New Nvidia Shield TV Pro announced! Faster SOC, Dolby Vision, new remote! - Page 132 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 2334Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #3931 of 4524 Old 06-02-2020, 10:34 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
chi_guy50's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 3,884
Mentioned: 30 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2400 Post(s)
Liked: 2511
Quote:
Originally Posted by b_scott View Post
Again, HDMI is HDMI as long as it is to spec, and no one in my decades here has been able to prove to me otherwise on my tons and tons of devices. Ones and zeros.

You are correct in stating the proviso "as long as it is to spec." The issue is that Premium Certified cables are verified through industry-established testing standards to meet the HDMI 2.0b specifications for 4K/UHD signals. It is that reassurance that makes them a preferable choice for many of us who value a reliable connection for high-quality video, especially given that these cables are available at very low prices from trusted sources such as Monoprice.
aaronwt, galonzo and jazzrock like this.

Living Room: Sony XBR-65Z9D; Oppo UDP-203; TiVo Roamio Pro/DarbeeVision DVP 5000S; Nvidia Shield TV; Roku Ultra; Denon AVR-X8500H; Polk Audio RTiA7 (Fl/r), CSiA6 (C), RTiA5 (Sl/r & FW), OWM5 (SB), 80F/X-RT (FH, RH); SVS SB-2000 (SW)
Bedroom: Sony XBR-55X950G,
Sony UBP-X800, TiVo Mini/DarbeeVision DVP 5000S, Amazon Fire TV 4K, Yamaha R-N402 Network Receiver, Polk Audio LSiM703
chi_guy50 is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #3932 of 4524 Old 06-02-2020, 11:00 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 499
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 412 Post(s)
Liked: 221
Hey all, was hoping someone could help me with my setup. I bought a logitech harmony 665 remote, and stupidly wasnt aware that the shield remote works via bluetooth, and in order to get the 665 to work with the shield, I need an IR receiver.

I was looking at getting a FLIRC, but it needs line of sight to work with the remote and shield.

Can anyone tell me if i get one of these right angle USB adapters if the remote will work with the FLIRC? With the adapter, the FLIRC will be pointing straight up from the back of the shield.

https://smile.amazon.com/Adapter-VCZ...ct_top?ie=UTF8

LG 65CX l Apple TV 4K l PS4 Pro l Nintendo Switch | Logitech Harmony Companion
saiyanzzrage is online now  
post #3933 of 4524 Old 06-02-2020, 11:34 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Southern California
Posts: 3,499
Mentioned: 53 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2291 Post(s)
Liked: 1569
Quote:
Originally Posted by saiyanzzrage View Post
Hey all, was hoping someone could help me with my setup. I bought a logitech harmony 665 remote, and stupidly wasnt aware that the shield remote works via bluetooth, and in order to get the 665 to work with the shield, I need an IR receiver.

I was looking at getting a FLIRC, but it needs line of sight to work with the remote and shield.

Can anyone tell me if i get one of these right angle USB adapters if the remote will work with the FLIRC? With the adapter, the FLIRC will be pointing straight up from the back of the shield.

https://smile.amazon.com/Adapter-VCZ...ct_top?ie=UTF8

It should work but a USB cable extension adapter would give you more flexibility.


https://www.amazon.com/Extension-Cab...e_s_sparkle_td


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
saiyanzzrage likes this.

Mike
Sony XBR-65X930E | ATV4K-64GB & 2-32GB 5th Gens | Nvidia Shield TV Pro 2017 | Nvidia Shield TV Pro 2019 | Logitech Harmony Elite
m_snow is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #3934 of 4524 Old 06-02-2020, 11:39 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 499
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 412 Post(s)
Liked: 221
Quote:
Originally Posted by m_snow View Post
It should work but a USB cable extension adapter would give you more flexibility.


https://www.amazon.com/Extension-Cab...e_s_sparkle_td


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
Thanks, I have one of those, so i will have a backup if the 90 degree adapter doesnt work. I wanted to see if I could get something cleaner to work without a wire sticking out of the shield (ocd tendencies)
m_snow likes this.

LG 65CX l Apple TV 4K l PS4 Pro l Nintendo Switch | Logitech Harmony Companion
saiyanzzrage is online now  
post #3935 of 4524 Old 06-02-2020, 12:25 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Southern California
Posts: 3,499
Mentioned: 53 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2291 Post(s)
Liked: 1569
Quote:
Originally Posted by saiyanzzrage View Post
Thanks, I have one of those, so i will have a backup if the 90 degree adapter doesnt work. I wanted to see if I could get something cleaner to work without a wire sticking out of the shield (ocd tendencies)

Agree, good plan.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
saiyanzzrage likes this.

