New Nvidia Shield TV Pro announced! Faster SOC, Dolby Vision, new remote! - Page 3 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 939Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #61 of 1606 Old 10-25-2019, 09:09 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
groove93's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Statesboro, GA
Posts: 2,126
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1172 Post(s)
Liked: 652
Quote:
Originally Posted by whiteboy714 View Post
Oh I understand that, but this is much more than that. I even set the Shield to 1080p, won't play nice with the receiver.
Did you send off your original Shield yet? It sounds like a case of "connect/disconnect" and compare settings between the two devices. I'm hoping it's just a missed adjustment that was overlooked.

Sony XBR55X900E
Marantz SR7010/Marantz MM7025
Oppo UDP-203 - Nvidia Shield
XBox One X
Klipsch RP-260f - RP-440C - RP140sa- RP-160m - RB10 - Sony SA-WM500
groove93 is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #62 of 1606 Old 10-25-2019, 09:11 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
nc88keyz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 1,678
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 429 Post(s)
Liked: 266
you have an invalid edid stored in the avr. basically it hates you right now. you need to exercise the demon, I mean Denon and I do mean this in the sincerest way. I have seen the snow before and have done exactly what you are doing. trying every input and then going direct. You need to complete reset on denon and do a reset on the shield as well. if you haven't already. Dont worry that it works through the tv direct. your issue is something in the hdmi chain sir and the only way it's going to fix itself is to flush it all out.

Sent from my SM-G965U using Tapatalk
nc88keyz is online now  
post #63 of 1606 Old 10-25-2019, 09:20 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
whiteboy714's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 6,933
Mentioned: 14 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1517 Post(s)
Liked: 638
Quote:
Originally Posted by nc88keyz View Post
you have an invalid edid stored in the avr. basically it hates you right now. you need to exercise the demon, I mean Denon and I do mean this in the sincerest way. I have seen the snow before and have done exactly what you are doing. trying every input and then going direct. You need to complete reset on denon and do a reset on the shield as well. if you haven't already. Dont worry that it works through the tv direct. your issue is something in the hdmi chain sir and the only way it's going to fix itself is to flush it all out.

Sent from my SM-G965U using Tapatalk


Reset the receiver still didn't fix it.

TCL 65R625 -- Denon X1400h -- Klipsch RP600m -- RP450C -- Micca M-6S 6.5 -- Dual Klipsch RW-10
whiteboy714 is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #64 of 1606 Old 10-25-2019, 09:21 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Posts: 36
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 34 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by whiteboy714 View Post
I did find the "match frame rate setting", but it didn't seem to do anything.

So was it simply an on / off thing, or was there a bunch of settings within the Match Frame Rate menu that you could configure?
k2dak is offline  
post #65 of 1606 Old 10-25-2019, 09:22 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
whiteboy714's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 6,933
Mentioned: 14 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1517 Post(s)
Liked: 638
Quote:
Originally Posted by k2dak View Post
So was it simply an on / off thing, or was there a bunch of settings within the Match Frame Rate menu that you could configure?


There wasn't even settings you could just add the button to quick settings. Pushing it did nothing.

TCL 65R625 -- Denon X1400h -- Klipsch RP600m -- RP450C -- Micca M-6S 6.5 -- Dual Klipsch RW-10
whiteboy714 is online now  
post #66 of 1606 Old 10-25-2019, 09:27 AM
Advanced Member
 
JohnnytheSkin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Hartford
Posts: 673
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 103 Post(s)
Liked: 74
Quote:
Originally Posted by k2dak View Post
So was it simply an on / off thing, or was there a bunch of settings within the Match Frame Rate menu that you could configure?
Match frame rate (beta) is just a toggle. Watching The Office on Netflix and when I used it it switched to 23 something Hz or vs the normal 59 and change. Hopefully it's a turn it on or off option down the line so it's not manual per program.

