New Nvidia Shield TV Pro announced! Faster SOC, Dolby Vision, new remote! - Page 75 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 2058Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #2221 of 3960 Old 01-20-2020, 09:26 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Southern California
Posts: 3,433
Mentioned: 53 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2246 Post(s)
Liked: 1533
Quote:
Originally Posted by elee532 View Post
I would Atmos support to your list of reasons to upgrade.


I get Atmos from my ATV4K too just not for local streaming and it’s mat 2.0 not bit perfect like the Shield, still sounds great though.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

Mike
Sony XBR-65X930E | ATV4K-64GB & 2-32GB 5th Gens | Nvidia Shield TV Pro 2017 | Nvidia Shield TV Pro 2019 | Logitech Harmony Elite
m_snow is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2222 of 3960 Old 01-20-2020, 01:24 PM
Member
 
gil393's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 193
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 104 Post(s)
Liked: 79
Quote:
Originally Posted by m_snow View Post
I don’t know but even if it did it would only be a marginal improvement. I wouldn’t recommend spending $200 just for that. The number one new feature the Shield has is Dolby Vision, followed by increased speed and lastly AI. You need a 4K display to get the most out of it.
I use the Shield for streaming. I have a 2019 for my 4K TV. The projector has an older Shield for streaming. I could swap the Shields for the super bowl. The 720p to 1080p processing normally done by Madvr makes a big difference in the quality of the picture. Unfortunately, various other technical difficulties are making that not look so possible. Maybe the FS1 app will magically stream in 1080p and there will be no conversion needed...
gil393 is offline  
post #2223 of 3960 Old 01-20-2020, 03:52 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Southern California
Posts: 3,433
Mentioned: 53 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2246 Post(s)
Liked: 1533
Quote:
Originally Posted by gil393 View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by m_snow View Post
I don’️t know but even if it did it would only be a marginal improvement. I wouldn’️t recommend spending $200 just for that. The number one new feature the Shield has is Dolby Vision, followed by increased speed and lastly AI. You need a 4K display to get the most out of it.

I use the Shield for streaming. I have a 2019 for my 4K TV. The projector has an older Shield for streaming. I could swap the Shields for the super bowl. The 720p to 1080p processing normally done by Madvr makes a big difference in the quality of the picture. Unfortunately, various other technical difficulties are making that not look so possible. Maybe the FS1 app will magically stream in 1080p and there will be no conversion needed...
Sports normally streams at 60 fps, AI only works on 30 and lower.

Mike
Sony XBR-65X930E | ATV4K-64GB & 2-32GB 5th Gens | Nvidia Shield TV Pro 2017 | Nvidia Shield TV Pro 2019 | Logitech Harmony Elite
m_snow is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2224 of 3960 Old 01-20-2020, 04:51 PM
Member
 
gil393's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 193
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 104 Post(s)
Liked: 79
Quote:
Originally Posted by m_snow View Post
Sports normally streams at 60 fps, AI only works on 30 and lower.
Got it, too bad. I guess I'll hope that the game streams already in 1080p60.
gil393 is offline  
post #2225 of 3960 Old 01-20-2020, 06:05 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Southern California
Posts: 3,433
Mentioned: 53 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2246 Post(s)
Liked: 1533
Quote:
Originally Posted by gil393 View Post
Got it, too bad. I guess I'll hope that the game streams already in 1080p60.


Probably but even better. I read they will also be offering a 4K stream (well upscaled 1080 stream) plus HDR. We will see.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

Mike
Sony XBR-65X930E | ATV4K-64GB & 2-32GB 5th Gens | Nvidia Shield TV Pro 2017 | Nvidia Shield TV Pro 2019 | Logitech Harmony Elite
m_snow is offline  
post #2226 of 3960 Old 01-20-2020, 10:49 PM
Advanced Member
 
elee532's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 856
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 215 Post(s)
Liked: 51
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wendell R. Breland View Post
Except Disney+ does not have Atmos via the Shield.
I share your frustration. In fact, see my post in this very thread complaining about this just the other day. That said, I still believe my point stands. The newest version of the Shield DOES support Atmos in Netflix and some other apps, thus making it one of several reason to consider upgrading from an earlier version of the Shield.
galonzo likes this.
elee532 is offline  
post #2227 of 3960 Old 01-21-2020, 04:42 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
jsgrise's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 1,469
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 838 Post(s)
Liked: 787
New Nvidia Shield TV Pro announced! Faster SOC, Dolby Vision, new remote!

