nVidia Shield Pro 2019 or this? - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 13Likes
  • 2 Post By ipca204
  • 2 Post By groove93
  • 1 Post By DaveFi
  • 2 Post By taz291819
  • 2 Post By groove93
  • 1 Post By DaveFi
  • 2 Post By movd
  • 1 Post By Wendell R. Breland
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 18 Old 02-13-2020, 02:31 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: May 2018
Location: Czech Republic
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 1
nVidia Shield Pro 2019 or this?

Video Experts,

Which is the better device, the nVidia Shield Pro 2019 version or https://www.tesla-electronics.eu/mul...lni-prehravac/

The page is in Czech but some specs are

QuadCore 64-bit 2.0 GHz ARM Cortex-A55 processor
graphics processor ARM Mali-G31MP2 850MHz / TruLife Image Engine Gen8
4 GB RAM
32 GB internal memory
Ultra HD 8K, HEVC, HDR10 and VP9 The TESLA MediaBox X900 Pro supports HDR / HDR10 + (for more realistic colors), HLD (Hybrid Log-Gamma). Handles demanding Ultra HD 8K VP9 video files up to 24 frames per second.

This is about half the price of the nVidia here. On paper it looks a lot better but I don't know if there is something else to look out for. I don't game, just want a good Android TV and ISO player. I was also looking at the Dune Pro 4K but I see a lot of unhappy users here on the forums.

Has anybody done a hardware mod to remove the microphone from the nVidia remote? I don't accept spying...

Beer! It's what's for dinner.
gimmeheadroom is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 18 Old 02-13-2020, 06:14 AM
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Posts: 558
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 304 Post(s)
Liked: 155
Quote:
Originally Posted by gimmeheadroom View Post
Video Experts,

Which is the better device, the nVidia Shield Pro 2019 version or https://www.tesla-electronics.eu/mul...lni-prehravac/

The page is in Czech but some specs are

QuadCore 64-bit 2.0 GHz ARM Cortex-A55 processor
graphics processor ARM Mali-G31MP2 850MHz / TruLife Image Engine Gen8
4 GB RAM
32 GB internal memory
Ultra HD 8K, HEVC, HDR10 and VP9 The TESLA MediaBox X900 Pro supports HDR / HDR10 + (for more realistic colors), HLD (Hybrid Log-Gamma). Handles demanding Ultra HD 8K VP9 video files up to 24 frames per second.

This is about half the price of the nVidia here. On paper it looks a lot better but I don't know if there is something else to look out for. I don't game, just want a good Android TV and ISO player. I was also looking at the Dune Pro 4K but I see a lot of unhappy users here on the forums.

Has anybody done a hardware mod to remove the microphone from the nVidia remote? I don't accept spying...
LOL...I can't believe you are trying to compare a no name, android, flavor of the month box to a Shield. You think they are going to be supporting that box in 5 months let alone the nearly 5 years Nvidia has been with the Shield?
a5ian300zx and christoofar like this.
ipca204 is offline  
post #3 of 18 Old 02-13-2020, 06:46 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: May 2018
Location: Czech Republic
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 1
The Tesla company is a local company that has been in business longer than nVidia. If something goes wrong they are local and can fix it. I have other Tesla products and they're fine.

I would appreciate some concrete comments rather than bashing something just because it doesn't have an nVidia label on it. Sometimes big companies just slide on reputation. For the price the low amount of RAM and memory on the Shield 2019 is puzzling. I have no idea if the new Integra is better than the Mali G31MP2.

Beer! It's what's for dinner.
gimmeheadroom is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 18 Old 02-13-2020, 07:20 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
groove93's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Statesboro, GA
Posts: 2,212
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1218 Post(s)
Liked: 712
From what I've found, this Tesla Box doesn't even run Android TV, just a variation of the Mobile Android Platform. With that said, access to apps such as Netflix and Amazon Prime will be slim to none.

It doesn't matter how long this company has been around. What matters is if this company will continue to support their hardware in the same manner as Nvidia regarding their Shield Platform.
gimmeheadroom and christoofar like this.

Sony XBR55X900E
Marantz SR7010/Marantz MM7025
Oppo UDP-203 - Nvidia Shield
XBox One X
Klipsch RP-260f - RP-440C - RP140sa- RP-160m - RB10 - Sony SA-WM500

Last edited by groove93; 02-13-2020 at 07:29 AM.
groove93 is offline  
post #5 of 18 Old 02-13-2020, 08:36 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: May 2018
Location: Czech Republic
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Thanks for pointing out the Android issue! I missed that.