Color space matching is completely broke. Have it YUV 12 bit BT2020 from Shield to Denon to TV, just like on the old one. Have DV enabled. All 709 programs (like The Office) are super saturated and reddish. Denon info still says BT2020. Switch to 709, and everything reads 4:2:2 in the Denon, even 4K content. DV switch still happens just fine. Only fix is to turn it off for 709 programs and turn it on for 4K. Can't believe this was cocked up again after the hotfix and 8.0.1 (new Shield Experience on this device is 8.1).

Sent from my Pixel 3 XL using Tapatalk
Salty01 likes this.
JohnnytheSkin is offline  
post #67 of 1606 Old 10-25-2019, 10:23 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
gadgtfreek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Bama
Posts: 12,252
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 634 Post(s)
Liked: 6065
Quote:
Originally Posted by m_snow View Post
Sounds like you gave up on the ATV4K/Infuse combo.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
Nah, I love it actually. Only complaint is I wish it had bitstreaming of audio.

XBR65A9G / XBR65A8F / 55R615
ATV4K / Uverse / Sony X800M2
AVRX6500H / RP-8000F / RP-504C / RP-502S / FV15HP
gadgtfreek is offline  
post #68 of 1606 Old 10-25-2019, 10:40 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
whiteboy714's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 6,933
Mentioned: 14 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1517 Post(s)
Liked: 638
Quote:
Originally Posted by JohnnytheSkin View Post
Match frame rate (beta) is just a toggle. Watching The Office on Netflix and when I used it it switched to 23 something Hz or vs the normal 59 and change. Hopefully it's a turn it on or off option down the line so it's not manual per program.

Color space matching is completely broke. Have it YUV 12 bit BT2020 from Shield to Denon to TV, just like on the old one. Have DV enabled. All 709 programs (like The Office) are super saturated and reddish. Denon info still says BT2020. Switch to 709, and everything reads 4:2:2 in the Denon, even 4K content. DV switch still happens just fine. Only fix is to turn it off for 709 programs and turn it on for 4K. Can't believe this was cocked up again after the hotfix and 8.0.1 (new Shield Experience on this device is 8.1).

Sent from my Pixel 3 XL using Tapatalk
So you had to go into settings while the video as playing and hit the toggle? Or did you program it to the menu button. Glad to see they are listening and getting there.

As far as color space I was trying to get mine sorted out before my receiver started acting up.

For me it was actually worked if I turned off color space switching. It was almost as if the toggle was backwards. This gave me the behavior that I was used to with the old shield.

The home screen would be in 709 and not over saturated. 709 material was correct and not over saturated. And 4k material would trigger HDR mode on my TV. Seemed like it was working as expected.

TCL 65R625 -- Denon X1400h -- Klipsch RP600m -- RP450C -- Micca M-6S 6.5 -- Dual Klipsch RW-10
whiteboy714 is online now  
post #69 of 1606 Old 10-25-2019, 10:44 AM
Advanced Member
 
JohnnytheSkin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Hartford
Posts: 673
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 103 Post(s)
Liked: 74
Yeah, I customized the Menu button and added the frame rate option. After starting the show I hit the hamburger menu button, clicked the option, and it went back to the show. Verified it by hitting the hamburger again, and going to display options where it showed the frame rate under resolution.

Sent from my Pixel 3 XL using Tapatalk
JohnnytheSkin is offline  
post #70 of 1606 Old 10-25-2019, 11:34 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
DaveFi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Natick MA
Posts: 18,245
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 868 Post(s)
Liked: 281
There is a frame rate match app in the Play Store people. You don't need to buy a new Shield for that.

XBOX Live: Wagmman
PSN: Wagg
BFBC2: Wagman
Steam: Wag

My Second Life character looks and acts exactly like me except he can fly.
DaveFi is offline  
post #71 of 1606 Old 10-25-2019, 11:41 AM
UHD Addict
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 36,247
Mentioned: 73 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9539 Post(s)
Liked: 6227
Quote:
Originally Posted by DaveFi View Post
There is a frame rate match app in the Play Store people. You don't need to buy a new Shield for that.
Has it been improved from a few months ago? I removed mine because it was inconsistent.