The video quality of my new Shield PRO is a big step up from my WDTV on top of many other great feature such as lightning fast navigation etc.



Anyone know if there will be an AppleTV app rolling out soon to access our Apple library?

Dedicated Sonus faber HT 7.2.4 | FRONTS: Sonus Faber Venere 2.0 CENTER: Sonus Faber Venere Centre FRONT WIDES: Sonus Faber Venere 1.5 SURROUNDS: Sonus Faber Venere 1.5 TF/TR - ATMOS-DTS:X: Sonus Faber Venere Wall (4) | RECEIVER: Marantz SR7010 AMPLIFICATION: Monolith 7x200 | SUBWOOFERS: Dual 18" Dayton RSS460 Custom Build | Behringer iNuke 6000DSP | Velodyne SMS-1 DISPLAY: JVC D-ILA RS-46 w/ 128" 16:9 1.4 TREATMENT: Custom Bass Traps and Acoustic Panels (11)

Last edited by jsgrise; 01-21-2020 at 07:55 AM.
jsgrise is offline  
post #2228 of 3960 Old 01-21-2020, 08:24 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Wendell R. Breland's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 1999
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 5,141
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 609 Post(s)
Liked: 308
Quote:
Originally Posted by elee532 View Post
I share your frustration.
IF my Sony UBP-X1000 should ever get more apps and Atmos for streaming then my Shield Pro 2019 and Roku Ultra 2019 will show up on eBay. Not likely to happen so here I am .

Other things I dislike about the Shield, no IR input, real limited number of keys with Flirc or USB IR receiver. No original frame rate out. No split HDMI outs (1 HDMI for video and 1 HDMI for audio). Limited Nvidia documentation on Shield.

For Netflix data rate, resolution, etc. I found the F4 or F8 keyboard keys work for this. Does nothing for Amazon, Vudu, Disney+.

Since I have a Oppo UDP-203 I have not looked into using the Sheild as a media player so I can't comment there.
m_snow likes this.
Wendell R. Breland is offline  
post #2229 of 3960 Old 01-21-2020, 08:28 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Wendell R. Breland's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 1999
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 5,141
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 609 Post(s)
Liked: 308
Quote:
Originally Posted by jsgrise View Post
Anyone know if there will be an AppleTV app rolling out soon to access our Apple library?
I don't believe Apple and Android are the best of buddies

I may be wrong but I believe Apple TV has an app on my Roku Ultra 2019.
jsgrise likes this.
Wendell R. Breland is offline  
post #2230 of 3960 Old 01-21-2020, 08:31 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
jsgrise's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 1,469
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 838 Post(s)
Liked: 787
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wendell R. Breland View Post
I don't believe Apple and Android are the best of buddies

I may be wrong but I believe Apple TV has an app on my Roku Ultra 2019.
And on Samsung TVs believe it or not, Apple's sworn enemy for phones...
galonzo and Salty01 like this.

