New Nvidia Shield TV Pro announced! Faster SOC, Dolby Vision, new remote! - Page 131 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 2357Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #3901 of 4604 Old 06-01-2020, 10:35 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Frank Derks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Region A,B,C
Posts: 2,585
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 613 Post(s)
Liked: 462
Quote:
Originally Posted by elee532 View Post
I'm just setting up Plex on my 2019 Shield. I'm new to Plex. This is both server and client. I cant figure out why my FLAC 5.1 music files are playing as stereo. Anyone have suggestions for fixing this?
Having issues with this as well. Although I had playing 5.1 channels flac files using plex. However when the player finishes playing the file the hdmi connection is lost until I press the "back" button on the remote to get video back.
After this the same file plays with 2 channels only.
Stopping plex and emptying cache sometimes gets me mc back. Restarting Shield did work too.

Files play without issues but the plex interface is very unstable after an hdmi handshake.

I suspect framerate changes causing hdmi handshakes.

It's all an hdmi Sh1tsh0w

Stereo is simply Multichannel light.

Last edited by Frank Derks; 06-01-2020 at 10:38 AM.
Frank Derks is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #3902 of 4604 Old 06-01-2020, 10:42 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Frank Derks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Region A,B,C
Posts: 2,585
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 613 Post(s)
Liked: 462
Quote:
Originally Posted by whiteboy714 View Post
I'm no audiophile either. Maybe a little bit OCD as I know it's messing with things a little bit. But I mostly have been using Spotify lately and I'm plenty happy with the quality.

That said the $80ish Odroid N2 with coreelec installed can play multi channel pcm flawlessly. So there really shouldn't be a reason Android can't figure it out.
Kodi playes all my mc flac files without issue.

Don't like the interface for browsing my library....

Stereo is simply Multichannel light.
Frank Derks is offline  
post #3903 of 4604 Old 06-01-2020, 11:00 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
b_scott's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Des Plaines, IL
Posts: 7,812
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 748 Post(s)
Liked: 300
Quote:
Originally Posted by whiteboy714 View Post
I'm no audiophile either. Maybe a little bit OCD as I know it's messing with things a little bit. But I mostly have been using Spotify lately and I'm plenty happy with the quality.

That said the $80ish Odroid N2 with coreelec installed can play multi channel pcm flawlessly. So there really shouldn't be a reason Android can't figure it out.
rest assured, 44.1 to 48 doesn't hurt anything. It just adds more headroom which is filled with nothing. Can't create audio that isn't there.

Shadow Theater Build: https://www.avsforum.com/forum/19-dedicated-theater-design-construction/3141596-shadow-theater-build.html
b_scott is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #3904 of 4604 Old 06-01-2020, 12:33 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Posts: 42
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 7
Nyquest

Quote:
Originally Posted by b_scott View Post
rest assured, 44.1 to 48 doesn't hurt anything. It just adds more headroom which is filled with nothing. Can't create audio that isn't there.
Sampling rate has to do with the frequency response, not headroom. 2 times the highest frequency, hence 44.1 khz = 22.05 khz, more commonly referred as 20 khz. The bit depth has everything to do with headroom. 6 db per bit. 16 bit = 96 db s/n ratio. 24 bit = 144 s/n ratio. For you individuals that think putting a standard definition (cd quality or less) recordings into HiRez (96/24 0r better) files yields better sound, it doesn't. That is a large bit bucket "filled with nothing".
mutelight and b_scott like this.
riknik is offline  
post #3905 of 4604 Old 06-01-2020, 12:40 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
b_scott's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Des Plaines, IL
Posts: 7,812
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 748 Post(s)
Liked: 300
Quote:
Originally Posted by riknik View Post
Sampling rate has to do with the frequency response, not headroom. 2 times the highest frequency, hence 44.1 khz = 22.05 khz, more commonly referred as 20 khz. The bit depth has everything to do with headroom. 6 db per bit. 16 bit = 96 db s/n ratio. 24 bit = 144 s/n ratio. For you individuals that think putting a standard definition (cd quality or less) recordings into HiRez (96/24 0r better) files yields better sound, it doesn't. That is a large bit bucket "filled with nothing".
Yeah, I didn't want to get into all that. But 48hz is usually 24 bit, at least my recordings are.

