AnyDVD/CloneBD vs DVDFAb (4K Ripping image quality)) - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 13 Old 05-03-2020, 08:02 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
TODDAVS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Charleston, SC
Posts: 796
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 74 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Why won't Windows 10 recognize my KS9000 as HDR capable

I have changed the title of this thread because for the moment the source of my trouble has changed. Please see posts 10 and 11 below for the current core question and if interested below this line for how the original troubleshooting started:

* *

I have been using AnyDVD/CloneBD for a long time now and AnyDVD/Handbrake before that. Recently I was in need of some software that DVDFab had to offer, and the "bundle" pricing just seemed to make sense so I now have licenses for both.

I recently did some comparisons between videos ripped with each software (for reasons I'll cover in another thread). I found that there is a substantial difference in the image on 4K videos between the two programs, while BluRay didn't seem to have the same visible variance.

The DVDFab rip seems to have a sharper image with more detail, but the color is muted / washed out. 1st screen image
The CloneBD rip is deeper colors but is saturated and looses some of the detail you should pick up in 4K. 2nd screen image

Has anyone noticed this? I have not been able to find any settings that would adjust this during ripping.
2K Blu Ray was not noticeably different between the results.

Thanks for any thoughts or help on how this might be adjusted. I'm really not happy with either results.
There is also a separate question about video studder, but I'll do that in a separate thread.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Bad Times (DVDFAB).JPG
Views:	55
Size:	112.8 KB
ID:	2720346   Click image for larger version

Name:	Bad Times (CloneBD).JPG
Views:	55
Size:	136.7 KB
ID:	2720348  

Marantz - AV7702mkii | Adcom - GFA 7500 (2 Ea)
5.1.2 Definitive Technology Speakers | Mains: BP-20 (bi-amped) | Center: CLR (bi-amp custom crossover) | Rears: BP-6 | Front Height: BP-1
Media Player: HTPC | BR Player: Pioneer BPD-80D
UnRaid / Plex Server

Last edited by TODDAVS; 05-06-2020 at 09:58 PM.
TODDAVS is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 13 Old 05-03-2020, 08:15 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Posts: 195
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 164 Post(s)
Liked: 126
The DVDFab output looks like it was a 4K rip that had it's HDR stripped without proper tone mapping. What was the output video profile you used in DVDFab?
jwort93 is offline  
post #3 of 13 Old 05-03-2020, 08:35 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
TODDAVS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Charleston, SC
Posts: 796
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 74 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by jwort93 View Post
The DVDFab output looks like it was a 4K rip that had it's HDR stripped without proper tone mapping. What was the output video profile you used in DVDFab?
I'm using MKV.4K.H265.10bit
I've tried 12bit, but it doesn't seem to use hardware acceleration and would take an eternity to process.

I have an image attached with my profile settings

Also, I tried ripping two different movies with those settings, both have the same issue.

Sorry for not replying more quickly today and thanks for your help.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Profile Settings.JPG
Views:	38
Size:	53.0 KB
ID:	2720694   Click image for larger version

Name:	Profile Settings1.JPG
Views:	18
Size:	32.5 KB
ID:	2720696  

Marantz - AV7702mkii | Adcom - GFA 7500 (2 Ea)
5.1.2 Definitive Technology Speakers | Mains: BP-20 (bi-amped) | Center: CLR (bi-amp custom crossover) | Rears: BP-6 | Front Height: BP-1
Media Player: HTPC | BR Player: Pioneer BPD-80D
UnRaid / Plex Server
TODDAVS is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 13 Old 05-03-2020, 08:45 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
eric.exe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Washington, DC
Posts: 2,464
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 121 Post(s)
Liked: 45
DVDFab did not properly tonemap the HDR to SDR. Do you want SDR video? It could still be HDR but your playback software on PC isn't tonemapping to SDR either. If you play the DVDFab version on a HDR TV it might show in HDR if DVDFab preserved the HDR metadata. If not you can play with madVR's tonemapping to convert to SDR properly. CloneBD probably did a sloppy SDR tonemap.
eric.exe is online now  
post #5 of 13 Old 05-03-2020, 10:25 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
TODDAVS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Charleston, SC
Posts: 796
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 74 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by eric.exe View Post
DVDFab did not properly tonemap the HDR to SDR. Do you want SDR video? It could still be HDR but your playback software on PC isn't tonemapping to SDR either. If you play the DVDFab version on a HDR TV it might show in HDR if DVDFab preserved the HDR metadata. If not you can play with madVR's tonemapping to convert to SDR properly. CloneBD probably did a sloppy SDR tonemap.
Is the loss of HDR because I'm using 10 Bit instead of 12 bit? I'd rather have full HDR.

Marantz - AV7702mkii | Adcom - GFA 7500 (2 Ea)
5.1.2 Definitive Technology Speakers | Mains: BP-20 (bi-amped) | Center: CLR (bi-amp custom crossover) | Rears: BP-6 | Front Height: BP-1
Media Player: HTPC | BR Player: Pioneer BPD-80D
UnRaid / Plex Server
TODDAVS is offline  
post #6 of 13 Old 05-04-2020, 05:29 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Posts: 195
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 164 Post(s)
Liked: 126
Quote:
Originally Posted by TODDAVS View Post
Is the loss of HDR because I'm using 10 Bit instead of 12 bit? I'd rather have full HDR.
No, HDR10/HDR10+ is only 10 bit. Have you tried playing the file on a tv with HDR support rather than your computer?
jwort93 is offline  
post #7 of 13 Old 05-04-2020, 08:51 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
TODDAVS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Charleston, SC
Posts: 796
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 74 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by jwort93 View Post
No, HDR10/HDR10+ is only 10 bit. Have you tried playing the file on a tv with HDR support rather than your computer?
I just copied it into Plex (direct play, no transcodning). The color was worse and resolution even grainy. I did learn this:

DVDFAb ripped movie is noted "4K (HEVC Main 10 HDR)" This is the washed color version.
ConeBD ripped movie is noted as "4K (HEVC Main)" This has much better color but missing the finer detail and doesn't appear to be the sharper image.

