Anyone else have 5.1 Dolby Digital stop working from Roku (non-ultra)? - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 5 Old 11-29-2019, 03:56 PM - Thread Starter
pjp
AVS Forum Special Member

Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 791 Post(s)
Liked: 455
Anyone else have 5.1 Dolby Digital stop working from Roku (non-ultra)?

I've been using a Roku Stick for a couple of years with an AVR (Teac AG-350h) that is limited to Dolby Digital 5.1 processing. I feed the AVR via optical extracted off of the Roku HDMI output. The Roku audio has always decoded as Dolby Digital in the AVR until a few months ago, then DD stopped working and the AVR processes is it as Dolby Pro Logic. Nothing has changed hardware-wise, so I suspect it was due to a Roku firmware update (Roku automatically updates). I've been trying to work with Roku support, but they have been useless.

Has anybody else experienced this problem with Roku where Dolby Digital 5.1 has suddenly (and permanently) stopped working? I'm thinking the problem might be that they started passing through 7.1 instead of 5.1, and my AVR only handles 5.1, so it is defaulting to Dolby Pro now. I haven't found anyone at Roku that even understands my question, so I'd like to find out if anyone else has experienced this. By the way, due to space limitations, I cannot replace my mini AVR with one that handles 7.1.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 5 Old 11-29-2019, 07:07 PM
AVS Forum Special Member

Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Quoted: 2252 Post(s)
Liked: 3512
Quote:
Originally Posted by pjp View Post