Shadow Theater Build: https://www.avsforum.com/forum/19-dedicated-theater-design-construction/3141596-shadow-theater-build.html
b_scott is offline  
post #3906 of 4604 Old 06-01-2020, 01:05 PM
Advanced Member
 
dabl's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Indianapolis, IN
Posts: 614
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 87 Post(s)
Liked: 39
Tidal Atmos

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nikolaos Tsarmpopoulos View Post
...Tidal hasn't clarified publicly which devices are compatible.
Actually they have.
...
You can stream music in Dolby on your Dolby Atmos compatible soundbars, TVs, and AVRs, in addition to your Dolby Atmos compatible Android mobile devices.

Compatible TV-connected devices include:

Apple TV 4K (running tvOS 13 or later)
Fire TV (Fire TV Stick 4K, Fire TV Stick 2016, Fire TV Gen 3 2017, Fire TV Cube 1st Gen or 2nd Gen)
Nvidia Shield TV and Shield TV Pro (2019 and newer models)
The updated TIDAL app is also available on Dolby Atmos enabled Android TVs from Sony and Philips.

...

Please ask Tidal support when the client update for the Shield TV will be pushed. The current version is 2.25.1

For what it's worth the client version on the Amazon Firestick 4k that works is 2.26.1

Last edited by dabl; 06-01-2020 at 01:25 PM.
dabl is offline  
post #3907 of 4604 Old 06-01-2020, 04:15 PM
Member
 
ntsarb's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2020
Location: London, UK
Posts: 62
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 57 Post(s)
Liked: 8
Quote:
Originally Posted by dabl View Post
Actually they have.

...

You can stream music in Dolby on your Dolby Atmos compatible soundbars, TVs, and AVRs, in addition to your Dolby Atmos compatible Android mobile devices.



Compatible TV-connected devices include:



Apple TV 4K (running tvOS 13 or later)

Fire TV (Fire TV Stick 4K, Fire TV Stick 2016, Fire TV Gen 3 2017, Fire TV Cube 1st Gen or 2nd Gen)

Nvidia Shield TV and Shield TV Pro (2019 and newer models)

The updated TIDAL app is also available on Dolby Atmos enabled Android TVs from Sony and Philips.


...



Please ask Tidal support when the client update for the Shield TV will be pushed. The current version is 2.25.1



For what it's worth the client version on the Amazon Firestick 4k that works is 2.26.1
Very useful to know, thank you.
ntsarb is offline  
post #3908 of 4604 Old 06-01-2020, 05:36 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
taz291819's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Huntsville, Al
Posts: 6,716
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 459 Post(s)
Liked: 355
Yeah, I'm looking forward to Tidal releasing the updated app for the Shield as well. Not a current subscriber, but will give it a shot once Atmos is supported.
elee532 likes this.

Vizio P65-C1 (2016)
Onkyo Tx-NR656 (5.1.2 setup)
JBL Studio S-Center, JBL Studio S26ii (FL/FR), JBL N24 (LS/RS), JBL N24 (Overhead Atmos), JBL Studio SUB250
Nvidia Shield TV 2019 Pro / Fire Stick 4K
taz291819 is offline  
post #3909 of 4604 Old 06-01-2020, 09:57 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
b_scott's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Des Plaines, IL
Posts: 7,812
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 748 Post(s)
Liked: 300
my Shield TV tube just came. For a $149 device I was surprised it didn't come with an HDMI cable.

