Official Owners Thread 2015 LG 55EG9600 / 65EG9600 4k - Page 192 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 9302Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #5731 of 5758 Old 06-12-2018, 05:07 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Latinoheat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: BC Canada
Posts: 4,342
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1483 Post(s)
Liked: 1467
Quote:
Originally Posted by OShag View Post
Update: I did place a call in to LG technical support. They were very helpul. The good news is the brilliance, brightness and color saturation/vibrancy is back
That's great, did it come back on its own, or with the help of LG's technical support?

Media room- 65" Panasonic FZ950 OLED, Pioneer Elite VSX-90, Panasonic UBD-820 4K, Klipsch Gallery G28's, Klipsch Sub 12, Klipsch RS-52 II, Optik HD cable

Living room- Sony 4K 79XBRX900B, Onkyo RC-360,HTPC,Klipsch Reference R-62II,Rc52II,PS4
Gaming room -Panasonic ST60, PS3, Wii
Latinoheat is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #5732 of 5758 Old 06-12-2018, 07:04 PM
Member
 
OShag's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 133
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 54 Post(s)
Liked: 42
I think it was LG.

Last edited by OShag; 06-12-2018 at 07:09 PM.
OShag is offline  
post #5733 of 5758 Old 06-12-2018, 11:03 PM
Member
 
OShag's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 133
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 54 Post(s)
Liked: 42
Quote:
Originally Posted by JayS99 View Post
Glad it's back. You can do a reset from the WebOS menu, but not sure that does a full hardware reset (or if it just resets software). Found this, but I'd check first (maybe call LG Tech support) and see if there is a hardware reset? I wouldn't do the following until I checked first.

_______________

If you would like to perform a Factory Reset on your LG webOS panel, please go through the following steps:

With the Remote control, hold down the Settings button until the bubble appears in the top-right corner of the screen.
Once the bubble appears, please press 0, 0, 0, 0 and OK.
You will now see that the Signage Settings Menu will load.
Under Signage Setup, scroll down to the Factory Reset option.
Select Factory Reset and then select Okay to confirm.
The panel will perform the Factory Reset and will turn itself off.
You will now be required to wait a few moments and then will be need to turn your LG panel back on.
I did try this, and the settings button on my remote does not bring upany bubble on the right side of the screen. Are you sure its just the settings button then the 4 0s? Perhaps I am missing something?

Thanks
OShag is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #5734 of 5758 Old 06-13-2018, 07:49 AM
Advanced Member
 
JayS99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 516
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 86 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by OShag View Post
I did try this, and the settings button on my remote does not bring upany bubble on the right side of the screen. Are you sure its just the settings button then the 4 0s? Perhaps I am missing something?

Thanks
Don't know if that sequence works on all (or any) LG panels. As I mentioned would be good to check with LG first, but it sounds like you're back in business after talking to them? They've always been very helpful I've found..

Jay S.
JayS99 is offline  
post #5735 of 5758 Old 06-13-2018, 09:01 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Addicted Member
Industry Insider
 
Cleveland Plasma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Cleveland, Ohio
Posts: 24,351
Mentioned: 80 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6569 Post(s)
Liked: 6568
Cleveland Plasma is offline  
post #5736 of 5758 Old 06-13-2018, 11:26 AM
Member
 
OShag's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 133
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 54 Post(s)
Liked: 42
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cleveland Plasma View Post
Ya, could be affecting other things that are not mentioned.....
Jay, thanks. Also thanks to LatinoHeat.

I agree with you on LG’s customer service. I really like LG and do trust they will see me right when I buy their products. My experience so far has been very positive. We have the LG washer dryer and will likely be buying more LG appliances. The 77 C8 is on my list but only when the street price gets down to 6k - 7k ish from authorized dealers. I still think 9k for a tv is insane for regular people.

I’ll assess the situation further as I don’t want to exaggerate or mislead.

Cheers
OShag is offline  
post #5737 of 5758 Old 06-15-2018, 01:24 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Addicted Member
Industry Insider
 
Cleveland Plasma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Cleveland, Ohio
Posts: 24,351
Mentioned: 80 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6569 Post(s)
Liked: 6568
Cleveland Plasma is offline  
post #5738 of 5758 Old 06-18-2018, 02:20 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Hey guys quick question. I have a 55EG9600 and I’m running into an issue. The picture is beautiful after 3k hours on it. My issue is there are small horizontal lines on the bottom corner of the tv that come and go depending on the picture on the screen. Also sometimes a little box will show up on the same bottom corner and will change color depending on the image. These all happen intermittent and randomly. Should I be worried about the panel?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	F8EA98E8-3DCC-4B16-BAE9-B8551426CB1C_1529356814106.jpg
Views:	77
Size:	75.2 KB
ID:	2417788   Click image for larger version

