Questions on DLink DSM-520 - Page 23 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #661 of 1954 Old 07-10-2007, 05:59 AM
Advanced Member
 
aldamon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Durham, NC
Posts: 603
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by knsdye View Post

Now that my device thinks it is 1.05...if and when DLINK comes out with a new update, I'll have to do this routine and "trick" it again?

No it doesn't. We've already established that auto-updates will work fine after a manual downgrade.
aldamon is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #662 of 1954 Old 07-10-2007, 09:04 AM
Member
 
outatime80's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 53
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hello all

Thanks for the details for downgrading, I have got 90% of the way there but am getting a message when I try and upgrade to check my network connection.

I have done the connect to internet text and that works fine, I am using bullet proof server as per msg 655 and have it all connected and working fine using port 22 to connect and changed the URL for medialounge to my local IP it see's the new firmware but when I click it gives me the network error.

This is the log from the FTP:

(000006) 7/10/2007 11:38:30 AM - (not logged in) (192.168.2.68) > connected to ip : 192.168.2.12
(000006) 7/10/2007 11:38:30 AM - (not logged in) (192.168.2.68) > sending welcome message.
(000006) 7/10/2007 11:38:30 AM - (not logged in) (192.168.2.68) > 220 BulletProof FTP Server ready ...
(000006) 7/10/2007 11:38:30 AM - (not logged in) (192.168.2.68) > USER anonymous
(000006) 7/10/2007 11:38:30 AM - (not logged in) (192.168.2.68) > 331 Password required for anonymous.
(000006) 7/10/2007 11:38:30 AM - (not logged in) (192.168.2.68) > PASS ********
(000006) 7/10/2007 11:38:30 AM - anonymous [test] (192.168.2.68) > logged in anonymously with login/pass : anonymous/[email protected]
(000006) 7/10/2007 11:38:30 AM - anonymous [test] (192.168.2.68) > 230 User test logged in.
(000006) 7/10/2007 11:38:30 AM - anonymous [test] (192.168.2.68) > CDUP
(000006) 7/10/2007 11:38:30 AM - anonymous [test] (192.168.2.68) > asked to change directory : 'C:\\ftp\\ -> C:\\ftp\\' --> Access allowed.
(000006) 7/10/2007 11:38:30 AM - anonymous [test] (192.168.2.68) > 250 CWD command successful. "/" is current directory.
(000006) 7/10/2007 11:38:30 AM - anonymous [test] (192.168.2.68) > TYPE I
(000006) 7/10/2007 11:38:30 AM - anonymous [test] (192.168.2.68) > 200 Type set to I.
(000006) 7/10/2007 11:38:30 AM - anonymous [test] (192.168.2.68) > SIZE /DSM520-VerInfo.txt
(000006) 7/10/2007 11:38:30 AM - anonymous [test] (192.168.2.68) > 213 57
(000006) 7/10/2007 11:38:30 AM - anonymous [test] (192.168.2.68) > PASV
(000006) 7/10/2007 11:38:30 AM - anonymous [test] (192.168.2.68) > 227 Entering Passive Mode (192,168,2,12,46,135)
(000006) 7/10/2007 11:38:30 AM - anonymous [test] (192.168.2.68) > RETR /DSM520-VerInfo.txt
(000006) 7/10/2007 11:38:30 AM - anonymous [test] (192.168.2.68) > asked to download 'C:\\ftp\\DSM520-VerInfo.txt' --> Access allowed.
(000006) 7/10/2007 11:38:30 AM - anonymous [test] (192.168.2.68) > 150 Data connection accepted from 192.168.2.68:1080; transfer starting for DSM520-VerInfo.txt (57 bytes).
(000006) 7/10/2007 11:38:30 AM - anonymous [test] (192.168.2.68) > started downloading 'C:\\ftp\\DSM520-VerInfo.txt'.
(000006) 7/10/2007 11:38:30 AM - anonymous [test] (192.168.2.68) > finished downloading 'C:\\ftp\\DSM520-VerInfo.txt' - (00:00:01 - 0.056 KB - 0.056 KBytes/s)
(000006) 7/10/2007 11:38:30 AM - anonymous [test] (192.168.2.68) > 226 Transfer ok
(000006) 7/10/2007 11:38:30 AM - anonymous [test] (192.168.2.68) > QUIT
(000006) 7/10/2007 11:38:30 AM - anonymous [test] (192.168.2.68) > 221 Bye bye ...
(000006) 7/10/2007 11:38:30 AM - anonymous [test] (192.168.2.68) > disconnected. (00:00:00)


As you can see it connects just fine but thats all it does, doesnt try to download the 2nd file with the firmware in because of the check network error

Can anyone please help me?

