Firestick: Netflix stopped working! - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 2Likes
  • 1 Post By golfster
  • 1 Post By Ratman
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 11 Old 02-08-2020, 12:29 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Ratman's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Collingswood, N.J.
Posts: 19,747
Mentioned: 29 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2538 Post(s)
Liked: 2352
Firestick: Netflix stopped working!

All Apps on firestick work fine, but what I start to stream a movie from Netflix, I get a "We're having trouble playing the title right now...." message with an error code TVQ-PM-100 (5.2.5.)

I've performed all of suggested remedies (clear data, clear cache, uninstall/reinstall Netflix app, reset stick, unplug from power).

After reading on the net and chatting with Amazon support, it seems that a "reset to factory defaults" is the last resort/suggestion. I hesitate to do this since I would have to start from scratch with setup and numerous credential entries.

Has anyone run into this and resolved it?
I'd like to be sure before going to the effort.



If you can’t explain it simply, you don’t understand it well enough – Albert Einstein
Ratman is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 11 Old 02-09-2020, 08:55 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
DanPackMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: NC
Posts: 1,853
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 502 Post(s)
Liked: 1248
I've had that problem temporarily, but just re-try and it clears up. If it still persists, you could try rebooting your router/wireless APs...a small chance it might help.
DanPackMan is offline  
post #3 of 11 Old 02-09-2020, 11:54 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Ratman's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Collingswood, N.J.
Posts: 19,747
Mentioned: 29 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2538 Post(s)
Liked: 2352
Done it all. This has been occurring for a few months. It was working fine for over a year, then poof! No change after any and all attempts to resolve.



If you can’t explain it simply, you don’t understand it well enough – Albert Einstein
Ratman is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 11 Old 02-09-2020, 12:07 PM
Advanced Member
 
MRAYB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Location: Miami County, Ohio
Posts: 843
Mentioned: 12 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 370 Post(s)
Liked: 871
Is it a heavily popular title at the moment? I have seen it a couple times on a stick, but only on a brand new release where it seems Netflix is swamped on something new. Maybe happens more on the weekend? More of a Netflix issue rather than Firestick I think. I wouldn't reset to factory. Mine has too many adjustments made to it.
MRAYB is online now  
post #5 of 11 Old 02-09-2020, 12:37 PM
Advanced Member
 
solarrdadd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Virginia
Posts: 777
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 401 Post(s)
Liked: 264
looks like you have covered all the standard bases. I think it's time to cut your losses, bit the bullet and "reset to factory defaults" as you could spend more time trying a bunch of things with potentially no positive results and still have to do a full restore. I say do that and get it out of the way and if need be, work backwards again from a clean install of everything.

by the way, I've gotten that "try again" message from Netflix on my Roku Tv's and once in a while from my ATV4K, but, simply saying ok and trying to start the episode/movie again, it worked out fine. it sounds like what your saying is, Netflix no longer works for anything no matter what.

best of luck, keep us posted.

TCL-65R615, 55P605 DV/HDR10 & 49S405 HDR10, Philips BDP7501, BPD7502 UHD Players
Oppo BDP-105D, 105, 93, Marantz AV7702MKII, NR1607. Xbox One S
Emotiva XPA5,UPA2, UPA200 & Mini X Amps, ATV4K 32gb
Speakers, Polk SDA-2, Monitor 10A & 5A, Axiom M80,
VP180, QS8, M2, QS4, ATMOS 7.1.4 & 5.1.2 NYGiants!
solarrdadd is online now  
post #6 of 11 Old 02-09-2020, 12:50 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
golfster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: St Louis, MO
Posts: 1,943
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 801 Post(s)
Liked: 676
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ratman View Post
All Apps on firestick work fine, but what I start to stream a movie from Netflix, I get a "We're having trouble playing the title right now...." message with an error code TVQ-PM-100 (5.2.5.)

I've performed all of suggested remedies (clear data, clear cache, uninstall/reinstall Netflix app, reset stick, unplug from power).

.
I have had the problem. You are doing the right thing, but you must go past your Netflix app. Go to the manage apps section and clear the cache of every app. Do not clear the data as you will have to re-enter all your login and passwords when you try to use them.
MRAYB likes this.
golfster is offline  
post #7 of 11 Old 02-09-2020, 01:01 PM
Advanced Member
 
MRAYB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Location: Miami County, Ohio
Posts: 843
Mentioned: 12 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 370 Post(s)
Liked: 871
@Ratman ...what does the available memory on the stick show?
MRAYB is online now  
post #8 of 11 Old 02-09-2020, 02:59 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Ratman's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Collingswood, N.J.
Posts: 19,747
Mentioned: 29 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2538 Post(s)
Liked: 2352
Thanks for the help.


Stopped working suddenly. In my opinion, a cache/data/memory (which has plenty available), would affect other apps too. I could be wrong.

I suspect a firmware update glitch that neither Netflix or Amazon wants to fess up to.


I'll probably just bite bullet and wipe it out and hope for the best.



If you can’t explain it simply, you don’t understand it well enough – Albert Einstein
Ratman is online now  
post #9 of 11 Old 02-09-2020, 03:38 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
golfster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: St Louis, MO
Posts: 1,943
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 801 Post(s)
Liked: 676
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ratman View Post
Thanks for the help.


Stopped working suddenly. In my opinion, a cache/data/memory (which has plenty available), would affect other apps too. I could be wrong.

I suspect a firmware update glitch that neither Netflix or Amazon wants to fess up to.


I'll probably just bite bullet and wipe it out and hope for the best.
Try my suggestion first. When you clear the cache, it goes to 12MB on each app. Seems the cache fills up even on apps I do not use and that is when the problem starts.
golfster is offline  
post #10 of 11 Old 02-09-2020, 03:46 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Ratman's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Collingswood, N.J.
Posts: 19,747
Mentioned: 29 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2538 Post(s)
Liked: 2352
Thanks. I'll give it a whirl.




EDIT:
Just tried and no success.



If you can’t explain it simply, you don’t understand it well enough – Albert Einstein

Last edited by Ratman; 02-09-2020 at 03:56 PM.
Ratman is online now  
post #11 of 11 Old 02-11-2020, 12:38 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Ratman's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Collingswood, N.J.
Posts: 19,747
Mentioned: 29 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2538 Post(s)
Liked: 2352
Update:


The "reset to factory defaults" did the trick. Everything works as before, although it is a PITA to reload Apps and re-enter credentials.
beerhunt likes this.



If you can’t explain it simply, you don’t understand it well enough – Albert Einstein
Ratman is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Networking, Media Servers & Content Streaming

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off