Shadow Theater Build: https://www.avsforum.com/forum/19-dedicated-theater-design-construction/3141596-shadow-theater-build.html
b_scott is offline  
post #3910 of 4604 Old 06-01-2020, 10:32 PM
Senior Member
 
Tygeezy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 464
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 312 Post(s)
Liked: 179
Quote:
Originally Posted by b_scott View Post
my Shield TV tube just came. For a $149 device I was surprised it didn't come with an HDMI cable.
Yeah, the pro doesn't either.
Tygeezy is offline  
post #3911 of 4604 Old 06-02-2020, 06:47 AM
Advanced Member
 
dabl's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Indianapolis, IN
Posts: 614
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 87 Post(s)
Liked: 39
Tidal Atmos

Quote:
Originally Posted by taz291819 View Post
Yeah, I'm looking forward to Tidal releasing the updated app for the Shield as well. Not a current subscriber, but will give it a shot once Atmos is supported.
Got the 2.26.1 Tidal app update this morning for my Shield TV 2017 and am getting Atmos in Tidal. Woo hoo!
asabrag likes this.
dabl is offline  
post #3912 of 4604 Old 06-02-2020, 06:51 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
b_scott's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Des Plaines, IL
Posts: 7,812
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 748 Post(s)
Liked: 300
I played media that was supposedly Dolby Vision in Netflix on my shield and I didn't get the Dolby Vision flag pop down on my LG OLED.

Shadow Theater Build: https://www.avsforum.com/forum/19-dedicated-theater-design-construction/3141596-shadow-theater-build.html
b_scott is offline  
post #3913 of 4604 Old 06-02-2020, 07:08 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
HD-Master's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Bronx
Posts: 1,542
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 802 Post(s)
Liked: 908
Quote:
Originally Posted by b_scott View Post
I played media that was supposedly Dolby Vision in Netflix on my shield and I didn't get the Dolby Vision flag pop down on my LG OLED.

Do you have it enabled on the Shield?


My 2019 TCL 6-Series QLED R625 Calibrated Settings
b_scott and asabrag like this.
HD-Master is online now  
post #3914 of 4604 Old 06-02-2020, 07:11 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
rec head's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Chicago
Posts: 1,565
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 394 Post(s)
Liked: 394
Do you pay for the 4K NF plan? Does the TV go into Dolby Vision mode when you use the TV's app?
galonzo and b_scott like this.
rec head is offline  
post #3915 of 4604 Old 06-02-2020, 07:16 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
b_scott's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Des Plaines, IL
Posts: 7,812
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 748 Post(s)
Liked: 300
Quote:
Originally Posted by HD-Master View Post
Do you have it enabled on the Shield?


My 2019 TCL 6-Series QLED R625 Calibrated Settings
Thanks! That setting was not there when I initially plugged in the Shield TV. It must have gotten added during one of the updates?

Shadow Theater Build: https://www.avsforum.com/forum/19-dedicated-theater-design-construction/3141596-shadow-theater-build.html
b_scott is offline  
post #3916 of 4604 Old 06-02-2020, 08:01 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Foxbat121's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: VA
Posts: 12,267
Mentioned: 14 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 698 Post(s)
Liked: 641
That option is only available when it detects a DV capable TV is connected.
Foxbat121 is online now  
post #3917 of 4604 Old 06-02-2020, 08:21 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Southern California
Posts: 3,515
Mentioned: 53 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2299 Post(s)
Liked: 1583
Quote:
Originally Posted by b_scott View Post
my Shield TV tube just came. For a $149 device I was surprised it didn't come with an HDMI cable.

Probably because they don’t know if it’s connecting to a 4K display or not or if you’ll be watching HDR/DV content.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

Mike
Sony XBR-65X930E | ATV4K-64GB & 2-32GB 5th Gens | Nvidia Shield TV Pro 2017 | Nvidia Shield TV Pro 2019 | Logitech Harmony Elite
m_snow is online now  
post #3918 of 4604 Old 06-02-2020, 08:22 AM
Member
 
rcraigiii's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 131
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Hi Everyone ...