Thank you

Stu
outatime80 is offline  
post #663 of 1954 Old 07-11-2007, 12:55 AM
Member
 
sebw7561's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Southampton, UK
Posts: 30
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Did you remember to edit the "DSM520-VerInfo.txt"?

The first line needs to show a version number greater than that currently in the DSM-520, and the second line should be the firmware which you wish to load.

HTH
sebw7561 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #664 of 1954 Old 07-11-2007, 04:03 PM
Member
 
outatime80's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 53
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks for the reply, get the txt file was edited, this is what I have in it:

VERSION='1.05'
LOCATION='DSM520_2006.06.12-2043__1.02'


I am using the 1.02 file as mentioned, just don't understand what the problem is!

Thank you

Stuart
outatime80 is offline  
post #665 of 1954 Old 07-11-2007, 07:21 PM
Member
 
Kevin Gorski's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 22
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by outatime80 View Post

Thanks for the reply, get the txt file was edited, this is what I have in it:

VERSION='1.05'
LOCATION='DSM520_2006.06.12-2043__1.02'


I am using the 1.02 file as mentioned, just don't understand what the problem is!

Thank you

Stuart

It looks correct. Is the txt file and the firmware in the same directory? Try making the version something higher if this is not working, like 1.61 or something like that. After it applies the firmware, it will correct the version number as it is built into the firmware release.
Kevin Gorski is offline  
post #666 of 1954 Old 07-12-2007, 06:12 AM
Member
 
outatime80's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 53
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hmmmm ok thanks for the info, tried the version number change like you suggested not still the same.

After I kept getting the network error I took a look at my network and then I eliminatied the router to try fix it and now when I try upgrade (still using local ip oif 192.168.2.12:22) I get a different message, says I already have newest firmware...I don't know whats going on! I have 1.04 on the dlink right now and am trying to downgrade to 1.02 (1.05) ! Crazy!

Anyone please help, what could I be doing wrong?

Thank you

Stuart
outatime80 is offline  
post #667 of 1954 Old 07-12-2007, 07:45 AM
Advanced Member
 
aldamon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Durham, NC
Posts: 603
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by outatime80 View Post

and then I eliminatied the router to try fix it

So you connected the 520 directly to your cable/DSL modem?
aldamon is offline  
post #668 of 1954 Old 07-12-2007, 08:06 AM
Member
 
outatime80's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 53
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hello, no I normally use two routers in my home, I limited to one router and it appears to be connecting now....but it says I have the newest firmware!
outatime80 is offline  
post #669 of 1954 Old 07-12-2007, 08:13 AM
Advanced Member
 
aldamon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Durham, NC
Posts: 603
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by outatime80 View Post

Hello, no I normally use two routers in my home, I limited to one router and it appears to be connecting now....but it says I have the newest firmware!

Mine appeared to connect to the right place too (I used the old FTP server method from a while back) when I got this message but it really wasn't connecting. I believe the default response when it can't actually find a new firmware is to tell you that you already have the newest one. Technically, this message is correct, but not very informative
aldamon is offline  
post #670 of 1954 Old 07-12-2007, 09:09 AM
Member
 
outatime80's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 53
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hmmm thats a tough one then, this is my setup right now, I have wireless antenna on my D-Link, connecting to a belkin router, and then I have a BP FTP setup on the PC connected directly to that router, no firewall or anything to block it, connects fine from any pc on the LAN to the FTP using ftp://192.168.2.12:22

Is there another way I should be trying to connect it, how are your setups connected from the Dlink?