Dedicated Sonus faber HT 7.2.4 | FRONTS: Sonus Faber Venere 2.0 CENTER: Sonus Faber Venere Centre FRONT WIDES: Sonus Faber Venere 1.5 SURROUNDS: Sonus Faber Venere 1.5 TF/TR - ATMOS-DTS:X: Sonus Faber Venere Wall (4) | RECEIVER: Marantz SR7010 AMPLIFICATION: Monolith 7x200 | SUBWOOFERS: Dual 18" Dayton RSS460 Custom Build | Behringer iNuke 6000DSP | Velodyne SMS-1 DISPLAY: JVC D-ILA RS-46 w/ 128" 16:9 1.4 TREATMENT: Custom Bass Traps and Acoustic Panels (11)
jsgrise is offline  
post #2231 of 3960 Old 01-21-2020, 08:37 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Southern California
Posts: 3,433
Mentioned: 53 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2246 Post(s)
Liked: 1533
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wendell R. Breland View Post
IF my Sony UBP-X1000 should ever get more apps and Atmos for streaming then my Shield Pro 2019 and Roku Ultra 2019 will show up on eBay. Not likely to happen so here I am .



Other things I dislike about the Shield, no IR input, real limited number of keys with Flirc or USB IR receiver. No original frame rate out. No split HDMI outs (1 HDMI for video and 1 HDMI for audio). Limited Nvidia documentation on Shield.



For Netflix data rate, resolution, etc. I found the F4 or F8 keyboard keys work for this. Does nothing for Amazon, Vudu, Disney+.



Since I have a Oppo UDP-203 I have not looked into using the Sheild as a media player so I can't comment there.


Thanks for the info on F4/F8.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Mike
Sony XBR-65X930E | ATV4K-64GB & 2-32GB 5th Gens | Nvidia Shield TV Pro 2017 | Nvidia Shield TV Pro 2019 | Logitech Harmony Elite
m_snow is offline  
post #2232 of 3960 Old 01-21-2020, 09:04 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Ladeback's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Kansas City
Posts: 2,959
Mentioned: 86 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1615 Post(s)
Liked: 622
Send a message via MSN to Ladeback
[QUOTE=Wendell R. Breland;59131510]IF my Sony UBP-X1000 should ever get more apps and Atmos for streaming then my Shield Pro 2019 and Roku Ultra 2019 will show up on eBay. Not likely to happen so here I am .

Other things I dislike about the Shield, no IR input, real limited number of keys with Flirc or USB IR receiver. No original frame rate out. No split HDMI outs (1 HDMI for video and 1 HDMI for audio). Limited Nvidia documentation on Shield.

For Netflix data rate, resolution, etc. I found the F4 or F8 keyboard keys work for this. Does nothing for Amazon, Vudu, Disney+.

So the Shield doesn't do Prime, Vudu or Disney+? I have a Roku Ultra 4k and was thinking of getting the Shield, because it seems more powerful and I like the Google interface with it.

In like the Roku Ultra 4K for streaming then my Fire Cube. The Cube is slow. I have Google Fiber so I have a pretty fast internet speed.

Klipsch KPS-400’s FR/FL with built in 15” 300 watt side firing subs, RC-7 Center, RS-3 Surrounds.
Integra DHC-60.5, 5- Marantz MA700 Mono Blocks, Pioneer DV-F727 301 Disk DVD CD Changer, Pioneer DVL-909 Laserdisc/DVD/CD Player, Sony PS3.
https://www.avsforum.com/forum/19-ded...ck-cinema.html
Ladeback is offline  
post #2233 of 3960 Old 01-21-2020, 09:25 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
atc98092's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Washington (the state)
Posts: 2,635
Mentioned: 65 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1655 Post(s)
Liked: 826
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ladeback View Post

So the Shield doesn't do Prime, Vudu or Disney+? I have a Roku Ultra 4k and was thinking of getting the Shield, because it seems more powerful and I like the Google interface with it.

In like the Roku Ultra 4K for streaming then my Fire Cube. The Cube is slow. I have Google Fiber so I have a pretty fast internet speed.
The Shield does Prime Video, Vudu and Disney+ just fine. There are some limitations, in that D+ doesn't yet have Atmos on the Shield. And I believe the other person was referencing the lack of framerate matching with some apps. The majority of my Shield use is with Kodi, which does do framerate and resolution matching, so I'm not certain which of these were the issue.
ynnek63 and jsgrise like this.