Mike
Sony XBR-65X930E | ATV4K-64GB & 2-32GB 5th Gens | Nvidia Shield TV Pro 2017 | Nvidia Shield TV Pro 2019 | Logitech Harmony Elite
m_snow is online now  
post #3936 of 4524 Old 06-02-2020, 01:29 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
b_scott's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Des Plaines, IL
Posts: 7,784
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 733 Post(s)
Liked: 273
Quote:
Originally Posted by chi_guy50 View Post
You are correct in stating the proviso "as long as it is to spec." The issue is that Premium Certified cables are verified through industry-established testing standards to meet the HDMI 2.0b specifications for 4K/UHD signals. It is that reassurance that makes them a preferable choice for many of us who value a reliable connection for high-quality video, especially given that these cables are available at very low prices from trusted sources such as Monoprice.
Thanks. I have my share of Bluerigger, etc. But I haven't had to connect something new in awhile and I didn't have any on hand to test with on my OLED (this is for my basement projector future setup). I had just assumed it would come plug and play.

Shadow Theater Build: https://www.avsforum.com/forum/19-dedicated-theater-design-construction/3141596-shadow-theater-build.html
b_scott is offline  
post #3937 of 4524 Old 06-03-2020, 08:31 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
b_scott's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Des Plaines, IL
Posts: 7,784
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 733 Post(s)
Liked: 273
It could just be my eyes playing tricks on me, but it seems that the resolution of Youtube TV is better on the Shield than on my Fire TV 4K stick. All apps are definitely snappier, and I love the true bitstream of audio. I wish it wasn't $150 or I'd just replace all my Fire TV sticks with one.

Shadow Theater Build: https://www.avsforum.com/forum/19-dedicated-theater-design-construction/3141596-shadow-theater-build.html
b_scott is offline  
post #3938 of 4524 Old 06-03-2020, 08:58 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 499
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 412 Post(s)
Liked: 221
Quote:
Originally Posted by b_scott View Post
It could just be my eyes playing tricks on me, but it seems that the resolution of Youtube TV is better on the Shield than on my Fire TV 4K stick. All apps are definitely snappier, and I love the true bitstream of audio. I wish it wasn't $150 or I'd just replace all my Fire TV sticks with one.
ai upscaling on the shield?

LG 65CX l Apple TV 4K l PS4 Pro l Nintendo Switch | Logitech Harmony Companion
saiyanzzrage is online now  
post #3939 of 4524 Old 06-03-2020, 08:59 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
b_scott's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Des Plaines, IL
Posts: 7,784
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 733 Post(s)
Liked: 273
Quote:
Originally Posted by saiyanzzrage View Post
ai upscaling on the shield?
yeah it's on. that could be it.

Shadow Theater Build: https://www.avsforum.com/forum/19-dedicated-theater-design-construction/3141596-shadow-theater-build.html
b_scott is offline  
post #3940 of 4524 Old 06-03-2020, 09:48 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Philnick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Cambridge, MA
Posts: 2,127
Mentioned: 25 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 850 Post(s)
Liked: 442
Quote:
Originally Posted by b_scott View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by saiyanzzrage View Post
ai upscaling on the shield?
yeah it's on. that could be it.
Tap the top right button on the Shield remote to toggle the AI Upscaling on and off for comparison.

Phil
True 4K/HDR10/3D JVC DLA-RS1000 (N5/NX5) projector, 7.2.4 Paradigm/Boston Acoustics/Onkyo speakers. Yamaha RX-A3070 (w/ Denon 2307CI to power 4 overheads). Oppo UDP-203, 4K Nvidia Shield, 4K Roku Ultra, 4K Amazon FireStick, Comcast 4K cable box, Win 10 PC.
My water-themed landscape photography website - only 24 pix up so far.
Philnick is offline  
post #3941 of 4524 Old 06-03-2020, 10:14 AM
Advanced Member
 
JohnnytheSkin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Hartford
Posts: 702
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 131 Post(s)
Liked: 78
What level is everyone using for the AI Upscaling? I think I've settled on Low for all content, though Medium is really good with higher quality HD streams. On lower quality ones it adds a bit too much noise, and on animated shows (BoJack, South Park, etc) the oversharpened halo edges are too much.

Thoughts and experiences?