Name:	13A9318D-92AF-49B8-9CAF-55B5A906159A_1529356830904.jpg
Views:	69
Size:	46.8 KB
ID:	2417790  
Cbouchaya is offline  
post #5739 of 5758 Old 06-18-2018, 04:09 PM
Senior Member
 
bytor99999's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 299
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 52 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Streaming 4K

So I have been struggling with this for a good number of years, since I got my EG 9600 A 65". I want to stream 4K Content, and I have Plex running on my MacBook Pro currently. So I have to leave my MacBook Pro running all the time up in my office to watch it downstairs on my TV. And I recall being able to watch 4K content that way. But I want to stop using my MacBook Pro and want a good solution. Every time I go searching for a NAS drive, I find that list of NAS drives supporting which content etc, and find the only ones in that list that support the 4K via Plex are all expensive. I just want a good big Hard Drive I can access from the TV and my Laptop. So that I can put content on it, and then watch it on my LG. (I should add I am using the Apple TV Plex app)

Any recommendations that aren't so expensive. What about a USB 3.0 Hard Drive connected directly to the TV. And a Gigabit Network cable connected directly to a router, so a wired connection.

Thanks

Mark
bytor99999 is offline  
post #5740 of 5758 Old 07-04-2018, 12:38 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Latinoheat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: BC Canada
Posts: 4,342
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1483 Post(s)
Liked: 1467
Quote:
Originally Posted by thadoggfather View Post
Me too haha

I don’t think ill be updating
Just curious, have you updated your tv yet? I still haven't , just wanted to know if you noticed anything different.

Media room- 65" Panasonic FZ950 OLED, Pioneer Elite VSX-90, Panasonic UBD-820 4K, Klipsch Gallery G28's, Klipsch Sub 12, Klipsch RS-52 II, Optik HD cable

Living room- Sony 4K 79XBRX900B, Onkyo RC-360,HTPC,Klipsch Reference R-62II,Rc52II,PS4
Gaming room -Panasonic ST60, PS3, Wii
Latinoheat is offline  
post #5741 of 5758 Old 07-04-2018, 12:54 PM
Senior Member
 
silver-eye's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 272
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 179 Post(s)
Liked: 118
I updated mine.

Dont know what happened, but the HDR got brighter!!

I've run my favourite 4k HDR movies again to confirm, and they all appeared to be brighter (I use the Zappiti 4k hdr one, media player, for my rips).

As I though it was I kind of "placebo effect"
Went to try some games (with HDR) on my Xbox One X.

I had to reduce the gamma (HDR) in all of them!

Happy Happy!

Edit:

I have the European model 65EG960zd (with HDR by HDMI)

Firmware
04.25.70



Last edited by silver-eye; 07-04-2018 at 01:01 PM.
silver-eye is offline  
post #5742 of 5758 Old 07-04-2018, 12:59 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Latinoheat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: BC Canada
Posts: 4,342
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1483 Post(s)
Liked: 1467
Quote:
Originally Posted by silver-eye View Post
I updated mine.

Dont know what happened, but the HDR got brighter!!

I've run my favourite 4k HDR movies again to confirm, and they all appeared to be brighter (I use the Zappiti 4k hdr one, media player, for my rips).

As I though it was I kind of "placebo effect"
Went to try some games (with HDR) on my Xbox One X.

I had to reduce the gamma (HDR) in all of them!

Happy Happy!
Thanks for your response, I will update this evening. Happy 4th of July to my fellow Americans.

Media room- 65" Panasonic FZ950 OLED, Pioneer Elite VSX-90, Panasonic UBD-820 4K, Klipsch Gallery G28's, Klipsch Sub 12, Klipsch RS-52 II, Optik HD cable

Living room- Sony 4K 79XBRX900B, Onkyo RC-360,HTPC,Klipsch Reference R-62II,Rc52II,PS4
Gaming room -Panasonic ST60, PS3, Wii
Latinoheat is offline  
post #5743 of 5758 Old 07-04-2018, 09:38 PM
Advanced Member
 
thadoggfather's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 745
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 384 Post(s)
Liked: 103
Quote:
Originally Posted by Latinoheat View Post
Just curious, have you updated your tv yet? I still haven't , just wanted to know if you noticed anything different.

Nope dont plan on it either!


LG 65EG9600-UB 602
LG 55C6P 702
thadoggfather is offline  
post #5744 of 5758 Old 07-12-2018, 12:02 PM
Newbie
 
brandonb01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 10
My beloved 3 year old 65EG9600 just died. Displayed a bunch of lines and clicked off. I powered it back on and it just displayed more lines and clicked off again. And that was it. Won't turn on again at all. Tried unplugging it for a while. No help. My guess is the power supply died.