Dan
Samsung JU7100 and NU7100 4K TVs, Yamaha RX-V583, Nvidia Shield (2017 & 2019), a number of Roku players and TVs, Windows 10 media server with Serviio and Plex. Other players and TVs as well.
atc98092 is online now  
post #2234 of 3960 Old 01-21-2020, 12:40 PM
AVS Forum Club Gold
 
Keenan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Santa Rosa, CA
Posts: 34,876
Mentioned: 28 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4495 Post(s)
Liked: 4137
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wendell R. Breland View Post
IF my Sony UBP-X1000 should ever get more apps and Atmos for streaming then my Shield Pro 2019 and Roku Ultra 2019 will show up on eBay. Not likely to happen so here I am .

Other things I dislike about the Shield, no IR input, real limited number of keys with Flirc or USB IR receiver. No original frame rate out. No split HDMI outs (1 HDMI for video and 1 HDMI for audio). Limited Nvidia documentation on Shield.

For Netflix data rate, resolution, etc. I found the F4 or F8 keyboard keys work for this. Does nothing for Amazon, Vudu, Disney+.

Since I have a Oppo UDP-203 I have not looked into using the Sheild as a media player so I can't comment there.
Once it's set up, which does take a few minutes and several menus switches, the third party Refresh Rate app works pretty well for getting native frame rate output. As Nvidia has already stated they're not going to implement native frame rate switching beyond that kludgy beta button they've already provided the Refresh Rate app is the way to go in my opinion.

-

Can that F4/F8 Netflix info button trick be implemented on the factory remote somehow or does it require a third party keyboard connection?
jsgrise likes this.
Keenan is offline  
post #2235 of 3960 Old 01-21-2020, 02:29 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Wendell R. Breland's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 1999
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 5,141
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 609 Post(s)
Liked: 308
Quote:
Originally Posted by Keenan View Post
Once it's set up, which does take a few minutes and several menus switches, the third party [URL="https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=mobi.bytearray.refreshrate&hl=en_US"]Can that F4/F8 Netflix info button trick be implemented on the factory remote somehow or does it require a third party keyboard connection?
Sorry, I don't know much about the factory remote and what it can or can not do. I use a URC MX-980 (discontinued, replaced with MX-990) for all items in the home theater. I use the USB Flirc to control the Shield. The Flirc was programed using the NVIDIA Shield GEN2 in the Controllers, the F4 was added using the Full Keyboard and the Power button was added from the Media Keys. Power is supposed to put unit into sleep mode. Note: the Netflix shortcut button does not work using using the Flirc.

I found the F4/F8 by plugging in a wired keyboard then a wireless keyboard. Both seemed to work fine. The wireless is a Logitech KB and mouse combo, and yes, the mouse did work.
Keenan likes this.
Wendell R. Breland is offline  
post #2236 of 3960 Old 01-21-2020, 03:40 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Wendell R. Breland's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 1999
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 5,141
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 609 Post(s)
Liked: 308
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wendell R. Breland View Post
Power button was added from the Media Keys. Power is supposed to put unit into sleep mode.
When I told Flirc to learn the Power key from my remote Flirc responded it was Successful then my PC promptly went into standby mode. Well, I knew it worked for the PC anyway .
m_snow likes this.
Wendell R. Breland is offline  
post #2237 of 3960 Old 01-21-2020, 03:45 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Southern California
Posts: 3,433
Mentioned: 53 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2246 Post(s)
Liked: 1533
Quote:
Originally Posted by Keenan View Post
Once it's set up, which does take a few minutes and several menus switches, the third party Refresh Rate app works pretty well for getting native frame rate output. As Nvidia has already stated they're not going to implement native frame rate switching beyond that kludgy beta button they've already provided the Refresh Rate app is the way to go in my opinion.

-

Can that F4/F8 Netflix info button trick be implemented on the factory remote somehow or does it require a third party keyboard connection?
I used the F4/F8 command from @Wendell R. Breland mapped to an unused button on a Harmony Elite hub-based remote.