I'm unable to get ATMOS out of Vudu with Shield Pro. Instead, my Yamaha AVR shows DD+. I can get ATMOS (when avail) on Netflix, Disney+, and Amazon. I have a Samsung Q90 65" and a Yamaha RXA780 Receiver. I have a ticket opened with Vudu, but it's slow moving.

Thanks in advance for any guidance!
Rob

Yamaha RXA780, Samsung QN65Q90RAFXZA, B&W 685 Bookshelf Fronts, B&W Center, Polk Audio Rear & Sub, Klipsch RP-140SA Dolby Atmos Front Presence, Directv Genie 2 with C61k-700 Client, Nvidia Shield Pro.
rcraigiii is online now  
post #3919 of 4604 Old 06-02-2020, 08:26 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
b_scott's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Des Plaines, IL
Posts: 7,812
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 748 Post(s)
Liked: 300
Quote:
Originally Posted by m_snow View Post
Probably because they don’t know if it’s connecting to a 4K display or not or if you’ll be watching HDR/DV content.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
Not sure why that matters. Just include a short 18gbps capable cable.

Shadow Theater Build: https://www.avsforum.com/forum/19-dedicated-theater-design-construction/3141596-shadow-theater-build.html
b_scott is offline  
post #3920 of 4604 Old 06-02-2020, 08:36 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Southern California
Posts: 3,515
Mentioned: 53 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2299 Post(s)
Liked: 1583
Quote:
Originally Posted by b_scott View Post
Not sure why that matters. Just include a short 18gbps capable cable.
Only 1/3 of the households have 4K so that's overkill for most. A lot of us want Premium Certified so I guess it's best to do as many other manufactures do including Apple, let the users decide what they want.
aaronwt likes this.

Mike
Sony XBR-65X930E | ATV4K-64GB & 2-32GB 5th Gens | Nvidia Shield TV Pro 2017 | Nvidia Shield TV Pro 2019 | Logitech Harmony Elite
m_snow is online now  
post #3921 of 4604 Old 06-02-2020, 08:40 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
b_scott's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Des Plaines, IL
Posts: 7,812
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 748 Post(s)
Liked: 300
Quote:
Originally Posted by m_snow View Post
Only 1/3 of the households have 4K so that's overkill for most. A lot of us want Premium Certified so I guess it's best to do as many other manufactures do including Apple, let the users decide what they want.
Uh, Apple includes connection cables with their phones.

HDMI is HDMI. Most "premium" stuff is just bullsh*t. It's ones and zeros, this isn't waves like in the past. You should at least get something to connect with. Cables are pennies for them.

Shadow Theater Build: https://www.avsforum.com/forum/19-dedicated-theater-design-construction/3141596-shadow-theater-build.html
b_scott is offline  
post #3922 of 4604 Old 06-02-2020, 09:41 AM
UHD Addict
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 36,975
Mentioned: 78 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9996 Post(s)
Liked: 6657
Quote:
Originally Posted by b_scott View Post
my Shield TV tube just came. For a $149 device I was surprised it didn't come with an HDMI cable.
I would never use the HDMI cable if it did. Just like I never use the AA and AAA batteries that come with devices.
I have a box with dozens of HDMi cables and batteries that came with devices over the years. I will throw one in with a device I sell. But that is all I use them for.
Theetjuh and jazzrock like this.

57TB unRAID1a--49TB unRAID2--76TB unRAID3
TCL 6 Series--Sony UBP-X800--Philips BDP7502--Onkyo HT-S7800
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme
aaronwt is online now  
post #3923 of 4604 Old 06-02-2020, 09:42 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
b_scott's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Des Plaines, IL
Posts: 7,812
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 748 Post(s)
Liked: 300
Quote:
Originally Posted by aaronwt View Post
I would never use the HDMI cable if it did. Just like I never use the AA and AAA batteries that come with devices.
I have a box with dozens of HDMi cables and batteries that came with devices over the years. I will throw one in with a device I sell. But that is all I use them for.
ok, good for you. that doesn't change the fact that it should've come with one, regardless of cable snobs.