57TB unRAID1a--49TB unRAID2--76TB unRAID3
TCL 6 Series--Sony UBP-X800--Philips BDP7502--Onkyo HT-S7800
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme
aaronwt is offline  
post #72 of 1606 Old 10-25-2019, 12:09 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
whiteboy714's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 6,933
Mentioned: 14 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1517 Post(s)
Liked: 638
Quote:
Originally Posted by aaronwt View Post
Has it been improved from a few months ago? I removed mine because it was inconsistent.
I tried it this morning and it was a bit inconsistent. Sometimes it would change things, sometimes I would tell it to and it would get stuck.
I would need more time to test.
aaronwt likes this.

TCL 65R625 -- Denon X1400h -- Klipsch RP600m -- RP450C -- Micca M-6S 6.5 -- Dual Klipsch RW-10
whiteboy714 is online now  
post #73 of 1606 Old 10-25-2019, 12:14 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
groove93's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Statesboro, GA
Posts: 2,126
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1172 Post(s)
Liked: 652
If you use the Live Channels app on a Daily Basis on your Shield, The Program Guide is messed up, or the Channel Banner stays on as a result of using the Refresh Rate app. This is why I don't use it.

Sony XBR55X900E
Marantz SR7010/Marantz MM7025
Oppo UDP-203 - Nvidia Shield
XBox One X
Klipsch RP-260f - RP-440C - RP140sa- RP-160m - RB10 - Sony SA-WM500
groove93 is online now  
post #74 of 1606 Old 10-25-2019, 12:41 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Posts: 142
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 124 Post(s)
Liked: 94
So I bought a new shield tv (8GB Tube model) from Best Buy today, and ran it through my HDFury Integral 2 to test some things, and overall I'm very pleased with what I discovered.

1) MaxCLL/MaxFALL seem to actually be passed through now, and is displaying correct values for the current content in both normal apps like Netflix and in Kodi.

2) In addition to Prime Video and Netflix, the Movies Anywhere app also supports Dolby Vision and Dolby Atmos

3) Once you add the match frame rate to the quick settings options, you can toggle it while playing a video, and it switches instantly to the correct refresh rate in any app, including Netflix and Movie Anywhere, and supports foreign refresh rates like 24.000 (unlike the Apple TV) and 25.000 fps perfectly, in addition to standard US refresh rates like 23.976

My only real issue is that the Match Color Space setting seems broken like other's have reported. Turning it on makes everything super saturated (I.E. it doesn't even try to map the color space into Rec. 2020 correctly, like it does with the setting off), and it stays in Rec. 2020 all the time, even in Rec. 709 content.

When they fix this, it will be a fantastic little streamer.
aaronwt, dwaleke, groove93 and 3 others like this.

Last edited by jwort93; 10-25-2019 at 12:53 PM.
jwort93 is offline  
post #75 of 1606 Old 10-25-2019, 12:44 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
whiteboy714's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 6,933
Mentioned: 14 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1517 Post(s)
Liked: 638
Quote:
Originally Posted by jwort93 View Post

My only real issue is that the Match Color Space setting seems broken like other's have reported. Turning it on makes everything super saturated (I.E. it doesn't even try to map the color space in to Rec. 2020 correctly, like it does with the setting off), and it stays in Rec. 2020 all the time, even in Rec. 709 content.

When they fix this, it will be a fantastic little streamer.
Have you tried it with the setting to off? (color space switch)

And is there any way for refresh rate switching to happen automatically? Or are we just looking at manual for now?

TCL 65R625 -- Denon X1400h -- Klipsch RP600m -- RP450C -- Micca M-6S 6.5 -- Dual Klipsch RW-10
whiteboy714 is online now  
post #76 of 1606 Old 10-25-2019, 12:48 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
groove93's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Statesboro, GA
Posts: 2,126
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1172 Post(s)
Liked: 652
Other than the obvious, is there a significant difference regarding performance between the two new Shields, or did I miss a link or two with more information?

