Windows 10 wont recognize my Samsung KS9000 as HDR capable - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 10 Old 05-20-2020, 09:48 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
TODDAVS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Charleston, SC
Posts: 796
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 74 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Windows 10 wont recognize my Samsung KS9000 as HDR capable

I've been trying to solve an issue with HDR 4K files and color when streaming from Plex. It looks like the root of the problem is my Windows HTPC is not recognizing my TV as HDR capable.

When I go into Windows HD Color Settings, my display shows it is not HDR capable:
  • My Plex player is an HTPC with a GTX 1060 video card. The card is HDR compliant
  • The HTPC plugs into my Marantz processor, AV-7702mkii... it is HDR10 compliant
  • When I look in the windows settings it shows my display, as the Marantz processor, not my TV.
  • The TV is a Samsung KS9000 and is also HDR compliant.

Any thoughts on how to solve this?

Marantz - AV7702mkii | Adcom - GFA 7500 (2 Ea)
5.1.2 Definitive Technology Speakers | Mains: BP-20 (bi-amped) | Center: CLR (bi-amp custom crossover) | Rears: BP-6 | Front Height: BP-1
Media Player: HTPC | BR Player: Pioneer BPD-80D
UnRaid / Plex Server
TODDAVS is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 10 Old 05-20-2020, 10:18 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
TODDAVS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Charleston, SC
Posts: 796
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 74 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Would 18 Gbps cables prevent HDR color from working?
Do I need the next step up?

Marantz - AV7702mkii | Adcom - GFA 7500 (2 Ea)
5.1.2 Definitive Technology Speakers | Mains: BP-20 (bi-amped) | Center: CLR (bi-amp custom crossover) | Rears: BP-6 | Front Height: BP-1
Media Player: HTPC | BR Player: Pioneer BPD-80D
UnRaid / Plex Server
TODDAVS is offline  
post #3 of 10 Old 05-20-2020, 10:25 PM
Member
 
Join Date: May 2020
Location: London, UK
Posts: 30
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 29 Post(s)
Liked: 5
Quote:
Originally Posted by TODDAVS View Post
Would 18 Gbps cables prevent HDR color from working?

Do I need the next step up?
18gbps should work.

Sent from my SM-T725 using Tapatalk
Nikolaos Tsarmpopoulos is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 10 Old 05-20-2020, 10:33 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Otto Pylot's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Bull Mountain, OR
Posts: 16,130
Mentioned: 29 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3977 Post(s)
Liked: 2860
Quote:
Originally Posted by TODDAVS View Post
Would 18 Gbps cables prevent HDR color from working?
Do I need the next step up?

If your cable run is under 25', then a Premium High Speed HDMI cable (with the QR label for authenticity) is about the best you can do for HDMI 2.0 as long as your source and sink both have the HDMI 2.0 chipsets. The cable is just the data pipe so it needs to be capable of handling the 18Gbps bandwidth which is the maximum bandwidth for HDMI 2.0, but it's ultimately the HDMI chipsets at both ends that determines what you can get.

I never trust an atom, they make up everything.
Otto Pylot is online now  
post #5 of 10 Old 05-20-2020, 10:49 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
TODDAVS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Charleston, SC
Posts: 796
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 74 Post(s)
Liked: 16
I found this table. Show's 4:4:4 HDR 10 requires HDMI 2.1?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Capture.JPG
Views:	11
Size:	38.9 KB
ID:	2730110  

Marantz - AV7702mkii | Adcom - GFA 7500 (2 Ea)
5.1.2 Definitive Technology Speakers | Mains: BP-20 (bi-amped) | Center: CLR (bi-amp custom crossover) | Rears: BP-6 | Front Height: BP-1
Media Player: HTPC | BR Player: Pioneer BPD-80D
UnRaid / Plex Server
TODDAVS is offline  
post #6 of 10 Old 05-21-2020, 06:23 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Foxbat121's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: VA
Posts: 12,179
Mentioned: 14 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 698 Post(s)
Liked: 594
Did you enable UHD color on your TV for that HDMI port? Without it enabled, no HDR. It is off by default on all HDMI ports.