Mike
Sony XBR-65X930E | ATV4K-64GB & 2-32GB 5th Gens | Nvidia Shield TV Pro 2017 | Nvidia Shield TV Pro 2019 | Logitech Harmony Elite
m_snow is offline  
post #2238 of 3960 Old 01-21-2020, 03:48 PM
AVS Forum Club Gold
 
Keenan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Santa Rosa, CA
Posts: 34,876
Mentioned: 28 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4495 Post(s)
Liked: 4137
Quote:
Originally Posted by m_snow View Post
I used the F4/F8 command from @Wendell R. Breland mapped to an unused button on a Harmony Elite hub-based remote.
That's what I use as well, a 950/Hub system and wanted to do exactly what you've done. I'm just curious if there's an easier way to go about it than what Walter has outlined.
Keenan is offline  
post #2239 of 3960 Old 01-21-2020, 03:58 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Southern California
Posts: 3,433
Mentioned: 53 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2246 Post(s)
Liked: 1533
Quote:
Originally Posted by Keenan View Post
That's what I use as well, a 950/Hub system and wanted to do exactly what you've done. I'm just curious if there's an easier way to go about it than what Walter has outlined.
It easier for us. Wendell is using a Flirc. In my case and probably yours Harmony already had all the number and “F” keys. All you have to do is map it and sync.
Keenan likes this.

Mike
Sony XBR-65X930E | ATV4K-64GB & 2-32GB 5th Gens | Nvidia Shield TV Pro 2017 | Nvidia Shield TV Pro 2019 | Logitech Harmony Elite
m_snow is offline  
post #2240 of 3960 Old 01-21-2020, 04:16 PM
AVS Forum Club Gold
 
Keenan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Santa Rosa, CA
Posts: 34,876
Mentioned: 28 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4495 Post(s)
Liked: 4137
Quote:
Originally Posted by m_snow View Post
It easier for us. Wendell is using a Flirc. In my case and probably yours Harmony already had all the number and “F” keys. All you have to do is map it and sync.
That's great! Did you use the desktop app or mobile? I assume it was the mobile app.
Keenan is offline  
post #2241 of 3960 Old 01-21-2020, 04:29 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Southern California
Posts: 3,433
Mentioned: 53 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2246 Post(s)
Liked: 1533
Quote:
Originally Posted by Keenan View Post
That's great! Did you use the desktop app or mobile? I assume it was the mobile app.


Yes, I used the mobile app.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

Mike
Sony XBR-65X930E | ATV4K-64GB & 2-32GB 5th Gens | Nvidia Shield TV Pro 2017 | Nvidia Shield TV Pro 2019 | Logitech Harmony Elite
m_snow is offline  
post #2242 of 3960 Old 01-21-2020, 04:31 PM
AVS Forum Club Gold
 
Keenan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Santa Rosa, CA
Posts: 34,876
Mentioned: 28 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4495 Post(s)
Liked: 4137
Quote:
Originally Posted by m_snow View Post
Yes, I used the mobile app.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
I just checked both and I'm not seeing those commands. What device name/model do you use for the Shield?
Keenan is offline  
post #2243 of 3960 Old 01-21-2020, 04:38 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Southern California
Posts: 3,433
Mentioned: 53 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2246 Post(s)
Liked: 1533
New Nvidia Shield TV Pro announced! Faster SOC, Dolby Vision, new remote!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Keenan View Post
I just checked both and I'm not seeing those commands. What device name/model do you use for the Shield?


NVIDIA/SHIELD TV




Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

Mike
Sony XBR-65X930E | ATV4K-64GB & 2-32GB 5th Gens | Nvidia Shield TV Pro 2017 | Nvidia Shield TV Pro 2019 | Logitech Harmony Elite
m_snow is offline  
post #2244 of 3960 Old 01-21-2020, 04:42 PM
AVS Forum Club Gold
 
Keenan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Santa Rosa, CA
Posts: 34,876
Mentioned: 28 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4495 Post(s)
Liked: 4137
Quote:
Originally Posted by m_snow View Post
NVIDIA/SHIELD TV




Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
That's what I added and it doesn't show any function commands or numbers. It shows commands for what I assume is the game controller.
Keenan is offline  
post #2245 of 3960 Old 01-21-2020, 04:46 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Southern California
Posts: 3,433
Mentioned: 53 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2246 Post(s)
Liked: 1533
Quote:
Originally Posted by Keenan View Post
That's what I added and it doesn't show any function commands or numbers. It shows commands for what I assume is the game controller.