Sent from my Pixel 4 XL using Tapatalk
JohnnytheSkin is offline  
post #3942 of 4524 Old 06-03-2020, 11:04 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Southern California
Posts: 3,499
Mentioned: 53 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2291 Post(s)
Liked: 1569
Quote:
Originally Posted by JohnnytheSkin View Post
What level is everyone using for the AI Upscaling? I think I've settled on Low for all content, though Medium is really good with higher quality HD streams. On lower quality ones it adds a bit too much noise, and on animated shows (BoJack, South Park, etc) the oversharpened halo edges are too much.

Thoughts and experiences?

Sent from my Pixel 4 XL using Tapatalk

Yeah medium for me but even that over sharpers and adds artifacts on some movies.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

Mike
Sony XBR-65X930E | ATV4K-64GB & 2-32GB 5th Gens | Nvidia Shield TV Pro 2017 | Nvidia Shield TV Pro 2019 | Logitech Harmony Elite
m_snow is online now  
post #3943 of 4524 Old 06-03-2020, 11:09 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 499
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 412 Post(s)
Liked: 221
Quote:
Originally Posted by JohnnytheSkin View Post
What level is everyone using for the AI Upscaling? I think I've settled on Low for all content, though Medium is really good with higher quality HD streams. On lower quality ones it adds a bit too much noise, and on animated shows (BoJack, South Park, etc) the oversharpened halo edges are too much.

Thoughts and experiences?

Sent from my Pixel 4 XL using Tapatalk
i have been using ai medium. Havent bothered checking the other options, seems good to me

LG 65CX l Apple TV 4K l PS4 Pro l Nintendo Switch | Logitech Harmony Companion
saiyanzzrage is online now  
post #3944 of 4524 Old 06-03-2020, 11:11 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Philnick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Cambridge, MA
Posts: 2,127
Mentioned: 25 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 850 Post(s)
Liked: 442
Quote:
Originally Posted by JohnnytheSkin View Post
What level is everyone using for the AI Upscaling? I think I've settled on Low for all content, though Medium is really good with higher quality HD streams. On lower quality ones it adds a bit too much noise, and on animated shows (BoJack, South Park, etc) the oversharpened halo edges are too much.

Thoughts and experiences?
I had started with the default Medium setting, which is pretty subtle, but have recently upped it to High.

When it looks bad, I'll drop it down to Medium or Low, but there's no reason to lose the benefit of High when it works well.

I really appreciate the AI Upscaling because I'm running a true 4K projector for an image zoomed to 10' 4" wide (not diagonal) for 16:9 sources and 11' 4" wide for scope films (a digital zoom in the projector to use the imaging panels' full 17:9 area - I don't use it for 16:9 because that loses image off the top and bottom of the imaging panels).

Phil
True 4K/HDR10/3D JVC DLA-RS1000 (N5/NX5) projector, 7.2.4 Paradigm/Boston Acoustics/Onkyo speakers. Yamaha RX-A3070 (w/ Denon 2307CI to power 4 overheads). Oppo UDP-203, 4K Nvidia Shield, 4K Roku Ultra, 4K Amazon FireStick, Comcast 4K cable box, Win 10 PC.
My water-themed landscape photography website - only 24 pix up so far.

Last edited by Philnick; 06-03-2020 at 11:21 AM.
Philnick is offline  
post #3945 of 4524 Old 06-03-2020, 11:21 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Southern California
Posts: 3,499
Mentioned: 53 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2291 Post(s)
Liked: 1569
Quote:
Originally Posted by Philnick View Post
I had started with the default Medium setting, which is pretty subtle, but have recently upped it to High.

When it looks bad, I'll drop it down to Medium or Low, but there's no reason to lose the benefit of High when it works well.

I really wish there was a slider between low and high so you could fine tune it.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

Mike
Sony XBR-65X930E | ATV4K-64GB & 2-32GB 5th Gens | Nvidia Shield TV Pro 2017 | Nvidia Shield TV Pro 2019 | Logitech Harmony Elite
m_snow is online now  
post #3946 of 4524 Old 06-03-2020, 11:23 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Philnick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Cambridge, MA
Posts: 2,127
Mentioned: 25 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 850 Post(s)
Liked: 442
Quote:
Originally Posted by m_snow View Post
I really wish there was a slider between low and high so you could fine tune it.
The differences between each pair of settings (Low to Medium and Medium to High) are pretty subtle, making Medium effectively that "fine tuning."