Time to see if the extended warranty I purchased with the set is worth the paper it's written on.
brandonb01 is offline  
post #5745 of 5758 Old 07-12-2018, 12:39 PM
Member
 
Vancelot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 61
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 31 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by brandonb01 View Post
My beloved 3 year old 65EG9600 just died. Displayed a bunch of lines and clicked off. I powered it back on and it just displayed more lines and clicked off again. And that was it. Won't turn on again at all. Tried unplugging it for a while. No help. My guess is the power supply died.

Time to see if the extended warranty I purchased with the set is worth the paper it's written on.
I am curious to see how this turns out. I bought my extended warranty from LG. Where did you get yours?
Vancelot is offline  
post #5746 of 5758 Old 08-02-2018, 07:05 PM
Member
 
Vancelot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 61
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 31 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by brandonb01 View Post
My beloved 3 year old 65EG9600 just died. Displayed a bunch of lines and clicked off. I powered it back on and it just displayed more lines and clicked off again. And that was it. Won't turn on again at all. Tried unplugging it for a while. No help. My guess is the power supply died.

Time to see if the extended warranty I purchased with the set is worth the paper it's written on.
Any updates?
Vancelot is offline  
post #5747 of 5758 Old 09-25-2018, 08:04 PM
Member
 
dpeters11's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 197
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 27 Post(s)
Liked: 12
A while back, the wife decided to replace our home theater system with a Sonos system. Play base, sub and rears. For music, it sounds fantastic, for tv it’s underwhelming. I’m trying to improve that.

The Sonos system I have only supports optical, and I’ve enabled (I believe) optical 5.1 I’m the service menu. But no matter what my settings, I can’t get the audio synched with the video, on my directv genie 2.

Any tricks to that? If I get an Amp when they come out, can it do 5.1 via hdmi arc?
dpeters11 is offline  
post #5748 of 5758 Old 09-26-2018, 11:37 AM
Newbie
 
brandonb01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Vancelot View Post
Any updates?
After much back and forth, and neither the warranty company nor LG being able to find any TV service person in the Seattle area to come fix it, I'm getting a check for a replacement.

That said, seems like a waste of a potentially good panel otherwise. I'm handy with electronics and it looks like there are some salvaged power supplies, TCons, and mainboards on Ebay, so I may give a try repairing it myself as a side project to have a spare set for another room.

The standby light comes on, but the TV doesn't power up with either the remote or the power button on the set itself. The last thing it showed before dying was a screen full of short pink vertical lines overlayed on top of the image, almost like static, then it click itself off and never came back.

Anyone know if that's the power supply, TCon, or mainboard?
brandonb01 is offline  
post #5749 of 5758 Old 11-04-2018, 06:29 AM
Advanced Member
 
thadoggfather's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 745
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 384 Post(s)
Liked: 103
Quote:
Originally Posted by brandonb01 View Post
After much back and forth, and neither the warranty company nor LG being able to find any TV service person in the Seattle area to come fix it, I'm getting a check for a replacement.

That said, seems like a waste of a potentially good panel otherwise. I'm handy with electronics and it looks like there are some salvaged power supplies, TCons, and mainboards on Ebay, so I may give a try repairing it myself as a side project to have a spare set for another room.

The standby light comes on, but the TV doesn't power up with either the remote or the power button on the set itself. The last thing it showed before dying was a screen full of short pink vertical lines overlayed on top of the image, almost like static, then it click itself off and never came back.

Anyone know if that's the power supply, TCon, or mainboard?
Pretty sure it could be virtually anything

when my 9300 went out, I think they replaced everything but the panel thinking theres no way it could be the panel and there were no other parts to swap and they gave up and cut me a check... used it and upgraded to c6 that was clearance when the c7 had come out


LG 65EG9600-UB 602
LG 55C6P 702
thadoggfather is offline  
post #5750 of 5758 Old 11-28-2018, 06:17 PM
Newbie
 
brandonb01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by thadoggfather View Post
Pretty sure it could be virtually anything

when my 9300 went out, I think they replaced everything but the panel thinking theres no way it could be the panel and there were no other parts to swap and they gave up and cut me a check... used it and upgraded to c6 that was clearance when the c7 had come out
Ended up being the same here. I replaced the power supply (both boards), the mainboard, and the t-con board - so all of the internal boards - and it still wouldn't power up and display. So I returned the parts and carted the TV off to e-cycling. Again, a damn shame as it was a really good panel before it died.

Fortunately, I too picked up a C6 on clearance earlier, so I still have some curved 3D OLED goodness at home.
brandonb01 is offline  
post #5751 of 5758 Old 12-06-2018, 01:23 PM
Senior Member
 
bytor99999's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 299
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 52 Post(s)
Liked: 18
USB Drive and 4K

I just got a really nice 128 GB USB Drive, which I was going to use for my car's dashcam. But then also thought I would try my 65EG9600 and playing some 4K Content on the drive plugged into the TV. Only to find out I can't because the 4K content is too large to put on a FAT32 USB Drive. I tried to format it to exFAT, but the TV didn't like that format. So I am guessing trying to view 4K content from a USB Drive cannot happen unless your content happens to be 4GB size or less.