So does this mean the CloneBD movies are actually coming out SDR and the DVDFab movies are HDR, but also not correctly tone mapping?

How should I be able to rip a correctly formatted HDR 4K movie?

Marantz - AV7702mkii | Adcom - GFA 7500 (2 Ea)
5.1.2 Definitive Technology Speakers | Mains: BP-20 (bi-amped) | Center: CLR (bi-amp custom crossover) | Rears: BP-6 | Front Height: BP-1
Media Player: HTPC | BR Player: Pioneer BPD-80D
UnRaid / Plex Server
TODDAVS is offline  
post #8 of 13 Old 05-04-2020, 09:00 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
TODDAVS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Charleston, SC
Posts: 796
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 74 Post(s)
Liked: 16
OK I think I figured out my setting issue with CloneBD causing it to be SDR. Doing a test rip, and hoping the tone mapping isn't an issue.

I still have no idea what is going on with DVDFab

Marantz - AV7702mkii | Adcom - GFA 7500 (2 Ea)
5.1.2 Definitive Technology Speakers | Mains: BP-20 (bi-amped) | Center: CLR (bi-amp custom crossover) | Rears: BP-6 | Front Height: BP-1
Media Player: HTPC | BR Player: Pioneer BPD-80D
UnRaid / Plex Server
TODDAVS is offline  
post #9 of 13 Old 05-04-2020, 09:55 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
TODDAVS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Charleston, SC
Posts: 796
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 74 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by TODDAVS View Post
OK I think I figured out my setting issue with CloneBD causing it to be SDR. Doing a test rip, and hoping the tone mapping isn't an issue.

I still have no idea what is going on with DVDFab
The CloneBD 10 bit file is the exact same as the DVDFab 10 bit file. color washed out.

Marantz - AV7702mkii | Adcom - GFA 7500 (2 Ea)
5.1.2 Definitive Technology Speakers | Mains: BP-20 (bi-amped) | Center: CLR (bi-amp custom crossover) | Rears: BP-6 | Front Height: BP-1
Media Player: HTPC | BR Player: Pioneer BPD-80D
UnRaid / Plex Server
TODDAVS is offline  
post #10 of 13 Old 05-04-2020, 10:56 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
TODDAVS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Charleston, SC
Posts: 796
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 74 Post(s)
Liked: 16
So continuing to trouble shoot. Windows 10 is not recognizing that my display is HDR compliant.

My Plex player is an HTPC with a GTX 1060 video card. The card is HDR compliant
The HTPC plugs into my Marantz processor, AV-7702mkii... it is HDR10 compliant
When I look in the windows settings it shows my display, as the Marantz processor, not my TV.
The TV is a Samsung KS9000 and is also HDR compliant.

Marantz - AV7702mkii | Adcom - GFA 7500 (2 Ea)
5.1.2 Definitive Technology Speakers | Mains: BP-20 (bi-amped) | Center: CLR (bi-amp custom crossover) | Rears: BP-6 | Front Height: BP-1
Media Player: HTPC | BR Player: Pioneer BPD-80D
UnRaid / Plex Server

Last edited by TODDAVS; 05-06-2020 at 09:58 PM.
TODDAVS is offline  
post #11 of 13 Old 05-06-2020, 09:48 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
TODDAVS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Charleston, SC
Posts: 796
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 74 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Any help with this?

I think the current question is why will Windows not recognize my KS9000 as HDR capable.

Marantz - AV7702mkii | Adcom - GFA 7500 (2 Ea)
5.1.2 Definitive Technology Speakers | Mains: BP-20 (bi-amped) | Center: CLR (bi-amp custom crossover) | Rears: BP-6 | Front Height: BP-1
Media Player: HTPC | BR Player: Pioneer BPD-80D
UnRaid / Plex Server

Last edited by TODDAVS; 05-06-2020 at 10:00 PM.
TODDAVS is offline  
post #12 of 13 Old 05-08-2020, 06:42 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
TODDAVS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Charleston, SC
Posts: 796
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 74 Post(s)
Liked: 16
still looking for some help with this.

Marantz - AV7702mkii | Adcom - GFA 7500 (2 Ea)
5.1.2 Definitive Technology Speakers | Mains: BP-20 (bi-amped) | Center: CLR (bi-amp custom crossover) | Rears: BP-6 | Front Height: BP-1
Media Player: HTPC | BR Player: Pioneer BPD-80D
UnRaid / Plex Server
TODDAVS is offline  
post #13 of 13 Old 05-23-2020, 12:49 AM
AVS Forum Club Gold
 
Stevetd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Western, NC
Posts: 1,287
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 468 Post(s)
Liked: 218
Will your tv play an mkv file from a usb device? Maybe try that to see if it plays correctly that way. If it does then you know it’s either your htpc or your AVR. Maybe plug your htpc directly to your tv first.
Stevetd is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Networking, Media Servers & Content Streaming

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off