now  
post #3898 of 4513 Old 06-01-2020, 09:36 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
groove93's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Statesboro, GA
Posts: 2,460
Mentioned: 14 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1388 Post(s)
Liked: 802
Quote:
Originally Posted by whiteboy714 View Post

Can anyone tell a difference? That's another matter.
At the Shield's Price Point, I highly doubt it but who knows. I don't have a $80,000 Set up to begin with . I'm no audiophile, but given the Shield's ability to play music at various bitrates (with supported applications), I lean towards that option.

I don't use my Shield or any Android Device in my Household as a Roon Endpoint because of the fact that the Android Audio Stack is limited to 48Hz. Unless you have a USB DAC installed, that's really the only way to have more Audio Options. However, using the Shield without Roon, one thing I can say about the Shield/MrMC combo is the fact that I can play DSD64 and Higher Files (DOP). If I play the same files straight to my Marantz AVR, they will error out unless I use Roon which will downrez the files (Airplay).

Now my Oppo 203, that's another story, but that piece of hardware will part of a 2-Channel Rig I'm currently working on.

Sony XBR55X900E
Marantz SR7010/Marantz MM7025
Oppo UDP-203 - Nvidia Shield
XBox One X
Klipsch RP-260f - RP-440C - RP140sa- RP-160m - RB10 - Sony SA-WM500
groove93 is offline  
post #3899 of 4513 Old 06-01-2020, 10:26 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
whiteboy714's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 7,542
Mentioned: 18 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1895 Post(s)
Liked: 813
Quote:
Originally Posted by b_scott View Post
the shield last we went through this? huh?

you cannot tell any difference 44.1 to 48 because no new headroom is being added. Take this from someone who masters live audio.

Sorry had a baby in my arms, tried to clean that up.
b_scott likes this.

TCL 65R625 -- Denon X3500h -- Klipsch RP600m -- RP450C -- Ascend HTM 200 SE -- Dual Klipsch RW-10
whiteboy714 is offline  
post #3900 of 4513 Old 06-01-2020, 10:29 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
whiteboy714's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 7,542
Mentioned: 18 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1895 Post(s)
Liked: 813
Quote:
Originally Posted by groove93 View Post
At the Shield's Price Point, I highly doubt it but who knows. I don't have a $80,000 Set up to begin with . I'm no audiophile, but given the Shield's ability to play music at various bitrates (with supported applications), I lean towards that option.

I don't use my Shield or any Android Device in my Household as a Roon Endpoint because of the fact that the Android Audio Stack is limited to 48Hz. Unless you have a USB DAC installed, that's really the only way to have more Audio Options. However, using the Shield without Roon, one thing I can say about the Shield/MrMC combo is the fact that I can play DSD64 and Higher Files (DOP). If I play the same files straight to my Marantz AVR, they will error out unless I use Roon which will downrez the files (Airplay).

Now my Oppo 203, that's another story, but that piece of hardware will part of a 2-Channel Rig I'm currently working on.

I'm no audiophile either. Maybe a little bit OCD as I know it's messing with things a little bit. But I mostly have been using Spotify lately and I'm plenty happy with the quality.

That said the $80ish Odroid N2 with coreelec installed can play multi channel pcm flawlessly. So there really shouldn't be a reason Android can't figure it out.

TCL 65R625 -- Denon X3500h -- Klipsch RP600m -- RP450C -- Ascend HTM 200 SE -- Dual Klipsch RW-10
whiteboy714 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Networking, Media Servers & Content Streaming

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off