Real bummer.

Does anyone have any recommendations? Is there any formatting I could do that would accept larger files and also play on the TV? Thanks

Mark
bytor99999 is offline  
post #5752 of 5758 Old 12-06-2018, 03:41 PM
Member
 
npsacobra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Posts: 178
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 122 Post(s)
Liked: 63
Format the drive to NTFS.
Quote:
Originally Posted by bytor99999 View Post
I just got a really nice 128 GB USB Drive, which I was going to use for my car's dashcam. But then also thought I would try my 65EG9600 and playing some 4K Content on the drive plugged into the TV. Only to find out I can't because the 4K content is too large to put on a FAT32 USB Drive. I tried to format it to exFAT, but the TV didn't like that format. So I am guessing trying to view 4K content from a USB Drive cannot happen unless your content happens to be 4GB size or less.

Real bummer.

Does anyone have any recommendations? Is there any formatting I could do that would accept larger files and also play on the TV? Thanks

Mark
Sent from my SM-N950U using Tapatalk
npsacobra is offline  
post #5753 of 5758 Old 06-23-2019, 08:52 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
2016 LG 65EG9600 left side flickering

Hey all, on the outside chance anyone is still following this thread (and has maybe seen and resolved this issue): My EG9600 has been working great for 3 years but over the past 3 days has quickly developed a flashing left hand side (with the right side still working, showing whatever was selected). However, the remote wouldnt control anything other than power on and off. 3 days later, the display when powered on will only flicker a green display (then back to black) repeatedly on the left side while the right side stays black. Remote continues to only be able to turn it on or off. I'm betting a power supply has gone bad, or mabe more? Hope to find a low cost fix! Thanks everyone. Yeah I just retired from the Navy, so not looking to buy a new super expensive Tv!
mcmhley is offline  
post #5754 of 5758 Old 07-15-2019, 05:38 PM
Member
 
SkodaZek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Calgary, AB Canada
Posts: 25
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Hey folks,

My 65EG9600-UB just got an update 04.26.00 I think. First update in years, but cannot find any notes or details on what the update does. Anyone know anything?

LG 65EG9600-UB
Onkyo HT-R695
Sony UBP-X800, Samsung UBD-K8500

Blu-ray Collection: http://www.blu-ray.com/community/collection.php?u=10385
SkodaZek is offline  
post #5755 of 5758 Old 07-16-2019, 08:24 AM
AVS Forum Club Gold
 
Paul H's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 1999
Location: Elk Grove, California,USA
Posts: 1,100
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 60 Post(s)
Liked: 63
Quote:
Originally Posted by SkodaZek View Post
Hey folks,

My 65EG9600-UB just got an update 04.26.00 I think. First update in years, but cannot find any notes or details on what the update does. Anyone know anything?
Thanks for the heads-up!
Just turned on my 65EG9600-UB to check and "WEB OS" was on the screen instead of my input selection. When I selected the input source, a note on the top right of the screen stated it was just updated to 04.26.00.

Avatar: IMAX Header
BD 3D, BD, HD DVD, DVD collection
Paul H is offline  
post #5756 of 5758 Old 07-17-2019, 03:51 AM
Member
 
dpeters11's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 197
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 27 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by SkodaZek View Post
Hey folks,

My 65EG9600-UB just got an update 04.26.00 I think. First update in years, but cannot find any notes or details on what the update does. Anyone know anything?
Release notes say it’s a security update, but give no details. I can’t find a relevant vulnerability in the industry database.
dpeters11 is offline  
post #5757 of 5758 Old 07-17-2019, 06:55 AM
Member
 
dpeters11's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 197
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 27 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I sent a tweet to LG, and after some back and forth (apparently the screen size is really important for model number), they basically said there was no more information available.

I should have expected that...
dpeters11 is offline  
post #5758 of 5758 Old 07-17-2019, 11:34 AM
AVS Forum Club Gold
 
Paul H's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 1999
Location: Elk Grove, California,USA
Posts: 1,100
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 60 Post(s)
Liked: 63
Quote:
Originally Posted by dpeters11 View Post
Release notes say it’s a security update, but give no details. I can’t find a relevant vulnerability in the industry database.
After the update later in the day a message came on screen that the software was also now updating the LG 9600's remote control, which started a flashing red light on the face of the remote during the process.

Avatar: IMAX Header
BD 3D, BD, HD DVD, DVD collection
Paul H is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply OLED Technology and Flat Panels General

Tags
55EG9600

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off