Sony XBR55X900E
Marantz SR7010/Marantz MM7025
Oppo UDP-203 - Nvidia Shield
XBox One X
Klipsch RP-260f - RP-440C - RP140sa- RP-160m - RB10 - Sony SA-WM500
groove93 is online now  
post #77 of 1606 Old 10-25-2019, 12:49 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Posts: 142
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 124 Post(s)
Liked: 94
Quote:
Originally Posted by whiteboy714 View Post
Have you tried it with the setting to off? (color space switch)

And is there any way for refresh rate switching to happen automatically? Or are we just looking at manual for now?
With the setting off, the content definitely looks much better, because it seems to be mapping the Rec. 709 content into Rec. 2020 pretty well, but the TV and my the HD Fury Integral are reporting that the Shield TV is still sending Rec. 2020.
aaronwt likes this.
jwort93 is offline  
post #78 of 1606 Old 10-25-2019, 12:58 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
whiteboy714's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 6,933
Mentioned: 14 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1517 Post(s)
Liked: 638
Quote:
Originally Posted by jwort93 View Post
With the setting off, the content definitely looks much better, because it seems to be mapping the Rec. 709 content into Rec. 2020 pretty well, but the TV and my the HD Fury Integral are reporting that the Shield TV is still sending Rec. 2020.
Oh really, its odd, it clearly changes when its off. Seems the best fit for me right now. Hopefully they get it sorted.

TCL 65R625 -- Denon X1400h -- Klipsch RP600m -- RP450C -- Micca M-6S 6.5 -- Dual Klipsch RW-10
whiteboy714 is online now  
post #79 of 1606 Old 10-25-2019, 01:09 PM
Advanced Member
 
Lonewolf7002's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 629
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 495 Post(s)
Liked: 562
Quote:
Originally Posted by jwort93 View Post
So I bought a new shield tv (8GB Tube model) from Best Buy today, and ran it through my HDFury Integral 2 to test some things, and overall I'm very pleased with what I discovered.

1) MaxCLL/MaxFALL seem to actually be passed through now, and is displaying correct values for the current content in both normal apps like Netflix and in Kodi.

2) In addition to Prime Video and Netflix, the Movies Anywhere app also supports Dolby Vision and Dolby Atmos

3) Once you add the match frame rate to the quick settings options, you can toggle it while playing a video, and it switches instantly to the correct refresh rate in any app, including Netflix and Movie Anywhere, and supports foreign refresh rates like 24.000 (unlike the Apple TV) and 25.000 fps perfectly, in addition to standard US refresh rates like 23.976

My only real issue is that the Match Color Space setting seems broken like other's have reported. Turning it on makes everything super saturated (I.E. it doesn't even try to map the color space into Rec. 2020 correctly, like it does with the setting off), and it stays in Rec. 2020 all the time, even in Rec. 709 content.

When they fix this, it will be a fantastic little streamer.
This is sounding promising!

With Match Frame Rate, do you have to manually set that every time you watch a new video or do you set it once and it will adjust as the frame rates change based on the media?

Samsung KS8000, Denon AVR-X3300W, Xbox One X, Samsung UBD-K8500 4K bluray player, Himedia Q5 Pro android box
Lonewolf7002 is offline  
post #80 of 1606 Old 10-25-2019, 01:20 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Posts: 142
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 124 Post(s)
Liked: 94
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lonewolf7002 View Post
This is sounding promising!



With Match Frame Rate, do you have to manually set that every time you watch a new video or do you set it once and it will adjust as the frame rates change based on the media?


