HDMI Video over IP - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 12 Old 06-01-2020, 10:33 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Nate Miller's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 275
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 76 Post(s)
Liked: 24
HDMI Video over IP

I feel like I'm about to go down a MAJOR rabbit hole here but here we go.

I have been toying with the idea of doing and HDMI over Ethernet system for a while. I'm in a position, with some other projects going on, where I can easily run Cat6 (or even Cat7 if that's better) to the TV areas in the house. the hope is to try to reduce the amount of boxes at each location but still have access to everything (TiVo box, NVidia Shield, BluRay Player, etc).

Outside of digging into the major, whole home automation systems like Control4 are there any other HDMI over IP systems that are pretty good? All TVs are 4K and have a Sonos Playbar (so HD Audio is not necessary).

I'm currently using Harmony Remotes and would like to stick with those if possible.

What, if any, options would I have?

Thanks in advance!
Nate Miller is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 12 Old 06-01-2020, 11:50 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
b curry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: on the way to Hell, Michigan USA
Posts: 5,065
Mentioned: 70 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1291 Post(s)
Liked: 833
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nate Miller View Post
I feel like I'm about to go down a MAJOR rabbit hole here but here we go.

I have been toying with the idea of doing and HDMI over Ethernet system for a while. I'm in a position, with some other projects going on, where I can easily run Cat6 (or even Cat7 if that's better) to the TV areas in the house. the hope is to try to reduce the amount of boxes at each location but still have access to everything (TiVo box, NVidia Shield, BluRay Player, etc).

Outside of digging into the major, whole home automation systems like Control4 are there any other HDMI over IP systems that are pretty good? All TVs are 4K and have a Sonos Playbar (so HD Audio is not necessary).

I'm currently using Harmony Remotes and would like to stick with those if possible.

What, if any, options would I have?

Thanks in advance!
MoCA is an option, especially if you all ready have TV/Coaxial Cable in place. It will support up to 2.5 Gbps at this time. MoCA 3.0 is in development and will support 10 Gbps when implemented.
b curry is offline  
post #3 of 12 Old 06-01-2020, 12:20 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Nate Miller's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 275
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 76 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by b curry View Post
MoCA is an option, especially if you all ready have TV/Coaxial Cable in place. It will support up to 2.5 Gbps at this time. MoCA 3.0 is in development and will support 10 Gbps when implemented.
thanks - where should start looking for good hardware?
Nate Miller is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 12 Old 06-01-2020, 12:22 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: Out West
Posts: 2,707
Mentioned: 42 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1522 Post(s)
Liked: 812
Quote:
Originally Posted by b curry View Post
MoCA is an option, especially if you all ready have TV/Coaxial Cable in place. It will support up to 2.5 Gbps at this time. MoCA 3.0 is in development and will support 10 Gbps when implemented.
4K requires up to 18gbps.
DunMunro is offline  
post #5 of 12 Old 06-01-2020, 12:26 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
b curry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: on the way to Hell, Michigan USA
Posts: 5,065
Mentioned: 70 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1291 Post(s)
Liked: 833
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nate Miller View Post
thanks - where should start looking for good hardware?
Actiontec is a brand that is widely distributed. Best Buy carries them as well as Amazon etc.

You want to go no lower than the 2.0 Bonded units.


https://www.actiontec.com/wifihelp/w...-do-i-want-it/

Last edited by b curry; 06-01-2020 at 12:56 PM.
b curry is offline  
post #6 of 12 Old 06-01-2020, 12:48 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
b curry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: on the way to Hell, Michigan USA
Posts: 5,065
Mentioned: 70 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1291 Post(s)
Liked: 833
Quote:
Originally Posted by DunMunro View Post
4K requires up to 18gbps.

Sure at the at the maximum transmission bit rate.

But you're not getting that from Netflix, etc. or any streaming cable provider.
b curry is offline  
post #7 of 12 Old 06-01-2020, 12:55 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
b curry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: on the way to Hell, Michigan USA
Posts: 5,065
Mentioned: 70 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1291 Post(s)
Liked: 833
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nate Miller View Post
thanks - where should start looking for good hardware?

With HDMI/Ethernet adapters over CAT5e CAT6 CAT7, you can transmit 18 gbps.

Just an example, there are other brands at other price points.

https://www.amazon.com/HDbaseT-Exten.../dp/B0754GSLC2
b curry is offline  
post #8 of 12 Old 06-01-2020, 02:14 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Nate Miller's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 275
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 76 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by b curry View Post
With HDMI/Ethernet adapters over CAT5e CAT6 CAT7, you can transmit 18 gbps.

Just an example, there are other brands at other price points.

https://www.amazon.com/HDbaseT-Exten.../dp/B0754GSLC2
Interesting - those appear to be the exact same as the Blackbird line from Monoprice.
Nate Miller is offline  
post #9 of 12 Old 06-01-2020, 02:48 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
b curry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: on the way to Hell, Michigan USA
Posts: 5,065
Mentioned: 70 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1291 Post(s)
Liked: 833
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nate Miller View Post
Interesting - those appear to be the exact same as the Blackbird line from Monoprice.
Yes, a lot of these type of adapters are China generic and are sold under different brand names.


Here they are from J-Tech. FWIW, I've always had good luck with the J-Tech brand name.

https://jtechdigital.com/product/hdb...jtech-exbt460/
b curry is offline  
post #10 of 12 Old 06-02-2020, 12:10 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Worf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Posts: 2,568
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 945 Post(s)
Liked: 682
Those aren't HDMI to Ethernet adapters. They're just HDMI serializers and use the cable directly. You cannot connect them to a network - they are dedicated cable runs.

And if you're watching HDR video at 4k, you will be using up to 18Gbps because HDMI data does not care about the source as HDMI carries uncompressed video.
Worf is offline  
post #11 of 12 Old 06-02-2020, 07:09 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
b curry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: on the way to Hell, Michigan USA
Posts: 5,065
Mentioned: 70 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1291 Post(s)
Liked: 833
Quote:
Originally Posted by Worf View Post
Those aren't HDMI to Ethernet adapters. They're just HDMI serializers and use the cable directly. You cannot connect them to a network - they are dedicated cable runs.

And if you're watching HDR video at 4k, you will be using up to 18Gbps because HDMI data does not care about the source as HDMI carries uncompressed video.
But they can be used with the Ethernet port for HDMI over a MoCA network.
b curry is offline  
post #12 of 12 Old 06-03-2020, 12:20 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Worf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Posts: 2,568
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 945 Post(s)
Liked: 682
No they can't. MoCA bridges only bridge Ethernet networks. HDbaseT is not Ethernet. It just uses cat5e/6 cables to carry the signal. It's just like using cat5e for POTS - it's just used as a cable with special properties, but is not Ethernet.

HDbaseT requires a dedicated run from the transmitter to receiver. It's convenient since you can make very long runs with it and many places have really long runs installed for phones or networking already. We have it misused to run from a boardroom table to a screen on the wall - the meeting room was wired with network ports few use (everyone uses wifi during meetings) so one run was used from the table to the patch panel, then patched over to a port near the screen. The physical distance was maybe 15 feet, but the actual cable distance was more like 150+ feet. Of course, the ports had to be unplugged from the network switch since the connection was supposed to be a direct straight through link.
Worf is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Networking, Media Servers & Content Streaming

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off