Phil
True 4K/HDR10/3D JVC DLA-RS1000 (N5/NX5) projector, 7.2.4 Paradigm/Boston Acoustics/Onkyo speakers. Yamaha RX-A3070 (w/ Denon 2307CI to power 4 overheads). Oppo UDP-203, 4K Nvidia Shield, 4K Roku Ultra, 4K Amazon FireStick, Comcast 4K cable box, Win 10 PC.
My water-themed landscape photography website - only 24 pix up so far.

Last edited by Philnick; 06-03-2020 at 11:28 AM.
Philnick is offline  
post #3947 of 4524 Old 06-03-2020, 11:29 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Southern California
Posts: 3,499
Mentioned: 53 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2291 Post(s)
Liked: 1569
Quote:
Originally Posted by Philnick View Post
The differences between each pair of settings (Low to Medium and Medium to High) are pretty subtle.

When I get to the point that there’s too much sharpening I want to back it down just a bit without dropping to the next level. More tuning control would be a nice to have. Not essential.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Mike
Sony XBR-65X930E | ATV4K-64GB & 2-32GB 5th Gens | Nvidia Shield TV Pro 2017 | Nvidia Shield TV Pro 2019 | Logitech Harmony Elite
m_snow is online now  
post #3948 of 4524 Old 06-03-2020, 11:42 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 178
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 121 Post(s)
Liked: 72
Quote:
Originally Posted by b_scott View Post
Uh, Apple includes connection cables with their phones.

HDMI is HDMI. Most "premium" stuff is just bullsh*t. It's ones and zeros, this isn't waves like in the past. You should at least get something to connect with. Cables are pennies for them.

This couldn’t be further from the truth. You need quality HDMI cables that are built to pass the 4k at necessary speeds required by the components in a given system. Doesn’t mean the most expensive. But it does mean well built and designed to do the required specs of the task at hand.
aaronwt, NotShorty and m-a-r-k like this.
jazzrock is online now  
post #3949 of 4524 Old 06-03-2020, 12:30 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
b_scott's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Des Plaines, IL
Posts: 7,784
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 733 Post(s)
Liked: 273
Quote:
Originally Posted by jazzrock View Post
This couldn’t be further from the truth. You need quality HDMI cables that are built to pass the 4k at necessary speeds required by the components in a given system. Doesn’t mean the most expensive. But it does mean well built and designed to do the required specs of the task at hand.
Fire TV includes an HDMI cable to connect to your TV/AVR and passes my 4K flawlessly.

Shadow Theater Build: https://www.avsforum.com/forum/19-dedicated-theater-design-construction/3141596-shadow-theater-build.html
b_scott is offline  
post #3950 of 4524 Old 06-03-2020, 12:43 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Southern California
Posts: 3,499
Mentioned: 53 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2291 Post(s)
Liked: 1569
Quote:
Originally Posted by b_scott View Post
Fire TV includes an HDMI cable to connect to your TV/AVR and passes my 4K flawlessly.

Which one? It’s not included on the Cube and the Firestick plugs into your HDMI port. I know they sell HDMI extenders but the description says they are not in the box.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

Mike
Sony XBR-65X930E | ATV4K-64GB & 2-32GB 5th Gens | Nvidia Shield TV Pro 2017 | Nvidia Shield TV Pro 2019 | Logitech Harmony Elite
m_snow is online now  
post #3951 of 4524 Old 06-03-2020, 12:46 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
b_scott's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Des Plaines, IL
Posts: 7,784
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 733 Post(s)
Liked: 273
Quote:
Originally Posted by m_snow View Post
Which one? It’s not included on the Cube and the Firestick plugs into your HDMI port. I know they sell HDMI extenders but the description says they are not in the box.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
The HDMI extender is the cable i'm talking about. It works just fine. Obviously the stick has an HDMI built in, the the extender is a cable, and it passes 4K. You only need a cable about that length to at least plug the Shield TV into your TV or receiver.

Shadow Theater Build: https://www.avsforum.com/forum/19-dedicated-theater-design-construction/3141596-shadow-theater-build.html
b_scott is offline  
post #3952 of 4524 Old 06-03-2020, 12:57 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Southern California
Posts: 3,499
Mentioned: 53 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2291 Post(s)
Liked: 1569
Quote:
Originally Posted by b_scott View Post
The HDMI extender is the cable i'm talking about. It works just fine. Obviously the stick has an HDMI built in, the the extender is a cable, and it passes 4K. You only need a cable about that length to at least plug the Shield TV into your TV or receiver.