Thanks

Stuart
outatime80 is offline  
post #671 of 1954 Old 07-12-2007, 09:43 PM
Newbie
 
freddiefenster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
outatime80,

I'm having the same problem as you, it says there is a new version available, do you want to upgrade. I then get the message unable to continue, please check network settings. I see from the ftp logs it connects reads the version file and then disconnects. I've tried going from wireless to wired connection, disabled firewall on my pc and incrementing the version number, but still no luck.

I'm using Windows XP SP2, IIS and going through a linksys router.

This is so frustrating my dlink is essentially broken with its inability to play xvid properly since upgrading to 1.04.
freddiefenster is offline  
post #672 of 1954 Old 07-13-2007, 08:45 AM
Member
 
cdrsteve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Midwest
Posts: 66
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thank you, thank you, thank you!! Successfully rolled back to 1.02 from 1.04 today. Fast, easy, and painless process thanks to your post. I now am back to in-sync XVID files. I have turned off auto-update on my two DSM-320's and my DSM-520. All future updates will be done MANUALLY BY ME (after some other brave soul performs DLINK's beta testing) ! Thanks again for a fully functional guide. AVS is such a great place to keep the learning process going.
cdrsteve is offline  
post #673 of 1954 Old 07-13-2007, 09:58 AM
Member
 
outatime80's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 53
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi Freddie

Sorry to hear your in the same position as me I tried last night a wired version, running the ftp on my laptop and then plugging it into a spare linksys router I had handy and then router to 520.....see's the upgrade.....network problem...what a bitch! I wish I knew why this keeps doing it, driving me crazy!!!!!!!!!

We must be doing something wrong, as I get it to read the version file too but thats as far as it goes!

Is there anything special you guys with BP Ftp do when setting it up?

I just can't watch anything either, I get an annoying pausing of the video each minute or so too which is soooo frustrating since the upgrade!

Someone out there must have the answer to fixing this? Is it possible anyway to upgrade via USB stick? Help!

Thanks

Stuart



Quote:
Originally Posted by freddiefenster View Post

outatime80,

I'm having the same problem as you, it says there is a new version available, do you want to upgrade. I then get the message unable to continue, please check network settings. I see from the ftp logs it connects reads the version file and then disconnects. I've tried going from wireless to wired connection, disabled firewall on my pc and incrementing the version number, but still no luck.

I'm using Windows XP SP2, IIS and going through a linksys router.

This is so frustrating my dlink is essentially broken with its inability to play xvid properly since upgrading to 1.04.

outatime80 is offline  
post #674 of 1954 Old 07-13-2007, 12:07 PM
Advanced Member
 
aldamon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Durham, NC
Posts: 603
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by outatime80 View Post

Is it possible anyway to upgrade via USB stick? Help!

No.
aldamon is offline  
post #675 of 1954 Old 07-13-2007, 12:46 PM
Member
 
misfit410's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 99
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Also be careful with the D-Link software if you use it.
it will auto update to 1.09 and stop seeing media..
if you do a clean install of 1.09 it's fine, if you update, it goes nuts..
had it happen on 3 seperate computers.
misfit410 is offline  
post #676 of 1954 Old 07-13-2007, 08:26 PM
Member
 
Kevin Gorski's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 22
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by outatime80 View Post

Hi Freddie

Sorry to hear your in the same position as me I tried last night a wired version, running the ftp on my laptop and then plugging it into a spare linksys router I had handy and then router to 520.....see's the upgrade.....network problem...what a bitch! I wish I knew why this keeps doing it, driving me crazy!!!!!!!!!

We must be doing something wrong, as I get it to read the version file too but thats as far as it goes!

Is there anything special you guys with BP Ftp do when setting it up?

I just can't watch anything either, I get an annoying pausing of the video each minute or so too which is soooo frustrating since the upgrade!

Someone out there must have the answer to fixing this? Is it possible anyway to upgrade via USB stick? Help!

Thanks

Stuart

I would try another FTP program just in case. I know Bulletproof works fine - but try Blackmoon FTP Free Version. Maybe they is something in your setup having an issue with binary files.
Kevin Gorski is offline  
post #677 of 1954 Old 07-14-2007, 08:02 PM
Senior Member
 
ablevy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 278
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Hey guys, sorry I didn't reply earlier, I've been on vacation all week. I'm attaching my log file in the hope that it will help you.