You have to toggle it every time you start something. It resets to your device default whenever you back out of a video. While I’d prefer that it would auto switch, it doesn’t bother me too much, because I usually leave it on 59.94Hz and let my TV do a reverse pull down to remove the judder using its RealCinema function, which it does perfectly for all 23.976 content, but it doesn’t work for 24.000 and 25.000 content, so it’s nice to have the manual toggle when needed.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
jwort93 is offline  
post #81 of 1606 Old 10-25-2019, 01:56 PM
Advanced Member
 
Lonewolf7002's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 629
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 495 Post(s)
Liked: 562
Quote:
Originally Posted by jwort93 View Post
You have to toggle it every time you start something. It resets to your device default whenever you back out of a video. While I’d prefer that it would auto switch, it doesn’t bother me too much, because I usually leave it on 59.94Hz and let my TV do a reverse pull down to remove the judder using its RealCinema function, which it does perfectly for all 23.976 content, but it doesn’t work for 24.000 and 25.000 content, so it’s nice to have the manual toggle when needed.

Not ideal, but I guess better than before. Hopefully it becomes automatic in the future. Not a dealbreaker on its own. The auto colour space changing needs to be perfected first.

Samsung KS8000, Denon AVR-X3300W, Xbox One X, Samsung UBD-K8500 4K bluray player, Himedia Q5 Pro android box
Lonewolf7002 is offline  
post #82 of 1606 Old 10-25-2019, 02:22 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
nc88keyz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 1,678
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 429 Post(s)
Liked: 266
Quote:
Originally Posted by mjwagner View Post
Anyone with the new Shield, can you post the version number of the NetFlix app? If we could get our hands on the updated app I wonder if it would be possible to sideload it onto a 2017 Shield and get ATMOS support?

For reference the version of the NetFlix app on the 2017 Shield is 7.0.0 build 3011.
What is the new version of Netflix.apk on 2019 shield pro. Anyone rooted or did adb pull? I thought I saw it somewhere in one of the forums.


Who is going to pull it first?
nc88keyz is online now  
post #83 of 1606 Old 10-25-2019, 02:48 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
taz291819's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Huntsville, Al
Posts: 6,441
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 318 Post(s)
Liked: 190
Quote:
Originally Posted by whiteboy714 View Post
Reset the receiver still didn't fix it.

I had this same problem with my Onkyo receiver, and it is a stored "bad" EDID. You're going to need to factory reset all three devices (display, Shield, AVR).

Hook the Shield up directly to your display, and do a factory reset of the Shield. Then, power off the Shield and unplug the HDMI cable.

Then factory reset both your display and the AVR (don't have them connected to each other via HDMI).

Then reconnect your AVR to your display, turn on the display first, then the AVR. Once they are both up, plug the Shield into the AVR and power it up.

This should flush out all EDID info and start from scratch.

EDIT:
Also, with my Onkyo, you can't do a true factory reset just within the menus. You have to hold down certain buttons on the AVR, turn it on, and it'll ask on the front dot-matrix display if you want to do it. Also, you can't use the remote either, only the buttons on the front. Not sure about a Denon, you may have to Google that.
nc88keyz and irmo099 like this.

Vizio P65-C1 (2016)
Onkyo Tx-NR656
JBL Studio Series (Front, Center, Right), JBL 250W Sub, Kenwood Rears, Onkyo Atmos Upfiring
LG UP970 UHD Player
Nvidia Shield TV

Last edited by taz291819; 10-25-2019 at 02:56 PM.
taz291819 is offline  
post #84 of 1606 Old 10-25-2019, 02:55 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
whiteboy714's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 6,933
Mentioned: 14 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1517 Post(s)
Liked: 638
Quote:
Originally Posted by taz291819 View Post
I had this same problem with my Onkyo receiver, and it is a stored "bad" EDID. You're going to need to factory reset all three devices (display, Shield, AVR).

Hook the Shield up directly to your display, and do a factory reset of the Shield. Then, power off the Shield and unplug the HDMI cable.

Then factory reset both your display and the AVR (don't have them connected to each other via HDMI).

Then reconnect your AVR to your display, turn on the display first, then the AVR. Once they are both up, plug the Shield into the AVR and power it up.

This should flush out all EDID info and start from scratch.
I did the AVR and Shield, really don't want to do the TV but will if I have to, too many apps to setup.