But you said it was “included” and that’s the issue. It says it isn’t.




Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

Mike
Sony XBR-65X930E | ATV4K-64GB & 2-32GB 5th Gens | Nvidia Shield TV Pro 2017 | Nvidia Shield TV Pro 2019 | Logitech Harmony Elite
m_snow is online now  
post #3953 of 4524 Old 06-03-2020, 01:04 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
b_scott's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Des Plaines, IL
Posts: 7,784
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 733 Post(s)
Liked: 273
Quote:
Originally Posted by m_snow View Post
But you said it was “included” and that’s the issue. It says it isn’t.




Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
I have the Firestick. Not the Cube. And I promise you it was included with all three of my Firestick 4K's.


Amazon Fire TV Stick 4K with all-new Alexa Voice Remote, Streaming Media Player
Alexa Voice Remote (2nd Gen)
USB cable and power adapter
HDMI extender cable
Two AAA batteries
Owner's manual
b_scott is offline  
post #3954 of 4524 Old 06-03-2020, 02:49 PM
UHD Addict
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 36,956
Mentioned: 78 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9984 Post(s)
Liked: 6653
Quote:
Originally Posted by b_scott View Post
ok, good for you. that doesn't change the fact that it should've come with one, regardless of cable snobs.
Not being a cable snob. From past experience the cables packaged with devices have been suspect. I used to try using them years ago. But I ran into too many issues with them. Like the included PS4 HDMI cables were crap. But eventually I just didn't bother messing with them. To avoid the aggravation that comes from a cable that is not up to spec.

And for the batteries? I had switched to using rechargable batteries years ago. So those are the only ones I use with my remotes that take AA and AAA.

57TB unRAID1a--49TB unRAID2--76TB unRAID3
TCL 6 Series--Sony UBP-X800--Philips BDP7502--Onkyo HT-S7800
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme
aaronwt is offline  
post #3955 of 4524 Old 06-03-2020, 03:18 PM
Member
 
Tighe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Augusta, ME
Posts: 39
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Is anyone else having trouble getting Vudu UHD titles to play on the 2019 shield? The option is there to rent UHD but I'll get a prompt at the rental confirmation stage, stating my system is limited to HDX.

I don't get the "HDX limited" prompt when using the Vudu app in my tv. But the tv doesn't support eARC so I wouldn't get ATMOS going that route.

I have zero issues with 4K/HDR/ATMOS content from other apps such as Netflix/Disney+



TV - Vizio P65-F1
Receiver - Marantz SR6013
Nvidia Shield Pro 2019 running 8.1.1(32.7.301.99)

TV: Vizio P65-F1 - Receiver: Marantz SR6013 - Mains: Polk RTi10 - Center: Polk CSi5 - Surrounds: Polk f/xi3 in bipole - Atmos front .2 Klipsch RP-500SA - Atmos rear .2: Klipsch R-41SA - Sub: HSU VTF-15H MK2 - Sony Ubp-X800M2 - Oppo BDP-93 - Nvidia Shield Pro 2019
Tighe is offline  
post #3956 of 4524 Old 06-03-2020, 03:32 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
atc98092's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Washington (the state)
Posts: 2,680
Mentioned: 65 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1685 Post(s)
Liked: 850
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tighe View Post
Is anyone else having trouble getting Vudu UHD titles to play on the 2019 shield? The option is there to rent UHD but I'll get a prompt at the rental confirmation stage, stating my system is limited to HDX.

I don't get the "HDX limited" prompt when using the Vudu app in my tv. But the tv doesn't support eARC so I wouldn't get ATMOS going that route.

I have zero issues with 4K/HDR/ATMOS content from other apps such as Netflix/Disney+



TV - Vizio P65-F1
Receiver - Marantz SR6013
Nvidia Shield Pro 2019 running 8.1.1(32.7.301.99)
I have the tube, not the Pro, but I just tried Vudu and had no issues playing a UHD movie. TV confirmed it was UHD and HDR. My TV isn't DV capable. This room doesn't have Atmos, so can't confirm that. My '17 Shield is on the only AVR with Atmos/DTS:X.

Dan
Samsung JU7100 and NU7100 4K TVs, Yamaha RX-V583, Nvidia Shield (2017 & 2019), a number of Roku players and TVs, Windows 10 media server with Serviio and Plex. Other players and TVs as well.