Sent from my Pixel 3 using Tapatalk
Foxbat121 is online now  
post #7 of 10 Old 05-21-2020, 11:32 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
TODDAVS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Charleston, SC
Posts: 796
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 74 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by Foxbat121 View Post
Did you enable UHD color on your TV for that HDMI port? Without it enabled, no HDR. It is off by default on all HDMI ports.

Sent from my Pixel 3 using Tapatalk
I did not know that setting was there. That did the trick and now HDR content works. THANKS

Next Question: The screen immediately became very orange if not red in tint. Strikingly so. The white background was nearly red. I found a setting called "nightlight" and turned in ON. The color shift reverted, but by turning this on it looks like it operates during certain hours. The function didn't seem to make any sense.

Any insight on "nightlight" or the darker / red background in HDR mode?

Marantz - AV7702mkii | Adcom - GFA 7500 (2 Ea)
5.1.2 Definitive Technology Speakers | Mains: BP-20 (bi-amped) | Center: CLR (bi-amp custom crossover) | Rears: BP-6 | Front Height: BP-1
Media Player: HTPC | BR Player: Pioneer BPD-80D
UnRaid / Plex Server
TODDAVS is offline  
post #8 of 10 Old 05-21-2020, 11:33 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Otto Pylot's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Bull Mountain, OR
Posts: 16,130
Mentioned: 29 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3977 Post(s)
Liked: 2860
Quote:
Originally Posted by TODDAVS View Post
I found this table. Show's 4:4:4 HDR 10 requires HDMI 2.1?

Don't know where that's from but all of my devices have HDMI 2.0 chipsets in them and we have zero issues streaming 4k HDR (Dolby Vision or HDR10). However, I don't use 4:4:4 chroma because there isn't any reason to do so. I just use 4:2:0. I could use 4:4:4 but there isn't any source material that I know of that is encoded that way. All of my HDMI cables are basically Premium High Speed HDMI cables.

I never trust an atom, they make up everything.
Otto Pylot is online now  
post #9 of 10 Old 05-21-2020, 12:03 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Foxbat121's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: VA
Posts: 12,179
Mentioned: 14 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 698 Post(s)
Liked: 594
Quote:
Originally Posted by TODDAVS View Post
I did not know that setting was there. That did the trick and now HDR content works. THANKS

Next Question: The screen immediately became very orange if not red in tint. Strikingly so. The white background was nearly red. I found a setting called "nightlight" and turned in ON. The color shift reverted, but by turning this on it looks like it operates during certain hours. The function didn't seem to make any sense.

Any insight on "nightlight" or the darker / red background in HDR mode?
The desktop and most apps are naturally SDR. Turn on the HDR requires SDR to HDR tone mapping. Windows doesn't do a very good job of that. So, usually I turn HDR off until I need it. Many PC users prefer to use MadVR (which needs you to have a decent nVidia video card to work properly) to auto switch between HDR and SDR when playing video.

I personally found this whole HDR thing on Windows useless. I turn it off all the time and use a stream box instead.
Foxbat121 is online now  
post #10 of 10 Old 05-22-2020, 01:41 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
TODDAVS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Charleston, SC
Posts: 796
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 74 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by Foxbat121 View Post
The desktop and most apps are naturally SDR. Turn on the HDR requires SDR to HDR tone mapping. Windows doesn't do a very good job of that. So, usually I turn HDR off until I need it. Many PC users prefer to use MadVR (which needs you to have a decent nVidia video card to work properly) to auto switch between HDR and SDR when playing video.

I personally found this whole HDR thing on Windows useless. I turn it off all the time and use a stream box instead.
I use the HTPC for my Plex player because it can stream mullti-channel flac without transcoding and I've yet to find any other player pull this off. That said, it's more troublesome in other ways so if you know of anything that can do multi-channel flac please let me know.

I'll look for MadVR and see if it works with my GTX1060 video chipset.

Thanks all for the help!

Marantz - AV7702mkii | Adcom - GFA 7500 (2 Ea)
5.1.2 Definitive Technology Speakers | Mains: BP-20 (bi-amped) | Center: CLR (bi-amp custom crossover) | Rears: BP-6 | Front Height: BP-1
Media Player: HTPC | BR Player: Pioneer BPD-80D
UnRaid / Plex Server
TODDAVS is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Networking, Media Servers & Content Streaming

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off