Did anybody hack the Shield remote to disable the microphone? That's the only reason I am looking for alternatives. So far I found this box and the Dune 4K Pro

Beer! It's what's for dinner.
gimmeheadroom is offline  
post #6 of 18 Old 02-13-2020, 09:12 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
DaveFi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Natick MA
Posts: 18,333
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 939 Post(s)
Liked: 328
Not Android TV based box, just an Android box, unless they have some sort of licensing deal you’re not going to get Netflix 4k on it.
gimmeheadroom likes this.

XBOX Live: Wagmman
PSN: Wagg
BFBC2: Wagman
Steam: Wag

My Second Life character looks and acts exactly like me except he can fly.
DaveFi is online now  
post #7 of 18 Old 02-13-2020, 09:13 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
taz291819's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Huntsville, Al
Posts: 6,612
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 420 Post(s)
Liked: 303
Quote:
Originally Posted by gimmeheadroom View Post
Thanks for pointing out the Android issue! I missed that.

Did anybody hack the Shield remote to disable the microphone? That's the only reason I am looking for alternatives. So far I found this box and the Dune 4K Pro
Just use a different remote other than the Shield's, ie. a Harmony remote.
gimmeheadroom and beerhunt like this.

Vizio P65-C1 (2016)
Onkyo Tx-NR656 (5.1.2 setup)
JBL Studio S-Center, JBL Studio S26ii (FL/FR), JBL N24 (LS/RS), JBL N24 (Overhead Atmos), JBL Studio SUB250
Nvidia Shield TV 2019 Pro / Fire Stick 4K
taz291819 is offline  
post #8 of 18 Old 02-13-2020, 09:18 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: May 2018
Location: Czech Republic
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Thanks guys!

Which one? They look like they cost more than the Shield Pro!

Beer! It's what's for dinner.
gimmeheadroom is offline  
post #9 of 18 Old 02-13-2020, 09:34 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
groove93's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Statesboro, GA
Posts: 2,212
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1218 Post(s)
Liked: 712
Quote:
Originally Posted by gimmeheadroom View Post
Thanks guys!

Which one? They look like they cost more than the Shield Pro!
My Shield came with the Game Controller so I have no experience with the Remote. I use a Harmony Ultimate Remote (plus Harmony Hub) I purchased back in 2014 for $350. Yea it was expensive, but again, 2014 and it's still going strong. Sometimes spending a lil more than usual can pay off in the long-run.

There are some lower-priced Harmony Remotes on the market like the 700 and 665 so check them out.
gimmeheadroom and beerhunt like this.

Sony XBR55X900E
Marantz SR7010/Marantz MM7025
Oppo UDP-203 - Nvidia Shield
XBox One X
Klipsch RP-260f - RP-440C - RP140sa- RP-160m - RB10 - Sony SA-WM500
groove93 is offline  
post #10 of 18 Old 02-13-2020, 11:02 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
DaveFi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Natick MA
Posts: 18,333
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 939 Post(s)
Liked: 328
Quote:
Originally Posted by gimmeheadroom View Post
Thanks guys!

Which one? They look like they cost more than the Shield Pro!
Remote? For the most flexibility a Harmony Hub with one of their remotes (I like the companion/smart control remote. The Fire TV stick remotes work fairly well on the Shield. Just search on Amazon for "Shield replacement remote" and you'll find a ton of cheap ones.

I mapped a used PS3 eyetoy ($3 USB camera) to one of the buttons on my Harmony remote and it activates the mic whenever I press a button. I taped over the camera.
gimmeheadroom likes this.

XBOX Live: Wagmman
PSN: Wagg
BFBC2: Wagman
Steam: Wag

My Second Life character looks and acts exactly like me except he can fly.
DaveFi is online now  
post #11 of 18 Old 02-13-2020, 01:44 PM
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Posts: 558
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 304 Post(s)
Liked: 155
Quote:
Originally Posted by gimmeheadroom View Post
Thanks for pointing out the Android issue! I missed that.

Did anybody hack the Shield remote to disable the microphone? That's the only reason I am looking for alternatives. So far I found this box and the Dune 4K Pro
the "hack" to disable the microphone is quite simple. Don't use it. Get a Harmony or easily programmed universal...
ipca204 is offline  
post #12 of 18 Old 02-14-2020, 07:51 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: May 2018
Location: Czech Republic
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 1
It would be cheaper to cut out the mic, no reason to spend extra money if it's possible without too much difficulty.