Last edited by atc98092; 06-03-2020 at 05:10 PM.
atc98092 is online now  
post #3957 of 4524 Old 06-03-2020, 03:40 PM
Member
 
Tighe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Augusta, ME
Posts: 39
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by atc98092 View Post
I have the tube, not the Pro, but I just tried Vudu and had no issues playing a UHD device. TV confirmed it was UHD and HDR. My TV isn't DV capable. This room doesn't have Atmos, so can't confirm that. My '17 Shield is on the only AVR with Atmos/DTS:X.

I was afraid of that. Sounds like my systems having a technical issue with the Vudu app. Thanks for your quick and helpful response!

TV: Vizio P65-F1 - Receiver: Marantz SR6013 - Mains: Polk RTi10 - Center: Polk CSi5 - Surrounds: Polk f/xi3 in bipole - Atmos front .2 Klipsch RP-500SA - Atmos rear .2: Klipsch R-41SA - Sub: HSU VTF-15H MK2 - Sony Ubp-X800M2 - Oppo BDP-93 - Nvidia Shield Pro 2019
Tighe is offline  
post #3958 of 4524 Old 06-03-2020, 04:34 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 2,881
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1279 Post(s)
Liked: 840
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tighe View Post
Is anyone else having trouble getting Vudu UHD titles to play on the 2019 shield? The option is there to rent UHD but I'll get a prompt at the rental confirmation stage, stating my system is limited to HDX.

I don't get the "HDX limited" prompt when using the Vudu app in my tv. But the tv doesn't support eARC so I wouldn't get ATMOS going that route.

I have zero issues with 4K/HDR/ATMOS content from other apps such as Netflix/Disney+



TV - Vizio P65-F1
Receiver - Marantz SR6013
Nvidia Shield Pro 2019 running 8.1.1(32.7.301.99)

Ironically my LG C7 with an LG SL9YG was doing this frequently. I would go into the resolution on the Shield disable DV then renewable it and it would be fine. I found there was some issues with the LG soundbar HDMI getting along with the C7. I swapped cables and no different, put my Sony back and flashes went away.

LG 77 C9 (Also LG 65 C7 and Sony XBR55X900E)
Denon x7200WA
Oppo BD-203
Klipsch RP-280F / RC-62ii / RP-140SA / RS-35 / RS-25
Dual PSA V1800s
kluken is offline  
post #3959 of 4524 Old 06-03-2020, 06:35 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
groove93's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Statesboro, GA
Posts: 2,461
Mentioned: 14 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1389 Post(s)
Liked: 802
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tighe View Post

I don't get the "HDX limited" prompt when using the Vudu app in my tv. But the tv doesn't support eARC so I wouldn't get ATMOS going that route.
You don't need eARC for Dolby Atmos from Vudu. It's a Lossy format, so ARC will suffice.
galonzo and asabrag like this.

Sony XBR55X900E
Marantz SR7010/Marantz MM7025
Oppo UDP-203 - Nvidia Shield
XBox One X
Klipsch RP-260f - RP-440C - RP140sa- RP-160m - RB10 - Sony SA-WM500
groove93 is offline  
post #3960 of 4524 Old 06-03-2020, 08:53 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Philnick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Cambridge, MA
Posts: 2,127
Mentioned: 25 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 850 Post(s)
Liked: 442
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tighe View Post
Is anyone else having trouble getting Vudu UHD titles to play on the 2019 shield? The option is there to rent UHD but I'll get a prompt at the rental confirmation stage, stating my system is limited to HDX.

I don't get the "HDX limited" prompt when using the Vudu app in my tv. But the tv doesn't support eARC so I wouldn't get ATMOS going that route.

I have zero issues with 4K/HDR/ATMOS content from other apps such as Netflix/Disney+
I have the 2019 Shield tube and used it to watch my purchased VUDU UHD DD+ copy of West Side Story through my 4K HDR10 projector a few nights ago, using Neural:X to animate the overhead speakers. Looked and sounded great. Zero problems.
Tighe likes this.

Phil
True 4K/HDR10/3D JVC DLA-RS1000 (N5/NX5) projector, 7.2.4 Paradigm/Boston Acoustics/Onkyo speakers. Yamaha RX-A3070 (w/ Denon 2307CI to power 4 overheads). Oppo UDP-203, 4K Nvidia Shield, 4K Roku Ultra, 4K Amazon FireStick, Comcast 4K cable box, Win 10 PC.
My water-themed landscape photography website - only 24 pix up so far.
Philnick is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Networking, Media Servers & Content Streaming

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off