How Much Speed do I really need! - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 9 Old 12-02-2019, 06:21 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
stamina1914's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 659
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 113 Post(s)
Liked: 12
How Much Speed do I really need!

When I built my house, I added Cat 6 cables everywhere. So today all of our heavy stuff is connected wired to the network. With the exception of a few phones and tablets (About 5). I am trying to cut the cord. Currently I am getting 1000up and down from Fios. By itself that would cost me about $99/month with a 2 year contract and $124/month to month. My current bill is about $240 after taxes and that included everything! All the premium channels.


My questions the next lower tier options for Verizon is 300 up and down. And I am curios as to how this would affect the family. To be fair, we do NOT stream in 4K. No more than 3 TVs would be streaming or gaming HD content at a time (wired). So worse case scenario 3 TVs are streaming 1080P content while 2 or three mobile devices maybe streaming or facing timing at the same time. Would 300up/down work for my family.
stamina1914 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 9 Old 12-03-2019, 12:58 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Worf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Posts: 2,308
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 858 Post(s)
Liked: 591
300 is more than enough. The bit rates needed are quite low - most 1080 streams are 5-6 Mbps, so conservatively, 3 1080p streams would require 30Mbps service. Make it 50 Mbps to include some other internet use at the same time.

4K would require around 15-18Mbps and you should make it 25Mbos to be conservative. So 3 of those would need 75Mbos, but you should get 100 to allow for other uses. Thus your 300 is way overkill.

You have to remember that most of the US are lucky to get 1/10th that, and providers generally are set to serve a large market. The number of people able to get 100Mbps is low - limited to population centres.
Worf is offline  
post #3 of 9 Old 12-03-2019, 08:38 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
stamina1914's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 659
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 113 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by Worf View Post
300 is more than enough. The bit rates needed are quite low - most 1080 streams are 5-6 Mbps, so conservatively, 3 1080p streams would require 30Mbps service. Make it 50 Mbps to include some other internet use at the same time.

4K would require around 15-18Mbps and you should make it 25Mbos to be conservative. So 3 of those would need 75Mbos, but you should get 100 to allow for other uses. Thus your 300 is way overkill.

You have to remember that most of the US are lucky to get 1/10th that, and providers generally are set to serve a large market. The number of people able to get 100Mbps is low - limited to population centres.

Thanks for the explanation. So use the highway analogy, At most, my house may only need 100 lanes of highway so with 300 lanes available I have more than enough at with 1000 lanes, what I am buying from Verizon now, is just a waste of money.


So, if this is correct, where does Internet "speed" come into play in relationship with the Cat 6 cables vs Cat5e vs wireless. Thanks a bunch.
stamina1914 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 9 Old 12-03-2019, 08:50 AM
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Colorado
Posts: 668
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 430 Post(s)
Liked: 366
Quote:
Originally Posted by stamina1914 View Post
Thanks for the explanation. So use the highway analogy, At most, my house may only need 100 lanes of highway so with 300 lanes available I have more than enough at with 1000 lanes, what I am buying from Verizon now, is just a waste of money.


So, if this is correct, where does Internet "speed" come into play in relationship with the Cat 6 cables vs Cat5e vs wireless. Thanks a bunch.
Cat6 and Cat5e will support gigabit speeds which is the most you will see from your end devices. Wireless is more variable and dependent on distance from the AP, number of devices using the bandwidth and on the age of your devices as new standards are constantly being released but all of the recent standards will NOT be the bottleneck on getting video to your end devices.

If you have larger house you might want to look into one of the new wireless mesh products like Velop, EERO and others.

Current system:
Sony 75X900e/Sony STR-DN-1080, CS-3/CS-8/CS5
Sony X800 4K blu-ray player/Dish Hopper3
Roku 4 Premier/Sony PS-4
Cheddarhead is offline  
post #5 of 9 Old 12-03-2019, 09:14 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
MikeAlletto's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Purcellville, VA
Posts: 1,023
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 71 Post(s)
Liked: 46
Gigabit fios shouldn't be that expensive. I'm only paying $79 a month for just gigabit no contract, no tv. It might be too late (since you said you are on contract) but at renewal time cancel and sign up under someone else in the house (spouse) if possible.
MikeAlletto is offline  
post #6 of 9 Old 12-03-2019, 10:53 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 329
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 254 Post(s)
Liked: 47
Quote:
Originally Posted by Worf View Post
300 is more than enough. The bit rates needed are quite low - most 1080 streams are 5-6 Mbps, so conservatively, 3 1080p streams would require 30Mbps service. Make it 50 Mbps to include some other internet use at the same time.

4K would require around 15-18Mbps and you should make it 25Mbos to be conservative. So 3 of those would need 75Mbos, but you should get 100 to allow for other uses. Thus your 300 is way overkill.

You have to remember that most of the US are lucky to get 1/10th that, and providers generally are set to serve a large market. The number of people able to get 100Mbps is low - limited to population centres.

I would be more concerned with the monthly data cap if they have one.
In my area Mediacom(onopoly) caps the $78 tier to 300G per month. One stream of HD netflix can easily go over that in a month. I have to buy overkill speeds to get 1000G per month data cap for about $90 per month.
Tfid is offline  
post #7 of 9 Old 12-04-2019, 02:14 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
MikeAlletto's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Purcellville, VA
Posts: 1,023
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 71 Post(s)
Liked: 46
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tfid View Post
I would be more concerned with the monthly data cap if they have one.
In my area Mediacom(onopoly) caps the $78 tier to 300G per month. One stream of HD netflix can easily go over that in a month. I have to buy overkill speeds to get 1000G per month data cap for about $90 per month.

Fios does not have caps.
MikeAlletto is offline  
post #8 of 9 Old 12-05-2019, 02:48 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 329
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 254 Post(s)
Liked: 47
Quote:
Originally Posted by MikeAlletto View Post
Fios does not have caps.

Had no idea what Fios was. No fiber in my area. Data caps suck.
Tfid is offline  
post #9 of 9 Old 12-05-2019, 03:31 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Otto Pylot's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Bull Mountain, OR
Posts: 15,321
Mentioned: 28 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3571 Post(s)
Liked: 2571
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tfid View Post
I would be more concerned with the monthly data cap if they have one.
In my area Mediacom(onopoly) caps the $78 tier to 300G per month. One stream of HD netflix can easily go over that in a month. I have to buy overkill speeds to get 1000G per month data cap for about $90 per month.
We have Comcast and Frontier in our area. We opted for Comcast because Frontier has a lot of issues in our area and the speeds were less than Comcast. Comcast caps us at 1TB and we get a consistent 300Mbps down so there are no issues streaming anything. We usually hit about 250GB per month download.

I never trust an atom, they make up everything.
Otto Pylot is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Networking, Media Servers & Content Streaming

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off