(000002) 7/5/2007 9:32:36 PM - (not logged in) (192.168.1.108) > connected to ip : 192.168.1.109
(000002) 7/5/2007 9:32:36 PM - (not logged in) (192.168.1.108) > sending welcome message.
(000002) 7/5/2007 9:32:36 PM - (not logged in) (192.168.1.108) > 220 BulletProof FTP Server ready ...
(000002) 7/5/2007 9:32:36 PM - (not logged in) (192.168.1.108) > USER anonymous
(000002) 7/5/2007 9:32:36 PM - (not logged in) (192.168.1.108) > 331 Password required for anonymous.
(000002) 7/5/2007 9:32:36 PM - (not logged in) (192.168.1.108) > PASS ********
(000002) 7/5/2007 9:32:36 PM - anonymous (192.168.1.108) > logged in.
(000002) 7/5/2007 9:32:36 PM - anonymous (192.168.1.108) > 230 User anonymous logged in.
(000002) 7/5/2007 9:32:36 PM - anonymous (192.168.1.108) > CDUP
(000002) 7/5/2007 9:32:36 PM - anonymous (192.168.1.108) > asked to change directory : 'C:\\ftp\\ -> C:\\ftp\\' --> Access allowed.
(000002) 7/5/2007 9:32:36 PM - anonymous (192.168.1.108) > 250 CWD command successful. "/" is current directory.
(000002) 7/5/2007 9:32:36 PM - anonymous (192.168.1.108) > TYPE I
(000002) 7/5/2007 9:32:36 PM - anonymous (192.168.1.108) > 200 Type set to I.
(000002) 7/5/2007 9:32:36 PM - anonymous (192.168.1.108) > SIZE /DSM520-VerInfo.txt
(000002) 7/5/2007 9:32:36 PM - anonymous (192.168.1.108) > 213 57
(000002) 7/5/2007 9:32:36 PM - anonymous (192.168.1.108) > PASV
(000002) 7/5/2007 9:32:36 PM - anonymous (192.168.1.108) > 227 Entering Passive Mode (192,168,1,109,185,57)
(000002) 7/5/2007 9:32:36 PM - anonymous (192.168.1.108) > RETR /DSM520-VerInfo.txt
(000002) 7/5/2007 9:32:36 PM - anonymous (192.168.1.108) > asked to download 'C:\\ftp\\DSM520-VerInfo.txt' --> Access allowed.
(000002) 7/5/2007 9:32:36 PM - anonymous (192.168.1.108) > 150 Data connection accepted from 192.168.1.108:1084; transfer starting for DSM520-VerInfo.txt (57 bytes).
(000002) 7/5/2007 9:32:36 PM - anonymous (192.168.1.108) > started downloading 'C:\\ftp\\DSM520-VerInfo.txt'.
(000002) 7/5/2007 9:32:36 PM - anonymous (192.168.1.108) > finished downloading 'C:\\ftp\\DSM520-VerInfo.txt' - (00:00:01 - 0.056 KB - 0.056 KBytes/s)
(000002) 7/5/2007 9:32:36 PM - anonymous (192.168.1.108) > 226 Transfer ok
(000002) 7/5/2007 9:32:36 PM - anonymous (192.168.1.108) > QUIT
(000002) 7/5/2007 9:32:36 PM - anonymous (192.168.1.108) > 221 Bye bye ...
(000002) 7/5/2007 9:32:36 PM - anonymous (192.168.1.108) > disconnected. (00:00:00)