Shadow Theater Build: https://www.avsforum.com/forum/19-dedicated-theater-design-construction/3141596-shadow-theater-build.html
b_scott is offline  
post #3924 of 4604 Old 06-02-2020, 09:47 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
rec head's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Chicago
Posts: 1,565
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 394 Post(s)
Liked: 394
I uninstalled and reinstalled Tidal and now have Atmos music. My brief experience so far: The levels are much quieter than stereo tracks. I had to increase the volume 10 to 12 db. In my limited trial the pop songs sounded flat and lame like they squeezed the life out of them. I have regular stereo tracks that sound more spacious. The James Brown track has the vocals in the rear which is weird but maybe there is a reason for that. The Art Blakey track I listened to seemed like the only mix that felt right but I was multitasking at the time. I have not done strict A/B testing using Tidal to test between the Atmos and stereo versions of the same track.
asabrag likes this.
rec head is offline  
post #3925 of 4604 Old 06-02-2020, 09:49 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Southern California
Posts: 3,515
Mentioned: 53 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2299 Post(s)
Liked: 1583
Quote:
Originally Posted by b_scott View Post
Uh, Apple includes connection cables with their phones.

HDMI is HDMI. Most "premium" stuff is just bullsh*t. It's ones and zeros, this isn't waves like in the past. You should at least get something to connect with. Cables are pennies for them.

Stop with the “uh” snarky stuff okay? What I’m saying is other devices don’t come with them either. Premium Certified cables like Monoprice are inexpensive but certified by HDMI.org. Many of us use them. Apple includes a “Lightning” charging cable for their phones which are specific for their phones. They don’t include HDMI cables for their streaming devices.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
NotShorty, chi_guy50 and jazzrock like this.

Mike
Sony XBR-65X930E | ATV4K-64GB & 2-32GB 5th Gens | Nvidia Shield TV Pro 2017 | Nvidia Shield TV Pro 2019 | Logitech Harmony Elite
m_snow is online now  
post #3926 of 4604 Old 06-02-2020, 09:52 AM
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 561
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 318 Post(s)
Liked: 132
Quote:
Originally Posted by dabl View Post
Actually they have.
...
You can stream music in Dolby on your Dolby Atmos compatible soundbars, TVs, and AVRs, in addition to your Dolby Atmos compatible Android mobile devices.

Compatible TV-connected devices include:

Apple TV 4K (running tvOS 13 or later)
Fire TV (Fire TV Stick 4K, Fire TV Stick 2016, Fire TV Gen 3 2017, Fire TV Cube 1st Gen or 2nd Gen)
Nvidia Shield TV and Shield TV Pro (2019 and newer models)
The updated TIDAL app is also available on Dolby Atmos enabled Android TVs from Sony and Philips.

...

Please ask Tidal support when the client update for the Shield TV will be pushed. The current version is 2.25.1

For what it's worth the client version on the Amazon Firestick 4k that works is 2.26.1
Quote:
Originally Posted by taz291819 View Post
Yeah, I'm looking forward to Tidal releasing the updated app for the Shield as well. Not a current subscriber, but will give it a shot once Atmos is supported.
Quote:
Originally Posted by dabl View Post
Got the 2.26.1 Tidal app update this morning for my Shield TV 2017 and am getting Atmos in Tidal. Woo hoo!
Thanks!, I just checked, updated and listening Cold Play in Atmos....great add on from Tidal
asabrag is offline  
post #3927 of 4604 Old 06-02-2020, 09:58 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
b_scott's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Des Plaines, IL
Posts: 7,812
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 748 Post(s)
Liked: 300
Quote:
Originally Posted by m_snow View Post
Stop with the “uh” snarky stuff okay? What I’m saying is other devices don’t come with them either. Premium Certified cables like Monoprice are inexpensive but certified by HDMI.org. Many of us use them. Apple includes a “Lightning” charging cable for their phones which are specific for their phones. They don’t include HDMI cables for their streaming devices.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
I said Uh because the post i originally quoted said "uh". Looks like it's been edited. It's not snarky, it was mirroring. If i'm going crazy and it didn't, then I apologize.