Maybe it’s because my hub based remote is a Harmony Elite?



Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
chi_guy50 likes this.

Mike
Sony XBR-65X930E | ATV4K-64GB & 2-32GB 5th Gens | Nvidia Shield TV Pro 2017 | Nvidia Shield TV Pro 2019 | Logitech Harmony Elite
m_snow is offline  
post #2246 of 3960 Old 01-21-2020, 04:49 PM
AVS Forum Club Gold
 
Keenan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Santa Rosa, CA
Posts: 34,876
Mentioned: 28 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4495 Post(s)
Liked: 4137
Quote:
Originally Posted by m_snow View Post
Maybe it’s because my hub based remote is a Harmony Elite?



Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
I wouldn't think so but anything is possible I suppose.

I found them, I wasn't looking at the right menu. Assigning them now and I'll be able to give it a try in a while.

Thanks!
m_snow likes this.

Last edited by Keenan; 01-21-2020 at 04:53 PM.
Keenan is offline  
post #2247 of 3960 Old 01-21-2020, 08:17 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Posts: 52
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Nvidia shield pro 2019 and shield tv 2019 reproduces blu rays iso and bdmv from dlna, usb? from original menus navigation?
Cbizotto is offline  
post #2248 of 3960 Old 01-21-2020, 10:39 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2020
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Hi all,

I own an LG C9 and have been considering a shield pro, I'd like to ask if it'd make sense to get it or not.

1. Most of my usage will be to stream Netflix, Prime etc. Are these apps in there outputting the same or better PQ than the native apps in the C9?

2. My second biggest usage will be HDR Remux streaming from a NAS. Right now, streaming through 5Ghz Wifi causes buffering issues every 5 mins or so (router is sat next to the TV - AC68U), so I have to plug the drives directly everytime. I've read the Shield actually handles buffering through Wifi way better than the TV.

3. What about all these frame switching issues I've read? Would that be a concern? Is this something I'd have to pay attention to? I'd prefer not to have to change settings everytime different content is playing, I will not be gaming whatsoever.

Many thanks in advance!
Sptz is offline  
post #2249 of 3960 Old 01-22-2020, 04:50 AM
Senior Member
 
x-evil-x's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 415
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 227 Post(s)
Liked: 48
anybody else notice how bad colors on with h.265 files playing on non HDR displays? The colors look orange, not red, and dull in comparison to the appletv4k with infuse.
Does the shield push HDR even on non HDR displays? Seems like apple is doing it right and not allowing the colors to get all out of wack when playing HDR files on non HDR display.
Anyway to fix this? Ive tried most all settings in display settings nothing seems to fix it yet.
x-evil-x is offline  
post #2250 of 3960 Old 01-22-2020, 04:51 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
atc98092's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Washington (the state)
Posts: 2,635
Mentioned: 65 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1655 Post(s)
Liked: 826
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cbizotto View Post
Nvidia shield pro 2019 and shield tv 2019 reproduces blu rays iso and bdmv from dlna, usb? from original menus navigation?
Your DLNA server has some control over the ISO or BDMV folder functionality, and on the Shield I believe it is up to the app you use. To my knowledge, Kodi supports both ISO and folders, but it's been a long time since I've even tried an ISO file, and I've never tried BDMV folders.

Dan
Samsung JU7100 and NU7100 4K TVs, Yamaha RX-V583, Nvidia Shield (2017 & 2019), a number of Roku players and TVs, Windows 10 media server with Serviio and Plex. Other players and TVs as well.
atc98092 is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Networking, Media Servers & Content Streaming

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off