(000003) 7/5/2007 9:32:42 PM - (not logged in) (192.168.1.108) > connected to ip : 192.168.1.109
(000003) 7/5/2007 9:32:42 PM - (not logged in) (192.168.1.108) > sending welcome message.
(000003) 7/5/2007 9:32:42 PM - (not logged in) (192.168.1.108) > 220 BulletProof FTP Server ready ...
(000003) 7/5/2007 9:32:42 PM - (not logged in) (192.168.1.108) > USER anonymous
(000003) 7/5/2007 9:32:42 PM - (not logged in) (192.168.1.108) > 331 Password required for anonymous.
(000003) 7/5/2007 9:32:42 PM - (not logged in) (192.168.1.108) > PASS ********
(000003) 7/5/2007 9:32:42 PM - anonymous (192.168.1.108) > logged in.
(000003) 7/5/2007 9:32:42 PM - anonymous (192.168.1.108) > 230 User anonymous logged in.
(000003) 7/5/2007 9:32:42 PM - anonymous (192.168.1.108) > CDUP
(000003) 7/5/2007 9:32:42 PM - anonymous (192.168.1.108) > asked to change directory : 'C:\\ftp\\ -> C:\\ftp\\' --> Access allowed.
(000003) 7/5/2007 9:32:42 PM - anonymous (192.168.1.108) > 250 CWD command successful. "/" is current directory.
(000003) 7/5/2007 9:32:42 PM - anonymous (192.168.1.108) > TYPE I
(000003) 7/5/2007 9:32:42 PM - anonymous (192.168.1.108) > 200 Type set to I.
(000003) 7/5/2007 9:32:42 PM - anonymous (192.168.1.108) > SIZE /DSM520_2006.06.12-2043__1.02
(000003) 7/5/2007 9:32:42 PM - anonymous (192.168.1.108) > 213 8006912
(000003) 7/5/2007 9:32:42 PM - anonymous (192.168.1.108) > PASV
(000003) 7/5/2007 9:32:42 PM - anonymous (192.168.1.108) > 227 Entering Passive Mode (192,168,1,109,130,243)
(000003) 7/5/2007 9:32:42 PM - anonymous (192.168.1.108) > RETR /DSM520_2006.06.12-2043__1.02
(000003) 7/5/2007 9:32:42 PM - anonymous (192.168.1.108) > asked to download 'C:\\ftp\\DSM520_2006.06.12-2043__1.02' --> Access allowed.
(000003) 7/5/2007 9:32:42 PM - anonymous (192.168.1.108) > 150 Data connection accepted from 192.168.1.108:1086; transfer starting for DSM520_2006.06.12-2043__1.02 (8006912 bytes).
(000003) 7/5/2007 9:32:42 PM - anonymous (192.168.1.108) > started downloading 'C:\\ftp\\DSM520_2006.06.12-2043__1.02'.
(000003) 7/5/2007 9:32:50 PM - anonymous (192.168.1.108) > finished downloading 'C:\\ftp\\DSM520_2006.06.12-2043__1.02' - (00:00:08 - 7819.250 KB - 977.406 KBytes/s)
(000003) 7/5/2007 9:32:50 PM - anonymous (192.168.1.108) > 226 Transfer ok
(000003) 7/5/2007 9:32:50 PM - anonymous (192.168.1.108) > QUIT
(000003) 7/5/2007 9:32:50 PM - anonymous (192.168.1.108) > 221 Bye bye ...
(000003) 7/5/2007 9:32:50 PM - anonymous (192.168.1.108) > disconnected. (00:00:07)