I don't even consider Apple TV's, and I didn't know they didn't come with a cable. They should too, so my opinion stands. Again, HDMI is HDMI as long as it is to spec, and no one in my decades here has been able to prove to me otherwise on my tons and tons of devices. Ones and zeros.
b_scott is offline  
post #3928 of 4604 Old 06-02-2020, 09:59 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
groove93's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Statesboro, GA
Posts: 2,479
Mentioned: 14 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1403 Post(s)
Liked: 803
Considering I don't have a 2019 Shield, for the Tidal/Atmos music, are all of the songs available in Atmos, or are selected titles only in this format?

Sony XBR55X900E
Marantz SR7010/Marantz MM7025
Oppo UDP-203 - Nvidia Shield
XBox One X
Klipsch RP-260f - RP-440C - RP140sa- RP-160m - RB10 - Sony SA-WM500
groove93 is offline  
post #3929 of 4604 Old 06-02-2020, 10:18 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Philnick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Cambridge, MA
Posts: 2,127
Mentioned: 25 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 850 Post(s)
Liked: 443
Quote:
Originally Posted by groove93 View Post
Considering I don't have a 2019 Shield, for the Tidal/Atmos music, are all of the songs available in Atmos, or are selected titles only in this format?
The value of Atmos music mixes would be that the mixing engineer places instruments (and ambiance) in space intentionally. Anything given to Tidal in stereo should be distributed in stereo, not Atmos, so clearly only things mixed in Atmos would be available in that format.

If you want to put stereo material through an upscaler on your own, nothing will stop you - other than a result that doesn't sound pleasing to you. Personally, I prefer to play stereo material in "car stereo" mode - I use my AVR's mode that sends each channel to all the speakers on that side of the room. (On Yamahas, it's called "x channel stereo" - x being the number of power amps your unit has.) That avoids artificial-sounding results.
groove93 likes this.

Phil
True 4K/HDR10/3D JVC DLA-RS1000 (N5/NX5) projector, 7.2.4 Paradigm/Boston Acoustics/Onkyo speakers. Yamaha RX-A3070 (w/ Denon 2307CI to power 4 overheads). Oppo UDP-203, 4K Nvidia Shield, 4K Roku Ultra, 4K Amazon FireStick, Comcast 4K cable box, Win 10 PC.
My water-themed landscape photography website - only 24 pix up so far.
Philnick is offline  
post #3930 of 4604 Old 06-02-2020, 10:27 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
groove93's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Statesboro, GA
Posts: 2,479
Mentioned: 14 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1403 Post(s)
Liked: 803
Quote:
Originally Posted by Philnick View Post
The value of Atmos music mixes would be that the mixing engineer places instruments (and ambiance) in space intentionally. Anything given to Tidal in stereo should be distributed in stereo, not Atmos, so clearly only things mixed in Atmos would be available in that format.

If you want to put stereo material through an upscaler on your own, nothing will stop you - other than a result that doesn't sound pleasing to you. Personally, I prefer to play stereo material in "car stereo" mode - I use my AVR's mode that sends each channel to all the speakers on that side of the room. (On Yamahas, it's called "x channel stereo" - x being the number of power amps your unit has.) That avoids artificial-sounding results.
That is what I thought. Thank you. Yea I can simply add DSU or Neural X using my AVR, but I'm more into 2-Channel music to begin with, along side a few Multi-Channel DSD files in my Music Library. I cancelled Tidal a few months ago and now I have a 30-day Trial of Qobuz, and that service doesn't even have an Android TV app available.

Sony XBR55X900E
Marantz SR7010/Marantz MM7025
Oppo UDP-203 - Nvidia Shield
XBox One X
Klipsch RP-260f - RP-440C - RP140sa- RP-160m - RB10 - Sony SA-WM500
groove93 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Networking, Media Servers & Content Streaming

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off