But funnily enough I talked to Denon support (elevated supervisor) and he said this is impossible, he said there is no edid memory. That each time you plug in its like a new device.
I have a hard time believing this myself. I will do some more testing when I get home. Left everything unplugged all day, hoping that does some magic and its fixed

TCL 65R625 -- Denon X1400h -- Klipsch RP600m -- RP450C -- Micca M-6S 6.5 -- Dual Klipsch RW-10
whiteboy714 is online now  
post #85 of 1606 Old 10-25-2019, 02:57 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
taz291819's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Huntsville, Al
Posts: 6,441
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 318 Post(s)
Liked: 190
Quote:
Originally Posted by whiteboy714 View Post
I did the AVR and Shield, really don't want to do the TV but will if I have to, too many apps to setup.

But funnily enough I talked to Denon support (elevated supervisor) and he said this is impossible, he said there is no edid memory. That each time you plug in its like a new device.
I have a hard time believing this myself. I will do some more testing when I get home. Left everything unplugged all day, hoping that does some magic and its fixed
See my edit, maybe Denon is like Onkyo in this way.

Vizio P65-C1 (2016)
Onkyo Tx-NR656
JBL Studio Series (Front, Center, Right), JBL 250W Sub, Kenwood Rears, Onkyo Atmos Upfiring
LG UP970 UHD Player
Nvidia Shield TV
taz291819 is offline  
post #86 of 1606 Old 10-25-2019, 03:00 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
whiteboy714's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 6,933
Mentioned: 14 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1517 Post(s)
Liked: 638
Quote:
Originally Posted by taz291819 View Post
See my edit, maybe Denon is like Onkyo in this way.
Yeah that was the way that I did it. Front buttons.

TCL 65R625 -- Denon X1400h -- Klipsch RP600m -- RP450C -- Micca M-6S 6.5 -- Dual Klipsch RW-10
whiteboy714 is online now  
post #87 of 1606 Old 10-25-2019, 03:40 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Posts: 142
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 124 Post(s)
Liked: 94
Quote:
Originally Posted by mjwagner View Post
Anyone with the new Shield, can you post the version number of the NetFlix app? If we could get our hands on the updated app I wonder if it would be possible to sideload it onto a 2017 Shield and get ATMOS support?



For reference the version of the NetFlix app on the 2017 Shield is 7.0.0 build 3011.


Oddly enough, the build on the new shield tv is 6.2.5 build 2789. It says it’s up to date.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
jwort93 is offline  
post #88 of 1606 Old 10-25-2019, 04:15 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Posts: 142
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 124 Post(s)
Liked: 94
The match frame rate toggle doesn’t seem to work with Dolby Vision content. Only 4K HDR10 and below.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
jwort93 is offline  
post #89 of 1606 Old 10-25-2019, 04:37 PM
Advanced Member
 
vapore0n's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 558
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 34 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by jwort93 View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by mjwagner View Post
Anyone with the new Shield, can you post the version number of the NetFlix app? If we could get our hands on the updated app I wonder if it would be possible to sideload it onto a 2017 Shield and get ATMOS support?

For reference the version of the NetFlix app on the 2017 Shield is 7.0.0 build 3011.
Oddly enough, the build on the new shield tv is 6.2.5 build 2789. It says it’️s up to date.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Maybe it’s not the app but what the app reports back to Netflix.

Say like when it reports that I have 5.1 Dolby decoding and 4K HDR, so it makes those tags available on the movies and shows. Now it may be reporting Shield v3 or something that Netflix says atmos is available.

Sony x900e, Sony STR-DN1080, Sony Core Series speakers (5.1.2), NVidia Shield TV, Synology 4 bay NAS (12TB total)
vapore0n is offline  
post #90 of 1606 Old 10-25-2019, 04:42 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 37
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 25 Post(s)
Liked: 2
I'm sure most of you have newer equipment than me, and my use case is different...

But if anyone with the new box can check if it can tone map HDR to SDR, it will save me a purchase and return when it becomes available in Canada.

I have a 1080P projector and a non HDR 4K set.
crutzulee is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Networking, Media Servers & Content Streaming

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off