Unfortunately, at first glance I don't see anything that should cause the problem.

Alan
ablevy is offline  
post #678 of 1954 Old 07-16-2007, 10:29 PM
Newbie
 
freddiefenster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I contacted Dlink support and described the issue with the pausing xvid. They suggested using just Media server 1.08 and not to upgrade to 1.09. I have to say that 1.08 with the 1.04 firmware is much more stable, although it hasn't eliminated the pausing completely.

I still haven't given up trying to roll back my firmware. My next step will be to try using Bulletproof ftp, although I'm seeing the same problem as Stuart. It connects downloads the version file, quits but doesn't seem to reconnect as is the case with Alan... annoying
freddiefenster is offline  
post #679 of 1954 Old 07-16-2007, 11:01 PM
Member
 
Kevin Gorski's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 22
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by freddiefenster View Post

I contacted Dlink support and described the issue with the pausing xvid. They suggested using just Media server 1.08 and not to upgrade to 1.09. I have to say that 1.08 with the 1.04 firmware is much more stable, although it hasn't eliminated the pausing completely.

I still haven't given up trying to roll back my firmware. My next step will be to try using Bulletproof ftp, although I'm seeing the same problem as Stuart. It connects downloads the version file, quits but doesn't seem to reconnect as is the case with Alan... annoying

Try these downgrading instructions. More steps, but it allows you some more control as well. Good luck!

http://forums.tversity.com/viewtopic...ight=downgrade
Kevin Gorski is offline  
post #680 of 1954 Old 07-18-2007, 06:13 AM
Member
 
virginian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 121
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by freddiefenster View Post

I contacted Dlink support and described the issue with the pausing xvid. They suggested using just Media server 1.08 and not to upgrade to 1.09. I have to say that 1.08 with the 1.04 firmware is much more stable, although it hasn't eliminated the pausing completely....


I second it. My computer always crashed when I tried upload/download files while running Media Server 1.09. Everything was fixed after I removed 1.09 and installed 1.08.

1.4/1.08 bundle still has the issue with the sound delay on some Xvid files, but just on a few.

Does somebody know how to disable the annoying "Update" reminder?
virginian is offline  
post #681 of 1954 Old 07-18-2007, 06:39 AM
Advanced Member
 
aldamon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Durham, NC
Posts: 603
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
nm.
aldamon is offline  
post #682 of 1954 Old 07-19-2007, 09:04 PM
Member
 
virginian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 121
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Well, not a big deal.

Open consumer.ini file

Edit [Version] section, replace "currentver=1.08.RC08"
by "currentver=1.09.RC08". Bingo!
virginian is offline  
post #683 of 1954 Old 07-23-2007, 02:51 PM
Newbie
 
jowes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I was also burned by loss of audio for MP4s with the 1.0.4 firmware upgrade. I also posted to dlink's customer support and never received a response.

I've been holding off on the downrev process hoping a better solution would come out but I now have the feeling it won't.

The part that seems fishy to me is that downrev to 1.0.3 and then upgrade to 1.0.4 works. Has anyone tried just a downrev to 1.0.4?

It almost suggests dlink may have noticed the mp4 problem and re-released a new 1.0.4 that doesn't have that problem without saying anything. Those who upgraded too soon were burned. Those who upgrade now aren't. I'm aware of other companies having done this sort of thing in the past...

Just a thought. I'll give it a try over the weekend.
jowes is offline  
post #684 of 1954 Old 07-23-2007, 07:08 PM
Newbie
 
nvdfw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by misfit410 View Post

Also be careful with the D-Link software if you use it.
it will auto update to 1.09 and stop seeing media..
if you do a clean install of 1.09 it's fine, if you update, it goes nuts..
had it happen on 3 seperate computers.

Interesting. I will try this before giving up and downgrading everything to the previous. There is something weird on this, I am still surprised the latest FW&Server are failing for we all.
nvdfw is offline  
post #685 of 1954 Old 07-23-2007, 09:45 PM
Member
 
kxmas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 40
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I down-reved to 1.02. It was great before the upgrade, horrible after, and great again with 1.02.

1.02 is the only firmware for me.
kxmas is offline  
post #686 of 1954 Old 07-25-2007, 08:10 PM
Newbie
 
lawrence07's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi Everyone

Try putting both files on a usb stick then power up dlink. It works

Lawrence
lawrence07 is offline  
post #687 of 1954 Old 07-25-2007, 08:11 PM
Newbie
 
nvdfw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by lawrence07 View Post

Hi Everyone

Try putting both files on a usb stick then power up dlink. It works

Lawrence

excellent thanks for sharing the trick
nvdfw is offline  
post #688 of 1954 Old 07-25-2007, 08:17 PM
Newbie
 
lawrence07's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
np

I had to do this in order for my HP media vault 2010 to work with the DSM520

Lawrence
since i cannot post a link yet search for this guy k0lee he has a website with some facts look for the media fault fact link
lawrence07 is offline  
post #689 of 1954 Old 07-25-2007, 08:18 PM
Newbie
 
lawrence07's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
sorry media vault fact link from his home page
lawrence07 is offline  
post #690 of 1954 Old 07-26-2007, 02:53 PM
Member
 
Aaron_LC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 93
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
If nobody else has read it, http://active-tv.blogspot.com/

Pretty interesting if you aren't aware .

-Aaron
Aaron_LC is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Networking, Media Servers & Content Streaming

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off