But I'm not sure I trust nvidia or google to tell us if there are more microphones spread around over the remote and base unit

Beer! It's what's for dinner.
gimmeheadroom is offline  
post #13 of 18 Old 02-14-2020, 10:39 AM
Senior Member
 
movd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 236
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 155 Post(s)
Liked: 85
Quote:
Originally Posted by gimmeheadroom View Post
It would be cheaper to cut out the mic, no reason to spend extra money if it's possible without too much difficulty.

But I'm not sure I trust nvidia or google to tell us if there are more microphones spread around over the remote and base unit

The microphone in the remote seems like a strange thing to be worried about. Do you have a cell phone?
ipca204 and ng4ever like this.

Vizio P55-C1 | Sony 49X900F
Nvidia Shield | Zidoo X9S | Popcorn Hour VTEN | Firestick 4K | AppleTV 4K
movd is online now  
post #14 of 18 Old 02-15-2020, 04:11 PM
Member
 
mis3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 184
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 44 Post(s)
Liked: 48
I, too, use a Harmony Remote to control all my AV devices including the Shield. Surprisingly, the remote of Shield 2019 is one of the better remote I experienced. Also, the upconvert feature (they call it AI Upscaling) works well with 720 and 1080 sources.

I certainly have no experience in this Tesla box but I did go through a few Chinese Andriod boxes (2 Tronsmart, Mecool, Minix and a no-name one) over the years. Although Shield-2019 costs 3-4 times more than these boxes, it is definitely worth the money.

My experiences with these Chinese Andriod boxes:
1. Stream Netflix only in SD (looks like 480 or 576)
2. Prime does not work at all
3. Poor remote. Poor range and works only if you point the remote directly to the box
4. No software upgrade nor support.
5. Overheat. 60-65C while streaming 720. Sometimes 75C to stream 1080. I put an external USB fan for cooling.
To be fair, Minix is by far a better one. Too bad, it costs nearly as much as the Shield but still could not stream Netflix HD or Prime.

Last edited by mis3; 02-15-2020 at 04:16 PM.
mis3 is offline  
post #15 of 18 Old 02-15-2020, 04:55 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Wendell R. Breland's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 1999
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 5,090
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 576 Post(s)
Liked: 278
A list of certified Android TV devices here, scroll to the bottom to see list. A link is there for Android TV global.
beerhunt likes this.
Wendell R. Breland is online now  
post #16 of 18 Old 02-15-2020, 11:39 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Nillaz's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 1,215
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 612 Post(s)
Liked: 407
Quote:
Originally Posted by DaveFi View Post
I mapped a used PS3 eyetoy ($3 USB camera) to one of the buttons on my Harmony remote and it activates the mic whenever I press a button. I taped over the camera.

Is this on the Shield Pro? I have this same setup on both of my previous gen Shield's but cannot for the life of me get the PS3 Eye mic to work on the Shield Pro.

82Q90R / Denon X6400H / Polk Audio LSI 7.1.4 / Nvidia Shield Pro 2019 / Panasonic DP-UB820 4K BluRay / Xbox One X / PS4 Pro / Nintendo Switch / Custom Gaming PC / Custom VR PC / HTC Vive Pro HMD (Wireless)
Nillaz is online now  
post #17 of 18 Old 02-16-2020, 06:29 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
DaveFi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Natick MA
Posts: 18,333
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 939 Post(s)
Liked: 328
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nillaz View Post
Is this on the Shield Pro? I have this same setup on both of my previous gen Shield's but cannot for the life of me get the PS3 Eye mic to work on the Shield Pro.
No but it should work. I think the recent updates busted it, it used to be the windows key (I think) but if click on the mic search icon it still works. In Kodi long press the enter button for voice input.

XBOX Live: Wagmman
PSN: Wagg
BFBC2: Wagman
Steam: Wag

My Second Life character looks and acts exactly like me except he can fly.
DaveFi is online now  
post #18 of 18 Old 02-18-2020, 04:09 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
christoofar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: SoCal
Posts: 1,822
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 311 Post(s)
Liked: 210
Quote:
Originally Posted by taz291819 View Post
Just use a different remote other than the Shield's, ie. a Harmony remote.
On Amazon, WeChip g20 for $17

Heart in SoCal - Soul from the Motor City
Sony x65-900F+ShieldTV+ Kodi Leia=>SR6010=>Integra DTA-70.1=>Chane A1.4 x 3 + DCM OW-1s x 2 + 1 x RSL Speedwoofer10 S+ 1 x Sunfire HRS12
christoofar is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Networking, Media Servers & Content Streaming

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off